Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco ISE for ZTA

10 out of 10
July 27, 2022
Cisco ISE is leveraged internally to address network access control across wired, wireless, and remote client VPN authentication and …
Continue reading

Simple Authentication

10 out of 10
January 14, 2022
We use Cisco ISE for many different things in our organization. We use it for radius authentication for wireless clients, VPN clients, …
Continue reading

Cisco ISE - Super Engine

10 out of 10
September 27, 2021
We are using this product for endpoint management for all of our users, it helps us to manage the BYOD & guest login.
Continue reading

ISE, ISE, baby

10 out of 10
August 30, 2021
ISE is used to cover our Wired and Wireless Dot1x authentication. We make extended use of the "My Devices" portal integration to allow …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is FireEye Network Security?

The FireEye Network Security and Forensics product combines network traffic analysis (via the FireEye SmartVision module), network forensics for attack analysis (via the PX series), and is built around the FIreEye NX series of products.

What is Speedify VPN?

Speedify is a new kind of bonding VPN designed from the ground up for speed, security, and reliability. The vendor says Speedify's bonding protocol lets it do things no other VPN can: switching between Wi-Fi and Cellular without breaking sockets, and bonding connections together for speed…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

A critical component of any zero-trust strategy is securing the workplace that everyone and everything connects to. So the vendor presents the Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) as a solution that enables a dynamic and automated approach to policy enforcement that simplifies the delivery of highly secure network access control. ISE empowers software-defined access and automates network segmentation within IT and OT environments.

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Competitors

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Aruba ClearPass, Forescout Platform (CounterACT), and FireEye Security Suite are common alternatives for Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE).

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 5.9.

The most common users of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-19 of 19)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Sonu Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Identity Services Engine is most suitable for organizations having a larger number of employees or department groups. ISE helps to reduce network IT operations costs and manual interventions as well. We may apply the network IT policies smoothly and ensure only secure network access.
July 27, 2022

Cisco ISE for ZTA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cisco ISE works excellently as a NAC for network onboarding, maintaining persistent sessions, and overall alignment for Zero Trust Architectures. As a cornerstone to the Cisco TrustSec (CTS) environment, Cisco ISE provides the ability to tag hosts as they are onboarded and distribute this information throughout a security ecosystem, to be leveraged by firewalls, switching infrastructure, and server policing mechanisms. Its ability to maintain a persistent session allows other data reporting mechanisms to change the level of access to hosts if the compliance status were to change. The programmable back end allows for the management to be performed from a centralized console, or via the built-in GUI of the Cisco ISE product itself.
Sebastián Sarasate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my humble opinion, Cisco ISE is a highly recommended product. There are multiple application scenarios but I consider that if some of the following premises are met, I would not hesitate to go for it:
- Network authentication based on LDAP or Certificates is required
- Authentication, authorization and accounting are required for administrative access.
- Granular permission delegation is required.
- It seeks to automate actions at the network access level based on security risks in real time.
Chandan Singh Rathore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is best suited for almost all types of infra, it doesn't matter whether it's small or large. It provides zero trust architecture and compliance checks on endpoints before allowing users to connect to the office network. We can automate the entire BOYD on-boarding process and guest management process to save time.
January 14, 2022

Simple Authentication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If a colleague were to ask me what to use as an authentication server I would only recommend Cisco ISE. The in-depth policies that you can create make it extremely handy when you want to make an authentication rule as specific as possible. Even if only needed a simple RADIUS server I would still recommend Cisco ISE over anything else.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is an amazing Network Access Control system. Network access authentication and authorization policies are made easy to create and maintain. ISE spreads its wings when combined with Cisco's networking hardware - switches, wireless LAN controllers, firewalls, etc. However, leveraging ISE services when other vendor networking hardware is deployed isn't impossible nor difficult - it is simple, effective, and pleasant to configure and manage too, but a few fairly advanced features might not be available. With the recent version available for the public cloud, there is no scenario where using ISE might be less appropriate than other vendors' NAC products.
September 27, 2021

Cisco ISE - Super Engine

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's one of the best tools for endpoint management and security of networks. It also decreases the administrative part on switch management, streamlined network visibility, robust guest experiences, extensive policy enforcement, [and] self-service device onboarding. Centralized management is the core of this tool. Device administration access control and auditing [are] also important features.
August 30, 2021

ISE, ISE, baby

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISE is well suited for a large enterprise environment that relies heavily on RADIUS and TACACS authentication for both network access and device administration. It is exceptionally useful for managing guest access without an unsecured and open network.

ISE is less useful for smaller office deployments that feature only 1-3 servers and have a single site. For that kind of infrastructure, the licensing cost would be wasteful.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) is well suited for companies that wish to keep their access restricted. Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) is great at AAA (authentication, authorization, and accounting) of users who log in either physically, or virtually via a client remote access VPN. Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) might be less appropriate for those who are on a strict budget or don't necessarily care about security.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is a great addition to any mid to large size business where you'd like to manage all your device authentication in one place. Cisco ISE will handle all your TACACS, MAB and 802.11x needs in a single pane of glass, which is great in itself, but you can also use it to manage VPN ACLs amongst other things.

With all that said, ISE would be complete overkill for a smaller business as it's very expensive and would have too many features that would be wasted on a smaller network environment.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall, management is not terrible if you have a stable network that is not overly complex. If you don't, this product will take considerable time to plan for an effective solution. I will say support is not very helpful, so if you need assistance after the initial sales rep assisted setup, good luck and be prepared to spend hours on the phone.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISE is well suited for companies that wish to keep their access restricted. ISE is great at AAA (authentication, authorization, and accounting) of users who log in either physically, or virtually via a client remote access VPN. ISE might be less appropriate for those who are on a strict budget or don't necessarily care about security.
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deploy Cisco Identity Service Engine (ISE) to provide the following types of services:
  • Network device administration - provide AAA services (Authentication, Authorization & Accounting) for any IT users who need to access Cisco routers, switches and firewalls
  • 802.1x - Network Access Control for any users accessing the network as a wired, wireless or VPN client
  • Profiling services - used to profile new devices on the network and is particularly useful for devices that do not support 802.1x (e.g. some IP phones)
  • A whole host of other functionality is available with particular use cases
I do think that Cisco ISE may not be appropriate for really small networks, due to the purchase costs and complication of management.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you really want to do advanced authentication with profiling, posturing, etc. ISE really is a great solution. However, if you are looking for a very basic authentication solution with no further visiblity or authentication flows, cheaper solutions are available from many different vendors. Although I have only experienced Microsoft Network Policy Server as another solution, I must say that ISE is easier to troubleshoot endpoint problems and have more visibility all around.
October 29, 2020

Cisco ISE Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is well suited as an 802.1x authentication server. Other features come on top of it to accurately make the network decide who connects to what in a very secure way. Yes, there are other vendors with the same capability but I suspect that they do not have the same feature set as ISE.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you have just a few device types, fairly flat network (a limited number of VLANs and remote sites, for instance), or don't need exceptions to rules or non-802.1x devices, it might be good for you. Or if you just need guest on-boarding, then that might be a good system. But, then again, if that's your environment, then maybe you just go with the Meraki line.
December 07, 2019

Great device manager!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have hundreds of devices, and it's great that we can manage them from one system. We have different vendors and Cisco ISE handles them all. We are a corporate environment where every team uses different systems and has different needs. Cisco ISE and very robust and can handle pretty much all situations and devices. We use this where TACACS is dipping into our AD system and it works great. Cisco ISE would be less Ideal if you are not using a TACACS or Radius and just have users. You could add all the users into ISE, but that seems like a lot of work.