Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)

Overview

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Cisco ISE for ZTA

10 out of 10
July 17, 2024
Incentivized
Cisco ISE is leveraged internally to address network access control across wired, wireless, and remote client VPN authentication and …
Continue reading

Cisco ISE Review

10 out of 10
July 12, 2024
Incentivized
Well, Cisco ISE is the authorization accounting product. So we add devices and add users to allow them to access to the network devices …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

4 videos

Cisco Identity Services Engine User Review | A hefty but secure solution
02:39
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Review
04:33
Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Review
06:45
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

14 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is NordLayer?

NordLayer provides cybersecurity tools for businesses of any size or work model developed by the standard of NordVPN. NordLayer helps organizations secure networks and enhance internet security and modernizes network and resource access with technical improvements aligning with the best regulatory…

What is Speedify VPN?

Speedify is a new kind of bonding VPN designed from the ground up for speed, security, and reliability. The vendor says Speedify's bonding protocol lets it do things no other VPN can: switching between Wi-Fi and Cellular without breaking sockets, and bonding connections together for speed…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE)?

A critical component of any zero-trust strategy is securing the workplace that everyone and everything connects to. So the vendor presents the Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) as a solution that enables a dynamic and automated approach to policy enforcement that simplifies the delivery of highly secure network access control. ISE empowers software-defined access and automates network segmentation within IT and OT environments.

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Competitors

Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) offers a network-based approach for adaptable, trusted access everywhere, based on context. It gives the user intelligent, integrated protection through intent-based policy and compliance solutions.

Aruba ClearPass, Forescout Platform, and Trellix Endpoint Security ENS are common alternatives for Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE).

Reviewers rate Usability and Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.

The most common users of Cisco Identity Services Engine (ISE) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(138)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 60)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
July 17, 2024

Cisco ISE for ZTA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • Centralized Identity Management
  • User and Device Authentication and Authorization
  • Device Posture Compliance
  • Device Administration
  • Persistent Session Network Access
  • Third-Party Integration
  • Resource Consumption
  • Intuitive GUI
July 15, 2024

ISE-review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • can connect to different directories like AD, Azure AD
  • very good on profiling endpoints
  • implementing secure wired, wireless, and VPN connections
  • running posture scan on endpoint to check company security posture policy
  • Centralized policy management that ISE unifies the creation and enforcement of security policies
  • ISE securely manages temporary guest network access
  • recently direct DUO connection was added on 3.3 patch 2 and needs more patch for this version
  • for posture check on applications, some of the Cisco rivals are missing like ZSCALER
  • The UI could be more intuitive and user-friendly, making it easier for administrators to navigate and manage policies.
  • Expanding integration options with more third-party security tools and platforms would enhance the versatility of ISE.
July 12, 2024

Cisco ISE Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • I like it when troubleshooting, let's say when a user fails a dedication, basically it tells you what exactly the issue is. So it's easy for us to fix the issue, identify the issue, and fix the issue.
  • As right now the product is pretty good. I think the GUI could be a little more user friendly. Other than that, I think it is a very good tool.
June 13, 2024

Cisco ISE Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • I would say the group policies have been the best part of it. We've been able to really secure our wireless network using it, so we integrate it with Meraki and then issue various policies to different user groups. So really lock down our network and make sure that people that shouldn't access areas of the network don't.
  • I would say the interface, which it seems like Cisco is doing. They're improving some of the logging analytics. That's been a challenge is getting usable data to actually troubleshoot when things go wrong. There's a lot of areas where we have to go kind of all over the place. I would say that's the biggest area for improvement.
June 11, 2024

Cisco ISE Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Authentication
  • Profiling
  • Integration
  • Observability, that is monitoring and user monitoring
  • Probably better enhancement in terms of troubleshooting. For example, if there is a failure in the network and if you want to locate a specific endpoint, how we can make it more intuitive. That is one place we are exploring and we are talking to Cisco as well, that let's say, if you want to check for the failures for a specific MAC address or a user ID, how do we do it? And can we integrate this with our third party tools like Slack or Splunk, right? So that's where if you see a failure, we see the failure over there and then we act on it. So these are some of the things which we are working with Cisco.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • The most beneficial thing that I love about it, there are tons of things that I love about ISE and that it does well, but the most fascinating that I feel about is its integration with DNA center or Catalyst Center using PX Grid as the protocol wherein ISE acts as a policy server for the entire campus hand in hand with Catalyst Center to make sure that the policy policy follows the user and also in the background hand in hand with DNA Center or Catalyst Center makes sure microsegmentation is implemented so that east west traffic is blocked and takes care of the campus.
  • Definitely product needs to be improved in a way more from a troubleshooting aspect. Some of the flows like guest flow specifically is one of the emphasis that I would focus on for improving this product because the troubleshooting aspect when it comes to complex guest flows is one of the things that needs to be focused on. I have made sure that the feedback button that is available on ISE, I have also provided my feedback there and there is a Make a Wish button as well, so my recommendations and feedback I have made sure to post it on that as well.
  • Another area where I would see more improvement can be done is focusing on the integration part and opening it up as much as Cisco can with other platforms because Cisco integrations are definitely decent and have helped my customers and other customers to Excel, but when we open it up for other platforms or generic third party platforms that can actually make sure that we achieve much more efficient results, what ISE is achieving today
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It is stable for WiFi and VPN Authentication.
  • TACACS help reduce the password we need for switch router access.
  • Make it easier to config policy.
  • Failed Authentication sometime is hard to know what happened.
  • Easier to access historic log data.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • NAC
  • Radius
  • Allow us to deploy network security best practices
  • Cisco Identity Services Engine is complex and it has some features that goes beyond our regular usage. Sometimes the line between ACS and Cisco Identity Services Engine is blurred.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
  • User interface
  • Logging and reporting
  • Policy Managment - by far the best in the industry
  • Efficiency - it uses too many resources and continues to grow
  • Cost - the mid and high tier licenses are expensive, and TACACs licenses are a ripoff
June 07, 2024

ISE review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • TACACS+ for NAD access control
  • 1X with RADIUS
  • RDIUS service for RAVPN
  • software bugs for ISE itself, or the AnyConnect/Secure Client
  • ISE profiling need keep updating for new model of devices, especially VOIP phones, or confernece VTC devices.
  • ISE posture flow is troublesome, with the preposture redirection flow. There are too many constrains for building this flow/ACL, with user logon scripts, or access to printers, AD, etc.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Authentication and authorization
  • Detailed logs and accounting
  • Wide support for many different endpoints
  • More robust reporting
  • Customization of dashboards
  • Easier monitoring through single pane of glass dashboards
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It makes MAB authentication very customizable and easy to implement.
  • It makes managing VPN access easier.
  • It does a very good job with wireless 802.11 authentication.
  • Rules and policy sets can get a little confusing and complicated.
  • The UX/UI could definitely use some work as it can be cumbersome.
  • Using logs for diagnosing issues can be tedious.
Return to navigation