Cisco Meraki MX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 38)

Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2020

Cisco Meraki: ease of use and interconnectivity!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were able to transition very easily from Cisco to Cisco Meraki MX's and connect the LANs into a single easy to manage WAN with remote access VPN and auto VPN between branches to interconnect all networks with minimal fuss but allowing high-speed networking and traffic passing, as well as managed traffic options.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
Ryan Deppe | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX: The Gold Standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Meraki MX firewalls stand alone when it comes to ease of use and level of network protection. We now use the Cisco Meraki product line as the gold standard when comparing any other solutions.
Read Ryan Deppe's full review
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

Meraki MX: Ease of setup and management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Depends on the use case. Meraki shines in the area of ease of management and ease of deployment. This is typically retail customers with many locations or customers with lean IT staff. Meraki MX seems not to do well in complex environments with heavy IT staff requirements. There are also loyal Cisco fans that only want Cisco branded products.
Read Victor Lau's full review
John Whitehouse | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls offer a low touch, manageable solution for small and large organizations.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We leveraged traditional Cisco firewalls previously, and Meraki offers much more insight, ability to template, and ease of configuration by comparison. We are able to deploy new sites seamlessly and easily, often without touching the device.
Read John Whitehouse's full review
Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Meraki MX - User friendly firewall

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Meraki MX's have their place due to the ease of configuration, management, and cost. That is small to mid size businesses. If you require features such as the full suite of NG firewall options, SD-WAN, and granularity of ACL/Policy rules, then Fortinet, Palo Alto and/or WatchGuard would be the way to go
Read Luis Lozada's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Meraki MX Firewalls are a good and easy solution to integrate even
remotely. This is the main reason why it was chosen as the solution.
Having the facility to manage computers remotely from any device and
with all aspects of security covered is a great advantage. Knowing that
integrating with other Meraki products adds greater visibility to the
network is a point that auto generates the purchase of more Meraki
equipment and that the customer only generates loyalty to the brand is a
very important point for any solution.
All Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls
are born with redundancy included, from double ports of WAN links
and/or links via cellular network to always maintain your connectivity,
replacement of "hot-swap" parts or VPN tunnels that reestablish
themselves. The Meraki Dashboard allows you to see your customers'
bandwidth consumption and what applications they use throughout your
network. It also allows you to adjust the security settings of all your
sites in a few clicks to always maintain the highest performance of your
critical applications. Identity-based firewall automatically assigns
firewall rules, VLAN tags, and bandwidth limits for each user group.
Intrusion prevention protects network resources from the latest threats
and vulnerabilities. Advanced malware protection protects your network
against malware using the latest in intelligent content detection as
well as identifying previously known malicious code. Application
visibility and control--identify which applications are being used,
prioritize your critical applications, and limit those that are for
recreational use. Centralized administration--all Access Point Meraki
have a dedicated security radio to ensure your peace of mind. With the
Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls solution, you will be able to take better
advantage of your traditional internet links, since you can add the
capacity (and availability) of both links to provide a better experience
for your users but above all, reduce your operating costs.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Meraki MX64 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Meraki MX64 is a very compact unit and can cater for the needs of a small branch office due to its centralised cloud management interface. If you do not need all the bells and whistles of the high-end models then this unit might work for you.
Read this authenticated review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Meraki MX Appliances are awesome for small to medium-sized business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Meraki MXs do more, and deploy more easily, than the comparable small firewalls than a small business is usually going to shop for. They cost a little more but they are just so simple to setup and that was the deciding factor for us. Sonicwalls are not nearly as easy to configured and you have to know a lot more about creating ACLs and rule sets, same goes for the similarly sized FortiGates. The Meraki MXs are just very easy to use.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Meraki MX: easy to setup and manage, lacking some critical features

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would prefer both Untangle and Fortinet over Meraki. The only downside of those two products is you need more technical network knowledge to manage the product. Untangle and Fortinet both offer more features and cost less than Meraki MX devices. Untangle has better support. Both Untangle and Fortinet take a considerable amount more time to properly configure and manage.

I'm adding Ubiquiti UNIFI to this review, the product has all the features of Meraki at a better price and without the licensing!! Highly recommended over Meraki
Read Brian Duffy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Run to get Meraki!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also have an ASA for VPN traffic and it works great, but it takes time and consulting to set-up if you are not a Cisco engineer. You can set-up any Meraki system in minutes with a decent networking background, which is great for most users!
Read this authenticated review
Preston Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Magical Meraki MX for Mid sized businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The cisco Meraki MX line meets the needs of the market that isn’t being addressed by other major competitors in today’s market place. Cisco Meraki MX ends up being cost per dollar cheaper than the competition just because they are focusing on larger businesses and organizational units. Meraki perfectly fits that middle market need.
Read Preston Collins's full review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Gateway Security Nirvana

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I mentioned I came from a Dell SonicWall 2600, which I felt was
a good product. However, the Cisco Meraki MX Firewall is in a whole other
class. I wanted to be able to manage my networking in the cloud, which the
Meraki line of products delivers. Now my settings are stored in the cloud,
constantly backed up in the event of device failure, and I can access it
from anywhere I have a secure Internet connection. I don't need any special software, no tricks. The interface can be as simple as you want it to be, or you can check all the boxes to see columns of data about what is going across your WAN. Compared to the SonicWall OS, the Meraki interface is a revelation. You still have all the controls and configuration options needed to set up a secure gateway--everything the SonicWall has--but it's so much less confusing to do so.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Great firewall solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • WatchGuard
We were using WatchGuard firewalls prior to the Meraki firewalls. We selected the Meraki devices because we were impressed with the ease of use from the presentations and were not disappointed. The feature set they offer is good, but there are hidden costs with on-going maintenance that is essential to consider.
Read James Martin's full review
Marc Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

The Cisco Meraki MX Firewall has made network management less stressful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose the Meraki MX Firewall for its ease of use and advanced security features. The decision was not difficult when judging how easy it would be for the other IT team members to make configuration changes. After evaluating the advanced security we found it could cut back on our virus and malware issues which also made the decision very easy to make.
Read Marc Benner's full review
Scott Stefan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX is a great firewall and IPS solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have evaluated and supported firewalls from MicroTik, Ubiquiti Networks, and SonicWall. The Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliance is a more well rounded and complete product compared to firewalls from these other vendors. The easy of configuration and the feature set of the Cisco Meraki MX is much more advanced than these other products.
Read Scott Stefan's full review
Randy Haan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki Firewall review – no more all nighters !

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The choice to switch from traditional Cisco 800,1800, 1900,2900,3800 and ISR firewalls was driven out of the need to reduce the cost of professional services and advance a large network team to manage and train. There was a lot of resistance on the network team’s part on moving away from the CLI for traditional firewall and VPN applications but once they saw the ease and flexibility of the Meraki Dashboard and tools available as well as the ability to roll out changes that took weeks in days they became advocates.
Read Randy Haan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco's ASA, Fortinet's Fortigate, Sonicwall, Watchguard

I prefer Cisco ASA for large enterprise deployments. Fortigate works well but I'm not a huge fan of their GUI interface (maybe personal preference). Sonicwall and Watchguard are avoided and only used when we inherit the solution. Not a huge fan of either. I do value the large breadth of options in the security appliance space.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (15)
8.7
Visualization Tools (15)
8.3
Content Inspection (15)
7.9
Policy-based Controls (15)
8.2
Active Directory and LDAP (13)
9.0
Firewall Management Console (15)
8.8
Reporting and Logging (15)
7.4
VPN (15)
8.6
High Availability (12)
8.6
Stateful Inspection (14)
7.4
Proxy Server (10)
6.7

About Cisco Meraki MX

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Downloadables

Cisco Meraki MX Competitors

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No