Cisco Meraki MX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
119 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 03, 2021
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

7
I have not deployed an MX that supported hundreds (much less thousands of users), but I do know they pair well with the Meraki VPN Concentrators for creating your IPSEC site-to-site tunnels. That said, I can attest to the ease of scaling to remote locations and getting your tunnels up without a lot of headache.
Read Derek Benson's full review
March 13, 2021
Julien Guffroy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Scalability

8
Actually my largest deployment is limited to 50 sites for a customer. I'm actually in a new one with the aim of deploy more than 1000 sites. I also can't give 10 because I don't know how it will work with many sites. But actually we already have more than 300 sites and the administration is still easy.
Read Julien Guffroy's full review
February 18, 2021
Brent Marceaux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
There is a meraki product model for any need within my organization. The lower units allow for right sizing a possible smaller location and the sizing of units go all the way up to the needs of the larger enterprises and larger sites.
Read Brent Marceaux's full review
May 13, 2021
Jaime Martínez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
If your network requirements are not very complex, I think Cisco Meraki MX solution has a good design to provide scalability. You can add more devices to your networking in a simple way and the central dashboard is perfect to manage multiple devices across different locations. Maybe a constraint should be the hardware upgrade, it's limited.
Read Jaime Martínez's full review
May 10, 2021
Jose De Jesus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
The scalability and add more locations to the Meraki network is one of the best specs for Meraki products. In our dashboard, we manage 4 locations without any problems, with the template configuration you can add a location with different equipment and applied the configuration templated and your network will work and running just in minutes.
Read Jose De Jesus's full review
March 29, 2021
Victor Rivera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
Ease of use could be a synonym for Cisco Meraki MX. Even without an IT background, you can operate and manage Meraki's platform as well as an IT expert. Despite this, Cisco Meraki MX has enterprise-grade capabilities and a really strong security approach. You really can rely on Cisco Meraki to support all your networking needs: routing, switching, wireless, security, load balancing, and also IP CCTV.
Read Victor Rivera's full review
March 11, 2021
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Scalability

9
Can easily add HA redundancy with adding another hardware appliance and then configuration. Adding license terms is also very easy, simply add the new license into the dashboard and claim it against the appliance. Some of our MXs are quite dated but still work and are still supported with the current firmware. There are new features that are added to the Meraki license, which are nice to see.
Read Victor Lau's full review
December 29, 2020
Mario Alberto Gaytan Castillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
I give it a 10 because the integration it gives to all the different teams of the Meraki family is excellent.

Also the same cloud tells you when there is a new version of software and it is applied automatically, you do not have to search for software images and upload it manually, but everything is already automated by the same management cloud.
Read Mario Alberto Gaytan Castillo's full review
May 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Scalability

10
The line of Cisco Meraki MX devices allows for right sizing an appliance for its intended location. We have found the MX67 to be a great starting point for all of our branch offices. Cisco Meraki MX works great with network hardware from other vendors, so we have been able to scale our networks as needed without issue.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

8
The scalability of the Meraki stack has provided for a seamless transition across our organization, from integrating not only switches but also wireless access points. Because of the Meraki cloud management, we have been able to ship MX64s off to temporary offices and had them pre-programmed. This has made it easy for us to set up remote operations without the need to have technicians on-site.
Read this authenticated review
April 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
when doing a very large scale deployment of branch offices the MX series had a cap of 50 devices, not sure if this has been increased, but had to create two hops when traversing the limit
Read this authenticated review
February 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
The Cisco Meraki platform is extremely scalable, and can even be integrated into SD WAN solutions to provide multi site connectivity. This is extremely useful for business with multiple locations, or those lacking VPN expertise. The Cisco Meraki MX/platform provides an easy to use interface to set up these features.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
It is extremely easy to scale this solution, adding more MR or MS devices to the ecosystem.
Read this authenticated review
October 29, 2020
Oswaldo Tirado Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Scalability

8
The solution is effectively scalable since there is no limit of access points or switches that you can add to the network, so it can scale as the company grows in areas to cover, devices for remote workers or to cover new points of the wired network. All equipment provided they have their respective license can join the dashboard and even replicate the configurations already defined for similar devices.
Read Oswaldo Tirado Diaz's full review
August 01, 2020
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
We have been able to deploy this solution in stages at multiple branches and then later on, also connect two different businesses together using Cisco Meraki products too, so it's simple, integrated, and able to scale and grow too. We added High Availability pairing with multiple MXs at the original primary site for redundancy.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
July 30, 2020
Ryan Deppe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

8
The document and support speeds of the MX firewalls can be somewhat limiting. Additional thought will need to be put into the supported capability of each model as Internet bandwidths increase across carriers.
Read Ryan Deppe's full review
September 28, 2020
Cesar Durán | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Scalability

10
This solution is very helpful and powerful. You can change the configuration from all devices with just a couple of clicks. It’s easy and fast--you can take control and manage solutions, apps, and behavior to help your business. You can create policies, rules, app schedulers, and a lot of things.
Read Cesar Durán's full review
August 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
You can scale out the MX to many branches very easily and manage them all under one dashboard. If you dive into their other products you just keep adding them to the Meraki cloud so you continue to get better visibility over wifi, wire network, cameras, MDM devices, and more. I really like how they keep fitting everything together. So the more you use the more you will see.
Read this authenticated review
July 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Scalability

8
the easy use of the platform in all its products is one of the main points to recommend Meraki.

Cisco Meraki includes a solution to maximize security and protect the connection of remote workers and their devices.
With this solution, workers can connect to the company network from a mobile phone, a laptop, a wired broadband connection or a 3G, 4G or 5G connection through a VPN connection to access corporate applications and to corporate email in a totally secure way thanks to RADIUS (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) authentication.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (33)
8.1
Visualization Tools (32)
8.2
Content Inspection (32)
8.3
Policy-based Controls (32)
8.3
Active Directory and LDAP (26)
8.5
Firewall Management Console (32)
8.4
Reporting and Logging (33)
7.1
VPN (31)
9.1
High Availability (29)
9.0
Stateful Inspection (29)
8.1
Proxy Server (20)
7.2

What is Cisco Meraki MX?

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a Unified Threat Management (UTM) and Software-Defined WAN solution. As a UTM product, Meraki MX provides content filtering, app-specific traffic control, intrusion prevention, malware protection, and site-to-site VPN that is deployable on hardware or virtually. It also enables firewall management remotely for 24x7 monitoring and accessibility.

Cisco Meraki MX Downloadables

Cisco Meraki MX Competitors

Cisco Meraki MX Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
MX64$595per appliance
MX67$695per appliance
MX68$995per appliance
MX84$1,995per appliance
MX100$4,995per appliance
MX250$9,995per appliance
MX450$19,995per appliance

Cisco Meraki MX Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Meraki MX?

Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls is a combined UTM and Software-Defined WAN solution. Meraki is managed via the cloud, and provides core firewall services, including site-to-site VPN, plus network monitoring.

What is Cisco Meraki MX's best feature?

Reviewers rate VPN highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Cisco Meraki MX?

The most common users of Cisco Meraki MX are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.