Cisco HyperFlex

Cisco HyperFlex

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Cisco HyperFlex

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco HyperFlex Sweet Spot

10 out of 10
June 22, 2022
We utilize Cisco HyperFlex to provide our XaaS product to our customers. The interoperability with the various OS versions is a plus. …
Continue reading

Cisco Hyperflex

6 out of 10
January 17, 2022
We resold a variety of hyperconverged infrastructure solutions including Nutanix, HPE Simplivity, Cisco Hyperflex and others. Typically …
Continue reading

Cisco HyperFlex review

9 out of 10
October 19, 2021
We have 3 small Cisco HyperFlex clusters across three data centers. They run select VMs on VMware ESXI hosts.
Continue reading

HyperFlex is HyperCool

9 out of 10
April 14, 2021
Cisco HyperFlex is being used to support mission-critical applications within my organization. The platform services many tools and …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco HyperFlex, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco HyperFlex?

Cisco HyperFlex Systems is a hyper-converged infrastructure product, based on technology acquired with SpringPath (acquired September 2017).

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/solutions…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Scale Computing Platform?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HyperCore software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully…

What is Azure Stack HCI?

Microsoft offers hyperconverged infrastructure solutions via Azure Stack HCI. Azure Stack HCI provides a variety of preferred hardware solutions for building a hybrid cloud infrastructure, allowing the user to run virtual machines on hyperconverged systems and use Windows Admin Center to connect to…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco HyperFlex?

Cisco Hyperflex extends the simplicity of hyperconvergence from core to edge and multicloud. Hyperflex with Cisco Intersight is engineered to meet the unique requirements for deploying hyperconverged infrastructure at the edge at a global scale.

Cisco Hyperflex provides flexible services for multicloud and allows users to deploy Cisco Hyperflex anywhere with Cisco Intersight for mission-critical applications.

Cisco HyperFlex Features

  • Supported: Unified network fabric
  • Supported: Virtualization optimization
  • Supported: Enterprise data protection
  • Supported: Cisco Integrated Management Controller (IMC)
  • Supported: Advanced reliability, availability, & serviceability (RAS) features
  • Supported: TPM 1.2 SPI supported

Cisco HyperFlex Downloadables

Cisco HyperFlex Competitors

Cisco HyperFlex Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco HyperFlex?

Cisco HyperFlex Systems is a hyper-converged infrastructure product, based on technology acquired with SpringPath (acquired September 2017).

What is Cisco HyperFlex's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Cisco HyperFlex?

The most common users of Cisco HyperFlex are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (37)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-19 of 19)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Cisco HyperFlex to provide our XaaS product to our customers. The interoperability with the various OS versions is a plus. HyperFlex allows us to centrally manage our hardware and customize the hardware to meet our evolving demands via a hyperconverged platform. The ability to virtually add vHBAs and vNICs is invaluable as performance needs grow.
  • Software-defined hardware
  • Centralized management
  • Broad interoperability
  • Price-point
  • Training
Cisco HyperFlex is great in XaaS environments that need to expand and shrink depending upon demand. The movement of Service Profiles between blades provides uptime stability during hardware failures or troubleshooting.
Cisco Support is very knowledgeable from the start. The CE's are also very knowledgeable, which helps when replacing hardware. The Cisco KB Articles are well written and extensive.
Brigette Elise Tremblay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A very flexible and fast system that offers great technical support ready to help at all times. It adapts to the needs of each user since it provides us with high resistance and unmatched security. Without the need to purchase new storage devices and other computing resources, with Cisco HyperFlex we achieve everything, due to its great capacity. We need to have this product in use throughout the company so that all departments can enjoy unmatched results.
  • Excellent storage capacity.
  • Cost reduction in the company.
  • Very easy to implement.
  • Improvement of updates.
The product that complies with everything offered, so I would buy it again. In the company, we are all satisfied. We know that with the modernization of our infrastructure we achieve a better result in the application and administration of data center environments, optimizing operations in distributed environments is also possible, it is important to know that for a better operation, more than three nodes are implemented to increase range.
The answer to problems in node configuration is to improve the critical workload which is always technical support, this is what makes HyperFlex the best product, when a product is difficult to use it should always have a good technical help system like offered by Cisco.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The end customer decides to migrate from Convergence technologies to Hyperconvergence solutions, in order to overcome problems like storage and computer resources because many times these imply purchasing new devices and appliances that maybe will fill physical space on DC, With Cisco HyperFlex they solve this problem just increasing resources as they need and growth within their Virtual infrastructure.
  • VM Snapshots
  • Manage memory resources
  • Excellent Network segmentation
  • Easy to growth resources
  • More documentation and support for upgrades
  • Integration with third party vendors
Best suited for medium to great scale Virtual infrastructure with a plan for growth and expansion.
The response is quick and they manage the case as a high priority.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ease of use quick installation and ready to use
  • Integration with ESXi
  • Install via Installer
  • easy for enduser to understand the technology both Day-0 and Day-1 activities
  • replication - as we need to use the same amount to storage to backup
  • Cisco should come up with a strong hypervisor equal to vmware ESXi
  • should come up with the repository of OS images and download automatically when a new OS version is released
  • hybrid connectivity - missing
with the 4.5 version in place, the product is matured but needs some improvement stretched cluster upgrade procedure ( changes to witness VM upgrade from 4.0 to 4.5 is not clear and some of the validation steps are so confusing.
Cisco does collaborative support with other vendors (like one ticket is raised to resolve even if it is a VMware issue)
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HyperFlex was selected to replace aging infrastructure, for its built-in redundancy and reliability. It hosts the VMware environment including web servers, application servers, and database servers.
  • Uptime.
  • Redundancy.
  • Small footprint in the data center.
  • Expansion is a pain. Because storage is dedicated to each cluster, you need to do capacity management for each cluster.
  • Probably better for smaller implementations.
Smaller-scale implementations. It seems to have challenges when you have a lot of nodes in a cluster. SSD storage performs well. If you do have performance issues, they can be very difficult to find. We spent months trying to figure out why copying VMs from other clusters to one specific cluster took so long. Never did figure it out by the time I left the company.
Great support in most areas, but very difficult to get resolutions for odd performance problems.
Nishanth Anbalagan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to deploy an agile, efficient, and hybrid IT infrastructure, Cisco HyperFlex met our expected criteria. Cisco HyperFlex supports end-to-end "Intelligent" Automation. Because of this, we simplified the deployment process by configuring intelligent automation. Cisco HyperFlex's Hyperconverged Infrastructure helps us to keep the storage and networking management in a single component. Because of these features, we have reduced the cost of spending to avail multiple storage disks. The encryption/security provided by Cisco HyperFlex is too secured, and the VDI and DAAS(Desktop as a Service) are literally great.
  • Cisco HyperFlex supports end-to-end intelligent automation
  • Documentation of the deployment process is simple and easy to understand for new users.
  • Will be able to automate the deployment process
  • Will be able to provide the support to business faster as it is based on the "Hyperconverged Infrastructure" principle
  • Small organization can't afford the cost of Cisco Hyperflex as it's yearly subscription
  • Virtual controller should be little more powerful
  • Integrating the graphics card feature is not available, it would be great if they make this so that it will enable the users to improve acceleration
Cisco HyperFlex is well suited if you are looking for agile, efficient, and Hybrid IT infrastructure. Cisco HyperFlex exclusively supports Hyperconverged Infrastructure, so we can gain agile, efficient, and quick deployment. If you are looking to reduce the power and cooling costs, then it's the ultimate solution to avail. When comes to any software supporting the business with high efficiency and speed is important and these can be achieved by HyperFlex. As it is Hybrid infrastructure will be able to manage everything in one place and we can eliminate the extra costs spent for buying other physical disks.
Nowadays being agile and efficient is most really important. Hyperflex has the ability to be agile and efficient. Cisco HyperFlex functions based on UCS technology, it includes built-in networking and integrated management with pre-configured software. Cisco HyperFlex has everything in one place as a data center, so there is no need to focus on extra things.
January 17, 2022

Cisco Hyperflex

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We resold a variety of hyperconverged infrastructure solutions including Nutanix, HPE Simplivity, Cisco Hyperflex and others. Typically these are bought by customers who are looking for flexible in-house storage for their own private clouds running on a hypervisor like VMware. (I am ignoring the cloud extensions of these products for purposes of this review)
  • Hyperflex has a good handle on data redundancy.
  • Snapshots work well in VMware and provide added value beyond the traditional VMware snapshot.
  • Installation is straightforward.
  • Too much integration with Cisco UCS fabric interconnects is required, which makes the product most useful for customers who already have Cisco UCS. Options without fabric interconnects are limited.
  • Hyper-V integration is way behind (but to be fair I think that's true for most vendors in this space).
Hyperflex is best for customers who already have Cisco UCS because of its integration with UCS fabric interconnects. You can add UCS blades to your Hyperflex cluster to increase compute capacity without increasing storage--which is great depending on your needs--but it's still limited to UCS. Installations without fabric interconnects have been limited in scope and most importantly expandability.

I like that it doesn't require data locality. While I've used Nutanix extensively and SimpliVity to a less extent, I'm not as sold on their use of it. On the one hand your reads are faster if they're all from the node currently running a VM, but it also means your data has to move around if you vmotion your VMs.

I do feel that Cisco has been playing catchup for a few years now with Nutanix, but Hyperflex has become a decent product that I would recommend to my customers where it's a good fit. However, I recommend being careful to make sure that it has all the features you need.
More documentation is available now than when the product initially came out (which was an issue early on). Because it only supports UCS hardware, I think it does help with support issues. Nutanix has to support much more hardware. At the same time, you're dealing with the Cisco TAC, which can be mixed at times.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco HyperFlex is being used in a different Govt Project. I got an opportunity to evaluate the system for our feature requirement. The biggest aspect of going for [Cisco] Hyperflex is to eliminate the traditional storage system & to get optimum production from the machines. Hope the new HyperFlex will be there soon in my inventory. I can have a good experience with the same.
  • Eliminated the year old concept of centralize storage system.
  • Onboard storages give tremendous performance.
  • The replication from one site to other is easy.
  • Expansion of cores and higher scalability.
October 19, 2021

Cisco HyperFlex review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 small Cisco HyperFlex clusters across three data centers. They run select VMs on VMware ESXI hosts.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Reliable storage.
  • Nice integration with UCSM and Intersight.
  • Data Platform Installer issues during setup or expansion.
Cisco HyperFlex is well suited for small to medium virtualization environments.
Have had to open several cases during Cisco HyperFlex setup and cluster expansion. Support was able to assist and rectify all issues.
Alexandr Chsherbov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco HF solution is used in both scopes - IT and OT. For IT serve common applications - MS SQL, Oracle, WEB Applications, service systems. For OT we have moved to a virtual SCADA environment - all OT services (DB, applications) has been moved on HF platform. Before Cisco HF it was a big outage time ranges due slow DB or physical serves down. After migration - 0. We have 100% OT availability. Same for IT infrastructure - new service implementation take 20 minutes VS 4 hours before.
  • Fast and responsive operation.
  • Great support.
  • One management and monitoring point.
  • Legendary reliability.
  • SNMP or API monitoring
  • Dependence on additional equipment
  • High cluster survival rate
  1. IT operations (databases, application servers).
  2. OT operations (V-SCADA, databases).
  3. University laboratory - to learn technologies, Big Data analyze, parallels calculation operations.
  4. Telecommunication providers.
  5. Companies with low space for powerful servers. It is best way to improve own infrastructure when only 3 servers may replaces 10 servers racks.
Automatic hardware health monitoring created an RMA to replace the hard drive when I didn't even know there was a problem. And I only found out about the problem when I received the package with the new hard drive and the replacement instructions.
Everything is fine if you work as a user of the system. Difficulties in fine tuning the system.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco HyperFlex is used in our organization to support business-critical applications and virtual servers. It was implemented to replace physical data storage environments and servers, which were more difficult to manage separately. Now, through Cisco Hyperflex we are able to centralize and streamline the management of resources available in the data center in real time.
  • Easy administration
  • High fault tolerance
  • Reliable
  • Lowering the price
  • Support for free Hypervisors
  • More RAM per box
If an all-in-one solution is required, Cisco HyperFlex is ideal. Perfect for medium and large companies that require scalability for the solution, since Cisco HyperFlex allows increasing nodes only for storage or processing and memory, as required. I do not recommend it for small companies that are starting because the price can be high.
Support with Cisco depends a lot on the type of contract you have, which is something to consider when purchasing the Cisco HyperFlex solution. In most cases, the resolution time for problems is good, although there are times that it may take longer than expected depending on the problem that arises and the expertise of the engineer who is attending to the problem. Regarding hardware replacement, response times are punctual, according to the policy contract.
One of the most important configuration characteristics of Cisco HyperFlex for us is data replication for fault tolerance since with the 3-node cluster configuration, we can ensure that any hardware failure does not directly impact the productive environments of the organization. In addition, the ability to configure monitoring through Cisco Intersight is a great option to stay on top of what is happening with your HCI solution at all times.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco HyperFlex is being used to support mission-critical applications within my organization. The platform services many tools and applications that helps maintain 24x7 monitoring and control of our campus data centers.
  • High performance platform.
  • Easy to deploy and maintain.
  • Reliable.
  • Continued streamlining of deployment tools.
  • Continued improvement on stretch cluster configurations.
HyperFlex is great option if you are looking for a high performance and reliable hyper-converged platform. We do not have to spend a great deal of time with administration of the platform, and can easily monitor the system health via Cisco Intersight.
We are still investigating the evolving stretch cluster capabilities, and have not fully vetted those capabilities to replace our existing converged virtual infrastructure yet.
Cisco support has always resolved any issues promptly, and the auto-support option for HyperFlex allows even faster resolution if there are hardware failures and components need to be replaced.
We have only a couple of HX configurations in use today - however, if we implement some larger stretch cluster configuration(s) in the future, we will not need to learn a different hardware platform or retrain staff despite the different HX setup.
January 05, 2021

Hyperflex, yes!

Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco HyperFlex is used in our data center to manage our student virtual desktops. Paired with VMware Horizon, Cisco HyperFlex's robustness helps us easily manage storage space and network functionality. The use of Cisco HyperFlex has isolated our VDI environment and made it much easier to manage because all the required resources are in one setup.
  • Expandability
  • Stability
  • Extremly low profile
  • Redundancy
  • UI in the CIMC
  • Less complicated upgrade method
  • More processor cores per box
If you require an all-in-one setup, Cisco HyperFlex is the perfect solution. The 24 drive bays and 18 memory slots per box make these boxes well suited for a virtual environment with very low required cabinet space. Any company could benefit from the use of Cisco HyperFlex. I would not recommend it for a small business or anyone with limited Cisco knowledge; the UI can be quite overwhelming with all of the features.
Cisco HyperFlex engineers are great to work with. I have completely destroyed the environment twice and they were able to get me back up and running with ease. Granted, it took 26 solid hours each time to resolve the issues, but I did not suffer a total loss and was back up before everyone showed up on campus the next morning. Support will help you in your time of need; they know the systems and will work with you as long as possible.
We use separate systems for specific things, so Cisco HyperFlex really only isolates our VDI setup from the rest of the production environment. It does however handle all of the internal networking using the FIs, which gives it great networking isolation and redundancy. Network issues are never present using Cisco HyperFlex connected to the Fabric Interconnects.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Hyperflex is different as Cisco's tailored Server, Storage and Network as part of it's HCI solution. It is used on our experience room and development environment. We test our apps and DB on top of Hyperflex. We also utilized Fabric Interconnect to connect Hyperflex to NetApp storage so we can utilized existing storage. Hyperflex will be used for several departments as our development team is deploying workload and other departments will be testing it. Once it is stable, it will be deployed in our production environment.
Our business challenges are to build a development environment with great performance, reduce operation cost and save space.
  • Great performance, very resilient
  • Easy to manage
  • Can be connected to other Storage solution using FCoE
  • Kubernetes natively supported
  • Provide free Hypervisor
  • Lowering the price
It suited for DevOps and production environments. Cisco provides native Kubernetes support on Hyperflex. In other words, we can utilize Hyperflex for VM and Container deployment on the same platform. Hyperflex supports persistent volume for the container. With these features, we deployed VM for production and Kubernetes for testing purposes.
Single point of contact for server, storage and network problems.
Single platform for production and testing environment.
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used HyperFlex to replace our separate server and storage environments. We are moving from Cisco UCS and Fiber Channel storage to a truly hyper-converged solution that will host thousands of virtualized machines for our customers. This is a Virtualised Server Infrastructure based upon VMWare ESXi for apx 6000 end users.
  • Ease of installation
  • Quality of product
  • Ease of operation
  • It can be overwhelming. There's a lot going on with compute storage network and hypervisor combined.
  • Some minor repeating warning messages when performing maintenance tasks.
Great for both private and hybrid cloud environments. Can support both general virtualized workloads and specific workloads (including SAP HANA). Strong hyperconverged offering which solves a lot of issues you have with other solutions by providing a complete solution including network and bespoke hypervisor images.
Support is good for critical issues, but not as fast as I'd like for lower severity issues. Reaction times are slow. Often, you're better off finding your own solution than waiting for TAC.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco HyperFlex structure for connecting our locations and set a redundant cluster for that. We have 4 locations across the country, with the need for a highly available server structure.
  • Reliability of services
  • Flexible and scalable cluster
  • Support for server replacement is kinda of slow
  • Some additional features (like managed updates) are not available for stretched clusters
We have quite a big data store covered up with our HyperFlex solution, it's well suited for bigger structures with importance in redundant systems. For smaller needs, there is an option to use the HX Edge, without the FIs. If you use VMware it’s well integrated, the same goes for an ACI structure. But I’m not quite sure if all features work that well with Hyper-V.
In one case there was quite a slow to get a server fixed - but it was well made in the end (to be honest, it was not fully support's fault). in any other case it was perfect.
January 28, 2020

HyperFlex on the go

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are looking for an easy way to deploy servers that we can bring to our branch offices.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Integration into UCS tools.
  • Local storage.
  • Workload limitation.
It really depends on the use case you plan to have. For us, it is good for small deployment solutions. For DC, we still prefer a UCS plain solution.
We work with our partners to have efficient relations and talk to Cisco to get RFE.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for different departments and across four companies for a shared network management center. We built the base infrastructure for this project upon Cisco HyperFlex. We needed a fast and flexible sizeable system with high resiliency and security.
  • High resiliency.
  • Fast implementation.
  • All-in-one update for stretched cluster is missing.
Highly virtualized environments are best managed with HyperFlex.
Cisco support is always ready to help, but it does depend on the representative you get when you call.
Suresh Patare | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KPIT uses HyperFlex for hosting production VM workload that demands high IOPs and compute. We run workloads like VDI, SAP, Oracle, SQL/MySQL, MongoDB and Redis Clusters, Microsoft Exchange 2013, Pivotal Cloud Foundry etc. Services running on HyperFlex are consumed by entire organisation of 12000 users. With HX, we have provided high availability to business critical services between the nearby data centres, and also have set up Disaster recovery for business critical applications across our regional data centre. Data de-duplication capability of HX helped us optimise storage space for services like Virtual Desktop Infra (VDI), file servers and FTP Servers.
  • UCS manager in HX is truly helping us in doing one touch firmware upgrades. Scaling of HX cluster (in few minutes) is too seamlessly due to service profiles.
  • HX does not hold you back by creating a single data store unlike other HCI products. With HX, you can create multiple data stores and allocate those to desired services. This help logically separate the install base on HX and removes confusion for the admins too.
  • We run high IOPs workload on HX, and we never felt latency issues due to the Cisco backbone (as you get FI as a TOR switch and options to choose 10G or 40G speeds).
  • With HX you truly enjoy a single window support from Cisco including for the top of the rack switch (FI in HX case). In other HCI infra, you certainly have to bank on to network switch vendor for support and bring HCI and switch vendor at one pane for troubleshooting latency related issues.
  • While we increased our footprint on HX, we didn't added additional administrators to support the landscape. This was possible because of the simplicity in managing HX clusters.
  • With HX we had setup stretched cluster between two near site data centres. This is a unique proposition in HX (we have 2 nodes in each data centre) and data centre failover works absolutely seamless.
  • I feel that Cisco team should work hard in simplifying the HX version upgrade process. Currently there are many dependancies to be taken care of and the process is felt to be quite complicated.
  • We have automated teething issues in day to day operations using PowerShell. However, when it comes to the HX Controller VM, we could not fetch desired details. Using PowerShell, we were looking to fetch the details like which is the master controller VM (truly useful while troubleshooting and while performing upgrades).
  • Finally, if Cisco could give an option to add a datastore using PowerShell, it will help automate ops processes and provide a faster turnaround to business.
  • In a nutshell, Cisco should open up more so that organisations can use scripting for automation and setting up custom alerts.
We have a varied workload (as mentioned earlier, right from SQL and NoSQL databases, VDI, Microsoft Exchange, SAP Oracle, Cloud Foundry etc. etc.) and for all our types of work, we've found HX absolutely stable in all aspects. HX finds great suitability if you are looking for creating a data centre with a high level of availability (stretched cluster - that too with just 2 nodes per data centre). Not only are we early adopters of HX, but since its implementation we have shared our success stories with many customers of ours, as well as in the reference calls from Cisco. Those who adopted HX on our reference have shared very good feedback.