Cisco HyperFlex Reviews

20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 04, 2021
Oscar Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco HyperFlex is used in our organization to support business-critical applications and virtual servers. It was implemented to replace physical data storage environments and servers, which were more difficult to manage separately. Now, through Cisco Hyperflex we are able to centralize and streamline the management of resources available in the data center in real time.
  • Easy administration
  • High fault tolerance
  • Reliable
  • Lowering the price
  • Support for free Hypervisors
  • More RAM per box
If an all-in-one solution is required, Cisco HyperFlex is ideal. Perfect for medium and large companies that require scalability for the solution, since Cisco HyperFlex allows increasing nodes only for storage or processing and memory, as required. I do not recommend it for small companies that are starting because the price can be high.
Support with Cisco depends a lot on the type of contract you have, which is something to consider when purchasing the Cisco HyperFlex solution. In most cases, the resolution time for problems is good, although there are times that it may take longer than expected depending on the problem that arises and the expertise of the engineer who is attending to the problem. Regarding hardware replacement, response times are punctual, according to the policy contract.
One of the most important configuration characteristics of Cisco HyperFlex for us is data replication for fault tolerance since with the 3-node cluster configuration, we can ensure that any hardware failure does not directly impact the productive environments of the organization. In addition, the ability to configure monitoring through Cisco Intersight is a great option to stay on top of what is happening with your HCI solution at all times.
Read Oscar Sanchez's full review
May 19, 2021
Kiran Kumbhar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HyperFlex is the best hyper-converged infrstructure platform I have dealt with so far. We use it for our customers to integrate computing, networking and storage resources to enable smooth centralized management. We mostly use it to provide high availability to business-critical services in data centres.
  • Resiliency
  • Easy to implement
  • Innovative platform
  • Integrity & Speed of the product
  • Repetative warning messages which i found not relavent all the times
  • Difficult HX version upgrade procedure
  • Cisco should think of alternative or easy way for HX version upgrade procedure
  • We should have mechanism to built backup on cloud
  • Unnecessary system warnings should be removed
HyperFlex is best suited if we have to achieve resiliency for mission-critical service platform servers. One should experience its performance as a best in class for Hyper-converged infrastructure with integrity, speed and convenience of the product. It proved [an] innovative platform to achieve high availability with easy from implementation perspective.
I've always had best experience dealing with Cisco support it's due there database management and platform expertise. Although, Support level sometimes differs based on the assigned representative but luckily I always had best one.
HyperFlex, although integrated with wide infrastructure servers, proved itself to the mark. I was expecting a delay in performance whilst we ran higher workloads of Oracle, SAP, Microsoft Exchange, Virtual desktop infra but speed was lightening and flexibility of the platform is commendable.
Read Kiran Kumbhar's full review
January 04, 2021
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco HyperFlex is used in our data center to manage our student virtual desktops. Paired with VMware Horizon, Cisco HyperFlex's robustness helps us easily manage storage space and network functionality. The use of Cisco HyperFlex has isolated our VDI environment and made it much easier to manage because all the required resources are in one setup.
  • Expandability
  • Stability
  • Extremly low profile
  • Redundancy
  • UI in the CIMC
  • Less complicated upgrade method
  • More processor cores per box
If you require an all-in-one setup, Cisco HyperFlex is the perfect solution. The 24 drive bays and 18 memory slots per box make these boxes well suited for a virtual environment with very low required cabinet space. Any company could benefit from the use of Cisco HyperFlex. I would not recommend it for a small business or anyone with limited Cisco knowledge; the UI can be quite overwhelming with all of the features.
Cisco HyperFlex engineers are great to work with. I have completely destroyed the environment twice and they were able to get me back up and running with ease. Granted, it took 26 solid hours each time to resolve the issues, but I did not suffer a total loss and was back up before everyone showed up on campus the next morning. Support will help you in your time of need; they know the systems and will work with you as long as possible.
We use separate systems for specific things, so Cisco HyperFlex really only isolates our VDI setup from the rest of the production environment. It does however handle all of the internal networking using the FIs, which gives it great networking isolation and redundancy. Network issues are never present using Cisco HyperFlex connected to the Fabric Interconnects.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco HyperFlex is being used to support mission-critical applications within my organization. The platform services many tools and applications that helps maintain 24x7 monitoring and control of our campus data centers.
  • High performance platform.
  • Easy to deploy and maintain.
  • Reliable.
  • Continued streamlining of deployment tools.
  • Continued improvement on stretch cluster configurations.
HyperFlex is great option if you are looking for a high performance and reliable hyper-converged platform. We do not have to spend a great deal of time with administration of the platform, and can easily monitor the system health via Cisco Intersight.
We are still investigating the evolving stretch cluster capabilities, and have not fully vetted those capabilities to replace our existing converged virtual infrastructure yet.
Cisco support has always resolved any issues promptly, and the auto-support option for HyperFlex allows even faster resolution if there are hardware failures and components need to be replaced.
We have only a couple of HX configurations in use today - however, if we implement some larger stretch cluster configuration(s) in the future, we will not need to learn a different hardware platform or retrain staff despite the different HX setup.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started using Cisco Hyperflex HX nodes on non production environment to see the features of Hyperflex and doing integration with our existing tools such as UCS and add on tools such as Cisco Intersight on various locations and departments. For smaller sites we are using 3 node cluster and for large site we are deploying 6 node cluster.

We are excited to see the results which can solve multiple problems that presently we are facing using converged model


  • Cisco Hyperflex integrates network and security services suing compute , network and storage
  • Cisco Hyperflex provides Cisco Intersight platform to manage the entire clusters and go with non disruptive upgrades
  • Cisco Hyperflex edge provides integration between Intersight and Cisco SDWAN vManage which helps in deployment , management and extensive security
  • Cisco Hyperflex still need improvement as compared to other vendors in terms of backup automation or database automation
  • Cisco Hyperflex need improvement MIB's to integrate with Solarwinds NPM with extensive kernel level alerts
Cisco Hyperflex is well suited for organizations looking for hyper converged infrastructure where compute , network and storage can be intergared and consolidated for seamless upgrades , less human intervention and stable environment.

Cisco Hyperflex is not well suited for organizations which are looking to multi tier network using multi vendor equipments in each layer
I am giving highest rating because Cisco Hyperflex and associated Intersight provide multiple benefits such as remote access deployment and management , lights-out deployment , management simplicity
with automated updates that reduce
complexity and eliminate manual tasks.

It also have stable software code and integration is very easy and compatible to host any application or tool
Cisco Hyperflex enriched with various infrastructure configurations using any application , any coud and anywhere. It can be used for edge to core applications and data flow.

We can have configuration and deployment options using centralized management tools such as Cisco Intersight, Cisco HyperFlex Connect, Microsoft System Center Virtual Machine Manager.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2020
Budi Ezeddin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Hyperflex is different as Cisco's tailored Server, Storage and Network as part of it's HCI solution. It is used on our experience room and development environment. We test our apps and DB on top of Hyperflex. We also utilized Fabric Interconnect to connect Hyperflex to NetApp storage so we can utilized existing storage. Hyperflex will be used for several departments as our development team is deploying workload and other departments will be testing it. Once it is stable, it will be deployed in our production environment.
Our business challenges are to build a development environment with great performance, reduce operation cost and save space.
  • Great performance, very resilient
  • Easy to manage
  • Can be connected to other Storage solution using FCoE
  • Kubernetes natively supported
  • Provide free Hypervisor
  • Lowering the price
It suited for DevOps and production environments. Cisco provides native Kubernetes support on Hyperflex. In other words, we can utilize Hyperflex for VM and Container deployment on the same platform. Hyperflex supports persistent volume for the container. With these features, we deployed VM for production and Kubernetes for testing purposes.
Single point of contact for server, storage and network problems.
Single platform for production and testing environment.
Read Budi Ezeddin's full review
March 31, 2020
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used HyperFlex to replace our separate server and storage environments. We are moving from Cisco UCS and Fiber Channel storage to a truly hyper-converged solution that will host thousands of virtualized machines for our customers. This is a Virtualised Server Infrastructure based upon VMWare ESXi for apx 6000 end users.
  • Ease of installation
  • Quality of product
  • Ease of operation
  • It can be overwhelming. There's a lot going on with compute storage network and hypervisor combined.
  • Some minor repeating warning messages when performing maintenance tasks.
Great for both private and hybrid cloud environments. Can support both general virtualized workloads and specific workloads (including SAP HANA). Strong hyperconverged offering which solves a lot of issues you have with other solutions by providing a complete solution including network and bespoke hypervisor images.
Support is good for critical issues, but not as fast as I'd like for lower severity issues. Reaction times are slow. Often, you're better off finding your own solution than waiting for TAC.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
January 27, 2020
Benjamin Bubbers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for different departments and across four companies for a shared network management center. We built the base infrastructure for this project upon Cisco HyperFlex. We needed a fast and flexible sizeable system with high resiliency and security.
  • High resiliency.
  • Fast implementation.
  • All-in-one update for stretched cluster is missing.
Highly virtualized environments are best managed with HyperFlex.
Cisco support is always ready to help, but it does depend on the representative you get when you call.
Read Benjamin Bubbers's full review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco HyperFlex structure for connecting our locations and set a redundant cluster for that. We have 4 locations across the country, with the need for a highly available server structure.
  • Reliability of services
  • Flexible and scalable cluster
  • Support for server replacement is kinda of slow
  • Some additional features (like managed updates) are not available for stretched clusters
We have quite a big data store covered up with our HyperFlex solution, it's well suited for bigger structures with importance in redundant systems. For smaller needs, there is an option to use the HX Edge, without the FIs. If you use VMware it’s well integrated, the same goes for an ACI structure. But I’m not quite sure if all features work that well with Hyper-V.
In one case there was quite a slow to get a server fixed - but it was well made in the end (to be honest, it was not fully support's fault). in any other case it was perfect.
Read this authenticated review
January 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are looking for an easy way to deploy servers that we can bring to our branch offices.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Integration into UCS tools.
  • Local storage.
  • Workload limitation.
It really depends on the use case you plan to have. For us, it is good for small deployment solutions. For DC, we still prefer a UCS plain solution.
We work with our partners to have efficient relations and talk to Cisco to get RFE.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2018
Suresh Patare | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
KPIT uses HyperFlex for hosting production VM workload that demands high IOPs and compute. We run workloads like VDI, SAP, Oracle, SQL/MySQL, MongoDB and Redis Clusters, Microsoft Exchange 2013, Pivotal Cloud Foundry etc. Services running on HyperFlex are consumed by entire organisation of 12000 users. With HX, we have provided high availability to business critical services between the nearby data centres, and also have set up Disaster recovery for business critical applications across our regional data centre. Data de-duplication capability of HX helped us optimise storage space for services like Virtual Desktop Infra (VDI), file servers and FTP Servers.
  • UCS manager in HX is truly helping us in doing one touch firmware upgrades. Scaling of HX cluster (in few minutes) is too seamlessly due to service profiles.
  • HX does not hold you back by creating a single data store unlike other HCI products. With HX, you can create multiple data stores and allocate those to desired services. This help logically separate the install base on HX and removes confusion for the admins too.
  • We run high IOPs workload on HX, and we never felt latency issues due to the Cisco backbone (as you get FI as a TOR switch and options to choose 10G or 40G speeds).
  • With HX you truly enjoy a single window support from Cisco including for the top of the rack switch (FI in HX case). In other HCI infra, you certainly have to bank on to network switch vendor for support and bring HCI and switch vendor at one pane for troubleshooting latency related issues.
  • While we increased our footprint on HX, we didn't added additional administrators to support the landscape. This was possible because of the simplicity in managing HX clusters.
  • With HX we had setup stretched cluster between two near site data centres. This is a unique proposition in HX (we have 2 nodes in each data centre) and data centre failover works absolutely seamless.
  • I feel that Cisco team should work hard in simplifying the HX version upgrade process. Currently there are many dependancies to be taken care of and the process is felt to be quite complicated.
  • We have automated teething issues in day to day operations using PowerShell. However, when it comes to the HX Controller VM, we could not fetch desired details. Using PowerShell, we were looking to fetch the details like which is the master controller VM (truly useful while troubleshooting and while performing upgrades).
  • Finally, if Cisco could give an option to add a datastore using PowerShell, it will help automate ops processes and provide a faster turnaround to business.
  • In a nutshell, Cisco should open up more so that organisations can use scripting for automation and setting up custom alerts.
We have a varied workload (as mentioned earlier, right from SQL and NoSQL databases, VDI, Microsoft Exchange, SAP Oracle, Cloud Foundry etc. etc.) and for all our types of work, we've found HX absolutely stable in all aspects. HX finds great suitability if you are looking for creating a data centre with a high level of availability (stretched cluster - that too with just 2 nodes per data centre). Not only are we early adopters of HX, but since its implementation we have shared our success stories with many customers of ours, as well as in the reference calls from Cisco. Those who adopted HX on our reference have shared very good feedback.
Read Suresh Patare's full review

What is Cisco HyperFlex?

Cisco Hyperflex extends the simplicity of hyperconvergence from core to edge and multicloud. Hyperflex with Cisco Intersight is engineered to meet the unique requirements for deploying hyperconverged infrastructure at the edge at a global scale.

Cisco Hyperflex provides flexible services for multicloud and allows users to deploy Cisco Hyperflex anywhere with Cisco Intersight for mission-critical applications.

Cisco HyperFlex Features

Has featureUnified network fabric
Has featureVirtualization optimization
Has featureEnterprise data protection
Has featureCisco Integrated Management Controller (IMC)
Has featureAdvanced reliability, availability, & serviceability (RAS) features
Has featureTPM 1.2 SPI supported

Cisco HyperFlex Downloadables

Cisco HyperFlex Competitors

Cisco HyperFlex Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco HyperFlex?

Cisco HyperFlex Systems is a hyper-converged infrastructure product, based on technology acquired with SpringPath (acquired September 2017).

What is Cisco HyperFlex's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Cisco HyperFlex?

The most common users of Cisco HyperFlex are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.