Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco ISE for ZTA

10 out of 10
July 27, 2022
Cisco ISE is leveraged internally to address network access control across wired, wireless, and remote client VPN authentication and …
Continue reading

Simple Authentication

10 out of 10
January 14, 2022
We use Cisco ISE for many different things in our organization. We use it for radius authentication for wireless clients, VPN clients, …
Continue reading

Cisco ISE - Super Engine

10 out of 10
September 27, 2021
We are using this product for endpoint management for all of our users, it helps us to manage the BYOD & guest login.
Continue reading

ISE, ISE, baby

10 out of 10
August 30, 2021
ISE is used to cover our Wired and Wireless Dot1x authentication. We make extended use of the "My Devices" portal integration to allow …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is FireEye Network Security?

The FireEye Network Security and Forensics product combines network traffic analysis (via the FireEye SmartVision module), network forensics for attack analysis (via the PX series), and is built around the FIreEye NX series of products.

What is Speedify VPN?

Speedify is a new kind of bonding VPN designed from the ground up for speed, security, and reliability. The vendor says Speedify's bonding protocol lets it do things no other VPN can: switching between Wi-Fi and Cellular without breaking sockets, and bonding connections together for speed…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

A critical component of any zero-trust strategy is securing the workplace that everyone and everything connects to. So the vendor presents the Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) as a solution that enables a dynamic and automated approach to policy enforcement that simplifies the delivery of highly secure network access control. ISE empowers software-defined access and automates network segmentation within IT and OT environments.

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Competitors

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Aruba ClearPass, Forescout Platform (CounterACT), and FireEye Security Suite are common alternatives for Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE).

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 5.9.

The most common users of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-14 of 14)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
July 27, 2022

Cisco ISE for ZTA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Aruba ClearPass and Cisco ISE are very similar in nature. The biggest differentiator that I have seen is the Cisco ISE ecosystem around native Adaptive Network Controls, programmable interfaces, pxGrid, and Cisco TrustSec environment. Due to the span of products Cisco has in its portfolio, the integrations between these products is both robust and native to each product.
Sebastián Sarasate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our case, the entire core of our network is based on Cisco technologies as well as user access. For this reason it was the simplest choice given that both by integration and by knowledge of the platform it was the solution with the least complexity and the best adoption curve offered us. At the level of capabilities, they seemed really similar to us, each option having some point where it surpassed the others and others where it was surpassed.
Chandan Singh Rathore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is way ahead of other products when it comes to Network Access Control technology. With its granularity level controls and zero trust architecture, we can leverage its extensive policy enforcement to create rules based upon users/processes/machines. It gives so much flexibility to the IT Network team and a holistic view of all the assets connected in the infra.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is very well designed and information is provided in very logical and consistent form in the WebGUI, which cannot be said about Aruba ClearPass or others. Policy design and flow are far clearer than in Aruba ClearPass, Microsoft NPS, or FreeRadius. Cisco ISE scalability is far greater than ClearPass or others. Cisco support is second to none which guarantees appropriate support in case of a failure or a bug.
September 27, 2021

Cisco ISE - Super Engine

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meets requirements, this is also easy to use, [easy to] set up, and [provides] quality of support. It [also] provides data protection, network access, security, [and] scaling on wider scope. As mentioned previously it helped on bring-your-own-device (BYOD) setup [and] guest wireless access services. It also helped on reduced infrastructure, management, and support costs for guest wireless access services, reduced infrastructure, management, and support costs for BYOD support.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) stacks up well against other systems because it does what it says and is stable. For us, Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) is great for managing access to our network devices and systems. Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) might not do as much as other products, but you will pay more for those options. If you are looking to manage your devices with no extra fluff, Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) is great.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I haven't tried any other vendor when it comes to AAA. It seems that ISE was preceded by Cisco ACS. Cisco seems to be the front runner when it comes to this level of security and implementation. Why would you go to another vendor if you know Cisco is the vendor setting the bar?
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
These are two completely different products however there is some cross-over in terms of tracking endpoints on the network. These products would complement each other in as much as the Cisco Prime would be used to manage the network (and use ISE credentials to access network devices for example) and the Cisco ISE would ensure that only authorized users would have access to the network. Security is all about providing layers of defense on the network and it not about deploying single-point solutions and hoping that these can be relied on for sufficient security.
October 29, 2020

Cisco ISE Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISE can do what both products individually do. Yes, it may cost a bit more, but the scale of the ISE is way larger than these competitors. ISE is used in large enterprises where lots of features and devices are required. Basically, if you invest in the base license at a distributed deployment, that means any feature you want in the feature can be accommodated by just upgrading your license. It does require a lot of studying to understand what you need now and what you will need in the future. Again, it may not suit small networks, and be considered too expensive.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made more progress with Forescout in 2 days than we did in 8 months trying to get ISE operational. It isn't even close. The MDM add-in worked almost immediately, and the lack of reliance on 802.1x made the entire setup process extremely quick.

Since building automation and remote sites are a big part of what we're doing, Tempered is fitting the priorities we have for segmentation. Our plan is to implement Forescout for on-boarding, and Tempered for IoT and remote sites.

We decided pass on testing ClearPass. We talked to a few existing users of ClearPass. They were happy with their implementations, but the implementation effort and tendencies toward 802.1x made it feel more like ISE than it did Forescout.

The Tempered system has some game changing capabilities when it comes to the things that it does well. I solves a lot of problems that traditional NAC doesn't even come close to addressing. For IoT, it's a game changer.
December 07, 2019

Great device manager!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE stacks up well against other systems because it does what it says and is stable. For us, ISE is great for managing access to our network devices and systems. Cisco ISE might not do as much as other products, but you will pay more for those options. If you are looking to manage your devices with no extra fluff, Cisco ISE is great.