Cisco Meraki MX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

John Whitehouse | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls offer a low touch, manageable solution for small and large organizations.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls at Unit locations across the country for remote site connectivity and SD-WAN. For us, it solves issues around security and manageability--in particular, the ability to template and manage many Units easily and effectively. It provides a sleek and efficient way to implement security policies across a broad range of locations.
  • Templating
  • Visibility and Testing
  • API integration
  • Security
  • Restrictions on Configuration
  • VPN solutioning in large environments
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is well suited for larger organizations looking to have visibility and ease of management across a range of locations and that are looking to enforce templated solutions and security. It is less appropriate where detailed configuration is required due to some of the restrictions (although this can be remedied by support and/or API calls in some cases).
Read John Whitehouse's full review
Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Meraki MX - User friendly firewall

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement the Meraki MX Firewalls solution for multiple customers we monitor and manage, which is applied to their entire organization. The single pane of glass to manage the solution via the cloud portal is priceless.
  • Easy to set up and configure - makes deployments a lot smoother.
  • Cloud management - priceless.
  • User-friendly web-based GUI - very easy to navigate to the different settings.
  • CLI access from the portal would be nice. Fortinet has this feature and it's invaluable for troubleshooting.
  • The MXs need true SD-WAN functionality; not just a failover mechanism.
  • The MX has NG firewall functions, but fall short compared to a Fortinet firewall.
The Meraki MX Firewall is great for small to mid-size companies that have a small to no IT staff because it's easy to manage once its setup. The web portal facilitates the ease of management; especially when it comes to upgrading to the latest code. For scenarios that require stricter firewall functions, or granularity of rules, it's best to use another vendor such as Fortinet or Palo Alto.
Read Luis Lozada's full review
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Meraki MX Firewalls are a game-changer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls to create VPN connectivity between sites. We also use this at locations with minimal IT support since configuration is done remotely. We generally use this across the organization.
  • VPN Connectivity between sites is basically automatic.
  • Configuration is extremely simple.
  • We have run into more complex situations that the Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls can not support.
  • I think the firmware upgrade can be a bit confusing.
  • We find Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls best at smaller remote sites where the requirements are relatively primary remote offices, retail locations, ETC. It can be managed remotely as long as there's Internet connectivity, and the VPN configuration back to the central office is excellent.
  • Complex firewall operations can be tricky. Some times we have had to resort to using an ASA device.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
Ashwani Bansal | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

SDWAN Solution with Cisco Meraki

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was the consultant for Good Year from OBS. Good Year used this product for its branch network for small offices as SD-WAN solution. The customer wanted to use this as a small routing device to fulfill the requirements for a small network that would provide them security and a LAN & WLAN solution with cost-effective prices.
  • Security
  • Dynamic WAN Selection
  • Dynamic VPN
  • WLAN
  • Templates for standardization
  • Content filtering
  • Dynamic WAN selection
Cisco Meraki MX deployment is well suited for a standard network environment with adequate requirements of WLAN, Security, & VLAN. It is best suited for broadband as WAN service provider but less suited for MPLS WAN Links.
Read Ashwani Bansal's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
The Meraki MX is being used by the entire company.
The main challenge that we face in the company is the administration of the equipment and the configurations that must be carried out. Meraki Dashboard is a very intuitive interface to solve any implementation in minutes. Being able to give low technical users control of a platform via web is a very good tool to reduce the costs of subcontracting whenever a change is needed. Seeing how customers decide to continue migrating their network to Meraki based on their own experience is a plus point that is used as a sales tool.
Integration in the cloud with the security products that Cisco sells is a great advantage to enhance the visibility and protection of internal customers. Being able to see the use of traffic by each of the internal users is a highly appreciated feature, since we can control the budgets of the ISPs in each of the offices. Filtering applications, managing the bandwidth of each of the allowed applications makes the network a living and controlled element. Low energy consumption and it takes up little space used in the cabinets where it is installed, which helps with savings in all aspects of the institution. Just because it's a small team doesn't mean it's weak. We have the ability to be placed in High Availability, support GSM connections through USB. It makes the resistance very high for a team of this size.
  • Control and visibility of traffic
  • Easy control of devices via web interface
  • Visible control in real-time of the applied policies
  • Technical support in different languages
  • Integration with Amazon Web Service and MS Azure
  • IPv6 integration is not working.
  • Licensing can be somewhat confusing when combined with other Meraki products.
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls work very well in schools and offices where there is no dedicated IT staff.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Meraki MX64 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki appliance is being used to manage the office networking and security requirements as well as providing insight and control over the business applications from the centralised cloud management interface. Since the device acts as a gateway between the local area network and the WAN it is being used by all users and managed by the network administrator.
  • Compact all in one security appliance.
  • Centralized cloud management interface.
  • Offers HA in the branch.
  • Network security.
  • Limited firewall throughput upto 250Mbps.
  • Limited VPN throughput upto 100Mbps.
  • Not rack mountable.
  • Up to 50 users.
The device is well suited for small branch offices or home offices where there aren't much uses and it provides all the basic security functions from a centralised cloud management interface. The MX64 is the smallest offering so I would recommend that you explore the larger units to ensure that you choose the correct one that can cater for scalability and growth within your environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Cisco is not just Cisco.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls were used in regional offices across multiple locations. They support the backend offices. Everything around our specific use-case can also be found on a case study of Cisco's, search for "Cisco Meraki MyRepublic".
  • Easy administration through cloud dashboards.
  • Unified view across multiple locations and multiple product lines (firewalls, access points, switches, cameras).
  • Functionality is being abstracted and hidden in the dashboard, what's not in the dashboard can't be used.
  • Didn't cater well for complex use cases.
It's very well useable for small to medium office structures. Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls shines with the unified dashboard and the ability to manage hardware across multiple locations. The downside are more complex setups, where it just doesn't fit with the limited functionality and hidden features.
Read this authenticated review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Meraki MX Appliances are awesome for small to medium-sized business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki MX appliances as the primary firewall at each of our 15 locations. Meraki MX appliances are not just firewalls, they are a way to create a network "mesh" without having to know arcane engineering skills like you would need for most advanced firewalls. Meraki MX firewalls are a really good choice for a small to medium-sized enterprise that has limited engineering staff, because even a moderately experienced generalist can deploy and maintain these devices without the need for very advanced networking skills.
  • Meraki MXs are simply great at being easy to setup, deploy and maintain without advanced skills. They are so simple to use that one can just plug them in, give them a few IP addresses and ranges and they work.
  • Meraki MX appliances are compact and fit in a single rack unit (1U) space, and they consume less electricity and generate less heat than similarly-sized (as far as capacity goes) devices.
  • Meraki MXs have a cloud control panel (like other Meraki devices do) that is very easy to understand. If you don't understand it, their support and customer success account managers are right there to help.
  • Meraki MXs are not inexpensive. They cost quite a bit more than your average sonicwall or watchguard.
  • Like all Meraki devices, if you stop paying the subscription (which is their entire license model) you can no longer manage the device. For Meraki, subscription is equal to use license.
  • Meraki MX can't do everything that a full-blown Cisco ASA can do and that's because the user can't program every feature that they have. For some very advanced firewall features you might have to open a ticket with Meraki support and have them add a configuration setting for you using the command line, which users do not have full access to. Even then, we have found that there are some advanced settings that they simply can't do. Steer clear if you have a very large, complex environment that needs and advanced firewall. For that you'll need a Palo Alto or a large FortiGate, something like that.
Meraki MX appliances are a great solution for very easily creating a "mesh" network for a small to medium-sized enterprise. They are just as secure and cal do the same kind of traffic shaping, access control, layer 3 routing, etc. as any other small to medium firewall. It is NOT for a very large, complex networks because it is simply not designed to do everything that would be required.

Meraki MX appliances are also very well-suited for companies that do not have an advanced network engineer on staff. This is because they require less technical expertise to deploy, configure and maintain. Don't get me wrong, you have to know something about networking, but you don't have to be a CCIE or anything. A somewhat knowledgeable network administrator or experienced generalist can handle it. But again, if you need very specific redundancy features and very complex rules and policies, this is not your firewall.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Meraki MX: easy to setup and manage, lacking some critical features

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki to easily deploy networks to multiple locations around the country. It reduces IT management overhead with the simplicity and single pane of glass administration from the Meraki cloud. It provides a security gateway for our network as well as remote site connections and a remote worker client connections. It is used by all departments in order to access business resources within the company.
  • VPN Setup: extremely easy, do not need any technical knowledge, anyone can do it.
  • Administration: can administer from anywhere you have an internet connection.
  • Reliability: solid reliable product:
  • Setup: setup is extremely easy, no technical knowledge needed.
  • Lack of DNS capability: it is uncommon for a gateway device not to have the ability to be a DNS server, it can act as a DHCP server so why not a DNS server. DNS server would add a lot of value as it would reduce the need for one to be put on the internal network
  • Support: support is atrocious. They do not work to provide you with helpful solutions but provide canned answers without digging into the details of your network or researching your network errors.
It is well suited for small businesses with little to no IT staff. Larger non-profits that do not have an IT staff, or if IT is made up of volunteers (such as churches,) would be a good fit for Meraki MX. Not suitable for large corporations with dedicated IT staff that can manage a much more affordable product that has more features.
Read Brian Duffy's full review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Gateway Security Nirvana

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed the Cisco Meraki MX Firewall about two years ago, replacing a Dell SonicWall 2600. It is the gateway for redundant Internet connections for our organization and consolidates in a single device SD-WAN, traffic shaping, threat protection, access control, content filtering, and routing. It works seamlessly with the Meraki switches and wireless APs that I have on my network, giving me a comprehensive, cloud-based view of my entire network from a single dashboard. Before I had to log in to the firewall, switches, and APs separately (by device, no less) to monitor, configure, and update them, and I had to be on the network to do it. Now from one browser tab, and from anywhere, there is a secure Internet connection, I can monitor, configure, and update my network.
  • Provides for a comprehensive, graphical view of LAN and WAN status, including bandwidth consumption over time.
  • The security center allows you to view affected clients and the threats that were levied against them. You can configure the system to email reports. I have one waiting for me in my inbox every morning, so I can review the activity of the previous day. For real-time views, I can simply access the dashboard.
  • The content filtering is easy to configure and works extremely well. Traffic shaping allows you prioritize traffic on the network, such as VOIP and video conferencing, while limiting others, such as social media and music streaming services. You can also assign flow preferences by VLAN; for example, I channel VOIP traffic through a separate WAN interface from all other traffic.
  • The device makes it easy to configure VLANs, by which you assign uplinks and bandwidth limitations and also provide addressing via DHCP.
  • I have appreciated the lengths to which Cisco has gone to document the Meraki product line. And when that hasn't sufficed, the Meraki tech support has been incredible. They will log in to your network and help you get things properly configured if there is an issue or you want to make changes.
  • I purchased the Meraki Insight product, which allows for an extra layer of monitoring of what is happening on your network and monitors connectivity to other networks. It also allows you to set alerts for when your network, your ISP's network, or the remote connection is having an issue. This is extremely helpful, but I feel this should be included in the base product considering the price of the support package.
  • It is designed to work with other Meraki products. If you install this product but your switches, APs, cameras, etc, are from another vendor, you will be missing out on the integrations and insights that come from managing your network from a single, cloud-based dashboard.
If you want the best of the best, need/want to be able to manage your network from anywhere, and are able to make a commitment to have an all-Meraki network, then the Meraki MX Firewall is for you (keep in mind there are several models of the MX firewall, so you can buy the one that matches your needs). I have a 400 series firewall, which is at the top end, but if you have a small network with just a few users and don't need redundant Internet connections, for example, you can choose a lower-end model. The Meraki line of products is not cheap, but they are worth it if you can stretch your budget. Once you've had a taste of software-defined networking, you will never want to have it any other way.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Manage all your network devices from one location with a great UI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Meraki MX Firewalls within our organization and also provide MX firewalls to our end users. Our entire organization is protected behind MX series firewalls, from our corporate HQ to our remote satellite offices.
  • Great status charts and notification alerts.
  • Easy to use UI.
  • Cisco Meraki licensing costs tend to be high compared to competitors.
  • Once your licensing expires the hardware is useless.
Meraki MX Firewalls are great for medium to large-sized organizations since they are extremely easy to manage and deploy to remote offices. Meraki MX firewalls are less appropriate for small organizations since the licensing costs tend to get expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Run to get Meraki!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use many MX firewalls to connect our various businesses with their SD-WAN approach. It allows us to manage multiple properties from one pane of glass.
  • Management.
  • Usability.
  • Some don’t have dual power supplies.
Meraki has an MX for all size businesses. If you want something that is robust, easy to manage and can be configured in minutes, this is the system for you.
Read this authenticated review
Preston Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Magical Meraki MX for Mid sized businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki MX’s Across our entire organization. We have 5 branch offices and 2 headquarters buildings. We use the MX’s to mesh VPN all of our offices together. The Meraki line is easy to use due to its cloud-based management graphical interface. It also integrates with all of our other Meraki equipment and our Cisco equipment alike.
  • Easy configuration
  • Easy reporting
  • Easy management
  • Lacks some advanced features
  • GUI requires multiple pages to navigate
  • Needs better on prem management options
The Cisco Meraki MX line is best suited for small to mid sized business units that need to inter connect offices. The Meraki VPN solution is extra easy to setup and manage multiple endpoints from a single dashboard. The Meraki firewall rules are extremely intuitive and easy to configure as well.
Read Preston Collins's full review
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Great firewall solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the Meraki firewall at one of our satellite offices and they provide us the gateway/firewall functionality, as well as opeating a site-to-site VPN connection back to our main office. As well as this, they allow for personal client VPN access, which makes it possible for key members to connect remotely to the company.
  • The cloud management console is incredibly easy to use and very powerful
  • The device looks the part, so for an open plan office it looks good
  • Forms part of the Meraki estate to easily add wireless and switches into the network
  • Very quiet operation, doesn't make nearly as much noise as other firewalls
  • Not cheap to purchase initially
  • While the interface in the cloud is great (and constantly improving) it's aimed towards the less techy, and so certain features are squirreled away.
  • once you have committed you have to pay for the cloud access for them to work. DO your homework on costs
  • Can be difficult to sort issues if your internet connection drops internally
Been great for our satellite office, but looking to expand to others as the multi-wan site to site VPN solution looks great. IT integrates well with the other solutions we have (wifi and switches), so monitoring all aspects of the network are very easy and troubleshooting is a doddle as a result.
Read James Martin's full review
Marc Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

The Cisco Meraki MX Firewall has made network management less stressful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Illinois College is using an MX450 with a hot spare as our main campus internet firewall. We also use an MX400 with a hot spare as our firewall for public internet IP addresses. Both address several issues as far as traffic shaping and security. We also use the Advanced Security license to address Malware and Intrusion Protection.
  • Ease of Configuration.
  • Clear information on what the device is doing to block Malware or prevent Intrusions.
  • Reporting of issues when they arise via email.
  • Not as flexible for advanced users who may have some very specific settings they would like to change. This does not affect our team but I have heard others complain outside of our organization.
  • Client VPN is a bit spotty. There is not a specific client for this which would make set up a lot easier. Setting up the VPN in Windows is not as robust as we would like.
Meraki MX Firewalls are an excellent choice for smaller organizations with a smaller IT team. It allows me to give the access needed to other IT professionals in my department without the concern that they will make big mistakes in the configuration. The automatic Site-to-Site VPN is also handy for external locations.

It may not be suitable for larger locations that need a lot of advanced flexibility configuration-wise.
Read Marc Benner's full review
Jonathan Tanis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

I wish all products worked like Meraki

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco Meraki MX Firewall for our whole organization and utilize their firewall, switches, and wireless APs at a branch office and also for remote employees to connect everyone on a single VPN. They could not be easier to setup initially nor easier to manage, both on site and remotely. They have had every feature we could think of helping and again, I can't undersell how easy they are to manage.
  • Ease of Setup - When your device is shipped, you can log in to your dashboard and start setting it up. Then, once you connect it, it grabs all the settings from the cloud. We switched over from our previous solution in a couple hours, and if you know what you are doing, you could accomplish it faster.
  • Ease of Administration - With the dashboard, you can administer everything remotely. The Meraki Dashboard is also easy to use. It has lots of capabilities that we don't currently take advantage of such as Content Filtering. Connecting branch offices and remote workers is very simple to roll out as well.
  • Features - Our previous HP switches would constantly have ports go, and it was hard to tell which ones. With Meraki, we haven't had any ports fail in 3 years, but if we do, you can monitor and see which users are using which ports on the connected switches.
  • RADIUS - We've connected JumpCloud with the RADIUS functionality and it works great.
  • The menus took some getting used to initially, but fortunately, their documentation and support have been great and I got the hang of things.
  • Cost. I wish they cost less. But, you get what you pay for, and I think they are reasonable.
  • Not many complaints. I feel like a bit of a fanboy, but I've been really happy with my Meraki devices.
These are great for SMBs and I would imagine scale well for enterprises, though I don't have expertise in that arena. I love how all their products "mesh" together nicely. They are easy to buy, easy and fast to setup, and easy to manage. They are exceptionally good for offices with multiple locations.
Read Jonathan Tanis's full review
Daniel Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Cisco Meraki makes routers easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cisco Meraki routers provide cost-effective WAN solutions that are quick for us to design, deploy, operate and manage for our clients.
  • Built-in security and PCI compliance reporting
  • SD-WAN functionality
  • Easy deployment with templates
  • Troubleshooting
  • A better management display for security issues on the management dashboard
They have been great, in my experience, for networks of over 100 sites for deployment and management. The effort for both of these is a fraction of traditional routers.
Read Daniel Hosking's full review
David Perkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Meraki MX Firewall - Excellent choice for schools

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki MX as a security appliance/firewall. The traffic shaping feature has been beneficial in our school environment. The Meraki MX was easy to configure and deploy and customer support is outstanding.
  • Easy to configure and deploy
  • User-friendly management console
  • Excellent Layer 7 filtering capabilities
  • The license must be active, therefore, yearly licensing costs must be calculated and budgeted.
  • Increased granularity in the dashboard controls
The traffic shaping ability of Cisco Meraki MX Firewall is highly beneficial in the school environment.
Read David Perkin's full review
Scott Stefan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX is a great firewall and IPS solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances are being used both across my entire company network and in multiple clients I support. Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances solve the business problems of property protecting business networks, data and internet traffic. Moreover, by adding on the Advanced Security License to the Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliance, you get active IPS protection that is easy to manage and powerful protection.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Industry-leading security protection.
  • Great support when needed.
  • Great performance and uptime.
  • Price can be out of the range for some small businesses.
  • An active license needs to be renewed and active at all times.
  • Support response for low-level tickets can be long at times.
Very well suited for small and medium-sized business with a small or no IT staff. Moreover, regulated industries such as HIPAA Covered Entities are a good candidate for Cisco Meraki MX's, since you can purchase the Advanced Security License and have full IPS coverage for all internet traffic in and outbound.
Read Scott Stefan's full review
Randy Haan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki Firewall review – no more all nighters !

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Meraki MX devices in over 500 location across the Western United States, Hawaii, Alaska and Micronesia’s to perform corporate VPN tunnels to sensitive data, maintain PCI Compliance, provide content filtering and intrusion detection.
  • Static and Dynamic WAN IP assignment is simple to use and set up
  • 4G Failover is crictical on our retail outlet and allows for maximum uptime
  • High Availibility for our Data Centers and key locations
  • Easy to manage and configure even from a smart phone or tablet in the field
  • One pane of glass for our entire WAN and Security
  • Muiltcast over WAN - This is a key technology for notification and paging that Meraki has promised for 4 years but has not delivered.
  • Manage discrete aspects like built in wireless or firewall rules by policy rather than my template.
  • Capacity to group large numbers of networks in regions or segments. Hard to search thru 500 networks when they are all in a single drop down list.
Cisco Meraki MX devices are an excellent fit for the small or medium company in managing a large number of satellite offices in a seamless and homogenous fashion. Great not to depend on a CCIE to have to configure an ASA firewall rule or troubleshoot a breach.

Not the best for protecting Data Center environments where complex application needs and vulnerabilities can crop up.
Read Randy Haan's full review
Justin McDermott | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2019

Meraki MX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MX Meraki for our retail branch banking. We use them as easy to manage air droppable systems. With branches spread out, it's important to reduce the cost for administration and remote admin is Meraki's strength.
  • Remote Administration
  • Low cost low CAPEX
  • Easy to use interface
  • Requires internet
  • OPEX may not be best model
Meraki routers are perfect for branch operations.
Read Justin McDermott's full review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls are very easy to manage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every business needs a firewall. Businesses with more than one location need a way to connect those locations securely. Instead of buying expensive site to site data connections, you can buy lower-cost internet connections and use the Meraki MX Firewalls to connect your locations through their Site to Site VPN. It includes the normal firewall of ports. You also get a content filter, threat protection with AMP, and it acts as a VPN concentrator.
  • Site to Site VPN. Easily connect your locations in either a Mesh or Spoke VPN.
  • Content Filtering. Protect your PC's with content filtering.
  • Cloud Managed. You can configure almost everything in the cloud. You can see traffic graphs and tell when your connections go up and down.
  • Client VPN.
  • Cisco Meraki AMP isn't full AMP. It would be nice to have full AMP available on the Meraki MX.
  • Licensing and Support. A great device, however, you have to keep renewing your license to use it. It would be nice to separate support from License and have a lifetime license and pay yearly support. If you don't pay support you could still manage it. Currently, if you don't renew then you can not manage the device anymore. It will work with the last config only.
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls are best suited for companies that have small IT departments. They are easy to configure and allow a lot of the complex things you can do with Cisco Routers with a web interface instead of having to know command line programming. It is very intuitive to figure out how to setup or change settings. You don't need a certification to configure or work with these.
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
David Westgate | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

To Meraki, or not to Meraki?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Implementing Meraki across our various branches has helped with business continuity. The reporting enables us to plan correctly, and it is the ease of deployment is what really stands out. We have been able to save so much on rollouts, and the management console makes it a breeze to manage.
  • Deployment times reduced.
  • Central Management costs.
  • View into the network greatly improved, all the way to Layer 7.
  • Security greatly improved.
  • Reporting is great online, but an improvement to export the reports to PDF would be great.
From small businesses with a single access point to some of the largest companies. Retail stores, the reporting can give you some detailed insight to your customers, from numbers to repeat customers etc.
Read David Westgate's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

We use Meraki MX as a security appliance/firewall. With an advanced security license, the content filtering, IDS, and geographical blocking features are surprisingly good compared to using alternative solutions with no noticeable performance hit as long as you size the unit properly.

The geographical blocking is a great security feature but you have to use with planning. I’ve managed to block a few vendors' websites and mail servers without realizing what country those vendors were located in. When you’re not use to having geographical blocking the first time I I had that problem it took a while to troubleshoot why the connectivity was missing. Sorta over secured myself. Not the MX’s fault.

  • The dashboard brings all management features with you wherever you are. All you need is an Internet connection and a browser and you can manage the solution. The dashboard tracks your uplink connectivity to the dashboard and double checks with you all changes impacting the connectivity, making it much safer to enact changes remotely. Dual WAN connections are greatly simplified and site-to-site VPNs automatically connect regardless of what WAN connection is active.
  • Site-to-Site VPNs are the easier to setup than any other vendor’s solution. You simple pick two or more devices to tunnel together and then select what network subsets should be allowed to cross the tunnel and you are done. The solution handles all the details. Site-to-site VPNs can dynamically follow IP changes with no need for static IPs.
  • For MSPs the dashboard is even more convenient as all your clients are on the same MSP account. Switching between managing different clients Meraki equipment is a few clicks once you login to the dashboard. Two-factor authentication is available for enhanced dashboard security.
  • Some advanced enterprise features are missing, but for SMBs this solution is a dream to deploy and manage. Complex environments should look elsewhere, but I personally have not ran across anything that Meraki has not been able to handle so far. On the dashboard is a “Make a Wish” button to request new features. In three years, I have made three wishes and they were all were granted.
During the Intel CPU clock signal component issue in early 2017 Meraki’s MX84 product line was impacted. Once Meraki started getting replacement CPUs they shipped a replacement MX84 to swap my production unit. I was very impressed to learn how easy a hardware swap works with the Meraki dashboard. It was very simple to add the replacement unit. It began to function as a warm spare so I could then remove the old serial numbered device. A few minutes later and the replacement unit downloaded the production configuration and we were up and running on the replacement hardware. I understand scaling to a larger MX is just as simple. I have not used the units larger than the MX100 but have heard the larger units have had some issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

Review review review a router today!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
They are being sold to our customers. They provide a single pane of glass view of the network and are easy to administer and deploy. The auto-VPN technology can save hours on deployment. They still provide enterprise-level security with integrations into AMP and Umbrella. Providing SD-WAN features as well makes this a great product.
  • SD-WAN
  • Auto-VPN
  • ZTP
  • Access lists harder to manage.
  • Lacking some enterprise features.
  • No enterprise versions of the product.
These devices are best suited for small to medium businesses or mid-market. They are not best for enterprise customers. The security feature set is great and there are a lot of options for education and retail. They come with a lot of ethernet ports and with wireless options, making them a great branch device.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (12)
8.7
Visualization Tools (12)
8.3
Content Inspection (12)
8.0
Policy-based Controls (12)
8.2
Active Directory and LDAP (11)
9.0
Firewall Management Console (12)
8.9
Reporting and Logging (12)
7.4
VPN (12)
8.6
High Availability (10)
8.6
Stateful Inspection (11)
7.4
Proxy Server (9)
6.7

About Cisco Meraki MX

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No