Cisco Nexus Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
81 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Justin Czachor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Cisco Nexus] as a server networking layer. All of our storage, compute, and server room networking connect through our Nexus 9k. We also use it for our core networking and routing layer. Our whole network connects through the Nexus 9k. It really does an amazing job at keeping our network strong and healthy.
  • Uptime
  • Availablity
  • Reliability
  • Smartnet is extremely expensive.
Cisco Nexus is extremely powerful and reliable as a core networking product. It works well at handling all core routing and all data center type routing and switching. The reliability of the Cisco Nexus 9k is amazing, it never goes down and even when it does the logging and it's capabilities are incredible. It's so reliable that when it does have a problem you're shocked.
Read Justin Czachor's full review
June 21, 2021
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some time ago when our data center was made up of stand-alone physical servers and some virtualized servers, we had the need to have a solution of more powerful and robust Switches. This is why, for our main datacenter, we opted to use Nexus Switches as Top of Rack and increase the speed and performance levels towards 10Gbps and 40 Gbps speeds that a datacenter must operate at.
  • High level throughput
  • Very stable and robust
  • Good performance
  • Expensive support cost
  • High learning curve
  • Complicated licensing model
Cisco Nexus provides a solution to connect your data center that is very reliable and solid. During our years of use with this equipment we have not had major problems such as service stops or network drops. Before any hardware problems [occured], the support quickly provided us with an RMA for replacement, five stars definitely.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
May 26, 2021
Younes Akrouch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus 9000 is used as our main DC switching and fabric with integration into our VMware environment. Implementing VPCs and Tor cross the DC gives us high bandwidth and scale for our server farm.
  • VPC
  • Throughput
  • Reliability
  • Software update trains.
  • SFP/Twinax compatibility expansion.
  • Different railing for non servers racks.
Cisco Nexus 9000 is a must-have in DC; it does provide ACI fabric for application awareness and expansion using FEX and virtual redundancy using VPC in addition to providing security and segregation with ADC domains.
Read Younes Akrouch's full review
January 04, 2021
Tim Short | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus is being used in all of our data centers for top of rack switches and for core switches along with doing our routing. We also have FEX modules but those have caused a few minor issues and will not work for our use but that was due to a product misunderstanding and can be resolved with the FEX, just not in a secure or advised matter.
  • HSRP
  • We are using them for NTP servers
  • Sflow with Solar Winds
  • Firmware numbers and branches can be confusing.
  • FEX modules can not have VPC with end user switches due to RSTP errors.
  • Breakout cable configuration.
Cisco Nexus is well suited for data centers more than end-users and has very robust capabilities that can be very helpful. But on the downside, knowing what "feature set" to enable or the syntax to enable to proper feature and the licensing to use that feature can take some help from a vendor or someone who really knows Cisco licensing.
Read Tim Short's full review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus switches are being used within our organization as our data center core. This means that it handles all the highly valued traffic for development, production, quality assurance[,] and more. Cisco Nexus switches are a must in a data center environment where you need to guarantee traffic at particular speeds and reliability.
  • Processing
  • High bw utilization
  • Spine-leaf architecture
  • Different feel compared to Catalyst switches
  • Have to enable features to use
  • Licensing
Cisco Nexus switches are designed for data center environments or other environments that require high bandwidth switching. This includes mainly server connections with many virtual machines residing on them, fabric channel of ethernet[,] or something similar. Nexus is not suited for user switches, WAN switches, or other switches that don't need a lot of processing power.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Cisco Nexus 3000 (3k) series switches in a split data center environment for a manufacturing data network. We have two UCS B servers in two different physical locations. We use four of the Nexus 3000 series switches for this design, there are two in each data center using HSRP for failover and then trunked with four 10gb uplinks in LAG between them. The network these support are business critical to support our operations. We needed fast switching between the two data centers and the Nexus 3000 series switches were able to solve the design requirements.
  • Fast switching needs for data center
  • HSRP works really well
  • Once on a stable NX-OS build, they can run for extended periods of time with minimal interactions
  • If you are on the wrong code it can be buggy
  • When deploying, one switch was bricked (dead) during an upgrade of the NX-OS, and had to be replaced
  • If you are not familiar with NX-OS it can be difficult to configure
  • They lack some of the functionality that the Nexus 9k has
After working with these switches for a few years I can say I am overall happy with how they work. Getting them setup was a little more difficult than when I setup Nexus 5000 series switches. There seemed to be syntax issues as well as some buggy code that stopped me from doing some very basic things. I did set these up with two in one data center, and two on another to work together with load balancers for servers and VDI. Once they were setup they can be a nearly set it and forget it. They run fast and I have had no issues with them keeping the network up 24x7x365 for years. They can have maintenance done during windows but other than that, I have not had any issues since the initial deployment several years ago. I would not recommend someone trying to replace a core switch with these switches. They really should be kept in the data center, and use a switch that has been designed for more core functionality.
The Nexus 3000 series switches are data center switches, so I would say they have similar security ability to other switches in this segment. I don't have a lot of experience doing more than basic ACL security on switches, but I know these can be integrated into other security solutions like Cisco ISE and 802.1x authentication. It could also be integrated into an ACI solution to add micro segmentation, which would bring in other security functions.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Nexus gear for our core network services in our datacenter. Nexus switches have enabled us provide all services from a central switching stack and reduce necessary switches in our environment.
  • 10g copper, 1g copper, SFP fibre, switch stacking, cable balancing
  • Extremely good network speeds, and easy administration of switch config
  • Excellent integration to Cisco monitoring and config backup software
  • Some limited switch commands on the lower 3k series
  • Quite costly versus catalyst series that has most all the hardware and software features
  • For those that like cloud management these don't include this
Cisco Nexus switches are best suited for core network, extremely high uptime requirements, unique fibre/copper network cabling configurations, and necessary monitoring. Contrarily, it's best to choose other switches for small branch office networking, simple cabling requirements for low usage and for networks with minimal network mgmt skills in house.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus 7K series are used within the whole organization as DataCenter Core switches.
Our company is delivering IT support to multiple customer in DataCenter environment
The usage of Nexus 7K is then definitely relevant as you can divide a single physical box into multiple independent logical domain (such as different customer).
  • Virtualization Context (VDC).
  • Good enhancement and features with NX-OS.
  • Upgrade without service disruption.
  • Lots of models and firmware.
  • Breakout cable are very expensive.
  • Many bugs in all the versions.
  • Upgrade is difficult to apprehend at first.
The nexus 7K series is definitely a massive DataCenter Core switch. With the VDC feature, you can separate the servers "world" from the users "world" on the same physical box. This is very modular as you can assign interfaces from one VDC to another and vice versa.
The only concern is when you have to upgrade the device (which is better to do a regular yearly basis if you don't want to perform 3 hops upgrade), you need to bring down at the same time the users and servers "world."
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Cisco Nexus platform on our primary and secondary datacenters on a leaf-spine architecture for about 6 years now.
Our need to increase the communication throughput on our Datacenter, between the datacenter equipments and also from datacenter to end-users, lead us to decide for this design / architecture.
We had some guidance from Cisco and from a local Cisco partner / channel during the implementation project.
We have Cisco Nexus 7k as our top of racks and 2 Cisco Nexus 9k as our datacenter's core. All the communication is redundant and we have at least 10Gb communication between all datacenter equipment.
  • Reliability - Cisco is a well known player due to its products reliability.
  • High throughput.
  • CLI interaction and commands are friendly and familiar.
  • Scalability.
  • Price - Cisco equipment is quite expensive in Brazil.
  • In the last years it required a lot of bug fixes.
It's well suited for medium and large enterprise scales looking for converged datacenter infrastructure and low latencies.
Cisco Nexus is a very reliable platform and Cisco is the biggest player on the Network market. They also have a great support.
The licensing model is still a little bit confusing for me, and the prices in Brazil are quite expensive. So, these are the cons to consider.
Read this authenticated review
April 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Cisco Nexus 7k as a Data Center distribution switch. They are uplinked to a pair of Nexus 6k, and feed to 10-20 Nexus 5ks. We like them for their ability to take a large amount of connections and aggregate them up to the core. Currently, there are 6 groups of 2 paired together, providing close to 120 Gbps to the core.
  • Great, High Density Aggregation
  • Virtual Device Contexts: Different contexts for different tenants
  • Very Scalable
  • No restart in service software upgade
  • VDCs are hard to understand at first crack
  • Nexus 5k is better for TOR and EOR solutions
  • Software is still very buggy even after 5 years.
  • Configuration Sync is buggy as well.
The Nexus 7k is great for larger DCs that require aggregation for TOR and EOR switches. Having Virtual Device Contexts will allow users in a multiple tenant configuration use the switch to their needs without affecting other users. For example, a colocation center could use this to connect multiple tenants to the internet without the tenants seeing each other.

The Cisco Nexus 7k would not be suited for smaller deployments. Cisco Nexus 7K is heavy and overkill for a smaller DC
Read this authenticated review
May 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Nexus 9000 series is widely used as data center spine and leaf switches and also for some edge use cases. A wide range of products and services within wireless, voice, and video use Cisco Nexus switches.
  • Cisco has the best Customer support--TAC
  • Cisco Nexus supports a wide range of protocols and features
  • Speed of rolling out new features and functionality needs to be improved
  • Needs to streamline commands across different Cisco platforms
Well-suited for enterprise and datacenter use cases. Spine leaf architecture with Cisco Nexus 9000 leads to high availability and easy scalability. It's compatible with most other vendor equipment as well.

Not suited for core and backbone networks or for small enterprises due to high capital expenditure.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have leaf-spine architecture deployed with MP-BGP EVPN in our DCs.
  • It's reliable.
  • Loss-less Networking.
  • Unified Fabric VXLAN.
  • VXLAN are mapped to VLAN... it's a very big limitation.
  • In the last 2 years, we have been hit by multiple OS bugs.
It is best suited for DC Networking.
  • in-person training
Cisco's technical support coverage for the software application products and suites that keep your systems and your business running smoothly.
Our Nexus is supported with premium Smartnet. We had opened multiple TAC cases with Cisco got very well supported. it enables us to protect our IaaS Services and overall business.
Cisco has provided comprehensive configuration guide to cover all aspects for device usability
Cisco offer scalable design using there best practices design guides.
Yes - We recently received security advisor from cisco that our is version has major security flow... We immediately planned for upgrade with Cisco TAC support on our side. Upgrade went smoothly.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2020
Collin Lichtenberger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Cisco Nexus in our data center and as an aggregation device, so it is utilized by the majority of our users in this. Primarily, we needed expanded 10G and 10G+ connectivity, and to reduce cost over the catalyst 6500s it replaced. The main cost reduction was the ongoing maintenance costs.
  • Base cost was low (for the 10G connectivity it offered).
  • It's Cisco, their TAC will be available for assistance, they're not going out of business.
  • It has better/more 10G+ speed options than some of the competition.
  • Cisco still lacks a unified operating system across platforms. So command sets are often wildly different.
  • Cisco Nexus still lacks a basic commit, deploy, fallback options to config deployment. They still force you to set a 'reload timer' (or some other [absurd]) remote recovery method. They have deployed this on their ASRs, why not here?
  • Modes are exclusive, meaning if you want to run in CLI mode, you can't leverage any of the ACI infrastructure or vice-versa.
  • While cheap for connectivity, their feature set isn't the best for campus style deployments.
I believe that Cisco Nexus is well suited for the massive data center, although it would benefit from some kind of unified configuration tool (stacking/multi-chassis-design). I realize there are tools out there, but they [are] overly expensive and complicated. We have a small data center (but not tiny) and it's difficult to leverage them well.

Further, while we're using it as an aggregation switch (chiefly due to 10G port density) its skill set is more geared towards data center implementations.
It's Cisco. It's TAC. Their big sales push is, "we'll always be there". Our organization/region is prone to a lot of turn over and skilled employee retention can be difficult to maintain in different seasons, so having a hardware platform that management can reliably get support for, is a major bonus. And this is one of Cisco's core businesses (unlike say security cameras where some support specialists can be lacking.)
In our environment (and especially during COVID and the Work From Home era), I would really like our network devices to be more resilient [against} errors in remote configuration. Having a standard, easy to use, configure, commit/deploy, rollback system should be installed, but it's not there. Other companies have been providing this for over 20 years, and Cisco does this on some of their devices. Why not all?
Read Collin Lichtenberger's full review
December 16, 2020
Juan Jose Prieto Garibaldo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nexus to download telecommunications services to each city (voice, video, and data). My area of ​​expertise is digital vide. Nexus is very useful for us when it comes to propagating multicast in multiplexers and QAM edge equipment, using spanning trees to avoid emissions that saturate the network, and when I tried processing of the computers.
  • Higher bandwidth
  • Better speed in ports
  • Scalability
  • Igmp v3 problem
  • Problem with balancing in Po
  • Problem with fabric modules
It is a great advantage to work with Nexus over Catalyst since many of the bugs that caused service degradation were solved in the new versions of Nexus. Improvements are still needed as I have presented problems never seen before and require access from Cisco engineers to be able to solve the problems.
In our company, we work 24/7, and many times we need valuable help late at night due to totally degraded services. It is necessary to contact Cisco engineers associated with our company network so that they can find a root cause, something that is not known. This is achieved with foreign engineers.
Read Juan Jose Prieto Garibaldo's full review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus 9000 Series switches are part of our ACI solution with the APIC to run in the leaf/spine ACI fabric mode. These switches form a “fat-tree” network by connecting each leaf node to each spine node providing consistent low-latency forwarding across high-bandwidth links.
  • Network automation, improbability, and centralized management
  • Stretch fabric design
  • High speed non-blocking performance
  • Software bugs are disturbing and need faster resolution
  • Admins cannot edit schedule jobs, need to delete and recreate the scheduler
  • The product is pricey in comparison to other vendors
I would recommend to use it in ACI networks because the benefits of the Nexus 9000 series are tremendous. In particular, VXLAN technology helps simplifies data center architecture and makes it easy to integrate legacy networks and add more capacity to the new data center.
The latest software updates have addressed most of the major issues and brought some new services to the data center. Support and software maintenance is great. The TAC team is very professional and always resolve any issue on time.
Highly recommended for Data Center networks with a multi-vendor environment. As part of ACI, it natively integrates with the whole solution providing multi-speed ports with 1/10/25/50/100/400G types.
Also, the platform that supports the application-centric and software-defined network concept that allows the data center network to be accessible and stretched across multiple locations with seamless data center operations and maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2020
João Mauricio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has two units of the Cisco Nexus 7000 Series as the central Core in the datacenter. It is the perfect and ideal solution that we have been needing for years as it is a unique and comprehensive platform for the core network of our data center. It also provides high performance, high resiliency, high port density, port aggregation and connectivity to connect servers and distribution switches.
  • High performance.
  • Highly scalable from modules.
  • Top quality support.
  • Very expensive solution.
  • Configuration requires high knowledge.
The Nexus is suitable for Data Center or Switch Core scenarios in the organization's network. It is not recommended for use in access and distribution due to its high cost, scalability and performance. Nexus has a perfect dimensioning of virtualization infrastructure offering good energy efficiency and cooling and supports the growth of this infrastructure for many years. FabricPath is an innovative technology from the Cisco NX-OS operating system that brings stability and performance and is the foundation for creating massively scalable and flexible data centers.
As I mentioned, it is an excellent DataCenter solution, virtualization and servers with high technology, performance, and scalability. The manufacturer's support and warranty is also excellent with 24/7 assistance and on-site assistance. It is a unique solution, it is not cheap, but it brings many benefits to the organization in terms of connectivity.
Read João Mauricio's full review
March 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used in the whole organization. It has policies for our Internet security, email security & VPN.
  • Software-based security policies with online subscriptions.
  • All-in-one security appliance.
  • Reliable and smooth operations.
  • User interface.
  • Easier way to create security policies.
  • Online training.
Well suited in organization where they are looking for a reliable solution with all-in-one security place.
Could be better if that they asked fewer questions as they should have all our install base details on hand.
Read this authenticated review
September 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Cisco Nexus devices in our data center as both our spine and leaf layers. These solve several problems for us: most notably, the packet forwarding is fantastic, but additionally, the simplicity of these devices having advanced troubleshooting tools and a usable programming interface (NX-API) really makes them quite valuable to our team.
  • Supported API.
  • Fast Packet Forwarding.
  • Advanced Troubleshooting Tools.
  • Obnoxious minor differences in syntax (when compared to other Cisco devices).
  • When issues arise, they can range from innocuous to weird.
  • Updates can be painfully difficult, or require "stepped-upgrades."
The Nexus platform does well at being a data center platform with modular software packages and options. It does a decent job at being a data center platform with a Cisco syntax (and at times it can really be annoying). I would advise its use in a Cisco dominated environment that has deep pockets (these things are NOT cheap). I wouldn't use them in a non-Cisco shop, or one that doesn't have the money to spend all in one place.
I've said it before and I'll say it again: Cisco support is really good at being quick with their replies until they discover it's not a "network-down emergency." They start by immediately responding to your e-mails & inquiries, and the minute they discover that it's not a huge deal the tech-support employee "goes on vacation," defers you to someone else, and that person immediately takes three days to answer any e-mails... and then he just asks for different outputs.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2019
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus switches are in the heart of our data centre providing an ACI software controlled fabric as well in a Nexus-OS software controlled [environment]. Multiple fabrics provide multiple location connectivity layers to our capacity hosts. APIC controlled Nexus fabric day 2 operation is fully automated so that only one-time onboarding infrastructure typed configurations are done via an APIC controller cluster.
  • Configuration from a centralized point
  • High availability in an excellent level, not only physical components
  • APIC for SDN
  • Licensing model is not so clear in all cases, for example the ACI license model changed
  • QoS
  • Hard to keep the SW level bug-free
SDN driven infrastructure with APIC, easy to scale up fabric
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
June 27, 2018
Josh Haberman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Nexus 7000, 5000, and 2000 series "switches" in our data center at our network operations center (NOC). The Nexus series allows us to centrally manage our data center network infrastructure without having to configure and support individual switches.
  • Centrally managed network configuration.
  • Highly redundant network infrastructure.
  • Application optimized network infrastructure.
  • There is a high learning curve for initial installation.
  • Firmware updates require outages.
  • NX-OS has some command differences from Cisco IOS requiring experienced Cisco Network Engineers to educate themselves before being fully effective.
Cisco Nexus products are very effective and efficient to manage in medium to large enterprise data centers. Smaller businesses, companies without their own data centers, or businesses with Cloud native "data centers" will see little to no benefit from Nexus products.
Read Josh Haberman's full review
January 31, 2018
Damien GUESDON | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deploy Cisco Nexus in our NROs. It fit perfectly to our need and is easy to install. We use them like access equipment to provide Fibre technology (FTTH). The model we choose is NXS 3024, which is for us the best ratio price/performance. It is used to provide about 20 Black fiber in a local area.
  • Access switch
  • Dark fiber
  • Trunk
  • Qos
  • Mpls
  • Snmp
Perfectly suited for NROs Deployment in a local area: dark fiber for FTTH to provide high-speed internet to professional customers who need performance and reliability. We have about 30 sites based on this model, and we plan hundred more for the two net years. The price was also a good point to make our choice.
Read Damien GUESDON's full review
August 31, 2017
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 2 Cisco Nexus as our core switches for our datacenter location. The servers in this location are that is left of our on-premises infrastructure. We wanted Nexus because we wanted something that was able to manage multiple 10Gbps links and we wanted something with renowned reliability.
  • Redundancy when used in cluster
  • Configuration syncing when using a recent firmware
  • Reliability
  • Config syncing when using firmware that came with it
  • Fixing config sync problems
  • Understanding how Nexus clusters work
  • Understanding how to setup Nexus clusters
  • Inability to use some Cisco branded SFP because of firmware version
  • Inability to use some Cisco branded SFP because of "hardware" incompatibility even though the same SFP was working fine in Dell products
It is really well suited if you need an always-up core switch and still want to sometimes update/reboot one of the switches.

I don't think that for this price Cisco Nexus is well suited for standalone use except maybe if you use all the 10Gbps ports as it is a symmetric backbone.
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
November 18, 2016
Amarnadh Eedpuganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus is a very optimal solution for data centers that are still running on legacy architecture or the new cutting edge technologies like datacenter virtualization. The beauty of this particular product is Cisco took all the pain in the background for the new technologies in the datacenter infrastructure and they left it with straightforward configuration and architectural solutions to the industry. So we get optimal solutions with less effort, coming to the hardware. This state of the art hardware handles very high density data along with virtualization.
  • vPC, FCoE and IP in one hardware
  • Very high density data capable hardware
  • Optimal for virtualization in datacenters
  • OTV capable
  • Cisco should keep maintaining the similarities between their NXOS, IOS and IOSXR/XE platforms so the engineer's work will be easy when it comes to troubleshooting.
[It is well suited for] vPC, OTV and FCoE and IP mixed environments.
Read Amarnadh Eedpuganti's full review
February 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently our entire data center is supported by Cisco Nexus switches, specifically the Nexus 5600 series and 7000 series Nexus switches. These switches utilized in data center operations in a small to medium size data center. These switches support the need for extremely fast, low latency switches that are required for data center speeds.
  • Easy to use yet robust command line interaction
  • Python support
  • ISSU is available
  • Support for VPC
  • Fast, true near line rate speeds
  • Powerful and stable hardware
  • Well supported and updated operating system with robust online community support and manufacturer support
  • More Linux based commands
  • Add more programming support in the 5k and 7k series switches. While support for programming and automation is very extensive some small improvements could be made
  • Support for additional Python packages, support for more structure protocols like YML, YANG, XML, and JSON
Nexus is well placed already as the industry-wide as a standard data center, core, and backbone layer 3 series switches. Nexus switches are very capable to support any data center or core task. Everything required for this type of support is already packaged into the Nexus OS. Throw in ACI and they become a powerhouse for the data center, able to compete and, in most cases, outperform any other type of networking gear available today. However, because the ASIC is built more to support data center traffic and not access layer traffic, they're not intended for comm closets or edge switching in the enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Nexus for HA and as L3 for our backbone network. It rocks when it comes to high availability and stability.
  • High availability.
  • Stability.
  • Performance.
  • I cannot think of anything that the Nexus can't do!
Cisco Nexus is appropriate for to use for a 10GB backbone, high availability, advanced routing, central point of failure, and gateway. It is less appropriate for small businesses and/or 1GB throughput environments.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Nexus?

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

Cisco Nexus Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$49.00
Maximum Price$200,000.00

Cisco Nexus Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Nexus?

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

What is Cisco Nexus's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Cisco Nexus?

The most common users of Cisco Nexus are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.