Meraki MR Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Jose De Jesus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Meraki MR Access Point are our WiFi corporate Network at my company, we have more than 50 users accessing to our corporate softwares and system via WiFi with several device.

We integrate the solution with our active directory server in order to guarantee properly access to the specific resource and internet usage depends on the profile and privilege given to certain users.

We covered the entire floor about 300mt2 with a few APS MR55AX technologies. Our AP's are serving the sales department, logistic, administration office and technical department with a variety of device connected simultaneously to the WiFi.

Meraki MR access point solved a problem with the layer 7 firewall policies to block services like torrent, games, and movie websites without touching the firewall solution of our company. Another thing unique is the option to provide fast guess wifi to our customer in a separate network segment with an easy to login splash page with Gmail or Facebook integration.

  • Layer 7 Firewall Embedded
  • Different type of access control and guess portal
  • Traffic shaping and bandwidth rate limits for high demands application
  • Health option to identify quickly different problems with the performance
  • Integration with third party guess portal like “Eleven WiFi” for customize guess access
  • Analytics and reports of usage very helpful in order to obtain data of your internet usage and allocate resources more efficient
  • My only concern is about the subscription fee
Cisco Meraki is well suited in almost every scene because the simple and intuitive dashboard makes easy the admin process and usage, maybe the only scenario where Meraki doesn't suit is for WISP for the high price of the Outdoor APS, but if you are a company who wants to implement a reliable Wi-Fi solution with advance function and simplicity of use then Meraki is for you.
Read Jose De Jesus's full review
June 13, 2021
Niloofar Keshvari Nia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we manage switches and access points using a GUI service that is very easy to make changes to the configuration, view logs, and troubleshoot issues. Cisco Meraki is a great router for small and medium businesses that do not necessarily need a full time network staff and it's easy to manage, configure, and troubleshoot network devices, and ease of access to management dashboard allow us to manage equipment effectively.
  • The single management panel and easy access to equipment provide simple, efficient management and it gives you visibility into everything you need to know through the Meraki Dashboard
  • The API is fantastic because it allows for easy management
  • There have been some issues with updating the switches' firmware, which was solved with the help of the support team, maybe it should be easier and smarter to update it
  • In its current state, it has complicated policy-based routing and routing interfaces that need further development
  • When implementing any change to the network topology via the dashboard, it may take several minutes for that change to sync with the settings
While it does a good job of access switches, I would recommend using another device for routing. The dashboard and API make updating port configurations convenient and easy for even site technicians with little or no networking knowledge, Meraki is a network solution that comes with an interface that allows administrators to easily manage, test, and configure it from virtually anywhere.
Read Niloofar Keshvari Nia's full review
May 17, 2021
Ana Cristina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented a wifi network with access points to the Cisco Meraki MR33 at the regional level of the organization. The purpose of Meraki is to provide a secure and efficient WLAN network to our employees and guests alike. Cisco Meraki MR33 is managed in the Cisco cloud and we are able to access settings from anywhere and without the need for a VPN connection. In this solution, we were able to create an organized network because we added the plans of the properties and the approximate location of the access point in this location and with that, we were able to track it, check status/alarms, and make various security and network settings.
  • Facebook check in for access to the wlan network.
  • Wlan network with Cisco cloud management.
  • Access from anywhere
  • MR33 access point supporting 802.11ac wave 2.
  • MR33 access point supports high density.
  • External portal for user authentication.
  • MR33 does not support wifi 6.
  • High price.
The appropriate scenario for the Meraki MR33 solution is quite diverse. It is recommended for environments with many small branches and does not have space to place a physical controller in a rack in the data center. The management of Meraki is very clean, intuitive, and friendly and facilitates the life of new network professionals to configure the equipment. The Meraki solution controls all access points regardless of location and provides the best signal, coverage range, and 2.4ghz and 5ghz radiofrequency for users.
Read Ana Cristina's full review
May 16, 2021
João Mauricio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MR has been a great alternative that we are using to implement wireless networking in some locations in the organization. I used, managed, and supported our Cisco Meraki MR33, which is an access point with internal antennas and full cloud management that eliminates the need for expensive and complex wireless network control hardware. Cloud access is very simple, easy, and instinctive. The Cisco Meraki MR33 is a robust AP that supports a high density of users connected at the same time and provides all the necessary network security.
  • Easy to set up and install
  • Fully manages all Cisco Meraki MR access points in the cloud, regardless of the model installed
  • Modern design
  • Alerting system
  • Price
  • It has few firmware updates with optimizations
The Cisco Meraki MR33 is a compact device that serves us in scenarios of high density of users and works with the new technology 802.11ac wave 2. The technology of this access point is able to deliver to the end user a speed of more than 1 gbps and this is equal to traditional ethernet network cables. The recommended scenarios are for everyone looking for something more minimalist and without management complexity and can be done from anywhere from a browser. The administration interface is friendly and the alert system is very good and it may be possible to receive notices by email and SMS.
Read João Mauricio's full review
May 01, 2021
Ryan Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki for our wireless needs, we have many iPads and tablets for teachers to use. It is running throughout the entire building and has been providing great coverage. We use the wireless for mobile connection and the ability to not need hard lined connections as the building is older and can [be] hard to run those kind of lines.
  • Easy to use.
  • Cost effective.
  • Insight into usage.
  • Better troubleshooting tool.
  • Better logs.
  • Subscription fee.
Meraki wireless has been great for us, having a small tech team of 1 person, not having to manage a complex wireless system has been very helpful. The solution works well for us and I assume slightly larger companies also. I could see the subscription fees adding up so maybe there are better ways to manage that.
very easy to use, clean and fast web site to interface with. The insights and warning are helpful if there is something that is not working as expected
Read Ryan Wilson's full review
June 11, 2021
Victor Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MR has become our enterprise WiFi infrastructure solution. It really helps us to reduce Opex budget with its cloud-managed scenario. It is so easy to deploy that you only need an internet connection and everything is up and running in almost 10 minutes; [it] literally is a no-brainer solution with all the enterprise features included.
  • Cloud Admin Portal
  • No-Brainer Massive Deployment
  • Reduced and optimezed OPEX
  • Cloud Control Panel Reporting capabilities
  • Email alerting system configuration granularity
It is so easy to configure and set up that you will not believe it, it is very well suited with a reduced specialized staff also when you have a reduced OPEX budget because the cloud control panel does all the magic. It is not as good as you wanted if the internet is not stable because you will suffer to make any changes.
Read Victor Rivera's full review
March 11, 2021
Julien Guffroy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're deploying this kind of model for some of our customers. We have deployed devices into our headquarters and stores to configure SD Wan with 2 internet lines.
  • Dashboard
  • User consumption
  • Easy to deploy
  • ZTP
  • CLI possibilities
  • Dashboard about wifi issues
  • Wifi advice
Well suited for large or small deployments. I don't clearly know the best wifi solution. If you don't need specific or particularly advanced settings, Meraki is the best for any campus or store deployment.
Support is there, ready to be reached. Some features need to be activated by the support, which is not really the best.
Read Julien Guffroy's full review
May 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Meraki MR access points were used in all of our facilities across the globe to provide wifi access to all of our laptops, phones and many other wireless devices. In today's environment, this is absolutely 100% necessary for any business and wifi is heavily relied upon - even with people sitting at their desk. It is very easy to manage as a whole meaning we can troubleshoot wireless issues anywhere in the world from my house.
  • Cloud-managed - as all Meraki products are, very easy to manage.
  • Mesh technology allows clients to easily roam from one AP to another.
  • Very easy to add AP's, just get it online and add it to a network. Done.
  • Great tools to troubleshoot problems clients.
  • I wish the map would integrate more to show the neighboring AP's and their connection strength. I think they could produce better heat maps with this function.
  • I have found the strength of the AP's are quite as good as a regular Cisco non-Meriaki AP.
  • It can be problematic, as a global company, to physically move an AP to another country. There [are] some hoops to jump through.
I can't think of any scenario where a Cisco Meraki MR product is not well suited, maybe with the exception of a very large outdoor area. I have used them exclusively at the last 2 companies I've worked for and haven't quite come across a situation where they've hurt us. Whether it's an office building with 500-1000 people or hundreds of retail stores across the US. It scales very well.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MR is being used by the entire firm as its sole solution for wireless access, for employees as well as guests. Meraki MR benefits Wendel in that the hardware itself is very low profile and non-intrusive, completely silent, a single wire device not requiring a separate power source, and very easy to administer. The back end can be addressed very simply or one can choose to customize things to great depth.
  • Very quick and easy for user’s devices to recognize and connect to.
  • Security is highly effective.
  • Very easy for administrators to manipulate the device itself, as well as control what users are doing or if they are allowed to connect at all.
  • There needs to be an easier way to see which devices are being heavier used, so as to determine needed adjustments.
  • It would be good to have more in-depth access to what locations connected devices are navigating to.
  • Cost. These devices could be a little more competitive if the cost were lower. Meraki prices itself out of some sales.
A Cisco Meraki MR is well-suited for highly visible locations where a device needs to be suddenly integrated and not drawing attention to itself. It may not be so well-suited to environments where in depth monitoring of traffic to specific destinations needs to be quickly determined and throttled on an as needed basis, such as in a conference environment.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Been using Meraki wireless since before they were acquired by Cisco for our users guest internet and some corporate data. We do like the per client bandwidth throttling, the scanning wireless radio that looks for look alike SSID's, the layer 7 rules to block undesired content, and many of the other security features. Users can bring their own device add it to the WIFI and access their news site or check Facebook; they can't download torrents of movies.
  • Layer 7 traffic shaping and per-client bandwidth limits.
  • Access Control
  • Cloud management portal is easy to use
  • Support is knowledgeable
  • Devices become an attractive doorstop when unlicensed
  • Re-licensing is costly - all wireless costs the same to re-license regardless of age
  • Others devices and companies in this space have offerings that don't do this
It you need dead simple wireless and don't mind paying for the license year over year you'd probably be quite happy. The software gets better over time, the applications that it detects update quickly, and you can control everything clients do on the network.
But if you think that a device should work after you pay for it - not simply brick at the end of the license period then you might want to pursue another option.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Some of our offices are running on a Meraki infrastructure (MX, MS, MR, MV, SM), and, of course, on Meraki MR products to manage Wi-Fi. As we are a Cisco partner and Fortinet partner, we rely on both infrastructures depending of the offices to be able to stay up to date on both technologies and be able to demo both solutions to our customers.
  • Cloud based solution.
  • One single pane of glass to manage everything.
  • Easy to use/configure dashboard.
  • APIs and a lot of third party solutions to add on.
  • Provide basic analytics but would be nice to have more specific details built-in the solution (just like some 3rd parties do).
  • More expensive than other comparable solutions.
Meraki has a great portfolio of MR devices. So can adapt and find the right product to pretty much every environment, from basic Wi-Fi needs to pretty long outdoor reach. As the price can quickly rise for important rollout, it is important to work with a Cisco partner and or your Cisco AM directly to make sure to get the appropriate discount levels for your project, otherwise, you may find the solution too expensive.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We have implemented the MR42 APs in our main office. The solution has provided exactly what we needed for our company. We were able to implement end user authentication via Radius, and have control of access for guest users.
  • Ease of configuration.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • For guest user access, I wish there was a simpler way to only require the guest to enter an email address to register their connection. There are too many steps to accomplish that.
Meraki will work in any environment. I have successful deployed MR APs in offices, warehouses, and outdoors in very hot and cold areas in the country. When planned and deployed correctly, it's a solution you can almost set and forget. I say almost because you always need to make sure it's up and running, but it's something you would not have to manage 24 hours a day.
It does what you configure it to do. I have had no issues standing up a Meraki solution. It's easy to configure, easy to deploy, and easy to manage. Scheduling updates is fantastic and easy to set up.
Read this authenticated review
February 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To provide internal and external Wi-Fi network access to staff, visitors, contractors, and third-party contractors. We have this implemented at all of our sites and is used by all staff for their mobile devices, tablets, corporate laptops, and other meeting room equipment.
  • Easy administration.
  • Easy deployment.
  • Easy scale-out configuration.
  • Easy hardware upgradability.
  • Ease to integrate to AD for single sign on options.
  • A little slow on adopting the latest Wi-Fi channel and speed options.
  • Not always the cheapest device when compared with some competing companies products.
  • Cannot really manage the Wi-Fi unit on premise when you have internet access issues.
Almost any business can benefit from the ease in using Cisco Meraki Wi-Fi devices. Almost any one of the devices is capable of solving a Wi-Fi deployment need from their product catalog.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki solution with Access Point is used in the company's offices and provides great benefits such as greater visibility of what is happening on the network, a rapid deployment in configuration and support issues. The centralized management through the dashboard makes it simpler and more agile when making changes to the configuration within the network in an easier and more intuitive way.
  • Centralized management.
  • Automation.
  • Analytics.
  • Switches for Core Scenarios.
  • Outdoor cameras.
  • Antenna type for access point.
For the retail and hospitality sector it is used in an extraordinary way and where perhaps I would not recommend so much is for the industrial sector.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki wireless access points globally in all of our offices to service guests and employee devices. Cellular connectivity within buildings and inside IDF/MDF rooms is poor, so this allows employees to easily perform WiFi calling, use their mobile devices on WiFi, etc.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Easy to manage.
  • WAPs fail silently.
Ideal for places with small IT teams and where wireless isn't mission critical.
Read this authenticated review
November 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki MR platform is used by the IT department to manage network access for our end-users. We centrally manage University Wireless infrastructure and, where Cisco Meraki MR switches are deployed, also the wired access.

Being that we are a small but agile IT department, we don't have an individual dedicated to the management of the network. The Cisco Meraki MR online management interface, therefore, solves multiple needs for us. Training of IT staff is simple, and all changes can be done from anywhere there is network access by whatever means is convenient at the time (phone, tablet, or laptop/PC). We do not require a specialized position for network access layer management.
  • The Cisco Meraki MR 30H access points are the standard to how wireless should be deployed in dorms
  • Quick SSID with network filtering deployments for one-time public events
  • Good reporting to track down bad actors in a network utilizing the entire OSI table
  • General experience needed in order to be proficient in basic management
  • Outside cameras provided by Meraki could have more hardware variety and capabilities.
Cisco Meraki MR is well suited for enterprise deployments where there is a well-structured refresh cycle for network equipment. I say this because depending on the budget of an IT department, they may not pay for annual support for access switches and access points and simply replace them the equipment fails. However for Cisco Meraki MR, you must pay the maintenance in order for the equipment to work and to access the cloud portal needed to manage the equipment.

Besides cost, Cisco Meraki MR is a great platform for small teams looking to simplify network management. This will free up the department to more closely work with their client's business goals instead of simply managing IT infrastructure.
The Cisco Meraki MR web interface is best in class when it comes to network management. While some networking knowledge is needed to understand what you are doing, no specialized training in any one specific operating system is required to design a whole network.
Cisco Meraki MR support is always available when needed in order to troubleshoot even the most advanced network problems.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2020
Carlos Beltran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki across the whole organization. We manage our wireless network with it. We have separated our wireless network for different purposes and we can manage them more efficiently with this device. We have a splash page for the guest that comes to our organization, that's really helpful.
  • Web-based management
  • Easy setup
  • Intuitive to use
  • Chance to manage on premise
  • If you don't have a license, you can't use it.
I recommend using it in a large infrastructure to be managed and places in a big area or different locations. I don't recommend using it in a small office. It will work perfectly but there are other options to see first that cost less.
We had some troubleshooting with Cisco Support for Meraki and they responded fast and clearly and helped us fix the problem.
Read Carlos Beltran's full review
March 20, 2020
John Patrick Duro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed it across the whole organization. Most visible in our guest areas, conference and huddle rooms.
  • It can be easily managed thru the cloud which is very convenient and fewer admin headaches. Its cloud dashboard has good reporting as well.
  • More secured guest management, we love the separate firewall for guests and 1-click access.
  • It has a built in NAC and can protect us from Layer 3 to 7.
  • In terms of downtime or troubleshooting, it can be easily managed thru RDP.
  • M33 has no native AD authentication support.
  • M33 has no Multi User MIMO.
I think for those looking for a basic and suitable level Wave 2 solution that could handle a single office, home business, or potentially a small cafe by itself, the MR33 would be a good purchase. The huge function of it that allows us to deploy networking devices into relatively small companies such as solicitors and provide them full IT support completely remote means the organization does not need to hire a dedicated IT guy on site, or pay expensive call-out fees and/or incur downtime until a callout is made. So, for any company that has multiple locations, it can be a complete game-changer in terms of IT support. Though it has high entry costs, no doubt it can be offset by the big reduction in support costs and cost of downtime.
The datasheets, manuals, online references, and guides are precise and comprehensive. Cisco Support is responsive and reliable. We never had long resolved incidents. Also no major incidents yet. Their support is also well knowledgeable even on inquiries like licenses.
Read John Patrick Duro's full review
March 11, 2020
Dennis Chwee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meraki MR APs are my organization's primary solution for providing wireless to our various office and sites. Because all configurations are done in the cloud, there is no need for the locations to require a VPN tunnel back to the CORP office for the APs to work. This allows us to deploy our wireless network almost any where as long as there is internet connectivity.
  • Easy configuration.
  • Zero touch deployment.
  • Deployment flexibility.
  • Deeper configuration options.
  • Per device licensing simplification.
  • More detailed metrics on channel utilization.
The Meraki MR series simplifies the configuration for both the typical consumer and business. Smaller businesses will benefit greatly as it is possible to configure and administer the wireless network without needing to contract or hire dedicated IT support. There Meraki APs are also capable to self determining the best wireless channels to be on, further simplifying the overall wireless setup.
Meraki support is usually top notch. The are quick to respond and stick with an issue until it is resolved. One of the difficulties I've had with Meraki MRs is the limited ability the customer has in troubleshooting. Much of the more technical aspects of resolution can only be accessed by the Meraki support team, meaning dedicated IT teams are reliant on them when more complicated issues arise.
Read Dennis Chwee's full review
February 28, 2020
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a school district with about 6,600 students in 9 buildings and various other buildings. We have almost 600 Meraki APs throughout the district. The Cisco Meraki MR Series is easy to manage and has performed well for us overall. We are a 1:1 district, so almost all of the 6,600 students have devices that access the internet over wireless, so having good wireless is critical.
  • Easy management. Tag-based policies and SSID broadcasts make changing things a breeze.
  • Easy installation. All APs come with clips to mount them to ceiling tile brackets and are easily installed and upgraded.
  • Firmware is sometimes problematic--seems like firmware is in beta forever before being released.
  • Some features are hidden and can only be turned on/made visible with a call to tech support.
We think Cisco Meraki MR Series is well suited to large installations like schools such as ours. We don't really have much more, if any, work to do with 600 APs than when we only had 200, and as we get ready to open up another school with another 100 APs, we don't foresee much more work. Once they are provisioned and added to the "network", they just need to be plugged in.

I'm not sure I have a scenario where they wouldn't be suited. Maybe if all your other network equipment was another brand, and that brand also had APs, then it might make more sense to go with them, but otherwise, Meraki fits in pretty much anywhere.
Getting ahold of support has never really been a problem. They have always been more than willing to talk and work with us. Early on, there were issues with some of the versions of firmware, and it seemed that we would get different answers from different support engineers, but more recently it has improved, and on the rare occasion that we need help, it is readily forthcoming.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
June 01, 2020
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MR20 is being used in one of our branches, as we think it is the easiest way to manage a far away branch network. It helps us to manage the network remotely without an existing network engineer on site. At the same time, it gives users the ability to connect wirelessly to our network.
  • Wide range of wireless coverage
  • Good authentication methods
  • Some security features
  • Enhance the security features
  • Set a way to manage it using console
Cisco Meraki MR20 is a very good access point used for small to medium sites, and we are using it in one of our remote sites. It gives us the facility to manage it from the cloud. It also gives us great performance for user connectivity and security. So I recommended it when working with remote sites.
The devices are very stable and we have only contacted support once during the last 3 years. They were very helpful and supportive. They troubleshot our problem and finally made an RMA replace our device with a new one. There are also many materials in the knowledge base about these solutions and devices.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
April 27, 2020
Prateek Maheshwari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we are using Cisco Meraki in our whole organization. And I am very satisfied with this product in terms of wireless technology.
This solution helps us to increase productivity and now the user faces fewer issues because we manage this solution remotely. It doesn't matter where I am.
  • We can handle our whole environment remotely.
  • Service provided by Cisco is awesome.
  • Easy deployment
  • Easy to manage
  • Fits my budget
  • Wireless frequency
  • Latest technology
  • Fastest connectivity
The Cisco Meraki MR33 is deployed in my company, and its deployment process is very easy. This product GUI is very easy to understand.
Personally, I feel Cisco provided top-level support, and I am very happy with their service.
Read Prateek Maheshwari's full review
March 18, 2020
Duane Cowan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to give wireless access within our building. We have 6 of them deployed and they give excellent service to all our employees. We have a guest as well as a network access setup. Visitors are able to easily connect to the wireless without any issues. Employees use it with their laptops and cell phones.
  • Easy to setup SSID's
  • Easy to manage
  • Time of day control over SSID's
  • Up to 15 SSID's available
The Cisco Meraki MR33 can be used in a mesh network. I use 2 in my house to give excellent wireless access throughout the entire house using a mesh network.
Haven't had any issues and the 1 time I had to call support, they got the problem fixed really quickly.
Read Duane Cowan's full review
January 24, 2020
ILEANA COLMENTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MR in our corporate and branch offices to centralize the administration and visibility of network and users behavior. Also, we have hospitality clients who have chosen MR in each guest room to minimize the cabling inside rooms while still delivering all the services they need: WiFi, wired connectivity, IP Telephony, IP TV and security system (panic bottom, geofence, etc)
  • MR allows administrator to get Layer 7 capabilities to ensure user’s secure connectivity.
  • MR activates BLE radius to get the most visibility of customer behavior and integration of other functions.
  • The activation of the licenses should not be right after the order. It would be great if users could activate licenses when they are really going to use the equipment.
  • Meraki could add more PoE ports in MR30H.
I prefer to specify where Cisco Meraki MR is recommended because is a great solution in terms of functionality, development, connectivity, administrations, etc. In my case this solution is the best for hotels and big resorts. Meraki has a lot of models which cover you in each space of the hotel (indoor, outdoor, high density, etc). Meraki has a special model for hotels, MR30H. GPON has a solution that permits us to deliver services in the rooms only through a single cable (fiber). With MR30H you only will use a single cable from the IDF to each room. So you get: less power consumption, more space in rack, less switches port used and a best in-room experience.
Because you have your license activated, you have access to Meraki’s Customer support 7 days of the week, 24 hours of the day. Also you have the warranty of the best suitable APs in case of replacement. Meraki takes care of your network to allow you to get into it softly and confidently.
Read ILEANA COLMENTER's full review
February 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MR Series access points across our school district for all wireless access. It gives us end to end wireless connectivity for all our district needs.
  • Ease of use- The platform is effortless to configure and manage.
  • It is very scalable, easy to add more to the system.
  • Cloud-based, so there is no need for an onsite controller.
  • Not as robust in the configuration as some other providers
  • Logs are not as detailed as they could be
  • Sometimes need support to help troubleshoot issues because of lack of logs.
If you are looking for a reliable solution that is easy to manage, then Cisco Meraki MR Series is an excellent choice. If you are looking for something with more detailed granular and specific configurations, it may not be the best.
Cisco Meraki MR Series support is usually quick to respond and the engineers I have dealt with have been knowledgable.
Read this authenticated review

What is Meraki MR?

The Meraki MR series is an enterprise-grade line of cloud-managed WLAN access points. Designed for challenging enterprise environments, the MR access points use advanced Wi-Fi 6 technologies including MU-MIMO, OFDMA, beam forming and channel bonding to deliver the throughput and reliable coverage required by demanding business applications.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Meraki MR Competitors

Meraki MR Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Meraki MR?

Cisco's Meraki MR Series is a wireless LAN solution.

What is Meraki MR's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.8.

Who uses Meraki MR?

The most common users of Meraki MR are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.