Cisco Ethernet Switches Reviews

47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Dean Aceto II | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Cisco Ethernet Switches in all our wiring closets and in our datacenter. With our migration to Cisco VOIP we have begun utilizing them for our phone system as well with POE capability. We have 3 primary racks of Cisco switches in the datacenter that have patch panels above and below. We also use fiber SFP modules to connect the switches from floor to floor and for longer runs. We also connect our Cisco Wi-Fi points to these switches as well.
  • The command line interface is very consistent and straightforward.
  • The build quality of these switches is top notch and we have had little to no issues with hardware failure.
  • Firmware and IOS updates happen regularly and newfound security flaws are patched quickly.
  • Price.
  • There is a lack of robust GUI options that some might find annoying.
  • One must learn the Cisco terms and nomenclature to program it.
Cisco is a name well known in the IT field. The technology is tried and true and they have built a reputation on a solid platform. Though many people do not like the cost of the devices and the continued fees associated with long term ownership, you get what you pay for. I dont hesitate to recommend Cisco because I know people will get a solid product that will last a long time.
Read Dean Aceto II's full review
May 04, 2021
Joanna Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization, it provides networking capabilities across the business.
  • Provides LAN capabilities.
  • Easily configurable by qualified personal.
  • Interfaces with our monitoring software to easily see when we experience issues.
  • Interfaces with a bespoke website that tells details about what is connected on certain ports.
  • Information could be provided for preventative maintenance.
  • Logs are not easy to obtain and read.
  • When PoE does not work it is not easy to fix individual ports.
They are generally good switches and do the job they say they are going to do. Each model has the same command structure so easily configurable for generally 90% of the products, they can be interfaced using SNMP to extract information and monitor devices and links making the network very easy to manage.
Read Joanna Murphy's full review
May 03, 2021
João Vasconcelos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These Ethernet Switches are positioned at our branch. We have at least ten units spread out in racks on the site to connect employee workstations. The scenario for Ethernet Switches is Access. The model is the 2960X with 24 ports and power over ethernet technology. The main objective with this equipment is to give users access to the internal network.
  • These switches have high performance to support many users and high bandwidth.
  • The switches are managed and have the VLAN feature to segment the network into smaller areas and reduce the broadcast.
  • It has POE to connect Cisco access points on site.
  • It has static routing.
  • Price of the hardware and warranty with a more expensive value.
  • It has no dynamic routing.
Ethernet Switches are recommended because they are durable switches with a lot of reliability and very interesting network resources and also network security. The value is a little more expensive than some competitors but in the long run it pays more and you have security. The line we have 2960X has 1G SFP ports and some with 10G SFP + ports that connect to the Core switch. All with POE and connect workstations, access points and multifunctional devices.
Read João Vasconcelos's full review
April 28, 2021
Cody Plassmeyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco switches for all of our switching needs within our organization. From access switches to datacenter switches to even ruggedized switches, we use Cisco. They have been rock solid for us and we rarely have any issues with them.
  • Cisco switches just work! They do exactly what a switch needs to do which is switch.
  • Cisco switches are packed with every feature possible to make sure they work in your environment.
  • Cisco switches are secure and highly tested. If there is a vulnerability, there will be an update available ASAP.
  • Cisco is the best in the business. It's hard to find a feature that's hard to use or missing.
Cisco switches are well suited for any scenario or environment where there is technical expertise. If you are a business with less technical expertise you can look toward the Cisco Meraki line. Otherwise the Catalyst and Nexus line of switching is more ideal.
Read Cody Plassmeyer's full review
April 29, 2021
Engr Umer Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Ethernet Switches at our access level. we segregate our LAN and every department has their individual switch. So, the chances of loop and broadcast is very low and network performance is optimized.
  • Spanning tree protocol
  • Port fast.
  • Industrial level switches.
  • robust IOS
  • CLI is complex and hard.
Cisco Ethernet Switches can be installed and well suited in campus environment, where we have different departments and division need to separate their network with optimized network performance.
Read Engr Umer Usmani's full review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco switches across our entire organization and i often use them in side jobs as well. They are very reliable and fairly easy to use, their is a lot of documentation out there on them as well which makes troubleshooting easier. They are expensive though, so we often will buy older model switches instead of brand new ones.
  • Reliable
  • Easy to use
  • Industry Standard/lots of documentation available
  • Expensive!
Cisco switches are great for medium to large businesses, while they would work in small business setups as well they may not be as affordable to them. We often use "grey market" refurbished switches that are much more affordable but their are some cons involved with that as well, but overall we get along great doing that.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our network is currently utilizing Cisco Catalyst switches for 100% of the interconnectivity across our entire organization. They have proven to be extremely reliable with virtually zero downtime over many years and easy to manage and maintain. The management is mostly carried out utilizing the Cisco Network Assistant with occasional command line use.
  • Extremely reliable and robust
  • Wide range of capabilities to accommodate any size network
  • Excellent support resources
  • Cisco support site could use improvement
  • Licensing can be challenging and overly complicated
Cisco switches come in wide range of style, sizes and capabilities and this comes with a cost as they tend to be expensive. Perfectly suited for any size network but especially shine in medium to large enterprises. For small scale networks and offices there are much more cost effective solutions available.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Ethernet Switches exclusively across the organization, we use it for our core switches, routers and all outlying switches. We have 1 GB, 10 GB and 40 GB network connections and they all interconnect very easily and the ease of management is superb.
  • Network connections at all different speeds
  • Multiple VLAN management with ease
  • Reliable. Many switches are in outside weatherproof boxes and they withstand extreme high and low temperatures of Chicago.
  • Many different IOS versions, need to be simplified
  • Not a fan of the new licensing feature. Can be expensive.
  • Web GUI interface could use improvement
Would recommend Cisco Ethernet Switches for any environment that spans multiple locations and VLANs. It is an expensive option, but you get what you pay for...very high quality equipment and good support.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using Cisco switches on all connectivity levels in our organization for decades now. From manufacturing plants, remote offices, main offices, for engineering workloads, datacenters... Cisco is our standard for Networking equipment, for both Datacenter network and distribution layer network.
  • High throughput, depending on the model.
  • Low latency.
  • Very reliable hardware and software.
  • Price - Cisco equipment are quite expensive in Brazil.
Probably it suits better to medium - large companies as it can be a little expensive to small companies.
If you need to build a reliable and performing network, for both your end users or your datacenter, Cisco is probably the best choice.
It is a well known player on the network industry and their product has a very high availability ratio.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2019
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Small Business (SG) switches at almost all of our client sites. They provide all of the features that we need at an attractive price point, plus have the advantage of Cisco's support, both in official and community-based forms. They provide basic network connectivity, the functionality to segregate networks for different tasks (VLANs), and power to IP phones and other network devices (Power over Ethernet).
  • Easy setup and configuration. While the web UI has its quirks, setting up VLANs and other tasks which can be exceedingly complicated on other switches, are much easier on Cisco SG switches. You also have the ability to upload an existing configuration to switches, which can speed up the task of deploying many identical switches.
  • Features for the price. Getting a 48 port L3 switch with PoE+ for less than $2,000 is a great value.
  • Reliability. We have hundreds of the SG switches in dozens of client sites, many in harsh conditions, and they just keep going.
  • The web UI has taken a turn for the worse with the latest firmware on the SGx50 models -- the bifurcation between basic and advanced modes and the changes to the way VLANs are modified is a step backward in my opinion.
  • The power bricks on smaller models are enormous. I'm sure, however, keeping this circuitry external to the switch is what keeps my switches running year after year in hot environments.
  • Fans can be a bit loud on larger switches -- this is true of pretty much any 1U device though.
In my field, I honestly can't think of a scenario I wouldn't want to use an SG switch. Even if someone needed a simple desktop switch, I would advise they purchase a $150 8 port SG350 over spending $50 on a SOHO Netgear or similar switch. The flexibility of functionality offered by these switches in unmatched.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
February 05, 2019
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ethernet switches are used in many environments in our data centre and also in our office networks. We have been using Cisco Catalyst and Nexus devices for many years and they are enablers for all data communication in our company and provide us the possibility to focus on our core business.
  • Operating Cisco devices are easy since Cisco IOS is well known by specialists
  • They scale well to many environments
  • Reliability
  • Price
  • Too many software versions available
Cisco switches will fit into multiple locations in a data centre as well in campus area for small to large organizations. In very tiny installations other options might be more cost-effective.
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
January 30, 2019
Paolo Della Mea | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Cisco switches for every single port in my environment; they are powerful, stable, and always have predictable behaviour.
  • Extremely powerful
  • Predictable behavior
  • Easy to scale
  • Price
  • Flexibily
  • Easy to set up additional services
[They are] perfect for heavy work and even where a signal bit is important; may be too expensive for small offices.
Read Paolo Della Mea's full review
August 29, 2018
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Ethernet Switches are the industry standard for enterprise level networks. I have installed and helped configure the 6500 series all the way through to the 3850's which seem to be the most widely used now. I was totally against changing from the "blade" type switches to the stackable switches like the 3750 and 3850, but now I wouldn't change back even if it were possible.
  • Layer 3 routing and switching
  • Trunking
  • Scalability
  • Cisco Switches are extremely expensive (however the service that you get it outstanding)
  • Installing a third party license is a nightmare
  • At times, support ends with no warning.
I would recommend Cisco Ethernet Switches for any established company, or education system of just about any size,. Basically the only place that I would not recommend Cisco Switches would be a startup that is on a limited budget, because they could get out much cheaper going with another cheaper brand.
Read Michael Timms's full review
March 03, 2018
Brian Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco networking gear is the gold standard in the industry. We had a number of Cisco switches in production when I took over responsibility for managing them. They are by far the most reliable network hardware I’ve ever used. Coming from smaller shops where budgets don’t always optimize IT equipment, the cheaper hardware just doesn’t compare to Cisco switches.
  • Reliability. We can have the switches running for ages, only needing to take them down for upgrades and routine maintenance.
  • Speed. Haven’t experienced much of any lag due to hardware interference.
  • Security. Takes a little to configure correctly, but they can be locked down tighter than other switches at their price point.
  • Compatibility. Cisco really likes to talk to Cisco. We’ve had bad experiences mixing Cisco and HP, Dell, etc.
For mid to large organizations where you have multiple layers of switches and routing, Cisco is a perfect fit. If you have a smaller shop, with less than 100 nodes, Dell, HP, Juniper, other cheaper solutions may be a better fit.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
March 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since Cisco entered the industrial ruggedized market for their switching products I have had used 1000s of the IE3000, 4000, 5000s and they are great products. They brought the Cisco IOS and those advanced features into a world where we see temperatures of up to 50 degrees Celsius (ambient).
  • Uniform management
  • Standard code across the platform
  • Ability for software-defined networking
  • Move to SD card configuration storage across the board
Cisco Ethernet Switches are well suited for industrial applications.
Read this authenticated review
January 19, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We standardized on Cisco in order to achève the best available uptime and lost support overhead. Cost is high, and you need to ensure that you have sufficient technical knowledge within the team to support them, but their performance and reliability have been very good. We were lucky to have a very good Cisco account manager who supported us well with our existing equipment and future purchasing plans.
  • Quality of software is very high. Ability to configure is very high. Scaleability is very high.
  • Ability to tap into a vast network of knowledge outside of your organization is excellent.
  • Availability of training courses for this equipment is also very good.
  • Longer guarantee period and replacement program.
  • Better support of small businesses.
  • Ensuring the feature upgrades do not cost the earth!
I highly recommend Cisco Ethernet Switches for medium and large enterprises - Not recommended for smaller organizations unless you have good in-house skills or completely outsource to a Cisco accredited partner. Budget accordingly and ensure that you get pricing support direct from Cisco. If you are not large enough to do this then reconsider your choice of vendors.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Ethernet Switches Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Ethernet Switches?

Cisco offers Ethernet switches.
Categories:  Ethernet Switches

Cisco Ethernet Switches Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Ethernet Switches?

Cisco offers Ethernet switches.

Who uses Cisco Ethernet Switches?

The most common users of Cisco Ethernet Switches are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.