Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco ISE for ZTA

10 out of 10
July 27, 2022
Cisco ISE is leveraged internally to address network access control across wired, wireless, and remote client VPN authentication and …
Continue reading

Simple Authentication

10 out of 10
January 14, 2022
We use Cisco ISE for many different things in our organization. We use it for radius authentication for wireless clients, VPN clients, …
Continue reading

Cisco ISE - Super Engine

10 out of 10
September 27, 2021
We are using this product for endpoint management for all of our users, it helps us to manage the BYOD & guest login.
Continue reading

ISE, ISE, baby

10 out of 10
August 30, 2021
ISE is used to cover our Wired and Wireless Dot1x authentication. We make extended use of the "My Devices" portal integration to allow …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is FireEye Network Security?

The FireEye Network Security and Forensics product combines network traffic analysis (via the FireEye SmartVision module), network forensics for attack analysis (via the PX series), and is built around the FIreEye NX series of products.

What is Speedify VPN?

Speedify is a new kind of bonding VPN designed from the ground up for speed, security, and reliability. The vendor says Speedify's bonding protocol lets it do things no other VPN can: switching between Wi-Fi and Cellular without breaking sockets, and bonding connections together for speed…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

A critical component of any zero-trust strategy is securing the workplace that everyone and everything connects to. So the vendor presents the Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) as a solution that enables a dynamic and automated approach to policy enforcement that simplifies the delivery of highly secure network access control. ISE empowers software-defined access and automates network segmentation within IT and OT environments.

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Competitors

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Aruba ClearPass, Forescout Platform (CounterACT), and FireEye Security Suite are common alternatives for Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE).

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 5.9.

The most common users of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Financial Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews

(1-19 of 19)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Sonu Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as a corporate deployed SDN network in our office in 2019 and it was the second deployment in India then. While designing network architecture to ensure smooth and most secure authenticated network access decided to go opt for Cisco ISE network.
Below are the targets to achieve after the deployment of ISE:
  • Automated VLAN assignment to the users as per their relevant departments.
  • Pre-defined network-level access to the users.
  • Automated identity identification and validation at endpoints level.
  • Most secured network access.
  • Less manual IT interventions.
  • Reduced IT network operations.
July 27, 2022

Cisco ISE for ZTA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cisco ISE is leveraged internally to address network access control across wired, wireless, and remote client VPN authentication and authorization. Providing protection through Cisco ISE, the compliance of the machines is evaluated, and proper access is granted to compliant PCs. In addition, the device administration allows for infrastructure to be authenticated and authorized from a centralized location, providing a single account for device administration driven by Active Directory or any identity provider.
Sebastián Sarasate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE began to be used to solve the problem of Wi-Fi authentication. Later the authorization and accounting capabilities were incorporated for the accesses of the technical equipment. We are currently rolling out the profiling features. All with a focus on security and user experience, seeking safer accesses, a higher level of control and auditing, [and] additionally a profiling based on user / device that allows simplifying administration and that people can perform their tasks regardless of the device they are using.
Chandan Singh Rathore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) in our organization for all users. It gives us endpoint visibility, which is connected in our infra, and zero trust access control, as per the defined rules and policies. We are using it to authenticate our users based on their role/process, before granting them access to our network.
January 14, 2022

Simple Authentication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco ISE for many different things in our organization. We use it for radius authentication for wireless clients, VPN clients, device authentication as well as TACACS authentication of our Cisco switches, routers, wireless controllers, and firewalls. We also use Cisco ISE for our guest wireless authentication portal.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Secures access to the network at its edge, leveraging 802.1x protocol and MAB. Provides Web Authentication to wireless Guest network. Two nodes, all-in-one, multi-site deployment. Two node deployment provides us required redundancy in case of failure and maintenance, e.g., ISE software updates. ISE allows to prevent unauthorized endpoint access to corporate resources, provides visibility and insight on network access. Support for TACACS+ protocol allows us to control who can have access to network devices and what level of access is granted too.
August 30, 2021

ISE, ISE, baby

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISE is used to cover our Wired and Wireless Dot1x authentication. We make extended use of the "My Devices" portal integration to allow guest users to register TVs/Consoles onto a segregated network. Furthermore, we are working to implement the profiling and posture features. We are excited in particular by the agentless posturing.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department uses Cisco ISE for its network access control and integrates with our primary identity management. ISE allows us to have the first line of defense for authenticating a device on the network and avoiding rogue devices from joining. Open network ports can lead to easy access by an intruder and we wanted to mitigate that risk as much as possible.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM is a Cisco partner and therefore sells solutions based on Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE).

It is also used internally for the authentication of users on the network from laptops to cell phones, obtaining maximum security at the authentication and authorization level of devices.

This solution is very important to prevent people from the network from being able to log in.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cisco ISE to manage our MAB environment and also for user authentication via 802.11x. It's also used for VPN authentication and for TACACS for our other Cisco gear.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Identity Services Engine is used in my Organization to segment guess and Corp Wifi networks through 802.1x authentication and guest portal. We also utilize ISE for port protection and a host of other security features. Cisco ISE is a highly scalable and centrally manageable solution that does require some care and feeding, but overall, it is a good product and not too difficult to manage after the initial setup.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ISE for identity management as it was intended. We have ISE authenticating and authorizing users as they log onto the network. We also use ISE for authentication and authorization of network device access. This way we can keep accountability and be notified on when and what device was logged onto as well if anything was changed.
Simon Watkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For many years, there has been a lack of focus on the security of the corporate Local Area Network. Typically as a user you could connect any devices onto a network via any free patch points, get an IP address and then potentially access network resources. With compliance and security in mind, this is now not considered an acceptable position and a consistent security posture need to be applied to any device connecting to any portion of the network whether it be wired or wireless.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Identity Services Engine segments our employees from our students through 802.1x authentication. Both on the wired and wireless network, with both PEAP and EAP-TLS authentication. We also provide Guest WiFi access through ISE, which is very useful for guest lectureres or any other visitors. Cisco ISE provides us a highly scalable and centrally manageable solution, providing us with a lot of insight regarding clients connected to our network.
October 29, 2020

Cisco ISE Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco ISE is being used currently for 802.1x on wireless and partial wired networks, guest services on wireless and wired, IoT authorization on wireless, and TACACS server for 4k network devices from various vendors. It solved the problems of having multiple authentication and integration into one dedicated deployment.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ISE is NOT being used at my organization. The project started well, but quickly fell apart when we started planning the rollout beyond the initial phase. The difficulty for the consultant, who had tons of Cisco security certifications, to get answers in a timely fashion dragged out the process, with promise after promise not delivered. It wasn't necessarily the fault of the consultant.
December 07, 2019

Great device manager!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ISE to provide access to networking devices and systems. We currently are using TACACS with AD authentication to authenticate to devices. We like having the ability to centrally control all our devices and log activities. When a new employee is added to their team's ACLs, they then are granted access to the devices they need.