Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches Reviews

18 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 04, 2021
Lochan Kalicharan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9400 Series
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
Our switches are getting users connected to our network quickly to allow access to company resources. They are highly scalable and allow us to expand effortlessly as we open new areas and expand. A number of these switches have been used to replace older infrastructure as well, due to slower speeds and network congestion.
  • Scalability
  • Support
  • Documentation
  • Ease of use
  • Stacking is difficult/cumbersome
  • Licensing
  • Updates
Still highly recommend this switch over others. Scalability makes these a great choice. Setup and ease of use make the switches something you can implement very quickly with little downtime. Despite the licensing portion, still highly recommend it.
Unfortunately, we have not had a need for these capabilities. Virtualization is something the network ops team has been testing but has not yet implemented. We will surely update this review when we do utilize these features.
Read Lochan Kalicharan's full review
May 03, 2021
David Orellana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Other
They are the backbone of our network operation--data, wireless, and VoIP solutions.
  • LAN segregation
  • VLAN trunking
  • VoIP
  • QoS rules over VoIP
  • SNMP implementation with third parties
  • Central management tool cost is too high
Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches offer a wide selection of products for SOHO and enterprise. Layer-2 switches offer one-time configuration and in our experience, the hardware can stand for a long time.
Our environment doesn't change too much--it's pretty much configured once for the right scenario. Most of the capabilities of the switches will depend in whether you have a license coverage. Cisco offers a three-year opt-in with the purchase of the switches.
Read David Orellana's full review
May 03, 2021
Jim Lombardi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3650 Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches have been the core infrastructure product of choice for us and our customers. We've used core switches, firewalls, and converged technology devices from Cisco for over 10 years and support them for our clients across a wide array of configurations. As a product, they are indispensable for us, as they provide reliable and secure connectivity.
  • Management is superior
  • Flexibility
  • Integration with other products
  • New products sometimes had code bugs; but we usually are early adopters so we take that risk
Basically, anywhere you have a network to manage, Cisco will fit in and do very well. On the very large scale enterprises, they excel. For some very small installations, they used to be a bit difficult but they've evolved to address the less complex and sophisticated environments. Their support is expensive for small guys, so that's typically the major roadblock.
Yes, like many organizations we have been able to leverage the virtualization of the Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches to provide greater flexibility to our configurations and also to consolidate functionality down from a larger number of devices. The Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches is also so widely used and supported that there's often a lot of feedback available from similar customers that you can get.
Read Jim Lombardi's full review
May 04, 2021
Daniel García Arias | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9500 Series
We used catalyst 9600 as a distribution switch on an enterprise network. The switch is very useful because it resolves the problem of fast packet commutation in the distribution layer.
  • Fast packet commutation.
  • High port speed.
  • Hardware with high level of reliability.
  • Very hight price
  • Stability of VSS
  • It is desirable that the switch improve the troubleshooting process with some integrated tools.
The switch performance very well on many scenarios, is fast, reliable, and relatively easy to administrate, but its high price could be con for some organizations
Our organization takes great advantage of the time-saving automation because as I mentioned we don't need many engineers to administrate.
Read Daniel García Arias's full review
June 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deploy the Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches to multiple customers who chose this line of equipment for their infrastructure. Since it provides great connectivity and security throughout the network and has not had problems with connectivity against other vendors. This line from Cisco presents a wide range of products and configurations so that customers can meet all the requirements they have to meet a great network operation.
  • Good integration with other vendros or Cisco products
  • This line of cisco products present a great scalability
  • The configuration and the security of the network infrastructure are very good in this line of cisco
  • The cost of the solution is very high
I recommend the catalyst line since for more than 10 years I never had any type of problem with this equipment, the hardware and software updates were always good for the business and the equipment evolved as time passed from the speed in the ports to the great variety of features that the software brings.
Hardware maintenance is minimal for what it actually presents. Configurations are easy to implement because of great flexibility, which is why this product line is widely used by many customers today. The only bad issue is that the administration of these teams requires great knowledge and that is expensive.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
  • Catalyst 3560-CX Series
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
  • Catalyst 2960-L Smart Managed
  • Other
Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches are being used for a variety of purposes, as access-layer switches and distribution for large implementations. The flexibility for configuring and licensing is optimal for small and large enterprise projects. It can be used for new implementations and to replace legacy equipment. Is adaptable for many uses in campus designs.
  • Robust
  • Confidence
  • Features
  • Price
They are suited for access-layer switches and where needed for supplementary services such as POE. Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches can be deployed very easily in an environment for changing legacy equipment. May be is less appropriate for small offices because of the price per port--it would not be a differentiator compared with other solutions.
For the state of the project, we only have to take advantage of automation with some scripts--willing to take more advantage on analytics and virtualization. I want to be able to automate some monitor functions or try virtualization functions to decentralize monitoring, management, and operation. Some testing labs are being run in pursuing this.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
We are using Cisco Catalyst switches in multiple departments located at different geographic locations. At some locations, we have integrated these switches with Cisco DNA Center for automation and analytics. With the help of UPOE models, we are easily using our access points that require more power from ethernet in terms of wattage.
  • Cisco Catalyst Switches can be easily integrated with Cisco DNA center for automation.
  • It supports non-stop packet forwarding and the stateful switchover to support resilient architecture.
  • It supports USB support to upgrade /downgrade images or upload configurations.
  • Cisco Catalyst Switches are highly flexible and easy to deploy and nothing we can say in terms of improvement.
  • Cisco Catalyst switches provide unified management for wired and wireless clients and everything is excellent.
  • Cisco Catalyst switches have lower operating costs and fewer failures which makes the product stable and robust and there is no need for any improvement.
Cisco Catalyst is well suited for small to medium as well as enterprise networking segments where there is a need to manage wired and wireless users from a single pane of glass with higher visibility and control. It is less suitable where the company is only for basic networks to use internet surfing without any client management and integration of network management tools.
My organization is leveraging multiple benefits while using Cisco Catalyst switches such as automation, advanced analytics, and reporting, centralized management with Cisco DNA center, support modular with combination and ethernet and fiber, etc. Cisco Catalyst switches save time in deployment, configuration, troubleshooting, migration activities, and, last but not least, in providing support to different power over ethernet devices.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 3850 Series
  • Catalyst 9300 Series
Primarily used as core switch router allowing the organization to segment portions of the their network for the purpose of sideways security.

Establishing localized campus VLANs with ACLs to mitigate against the ability for unwelcome and unnecessary sideways access to resources.

The ASICs of the Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches and the price point make it attractive for specific business sizes to get the performance for the price.
  • Routing
  • Switching and forwarding of packets
  • Security
  • The annual support can be a killer for some organizations; buying a hot spare can be more feasible
  • BOM for units should be clearer for the procurement teams
  • Firmware upgrades could be simplified for mid-level techs
It works really well as a medium business core switch and router

Simplified CLI for the purposes of administration, and when set up correctly, you pretty much forget about it with minimal changes to VLANs and ACLs.

Easy to add additional switches to a stack as well as mixing of copper and SFP.
The 3850 Series Switches and the Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches, if designed correctly, require minimal effort to maintain. While the environment can be complex, it can also be simplified through good practices and automatic backup processes. The solid state of the hardware instills trust and flexibility when it comes to scaling out.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Catalyst 2960 X/XR Series
Layer-2 switch environment for WAN (connection of 19 locations back to the main data center). The connection is over Fiber backbone provided by a third party, with a network comprised of 12 VLANs. Once configured and deployed, Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches have provided stable, secure, and reliable connections for all clients back to the main data center.
  • Support of VLAN architecture that in our environment is somewhat complicated
  • Interface well with Fiber backbone provided by third party
  • Secure configuration and operation of network infrastructure
  • Uptime has been outstanding with no outages noted
  • Programming is different from other providers; this has caused some issues with staffing
  • The training opportunities do not provide the basics of programming or migration from other vendors' products.
  • Unless you are willing to purchase renewed switches, cost can be out of line with other vendors
For the less appropriate installations, I would say that a smaller, less well funded organization would be hard pressed to justify the expense and possibly find it difficult to staff appropriately for deployment of Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches. Since the Cisco OS is so specialized and different from other vendors, a person with Cisco experience is required to properly configure. If the deployment does not require VLANs or segregation of data paths, using the switches in default mode will work, however there are less expensive options that will also provide connectivity.

Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches are well suited for a robust environment, whether it is a simple LAN with multiple VLANS or a complex WAN environment with a multitude of drops. Security and reliability continue to be a strong benefit in this type of deployment.
We have not deployed any of these capabilities, due to the loss of a network administrator and inability to attract a replacement based on our municipal salary scale. When we do hire, we will begin to investigate the automation, scaling, and most certainly the analytics to determine if our deployment is optimal.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches?

Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series switches are described by the vendor as purpose-built for resiliency at scale, providing comprehensive security and helping organizations grow at low total operational cost. Built on the foundation of Catalyst 9000, the Catalyst 9600 Series is designed to offer scale and high levels of security when "always on" is the goal.
Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches Competitors

Dell PowerConnect Switches, HPE Networking Switches, Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches)

Cisco Catalyst 9600 Series Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No