Cisco Meraki MX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2020

Cisco Meraki: ease of use and interconnectivity!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have multiple models of MX series connecting multiple branches for a nationally distributed WAN, allowing remote access via VPN and security tools like IDS/IPS and AMP. We have integrated with another company recently and used Meraki to link the two businesses together virtually, seamlessly with minimal fuss, and ease of use, access, and management. We also use both the MDM and SDWAN as well.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
Ryan Deppe | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX: The Gold Standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Cisco Meraki MX appliances as the primary edge firewalls at our remote branch locations. This allows us to have a single pane of glass view and consistent policy application for all remote branch locations. We also utilize the IPS and AMP feature sets of the Cisco Meraki MX appliances for increased protection at the edge.
Read Ryan Deppe's full review
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2020

Meraki MX: Ease of setup and management

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As an SD-WAN appliance at the Branch location. Using VPN to tunnel to the head office. head office includes access to the internet and filtering for content. The MX solution allows the replacement of an MPLS network, allows easy administration of all branch locations. The head office utilizes redundant MXs for uptime availability.
Read Victor Lau's full review
John Whitehouse | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls offer a low touch, manageable solution for small and large organizations.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls at Unit locations across the country for remote site connectivity and SD-WAN. For us, it solves issues around security and manageability--in particular, the ability to template and manage many Units easily and effectively. It provides a sleek and efficient way to implement security policies across a broad range of locations.
Read John Whitehouse's full review
Luis Lozada | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Meraki MX - User friendly firewall

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implement the Meraki MX Firewalls solution for multiple customers we monitor and manage, which is applied to their entire organization. The single pane of glass to manage the solution via the cloud portal is priceless.
Read Luis Lozada's full review
Ashwani Bansal | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

SDWAN Solution with Cisco Meraki

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I was the consultant for Good Year from OBS. Good Year used this product for its branch network for small offices as SD-WAN solution. The customer wanted to use this as a small routing device to fulfill the requirements for a small network that would provide them security and a LAN & WLAN solution with cost-effective prices.
Read Ashwani Bansal's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Meraki MX is being used by the entire company.
The main challenge that we face in the company is the administration of the equipment and the configurations that must be carried out. Meraki Dashboard is a very intuitive interface to solve any implementation in minutes. Being able to give low technical users control of a platform via web is a very good tool to reduce the costs of subcontracting whenever a change is needed. Seeing how customers decide to continue migrating their network to Meraki based on their own experience is a plus point that is used as a sales tool.
Integration in the cloud with the security products that Cisco sells is a great advantage to enhance the visibility and protection of internal customers. Being able to see the use of traffic by each of the internal users is a highly appreciated feature, since we can control the budgets of the ISPs in each of the offices. Filtering applications, managing the bandwidth of each of the allowed applications makes the network a living and controlled element. Low energy consumption and it takes up little space used in the cabinets where it is installed, which helps with savings in all aspects of the institution. Just because it's a small team doesn't mean it's weak. We have the ability to be placed in High Availability, support GSM connections through USB. It makes the resistance very high for a team of this size.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Meraki MX64 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Cisco Meraki appliance is being used to manage the office networking and security requirements as well as providing insight and control over the business applications from the centralised cloud management interface. Since the device acts as a gateway between the local area network and the WAN it is being used by all users and managed by the network administrator.
Read this authenticated review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Meraki MX Appliances are awesome for small to medium-sized business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Meraki MX appliances as the primary firewall at each of our 15 locations. Meraki MX appliances are not just firewalls, they are a way to create a network "mesh" without having to know arcane engineering skills like you would need for most advanced firewalls. Meraki MX firewalls are a really good choice for a small to medium-sized enterprise that has limited engineering staff, because even a moderately experienced generalist can deploy and maintain these devices without the need for very advanced networking skills.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Meraki MX: easy to setup and manage, lacking some critical features

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Meraki to easily deploy networks to multiple locations around the country. It reduces IT management overhead with the simplicity and single pane of glass administration from the Meraki cloud. It provides a security gateway for our network as well as remote site connections and a remote worker client connections. It is used by all departments in order to access business resources within the company.
Read Brian Duffy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Cisco is not just Cisco.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls were used in regional offices across multiple locations. They support the backend offices. Everything around our specific use-case can also be found on a case study of Cisco's, search for "Cisco Meraki MyRepublic".
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Manage all your network devices from one location with a great UI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Meraki MX Firewalls within our organization and also provide MX firewalls to our end users. Our entire organization is protected behind MX series firewalls, from our corporate HQ to our remote satellite offices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Run to get Meraki!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use many MX firewalls to connect our various businesses with their SD-WAN approach. It allows us to manage multiple properties from one pane of glass.
Read this authenticated review
Preston Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Magical Meraki MX for Mid sized businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Meraki MX’s Across our entire organization. We have 5 branch offices and 2 headquarters buildings. We use the MX’s to mesh VPN all of our offices together. The Meraki line is easy to use due to its cloud-based management graphical interface. It also integrates with all of our other Meraki equipment and our Cisco equipment alike.
Read Preston Collins's full review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Gateway Security Nirvana

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We installed the Cisco Meraki MX Firewall about two years ago, replacing a Dell SonicWall 2600. It is the gateway for redundant Internet connections for our organization and consolidates in a single device SD-WAN, traffic shaping, threat protection, access control, content filtering, and routing. It works seamlessly with the Meraki switches and wireless APs that I have on my network, giving me a comprehensive, cloud-based view of my entire network from a single dashboard. Before I had to log in to the firewall, switches, and APs separately (by device, no less) to monitor, configure, and update them, and I had to be on the network to do it. Now from one browser tab, and from anywhere, there is a secure Internet connection, I can monitor, configure, and update my network.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
James Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Great firewall solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize the Meraki firewall at one of our satellite offices and they provide us the gateway/firewall functionality, as well as opeating a site-to-site VPN connection back to our main office. As well as this, they allow for personal client VPN access, which makes it possible for key members to connect remotely to the company.
Read James Martin's full review
Marc Benner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

The Cisco Meraki MX Firewall has made network management less stressful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Illinois College is using an MX450 with a hot spare as our main campus internet firewall. We also use an MX400 with a hot spare as our firewall for public internet IP addresses. Both address several issues as far as traffic shaping and security. We also use the Advanced Security license to address Malware and Intrusion Protection.
Read Marc Benner's full review
Jonathan Tanis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

I wish all products worked like Meraki

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the Cisco Meraki MX Firewall for our whole organization and utilize their firewall, switches, and wireless APs at a branch office and also for remote employees to connect everyone on a single VPN. They could not be easier to setup initially nor easier to manage, both on site and remotely. They have had every feature we could think of helping and again, I can't undersell how easy they are to manage.
Read Jonathan Tanis's full review
Scott Stefan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX is a great firewall and IPS solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances are being used both across my entire company network and in multiple clients I support. Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances solve the business problems of property protecting business networks, data and internet traffic. Moreover, by adding on the Advanced Security License to the Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliance, you get active IPS protection that is easy to manage and powerful protection.
Read Scott Stefan's full review
Randy Haan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki Firewall review – no more all nighters !

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Meraki MX devices in over 500 location across the Western United States, Hawaii, Alaska and Micronesia’s to perform corporate VPN tunnels to sensitive data, maintain PCI Compliance, provide content filtering and intrusion detection.
Read Randy Haan's full review
David Westgate | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

To Meraki, or not to Meraki?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Implementing Meraki across our various branches has helped with business continuity. The reporting enables us to plan correctly, and it is the ease of deployment is what really stands out. We have been able to save so much on rollouts, and the management console makes it a breeze to manage.
Read David Westgate's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2019

Cisco Meraki MX Security Appliances Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Meraki MX as a security appliance/firewall. With an advanced security license, the content filtering, IDS, and geographical blocking features are surprisingly good compared to using alternative solutions with no noticeable performance hit as long as you size the unit properly.

The geographical blocking is a great security feature but you have to use with planning. I’ve managed to block a few vendors' websites and mail servers without realizing what country those vendors were located in. When you’re not use to having geographical blocking the first time I I had that problem it took a while to troubleshoot why the connectivity was missing. Sorta over secured myself. Not the MX’s fault.

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (15)
8.7
Visualization Tools (15)
8.3
Content Inspection (15)
7.9
Policy-based Controls (15)
8.2
Active Directory and LDAP (13)
9.0
Firewall Management Console (15)
8.8
Reporting and Logging (15)
7.4
VPN (15)
8.6
High Availability (12)
8.6
Stateful Inspection (14)
7.4
Proxy Server (10)
6.7

About Cisco Meraki MX

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Downloadables

Cisco Meraki MX Competitors

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No