TrustRadius
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls are firewall technology.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/xb/mX/4WFZL1ANOD5T.JPEGMy life is easier thanks to MerakiWe recently purchased a Meraki MX Firewall for our organization as we are growing and need a more heavy duty piece of equipment that can handle all our traffic. This Firewall is being used across the whole organization although most users have no idea it is being used or what a firewall is or does. We bought this product because our older firewalls were no longer able to handle our growing traffic and was dropping packets or crashing altogether. So far our Cisco Meraki MX Firewall has been perfect and have had no issues.,Easy to setup UI is a breeze to work with Set up before it arrived then connected it to the internet and it added my config,Yearly subscription price was a little out of my comfort zone but upper management agreed it was a must have with our growing company,10,consistent performance has helped keep our network up and working so all our employees can stay hard at work. The URL filtering has helped cut out employees slacking by blocking distracting sites.,Juniper SRX,GoToMeeting, Slack, TeamViewer, Microsoft Office 365, Power BI For Office 365, Digium Asterisk, Google Analytics, Google Drive, Google Hangouts, Vagrant, JIRA Service Desk, JIRA SoftwareGreat firewall solutionWe utilize the Meraki firewall at a satellite office and they provide us the gateway/firewall functionality, as well as site-to-site VPN connection back to our main office. As well as this, they allow for client VPN which makes it possible for key members to connect remotely to the company.,The cloud management console is incredibly easy to use and very powerful The device looks the part, so for an open plan office it looks good and also is quiet to run Forms part of the Meraki estate to easily add wireless and switches into the network,Not cheap and also once you have committed you have to pay for the cloud access for them to work. DO your homework on costs While the interface in the cloud is great (and constantly improving) it's aimed towards the less techy, and so certain features are squirreled away,9,Cost of purchase and maintenance is high. And it significantly increased recently. This is offset by the ease of use which has a positive ROI effect since staff spends less time configuring and monitoring the firewalls.,WatchGuardCisco Meraki and Why it will make your life simplerHaving Meraki Firewalls changes the way you manage security within your organisation. It allows you to manage multiple sites centrally with ease. Simple VPN and user management and with it all tied into active directory single sign on for our users no matter where they are working from. As it's Cisco, security is built in and It means I have to worry less about what they are accessing. I used to have to restart our router and check for updates and fix things on a weekly or daily basis now I may visit my console twice a month as the firewall takes care of itself.,Managing Multiple site Networks from a single window Simple and Easy VPN Setup Security Built-in at the core True 24/7 enterprise support,It's not the cheapest firewall but it is the easiest,10,Less Network Down Time We now place these at all of out locations,Ubiquiti Networks UniFi,FileMaker ProTo Meraki, or not to Meraki?Implementing Meraki across our various branches has helped with business continuity. The reporting enables us to plan correctly, and it is the ease of deployment is what really stands out. We have been able to save so much on rollouts, and the management console makes it a breeze to manage.,Deployment times reduced. Central Management costs. View into the network greatly improved, all the way to Layer 7. Security greatly improved.,Reporting is great online, but an improvement to export the reports to PDF would be great.,10,Deployment costs reduced. Licensing cost have increased. Management time reduced.,,Microsoft Office 365The best firewall ever madeIn my organization, the Cisco Meraki MX firewall is the backbone of our network. It has made my job so much easier since the device is fully manageable online; giving me the ability to diagnose any and all connectivity issues on the fly. Additionally, it requires much less training and programming than other brands of firewalls.,Admin friendly Life saver Turn-key,Still limited functions compared to other enterprise firewalls Higher cost of ownership than some other brands Licensing is very unforgiving. Will shut down your network for nonpayment.,10,While more expensive, it has brought down our setup labor costs significantly. Much faster recovery time due to any issue Cisco Meraki support is the best all around,Fortinet FortiGate and Cisco ASA,Cisco Meraki Wireless WAN, Meraki MS Switches, NetGear ProSafe Managed Switches
Unspecified
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls
33 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Reviews

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls
33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 33 vetted Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Andrew Vawdrey profile photo
February 16, 2018

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "My life is easier thanks to Meraki"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently purchased a Meraki MX Firewall for our organization as we are growing and need a more heavy duty piece of equipment that can handle all our traffic. This Firewall is being used across the whole organization although most users have no idea it is being used or what a firewall is or does. We bought this product because our older firewalls were no longer able to handle our growing traffic and was dropping packets or crashing altogether. So far our Cisco Meraki MX Firewall has been perfect and have had no issues.
  • Easy to setup
  • UI is a breeze to work with
  • Set up before it arrived then connected it to the internet and it added my config
  • Yearly subscription price was a little out of my comfort zone but upper management agreed it was a must have with our growing company
Meraki gear, in my opinion, is best suited for organizations that have multiple locations and wants an easy to use UI that shows you all of your gear and how your network is doing within one site. These Meraki MX Firewalls make it super easy to set up URL filtering to block out game sites, gambling sites, adult sites, etc. To help keep your employees hard at work and blocking out any distractions. We have also been using the MX firewalls to run our DHCP and it has been a great asset to add to it so far.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
James Martin profile photo
January 31, 2018

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "Great firewall solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the Meraki firewall at a satellite office and they provide us the gateway/firewall functionality, as well as site-to-site VPN connection back to our main office. As well as this, they allow for client VPN which makes it possible for key members to connect remotely to the company.
  • The cloud management console is incredibly easy to use and very powerful
  • The device looks the part, so for an open plan office it looks good and also is quiet to run
  • Forms part of the Meraki estate to easily add wireless and switches into the network
  • Not cheap and also once you have committed you have to pay for the cloud access for them to work. DO your homework on costs
  • While the interface in the cloud is great (and constantly improving) it's aimed towards the less techy, and so certain features are squirreled away
Been great for our satellite office, but looking to expand to others as the multi-wan site to site VPN solution looks great.
Read James Martin's full review
Nemesh Patel profile photo
January 17, 2018

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "Cisco Meraki and Why it will make your life simpler"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having Meraki Firewalls changes the way you manage security within your organisation. It allows you to manage multiple sites centrally with ease. Simple VPN and user management and with it all tied into active directory single sign on for our users no matter where they are working from. As it's Cisco, security is built in and It means I have to worry less about what they are accessing. I used to have to restart our router and check for updates and fix things on a weekly or daily basis now I may visit my console twice a month as the firewall takes care of itself.
  • Managing Multiple site Networks from a single window
  • Simple and Easy VPN Setup
  • Security Built-in at the core
  • True 24/7 enterprise support
  • It's not the cheapest firewall but it is the easiest
Any business that values their network connection and doesn't have a giant IT team supporting them will benefit from this product. It is simple to use and you can learn about it on the job. We are able to run a large scale network with minimal input from the IT department.
Read Nemesh Patel's full review
David Westgate profile photo
December 20, 2017

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "To Meraki, or not to Meraki?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Implementing Meraki across our various branches has helped with business continuity. The reporting enables us to plan correctly, and it is the ease of deployment is what really stands out. We have been able to save so much on rollouts, and the management console makes it a breeze to manage.
  • Deployment times reduced.
  • Central Management costs.
  • View into the network greatly improved, all the way to Layer 7.
  • Security greatly improved.
  • Reporting is great online, but an improvement to export the reports to PDF would be great.
From small businesses with a single access point to some of the largest companies. Retail stores, the reporting can give you some detailed insight to your customers, from numbers to repeat customers etc.
Read David Westgate's full review
No photo available
March 02, 2018

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "The best firewall ever made"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization, the Cisco Meraki MX firewall is the backbone of our network. It has made my job so much easier since the device is fully manageable online; giving me the ability to diagnose any and all connectivity issues on the fly. Additionally, it requires much less training and programming than other brands of firewalls.
  • Admin friendly
  • Life saver
  • Turn-key
  • Still limited functions compared to other enterprise firewalls
  • Higher cost of ownership than some other brands
  • Licensing is very unforgiving. Will shut down your network for nonpayment.
On many, many occasions, we have had to deploy the Meraki firewall on-the-fly to replace a burnt out competitor's firewall. It has absolutely been a lifesaver. We are able to fully program it without even having received the device, and when configuring remote locations, we don't even need it to hit our offices first.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 02, 2018

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "Meraki MX Firewall"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meraki MX firewalls are the best in the industry. They provide excellent features and are very easy to configure and deploy. Meraki provides excellent customer support, and are constantly improving their products. The ability to control multiple sites all from the web interface without being on site is wonderful.
  • Managed centrally over the web.
  • Very easy to deploy & configure.
  • Great customer support.
  • The intrusion detection feature: It detects and removes any potential threat (viruses, malware etc)
  • Very expensive.
  • If you stop paying for support, they stop passing traffic.
It's the best firewall solution for any type of business. Managing all sites across the dashboard from the web is very efficient, and reduces the number of IT staff. I would definitely recommend Meraki over Sonicwall and all of the others because it's more secure and reliable, has great support and is very easy to configure and maintain. There is also a great deal of online material and How-To videos to consult for help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 31, 2018

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "MX firewall brings a new perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MX is used in retailing companies for the ease of use, sdwan, and all built-in features making the product a higher value. It can address very fast deployment where traditional solutions can't.
  • Sdwan
  • Routing
  • Filtering
  • Dynamic routing
  • Mpls support
  • Guest Wifi
Good for small sites with all built-in features. Adapted for sdwan. Not good for large sites and advanced features.
Read this authenticated review
Wesley Bond profile photo
July 31, 2017

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls: "Cisco Meraki MX Series Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Like many organizations after time your firewalls eventually become outdated and outgunned by current gen threats. We found ourselves in this situation a couple of years ago and after doing some research settled on the Cisco Meraki MX Firewall series. As of right now we only have one but we are looking at possibly adding them to our other facilities as they age. I highly recommend purchasing the Advanced Security License as that adds content filtering, anti-virus scanning and intrusion detection. We saw a huge drop in virus and malware infections right after upgrading our license. We've been very happy with the purchase overall.
  • Easy to set up and maintain. The Cisco brand brings you the reliability you know while Meraki created an interface that is very easy to manage. You don't have to be Cisco certified to operate this firewall. Push of the button to download the latest firmware and install.
  • Always connected. Your Meraki is always connected to the Cisco network and coupled with the Advanced Security License it adds an extra layer of protection. You can also access all of your firewalls easily from anywhere. It makes managing multiple locations a breeze. Very fast and easy to setup site-site VPN between multiple Meraki.
  • Slick Dashboard. The dashboard has a great layout and allows you to see what is happening even down to the individual devices. Easy to read reports page, security page and bandwidth usage.
  • Control/Security. Very easy to set up rules to block sites, throttle bandwidth and even block suspicious connections to a machine.
  • Fast VPN setup. It takes seconds to setup a user for VPN.
  • Lots of easy to setup features. You can tie into your Active Directory, DHCP for smaller offices, traffic shaping and packet capturing etc.
  • Easy to setup Content Filtering, AMP (Anti_Malware Protection) and White/Black lists.
  • The only real issue we've ran across was a PAT routing issue that wouldn't allow us to connect to a state agency. I would talk to a Cisco rep in case you have any specialized VPN connects. It's not an issue as 99.9% of folks wouldn't run into this as it was very specialized situation.
  • Cisco certified users may dislike not having command line and granular control like other Cisco Firewalls. It's designed for easy of use and modern interface.
  • Internet connection. The dashboard you access through the internet even if you're on the same network. There is a local interface but it for the initial setup not for managing the box. It hasn't been an issue for us but if your internet connection is of poor quality it might be frustration to manage.
  • Yearly costs. We paid several years in advance for the security license. Some may not like having a yearly fee but think of it as a maintenance plan. It is well worth the money.
  • Can't drill down like you can with an ASA product with FirePOWER/FireSIGHT as the primary focus of the Meraki is easy of use.
  • Cisco's Content Filtering is decent but sometimes blocks legitimate sites that you have to white list.
[It's a] great firewall for small to mid-size businesses that have limited IT staff. The Meraki MX series really shines when you have multiple locations you have to manage or tie together. It would alleviate a lot of headaches if you have satellite offices that you have to mess with. You could do site-site VPN in seconds and manage VPN access for users also in seconds. You can hit your dashboard to see all your sites, monitor security, make changes and update firmware. It could make life much easier for your business and save you time.
Read Wesley Bond's full review
Guillaume Le Saint profile photo
November 08, 2017

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "Great for many small offices"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business grew to 30 locations in 10 countries over the past five years, all these offices access corporate applications and cloud services. Remote office deployment and administration was becoming complex and costly with our Juniper SSG based firewall infrastructure. We moved all 30 locations to Meraki MX/Z1 devices, and kept Juniper firewall for our data-center.
  • Deployment for small offices is very easy. Ship a Z1, clone your template configuration, adjust a few settings and you're ready to go.
  • Cost is very competitive, at least with APAC pricing. You can't beat the price point of Z1 for home offices.
  • Monitoring and reporting features are very good. Out of the box you get basic, but comprehensive reports on bandwidth, sessions, traffic. Application identification is ok, not great but sufficient for basic use cases (mail, browsing, cloud applications, citrix, smb...).
  • MX seem to be designed for active/passive up-link scenarios. Routing/load balancing features are very basic.
  • Sales channels are weak, it doesn't feel integrated with the rest of Cisco yet, and you'll struggle to get trainings, product roadmaps or feature requests processes.
  • Technical support team are qualified, but not responsive. Our teams frequently waits until the next-day for a response on their tickets.
Use Meraki MX if you have a large number of small offices where the MX/Z1 can be your "do it all" L3+ appliance. Use larger models as VPN concentrators. Do not use Meraki MX larger models as data-center firewalls, you'll be asking for trouble.
Read Guillaume Le Saint's full review
Mike Slates profile photo
June 20, 2017

Review: "Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls - Goodbye CLI!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki MX Firewalls at each of our 22 locations throughout the Northeast US. The ease of implementation and use is what sold us when it was time to replace our aging Cisco gear. That and all the useful info the Meraki dashboard gives you. Implementing the MXs, along with their Switches(MS) and APs(MR) has really transformed our ability to manage our IT environment.
  • Centralized cloud management. Access the dashboard from any browser anywhere.
  • Auto-VPN. Gone are the tedious/complex days of setting up VPN connections between sites.
  • Intrusion Prevention/Content Filtering/Malware protection. Each can be enabled with the Advance Security License.
  • Application Visibility and Control. Compared to our old ASA, the amount of information you now see is just amazing. Ability to quickly and easily see what machines are hitting what. And then apply traffic shaping rules if you like.
  • The only con I can think of is the lack of performance stats for the MX itself. You cannot see CPU/RAM utilization.
They make various models, for less than 50 users up through 10,000 users, so I'd say they're probably a fit for most organizations small to large. Heck, I have a MX64 at my house.
Read Mike Slates's full review
No photo available
February 23, 2017

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review: "Cisco Meraki Firewalls - Costly but Potentially Worth It."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a number of Meraki Firewalls across the entire organization. They provide gateway/firewall functionality for each facility location as well as site-to-site VPN connections between all locations. Additionally, they allow for client VPN which makes it possible for certain individuals to connect remotely to the organization's LAN.
  • Meraki's cloud management console is extremely intuitive and user-friendly.
  • The SD WAN capabilities are cutting edge.
  • The ability to combine the firewall, switches, and access points controls in one interface is quite valuable.
  • Meraki devices are highly expensive. This, combined with the fact that there are annual license fees, will make the devices impractical for many smaller organizations.
  • The interface stresses usability at the expense of functionality. In other words, it's very easy to use partly because the functionality is limited. We have noticed this especially in the area of non-Meraki Site-to-Site VPNs. It has, however, improved over the last few years.
  • We routinely have some difficulty in establishing VPN connections with organizations that use non-Meraki firewalls. It remains uncertain, whether this is caused by issues or limitations of the Meraki devices or the fact that many specialist are still unfamiliar with Meraki Firewalls.
Meraki firewalls are excellent appliances for larger small or medium-sized businesses. They are easy to set up and manage and creating secure connections between peer devices within the same organization is virtually effortless. Notifications, constant software/firmware upgrades, new tools, and functionality on SaaS model, all make Meraki a great choice.

The cost of Meraki equipment will make its installation in smaller organizations unfeasible. This becomes increasingly apparently when one considers the fact that much of the benefit in a network is realized when switches and access points are also Meraki devices, and these are expensive as well.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Scorecard Summary

About Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls are firewall technology.

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No