Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
58 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 08, 2021
André Santi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Firepower 1120 Series is excellent. In our local data center, we install[ed] two units. In the current topology the appliances are at the edge of the network providing protection. The active / standby high availability scenario was set up to prevent the network from being unprotected and always keep an appliance running in the event of a hardware problem or internet link failure. The goal is to protect the branch's internal network from external attacks such as hackers, malware, ransomware, DDoS attacks. Data is very important and together with endpoint protection on workstations, security is complete.
  • Offers protection of encrypted data with specific license.
  • URL filtering, Application control and anti-malware.
  • Protection in an active / standby high availability scenario.
  • Easy management and application of ACLs.
  • Cisco has a [big] reputation [and] a lot of protection features, but the prices are a little higher than the competition.
  • Smartnet support also comes at a high price.
The Firepower 1120 appliance together with the next generation firewall license package becomes a complete and robust network protection device to protect both the LAN and WLAN networks. This model 1120 is indicated as intermediate scenarios to be able to handle all the network traffic of employees and servers. The experience is excellent and we feel very safe with this solution.
We have the Cisco Smartnet contract to support and guarantee the appliances and licenses. It's great because we have technical support whenever we need it. And in the event of a hardware problem, new equipment is sent to us on SLA Next business day.
Read André Santi's full review
May 12, 2021
João Mauricio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been used by our organization as a network edge security platform. It also has the purpose of offering protection and visibility of layer 7 traffic. We have rules and acls in place to provide greater protection for the internal network and to prevent attacks by external attackers. In total there are two Firepower 1150 appliances and the second is to have a redundancy only where it is on standby. Along with the appliances, malware protection licenses and url filters were purchased.
  • Full network protection with ngfw licenses
  • Ssl vpn allowing the home office and access to network folders.
  • Protection against ransomware.
  • Web content filter and proxy for certain users and times.
  • Firewall is overloaded a lot when activating all licenses available at certain times.
  • Lack of documentation in Portuguese.
The firewall not only offers protection to our network, but also the possibility of making a home office and connecting with an ipsec or ssl vpn from home. The network is protected against malware, hackers and data attacks. URL filtering features help reduce viruses and protect against inappropriate websites. It is recommended for smaller scenarios and with few users. For scenarios with a higher density of people, the Firepower 2100 line is better.
The guarantee is very important and fundamental in technology equipment. And in that, Cisco is one step ahead as it has excellent technical support and a very good SLA level. When we used it, we were served quickly and optimally. For hardware failures, Cisco sends new equipment to the address.
Read João Mauricio's full review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is being used across the entire company, which is being used as the Internet firewall. It controls access to the Internet and provides content filtering for all corporate users. Guest users also have managed access through the firewall. It is also being utilized for VPN tunneling between branches and other remote sites.
  • My organization is all Cisco and wants to stay in the Cisco life cycle, Firepower 1000 series is great for small to medium-size office.
  • Very robust enterprise-grade security solution with updated threat features to handle any current and upcoming threats. The solution is backed by Cisco to ensure constant security updates. Integrated AnyConnect remote client VPN is a big plus to allow for secure remote workers access. Easier to set up a site to site VPN due to the large user base and case studies published on integrating to other manufacturer solutions.
  • We have a few remote sites that connect via a metro-E link that needed a way back to the network via a more secure route than we were using before. Using the Cisco Firepower 1120 and 1140 we were able to successfully get those sites back onto the network over a VPN link with a much better/safer protocol and connection type.
  • We user the Cisco Firepower 1120 in a variety of use cases across our division. We typically use it in a high-availability configuration, both in the same room together and separated via some distance. The Cisco Firepower 1000 Series has been a nice upgrade from our previous models of Cisco Firewalls.
[Cisco Firepower 1000 Series] helps our client to who is a small scale NGO. Firepower acts as primary security along with the ASA firewall. This is highly compatible with a small industry or a branch just like our client for who we are providing network and security support. It performs really well in load balancing the firewall environment.
Cisco Firepower is being used across the entire organization.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a few remote sites that connect via a metro-E link that needed a way back to the network via a more secure route than we were using before. Using the Cisco Firepower 1120 and 1140 we were able to successfully get those sites back onto the network over a VPN link with a much better/safer protocol and connection type.
  • Uses the latest high security protocols
  • Lots of other great firewalling tools and abilities
  • Fairly priced for a NGFW
  • Good technical support
  • Must upgrade to the higher end models in the series to add sfp ports
  • Racking the smaller units can be difficult due to reduced size/non standard racking type
  • Price of an 1150 is almost comparable to the 2000 series
Getting Cisco into your network is never a bad proposition. If I was asked by a friend, then Cisco's name would always be in the top 5. Now if you're needing something that is going to cover more than just a small site, or handling your main internet connection, [then] going up a rung to the 2000 series would be my next recommendation.
Well Cisco TAC is known for their hard work and determination to fix your problem, and this has no[t] changed recently. Whether you're calling to get help on your fifty thousand dollar core switch, or you're calling about one of these 1000 series firewalls, you get the same great service. Very little to complain about in this department.
Read this authenticated review
February 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Cisco Firepower 1000 Series] is use as IPS and Firewall System. This help with the monitoring and log on use behavior
  • Geo-Blocking
  • Malware Detection
  • License model is a nightmare
  • For time to time is too complex to configure
  • Needs other tools to get the result you are looking
In a medium to large organization that needs IPS solutions, and has the budget to acquire the licenses need it to have those functionalities.
[Cisco Firepower 1000 Series] is not suitable for small organization that need IPS solution as the license can be expensive.
I used third party support as Cisco support is slow
Read this authenticated review
May 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I implemented Cisco Firepower 1000 Series firewalls on more than 10 clients all over France. It's used generally for small and medium businesses as an edge firewall for uses like internet surfing, routing, traffic filtering, VPN hub, etc. Generally, it's used by the whole organization if it's well sized for it.
  • Application filtering
  • IDS/IPS
  • Remote access VPN based on AnyConnect
  • Management console
  • Commit deployment success ratio
  • Hit count
The Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is suited for small to medium businesses with basic security needs. It's less appropriate for bigger companies with advanced technologies and needs like multicast networking, SDWAN, etc. In fact, SDWAN is not yet possible to configure (in this case, you need Meraki as another Cisco product), and for multicast I recommend FortiGate.
Cisco support is acceptable, but we still need to ask case escalation to get real advanced technicians handling support. the positive point is that you can call Cisco support by phone immediately after opening a ticket and get real level 2-3 support. But sometimes you need to wait a lot on hold to get someone with a really advanced technical level.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco firepower 1000 for routing, firewall functions, and security intelligence features. We replaced our older ASAs which had been failing with these. They offer better throughput and more security than the old ASAs. We provide website hosting and remote access for clients. Utilizing 2 incoming lines for dedicated fiber line with SLA and standard coble line for browsing. The Cisco with all the additional port offerings allows us to configure everything we need.
  • Routing
  • Firewall functions
  • Additional security features
  • These devices don't always take changes without a reboot, which can be hard in a production device.
  • Cisco is no always clear in how to configure things.
  • Routing features can be confusing, we even had a consultant a bit confused over setup.
This device is great for an SMB to secure its perimeter and allow the function of the business. With all the ports available and all the configurations, we are able to be flexible in our delivery of services to our clients. The security features are a big plus as everyone in today's world is being constantly attacked.
We have not directly used support for these devices yet, but from past experience, Cicso has always been available and able to help us resolve the few issues we had. During this upgrade, our consult from CDW worked with Cisco on some situations that came up and we were able to move forward at the next meeting but we could have done it in real-time if we wanted.
Read this authenticated review
March 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We user the Cisco Firepower 1120 in a variety of use cases across our division. We typically use it in a high-availability configuration, both in the same room together and separated via some distance. The Cisco Firepower 1000 Series has been a nice upgrade from our previous models of Cisco Firewalls.
  • Reliability
  • Rulesets
  • Cost performance
  • GUI
  • Licensing ease
  • Central management
The Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is well suited to simplified firewall solutions where you want to get reliable performance for a great price point. We use this Cisco Firepower 1000 Series platform for small VPN sites as well as for guest firewalls, among other solutions that you can use this product for.
We have had only good experiences with support when it comes to the Cisco Firepower 1000 Series family of firewalls. Cisco TAC is always completely responsive and able to provide any technical assistance. For times when we don't go directly to Cisco TAC, the Cisco Community also has a lot of resources that assist with questions.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It fills in the gap as Cisco Anyconnect remote access solution.
  • Single pane of glass management using FMC
  • Great as remote access VPN Solution
  • Saves a lot of headaches with URL and FQDN based policies
  • It is stable now, and Cisco TAC is great at troubleshooting if any issues occur
  • Great product but at this price point there is a lot of competition
  • Some implementations maxed out NGIPS throughput and Strained CPU
If your organisation is all Cisco and wants to stay in the Cisco life cycle, Firepower 1000 series is great for small to medium-size office.
There is still room for improvement. It would be great to see some of the features to mix between firepower and SD WAN. Any kind of dynamic tunneling support such as dmvpn will be great since it sits on the edge.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Yetinayet Bitew | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is being used across the entire company, which
is being used as the Internet firewall. It controls access to the Internet and
provides content filtering for all corporate users. Guest users also have managed
access through the firewall. It is also being utilized for VPN tunneling
between branches and other remote sites.
  • Secure high-end solution, protects the business
  • Updates threat licensing--constant updates allow ease of management
  • Cost of add-on features
  • Cost of Smartnet
  • Complexity of installation process

Pros

  • Small form factor
  • Threat mitigation
  • Threat licensing

Cons

  • Complexity of install
  • Cost of add-on features
  • Cost of Smartnet
Support is quite good. Cisco Smartnet and TAC are the best in the industry. Any calls into TAC are handled quickly with good resolution. I’ve not had to utilize Smartnet for any hardware issues but would expect a superior experience as this is a critical piece of the company’s network. Any calls are typically handled with urgency.
Very robust enterprise-grade security solution with updated threat features to handle any current and upcoming threats. The solution is backed by Cisco Talos to ensure constant security updates. Integrated AnyConnect remote client VPN is a big plus to allow for secure remote workers access. Easier to set up a site-to-site VPN due to the large user base and case studies published on integrating to other manufacturer solutions.
Read Yetinayet Bitew's full review
November 17, 2020
Kyle Bohnstedt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Firepower 1000 Series and other models are used by many clients managed and/or supported by my employer. It is used by many as a way of inspecting traffic to secure the network from threats and ensure only sanctioned traffic is traversing in any direction. Cisco's Firepower 1000 Series is a scalable IPS solution that helps many of our clients to segment the network into zones and mitigate and prevent threats.
  • Network segmentation by zones--allows trusted traffic to pass inspected or uninspected while non-trusted traffic is always inspected.
  • Scalable management--many different types of policies are available within Cisco Firepower 1000 Series management to ensure proper access, authorization, inspection, and threat response.
  • Redundancy--Cisco Firepower 1000 Series devices can be set up in High Availability in the event there are issues with one member.
  • Compatibility--Cisco Firepower 1000 Series devices can be used in tandem easily with other Cisco products or in a vendor-arbitrary environment.
  • Software bugs--Often bugs are encountered that may provide a threat to the network if exploited.
  • Log retention is often sub-par if not used with an external log management system.
  • Many upgrade failures are encountered with Cisco Firepower 1000 Series devices.
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series devices are well suited in an environment with ASA firewalls or other similar appliances that don't evaluate traffic to the application layer. If the environment is very small, Cisco's Firepower 1000 Series may not be necessary.As long as the network connectivity remains stable and there is on-site support in the event of a failure, Cisco Firepower 1000 Series devices scale well.
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series' problems most often involve issues with the software and hardware compatibility. Many devices fail to upgrade properly and either have to be replaced or there is an arduous investigation in order to reach a solution. As long as there is a support contract, the solution will be reached, but in many cases the troubleshooting can be tedious.
The Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is easy to administer, particularly for an engineer or consultant with experience. It can be imposing to set up if one is not very familiar, but it does provide a robust web user interface to configure, monitor, and troubleshoot. Comparatively it is also easy to configure the Cisco Firepower 1000 Series devices to secure the network and ensure traffic goes where it needs to and does not go where it should not. Deploying changes is easy and managing multiple units can be done all from the same web pane.
Read Kyle Bohnstedt's full review
December 04, 2020
Robel Woldu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The licence price was costy using every year
  • Simple to manage
  • Highly security and filter malicious activity
  • High prformance
  • Defend against BOTs
  • easy to manage logs
Cisco Firepower 1000 series is for our medium organization's client is not selected because of complicated functionality to troubleshoot and also not easy to security engineer. For the financial sector, I would be recommended
my organization have much high skill firepower specialization, expert
Read Robel Woldu's full review
August 03, 2020
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the entire company, this is the main firewall. This controls access to the Internet and provides content filtering for all corporate users. Guest users also have restricted access through the firewall. The firewall is also being utilized for VPN tunneling between branches and other remote sites. The previous firewall was a Cisco ASA and getting quite outdated.
  • Small form factor
  • Threat mitigation
  • Threat licensing
  • Complexity of install
  • Cost of add-on features
  • Cost of Smartnet
Very robust enterprise-grade security solution with updated threat features to handle any current and upcoming threats. The solution is backed by Cisco Talos to ensure constant security updates. Integrated AnyConnect remote client VPN is a big plus to allow for secure remote workers access. Easier to set up a site to site VPN due to the large user base and case studies published on integrating to other manufacturer solutions.
Support is quite good. Cisco Smartnet and TAC are the best in the industry. Any calls into TAC are handled quickly with good resolution. I’ve not had to utilize Smartnet for any hardware issues but would expect a superior experience as this is a critical piece of the company’s network. Any calls are typically handled with urgency.
Read Victor Lau's full review
September 02, 2020
Sayeed Mohsen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Cisco Firepower device is being used by the Information Technology department, but it controls users' activity for the whole organization. We use it as a security device to manage users' access, control access policies, log security events, for intrusion prevention and intrusion detection purposes with Firepower Management Center, and to protect the internal network from outside threats and unauthorized access.
  • Intrusion prevention and intrusion detection purposes with Firepower Management Center.
  • Protect the internal network from outside threats and unauthorized access.
  • Provide option to generate reports based on events log
  • Licenses are expensive to renew
  • Limitations and performance issues with current versions
  • Complex configuration and management process
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series protects the internal network from outside threats and unauthorized access. It's well suited to intrusion prevention and intrusion detection purposes, integrates with Firepower Management Center, has an interactive dashboard to view logs and events from FMC. It has complex configuration and management, troubleshooting, and upgrade processes, expensive license costs, cost to change model, and or upgrade hardware.
Cisco has a very good line of customer support and highly trained TAC engineers. They will handle cases based on priority and very professionally to resolve issues. You can get support 24/7 as Cisco has TAC support around the globe. TAC responses are very fast and the escalation process is very effective.
Read Sayeed Mohsen's full review
December 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Purchased [Cisco] Firepower [1000 Series] appliances to replace legacy ASA 5500X series with [Cisco] Firepower modules. Used for AnyConnect employee RAS, IPSEC site to site VPNs and local internet access breakout from sites. Firepowers allowed us to scale from ~100 remote users a day to almost 1500 in response to COVID work from home restrictions.
  • Secure employee remote access in conjunction with AnyConnect client
  • Logging with high level of connection, application and user visibility
  • Reliable and secure as you would expect from Cisco
  • Cloud based Firepower Management Centre doesn't support stateful HA of multiple management consoles
  • Would be great to have embedded extensible objects for ever-changing Office 365 address ranges and CDN URLs
Good edge device for branch sites integrating firewall, application visibility & control, intrusion detection & prevention and remote access services with exceptional control and visibility. Not the cheapest option but do what they're supposed to reliably and consistently. Having Firepowers deployed on multiple sites allowed us to ramp up our AnyConnect RAS capacity from having ~ 100 AnyConnect VPN users a day to the entire company working remotely almost overnight in response to COVID restrictions this year.
We have direct enterprise support with Cisco and have had good response from support teams when it has been needed. No issues from a technical standpoint - Firepowers are secure, reliable and do what they say on the tin. Central management and configuration is easy and they fit in well with our existing Cisco infrastructure. These are not the cheapest available option for firewalls and we had to fight a bit with the accounting and finance teams to justify the initial cost outlay.
Firepowers are secure, reliable, central management and configuration is easy and they fit in well with our existing Cisco infrastructure. Good feature set and support. Good management and control with chassis manager and central control with additional Firepower Management Centre.
Read this authenticated review
October 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use a Cisco FirePower 1140 to segment networks to keep critical components safe. It is used by our plant and managed by IT. It provides protection from any unwanted traffic going from our business network to our manufacturing network. I chose the firepower for its ease of use and configuration.
  • Low learning curve--I was able to jump in and learn the interface in no time.
  • Easy to set up--it was racked and running with rules within an hour.
  • Only shows some traffic, but that may be my limited knowledge.
  • Doesn't make coffee.
The Cisco Firepower 1140 is well suited for a small to medium network like we are running. It can handle what we throw at it and more. I'm sure it can handle larger workloads, but our network doesn't call for it. I chose the Cisco Firepower 1140 because it solved our needs and allows growth, but was not too much or too little firewall for our needs.
The few times I have reached out to Cisco they have been very responsive and helpful, even with little issues such as navigating the management site. I have not had to call them for any major issues, but I am sure they would be addressed quickly as well.
I don't have to babysit the Cisco Firepower 1140. When I need to make a change or do an update it goes very smoothly. It didn't take me long to get used to the interface. If something is blocked the connection events tab breaks down what is being blocked very nicely. It works very well with my limited network experience.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Firepower is being used across the entire organization. It allows us to monitor traffic in a way that gives us the ability to pick up on specific issues that may arise, including malicious activity. Before, we didn't have any metrics on non-work-related usage, but now we can gauge how much is being used and at what times of the day.
  • Metrics. It provides detailed analysis of traffic
  • Security. Cisco is releasing security updates constantly.
  • Speed. It can handle tons of network traffic to match our speeds.
  • Licensing. It's a bit convoluted to license each feature.
  • It's a bit confusing where certain things are. Use CMD line if possible.
  • Documentation. Tons of documentation, but not always what we're looking for.
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series works well for small businesses that want to save money and may not have enough money to purchase something better. It's probably not worth it in environments where users can be monitored by other staff.
Cisco provides excellent support. It may be slow at times, but their support staff knows everything about the product and often make helpful suggestions on what to change in the config.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Firepower 1010 device helps our client to who is a small scale NGO. Firepower acts as primary security along with the ASA firewall. This is highly compatible with a small industry or a branch just like our client for who we are providing network and security support. It performs really well in load balancing the firewall environment.
  • Up to date threat feed from Cisco.
  • Excellent logging capability for audit and security purposes.
  • Performance with load balancing firewall works really well.
  • Can't recommend it for a medium or large enterprise.
  • A bit more expensive than competitors at the same price point.
  • Need simple UI like FortiGate.
The Firepower threat feed capability to detect the malware paten in the network works really well, the auto-update will be the plus point that helps to keep the paten up-to-date for detection. The logging capability is a major feature that helps our SOC team to detect the threats and even filter the unwanted log entries to save process and storage in SIEM.
There is no issue with Cisco Customer support. My personal experience is when we had an issue integrating a DB server with SIEM setup. We faced reachability issues from the remote site. We had a support person from Cisco and the calm way he handled and identified the issue in the critical situation was really nice and later provided proper RCA.
Read this authenticated review
October 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is being used across my organization. We have a total of 15 branches, and they all use Firepower 1000 Series as the firewall. It elevates the cost of using MPLS. We just need a cheap internet line with decent speed to set up a VPN tunnel and it's good to go.
  • VPN tunnel is very easy to set up using Firepower Management Center.
  • Reusable Objects make things easier to configure and understand.
  • The Dashboard is not as diverse and customizable.
  • Lack of option to automatically backup FTD config
Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is a good overall firewall. It is well suited for a small or medium-sized company. Due to its small amount of RAM, I don't recommend it to be used as the Core Firewall. If there are too many NAT statements, or the NAT statements include broad range of IP addresses, the firewall will crash! I learned this the hard way.
Cisco TAC support is very helpful. Whenever I have a problem, they will make sure the problem is resolved before closing the ticket.
Read this authenticated review
July 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our client is an NGO for whom we are providing infra support, to secure communication and implement security. Cisco Firepower is used by them, and we are supporting them by managing it. Cisco Firepower is an excellent product that generates detailed logging and helps us to monitor for security incidents.
  • CnC communication prevention is really good
  • Performance is excellent for malicious URL blocking
  • Defends against DNS threats well
  • Risk for expansion of organization which reduces the 1000 Series' performance
  • Expect packet description and forward it to packet collection SIEM
  • Need to provide proper regex parser in general to SIEM
For small-scale industry, e.g., our NGO client with small infrastructure, the Cisco Firepower 1000 Series performs extremely well. With proper logging, it is really good and comfortable to take under monitoring by logs. But "if" we decide to install more resources in the setup in the infra and the Firepower can't handle it, which could cause us to move to a different license.
The Cisco support was really good. For instance, once we happened to face an issue that couldn't be resolved by our senior resource. Cisco support got in touch within a short time and resolved the issue quickly and politely.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Firepower has been used as a replacement hardware for older ASA platform.
  • Initial deployment
  • No need for installation of additional manager
  • Traffic monitorining
  • Implementation TAB feature (command auto completion) when using the WEB cli
  • Implementation Capture with trace feature
Most suited for small businesses that need enterprise grade functionalities such as IPS and URL filtering. It is less suited for cases where there is a demand for for CPU intensive or traffic intensive functionalities such as TLS decryption. Overall, it is a great product but lacks features, especially monitoring. Additionally, when purchasing and operating Firepower with FDM there is no automated procedure to change to FMC in order to scale up for more firewalls.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (19)
7.3
Visualization Tools (19)
6.4
Content Inspection (18)
7.4
Policy-based Controls (21)
7.7
Active Directory and LDAP (17)
6.8
Firewall Management Console (21)
7.8
Reporting and Logging (21)
7.0
VPN (17)
8.4
High Availability (20)
8.0
Stateful Inspection (18)
8.2

What is Cisco Firepower 1000 Series?

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series is built to allow users to simplify security. With 1000 Series firewalls and Cisco Defense Orchestrator, the vendor states that users get class-leading security while saving time on firewall administration while Defense Orchestrator upgrades firewalls with one tough, automatically de-conflicts overlapping security policies and centralizes the management of AWS VPC image security rules.
Categories:  Firewall

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Features

Firewall Features

Has featureIdentification Technologies
Has featureVisualization Tools
Has featureContent Inspection
Has featurePolicy-based Controls
Has featureActive Directory and LDAP
Has featureFirewall Management Console
Has featureReporting and Logging
Has featureVPN
Has featureHigh Availability
Has featureStateful Inspection

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Video

Watch NGFW Demo

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Downloadables

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Competitors

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Firepower 10001,000-5,000per appliance

Cisco Firepower 1000 Series Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Firepower 1000 Series?

The Cisco Firepower® 1000 Series for small to medium-size businesses and branch offices is a family of four threat-focused Next-Generation Firewall (NGFW) security platforms designed to deliver business resiliency through superior threat defense. The vendor provides that they offers exceptional sustained performance when advanced threat functions are enabled. The 1000 Series’ throughput range addresses use cases from the small office, home office, remote branch office to the Internet edge. The 1000 Series platforms run Cisco Firepower Threat Defense (FTD) and Cisco® Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) software.

What is Cisco Firepower 1000 Series's best feature?

Reviewers rate VPN highest, with a score of 8.4.

Who uses Cisco Firepower 1000 Series?

The most common users of Cisco Firepower 1000 Series are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.