Cisco Nexus Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Nexus -- Warp Speed Networking

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Cisco Nexus devices in our data center as both our spine and leaf layers. These solve several problems for us: most notably, the packet forwarding is fantastic, but additionally, the simplicity of these devices having advanced troubleshooting tools and a usable programming interface (NX-API) really makes them quite valuable to our team.
  • Supported API.
  • Fast Packet Forwarding.
  • Advanced Troubleshooting Tools.
  • Obnoxious minor differences in syntax (when compared to other Cisco devices).
  • When issues arise, they can range from innocuous to weird.
  • Updates can be painfully difficult, or require "stepped-upgrades."
The Nexus platform does well at being a data center platform with modular software packages and options. It does a decent job at being a data center platform with a Cisco syntax (and at times it can really be annoying). I would advise its use in a Cisco dominated environment that has deep pockets (these things are NOT cheap). I wouldn't use them in a non-Cisco shop, or one that doesn't have the money to spend all in one place.
I've said it before and I'll say it again: Cisco support is really good at being quick with their replies until they discover it's not a "network-down emergency." They start by immediately responding to your e-mails & inquiries, and the minute they discover that it's not a huge deal the tech-support employee "goes on vacation," defers you to someone else, and that person immediately takes three days to answer any e-mails... and then he just asks for different outputs.
Read this authenticated review
Jyrki Halonen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2019

Cisco Nexus in service provider DC

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus switches are in the heart of our data centre providing an ACI software controlled fabric as well in a Nexus-OS software controlled [environment]. Multiple fabrics provide multiple location connectivity layers to our capacity hosts. APIC controlled Nexus fabric day 2 operation is fully automated so that only one-time onboarding infrastructure typed configurations are done via an APIC controller cluster.
  • Configuration from a centralized point
  • High availability in an excellent level, not only physical components
  • APIC for SDN
  • Licensing model is not so clear in all cases, for example the ACI license model changed
  • QoS
  • Hard to keep the SW level bug-free
SDN driven infrastructure with APIC, easy to scale up fabric
Read Jyrki Halonen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Cisco Nexus rocks! Which is the usual when it comes to Cisco!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Nexus for HA and as L3 for our backbone network. It rocks when it comes to high availability and stability.
  • High availability.
  • Stability.
  • Performance.
  • I cannot think of anything that the Nexus can't do!
Cisco Nexus is appropriate for to use for a 10GB backbone, high availability, advanced routing, central point of failure, and gateway. It is less appropriate for small businesses and/or 1GB throughput environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2018

Cisco Nexus - The Data Center Switch for the Next Generation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus switches are being used as core devices and data center server access switches throughout our company. These switches provide high throughput and density, with very little carbon footprint. The variety of switches you can purchase in the Nexus line is also a bonus. Our users want to be able to access data as quickly as possible, with fault transparency. The Cisco Nexus line of switches provides that capability. The modular switches allow my team to get exactly what type of access is needed, without having to buy multiple switches.
  • These switches are easily programmable. If you are looking at SDN but aren't quite there yet, this switch line is a great starting point. They support DevOps tools, which make automation extremely quick and efficient.
  • There are so many options in this product line, making Nexus a great switch for pretty much any deployment. You can stack switches or use the modular switch, whatever fits your need.
  • These switches support VXLAN, allowing for a multi-tenant network environment, and is perfect for cloud services.
  • The Nexus can run in two different modes, which can make it very difficult to configure. ACI mode is controller based, which is the direction Cisco is going. NX-OS mode is more classic switching.
  • While the NX-OS mode is more classic, some configurations can still be different. For example, you have to turn features on before actually using them (dhcp, tacacs, etc)
  • The licensing model is completely different. It is a learning curve.
Cisco Nexus is well suited for small and large data center deployments. In controller mode, it is much easier to automate and orchestrate network administration. This frees up hours of time. VXLAN allows for greater flexibility and use of the infrastructure, by using an overlay over the existing layer 2 infrastructure. You are also no longer limited to 4096 Vlans. By using a 24-bit segment identifier, the switch can now handle up to 16 million Vlans. For any deployment, the ability to use open standard network automation tools is a huge advantage and time saver.
Read this authenticated review
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Why Coveo chose Cisco Nexus for its core network

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use 2 Cisco Nexus as our core switches for our datacenter location. The servers in this location are that is left of our on-premises infrastructure. We wanted Nexus because we wanted something that was able to manage multiple 10Gbps links and we wanted something with renowned reliability.
  • Redundancy when used in cluster
  • Configuration syncing when using a recent firmware
  • Reliability
  • Config syncing when using firmware that came with it
  • Fixing config sync problems
  • Understanding how Nexus clusters work
  • Understanding how to setup Nexus clusters
  • Inability to use some Cisco branded SFP because of firmware version
  • Inability to use some Cisco branded SFP because of "hardware" incompatibility even though the same SFP was working fine in Dell products
It is really well suited if you need an always-up core switch and still want to sometimes update/reboot one of the switches.

I don't think that for this price Cisco Nexus is well suited for standalone use except maybe if you use all the 10Gbps ports as it is a symmetric backbone.
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
Amarnadh Eedpuganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2016

Nexus Pros and Cons in a nut shell

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Nexus is a very optimal solution for data centers that are still running on legacy architecture or the new cutting edge technologies like datacenter virtualization. The beauty of this particular product is Cisco took all the pain in the background for the new technologies in the datacenter infrastructure and they left it with straightforward configuration and architectural solutions to the industry. So we get optimal solutions with less effort, coming to the hardware. This state of the art hardware handles very high density data along with virtualization.
  • vPC, FCoE and IP in one hardware
  • Very high density data capable hardware
  • Optimal for virtualization in datacenters
  • OTV capable
  • Cisco should keep maintaining the similarities between their NXOS, IOS and IOSXR/XE platforms so the engineer's work will be easy when it comes to troubleshooting.
[It is well suited for] vPC, OTV and FCoE and IP mixed environments.
Read Amarnadh Eedpuganti's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Nexus: Great value, dense, and flexible!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our Nexus 5548UPs for 10G switched connectivity for our compute as well as for routing over our WAN, to our ISP, and to other 1G network infrastructure.
  • Stability
  • Value
  • Density
  • Flexibility
  • QoS not as full featured as routers
  • Different commands than IOS
  • L3 daughterboard instead of native L3
10G connectivity down to compute with a dense form factor as well as for terminating routed connections, particularly when it’s SFP based handoff.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2017

Cisco Nexus datacenter workhorse

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed to take the step to [move to] 10Gigabit, and doing so on the Nexus platform is considerably cheaper then on the Catalyst 6500 platform. Furthermore we were looking into converged networks that were very suitable with the Nexus line of switches, which we later abandoned (not due to Nexus). Lastly the Nexus line of switches were built for the datacenter where we needed the 10G aggregation, and all the good features like lower latency, port-profiles, ISSU, FEX, etc.
  • Nexus line of switches terms gives unprecedented price/performance numbers.
  • Nexus line of switches makes deploying network changes easier due to port-profiles, commit/rollback, API, etc.
  • Nexus line of switches brings great versatility, whether you want cheaper edge ports (FEX), low latency (all switches really, but especially a 3k line), a converged network with DCB support, etc.
  • ISSU is not possible with servers using aggressive timers. This accounts for Windows Server 2012 for instance and can't be changed.
  • Causing disruptive upgrades (can be minimised with VPC, but still drops).
  • Same goes for Spanning-Tree, if you have any switches connected to the Nexus ISSU it's not possible without filtering BPDU or similar nonstandard changes.
  • NX-OS has had a fairly high amount of critical bugs, the kind that makes the boxes crash and reboot.
  • Higher scalabilty figures, the number of logical ports (VLANs pr.port * number of ports) are still quite low. If you allow all VLANs out all ports, you can only have around 100 VLANs, and quite a bit less pr.port if you use FEXes for scalability.
Best Suited:
Converged Datacenter
10G Aggregation
Low latency requirements

Less suited:
Branch office (cost)
Read this authenticated review

About Cisco Nexus

Cisco Nexus is a series of network switches.

Cisco Nexus Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No