TrustRadius
Cisco's Catalyst is one of that company's brand of network switches.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/yc/hA/F0JDW2AQTDDO.JPEGCisco 6800ia's Best Innovation: Cisco has Killed!Catalyst 6800 Series,We currently are using our Cisco Catalyst 6800ia switches in all of our edge closets. They provide power to access points, phones, cameras, and our bell speakers in our schools. They also provide data to our end users in labs, classrooms, and offices. We really like the fact that they are easily managed via their fx uplink to the 6880s in the MDF closets.,Centrally managed configuration and IOS via the attached 6880 catalyst pair. POE+ support for newer Access Points and speaker requirements Firmware rollout is very smooth and simple using upgrades to the 6880 "core",There are some known bugs that cause interface errors and are listed as "cosmetic" and they do not plan to address them. This makes troubleshooting very difficult to determine what are real errors and what are cosmetic. We have had a few batches that get stuck in random reboots. Cisco foolishly has discontinued R&D for this line of Catalyst when they were finally showing some innovation that set them apart from other vendors.,9,We have cut down our time considerably with firmware rollouts and central management We have been able to go to one spot to see CDP neighbors and Netflow for the whole environment We will have to buy new very soon which is a negative because Cisco discontinued the 6800 line.,With NetFlow and firmware control centrally located we now can have one pane of glass to go to for data and analytics. When we upgrade the core 6880's all of the edge switches are also automatically upgraded to be at the same code revision creating a stable and consistent environment.,The manageability is the crucial reason these switches are better than others. Instead of touching 50 switches per building we only login to one. When a tech needs to troubleshoot a switch or client at a site, they no longer have to jump from switch to switch searching for the mac address of the client as it all comes back to the central 6880.,Extreme Ethernet Switches, Juniper Ethernet Switches and Ruckus ICX Switches (formerly Brocade ICX Switches),5000,4,Lab connectivity Wireless poe connectivity and power Multicast connectivity,We have been able to upgrade code in the middle of the day for the core 6880s because of the IRRU method Poe to speakers, bells, phones and access points,Some might use them for building blocks. This question seems silly as switches are used for switch and routing. And that’s what they do. We use Netflow to track what is on our network. Ise and 802.1x integration in the future,10Catalyst 2960X and 3560CX ReviewCatalyst 2960 X/XR Series Catalyst 3560-CX Series,We currently utilize a mixture of Catalyst 2960X and 3560CX switches at our edge in 42 locations throughout our county. Overall we have over 900+ catalyst switches deployed. The biggest thing they address for us is the Auto SmartPort feature that provisions edge ports based off of MAC OUI. This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.,Stack up to 8 high providing high port density with a single managed IP address Autosmart ports allow zero touch provisioning of edge connected devices IOS commands are congruent amongst most models (Obviously different features available for different products),My only complain is the boot time for a stack. Just more of an education thing to end users than a nuisance. Letting them know it may be 5-10 minutes before connectivity is restored in the event of a power loss.,10,They have returned engineer hours spent on manually configuring ports and resolving issues related to STP. They have also allowed end to end congruence of configurations. Each location is similar in its configuration which allows for easier manageability.,We most certainly have benefited from the automation features of the catalyst switching line. As mentioned in previous questions, we utilize the Autosmart port feature quite heavily. It has really helped our engineers regain time spent doing menial tasks such as manually assigning VLANs and QoS policies which are now handled by the Autosmart port provision feature. We have done a little bit with analytics and watching NetFlows but only in a troubleshooting scenario. It's not something that we keep an eye on all the time.,Manageability with the Catalyst switches has been pretty simple and straight forward. We utilize a multitude of tools to monitor and retrieve data from the switches for simple up/down notifications, to watching CPU load, or CPU temperature. Since the Catalyst line follows industry standards for SNMP, as long as you can find the respective MIB you can monitor pretty much anything you need to.,,,4,Edge switching for our campus LAN environment. Ease of mangement by stacking 8 high and allowing high port density with only 1 management IP. Provides easy no-touch provisioning for end devices using AutoSmart ports.,We've been able to utilize the compact switches in compact environments where cooling and space are limited.,Just continue using the product to meet our needs at the edge. With the upcoming release of the Catalyst 9200 there may be some more opportunities to be innovative.,10LifeNCatalystCatalyst 2960 X/XR Series,We have multiple switch stacks at each of our three locations, they serve to allow our end users to interact with our core, servers and internet based hosts. Our switch stacks all have 10GB redundant uplinks to the core, to provide assurance of no bottlenecks while processing data requests. These switch stacks also serve the needs of our PoE devices such as desk and conference phones and access points.,LAN traffic processing PoE power management and sensing Uptime, they can run forever in some of the worst conditions ive seen... Particularly one in an autoshop covered in oil, drained and it still functions today.,Modularity in the lower end models could use a bit of a hand Power cord stress relief and retention options Integrated environment sensors, option to connect external directly,10,Uptime is generally hard to define in value but it sure is noticed when its not up Support is there when needed Warranty is above and beyond,Simple drop in expansion is great, when a switch stack becomes full to capacity it is easy to extend the capacity of that switch stack. Also how quickly and versatile this process is is just an amazing feat. As long as a switch has the same ios running you are golden. My organization has used catalyst switch stacks for years with little need for anything more than regular maintenance with great glee.,Catalyst Switches have the ability to provide a rich feature set, that can meet the needs of any organization needing a physical infrastructure. The ability to customize and define these needs are able to keep pace with the ever-changing environment that is business.,Juniper Ethernet SwitchesCatalyst All the Way!We use Cisco Catalyst switches throughout our entire campus. Our network infrastructure is strictly Cisco, except for the industrial switches we use in our emergency blue light poles. We've always been a Cisco shop, long before I was hired. We used to implement the 3700 series, but now we are transitioning to the 2900's as we do not need routing on our campus access switches. Moving to the 2900 series has saved us a good deal of money. Using Cisco switches ensures we won't have any interoperability/compatibility issues with our Cisco IP phone system and allows Cisco to provide support without having to involve other vendors.,I haven't worked on many other brands of routers/switches, but I can say with certainty that Cisco's IOS network operating system is very well written. Using the question mark helps you find a command or complete its options very easily. Cisco's Catalyst documentation is superb and if you can't find what you're looking for there, you can find a ton of great blogs by certified Cisco engineers. Cisco may be notorious for creating their own proprietary protocols, but for every proprietary protocol they also support the industry standard protocols. Cisco Catalyst switches are genuine workhorses; we still have some switches on our network that are older than 10 years and still performing great!,Cisco Catalyst switches, like all Cisco products, are insanely expensive. However, the tech support they provide is unparalleled. You can get support from Cisco TAC (Technical Assistance Center) any time of day/night. It would be easier if Cisco stopped creating their own proprietary protocols and only supported the industry standards. One thing I don't like about Cisco IOS is that you must remember what interface you are configuring, as the command prompt will not tell you. It's not a huge deal, but it's worth fixing. Since Cisco's hardware and support maintenance is so expensive, they should drop the modular pricing on their IOS and give ALL their customers the full OS with all capabilities included. Their IP base OS doesn't even support cryptography! Who DOESN'T use SSH these days?,8,Getting more than 10 years out of our switches has more than met our ROI. The Catalyst 2900 series (Layer 2 only) is well priced and has saved us money, compared to buying the considerably more expensive L3 switches. When we were purchasing the 3700 series, the switches were so expensive we had trouble getting the budget to upgrade them. Make sure you actually need L3 switches at the access level before purchasing them!Many, many years of experience with Cisco Catalyst SwitchesCatalyst 3560-CX Series Catalyst 3650 Series Catalyst 3850 Series Other,My company has been using Catalyst Switches since I was hired 10 years ago. We use them for user access, core switching, and data center switching. In the modular series, it is easy to find and purchase any type of interface you need. These switches are extremely stable, easy to maintain and troubleshoot, and Cisco support is always available if there is an issue.,Support for several types of interfaces on a single chassis. Hardware and software stability. We have some switches on our network that are at least 15 years old. Ease of implementation and software upgrades.,The price point for some of the modular products, particularly in the 6500 series chassis makes it difficult for some companies to implement. So, competitors sometimes "win" because Cisco is just too expensive.,10,We have not had capital to purchase many switches in the past 5 years. While we can't do a lot of "new" technologies, we haven't NEEDED to replace our switching infrastructure because they are so reliable. As for ROI, our Cisco 6509s and 4506s have been on our network for at least 7 years. That is much longer than most technology products.,We are looking to virtualization in 2019.,We will also be looking at this in 2019.
Unspecified
Cisco Catalyst Switches
160 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
TRScore

Cisco Catalyst Switches Reviews

Cisco Catalyst Switches
160 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 160 vetted Cisco Catalyst Switches reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 53)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Tim Lillis profile photo
June 29, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Cisco 6800ia's Best Innovation: Cisco has Killed!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently are using our Cisco Catalyst 6800ia switches in all of our edge closets. They provide power to access points, phones, cameras, and our bell speakers in our schools. They also provide data to our end users in labs, classrooms, and offices. We really like the fact that they are easily managed via their fx uplink to the 6880s in the MDF closets.
  • Centrally managed configuration and IOS via the attached 6880 catalyst pair.
  • POE+ support for newer Access Points and speaker requirements
  • Firmware rollout is very smooth and simple using upgrades to the 6880 "core"
  • There are some known bugs that cause interface errors and are listed as "cosmetic" and they do not plan to address them. This makes troubleshooting very difficult to determine what are real errors and what are cosmetic.
  • We have had a few batches that get stuck in random reboots.
  • Cisco foolishly has discontinued R&D for this line of Catalyst when they were finally showing some innovation that set them apart from other vendors.
These are excellent in a large environment that does not have a nice central software to roll out firmware automatically. With the 6880 paired with the 6800ia switches, you can configure all the ports centrally from the MDF switch. Not a good place would be an environment that already has a large-scale rollout of 2960x switches with Prime for management.
Read Tim Lillis's full review
Matthew Cable profile photo
June 19, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches: "Catalyst 2960X and 3560CX Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize a mixture of Catalyst 2960X and 3560CX switches at our edge in 42 locations throughout our county. Overall we have over 900+ catalyst switches deployed. The biggest thing they address for us is the Auto SmartPort feature that provisions edge ports based off of MAC OUI. This allows us to auto-provision end-user computers, phones, and access points without an engineer having to touch each switch to ensure proper VLANs and QoS are set up.
  • Stack up to 8 high providing high port density with a single managed IP address
  • Autosmart ports allow zero touch provisioning of edge connected devices
  • IOS commands are congruent amongst most models (Obviously different features available for different products)
  • My only complain is the boot time for a stack. Just more of an education thing to end users than a nuisance. Letting them know it may be 5-10 minutes before connectivity is restored in the event of a power loss.
They are best suited for edge switching applications. We do have a couple in the data center doing legacy copper VM hosts that perform ok. But edge switching is most definitely the best suited, at least in our specific situation. I know that some of the higher end catalyst switches have the ability to do layer 3 functionality, but that's not something that we've personally delved into with the catalyst line.
Read Matthew Cable's full review
Jason Thompson profile photo
June 14, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "LifeNCatalyst"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple switch stacks at each of our three locations, they serve to allow our end users to interact with our core, servers and internet based hosts. Our switch stacks all have 10GB redundant uplinks to the core, to provide assurance of no bottlenecks while processing data requests. These switch stacks also serve the needs of our PoE devices such as desk and conference phones and access points.
  • LAN traffic processing
  • PoE power management and sensing
  • Uptime, they can run forever in some of the worst conditions ive seen... Particularly one in an autoshop covered in oil, drained and it still functions today.
  • Modularity in the lower end models could use a bit of a hand
  • Power cord stress relief and retention options
  • Integrated environment sensors, option to connect external directly
Catalyst Switches are best suited for any office or space that requires hardwired connections for a device to communicate with another device whether it be locally another end client or someone or something across the world or down the block. About the only place, I could imagine not using catalyst would be in dense data centers where a nexus infrastructure would be more suitable.
Read Jason Thompson's full review
Omar Campos profile photo
May 21, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalyst All the Way!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst switches throughout our entire campus. Our network infrastructure is strictly Cisco, except for the industrial switches we use in our emergency blue light poles. We've always been a Cisco shop, long before I was hired. We used to implement the 3700 series, but now we are transitioning to the 2900's as we do not need routing on our campus access switches. Moving to the 2900 series has saved us a good deal of money. Using Cisco switches ensures we won't have any interoperability/compatibility issues with our Cisco IP phone system and allows Cisco to provide support without having to involve other vendors.
  • I haven't worked on many other brands of routers/switches, but I can say with certainty that Cisco's IOS network operating system is very well written. Using the question mark helps you find a command or complete its options very easily.
  • Cisco's Catalyst documentation is superb and if you can't find what you're looking for there, you can find a ton of great blogs by certified Cisco engineers.
  • Cisco may be notorious for creating their own proprietary protocols, but for every proprietary protocol they also support the industry standard protocols.
  • Cisco Catalyst switches are genuine workhorses; we still have some switches on our network that are older than 10 years and still performing great!
  • Cisco Catalyst switches, like all Cisco products, are insanely expensive. However, the tech support they provide is unparalleled. You can get support from Cisco TAC (Technical Assistance Center) any time of day/night.
  • It would be easier if Cisco stopped creating their own proprietary protocols and only supported the industry standards.
  • One thing I don't like about Cisco IOS is that you must remember what interface you are configuring, as the command prompt will not tell you. It's not a huge deal, but it's worth fixing.
  • Since Cisco's hardware and support maintenance is so expensive, they should drop the modular pricing on their IOS and give ALL their customers the full OS with all capabilities included. Their IP base OS doesn't even support cryptography! Who DOESN'T use SSH these days?
Cisco Catalyst is best suited for medium to large enterprises. If you have a SOHO, save your money and buy a cheaper switch. However, in medium and large companies where business continuity and SLA's must be met, you can't go wrong buying Cisco Catalyst.
Read Omar Campos's full review
Jodi Pratt profile photo
June 29, 2018

Review: "Many, many years of experience with Cisco Catalyst Switches"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has been using Catalyst Switches since I was hired 10 years ago. We use them for user access, core switching, and data center switching. In the modular series, it is easy to find and purchase any type of interface you need. These switches are extremely stable, easy to maintain and troubleshoot, and Cisco support is always available if there is an issue.
  • Support for several types of interfaces on a single chassis.
  • Hardware and software stability. We have some switches on our network that are at least 15 years old.
  • Ease of implementation and software upgrades.
  • The price point for some of the modular products, particularly in the 6500 series chassis makes it difficult for some companies to implement. So, competitors sometimes "win" because Cisco is just too expensive.
These switches are so versatile, they can fit into any corporate organization. In fact, there is a 12 port switch sitting on my desk for testing, and I can't even hear it. The larger modular chassis are great for distributing out to buildings with multiple floors and network closets.
Read Jodi Pratt's full review
Ryan Steele profile photo
June 26, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalyst for intent based networking"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst switches in our access layer. They provide a great balance of performance and cost. They come in a variety of models with different features. They have modular power supplies and modules. This ensures they provide the roustabout redundancy we need. With IoT and other technologies, these switches ensure that we can keep up with the needs of the business. Whether it's from a user or security perspective the catalyst switches have us covered.
  • Security features
  • Ability to adapt to new needs (through Hardware ASICs and software)
  • Catalyst support is best of breed
  • Modular design to grow with the need
  • TCO
  • Boot times
  • Licensing
When you need the features and ability to grow into switches then Catalyst is a great option. If you're worried about security and the ability to secure your infrastructure then Catalyst is a great option.

If you're looking for an inexpensive switch the Catalyst is not for you. If your looking for a data center switch then Catalyst is not for you.
Read Ryan Steele's full review
Jeremy Reichers profile photo
June 25, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "New Generation of Catalyst Redeems Older Generation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just migrated our network core from two 6509s to a stack of 3850s. We currently are in the middle of upgrading our 3750s to 3650s in our IDFs and MDF. The 3750/3650s are used as access layer switches. For what it's worth, were using Cisco 5K and 9K in our data center and would comprise our distribution layer, but in reality, we have a collapsed core.
  • Cisco Catalyst Switches are extremely reliable. I cannot recall a time when I have had to swap out one, or repair one.
  • Cisco Catalyst Switches provide the power and data redundancy required in our research heavy environment that cannot suffer network failures.
  • Cisco Catalyst Switches allow for growth, limiting upfront costs.
  • It would be nice if configuring a new stack from the ground up was simpler. It's too easy to end up with a split stack situation on accident, and in general, setting up a new stack isn't as fluid as I would like.
Cisco Catalyst Switches are awesome in the role of an access layer switch. Our implementation of a stack of 3850s as our core is too new to really provide feedback about its viability. For the most part, our firewall, Cisco Firepower Threat Defense, does most of the routing duties and it seems like it would be a better solution if the two solutions were combined.
Read Jeremy Reichers's full review
Clarence Kennedy profile photo
June 25, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalystic"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Catalyst Switches are being used to provide end user access to the campus area network services for the enterprise. The switches are primarily used for end-user connectivity of workstations, printers, and VoIP services. The 3850 model addresses scalability for VoIP services through its stacking capability and minimizes port density where needed to control costs in low user volume locations.
  • Gigabit Ethernet access - with large backplane
  • Scalability for port density
  • Power over Ethernet
  • Inline service upgrades/software revision
Nothing specific. We are moving more towards a data center architecture for services. This pushes the organization into solutions that require the Nexus switches as opposed to the normal end user requirement.
Read Clarence Kennedy's full review
Dellea Underwood profile photo
June 25, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "2960s They Just Work!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a school system and use various models of catalyst switches at our edge, distribution, and core. They are being used to connect end users and devices. They serve as protection to the rest of the network and route our traffic.
  • While we do make changes to the software on the switches, we expect them to work. They do this phenomenally. We rarely have a problem with the hardware.
  • We use our catalyst switches as a layer 3 device to route traffic between buildings while segmenting our network.
  • We are using port security to help protect the rest of the network.
  • Cost. We love our Cisco switches but, other vendors present cost savings that is difficult to justify not using their product.
  • SmartNet is a huge cost for a k-12 organization. We purchase licensing when we purchase the product. This should allow access to software upgrades. Other vendors offer a lower cost for the equipment, lifetime warranty without change, and software updates without charge.
Cisco Catalyst Switches are well suited to most environments. The only restriction is temperature. We have areas that are not temperature controlled. These areas can get extremely hot during the summer. We are not willing because of cost to install a high end Cisco switch in these areas.
Read Dellea Underwood's full review
Brandon Hudson profile photo
June 14, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalyst-astic"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Catalyst Switches for multiple applications within multiple layers. They provide us dependable port connectivity as well as additional functionality such as 802.1x.
  • LAN switching
  • Voice segmentation
  • Routing and MPLS tagging
  • Port aggregation
  • Per port costs are higher than other vendors, even though those vendors do not provide as much out of their switches, the number is a selling obstacle
I cannot think of any area where Cisco Catalyst is not well suited.
Read Brandon Hudson's full review
Lindsy Marmol profile photo
June 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches: "Cisco Switches Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Catalyst is used across the organization. We are using them as our end-user access layer switches. We are currently refreshing old switches with these devices.
  • Connecting end user devices
  • Multiple vlans assigned to ports
  • Reliable switches
  • Labeling of port numbers vary between switches
  • Recently with 3850s, seems more than 4-5 in a stack - it has issues and a switch will put
  • Port-security issues
Best suited to use with end user devices but recommend having a pilot testing before deploying.
Read Lindsy Marmol's full review
Bryan Valverde Piedra profile photo
June 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalyst switches in enterprise networks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are used as access and distribution switches. They are used in enterprise networks and also data centers management networks. In general, they are really stable.
  • Access switches
  • Colapse Core switch
  • Many redundancy functions, depending on the model, there are stacks, VSS, even working separately provide L3 redundancy with HSRP for example
  • Maybe interference speed, the highest I have seen is 10Gbps. Nexus is working in 40 Gbps and even 100 Gbps
Enterprise networks completely
Read Bryan Valverde Piedra's full review
David Peck profile photo
June 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Cisco switches are solid performers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them as our end-user access layer switches.
  • Great at connecting end-user devices
  • Very good at securing the edge of the network
  • Easy to troubleshoot any issues that you might encounter
  • Cost per port could always be less
  • Ports could be labeled better
  • Management ports should be on the back
These shine at getting devices connected to the network. Don't try and use them as core switches.
Read David Peck's full review
Rafael Gomez profile photo
June 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Cisco, Always and Forever"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Switches throughout our entire campus. Our core switches in each of our data centers provide a solid and stable platform for our end users while creating a secure environment and easy to manage backbone for the IT department.
  • Ease of Configuration
  • Stability
  • Speed
  • Reliability
  • Boot time
  • Handling power surges
They are perfect for end nodes deployed in telecom rooms and core network points.
Read Rafael Gomez's full review
David East profile photo
June 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Cisco provides a catalyst to build bears"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Catalyst switches are used at each store. They are also our edge switches at our corporate offices.
  • They WORK. Our Cisco switches remain in operation until they had to be replaced to allow for we features.
  • Easy configuration. We manage many of our switches with a single config that needs only minor tweaks.
  • Configuration by CLI guarantees that we can easily reconfigure and troubleshoot our devices, even under very low bandwidth conditions.
  • Web interface. A fully functional web interface with all configuration capabilities would help for admins with less experience.
  • They need built in monitoring that gives real statistics and other data.
Entry level switches are well suited to use in retail stores. Their low cost point allows many to be purchased and not break the bank.

4000+ switches have been instrumental in setting up our regional corporate offices. Their flexibility makes them perfect for setting up the more complex scenarios in locations with 100+ users.
Read David East's full review
Peter McCabe profile photo
June 12, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Show version"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them for our access layer switches. We implement QoS on them for a better user experience.
  • We use stacking technology to help with redundancy.
  • Great uptime, rarely do they fail.
  • The MultiGig technology - we enjoy using it for our access points.
  • Found cosmetic bugs with PoE. Seems to affect a few versions of code.
  • Seems to be a little pricier than competitors.
  • Great access and distribution layer switches.
  • Easy to configure, have redundancy options, and great throughout.
Read Peter McCabe's full review
Steven Peters profile photo
June 12, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalyst Switching - 2960-X"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization supports almost 16,000 students and over 1200 staff members across 12 campuses. As is typical for most public education providers, we have a limited budget for infrastructure. Catalyst switching, especially the 2960-X, allows us to easily manage stacks of switches in each closet for high port density, with the capability to run 10Gbps (or higher with port channels) backbone connections.
  • Single management IP per stack, one logical switch composed of several physical switches.
  • 10Gbps to the edge switches
  • Reliable - very few service interruptions due to switch failure.
  • SMARTnet can be expensive for continued support
  • Earlier version of code had a bug that impacted our environment
  • No real netflow capability
  • No SDN capability
These are great in an environment that needs a high number of access ports and 10Gbps+ backbone speeds.

The 2960-X is not really designed for SDN or network programmability. They just don’t have the horsepower to support it.
Read Steven Peters's full review
Hawkinson, John profile photo
June 12, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Bulletproof switch"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cisco Catalyst Switches as our standard enterprise and WAN switch solution. They connect almost 100 WAN sites, 2,000 VOIP phones, and 300 wireless access points. The business services that we provide would cease to function without the catalyst switch.
  • They are bulletproof, you can abuse and neglect these things and they just keep working.
  • PoE (power over ethernet) is simple and dependable.
  • They are super forgiving of configuration mistakes.
  • I have always wanted a wireless way of connecting to the console. We have very small network closets and struggle to balance a laptop and make configuration changes.
  • If physical labeling of the device is neglected it is difficult the know which device is which in a stack.
  • They are sometimes extremely loud and difficult to install in non-dedicated areas.
  • If you need an enterprise-grade access layer switch, you won't regret the catalyst.
  • Small business or in the home you would be over buying for the catalyst.
Read Hawkinson, John's full review
Mark Ciecior profile photo
June 11, 2018

"Cisco Catalyst Switches Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Financial institutions are very interested in the Encrypted Traffic Analytics feature, specifically the ability to do a crypto audit with StealthWatch to meet their regulatory requirements.
  • 1X integration with ISE
  • API access, with Python bindings
  • The guest shell allows customers to do almost anything they need with these switches.
  • Cost
  • Some of the default settings are ridiculous. I always update the log and debug settings to include the timestamp, and auto secure is a must. Why shouldn't these be defaults?
  • The LAN Lite image is useless, I have no reason to sell such a limited switch.
Customers that want detailed logging and insight into their environment are well-suited to Catalyst switches. Small businesses that just want PoE have no interest in such expensive gear. The SMB line is very difficult to manage.
Read Mark Ciecior's full review
Steve Davis profile photo
May 28, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches: "My Review of Cisco Switches"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
While at Diamond IT, I implemented Cisco Catalyst switches for municipal governments as well as school districts. The problems they address are the reliability of equipment, uptime, and feature requirements.
  • Excellent uptime. They rarely go down
  • A massive amount of features
  • Easy upgrade and maintenance
  • Cisco is more expensive which is why many small organizations sometimes do not opt to use them.
  • Better built-in GUI for less experienced users. The java based GUI is buggy. CLI configurations are my preference.
When more advanced network requirements are needed, as well as great uptime. Their TAC support is excellent as well. They may be higher in cost but they are also higher in reliability.
Read Steve Davis's full review
Greg Fuller profile photo
August 03, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Catalyst switches in higher education"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in our academic, administrative and residence hall buildings. We use them to connect all wireless access points and wired devices within the buildings. They provide us with 10G connectivity between data closets and 1G with UPOE out to the edge devices. Our clients want reliable dependable connectivity, and the Catalyst switches provide that for us.
  • Command line configuration is very easy to mass deploy config changes and base configurations.
  • 1x authentication
  • Segmentation
  • All bugs publically available and not hidden behind Technical Assistance Center (TAC) for "internal" bug id
  • Longevity of recent IOS software releases
  • Adding new features to older stable tested trusted software code
Quick deployment of you already have a Cisco environment. We use all Cisco products with our catalyst switches (phones, switches and routers) and they all integrate.
Read Greg Fuller's full review
Prasanna Rajagopalan profile photo
July 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Cisco 3850 stack switch"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco 3850 catalyst switch in a cascade for our voice servers. They act as a L2 switch and connect to our core switches.
  • Since we use them in a stack, they offer HA
  • The failover to the secondary switch is immediate in case of primary going down
  • I don't have any cons for these switches
They are well suited as a L2 switch in a stack. Until now we do not have incidents of the switch going down. They are very robust.
Read Prasanna Rajagopalan's full review
Manuel J Gomez profile photo
June 29, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches: "Catalyst Switch Review From HCR"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The switches provide access to our clients for day to day business objectives. They also provide PoE services for cameras, phones, and door locks.
  • Provide access to end users
  • Easily configurable for basic needs
  • Allow devices to be powered via Ethernet
  • Price point on a perpetual licensed model is high compared across the industry.
  • Licensing model is getting better with Smart Licenses however not all devices support this.
These switches are installed in areas to provide client access, they are well suited for this task. In SMB environments they are a bit out of reach due to price point.
Read Manuel J Gomez's full review
Jeremy Larson profile photo
June 26, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "6800 great small ISP switch"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the 6816 for our primary core switched configured in a VSS for all traffic. These switches are MPLS enabled, DC power and very robust.
  • VSS Redundancy
  • MPLS Ready
  • Flexible configuration.
  • Port Density for a 2RU unit.
  • Higher port speeds
  • Software features
I am using these for a core ISP because of the quality, price, and features. The 6800 are designed for a campus, but are well suited for a small ISP configuration.
Read Jeremy Larson's full review
Christopher Hall profile photo
June 13, 2018

Cisco Catalyst Switches Review: "Cisco Is worth it"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use them as a collapsed core design at all of our remote offices. They allow us to perform all the requirements of a medium to small office without having too many pieces of equipment. The security and management are there along with the speed.
  • Reliability - they keep going.
  • Features - no other switch can meet as many diverse needs.
  • Supportable - it’s relatively easy to find people who can setup run and operate.
  • Cost, but even as I say that I do not want quality to go down.
Not suited for the data center. I love using them in our user focused environments
Read Christopher Hall's full review

About Cisco Catalyst Switches

The Cisco Catalyst family of switches includes enterprise LAN access, distribution, and core switches. The vendor says the switches are designed for an entirely new era of intent-based networking, deliver stellar performance and functionality, and prepare your network for the future with breakthrough innovations for security, mobility, IoT, and the cloud.

Cisco Catalyst switches offer advanced security capabilities, scale for IoT, and cloud readiness.

Cisco aims to transform how people connect, communicate, and collaborate. Cisco and its valued partners sell Cisco hardware, software, and services to businesses of all sizes, governments, service providers, and consumers.


Categories:  LAN Switches

Cisco Catalyst Switches Screenshots

Cisco Catalyst Switches Downloadables

Cisco Catalyst Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No