Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Cisco Meraki MX

Cisco Meraki MX

Overview

What is Cisco Meraki MX?

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a combined UTM and Software-Defined WAN solution. Meraki is managed via the cloud, and provides core firewall services, including site-to-site VPN, plus network monitoring.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Cisco Meraki MX

8 out of 10
February 13, 2024
Incentivized
Cisco Meraki MX allows us to deploy a single solution to our office networks across our locations with easy central management for both …
Continue reading

Cisco Meraki MX review

8 out of 10
February 12, 2024
Incentivized
We use Cisco Meraki MX for the Meraki SD Wan solution to connect about 400 physical sites. It helps us to move from an old MPLS topology, …
Continue reading

Cisco Meraki MX

7 out of 10
February 09, 2024
Incentivized
As a perimeter firewall and sd-wan solution. Customers need a simple configuration product and a single telemetry dashboard.
Continue reading

Cisco Meraki MX review

10 out of 10
February 08, 2024
Incentivized
With the dynamic changes in applications and hybrid work, we required an approach to provide ease of working for users within our office …
Continue reading

I love Cisco Meraki MX

8 out of 10
February 05, 2024
Incentivized
We are a Cisco Meraki MX partner and sell all Meraki solutions, including wifi and security services. Sometimes, we find that Mx products …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features
  • Visualization Tools (82)
    8.4
    84%
  • Identification Technologies (81)
    8.0
    80%
  • Firewall Management Console (83)
    7.7
    77%
  • Reporting and Logging (85)
    7.1
    71%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

5 videos

One Users Cisco Meraki Review: How it stacks up to the rest
05:34
Cisco Meraki Review | Perfect for home access
02:21
Around the world, This Cisco Meraki Review Points to how it helps users stay connected
04:18
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

MX64

$595

On Premise
per appliance

MX67

$695

On Premise
per appliance

MX68

$995

On Premise
per appliance

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.trustradius.com/buyer…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Firewall

A firewall is a filter that stands between a computer or computer network and the Internet. Each firewall can be programmed to keep specific traffic in or out

7.7
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco Meraki MX?

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a combined UTM and Software-Defined WAN solution. Meraki is managed via the cloud, and provides core firewall services, including site-to-site VPN, plus network monitoring.

Ubiquiti Networks UniFi, Fortinet FortiGate, and SonicWall TZ are common alternatives for Cisco Meraki MX.

Reviewers rate Visualization Tools and High Availability highest, with a score of 8.4.

The most common users of Cisco Meraki MX are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(226)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 81)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
There are several products you can choose from, even the virtualized type of Cisco Meraki MX (vMX). Plenty of choices to select based on port requirements, speed, type of connections and size of the site. (number of users)
February 12, 2024

Cisco Meraki MX review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is very simple to deploy, we send equipment to site, in the same time, we configure the network through the dashboard, claim the serial number, attached it to the network and people on the site receive and plugged the equipment on site and all is work. Additionally, the replacement of equipment is very simple for the same reasons.
February 11, 2024

Cisco Meraki MX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The ability to configure everything in the cloud even before the device is connected makes shipping devices to remote locations easy and flexible.
February 09, 2024

Cisco Meraki MX Overview

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Claming of devices is easy. Configuration is very easy to understand even with basic technical background. APIs are used to deploy a lot of configurations in a small amount of time. A lot of people can access the dashboard in an easy way which allows to find and fix errors very quickly.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Cisco Meraki MX is basically a good product, but not perfect. If you compare the Cisco Meraki MX with a Fortigate or Cisco Firepower, you quickly realize that this system can do less than the reference product. The Cisco Meraki MX can be used in small environments, but in large environments you have to check carefully whether it really makes sense to use it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
Cisco Meraki MX is flexible in deploying between multiple departments or sites. But when it comes to VPN section, Meraki MX lacks granular traffic control. It has a global rule table for all VPN rules, making things a bit harder to manage per the custom needs, such as blocking and allowing some traffic.
February 05, 2024

I love Cisco Meraki MX

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
We found a few bugs when we try to deploy large networks on hotels and other big spaces with a lot of users concentration.
i would not recommend Meraki on this cases, but for most of campus or medium deployment on remote branches or a lot of shops, it’s ideal
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
MX devices (as all brands), are something we prefer to upgrade rather than scale. When a client customer has increased needs due to factors other than simply growth or expansion of their core business, we always re-assess their needs as part of our standard process. Unlike the 1980's or 1990's, cloud based products are easier to migrate than to scale.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It seems to scale well, as far as connectivity and reliability go. However, as it scales out, it becomes increasingly time-consuming to configure the different "networks" It also allows us to use multiple Internet connections for failover and allows us to use Asynchronous internet at some very small sites.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our company has been growing, and the network has been able to grow with it. We can easily deploy a new location and connect that location to the main LAN using site-to-site VPN Tunnels. I can't see us ever getting to a point where we wouldn't be able to expand in any way needed, even within HQ, if more departments are created and segregating them via VLANs.
Joyal John Peter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
The size of Cisco Meraki MX are very small and really portable. There is no need for conventional racks or any special equipment to mount the hardware. The smallest Cisco Meraki MX is as small as a home router and can be placed anywhere. This makes it the best option for smaller sites.
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have been able to deploy this solution in stages at multiple branches and then later on, also connect two different businesses together using Cisco Meraki products too, so it's simple, integrated, and able to scale and grow too. We added High Availability pairing with multiple MXs at the original primary site for redundancy.
January 15, 2024

Gateway Security Nirvana

Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Scalability is seamless. Redundancy, should you decide to afford it, is built in. As you add devices, locations and networks, all the configuration and monitoring is available in one place for all. You can define policies and alerts for each, too, or use the same across your entire organization. While I only have one location, I have read use cases of Meraki being deployed across entire cities and campuses.
Kevin Almond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
The Meraki MX can be deployed as a single firewall/UTM appliance or can be deployed as part of a very large multi-geo / worldwide solution. The Dashboard does have limitations on the number of network and devices it can manage, but this will not present an issue for most customers, as we are talking 1000's of devices before the limits are reached.
Return to navigation