Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches Reviews

14 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2020

The Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series was a great fit for our needs and the price was just right.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We are using the Catalyst 9500 as core switches. We have them in a virtual stack and they have been working very well since migrating to them almost 3 years ago. We use them to connect our edges, data center, IOT networks as well as all of the other remote switches.
  • The virtual stacking works really well.
  • Speed and performance have been great.
  • The build of IOS-XE they are running has been bug free.
  • We did have some bugs in older versions where memory was running up on them. This was fixed with new IOS updates.
  • We did see some limitations with the virtual stacking, but I believe they have expanded their capabilities.
We moved from a Nexus 5k to Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches. They served our needs better than the Nexus 5k and were much easier to use. I would say if you had heavy data center needs you would still need to look at a Nexus series but if you want an all-around great performing Campus switch, this is the one to look at. In my case, I didn't need high port density but did need the performance so it was a great fit for me.
Doing on-the-go upgrades from the web GUI has been able to save me time and the ability to reboot each switch one at time is really another time-saver. I have also been gaining some insights with what is going on the network by adding it to Cisco DNA Center.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

We like 9500s

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We use them as our new edge-core devices where we can do routing and it gives us the flexibility to have high speed interconnects to our edge closets. This solves the problems of not worrying to have a big chassis to implement and configure, and it has the opportunity to have a virtual chassis.
  • Virtual chassis
  • Ease of configuration
  • Integration into DNA
  • Licensing needs to get fixed, too many options.
  • Make software updates easier.
  • Make the virtual chassis bigger.
  • Support third party optics without having to get traceback errors.
To get a high-speed switch with layer 3 routing, this is the switch for you. It is easy to set up and implement quickly. You can use the right to use licensing for the most part to get the features you need to get up and running. The drawbacks are getting the licensing and the lead time is out there aways.
We have started to utilized the automation properties of Cisco DNA, and these switches can be deployed through DNA in the fabric. The first pair we used, we set up manually, and look to implement our future switches this way to make it easier for the future. We are still waiting for the benefits to appear.
Read this authenticated review
Orlando Rosas | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

9500 Series Switches in a real environment

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
They represent the core of our network, all the communication of our critical services crosses this equipment. The problem that it represents today is that administration becomes complex as we integrate more remote sites with the same technology. Administration via command line becomes an extensive and complex job.
  • Throughput
  • Redundancy
  • Security
  • Modular
  • Pricing
  • Port density
  • Administration
Well suited for large enterprise core and distribution switches, scenarios with large throughput demand, critical services and 24x7 operations.
Less appropriate for small enterprises and OT industry, these switches are not useful and it becomes expensive to mostly have them in small enterprises. For OT the physical environment does not allow for a switch like 9500.
We have been working with Cisco switches for a while now. Our experience with the 9500 series has always been good. They are very stable and powerful switches. All of our critical services are based on a 9500 and we’ve [only] had two breakdowns, this is a good product and fits perfectly for our standards.
Read Orlando Rosas's full review
Idan Malei | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series is the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches for backbone and aggregate floor switches, stacked with StackWise Virtual, and we used 10G-40G ports.
  • Easy to config
  • Fast
  • Stackwise
  • Rollback
Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches has various models to fit anywhere.
I'm hoping to learn about automation.
Read Idan Malei's full review
Franck Labbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

High performance switch

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We use Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches in a MAN MPLS loop for our customer MAN.
  • Routing
  • Mpls
  • Better sfp compatibility
The Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches work very well for our campus core network.
We didn't use automation.
Read Franck Labbe's full review
girgis hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We are using Cisco devices all over our network, and use the Cisco Catalyst 9500 series as our core switch. We use 2 devices with virtual stack to provide high availability and dual connection to each access switch to provide fully redundant connectivity. Also, we use these switches as a DHCP server, NTP server, VTP server to all network switches and users.
  • High performance.
  • High-density ports.
  • Great availability of features.
  • Provide more documentation.
Cisco Catalyst Switches are suitable for campus network to connect users to the network, I prefer Cisco Catalyst 9500 for the core switches and Cisco Catalyst 9200 for the access switches to connect users to it. Catalyst Switches are less appropriate in a data center connectivity due to the high performance needed inside the Data Center, so Nexus switches are better there.
We Haven't used the automation feature in the Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series yet, but hopefully, we will use it in the future and benefit from it.
Read girgis hady's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9500 connects your security solutions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
At my organization Cisco Catalyst is used as an interconnecting devices for our complex security solutions. The 9500 Series has excellent performance stability benefits.
-------
Cisco Catalyst se encuentra interconectando una solución de seguridad compleja con excelentes prestaciones de estabilidad desempeño
  • High performance | Desempeño
  • Very stable | Estabilidad
  • Very reliable | Confiabilidad
  • Virtual Stack Wise
  • Precios
  • Stack
Para interconectar dispositivos que necesiten alta velocidad de procesamiento es ideal. // Their ideal use is for interconnecting devices that require a high processing speed.
Mi organizacion no ha sacado provecho de estas ventajas // My organization has not utilized any of these advantages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

Feature, future potential and use cases of Cisco Catalyst 9500 switches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We are currently using CAT 9500-40X and 9500-32C at our campus and branches. The switches are used at either distribution or core layer.
  • It supports programmability
  • It supports 10, 40, 100 Gig interfaces
  • It can be used as fusion router in the SDA deployment
  • 9500-32C is not supported in the DNA
  • There are some bugs on the stackwise virtual stacking uses. The stacks get splitted and manual reboot is required to fix it
9500 is well suited if the requirement is for fiber ports. The 9500 has only fiber ports. The chip sets on the 9500 are powerful. So, they are recommended on the aggregation layer on the larger deployment at the campus or branches. However, they are not suited if there are requirements for copper ports and traffic load is not huge.
We haven't used any virtualization and programmability features of the CAT 9500 yet. However, we are planning to use programming/API to configure and manage the switches. Right now we are using DNA Center for automating the switches deployment.
Cisco TAC engineers are very responsive and supportive.
It has great potential. It can support 10, 40, 100 Gig ports. The chipset are high processing capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches vs Nexus 3k

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
I implemented a dual 9500 HA redundancy setup to replace the old 6500's that were being used as the core switches. Upon initial inspection, the Nexus 3k looked to be a better fit for our purpose, however, it came at a very steep price point. Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches was a great alternative as it had all the software-defined network integration that was needed to start the Cisco DNA journey.
  • Throughput.
  • Software-defined.
  • Analytics.
  • Security.
  • Price.
Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches are definitely a campus grade core/distribution switch depending on your speed requirements.
This was definitely the case after we had implemented DNA along with ISE in the environment. The integration and automation from a deployment and security aspect have truly been a time-saving benefit. The level of insight that it gives is an amazing feature that not only saves time on a day to day operational perspective but also a compliance point.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Why do not you want to improve your campus's agility?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We decided to implement them to manage our throughput and security needs. The Cat9K family allows us to better enforce our policies with software-defined segmentation approach. We were also interested in getting more information about encrypted traffic without adding inline appliances that reduce the scalability and increase costs. We're planning to integrate it with our Stealthwatch installation that already leverages the netflow traffic generated by the latest switching and routing Cisco family.
  • Programmability
  • Analytics of Encrypted Traffic
  • Software Defined Access
  • Security
  • Netflow
  • Cost
I suggest using these switches only if you want to benefit from the power of network programmability or if you want to implement policies across your campus (and not just the traditional perimeter) and consider the network as a critical element of your business, for which you need infrastructure that is scalable, resilient and quick to reprogram.
The automation of the catalysts has allowed us to standardize the procedures and scripts developed over the years by our staff. In this way we have sped up the procedures from hours to minutes, allowing to concentrate the OpEx on other more innovative activities. Standardization has also made it possible to spread these practices to new recruits, untying unofficial scripts from senior staff.
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches

The Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series is presented by the vendor as the first 100/40-Gbps switch purpose built for the enterprise campus, and recognized as CRN's 2017 Overall Network Product of the Year. Designed for security, the Internet of Things (IoT), and the cloud, the vendor describes their Catalyst 9500 fixed-core switches as high-density building blocks for a next-generation, intent-based network.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches Competitors

HPE Networking Switches, Dell PowerConnect Switches, Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches)

Cisco Catalyst 9500 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No