Cisco Jabber Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
300 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 101)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 21, 2021
Leonardo Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization is using Cisco Jabber all along LATAM as a collaboration and communication tool, which includes voice, messaging, voicemail, file transfer service and persistent chat messages, for all staff personal and for any device (laptops and mobile devices), including internet connectivity though the Expressway servers. We are not experiencing problems to mention.
  • As an on-prem solution is possible to have voice access to the organization co workers and the PSTN, using the own extension number, even when connected from internet (using Expressway - no need to have a vpn or lan connection) from any device.
  • Easy to collaborate from any device (mobile and personal computers). Multiplatform.
  • Administrators able to customize the application's features as much as they need.
  • Easy to integrate with Active Directory and Outlook. Unique user and password.
  • Voice calls and messaging completely secure.
  • Persistence chat for mobile.
  • Look and feel could be better than currently is.
  • Not many emoticons are available in the standard way.
  • Give the chance to the end users to upload the contact photo.
Jabber is well suited [for] those organizations where the infrastructure is the capable to support the requirements of Jabber solutions, CUCM, IMP, and there is more room to accommodate additional features such as Mobile Remote Access (using Expressways) media file transfer or persistence chat. Notice that knowledge in Cisco collaboration products is needed in order to design, implement, support and maintain the platform. Other than that supposed to be a less appropriate IT scenario.
Read Leonardo Gonzalez's full review
May 02, 2021
Magreat Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is the tool that allows us to work efficiently from anywhere at any time it brings us together via this online platform. Not only I
carry out the messaging but it is equipped with many other features and we are
taking their full advantages. Now the attachment of the URLs is not at all
difficult. Through Cisco Jabber I am capable of calling my team members at any
part of the world thus remote working is very much convenient for us now.
  • Cisco Jabber is my necessity to accomplish my everyday tasks. It helps me to better communicate with my team, even being away from the office does not make any difference.
  • This tool keeps me active all the time and through this channel, I can better guide my team about the ongoing projects.
  • Now we feel more collaborated with one another.
  • It is a complete tool with advanced kind of features and functions, I really love the way it works and provides amazing services.
  • I have some issue about the reporting. It does not give clear idea about the whole day working of the team but I have to figure out separately what my team was up to and this makes it a complex tool if I want to relay on it as an analytical tool.
  • Its customer support is lazy and does not resolve problems properly. Overall they take much of my time.
[Cisco Jabber] is very
much reasonable in price and if you are seeking a platform where you can carry
out effective communication while being at work, then this is the most suitable
tool for you. I will surely recommend it to all of the businesses which are especially working on a remote base, as it will help you to stay in touch
and being more productive. Cisco Jabber is very effective for project handling.
Read Magreat Wilson's full review
April 28, 2021
Eric Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of rolling out Cisco Jabber to our enterprise community. We have been piloting it for quite some time now and it is one of my favorite collaboration tools that we have attempted to use in our organization. We plan to provide this to users in our organization that currently have or request a phone line for business purposes. Our users will have the flexibility of using that phone line on either a Cisco Jabber client or on the client and a physical desk phone. The problem that Cisco Jabber addresses for us is that it provides the ability for our user community to be mobile and flexible in location of where they do their work while still remaining reachable for collaboration with others.

To this point our user community that has already been given access to the platform is very satisfied with the capability to communicate with the tool. Many users have commented to us that they wish we had provided this capability quite some time ago. Many users were aware that the product existed based on past experience with another employer or just as a matter of having researched the available tools for collaboration that are currently popular.
  • The Cisco Jabber client allows a user the flexibility of location while still being available to anyone for collaboration and communication. No longer tethered to a desk to take calls. This is a huge benefit in my mind
  • Cisco Jabber also provides presence and availability status without even needing to actually call or send a message to someone to determine availability. This saves a ton of time from wasted effort trying to find someone and learn if they are available to collaborate.
  • When configured correctly Cisco Jabber can also be integrated with some calendaring systems to automatically update the status of a user.
  • There is some brand confusion that exists between Cisco communication products. This is more relevant to the support personnel and engineers that would be making decisions to implement the product. Cisco has their Spark/WebEx platform that provides collaboration/communication functionality and more to the end users. Cisco has stated at some conferences that I attended that they are committed to maintaining and developing the Cisco Jabber platform still so that is very promising since the product serves different needs.
  • Cisco Jabber is a little complex to implement properly in your environment. The larger the communication cluster the more complicated it can become. There are also some additional features like persistent chat that require extra resources like a standalone database for persistent chat.
Truly the flexibility of not being tethered to my desk is the greatest joy of Cisco Jabber. It is so beneficial for me to be able to go to other offices and be collaborating with others but still not miss important calls to keep work flowing. This tool goes a long way to making users available to communicate while getting work done. I would totally recommend this as it is a great tool for modern professional environments.
Read Eric Taylor's full review
May 20, 2021
Christopher J Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is mostly used by our post-sales department for customer support. When a customer [has] a problem with [a] delivered batch of products, they can connect to our people with any device that they have and get support quickly. In addition to that, Cisco Jabber is being used as an instant messaging (IM) app amongst colleagues for job-related talks. While they separate their personal IM app from [their] job, they also know that their chat is safe as it is [encrypted].
  • Secure and professional instant messaging app
  • Collaboration becomes easier for colleagues
  • Less onsite visits to customers for some cases
  • Video transfer could be improved as we receive latency related complaints
  • From our colleagues sometimes
I would recommend Cisco Jabber as it is a separate professional [messaging] app that provides [an] improved collaboration experience. However, Cisco Jabber is not known by many people and its competitors are known more.
Read Christopher J Evans's full review
May 19, 2021
Bhawnish ㅤkumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is an Instant messenger which includes special features voice/video calling . It is used in many organizations which i support . It is a product will minimise the problem of communication over a single platform. As you can use it as a database too for searching users withing the organization.It can also be used for file transfer and have an ability to share your desktop with other users.
  • Cisco Jabber can do both Voice and Video calls
  • Cisco Jabber is used to transfer files between users
  • It is used to check voice mails over the computer
  • Cisco Jabber have the ability to go cross platform as its available on Mobiles,tablet pc and Desktop/laptops
  • Cisco Jabber can be used for scree sharing hence you can present a meeting over it
  • Cisco Jabber can search the LDAp directory for your organization users and get there information
  • Cisco Jabber for doing IM needs and extra server in the envoirnment which is IM&presence server. So its not a single server solution.
  • It has dependencies like Active directory for database search and login. If Actve directory goes down users cant login.
  • If you want to connect Cisco Jabber outside the premises you will need extra servers like cisco Expressway or a VPN connection.
Cisco Jabber is a one stop product and should be primery used in an envoirnment where cisco is being used as it gives a lot of features like voice/video calling, desktop sharing,voicemail,integeration with cisco webex and file transfer. If you have an organization of more then 1000 till 50000 users this is a right product for you. You can built server according to the requirement you have . a small organization can have a BE6K server and a larger one can have a mega cluster. If you have a small company of 50 to 500 users and not using cisco then you should avoid using this product.
Read Bhawnish ㅤkumar's full review
May 18, 2021
Sandeep Reyyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco jabber was used across our organization for a very brief period of time. It is a good tool from Cisco for internal communication, video calls, audio calls, and instant messaging. It is quite a good tool with a user-friendly interface. However, there are quite limitations on it. It didn't support sharing large files and we cant send a message to a person who is offline which was quite annoying. Despite these limitations, it worked smoothly without crashes or hiccups.
  • Customizable current status.
  • Lively emojis.
  • Great audio call quality.
  • End to end decryption of messages.
  • Outdated UI.
  • Unable to share large files.
  • Unable to send message to a person who is offline.
  • Search within conversation is not great.
Jabber is a safe and secure communication tool for organizations. It has great audio call quality. Meetings and conferences are easy to organize and attend. But when coming to features it lacked behind many of its competitors. It's stable and reliable but not up to today's standards. Screen sharing isn't always stable though, there have many cases where it used to crash while screen sharing.
Read Sandeep Reyyi's full review
February 10, 2021
David Peck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Jabber in what is called "phone only" mode, which has allowed us to supplement end users that currently have physical phones with a softphone that travels with their laptop. We also had a number of older model physical phones that we removed from service rather than replace because Cisco Jabber was able to provide a similar experience when compared to the physical phones.
  • It has a non-intrusive footprint on the desktop, taking up very little desktop space when not in use.
  • You can dial extension numbers or easily search by partial names to find someone that you need to talk to. The interface is very well thought out and functional.
  • Very reliable. You can deploy redundant expressways and they can even be geo-diverse to provide a constantly available service.
  • Having more flexibility on what device gets the ringer sound would be nice. Maybe the issue is with Windows, but it would be nice if the laptop speaker was used as the ringer for incoming phone calls.
  • We use Microsoft Teams for collaboration and it would be nice if Cisco Jabber could see that I'm using Teams and not interrupt me with an inbound phone call.
  • The ability to personalize ringtones for different callers would be handy. That way you could hear that someone important was calling.
We use Cisco Jabber extensively for all inbound/outbound phone calls. It's uniformly installed on all laptops and is how 99% of all our phone calls are received and made. Since no special hardware is needed, the same headset is used for phone calls and collaboration work. We've replaced over three quarters of our physical phones with people using just Cisco Jabber. If you need 100% quality in voice calls then Cisco Jabber isn't going to work for that since it is running on your laptop and is subject to whatever is going on there. Also, if you need to be able to instantly grab a handset and make a call, then Cisco Jabber won't work for that either.
Read David Peck's full review
May 27, 2021
Amenda Niel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilizing Cisco Jabber for communicating and managing virtual meetings with the team. We can get in connection with our team via audio, video, and even text messages from anywhere and any time. and using it, we can also transfer calls and can hold a meeting too. It has made work from home smooth and effective.
  • The quality of audio and video is profoundly excellent.
  • Highly convenient and can readily be utilized from any device.
  • Messages and calls are end-to-end encrypted and secure.
  • Its features are highly flexible and allow customization.
  • Absence of diverse kind of emoticons.
  • Its customer support team is non-responsive.
  • With a large number of people, it gets quite confusing.
It is very much an imperative tool in work from home. The quality of video and audio is so good and one can communicate via messages too. Employees within our organization can contact and save contact too. But it is not so good when it comes to sharing large files and with many people, its system gets a little complex.
Read Amenda Niel's full review
May 13, 2021
Stella Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Until late 2020 we were using WhatsApp groups for instant messaging amongst security team. However, after Facebook's recent privacy policy changes, we decided to move to Jabber. We have been using it for six months and everybody in the team already get used to it. While working remotely, quick actions become more crucial in case of a security threat. Therefore, instead of email something instant messaging becomes essential. Jabber helps us on this matter. Also it supports Apple watch unlike WhatsApp.
  • Broader device and platform support compared to its competitors in the market
  • Secure and more business focused unlike social media services
  • Ability to control Webex meetings and allows to move from instant messaging to a Webex meeting instantly
  • Apple watch notifications sudenly disappears sometimes, it has a synchronisation problem
I would recommend it if they are looking for a more professional looking instant messaging app. However, there are other strong competitors on the market which they should also consider
Read Stella Neal's full review
June 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is one of the best communication mediums used among many in the organization. Currently, it is used in my company to get connected among the employees via chat or call. Also, allowing users to create groups and video chat.
  • Instant messaging and calling facilities.
  • Share screen while on call to get more connected.
  • Allows multiple users to be connected via chat.
  • Allow sharing screenshot in group chat.
  • Some times screenshot does go to other users.
  • Call drop issue some times.
1. Screen sharing availability.
2. Access other employee users' machines through Cisco Jabber.
3. Group chat.
4. Custom status update feature.
5. Video call availability.
Read this authenticated review
May 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is one of the conferencing tool that help to connect with the organisation/business people globally. The tools have a lot of features like message box, voice, video call, desktop sharing, file share, emoji's etc. We can create a team member group chat so we all will be updated ASAP. The UI and interface is very easy to use, easy to manage. We can easily customise your status like Away, available, do not disturb and also create customise status according to our schedule. Push notification[s] are quick and fast.
  • Its a internal business chat service provider to connect the people of the organisation.
  • We can share the screen, small files, images etc.
  • Can the status of the Cisco jabber as per the schedule with in the office timing.
  • Additional features are like It also remind you connect if you have any Webex meeting.
  • It secure the data into the local system which make your data insecure.
  • Video sharing connectivity works very low in Cisco Jabber.
  • Not be to connect group call while you are connected in the group chats.
  • While connect the system with the VPN, Cisco Jabber works very slow most of the time.
I will totally recommended this tool because it will take less amount of connect to delivered and received the message. The interface/UI is very easy to use, easy to handle and easy to load. It is not have a free version but it's affordable and also have 24*7 customer support.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently started migrating to Webex Teams for chat, however, Jabber is still there and we used it for quite some time for messaging, video calls, and file sharing.
  • Easy messaging interface.
  • Video calls with colleagues is easy.
  • File sharing and screen control.
  • Historic chat functionality should be there.
  • Option to schedule a meeting should be there.
  • Mobile app can be improved like Webex Teams.
It is an amazing tool for messaging, video calls, and file and screen sharing, however, the interface is a little old and also the mobile app is not that great. Also, it lacks the historic chat feature and recording feature too.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Conveniently use Cisco Jabber in lieu of desk phones for both local, national, and international calls. When connected to VPN, calls can be received and placed online via laptop so employees are able to stay in constant connection. Rings leave messages, all of which are available online so no need to be tied to a desk. Hands-free access and great for multi-tasking.
  • Ease of making/receiving calls via laptop.
  • Managing address book and call log.
  • Can remain logged in anytime you are online.
  • I haven't tried video calling in Jabber, since we also use Cisco Teams for con calls but I imagine these would work just as well.
Cisco Jabber is cost-effective and can be used anywhere there is VPN access for ease of calls, access to messages, reviewing call logs, and for hands-free access where moving between locations is necessary. Larger and nationwide organizations would gain the most ROI due to greater collaboration between groups and personnel.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is getting used as the primary tool for chats, video calls and screen sharing.
  • Chats in Jabber are easy to use.
  • Video calls are smooth with no quality issues.
  • Screen sharing for taking and giving support is very well.
  • Integration with MS Outlook and hence causes status issues.
  • Historic chat functionality is missing.
  • Calendar integration with MS Outlook.
Jabber is a very easy tool for chats, video calls and screen sharing. Its console doesn't take the whole screen like MS Teams and also has provision to listen to your voicemails.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We don't use Jabber in our department but we do configure it for our customers as an IPT solution.
It is useful in today's scenario like everywhere we need to do work from home model and no need to stick around physical phone.
Jabber provide us chat services as well as calling services. It was basically designed as alternative to Skype for Business.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Reliability.
  • Security oriented.
  • One-way audio mostly over VPN connection.
  • Registration failure is sometime hectic to troubleshoot.
  • Should have indication wrt weak network to avoid call quality issue during WFH.
It's best suited where we need to get rid of old Cisco telephony and physical handsets.

The main drawback of Jabber is that we cannot use it over cross external platform i.e. Jabber user can chat with Jabber only (we rarely have other organizations using Jabber). Skype and now Teams is the mostly used platform.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the primary tool used in the entire company for daily communication and instant calling/Webexing. It allows end-users to organize meetings, set up quick calls, or send instant messages to colleagues whenever and wherever hugely improving everyone's working efficiency and reducing the communication cost. One big highlight of the product has been its mobile version which adds more flexibility for meeting options.
  • Cost effective
  • Integration with Outlook helps users get informed of coworkers' status and availability.
  • Screen sharing feature during meetings.
  • Takes up a great amount of bandwidth.
  • Slow application reconnection speed.
  • No feature like emojis in messaging option.
Well-suited:
1. I can share my screen with just one click and a web conference call is also easy to process with the integration to Outlook.
2. The mobile app allows for flexibility to connect to a meeting whenever and wherever.

Less appropriate:
1. It is time-consuming to check for related talks.
2. The fact that it stores jabber meetings information on the public cloud will lead to data security and compliance issues for large corporations.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The business recently, like other companies, transitioned to a work from anywhere model and moved from desk phones to soft phones, in right about the perfect time to make remote work a viable solution to COVID.
  • Connection.
  • Reliability.
  • Security protocol.
  • Clarity on weak networks.
So far using the Jabber software has been a seamless transition form desk phone set ups to soft phone and work from anywhere type of environment. Connection is good when internet speeds are reliable and the clarity is also good providing that an external to the laptop speaker is adapted to the working hardware.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Jabber across our entire organization. Is it great tool as it comes free with the UCS platform we use with our phone system. For IT it works great - you can do screen sharing and chatting between staff regardless of where they are working; office or at home.
  • Single and multi user chatting.
  • Screen sharing.
  • Easy deployment to PCs.
  • Free app on top of UCS platform.
  • Integrated with Cisco desk and soft phones.
  • Slow adoption into WebEx to chat across platforms. Haven't quite made them work together yet.
  • Quite buggy after new win10 releases come out for the first few months.
You can use it internally or you can even install it on your mobile phone and chat and screen share inside and outside your office networks. It's not quite all the way there yet to work with WebEx and have direct integration to people on WebEx teams and Cisco Jabber. Cisco [has] said this will be integrated sometime soon.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using Cisco Jabber within our infrastructure for [the] implementation of a secure communication network. It is used by personnel across multiple departments of Government to provide a way to communicate with each other with a level of confidence. The business model it solves is that it allows us to have the ability to install the product on Android phones and seamlessly connect it with our infrastructure to provide appropriate and secure services to clients.
  • Good Debugging
  • Customizable
  • Simple UI
  • Secure Capability
  • Sometimes laggy
  • Sometimes jittering
Cisco Jabber is well suited for organizations that want to implement their own custom solution for a communication line. Cisco Jabber does a good job by allowing the organization to fully customize its settings and implement appropriate certificates to help with the activity of providing a secure communication line. Cisco Jabber is not suited for places [where] no data/Wi-Fi exist[s].
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is being used across the whole organization. Jabber allows us to collaborate in an efficient way: text messaging, presence and call status information, calling (audio and video), and screen sharing. We use it inside the local network and also outside, from home and Internet locations through the deployment of expressways servers.
  • Great app for calling without having a desk phone.
  • When outside the company, Jabber behaves like it is inside the network (without any VPN configured).
  • Screen sharing is possible when on a call.
  • There is a need for people to take control over remote screens.
  • Jabber needs to improve resiliency when a server is down.
Jabber is well suited for companies with a Cisco Collaboration infrastructure on-premise. Indeed, it integrates greatly with Cisco CUCM/CIMP/CUC/UCCX servers. It is less appropriate when companies are looking at migrating all their applications to the cloud, and in this case, Cisco Webex Teams will be the most appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used by the entire company. In the application, we have integrated our telephone number, which we also have physically in our offices. From the application we can access our voicemail and we can also use the chat to communicate with our colleagues.
  • Integration: If you have Cisco collaboration suite, like phone devices, Webex, and so on.
  • Mobility: You can take your phone number to wherever it is with the application installed on your mobile device.
  • Presence: You can see the status of all your colleagues, if they are in a meeting, if they are on a call, thanks to the presence of the application.
  • Old fashioned: They should update the application to make it more modern, add emojis or stickers.
  • Memory consumption: It can be a heavy application for mobile devices with low memory. The application is always running in the background.
  • File transfer: You can't do a drag and drop of a file to a chat window.
I think it is a very useful tool for any company. The best thing is that the company has the entire collaboration solution with Cisco for a better integration.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is being used across the whole organization. Due the sudden switch to remote working, our company needed a solution to keep the interaction between coworkers as high as possible; Cisco Jabber covered this need with efficiency while opening a path to organized communication among departments, teams, and project groups.
  • Efficient communication
  • Intuitive search bar
  • Customizable conversations/chats
  • User interface
  • Switch to Cisco Meetings is unfriendly
  • Difficult to add external users
Cisco Jabber is a great communications application that provides a straightfoward style and intuitive usability--not complicated at all to start using it, with 1-on-1 chats, creating groups, or even customizing your contacts lists. However, there's no direct connection/"switch to" Cisco Meetings, meaning that it isn't friendly to jump from one to the other. There's definitely room for improvement.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Jabber throughout our company. we use it for interdepartmental chat, for softphone capability, and for group chat with screen sharing. It allowed us, back in March, to send 75% of our office workers home in a 3 week period and still give them the capability to function as if still in the office. With MRA and expressways, we have a set of users able to send and receive calls at all times, via their mobile phones, without having to vpn into our systems.
  • One to one communication
  • User status' for calling or messaging
  • Screen sharing
  • User interface is not the cleanest
  • Persistent message history needs to be standard
It is very well suited to one on one communication across multiple channels. Group/Team communication is less well suited. It would be better with more features from Teams.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber was adopted as a IM and Calling tool across all organisation until all people were migrated to Webex Teams. Cisco Jabber was the only tool that offered all the Unified Communications services in one application. It was a collab tool that helped many colleagues to stay connected and save company's money on expensive roaming.
  • All in one collaboration tool.
  • Can work as soft phone, so no IP Phone is required. Available on Mobile devices.
  • Can be used without VPN.
  • Corporate directory.
  • Messaging is only available within enterprise, it is not persistent.
  • Calling does not work behind NAT.
  • No push notification on android devices.
  • Consume a lot of battery on mob devices.
Jabber suites to any organisation as a primary collaboration tool that offers instant messaging and audio/video calling. Especially for organisations who has invested a lot to Cisco Unified communications.

Cisco Jabber does not suite for non enterprise users since the Messaging functionality does not work as efficiently as WhatsApp for instance.
Read this authenticated review
March 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During [the] pandemic, our IT has [transformed] itself extensively to adapt COVID protocols and Cisco Jabber is one of them. While working from home, it helps us to have our office extensions on our mobile and communicate freely with our colleagues. [It] also [helps] us in having chatting and video [calls] with our teams.
  • Office extension on [your] mobile
  • Messaging, voice and [video] calling
  • Mobility, work from anywhere
  • Integration with IT LDAP services
  • [Look] of the app could have been better
  • [Takes] time to authenticate when logging in for the first time
  • [Sometimes] voice delays [have] been observed
[It's] very well suited for Cisco UC customers only. [It's] perfect for pandemic times, where you can sit in the office having physical office extension and do physical meetings with your team. Cisco Jabber covers all of [this] while providing mobility. [It] can replace those physical phones forever and reduce CaPex cost. Not suitable for non-Cisco UCS customers.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (33)
8.4
Gantt Charts (10)
5.1
Scheduling (42)
7.3
Workflow Automation (17)
6.1
Mobile Access (76)
8.4
Search (68)
8.1
Visual planning tools (17)
4.2
Chat (96)
8.7
Notifications (96)
8.5
Discussions (82)
7.6
Surveys (15)
6.4
Internal knowledgebase (21)
6.0
Integrates with GoToMeeting (13)
4.5
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (12)
2.2
Integrates with Outlook (58)
7.7
Versioning (39)
7.3
Video files (64)
7.4
Audio files (66)
7.7
Document collaboration (54)
7.5
Access control (31)
7.5
Advanced security features (33)
7.4
Integrates with Google Drive (10)
5.0
Device sync (22)
6.5

What is Cisco Jabber?

Cisco Jabber is a communication platform that is available as a browser-based and mobile app solution. It allows users to collaborate across channels such as instant messaging, voice, VoIP, and video telephony. Features include voice and video calling, call recording, and broadcast messaging.

Key Features
Instant message and presence
Real-time presence information and instant messaging. Users can view the availability of contacts within and outside of their organization.

Business voice and video
Soft-phone features, including HD voice and video, plus desktop sharing.

Global Collaboration
Access to all of Cisco Jabber’s features while mobile, including video conferencing.

Communicate from Microsoft Office
Access Cisco Jabber directly from Microsoft Office applications. Click to initiate chat, voice or video calls, or multiparty conferences.

Categories:  VoIP,  Collaboration

Cisco Jabber Features

Project Management Features

Has featureTask Management
Has featureScheduling
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTagging
Has featureSearch
Has featureIntegrates with other Project Management Tools

Communication Features

Has featureChat
Has featureStatus updates and activity feed
Has featureNotifications
Has featureComments and feedback
Has featureDiscussions
Has featureUser directory and online status
Has featureSharing and privacy

File Sharing & Management Features

Has featureVersioning
Has featureDocument files
Has featureImage files
Has featureVideo files
Has featureAudio files
Has featureDocument collaboration

Cisco Jabber Video

Cisco Jabber Basic Feature Guide

Cisco Jabber Competitors

Cisco Jabber Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Jabber for Desktop$50.00Per License

Cisco Jabber Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Jabber?

Cisco Jabber is a communication platform that is available as a browser-based and mobile app solution. It allows users to collaborate across channels such as instant messaging, voice, VoIP, and video telephony. Features include voice and video calling, call recording, and broadcast messaging.

What is Cisco Jabber's best feature?

Reviewers rate Chat highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Cisco Jabber?

The most common users of Cisco Jabber are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.