Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
67 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Andy Bolom | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Cisco Meraki Wireless Access by Mr. Bolom

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point makes it easier for my team to deploy and administer wireless connections at every location. This addresses the concerns of growing my IT team and help save the overall IT budget.
  • Cloud management.
  • Wireless Access Point software upgrades.
  • Expansion and deployment.
  • Pricing.
  • Allowed the WAP to function locally without the usage of cloud subscriptions.
Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point is well suited for SOHO and big corporations. It's one of the best wireless solutions in today's market.
Read Andy Bolom's full review
Francisco Davila Romero | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Meraki APs value for money

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used in our whole company. We have 330 Access Points distributed in our stores, our distribution center and our corporate offices. For stores our wireless infrastructure is used for business applications and also for client navigation. For our distribution center it's part of its core, for product registration and wireless telephony, and in the corporate offices it's used for mobility within the areas for laptops and cell phones.
  • Easy to manage and to obtain information
  • The configuration interface is pretty intuitive
  • Easy integration with analytics platforms
  • WiFi6 is only available on the most expensive models
  • Model MR18 (End of Sale now, but we have some that are still operating) tend to suspend 2, 4GHz band transmission, and the APs have to be reset.
  • Full integration with Cisco DNA
Well suited for retail stores or areas with transactional operations.
Read Francisco Davila Romero's full review
Jason Polce | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Cisco Meraki MR Wireless Access Points

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Points in our office are in use across the entire organization. It provides full, secure wireless coverage for both guests and corporate users and also provides visibility into what is happening on the wireless networks.
  • Network visibility and reporting through the Meraki dashboard
  • Easy provisioning and onboarding of new Access Points
  • Secure Guest access through built in firewall
  • Content Filtering and group policy out of the box
  • Could allow for more detailed reporting that is only currently available to Meraki technical support
  • Auto-detection of external antennas instead of manual configuration per AP
  • Advanced features such as Clean Air that are only available with Cisco APs currently
Cisco Meraki is well suited for general wireless access in most office environments. Unless there is a need for advanced tuning of specific channels or having a physical controller on premise, the Meraki solution is great. It provides ease of use, secure access, network visibility and zero touch provisioning all out of the box.
Read Jason Polce's full review
Randy Zuehlke | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Great Security Feature Set and Easy to Use and Deploy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meraki is being used across our entire organization, which includes offices from the West Coast to the East Coast. We use it to manage our domain and guest access. It is scalable and easy to use.
  • APs are easy to configure and setup.
  • Visibility across the entire network is easy to obtain via the dashboard.
  • Enabling security features, via Air Marshall and Firewall portals is easy and intuitive.
  • Provide more options for 2FA, particularly for administrator accounts.
I am focused on the security aspects of Meraki, so it has been well-suited in our environment. We are also a US-based firm, so we do not have any technical issues due to overseas deployment.
Read Randy Zuehlke's full review
Branden Beachy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

A great solution for schools

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki ccess points exclusively in our school district. We currently have about 550 access points spread between 15 locations. Most of these access points are in classrooms, but we also have them in offices, large spaces such as gyms and auditoriums, as well as on the outside. We have been able to cover just about any area we want with some combination of Meraki AP's and antennas, including a bus compound where buses wirelessly upload their surveillance videos every day.
  • The biggest plus for Meraki is its user interface. It is simple and easy to use. It is cloud-based, so you can access it anywhere, and since it is cloud-based, they can add features at any time without me having to "manage" a controller.
  • Ease of installation - Access points can be completely set up in the cloud, without having the device in hand, so the AP can be shipped to remote locations and installed by end-users who don't have to know anything about AP's. All they have to do is clip a few small brackets to the ceiling tile grid, screw the backing plate into those brackets with 2 screws, plug the cable in, and snap the AP onto the backing plate. It is extremely easy.
  • Meraki's layer 7 firewall rules and reporting are incredible. You have very good visibility into exactly what traffic is going through the AP's, and you can also throttle and restrict based on those layer 7 things, as well as normal firewalling.
  • Reporting overall is pretty comprehensive - you can get very detailed information on who is doing what, and what device they are doing it with, and how much bandwidth that is consuming - all in a clean interface.
  • There are some hardware features that seem to lag behind Cisco's other AP product lines. It would be nice if you could have all the features of the top-of-the-line Cisco AP's combined with the Meraki interface.
  • Occasionally you will find some features you need missing, only to find out that it is there, but can only be turned on by tech support.
  • The licensing has been a little complicated with the way they lump all licenses together, but they are improving that system now.
Cisco Meraki is well suited for any situation where you need to deploy a large number of AP's, and have limited time to manage them would be where Meraki shines. If you have very specific requirements for very large density or scenarios where you need many different AP models for many different scenarios, then other vendors might have a larger variety of AP models that might suit your needs better.
Read Branden Beachy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Easy as setting up your home network. Mass deployment with simple setup.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for wireless mesh networking company-wide for when users complain of slow network and/or weak wifi signals.
  • Ease of use and set-up.
  • Single pane of glass for network management.
  • Ability to set-up prior to having physical hardware.
  • Ability to deploy at remote site locations without an IT presence.
  • Intuitive user interface.
  • Granular/advance settings require tech support.
  • Locked into a subscription model. No ability to make changes if out of the subscription.
  • Downgrading firmware for troubleshooting can be a bit of work.
Great for small IT shops where you don't need a network engineer to set up a mesh network and go. Great for setting a wifi network where you don't have any IT support techs. Set it up remotely and send the APs to the site, anybody can plug it into the network and you're set.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Why Meraki APs?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Meraki wireless AP is used by my entire organization. The biggest issue it resolved was radius (AD) authentication. Ease of management of the solution has no price.
  • The ease of configuration. The Meraki portal is user friendly and APs are very easy to set up.
  • Reporting details such as who is connected and what device is connected is extremely helpful in troubleshooting and securing the WiFi network.
  • The ease of management. Once the APs are online, the portal shows you all the information you need to troubleshoot any issue.
  • I feel the biggest thing is creating predictive heat maps. I have to use third party solutions to design a WiFi solution. It would be nice to use the same platform for the design and the solution
With the vast selection of models and their capabilities, a Meraki solution will fit anywhere you need WiFi coverage. No matter how big or small the office, or venue may be, Meraki has you covered.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Meraki Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to provide wireless service to hundreds of users in a large office building where there is a need to have roaming access across different areas.
  • Good capacity to manage devices.
  • Central operation.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Cheaper cost.
Large scale companies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Meraki - Ease of management.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Meraki Access Points are used across our entire organization, including multiple departments. One of the main reasons I like Meraki is that it is all managed through the cloud. I can pull reports, configure, and manage Access Points all over the place from my desk. Prior we had various vendors in each building all with a different management client or protocol.
  • Ease of Management from a central cloud location.
  • Controls are relatively easy to use once you become familiar.
  • Co-terms my license every year so that it is a simple single renewal.
  • As, AP's Meraki is great! MDM mobile device management - we also use Meraki to help with mobile devices. It works, but not flawless.
Great for Campus, multi-building, multi-floor, multi customer environments. Easy to manage, and easy to add an AP into an environment. Just add it to the group and it inherits the settings and just works.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

Meraki Makes Wireless Easy and Fun

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you read my other reviews of Cisco Meraki products, you will know I am an unabashed lover of Meraki cloud-managed networking. Just like the switches and firewall products I use, the Meraki access points (AP) offer incredible ease of installation, configuration, management, and monitoring. I use two of these to blanket our office in WiFi, and users are always ensured of the best WiFi experience as they move around the office because the APs automatically switch devices to the AP with the strongest signal for their locations. Users are presented with a single SSID regardless of the number of APs present, solving the issue of the user having to move their device to a new AP when the old one is out of range as they move. Just like all the Meraki products on my account, I can configure and monitor them from a single dashboard.
  • You can advertise up to 15 SSIDs, enabling different networks for different audiences and purposes, each with their own splash pages, if desired. Used in concert with a Meraki firewall, you can apply traffic shaping rules independently for each network. For example, devices I issue to my employees enjoy unlimited WiFi bandwidth, while guest users access a network with bandwidth restrictions.
  • You can channel SSIDs to use different WANs, too. So my employees get WiFi access through our fiber connection, while guest traffic is shuttled through a separate copper connection. Not only is this good from a security perspective, but it means employees don't have to compete with guests for network bandwidth (and vice versa).
  • Meraki allows you to build maps of your locations in the dashboard using an uploaded floor plan, upon which you can precisely place your Meraki hardware. From this map, you can see how many devices are on each AP and then drill down to see which devices these are—how cool is that? With the location heatmap, you actually see where devices are physically located on the floor plans.
  • There are eight different authentication options available, including paid access, which allow you various control mechanisms for each network you create. So you can offer a free tier for one network and a paid tier for another, offering paying users a higher-performing option, for instance.
  • You can choose to make certain networks a part of your LAN, getting DHCP leases from domain controllers and allowing WiFi clients to seamlessly interact with wired clients. Other clients, such as guests, can get leases through Meraki DHCP. In NAT mode, you can also conduct content filtering.
  • You can also track and monitor Bluetooth clients on your network. In short, you can see just about any wireless device, which makes these APs really useful for security monitoring.
  • One of my favorite features is being able to monitor network health by bandwidth type, such as distinguishing between video and voice. Meraki is constantly adding features to the dashboard, and this recent addition is much appreciated.
  • I honestly can't think of a single thing I don't like about these APs or the Meraki software. Note that the capabilities of these APs will be diminished if you are not using them in concert with a Meraki Firewall, so keep that in mind when making your purchasing decision.
  • Also, note that the hardware becomes uses without product licenses. Since these are cloud-managed devices, you have to have a license to continue to use them. If you don't want to get locked into annual renewal costs, these are not the products for you.
Flexible mounting options and a scalable architecture mean you can use them anywhere and for any size coverage area, whether it is a small office with a single AP or a large campus with dozens. I have mine mounted above a drop ceiling, so they are completely hidden from view but still offer excellent coverage. Meraki offers a range of APs and firewalls to meet various sizes of installations and budgets. The broad range of settings and configuration options allows for a simple setup to the incredibly complex, and everything in between.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
David Peck | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Meraki's Z3 for Remote Workers is a WIN/WIN

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Specifically, we are using the Z3 model WAP. We needed a better solution to support our remote workers across the entire firm. The legacy system the Merakis' replaced was very time consuming to get a remote work up and functional, consumed a licensing model that was impossible to attribute to the business units and when we needed to redeploy an existing unit, that caused a lot of heartache for both the end user as well as the networking team.
  • Easy to purchase licensing model.
  • Deployment is simple and cost-effective.
  • Easy to scale as needed.
  • The dashboard could allow you to create a folder structure to store networks in.
  • Ability to create custom content on dashboards.
  • Support for eigrp on the MX gateways would be awesome.
We use and love it for providing a simple, cost-effective remote worker solution that is easy to set up and support. The cloud interface makes it all easy to scale and support as the number of remote works grows. The licensing is simply bought with each Z3 making it easy to return the cost of the solution over to the business units making the request. I really can't comment on other Meraki WAPs because this is the only way we have used them.
Read David Peck's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2019

Meraki Wireless Access Points deploy and manage rapidly

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki Wireless is being used on a departmental basis, testing on both corporate and public guest wifi scenarios. We are trying to understand the capacity limits of the devices and whether they are suitable for running a number of SSIDs simultaneously.
  • Easy and intuitive GUI dashboard.
  • Variety of complex functions such as VLAN tagging.
  • Data gathering analytics.
  • The "Make a Wish" element needs improvement as you cannot see the state of your feature request and when it might be implemented.
  • Stored data retention only seems to be kept for a month, for GDPR requirements we need at least one year.
  • 4GHz SSID seems to be very poor, and some devices cannot join on this band.
The devices appear to be well suited to guest wifi availability, and they easily connect into existing switching infrastructure and offer decent functionality such as guest WiFi splash pages, and single sign-on via Meraki cloud or even through RADIUS services. Support functionality is decent and Cisco technicians are very quick at picking up any tickets and advising on how to resolve problems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2019

Meraki makes it EASY

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Cisco Meraki throughout our entire internal organization as well as to provide free wireless internet to thousands of residents within our community. It addresses the need for many access points being managed by a single dashboard to give us greater insight into both usage, as well as any sort of access issues we encounter.
  • Easy setup
  • Set it and forget it
  • Ability to manage unlimited number of access points and networks
  • Multiple network availability
  • Slow notification response when AP's go down
  • Not a lot of in depth advanced settings
  • Some firmware bugs that have not been addressed
Cisco Meraki is perfectly suited for nearly any scenario a corporate IT department may encounter, from internal-only to managing a vast network of devices in a city setting. We have around 9,000 residents that are able to use free internet access from the Meraki AP's at nearly 10 different locations, all with amazing speed and reliability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Cisco Meraki Access Points are great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Points are being used throughout all 10+ of our different site locations with over 5,000 users a day on the APs combined. Currently we have almost 1 AP in every room due to 30 + devices per room needing wifi connection. The APs allow us to set up guest sign-on, use air marshall to attack rogue hotspots from students and we are able to turn on different SSIDs to each AP if we need to.
  • The Cisco Access points are great at load balancing for us. When the AP has too many devices it will kick one off however another AP next to it will pick it up.
  • The guest splash sponsor login works perfectly. Guests have to send an email to our staff and then they get approved.
  • The ability to reboot the AP from the office is actually a big deal for us due to the distance from us to the farthest location we support as it can take 30 minutes one way.
  • I would like to see Cisco Meraki APs be able to connect with the Chromebooks so that we may see which user is active on an AP.
  • I would like to view traffic on an AP after 30 days however Cisco does not store after 30 days.
Cisco Meraki Access Points are very well suited for a large business where you have a large area to cover. It could be one building with multiple floors or a number of buildings all spread out. Due to the cost of the equipment and the licensing I do not recommend the APs to a small business.
Read this authenticated review
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Meraki Wireless has a small business feel but big business delivery!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Meraki Wireless is the sole source for our wireless coverage for not only internal security but our guest network. We also use Cisco Meraki Wireless to provide private SSID's for internal camera systems, smart TVs, and other equipment. Cisco Meraki Wireless is the only wireless solution in a four-floor office building with about 200 employees serviced by about 20 access points. This solution addresses all of our wireless network needs for staff, contractors, guests, and dedicated technology uses.
  • Cisco Meraki Wireless does a GREAT job marketing their product and building your trust. They offer free and very informative webinars that offer free gear for your home network. They rely on word of mouth marketing and it simply works. They offer great try and buy programs as well. They stand behind their product and trust the technology.
  • Cisco Meraki Wireless administrators dashboard is top notch. Their wireless UI interface is integrated with all other Cisco Meraki Wireless products. This makes it easy to use. It has single-use credentials and is seamless.
  • Cisco Meraki Wireless support is also top notch. While they are backed by Cisco, Meraki always feels like you are working with a small business that takes your account seriously. They are specialized and a rare breed in the industry. Getting support from them is a pleasure!
  • Cisco Meraki Wireless's access points models could use some expansion for other use cases. They have a variety of applications for their limited models of AP's but I would love to see them expand their line to support larger venues or APs that can go in enclosures for large public venues. I do believe they technically could do this but it seems to not be their prime deployment demographic.
  • I believe Cisco Meraki could improve its reporting features within its dashboard. They have plenty of options for templates and reports but increases user control around data usage or trends that we can set as customers would be helpful and increase export options.
  • I would like to see Cisco Meraki offer options to dump or log data from the AP to environments locally and on a scheduled job. This would help for increased ability to troubleshoot and understand issues.
Cisco Meraki Wireless is a perfect solution for your home, small businesses, dorms, etc. I do not think Cisco Meraki Wireless is the best solution for a full-blown enterprise, nor is it a large public venue solution. I think it technically could do it but would not bring the enterprise level of configuration and development that others could such as Cisco itself or Aruba.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Cisco Meraki Wireless AP in small office environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Meraki Wireless Access Points in our customer LAN environment. It used used for intra traffic as well as for guests to access the Internet. With the Meraki wireless system is really easy to separate different security areas from each others with one centralized management application.
  • Setting up the system is surprisingly easy
  • Day to day operation of the system is easy
  • Maintenance of the system is easy
  • I don't have anything negative to say from this product
Cisco Meraki wireless access points are well fit to environments from a single office to multiple offices in multiple locations. Managing different environments is really easy through the centralized management console application which also gives an excellent view of what is happening on the network and in what shape the environment and its components are.
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Great solution for remote management, good performace if choose the correct device

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using these devices over than 4 years. We decided to try them because cloud management was very attractive for us. So we start to use it for one of our offices and the devices work fine, the performance is good but not the best. Sometimes it's necessary to restart the devices so they work well again. The configuration is very simple and the management is very easy.
  • Excellent cloud management
  • Traffic Control
  • Handle 5 Ghz Frequency
  • Ease of configuration.
  • Can create multiple SSID
  • The APs performance could be better
  • You can't configure them without an internet connection
  • The traffic reports could be better
If you dont want on-premise infrastructure for your wireless network this solution is a good option, you can manage the entire company's wireless network remotely, the configuration is easy and simple. But if you are planning to acquire some of these devices you need to check the model of the access points you need based on the number of users that you have. If you choose an incorrect access point maybe you will experiment bad quality of the service and the access points won´t work properly.
Read Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez's full review
Joe Spradlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

Cisco Meraki AP's, The Pot 'O Gold at the end of a rainbow

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Meraki Wireless Access points throughout our entire enterprise. We primarily utilize it for fast and secure wireless access for our mobile workstations on our manufacturing floor. Additionally, we leverage the built in Cisco Meraki Mobile Device Manager to monitor and maintain comprehensive control over our corporate owned cellphones and laptops.

Business Problems Addressed:
1. Maintaining Compliance with NIST 800-171. We must maintain compliance due to the nature of our business with the government. The MDM (Mobile Device Management) capabilities enable us to comply with the requirements driven by the NIST 800-171 of being able to remotely wipe cellphones and laptop devices in event of misplacement or theft.
2. Provides a level of scalability that enables us to expand our Wi-Fi coverage quickly and easily.
3. Allows us to create policies that let us know whether or not the device(s) are in compliance.
4. Allows IT personnel to fully manage the AP's and devices from one pane of glass. The Meraki dashboard is cloud based and enables us to manage our mobile devices as well as our wireless infrastructure from any internet connected computer.
  • Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point, when set up properly in a large environment does a great job creating a seamless Wi-Fi enterprise class environment. The AP's mesh very well and with proper a design layout they can create a very robust and reliable Wi-Fi network capable of handling all your network needs.
  • Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Points come with the cloud enabled Meraki Dashboard. The dashboard enables your IT Department to manage all Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Points from one pane of glass (one interface) as well as any other Cisco Meraki device; switches, firewalls, cameras, etc...
  • The Cisco Meraki Dashboard provides an interface that makes troubleshooting and problem resolution more intuitive by providing seamless integration with all Cisco Meraki devices. If a Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point goes offline, you can set up email alerts to stay proactive in providing rapid response solutions. Swapping out a device in most cases takes only minutes due to the cloud based configuration transfer to the new device.
  • Visibility and control over your Wi-Fi bandwidth is intuitive and easy to manage. the Firewall and traffic shaping feature allows you use layer 7 firewall rules to block unwanted applications such as peer-to-peer (P2P), Advertising, Web File Sharing, Gaming, Blogging, Online Backups, etc...many categories to choose from. You can eve block HTTP hostnames, ports, and remote IP addresses ranges and port ranges. Other traffic shaping rules include per client bandwidth limits and per SSID bandwidth limits. If you want to separate your corporate LAN from your guest networks, it as simple as setting up the included layer 3 firewall rules.
  • Depending on your business size and budget, the cloud based subscription model may not acceptable to upper management.
  • Must maintain subscription to utilize Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Points.
  • Additional functionality and support for Mobile Device Management (MDM) comes with an additional cost if you want telephone support, otherwise it is limited to a certain number of devices and tech support via email only.
I have been a Cisco Meraki fan for many years. I love the cloud based model and the feature rich environment Cisco continually develops. Our business is considered a small business, however, with our facility size and square footage when discussing Wi-Fi coverage we are probably considered more along the lines of a medium / large enterprise. For us it made sense because of the direction we are taking with the Meraki devices such as AP's, switched and firewalls. The Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point along with the dashboard will enable us to manage all from one dashboard and for a small IT department like ours, that means more efficient deployment and troubleshooting. If you only need a couple AP's, I would recommend taking a more economical approach, however, if you need a meshed / redundant Wi-Fi network that is easy to scale out, Meraki AP's are suited perfectly.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
Kewyn Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2018

A perfect way to migrate WLAN administration and management to the cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is deployed on some Sites but we are currently in the process to standardize on all sites. In the site that I currently work, the Meraki solution is fully deployed and is a great advantage to have the administration in the cloud and the simplicity of the deployment of new Access Points
  • Cloud Administration
  • Simple deployment
  • BYOD
  • Traffic Shaping
  • Rf Optimization
  • Ad authentication
WELL SUITED
  1. Low IT Employees supporting the operation
  2. Remote Branches
LESS APPROPRIATE
  1. A place where the internet is very well restricted
  2. Small business with just basic using of internet


Read Kewyn Medina's full review
Jon Gabriel Bolland II | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2017

Meraki Wireless overall a Win

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a construction company we have many temporary offices that only exist during the length of the job. Meraki makes it easy to deploy wireless and wired networks to our job trailers with out the need of sending a tech on site. This is a huge plus. The fact that they are cloud managed, and easy to deploy is great. We have had great success with these in the field.
  • Easy to deploy, templates for networks make it super easy apply the template you need for the site and send it.
  • Easy to integrate into Microsoft Windows Active Directory for authenticating users.
  • Cloud Managed so I can see the health of all my networks from one dashboard.
  • If you don't pay for maintenance they quit working. However, the value added with their maintenance makes it worth it.
If you want to deploy networking without the need of sending a tech to every site this is a great investment.
Read Jon Gabriel Bolland II's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2018

A great Wireless solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This solution is in place in our main office only and is setup to resolve the issues we had with wireless blackspots with other solutions.
  • Simple to deploy
  • Aesthetically pleasing
  • Very simple to manage
  • Great alerting when something goes down or is misconfigured
  • Automatic updates, that you choose when to deploy
  • "Set and forget"
  • Some updates have caused a bug or two, but gets quickly resolved
  • If you go offline, management/updating a device is obviously tricky as it relies on the cloud to get its config
  • Local access to devices is limited, as above - if you are offline you cant pre-configure a device until its got internet access
This is another one of those stable, it just works solutions. The management interface via the cloud is great and simple, makes managing an entire 5-floor office a piece of cake. The hardware itself performs great. I've not had any real issues, 100% the best wireless product I have used.... but it is expensive! if your budget allows this is what you want for wireless!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2017

Meraki APs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is currently using the Meraki APs for our retail locations as well as our corporate office. Our techs enjoy using the features of the interface and have ease of use when utilizing the interface. The WAPs are easy to install and support has never been a problem. Firewall rules can be created per SSID and detecting high bandwidth users is easy with the web interface.
  • Easy setup
  • Reliable hardware
  • Cisco compatibility
  • Unnecessary interface changes
  • Support has corrupted files
  • Alerting for IDS could be better
Great for companies with limited IT support. Could be a problem for large organizations with extended security measures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2017

Cisco Meraki Wireless WAN for SMB organizations

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Meraki Wireless (in addition to Firewall and Switching) for our entire mesh network at multiple locations. It has helped us resolve issues related to connectivity, remote work, public and private SSIDs, WIP, etc.
  • Seamless SSID configuration against multiple remote.
  • Layer-7 traffic shaping helps ensure that we offer expected services to our clientele while maintaining security and sufficient levels of bandwidth for business continuity.
  • Meraki's UI is extremely intuitive and user-friendly.
  • By far, the biggest issue (not necessarily specific to Wireless) is with VPN connections. Meraki is great at setting up and managing VPNs to Meraki peers but lacks basic and vital functionality when it comes to non-Meraki peers. I realize this is a function of the firewall, but for organizations looking at Meraki as a potential enterprise network solution, this should be a consideration.
  • Specifically related to Wireless WAN, we really have no reservations concerning functionality.
  • Meraki has always been expensive (with recurring licensing costs). However, since the acquisition by Cisco, this has multiplied.
Meraki is particularly well suited to organizations with larger and co-located facilities. It would be more difficult to realize the benefits that are unique to Meraki in an organization that is very small or only serves a few clients.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point Scorecard Summary

About Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point

Cisco offers the Meraki (MR) line of wireless access points supporting basic LAN with inbuilt antivirus (NAC), cloud management with network-wide access control, and location analytics, as well as support for indoor and outdoor spaces of various sizes across different product models.
Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No