Cisco NX-OS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
13 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco NX-OS is used on some Nexus switches in our datacenter. These switches connect to both blade enclosures and individual servers, all of which contain virtual machines. The Nexus switches have the ability to connect to servers with 10GbE and can also converge Ethernet and FibreChannel on a single cable hence simplifying the data centre layout.
  • Commands to combine Ethernet and fibre channel are very useful
  • The ability to use APIs to interact with the OS
  • Being used to Catalyst iOS the change in some commands gets annoying
  • It also came with a new license model compared to iOS devices
Cisco NX-OS is designed to run on data centre switches, and for me the key benefit is the ability to merge Ethernet and fire channel management into a single switch hence reducing cabling and management. However we don't require fibre channel at present so these are just being used for the fact they offer 10GbE on every port, which is still a useful feature in the data centre core.
Given we don't use the fibre channel features, having to learn the difference in commands from iOS is a little frustrating at times.
Security is something I know Cisco take seriously and there are many security features across all their devices. I don't think features like zero-trust are enabled by default though, so it does require reading the relevant guide and applying commands that suit your environment which can mean the implementation is not always as robust as intended.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco NX-OS is a very good IOS software by Cisco. We are controlling all the necessary things using this OS. It is easy to work and administrate. It is easy to configure these NX-os moreover if you face any issues we can every time reach out to Cisco for help and support. overall a very good product.
  • easy to configure
  • easy to configure and deploy the VPC technology
  • easy of administering the NX-os and overall easy configuration and support available
  • For us it is avery wornderful journey using NX-os
  • we haven't come across any issues to have any change in function
  • we are happy with the prodct and it is fullfling our needs regularly
The software NX-OS is a very good IOS developed by Cisco. It is very easy to configure and administrate these NX-OS devices. A lot of improved and high availability HA on the NX-OS. A lot of features and added advantages while we use the devices which have NX-OS. overall we are very happy with the product and we recommend it to all to start using.
the product is safe to use and the IOS is upgraded by ciso whenever there is an vulnerability found out. we are see this tool as one of the best tool and it also support security features like port and ACL etc. the NX-os have even the capability of firewall. we will need to enable the module and we are good to use it . the firewall feature does a good job by filter the unwanted traffic.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2020
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco NX-OS for the operating system of our Nexus switches. We are using it for multiple purposes, one of them as a Data Center core switch, which is used to connect all our servers, storage, and systems. We also use it as a core switch for remote sites.
  • Easy to use
  • Running as separate control plane
  • Great performance on switches
  • No DHCP server available on it
  • No VTP server available on it
Due to the separation of features and the ability to enable each feature when you need it, using Cisco NX-OS decreases the processing on the switch and the memory use as well. The switches become more powerful and can handle much more traffic and sessions than normal switches. The ease of commands makes it simple to use.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
August 27, 2020
Mike Sabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to implement Cisco NX-OS around 2 years ago. We wanted to have a system that could help us manage our data centers and make them "better" for our users. At the beginning, we started just with one data center as a test. Our engineers had a couple of issues but Cisco support helped us to resolve them. After a couple of months of testing, we decided to install Cisco NX-OS on all our data center.
  • Architectural flexibility
  • Operational simplicity
  • End-to-end visibility
  • Integration with 3rd party solutions
Cisco NX-OS allows us to build and improve a stable data center network. It prevents downtime. Many times we faced some network issues and spent long hours trying to find the source of them. Cisco NX-OS helps us resolve them quickly. What is more, with Cisco NX-OS, our data center network is more secure.
Read Mike Sabat's full review
August 20, 2020
John Patrick Duro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cisco NX-OS on our various Cisco Nexus 7000, 5000, 4000, and 1000V deployments. It is being used globally or across the whole organization. It resolves the following business problems we have:
1. Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS) - for centralization and administration of our connected departments.
2. Virtual PortChannel - we required to have Layer 2 multipathing without changing the existing deployments.
3. Software compatibility - we needed to have flexibility with other network OS.
  • Software compatibility
  • Virtual PortChannel
  • Multiprotocol Label Switching (MPLS)
  • Port profiles
  • Autolearn feature for network security configuration - it is not learning as expected and performance is poor.
  • Etheranalyzer - WireShark is more user friendly.
  • Locator/ID Separation Protocol (LISP) - it's too complex to set up.
It is well suited if you have full-blown Cisco solution deployments across the globe because of its compatibility with other Cisco species or technologies. Also, it has a lot of innovative functionalities that you will not find on other network OS from efficiency to security compliance to routing and management effectiveness. If you are looking for an all-purpose OS, go for it, but if you are just requiring specific services that can be found on other network OS, go for that because Cisco is not cheap.
Cisco support never fails me. In terms of timely response, no one is on par with them. They really value the impact of having technical issues and potential business stoppage. Also, their support staff are well equipped with knowledge and skills and easily resolve the most common incidents. Most of the time, we can resolve an issue by just calling them once.
Read John Patrick Duro's full review
August 19, 2020
Zar Jerome Cajudo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco NX-OS is being utilized by our customers as a CORE Switch on their organization. We deploy it via VPC to be able to have redundancy on the links. It addresses the problems of high traffic aggregated to your internal networks. Our customers are currently using Nexus 7000 but are currently migrating to Nexus 9000 because some N7K are now EOL.
  • High availability. VPC.
  • Very high density data capable hardware.
  • Advanced troubleshooting tools.
  • Supports OTV.
  • Few bugs on NX-OS
  • Minor differences in syntax (when compared to other Cisco devices).
  • Hard to keep the SW level bug-free.
Cisco NXOS is well-suited to our customers in financial institutions like banks and insurance companies. It gives high availability and supports a high amount of traffic, that's why it is well suited to be the core of banking technology. It is less appropriate for small and medium enterprises because of its cost.
I gave it an 8 because there are commands that are not known on NX-OS. Also, there are some software bugs found on NXOS.
Read Zar Jerome Cajudo's full review
September 10, 2020
Ramesh K | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the NX-OS in our data center across our organization. We use mostly use it to support layer2 requirements within the data center. We are facing memory leak issues and had to do software upgrades very frequently.
  • Cisco NX-OS is very simple to use and user friendly CLI
  • NX-OS has a modular config so easy to configure.
  • NX-OS comes up with copp policy where we can define most of our system level ontrols instead of defining separate ACLs
  • Memory leak issue is one of the major issues that need to be solved.
  • Burst traffic handling needs improvement.
  • The buffer size is too small and module-level issues will be repetitive.
We use Nexus 3Ks for switching in data centers where we host with 1G and uplink is 10G. This may not be appropriate where we need more host port throughput. NX-OS has a very simple design and CLI to use, but we need to have either reloads or code upgrades to fix the memory leak issues.
Read Ramesh K's full review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco NX-OS is being used on core Nexus switches to tie together closets as well as tie in VM infrastructure. It is being used across the organization. Cisco NX-OS provides resilience to our infrastructure, because we have all closets tied into both Nexus switches. It also provides VPCs which are helpful with resilience.
  • In-service software upgrade
  • Non-stop forwarding
  • Virtual Port Channels
  • We had some issues with FCoE initially that we got resolved later on.
Cisco NX-OS is an excellent option for a core switch if you need solid resilience. It provides a solid level of security for a core switch as well. If you aren't going to be running multiple connections from wiring closets or VM infrastructure then a less pricey option would be recommended unless you need the port bandwidth. Personally I think the VPC functionality within NX-OS is relatively easy to use and works well.
This obviously wouldn't replace a firewall, but for a core switch it supports plenty of security features that you may not see in other platforms. I would recommend NX-OS if you are looking for a secure core switch.
Read this authenticated review
October 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco NX-OS is used as the component of Fabric Interconnect in the Cisco UCS solution in our organization. The UCS is a core of infrastructure where unified communications services are hosted. The services that are running on top of the NX-OS are used across the whole organization. The main business problem solved is a single point of management and maintenance for the systems hosted on top of the NX-OS.
  • Core hosting for UCS software.
  • Unified Fabric enablement.
  • Visibility and centralized management.
  • Docker container support.
  • Native web interface.
  • Integration with DevOps tool.
One of the scenarios is to use in the DC network in the unified fabric, where automation plays a significant role. As NX-OS supports programming languages build in, the automation tasks can be run easily. It is also possible to integrate the DC network with DevOps tools. It is less appropriate to use it in the access switches in the DC.
Documentation and support is always very high quality.
NX-OS has many similarities with the traditional IOS which is quite beneficial when it comes to configuration and learning. As a native Linux system, there are a lot of tools and features that can be enabled for any use case.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco NX-OS is used on all our Cisco Nexus switches which we mainly use in our major data centers around the globe. NX-OS is very feature rich and very well suited for datacenters as it allows true virtualization (through the use of VDC's) and the operating system is (after years of development) very stable now.
  • Virtualization (through the use of VDC's).
  • Stability.
  • Redundancy features (e.g. vPC and FEX'es).
  • Stability of the software (in the early days).
  • Lacks some of the features of regular iOS.
  • The command syntax is sometimes just that little bit different from iOS, causing issues for automation, scripting, etc.
Cisco NX-OS is really best suited for data centers, and/or locations where you host a compute stack or servers. Most of the advantages and features that NX-OS offers are really useful in that area. The platform is less suited in smaller environments or to be used as a regular core or access switch.
Scalability : NX-OS has a lot of scalability features; not only allows it to virtualize hardware, there are also a lot of hardware models and features available to be able to scale it from a smaller server deployment scenario to a large datacenter. We particularly use the virtualization a lot to create distinct DC environment that we connect through external links, and we also use a lot of the Field Externders (FEX's) to foresee connectivity throughout our datacenter without having to buy expensive hardware for each row or area.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco NX-OS?

Cisco NX-OS is a network operating system presented as a solution to help network operations move at the speed of business, with comprehensive automation, extensive visibility, and flexible open architectures for data center networks. NX-OS is the network operating system for all fabric architectures, from traditional L2/L3 to overlay-based fabrics.Cisco NX-OS powers the modern data center.
Categories:  Operating Systems

Cisco NX-OS Downloadables

Cisco NX-OS Competitors

Cisco NX-OS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco NX-OS's best feature?

Reviewers rate Performance and Support Rating and Product Scalability highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses Cisco NX-OS?

The most common users of Cisco NX-OS are from Enterprises and the Hospital & Health Care industry.