Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Cisco IP Phones

Cisco IP Phones

Overview

What is Cisco IP Phones?

Cisco began developing voice over IP (VoIP) communications and collaboration solutions in 1997. Currently, Cisco states they have more than 100,000 unified communications customers worldwide. The modern Cisco IP Phone portfolio includes VoIP and HD video phones designed to meet…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Good products

9 out of 10
March 01, 2024
We use Cisco IP Phones to give to all users a deskphone to use for business calls. We don't want users to use their personal phones for …
Continue reading

Trustworthy

10 out of 10
April 13, 2023
Incentivized
We all used 8851 in office and we used to sell these to the clients as well who were ok to use CUCM based solution.
Phones were being used …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Cisco IP Phones Review
04:26
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco IP Phones?

Cisco began developing voice over IP (VoIP) communications and collaboration solutions in 1997. Currently, Cisco states they have more than 100,000 unified communications customers worldwide. The modern Cisco IP Phone portfolio includes VoIP and HD video phones designed to meet the needs of organizations.

The Cisco IP Phone portfolio includes:
  • • Affordable, occasional-use and specialty VoIP communications including Cisco Unified SIP Phone 3900 Series and Cisco Unified IP Phones 6900 Series
  • General business VoIP communications such as the Cisco IP Phone 7800 Series and Cisco Unified IP Phones 7900 Series
  • Advanced HD video, VoIP and mobile communications such as the Cisco IP Phone 8800 Series
  • Multiplatform Phones for third-party UC-as-a-Service Partners
  • Multimedia applications for Cisco IP Phones
  • Analog telephone adaptors and accessories

Cisco IP Phones Video

The latest Cisco IP phones are designed to reduce regulatory compliance risks and provide the latest technology with the option to be on-premises or cloud.

Cisco IP Phones Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Cisco began developing voice over IP (VoIP) communications and collaboration solutions in 1997. Currently, Cisco states they have more than 100,000 unified communications customers worldwide. The modern Cisco IP Phone portfolio includes VoIP and HD video phones designed to meet the needs of organizations.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.6.

The most common users of Cisco IP Phones are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(136)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 57)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have been communicating within the office using Cisco IP Phones for a while now. With these IP phones, our help desk also operates using a unique dial code that we refer to as 6-HELP. Virtual telephony was not something we felt at ease with, Cisco IP Phones give us the essential tactile experience in this regard.
  • High definition real-time calling experience.
  • Support for video.
  • Analog devices supported which provide great look and feel to the office.
  • Integration with third party software such as Slack & Chime is not possible.
  • Anyone having a user's passcode can pretend to be him or her.
  • There's no option to receive or provide remote support.
Cisco IP Phones are essential for setting up a professional environment. Even employees with less tech knowledge can quickly learn and use these. There is no comparison in call quality; virtual telephony can never match it. Cisco IP Phones might not be appropriate for smaller businesses where employees are seated near to one another.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was using the Cisco IP Phones for calling internal team and client calling purpose in VOIP company. It's very easy to use this phone. I faced the problem while registering the IP number in the phone.
  • Provide Many Features
  • It's easy to use
  • Call quality is excellent
  • Cisco IP Phones look like beautiful appearance
  • Require Wireless headphone
  • Security
  • Integration with other device
We used mostly the Cisco IP Phones in corporate offices, Call centers, Business side, Hospitals, and conference meetings with the team. It will be good for them. In call centers we used the advance call facilities, call recording, call waiting, call transferring.
Less Appropriate: - Solo Business - Small Company
March 01, 2024

Good products

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Cisco IP Phones to give to all users a deskphone to use for business calls. We don't want users to use their personal phones for business calls.
  • Conference call
  • Transfer call
  • Hold/resume
  • Call Park
  • Call Pickup
  • Administration remotely, like web interface
  • Security features and tools to automate migration from one cluster to another one
It is well suited in service desks or operator offices, where maybe you have multiple lines, shared lines, call pickup and call park features.
Everywhere there is a contact center because it integrates well with contact center servers and give lot of feedback to users.
Luis Henriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it for calling between users inside and outside our premises and other daily tasks. The problems that have been addressed are related to call billing, as we have reduced our expenses in terms of call charges in a scope of 50 per cent of our expenses.
  • Call conferences
  • Call pickup
  • The use of PSTN and SIP trunk at the same time
  • Integration with Cisco Webex
  • Highly secure, high-definition voice
  • Reducing your operating costs
  • Supporting sixteen lines
It is well suited for empowering your business with a new collaboration experience. It is not suited for video conferences.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Brand new Cisco phone! If you use Call Manager as a PBX, this is a great phone. After I programmed it with the network of the company, it works just fine. I used it with a Cisco switch and a router. The voice also is clear; I didn't have problems using it.
  • Clear voice
  • Easy configuration
  • Compatibility
  • Compatibility with other routers
  • Showing where the problem is
  • More documentation
  • Available community
I had to configure two IP phones with Cisco Switch and a router, and it worked out after I configured the switch and then the router. The IP phones were able to communicate with each other. After that I was able to call the other phone, for example by typing 1111, I was able to call the other IP phone that has this extension number.
Anthony Guppy, MIET | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
The go-to professional phone for business users. With support for multiple sips lines and well as built-in gigabit switches and Wi-Fi ( Certain Models). The ideal phone for almost any deployment. We deploy these for our customers as a managed service provider as well as a phone reseller. With a wide range of models from grayscale screen to video enable handset and mobile Wi-Fi phones this is the cisco premium phone line
  • Gigabit Switch
  • IP Phone
  • Receptionist Phone
  • Multi line Phone
  • Video Calling
  • Higher resolution Video calling
  • Higher resolution screen to view person
  • Touch screen interface
The 8800 is will be suited for the majority of scenarios with IP Phone deployments. There are one-two cases I wouldn't consider. One If using a multi-person video call the camera does not have a high enough resolution. The other use case where the 8800 don't make sense is convivence phones as these only need to be 1 line.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cisco IP phones throughout our organization, in all office spaces, all hallways, and front, and back of the house customer and employee-facing. We even use them in our remote buildings and or workers' homes. We have desk phones WIfi phones and Smart devices throughout all aspects of our company.
  • Call Quality
  • Advance features
  • Customization
  • Would like to see more color options, for example, Red for Emergency
  • More customization of the soft keys
  • Ability to control remotely without 3rd party applications
There are Cisco IP phones for every environment, I think they are best suited for larger environments as the backbone is somewhat complex to set up. But once you are set up, the options are limitless for sizing and deployments. I think a less appropriate situation would be a very small office setup with only a handful of phones.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My company uses Cisco IP Phones (700-800 series) in combination with CUCM. The 800 series phones are used by senior management because they have the coolest features (like the camera and video calling on the 8865). These are great devices that are extremely easy to use thanks to the built-in mini switch and are extremely reliable in operation.
  • Component quality
  • Reliability
  • Excellent design that stands out among other models in the series
  • I encountered a problem connecting the expansion module (CP-8800-V-KEM), I could not connect it to the phone 8865. The difference in the models (A-KEM; V-KEM) is not entirely obvious, but rather this is our supervision
Cisco IP Phones are suitable for absolutely any organization (using enterprise corporate IP telephony). Cisco also has lower-end models that even a very small organization can afford. There is also support for common standards, so you can use these devices with any PBX service. Excellent devices, I have been using them for many years and recommend them to everyone.
December 07, 2023

Cisco IP Phones Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
So obviously our work as IT services manager, we get calls, kind of a call center group as well for my team. So we use the phone service when the staff or users call us for any support. We use the product for our jobs to help them over the phone or by visiting. So our first initial contact with our staff is by phone or email. So we heavily use the product, that's why I chose it.
  • Well, recently we've implemented a whole triage in my department, so that's worked really great. So three of us, all diverse to each other when there's no one here. And through our writing group, we use voice services from there as well. Our receptionist uses the main point of contact through the product.
  • I guess it'll be like trying to use headsets for those critical phone models. The product obviously makes it a bit difficult because you can have certain types of adapters, so making a universal adapter that could go with other headsets would be easier.
Well obviously being a hospital site we are heavily dependent on communication, so we heavily rely on the product. So less suited, I can't think of something.
Scott Sardella | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Cisco IP Phones across the entire organization. We use these Cisco IP Phones for all desk phones and all public phones. We like the ease to setup and management. We really made the switch to Cisco IP Phones about 5 years ago and have always been with Cisco because we are a trusted and loyal customer and the integrations the Cisco IP Phones have with other Cisco products is great! We currently have roughly 1800 phones in our organization that allow for easily managing reliable communication for internal and external purposes.
  • Cisco IP Phones are very easy to use
  • The call quality is great from every method, handset, speaker, and headset
  • The phones look great and are very stylish
  • Would be nice if ALL Cisco IP Phones had Bluetooth.
  • It would be nice is Camera devices were a standard with the ability to disable if necessary.
  • It would be nice if we could connect the phones remotely to a network via a VPN.
We have found so many use cases for Cisco IP Phones and have not come across too many situations where they were not well suited, other than being mobile. We have moved to another Cisco Solution for Mobile communications. We have phones all over the place, in offices, in clinical areas, in lobby or public areas, and even in all of our conferencing and meeting spaces.
Mitchell Bumgarner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use my Cisco 8800 IP Phone daily for any and all UC related tasks. I even get heckled for continuing to use a physical desk phone, when most of my peers choose to use a softphone via their chat application. However, I like the tactile feedback of the buttons when dialing, the well thought out layout and design of the feature buttons, and the overall ease of use. I also really enjoy the feeling of physically answering the phone and knowing that I'm able to communicate business needs just as well as my peers, without the need to worry if I'm accidentally muted or NOT muted when I'm on meetings and actually want to be muted! I also love the fact that when I'm called into any meeting, I know my audio will stay consistent and crisp throughout the meeting, and never run into the CPU issues that most users have surely experienced! (Laggy or choppy audio, inconsistent audio because my CPU can't keep up with a meeting AND a real-time phone call, etc.)
  • Vibrant display
  • Retains mute functionality between headset and speakerphone
  • Consistent and incredibly clear audio
  • Energy saving mode, during nighttime hours
  • Mute light is physically linked with the button and the feature, if that light is on, you KNOW you're muted!
  • Variety of customizable ringtones
  • Supports up to 10 lines, if needed
  • Built-in camera provides quick and easy access to join any meeting or call in 720p HD
  • Provide built-in visual voicemail, similar to Jabber, Webex, or MS Teams
Cisco IP Phones work incredibly well in almost any business environment. The wide variety of offerings from Cisco really can cover almost any business scenario. The physical deskphone, such as this 8800, works particularly well in office settings, or in a small home office setup (like mine). The configuration of these Cisco IP Phones can be the difficult part, but it is never an impossible task.

These 8800 series Cisco IP Phones are likely a bit too nice to be used in dirty or industrial environments, where you would probably benefit from a more rugged and purpose-built phone. These might also be a bit expensive and have a few too many features for a common area "service" phone, such as waiting rooms, foyer locations, or something similar. Instead, there are lower-end models that would likely fit that need better.
October 11, 2023

Cisco IP Phones Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The University have a Cisco Call Manager, and we use Cisco IP Phones for end users. We currently have about 1500 Cisco IP Phones in production, of which with 1400 assigned to staff, about 50 assigned to meeting rooms and another 40 are used as wall phones. We also have 10 operator consoles. We have over 10 models in use to cater for different needs.
  • Answering calls
  • Call groups
  • Multiple lines
  • Hinge construction could be improved
Cisco IP Phones are the best. Whenever we have to compare phones Cisco IP Phones are the benchmark all the rest are compared to. Cisco IP Phones allow a separate voice vlan and a network port to also connect another device. Cisco IP Phones support a lot of features such as call forwarding, call parking, call divert among others. I cannot think of a scenario where a Cisco IP Phones was not well suited. Cisco has a variety of phones that caters to all our needs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series offers a great variety of products to suit most user profiles and it's needs accordingly while fitting almost any budget, going from basic small models to greater expandable ones, and wired and wireless options to choose from.
It could seem to be a little technologically outdated now in 2023, but with no End of Life announced and desktop telephony being less considered as a requirement for every user but an option for a hot desk, this phone series is still a great option to get the most bang for the buck when complying to such a need.
  • Benefit–cost ratio
  • Product quality
  • General usability
  • The 6800 Series could add a model with better display or even video, without having to choose a model from another Series.
For the general staff and shared places, the Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series offers models that can fit almost every need of voice communications, being wired or wireless ones.
Still holding on strong as a great option in 2023.
April 13, 2023

Trustworthy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We all used 8851 in office and we used to sell these to the clients as well who were ok to use CUCM based solution.
Phones were being used for daily calls for service desks, or for senior engineers or sales people as well.
Video compatible model one was not in use though.
  • Ease of use
  • Portability
  • Call quality
  • User settings
  • Screen size
  • Wireless headset
It's a go to product and like a "toyota" for phones.
Easy to use and setup, plenty of options to play around with. Customisable and anyone can use.
I have seen this model across Coles supermarket and Banks where people use them on daily basis.
Anything like an industrial site is not recommended ofcourse because it's not a "rugged" phone.
Nigel Sankar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Cisco's 8800 series phones are robust and does the job required for years.
Apart from that, the 8865 has a built in camera that has been proven useful for our company.
It is currently being utilized for video conferencing on a personal level. If your company does not utilize a video conferencing solution such as Webex, this product has been proven valuable for our internal use.
  • Video conferencing
  • Bluetooth connectivity
  • Robust design
  • A smaller design
  • Backlighting keypad
  • Touchscreen
Its a robust design so it doesn't break easily. The 8865 includes a camera which has proven useful for video conferencing.
It connect to bluetooth devices easily. Also supports USB connectivity. Sits well on your desk or can be wall mounted. Slimline handset for easy use that is not on the heavy side.
February 02, 2023

Will Cisco UC survive

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Cisco 7800 series are used by diverse customers example callcenters, factory ext.
  • Display is ok
  • Simple to use.
  • usefull functionalities
  • The Display setup could be better
  • Busy led for manager and assistant more different colors like on call Red, DND Blue, CFW orange ext.
In factory environment is it simple to use and in hospital example for emergency.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series for our organisation to receive calls and make calls. It is an easy to setup and use solution for calling internally and receiving calls from outside the oganisation. We also like that the overall functioning of Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series is easy to understand and use for all people.
  • Reliable and Long lasting hardware.
  • Economical support packs.
  • I have not found anything to dislike in the Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series.
Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series are well suited for mainly mid-sized companies and people looking for easy to use IP phones with good set of features. Th Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series phones are a great solution for making calls and receiving calls both internally and externally(people from outside the company). The design of Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series phones is also very simplistic and does not cover a lot of space on the desk.
August 29, 2022

6800 IP Phone review.

Erdem Öztürk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Cisco IP Phone is used as a part of a SIP network, and I'm working as a consultant to make the purchasing decisions; it enables customers to t keep their teams happier and more productive. The speaker is pretty good and almost as clear as the 7800 and 8800 series phones. It has all the same newer ringtones as well, which is nice.
  • The speaker is pretty good and almost as clear as the 7800 and 8800 series phones.
  • It is about the same as a 7841 in almost every aspect, except it has no POE, but the power adapter is included. It also doesn't have as sleek of a look, and the screen is quite low in resolution.
  • It delivers reliable, business-grade audio(opens in a new tab) in an energy-efficient package that will appeal to many organizations. Specifically designed for companies with “moderate to active VoIP needs.
  • So while the 6800 range may not offer slick features, it still provides all the core functionality that businesses have come to expect from their VoIP handsets.
  • Most of the handsets that make up the 6800 series do come with a greyscale display, which may be disappointing if employees are used to working with color VoIP solutions.
Although the 6800 range(opens in new tab) may not be as flashy as some of Cisco’s other VoIP offerings, it still delivers reliable, business-grade audio(opens in new tab) in an energy-efficient package that will appeal to many organizations. Specifically designed for companies with “moderate to active VoIP needs,” the 6800 range gives businesses five models to choose from, depending on their specific needs. As security becomes more important, Customers should choose the 7800 series. All of the 7800 models boast the latest security and encryption. Solutions (opens in new tab) so organizations need not worry about audio data being intercepted or interfered with. Hash Algorithm 2 (SHA-2) and Transport Layer Security 1.2 are employed to help protect the intellectual property of your business. This security also extends to remote workers, who can connect to the Cisco network using the Cisco Expressway without the need for a dedicated VPN solution(opens in a new tab) when using a 7800 series phone.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have implemented Cisco IP telephony using the Business Edition 6000 solution. We have 3 models of IP phones installed for users throughout the building. The Cisco IP Phone 7941 model I use and all of the administrative and IT for internal and external communication. This model is excellent with hands-free and HD voice features and brings great benefits in terms of communication quality in daily use. IP communication brings a lot of savings in internal calls with zero cost and better quality.
  • HD Voice feature.
  • Speakerphone.
  • LCD screen with display and various information.
  • Multiple ringtones.
  • Allows you to put on a headset for calls.
  • LED indicator of incoming calls.
  • It does not have a color LCD screen.
  • It does not support multiple lines.
Cisco IP Phone 7900 Series can be used in any IP phone scenario. It is recommended for intermediate use as it has advanced features that add more value to the user such as a speakerphone, headset, monochrome LCD screen, and HD Voice. But it doesn't have a color screen. The level of quality of the connections is excellent and it is a portable device with great construction and durability.
Jorge E. Cantillo C. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
With Cisco IP Phones 6800 you can get a really IP Phone communication. It supports PoE and you just need to register it to a Cisco Callmanager. It is a very excellent Cisco IP Phone, like other Cisco Products and in addition, some models support KEM and 1GB Ethernet Connection.
  • IP Phone + KEM Support
  • 1GB Ethernet Support
  • PoE support
  • QoS Support
  • Desk Phone
  • No Camara support
  • Mitel Platform Support could be great
  • Portuguese Language (Brazil) support could be great
Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series is well suited at NOC/SOC, CallCenters, Reception Office, Home Office, Schools, Hospitals, Bus Station, Train Stations Embassy, etc. I think it is useful in the majority of the scenarios when you need to talk by phone. Less appropriate in Telepresences Environments and other scenarios where camera video is needed.
Jesse Bridgelal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The phone supports VoIP Telephone services, is easy to use and reliable. The phones are resilient, can withstand daily usage, and usually provide services for a number of years without having to replace. There are also good after-sales services and several vendors offer the items for purchase and also provide support.
  • Provides good quality audio
  • Provides intuitive interface
  • Provides reliable gigabit ethernet for the PC
  • Backlit buttons would help for poorly lit areas
  • Handset that is resilient to continuous sanitizing and cleaning
  • More rounded, smoother design of the instrument instead of the harsh square shape
Very good for busy, every day use offices. Excellent choice for a cloud platform. These phones work well in conditions where everyday use and the occasional fall of the desk may occur as they are strongly built. They are also well suited for environments where an economical but reliable device is required and where gigabit ethernet is a must.
Rogerio Faria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use a Cisco 8865 for my regular work and I support this and other models like 8831 and 8851 in my organisation. These devices have replaced the 797X models in most of our offices.
  • Phone calls.
  • Video calls.
  • Conference.
  • Not easy to use large speed dials.
I'd recommend the conference phone 8831 for large rooms with more than 10 sits. For home workers I'd strongly recommend using the Cisco 8865 instead of 9971 devices. My only criticism about the 8865 models is the characters switch from alpha to numeric when entering login credentials. They are not intuitive.
January 28, 2022

No complaints 😉

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use them to communicate with other employees within the building. They are easy to use and make working easier. We can easily broadcast a message to an entire team. It has good audio. And I like the small graphical monitor and its tech look. Moreover, it's kind of easy to install.
  • Broadcast calls.
  • Make secure calls.
  • Easy to use.
  • Improve on the GUI.
  • Improve the display color.
  • Make support Bluetooth.
Was very useful when trying to send a message to other employees within a team or to other employees in other teams.. it makes communication easy as one can choose to either send a message as broadcast or not. It hasn't been useful when a message to be conveyed must include images for visual.
January 24, 2022

Cisco IP Phone Review

Pratham Radadiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The range of devices available to clients is one of the features that makes Cisco's IP phones so ideal for businesses of all sizes. Cisco has traditionally supplied administration platforms and communication, ranging from more entry-level options through enterprise-standard administrative platforms and communication.
  • Low power usage
  • Audio quality is excellent
  • No communication issue after installing it
  • Price range is a bit over the roof
  • Very minimal integration services
  • It needs premium to run
The Cisco IP Phone 6800 Series multiplatform phones are built to be cost-effective. But, for many of my colleagues, it might not be the saving grace they need. What I mean is that for a large organization with a history of IP phones it is well and good, but it might be a bit too expensive for retailers.
Edward Marshall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Great phones. We have them deployed over the whole campus, and they can be remotely managed and configured individually or in groups. Using Cisco's CDP protocol across our access switches, we can also track and find phones based on their serial number or MAC address. End users also have some customization of their phones which can be done through a self-service portal.
  • Remotely managed and configured
  • End user customization through Self Service Portal
  • CDP across whole Cisco network
  • Price is high for these phones but ultimately you get what you pay for
In the office or as a meeting room conference phone is ideal. The 8851 comes with a camera. We have used them for impromptu meetings and access control for our security who use them for user ID and linked to IO panels for door access (pressing a dial tone for door access once the udder is verified).
Return to navigation