Cisco Meraki MX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
119 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 03, 2021
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use MX64 at our remote locations. They have proven very easy to setup out of the box courtesy of the cloud/IoT platform: within a few clicks and possibly entering some IP addressing they are connected up to your Meraki dashboard for more comprehensive configuration and tailoring. We cannot always go onsite to deploy these and the simplicity of them is very useful when you have an end-user assisting remotely. Otherwise, the MX line does all the major things you could generally want out of a router/firewall, including perimeter security, site-to-site VPNs, etc.
  • The appliances are very, very easy to use. You could set one up for basic use with minimal documentation.
  • Intuitive menus in the Meraki Dashboard make traversing your options and finding what you need very easy.
  • Good support options and a healthy knowledge base with well-written guides.
  • The limitations for my part are closely knit to the pro of simplicity: the simplicity of these devices (not just the MX platform) comes at a price of limited advanced options. You are not going to be tailoring your interfaces at the same in-depth level as you would on a Cisco or similar CLI-based platform. Most of the time you might not have to, though.
  • A bit on the expensive side for the feature set.
I would highly recommend this option for a small to mid-size business that needs a router and firewall of the "plug and play" sort. No, it is not quite that simple, but it is pretty close. The devices don't require a mid-level to advanced-level networker on staff to deploy or maintain. The licensing is pretty straightforward and it is easy to see in the Dashboard where you stand. It is similarly easy to get support if you need it, and right from the Dashboard as well.
As noted earlier, we don't have to fuss with these when we deploy them. We just get the ISP information ahead of time, such as our IP addressing, preconfigure the WAN interface on the MX, and ship it out. We walk the end-user through hooking it up, and typically it checks in almost right away for the network staff to manage remotely. This greatly reduces our internal expenses (not to mention time) in flying people around to get hands on; it just isn't necessary.
I have not deployed an MX that supported hundreds (much less thousands of users), but I do know they pair well with the Meraki VPN Concentrators for creating your IPSEC site-to-site tunnels. That said, I can attest to the ease of scaling to remote locations and getting your tunnels up without a lot of headache.
Read Derek Benson's full review
March 13, 2021
Julien Guffroy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
As IT service organization, we integrate and deploy MX solution for little enterprise where there is no IT service. The dashboard allow us the make all the administration without any VPN but only through Internet connectivity. Device are prepared in our enterprise and send to customers, they just have to plug internet access and lan port for dedicated service and remotely. We started deployment with bigger customer with SDWAN solution. Really easy to configure the solution thanks to the dashboard, only one webpage to configure each vpn and security access. Thanks to this solution everything is hosting in only one dashboard (firewall, switch and wifi).
  • SDWAN
  • Management
  • Cloud configuration
  • Advanced dynamic routing
  • SDWAN visibilty
  • Firewall policies
Clearly, MX is defined to be used in little enterprise of bigger for sample configuration. I mean security access for one site and or in case of large network where you have only internet connectivity, because the setup of sdwan is really easy from MX to MX. Really easy to setup IPsec or ssl vpn. Where it becomes inappropriate is when you have to interconnect with 3rd party device where you have specific configurations. MX have to live in MX world for a better utilization.
MX is in fact designed to be simple because the dashboard is used for MX but for others Meraki solution. MX permit to administrate customers remotely, no more to have dedicated VPN etc.. Also for deployment we used template or API and it permit with just a technician on site to plus cables and have connectivity with headquarters. MX really do the job easy with other MX and configuration it no more than 3 clicks for SDWAN configuration where it a quite more complicated with other vendors.
As already mentioned previously, all Meraki solution are centralized into dashboard that really simplify configuration, administration. You find all your devices by sites with only different tabs. But you can also see the whole organization and other specific sites in 2 clicks. No need to connect to different vendor solution os ssh devices, everything in only one dashboard, the approach is amazing.
Actually my largest deployment is limited to 50 sites for a customer. I'm actually in a new one with the aim of deploy more than 1000 sites. I also can't give 10 because I don't know how it will work with many sites. But actually we already have more than 300 sites and the administration is still easy.
Read Julien Guffroy's full review
February 18, 2021
Brent Marceaux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Cisco] Meraki MX security devices across a large number of our locations for either stand-alone gateway firewall functions or same type of functions with VPN connectivity back to our WAN. The devices are able to create a meshed VPN network very easily. The ability to manage these devices with the Meraki Cloud dashboard is probably the strongest selling point.
  • The ability to have these cloud managed is huge.
  • The pretty much "auto-vpn" is very easy to create wide area vpn networks.
  • An easy mechanism to do pretty much anything needed on the device.
  • Possible granular access to switchport settings when using VLAN's.
  • Wireless models could and should have advanced wireless functionality which is inherent in the Meraki AP devices.
  • More functionality and customization on the local access pages when device has not connected to the cloud yet.
The [Cisco Meraki MX] is well suited in any drop-in configuration for ease of deployment. Although enterprise class the configuration is not overly complex or complicated. It can be configured extensively if needed.
I wish the rest of Cisco had a licensing model like Meraki. All of my Meraki devices including the MX units go into the Meraki dashboard. When licensing time rolls around all of the licenses are renewed with an easy license quote to co-term. All units are handled in that one quote and purchase and we do not have to hunt and chase on different contracts to try to find whether a piece of equipment is covered, end of life, out of maintenance, no longer used, etc, etc.

Having the devices managed in a single console is the largest selling point of any Meraki device.
Having all the products integrated into the Meraki dashboard is the largest selling point of using the Meraki solutions. The more products you get the better total benefit. From configuration, monitoring, licensing, purchasing, support, etc this is a very solid platform to build upon.
There is a meraki product model for any need within my organization. The lower units allow for right sizing a possible smaller location and the sizing of units go all the way up to the needs of the larger enterprises and larger sites.
Read Brent Marceaux's full review
May 13, 2021
Jaime Martínez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MX84 in all of our 5 big retail stores located in Costa Rica. These devices are configured as a firewall, router, default gateway, threat protection, layer 7 content control in a specific vlan dedicated for Wifi Free service. It was not necessary to purchase additional devices and we could implement this solution working integrated to our existing core Cisco networking infrastructure. Our managers requested to bring Internet Wifi free to all our customers and employees in our retail stores, as a business strategy aligned to the digital transformation initiative. As a big company, the local telecom regulations in this country demand content control for Wifi Services offered to the customers, avoiding access to prohibited sites. Cisco Meraki MX was the better solution to address this requirement in terms of simplicity, deployment, scalability and stability.
  • Content filtering is the best feature!!!
  • Advanced Malware Protection (AMP)
  • Traffic shaping is another great feature
  • Monitoring the appliance and the network
  • Maybe the cost of adquisition and licensing, but for big companies it should not be a problem
  • It does not work with DMPVN, it's a negative aspect if you want to integrate with existing Cisco Routers using these protocol (our case)
  • Your networking information is on the internet Cloud, if your license expires you can not continue managing the device
Cisco Meraki MX is perfect for any organization which intend to implement a rapid solution to have a firewall on a existing or new site without complex network requirements. You don't need a expert or senior specialist to deploy Cisco Meraki MX devices, it's very simple. If content filtering, malware protecion is a feature that you need to have, Meraki is the solution because you can have all of these features and much more using a single device.
Cisco Meraki MX ease of deployment and management are the best features of Cisco Meraki MX. You don't need an expert or senior specialist, the implementation windows are reduced from days to hours or minutes even. It's really simple and intuitive, the web interface, documentation is very useful. All you need is to plug the device to the Internet and the configuration can be completed in just minutes or a few hours. Once implemented, the change process of configuration, management and monitoring from a single and centralized dashboard is a great option. This simplifies the job for IT professionals and administrators.
In our experience, Cisco Meraki MX perfectly can be integrated to your existing core Cisco networking infrastructure (router, switch, access point, wireless lan controllers, etc). You can have a mix of pure Cisco devices and Meraki. The only constraint is if you want to connect Cisco Meraki MX to another facility using Cisco routers, you have to use a traditional VPN site-to-site. You can not use DMVPN for example.
If your network requirements are not very complex, I think Cisco Meraki MX solution has a good design to provide scalability. You can add more devices to your networking in a simple way and the central dashboard is perfect to manage multiple devices across different locations. Maybe a constraint should be the hardware upgrade, it's limited.
Read Jaime Martínez's full review
May 10, 2021
Jose De Jesus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MX is being used for Internet Security, SD-WAN, Firewall, and VPN for site-to-site connection between our HQ and branches and Home Office. We have an MX100 installed in our HQ receiving two WAN connections from our ISP, we have 3 Home Office using MX64 via VPN Site-to-site to provide access to our corporate resources like VOIP, SAP, and other APPS to our remote users.
  • Unique Auto VPN with zero configure of the remote user, just a few clicks and VPN are ready to go.
  • Firewall L3 and L7 and traffic shaping that let us reduce the bandwidth consumption in our corporate LAN,
  • SD-WAN native that give us High Availability WAN with a few clicks of the mouse.
  • Micro Apps Blocks, for example allow users to go to Facebook but not the game apps inside Facebook.
  • License and subscription to be more flexible or lower cost.
  • More WAN ports in the MX64/65.
Cisco Meraki MX is a great solution if you have a lean IT department in your company. It provides you with all the options that every company needs to secure the network and provide an intuitive web dashboard that simplifies the everyday operations of security management.

The only scenario where Meraki MX is not well suited is for large enterprises or banks where you would need in-depth security solutions because the Meraki MX is a UTM solution-focused in Mid-Size business with a lean IT department.
With Cisco Meraki MX our company benefited from the beginning, with the ease of use and configuration with only a few hours spent configuring all the option of the MX100 in our HQ, with the intuitive dashboard and our knowledge of security and don't have to read any guide of configuration because all was clear and easy to do in the Meraki Dashboard, once we signed the dashboard and add the first MX and configure the other 3 locations were easy.

We configure L3/:L7 rules, AD integrations, SD-WAN, Content filtering, VPN Site to Site in just a few hours, it just works perfectly and now we are monitoring the solution via the Meraki APP in our SmartPhones.
The Meraki MX integrate perfectly with other Meraki MS Switches for VLANS configure, ACLs and all the aspects we need to send to our corporate LAN via the same dashboard.

If you don't have Meraki Switches and you have to worry about the integrations, just configure the ports LAN in your MX, assigned VLANS, allows VPN and you only have to connect your switches to the MX and everything works smooth.
The scalability and add more locations to the Meraki network is one of the best specs for Meraki products. In our dashboard, we manage 4 locations without any problems, with the template configuration you can add a location with different equipment and applied the configuration templated and your network will work and running just in minutes.
Read Jose De Jesus's full review
April 19, 2021
Mark Upton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
we are supporting numerous remote sites across difficult to get to areas. Due to the easy programmability of the Cisco Meraki devices it is easy to configure and dispatch to a site/location and someone with little or no IT knowledge to put them in place. We have one pane of glass where we can now see performance issues
  • configurable
  • easy to set up
  • easy to install
  • PPPOE - quite a unique use case though for wanting this
made the network team a whole lot easier and greatly reduced our support costs. we can easily monitor making great use of heat maps produced to "tweak" our deployment to get better wifi coverage in some critical business areas.
so easy - even someone like me who has been off the tools for a number of years can understand it
excellent range of addiotnal products which have yet to be investigated by the team
Read Mark Upton's full review
March 29, 2021
Victor Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cisco Meraki MX as an SD-WAN router across the whole organization. It also works as a very cost-effective replacement of traditional MPLS services, a redundant with fault tolerance capacity router, and a VPN concentrator for site-to-site and client-to-site tunnels. The Cisco Meraki MX also includes an enterprise-grade security solution that converts it into the very last appliance you will need in oder to get connected easily and securely to Internet without the rocket science that any traditional solution needs.
  • Cloud management control panel
  • Easy of use VPN
  • Enterprise-grade security without complications
  • Licensing co-term scenario is a little bit tricky
  • Content filtering is not as granular as needed
  • Lack of graphical inventory report
When you have several offices in a lot of different locations, the Cisco Meraki MX it is one of the best options available. With its cloud control panel, it makes it so easy to interconnect this location together with enterprise security without the complications. It also works great when you have Meraki or Cisco network gear.
We have deployed almost 250 devices in one week. This was almost 3 times faster than with a traditional solution. The administration is so easy that you can have a basic-skills IT staff to manage the whole solution. It is 30% more cost-effective in OPEX scenarios. The VPN is made easy and simple. Three clicks and you have established a site-to-site tunnel connecting 600 co-workers together.
We really trust in Cisco solutions as a network industry leader. Its acquisitions of Meraki, Viptela, and Umbrella (OpenDNS) have completed and improved its portfolio covering almost all the OSI levels from routing protocols to one of the best and most intuitive UX interfaces like Meraki's. Cisco has moved from proprietary to standardized protocols, improving its integration with any kind of solution from any brand.
Ease of use could be a synonym for Cisco Meraki MX. Even without an IT background, you can operate and manage Meraki's platform as well as an IT expert. Despite this, Cisco Meraki MX has enterprise-grade capabilities and a really strong security approach. You really can rely on Cisco Meraki to support all your networking needs: routing, switching, wireless, security, load balancing, and also IP CCTV.
Read Victor Rivera's full review
March 11, 2021
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
As an SD-WAN appliance at the Branch location. Using VPN to tunnel to the head office. head office includes access to the internet and filtering for content. The MX solution allows the replacement of an MPLS network, allows easy administration of all branch locations. The head office utilizes redundant MXs for uptime availability.
  • Ease of administration
  • Bundle security package
  • Ease of setting up VPN
  • Ease of support
  • More threat features.
  • More robust remote client VPN.
  • Better integration with third party products.
Great for using on sites where IT is new to networking solutions. Eases the administration for newer users to networking products, no need to use CLI, or understand programming protocols.

Not great for a heavy network-centric organization, the features are a subset of a Cisco branded product and since there is no CLI, there is no way to unlock certain features if they are not listed on the dashboard. The support response tends to be slower than that of Cisco. There are fewer use cases of integration.
Agreed, Meraki MX is easier to administer and manage. The dashboard is easy to use and allows a faster learning curve for new IT members. The deployment is also easier, using the GUI allows faster and easier deployments, this reduces costs for hiring professional service engineers to configure and provide any ongoing changes to the system.
Integrating to other Meraki MR or MS product lines are quite easy. The integration with Cisco Catalyst can sometimes be a challenge, there are some features that need some additional setup to make both ends work properly. Seems that there is a lot of documentation for integrating to Meraki but fewer with Cisco and even less with other manufacturers.
Can easily add HA redundancy with adding another hardware appliance and then configuration. Adding license terms is also very easy, simply add the new license into the dashboard and claim it against the appliance. Some of our MXs are quite dated but still work and are still supported with the current firmware. There are new features that are added to the Meraki license, which are nice to see.
Read Victor Lau's full review
December 29, 2020
Mario Alberto Gaytan Castillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have [Cisco Meraki MX] deployed in our non-main offices to be able to connect to the main site by VPN. From there we can make the remote connection and in turn in the local sites [Cisco Meraki MX] is the internet gateway [for] each location using the SD wan technology that [Cisco Meraki MX] offers.
  • Offers simplicity in the configuration, the administration of this device [is very easy].
  • The administration is for cloud, you can apply any change in the network in any place.
  • The SD WAN technology is easy to configure and use to any network, small or medium.
  • Can manage multiples devices in the same cloud platform
  • It can improve the firewall policies at layer 3 since for the same simplicity it lacks some advanced things like port aggregation, names by object, FQDN and not just IP.
  • The same in layer 7 policies lacks a bit of depth for more experienced users to make the policies with more functions and thus be able to improve security.
[Cisco Meraki MX] is appropriate for small and medium environments as branch offices and small sites of customers.

[Cisco Meraki MX] is not recommended in datacenter or big datacenter.
As I mentioned before, [Cisco Meraki MX] has a simplicity in the deployment and implementation of connectivity in the networks, adding a security layer of the technology that Cisco has, all this combining it in a centralized management through the cloud.
Cisco Meraki Switch, AP, Camera, MR MS, MV.

The benefit of having all the other products integrated with Meraki such as switches, access points and cameras is incredible since they are integrated into the same connectivity and management cloud within the organization.

In addition, the licenses of different devices can be combined to be able to add new ones or extend the period of those that are about to expire
I give it a 10 because the integration it gives to all the different teams of the Meraki family is excellent.

Also the same cloud tells you when there is a new version of software and it is applied automatically, you do not have to search for software images and upload it manually, but everything is already automated by the same management cloud.
Read Mario Alberto Gaytan Castillo's full review
May 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MX is used in our branch offices to provide edge security. The advanced security options protect our offices and the centrally managed dashboard allow to simplified administration. Built-in features also allow for integration with our DNS filtering solutions, as well as, our network monitoring solution. We were able to reduce our costs by switching to Meraki without compromising our security.
  • Central Management Dashboard
  • Integration with DNS filtering
  • Integration with network monitoring tools
  • Higher price point than other competitors in the space
  • Learning curve for admins
  • Tiered features licensing for hardware
Our Cisco Meraki MX has worked flawlessly since being deployed in our branch offices. We were previously using another vendor in the space and ran into several connection issues and highly monthly costs. The Cisco Meraki MX is well suited for branch offices but should not be considered for large offices with other 100 users.
We found the Cisco Meraki MX dashboard to be much more intuitive and easy to use than our previous solution. Some of our admins had a learning curve adjusting to different terminology used for management, but overall it was an easier than expected transition. We abandoned our previous solution due to their outdated UI and slow update release schedule. Also, being able to pre-configure a device before it's shipped has been a tremendous help in our deployment efforts.
The line of Cisco Meraki MX devices allows for right sizing an appliance for its intended location. We have found the MX67 to be a great starting point for all of our branch offices. Cisco Meraki MX works great with network hardware from other vendors, so we have been able to scale our networks as needed without issue.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

My organization has started using the Cisco MX series products as our firewall of choice at all locations. Our largest locations utilize the 100, while the small offices use the 64. These have been used to create a uniform site-to-site operation that works well when communicating between our main location and all additional field offices. The 100 that is located at our main location also acts as the gateway for all individual VPN connections as well.

  • Site-to-Site VPN
  • End-user VPN
  • Network control
  • Security
  • Cloud integration
  • Permission management
  • Licensing
The Cisco MX series firewalls provide a high-quality product for small and mid-sized businesses. Its ease of use and GUI also are helpful for organizations where you don't have a certified CCNA expert on-site. The cloud management of the devices also provides a significant means for managing all locations from one centralized location with an easy process for swapping put units if ever necessary.
The Cisco Meraki MX series has created a simplified approach to the management of our network infrastructure. It has created an environment where it is very easy for our system administration staff to administer and edit the configuration from one or all firewalls at a time. Being able to swap out units where necessary has become easy and the configuration platform for the management of all network clients has now been centralized based on the way we can easily link our networks in a simplified fashion.
Being able to create a unified network with the Meraki product line has allowed for almost a "set it and forget it," approach to the management of our IT infrastructure. Building out the Meraki technology stack has allowed us to have a full visualization of our network from the client level out to the firewall. This is not something we could envision before implementing the entire stack. The management of our clients has also improved immensely as has our VPN structure and management.
The scalability of the Meraki stack has provided for a seamless transition across our organization, from integrating not only switches but also wireless access points. Because of the Meraki cloud management, we have been able to ship MX64s off to temporary offices and had them pre-programmed. This has made it easy for us to set up remote operations without the need to have technicians on-site.
Read this authenticated review
April 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Part of the SMB stack. Perfect best in class device for protecting and connecting your local environment and infra structure. easy to keep monitor and if subscription is up to date, then everything is covered. setup is reasonably straight forward and if you don't need the full bells and whistle of the enterprise cisco gear, this gives you more than what you need
  • site to site with other MX
  • client VPN, got past the funky chinese great firewall
  • great support
  • the odd non-meraki site to site is not great but supported
  • mix and matching layer 7 rules
SMB market where full protection of the items behind the firewall is needed. Branch office can be connected in a matter of 30 minutes from unbox to working. With the recent surge of work from home the z3 appliance is a great extension of the office
The learning curve for new hires are pretty steep already, but making this cloud interface very intuitive and straight forward is a great asset for people to jump right in plus the logging will help revert things if someone tries to be too creative
when you have to use non-Meraki gear to connect things it plays well to get things working, there are some limitations but on the whole it makes it much easier to sort out.
when doing a very large scale deployment of branch offices the MX series had a cap of 50 devices, not sure if this has been increased, but had to create two hops when traversing the limit
Read this authenticated review
February 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco Meraki MX platform as a method of supporting customers beyond the demarcation point. With more and more customers adopting complex network solutions without having an in house specialist, it is imperative that companies offer solutions that can be managed remotely. By using the Meraki platform we can manage systems remotely for these kind of customers.
  • Ease of Use.
  • Ease of Implementation.
  • Cloud Management.
  • Lacking depth of features.
  • Some settings almost too simplified.
  • Licensing can be painful.
The Cisco Meraki MX is great for customers that require remote expertise. Having things managed by cloud lets us help design and troubleshoot customer networks without being on site. It also give us the flexibility to help customers setup features like port forwarding etc, without them needing a deep understanding of how these functions operate.
We use the Cisco Meraki MX platform as a method of providing support to customers beyond the demarcation point. From the cloud portal it's extremely simple to configure, troubleshoot, and implement Meraki MX devices into customer networks. Their support is extremely responsive and it's very easy to get answers regarding anything that doesn't seem to be working properly.
The Cisco Meraki product family integrates extremely well with each other, and allows us to scale solutions based on a customer needs. Some only need a firewall with port forwarding, while others could be a full blown large scale business requiring APs, switches, and firewalls. In addition to this we can offer expertise and managing and integrating equipment in new or existing networks without problems.
The Cisco Meraki platform is extremely scalable, and can even be integrated into SD WAN solutions to provide multi site connectivity. This is extremely useful for business with multiple locations, or those lacking VPN expertise. The Cisco Meraki MX/platform provides an easy to use interface to set up these features.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using this for our SD-WAN at our corporate headquarters as well as our remote offices. This helps us segment and granular control IP addresses and access for our various employees, contractors, building security and guests. This is very useful for us and having the cloud-based or remote management really is nice for centralized management and monitoring.
  • Centralized management
  • Health checks and performance
  • Ports used and information in the UI
  • It's not a big deal, but I still have to look around the menu to find the MX dashboards.
Great for medium to medium-large organizations that have multiple devices in a physical location, especially when you want to control which devices connect to which subnet and control network speeds and such. I do like having the health checks and monitoring.
Cisco Meraki MX devices are easy to use, especially if you are familiar with the Meraki Web UI. I love that I can centrally manage my devices and monitor them if they get in a poor state and need me to troubleshoot.
We use this in our corporate headquarters and remote office locations to control access to specific subnets based on device type, ownership, and other factors. We like it.
Good and it works fairly easily.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki MX is currently being used as a security appliance across the whole organization. I am using this device to primarily manage the quality of service on the network to ensure a good experience for all users. The secondary use of the device is to ensure that traffic is secure and users are protected from external threats.
  • The dashboard
  • Excellent support
  • Simplicity of deployment
  • Quality of experience
  • Quicker failover of WAN interfaces when a link fails.
  • Higher firewall throughput.
I feel like it is an all-around good box and it fills the need of an enterprise grade solution without the deployment complexity that usually comes with an enterprise grade solution.
The simplicity of the tool greatly reduces the time spent on administering the firewall so that they can focus more on value-add projects rather than maintenance. Very happy with the simplicity
Everything fits nicely into the same ecosystem. One pane of glass to manage everything. Seamless.
It is extremely easy to scale this solution, adding more MR or MS devices to the ecosystem.
Read this authenticated review
October 29, 2020
Oswaldo Tirado Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The company currently uses the Cisco Meraki MX as a piece of concentrator equipment that provides routing and security to a specific area that is laboratories and demos, which we can use to give our clients visibility of how these devices can be used in a real network. It is important that, due to the pandemic issues, we have maintained the administration of the equipment since they are administrable from the Meraki cloud through the dashboards.
  • Administration from the cloud from anywhere with internet access, through the meraki dashboard.
  • Possibility of applying SD-WAN and defining traffic policies on own internet links.
  • Apply security policies and a highly requested one such as URL filtering.
  • Despite having all the possible commands in the dashboard, I'd like to perform local support through CLI.
  • More port capacity for WAN connections since in many computers there are two physical WAN ports available.
  • Redundant power supply for the series smaller because for this characteristic it is necessary to select larger models.
Cisco MX is ideal for small and medium-sized business scenarios that require short-time implementations and that want other Meraki lines such as access points or switches and manage from a single portal. It is not so recommended for large local deployments, which use many links from different Internet providers and clients that require local administration of the equipment for support through CLI.
The company has benefited since we have made configurations and demonstrations to our clients connecting to the Meraki cloud. In this way we can easily show functionalities, types of configurations, and topologies in real-time. Additionally, if we need to make any changes, we can do it from anywhere just by having an internet connection.
The company has benefited as it can show potential clients a complete end-to-end Meraki network, adding wired access or core network with MS, WIFI network with MR, visibility of certain areas in our case of the datacenter with the cameras and analytics of applications used. All this from the same Dashboard portal.
The solution is effectively scalable since there is no limit of access points or switches that you can add to the network, so it can scale as the company grows in areas to cover, devices for remote workers or to cover new points of the wired network. All equipment provided they have their respective license can join the dashboard and even replicate the configurations already defined for similar devices.
Read Oswaldo Tirado Diaz's full review
August 25, 2020
Maribel Manjarrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meraki MX is being used by a whole organization. It includes a set of interesting security features like intrusion prevention. This has helped me protect my company from the latest threats. It is the best product to implement auto VPN because the VPN can be deployed in 5 minutes, content filtering, firewall, Malware protection, load balancing, visibility, and application control, all centralized in the cloud. It helps save time when troubleshooting, helps better manage traffic and prioritize applications that we consider useful in the company. We can improve productivity by removing applications that are considered leisure.
  • The VPN can be deployed in 5 minutes.
  • Fast access and easy management through the cloud
  • Intelligent balancing of internet links
  • Traffic shaping to improve efficiency
  • Have a perpetual license or as the years go by it becomes cheaper
  • More personalized configuration functionalities
  • More robust troubleshooting
It is more appropriate for scenarios where the client requires quick implementation, easy administration, and does not have as much experience in security when the administration will not be so granular and so demanding. Meraki is less appropriate if we want greater security, much more personalized and appropriate to our line of business. In a sizable company with multiple branches and a demanding granular application policy, Meraki is very good when it comes to doing it at a not so granular level.
It took a single engineer to configure all the Meraki equipment in each branch, while the others could focus on another activity. The VPN was easy to implement so no help from someone with a lot of knowledge was needed. They were configured in the cloud and the creation of templates helped it to be faster. It saved a lot of money. The equipment is small and it was sent directly to the branch. There was no need to send it to the central office to configure it and send it to each site.
The cameras are excellent when looking for an event. With the movement detector, we receive the alerts that we schedule after the departure time. With the access points, you can have greater visibility of what the clients are doing and do traffic shaping. With Meraki insights, we can isolate a network and monitor the performance.
This is a simple and scalable enterprise solution with variety of products,
Read Maribel Manjarrez's full review
August 18, 2020
Daniel Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cisco Meraki routers provide cost-effective WAN solutions that are quick for us to design, deploy, operate and manage for our clients.
  • Built-in security and PCI compliance reporting
  • SD-WAN functionality
  • Easy deployment with templates
  • Troubleshooting
  • A better management display for security issues on the management dashboard
They have been great, in my experience, for networks of over 100 sites for deployment and management. The effort for both of these is a fraction of traditional routers.
Read Daniel Hosking's full review
August 01, 2020
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple models of MX series connecting multiple branches for a nationally distributed WAN, allowing remote access via VPN and security tools like IDS/IPS and AMP. We have integrated with another company recently and used Meraki to link the two businesses together virtually, seamlessly with minimal fuss, and ease of use, access, and management. We also use both the MDM and SDWAN as well.
  • Ease of management
  • Cloud based access
  • Security
  • VPN client could be better.
  • Ability to delegate better lower level access for reporting.
  • Reporting functions are sometimes limited.
Remote management is the best feature since we have a nationally distributed WAN. The MDM portion is also great too, we happened to have it when they still had the free 100 option, so have been using it legacied all this time, but it would be well worth it if we happened to need to pay for it.
We are able to see and manage the remote LANs we have up and down the east coast of the US with minimal fuss using Cisco Meraki compared to the unmanaged WAN we had prior to that. We have also been able to see the issues with ISPs and notify branches ahead of them calling us regarding issues.
We have been able to use various Cisco products but still be able to manage them and integrate without having to reconfigure a lot of systems. We are also able to monitor traffic and manage the WAN and LANs from a single pane of glass and also integrate two businesses into one single network.
We have been able to deploy this solution in stages at multiple branches and then later on, also connect two different businesses together using Cisco Meraki products too, so it's simple, integrated, and able to scale and grow too. We added High Availability pairing with multiple MXs at the original primary site for redundancy.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
July 30, 2020
Ryan Deppe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco Meraki MX appliances as the primary edge firewalls at our remote branch locations. This allows us to have a single pane of glass view and consistent policy application for all remote branch locations. We also utilize the IPS and AMP feature sets of the Cisco Meraki MX appliances for increased protection at the edge.
  • Centralized management
  • Network traffic insight
  • Network security
  • Integration with MR access points
  • Centralized policy management
  • Cost
Cisco Meraki MX is well suited for both the small branch office and the Enterprise edge.
We greatly benefit from the simplified deployment and management of the Cisco Meraki MX product line. We consistently drop-ship these devices to locations and then build the configs on the Meraki Dashboard while the product is shipping. Once the product arrives on location, then we can simply walk a user through the power-up process and the device is ready to go. 100% plug and play!
The integration with other Cisco products has been fully transparent. All products work seamlessly with the Cisco Meraki MX appliances.
The document and support speeds of the MX firewalls can be somewhat limiting. Additional thought will need to be put into the supported capability of each model as Internet bandwidths increase across carriers.
Read Ryan Deppe's full review
September 28, 2020
Cesar Durán | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I installed Cisco Meraki MX on a university campus four years ago, The campus has 40 Meraki switches and 500 Meraki Access points and works really well. Just one problem: we started the auto channel but the auto transmission power, when you have a big environment and several APs, is not easy to configure and could take 5 seconds to change the connection from AP to the other.
  • SD-WAN
  • Easy management
  • Vlans configuration
  • High availability
  • Secure
  • Througput
  • Scalability
Cisco Meraki MX is well-suited for use on university campuses and in hospitals and stadiums. It is less suited for use in banks.
Before Meraki, we had other technologies and troubleshooting was really complicated. You needed to enter in every device to determine the failure. After Cisco Meraki MX with Meraki Dashboard, you can troubleshoot very easily. Other important aspects are the way you add new devices to your organization and the way you modify a rule or a configuration. You can make it without a VPN--with only a PC and connection to internet, you can access the dashboard and make the modification.
We installed Cisco Meraki MX with DNA Center and was so gratefull to see how it is working. We used 9300 like access or edge switches. We use the API to interact with our MX to automate tasks and avoid human error.
This solution is very helpful and powerful. You can change the configuration from all devices with just a couple of clicks. It’s easy and fast--you can take control and manage solutions, apps, and behavior to help your business. You can create policies, rules, app schedulers, and a lot of things.
Read Cesar Durán's full review
August 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Meraki MX devices as edge firewalls, client VPN, content filtering, point to point VPNs, and layered network control. These devices are pretty straightforward and easy to understand. The Meraki MX devices have rarely if ever had hardware failures and have been able to keep up with the workload our company has needed them for. The capabilities that come in them with either license should fulfill most of any SMB's needs.
  • Dashboard management is the best. It's the most straightforward and easy to understand interface I've used.
  • Access control is easy to configure
  • Point to point VPN is very easy to get going and the Meraki cloud helps connect them together compared to other firewalls
  • Their logs are pretty detailed and are very helpful to understand issues or errors you are getting.
  • Their dashboard is very easy. That is great, but occasionally you need to do more or expect to have more options. It can be limiting.
  • The time it takes for the dashboard changes to take effect can be frustrating. You will make a change and need to wait up to 20 minutes to see if what you changed worked.
  • The dashboard is limiting when you have a misconfiguration, or it will give you little to no detail on why you can't do what you want. So you have to figure that out on your own.
  • Their tech support isn't as technical as other vendors.
I have found that they make amazing firewalls for the SMB space. Cisco Meraki MX is well-priced and full of nice features that are easy to understand and easy to configure. The cloud management is helpful because you can see into the network from anywhere. The content filter options are easy to select and see what is being blocked. I really like setting up point to point networks because of how easy the configuration is. When you have different types of Meraki devices (MX, MS, MR) you still use the same dashboard so the more you use the products the nicer the dashboard gets. If you were just starting out working with firewalls I would say the Meraki is a great place to start because of how non-techhical they make it. If you are a classic firewall person used to CLI changes, then you might struggle with how simplistic it is.
We can easily mail a device to a site and have someone plug it in for us and once it gets onto the internet we can get it up and running so it has saved some travel time. We can make the changes from anywhere so we don't need to be on-site or even connected to VPN to make changes.
We use it with Cisco Umbrella. It has options in the MX to use umbrella services for DNS protection. It can also be integrated with DUO for the login. I've also managed to do a point to point with an old ASA 5506-X that wasn't due to be replaced for a little while.
You can scale out the MX to many branches very easily and manage them all under one dashboard. If you dive into their other products you just keep adding them to the Meraki cloud so you continue to get better visibility over wifi, wire network, cameras, MDM devices, and more. I really like how they keep fitting everything together. So the more you use the more you will see.
Read this authenticated review
July 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The Meraki MX is being used by the entire company.
The main challenge that we face in the company is the administration of the equipment and the configurations that must be carried out. Meraki Dashboard is a very intuitive interface to solve any implementation in minutes. Being able to give low technical users control of a platform via web is a very good tool to reduce the costs of subcontracting whenever a change is needed. Seeing how customers decide to continue migrating their network to Meraki based on their own experience is a plus point that is used as a sales tool.
Integration in the cloud with the security products that Cisco sells is a great advantage to enhance the visibility and protection of internal customers. Being able to see the use of traffic by each of the internal users is a highly appreciated feature, since we can control the budgets of the ISPs in each of the offices. Filtering applications, managing the bandwidth of each of the allowed applications makes the network a living and controlled element. Low energy consumption and it takes up little space used in the cabinets where it is installed, which helps with savings in all aspects of the institution. Just because it's a small team doesn't mean it's weak. We have the ability to be placed in High Availability, support GSM connections through USB. It makes the resistance very high for a team of this size.
  • Control and visibility of traffic
  • Easy control of devices via web interface
  • Visible control in real-time of the applied policies
  • Technical support in different languages
  • Integration with Amazon Web Service and MS Azure
  • IPv6 integration is not working.
  • Licensing can be somewhat confusing when combined with other Meraki products.
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls work very well in schools and offices where there is no dedicated IT staff.
The centralized Meraki cloud administration screen is what makes the difference for the team. Having the ability to remotely manage school networks and devices was a revelation.
The fact that Meraki offers a full stack solution was a clear advantage for the school team. With the other providers, they would have had to turn to multiple brands for different parts of the network, and then they would have had to figure out how to make them work together. With the full stack Meraki implementation, it is easy to solve a problem from the client to the access point, from the switch to the security device, all in a single access panel.

The option to configure the Meraki hardware even before it was installed on-site was an essential factor in the team's decision. When the hardware was shipped and connected, the settings were automatically downloaded and the network was up and running in minutes.
Before the advent of the cloud managed network, large wireless networks relied on physical controllers to scale the wireless signal across the network. But physical controllers are a potential point of failure, are expensive to buy and maintain, and cannot be easily configured. Meraki's cloud managed architecture moves the controller to the cloud, eliminating the need for an on-site controller.

Moving the controller to the cloud opened up a whole new set of possibilities for network administration and configuration. This much simpler interface for IT administrators, where in one place, the Meraki Dashboard accessible from any web browser allows them to manage an entire network.

The Dashboard eliminates the need for a command line, is easy to use, and requires little or no training. Its visual nature allows new functionalities, such as topology diagrams and immediate problem solving that is required today.
the easy administration of the teams has reduced the time of resolution of failures and especially the expense of paying external support to review failures or create new implementations.
the savings generated due to the easy handling interface is one of the main points of improvement.
Having control of the technology itself without expensive and extensive training make meraki solutions suitable for commercial solutions, schools and places where technical support is not available on site.







the easy use of the platform in all its products is one of the main points to recommend Meraki.

Cisco Meraki includes a solution to maximize security and protect the connection of remote workers and their devices.
With this solution, workers can connect to the company network from a mobile phone, a laptop, a wired broadband connection or a 3G, 4G or 5G connection through a VPN connection to access corporate applications and to corporate email in a totally secure way thanks to RADIUS (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) authentication.
The constant use of the solution, the positive comments from customers, the economic results of the solution, quick response to incidents, quick access to technical support in case of failures, and having control of the network from a user-friendly interface make this solution easy to sell and to make the decision to make it part of the organization's infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2020
John Whitehouse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls at Unit locations across the country for remote site connectivity and SD-WAN. For us, it solves issues around security and manageability--in particular, the ability to template and manage many Units easily and effectively. It provides a sleek and efficient way to implement security policies across a broad range of locations.
  • Templating
  • Visibility and Testing
  • API integration
  • Security
  • Restrictions on Configuration
  • VPN solutioning in large environments
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is well suited for larger organizations looking to have visibility and ease of management across a range of locations and that are looking to enforce templated solutions and security. It is less appropriate where detailed configuration is required due to some of the restrictions (although this can be remedied by support and/or API calls in some cases).
Meraki support are very knowledgeable and willing to help and provide guidance every time we contact them.
Read John Whitehouse's full review
February 21, 2020
Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement the Meraki MX Firewalls solution for multiple customers we monitor and manage, which is applied to their entire organization. The single pane of glass to manage the solution via the cloud portal is priceless.
  • Easy to set up and configure - makes deployments a lot smoother.
  • Cloud management - priceless.
  • User-friendly web-based GUI - very easy to navigate to the different settings.
  • CLI access from the portal would be nice. Fortinet has this feature and it's invaluable for troubleshooting.
  • The MXs need true SD-WAN functionality; not just a failover mechanism.
  • The MX has NG firewall functions, but fall short compared to a Fortinet firewall.
The Meraki MX Firewall is great for small to mid-size companies that have a small to no IT staff because it's easy to manage once its setup. The web portal facilitates the ease of management; especially when it comes to upgrading to the latest code. For scenarios that require stricter firewall functions, or granularity of rules, it's best to use another vendor such as Fortinet or Palo Alto.
Anytime I have reached out to support they have always surpased my expectations. They will go the extra mile to make sure the solution is working as designed based on the funcionality of the device. They are not pushy to close a ticket. They confirm and reconfirm that all is working before closing a ticket. Support has no problem answering your questions and explaining what the fix was, or what it can be
Read Luis Lozada's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (33)
8.1
Visualization Tools (32)
8.2
Content Inspection (32)
8.3
Policy-based Controls (32)
8.3
Active Directory and LDAP (26)
8.6
Firewall Management Console (32)
8.4
Reporting and Logging (33)
7.1
VPN (31)
9.1
High Availability (29)
9.0
Stateful Inspection (29)
8.1
Proxy Server (20)
7.2

What is Cisco Meraki MX?

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Downloadables

Cisco Meraki MX Competitors

Cisco Meraki MX Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
MX64$595per appliance
MX67$695per appliance
MX68$995per appliance
MX84$1,995per appliance
MX100$4,995per appliance
MX250$9,995per appliance
MX450$19,995per appliance

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Meraki MX?

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a combined UTM and Software-Defined WAN solution. Meraki is managed via the cloud, and provides core firewall services, including site-to-site VPN, plus network monitoring.

What is Cisco Meraki MX's best feature?

Reviewers rate VPN highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Cisco Meraki MX?

The most common users of Cisco Meraki MX are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.