Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 02, 2021
Rekha Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Prime [LAN Management Solution] is a infrastructure monitoring and managing solution which was shipped as part of infrastructure purchase package to our customer. Client was using this for their LAN fault and performance monitoring and also configuration management with some additional component purchased. It was primarily used for monitoring, management, reporting and alerting.
  • Native Tool for Cisco Devices Management
  • Native tool for cisco devices fault and performance monitoring
  • Heat Maps with extensive details
  • Advanced technology requires advance software such as DNAC, If prime can have all those it will be great
  • API based monitoring is not available
  • Integration with 3rd party tools not available natively
  • Other than cisco brand not included for monitoring and management
Although Cisco Prime [LAN Management Solution] is a nice tool and no other 4rd party tools can match its native monitoring and managing capabilities still i have given less rating and that's because it is only for Cisco vendor Devices. Hence if you have only Cisco infrastructure then go for it or else look for another 4rd party tool in conjunction with Cisco prime.
Read Rekha Yadav's full review
April 29, 2021
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Prime is the native tool that comes from Cisco along with Cisco LAN infrastructure. We have many customers who are using Cisco Prime as their core network fault and performance monitoring, wireless monitoring and LAN Management product. Being the native tool there is not much issues with the native infrastructure and hence customer prefer Cisco Prime if they have Cisco only infra in their environment.
  • Fault and Performance Monitoring
  • Wireless Monitoring
  • Configuration Management with additional components
  • Alerting and Reporting
  • Non-Cisco Devices are not supported
  • Out of the box integration with ITSM tools such as ServiceNow
  • Flexibility in terms of customization
I have rated Cisco Prime as 10/10 and that is specifically with a condition that if your infrastructure is purely from Cisco Vendor then only go with Cisco Prime as it does not support other non-cisco vendors devices monitoring and management. It is well suited for fault and performance monitoring, Heat Maps generation, Device Config management, alerting and reporting.
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Prime is currently being used by our networking team to keep track of networking gear, to authenticate wireless users via 802.11x and to help troubleshoot network issues across our entire infrastructure. We also use it to store our wireless maps for surveys and to help desktop technicians diagnose and fix wireless issues across multiple locations.
  • Provides nice graphs and visuals that help identify issues at a glance
  • Dashboards are customizable and can be made to fit your particular use case
  • Can drill down and get really in depth when needed
  • Prime can be be difficult to use in some cases where the UI falls short in doing things effeciently
  • Prime maps can take quite a while to load with lots of APs
  • Locations for certain key functions are sometimes buried away behind menus that don't pertain to it
I'd recommend Cisco Prime for an enterprise that runs on mostly Cisco gear. It has some really neat tools baked in and is very useful in helping identify issues with everything from wireless access points to network switches. It also provides some nice dashboards that technicians and admins can use to see how their network is at a glance, without having to manually log into gear to take a look at vitals.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution in Brazil and on most part of our other sites/countries.
It's been used to manage and monitor all our network equipment (switches, routers, firewalls, wireless controllers, access points) from our Datacenters, offices, ROBO sites, manufacturing plants and vessels.
We use it mainly to monitor our equipment and connectivity health, but also to take configuration backups from the equipment and to 'bulk-configure' several devices at once.
The ability to have a general overview of the environment's health and to generate reports is a huge advantage.
It really helped us during IT auditing, to collect evidences and to apply required configurations with little effort.
  • Bulk-configuration of equipment.
  • Create scheduled configurations.
  • Health monitoring.
  • Centralized management and overview from a single pane of glass.
  • Reporting.
  • A more friendly interface, as it lacks some important features.
  • Alerting could have more details on the issue.
It suits really well for companies with large Cisco footprints. It's easy to manage a dozen of equipment, but when it comes to hundreds or thousands of network equipment you will really need a platform like Cisco LMS.
Its features to backup configuration from equipment and to bulk-configure them are a really 'must-have' for larger networks.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2019
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution in our network to monitor and manage all our LAN devices in our HQ and all our branches. We used it to keep tracking the reachability and health of our devices, including switches, routers, Wireless LAN controller with the Access points, and using its dashboard to keep looking to our devices and its health. Also, we can use it to make a bulk configuration on a single device or many devices at the same time.
  • Great monitoring to all Cisco devices.
  • Bulk configuration to single device or multiple devices.
  • Schedule configuration and upgrades.
  • More traffic visibility.
  • Checking configuration structures and problem and suggest a solution.
  • Monitoring all network and catch problem and fix it automatically.
It's perfect to be located in an environment where Cisco devices are the primary brand used. As its use, in the reading community and write community to monitor all Cisco devices and can support in monitoring and managing these devices from the configuration side and upgrades IOS with less human efforts. And its ROI won't be useful when you have a multivendor network and less Cisco devices.
We are very happy using Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution for the following reason:
1- Ease of use with the GUI.
2- Very well organized dashboard which can view many statistics on your devices.
3- Customized dashboard for different views ( for technical team and executives )
4- Schedule configuration templates to use whenever we need on whatever device we want.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
November 26, 2019
Reggie Pauling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor our wireless infrastructure/environment... including access points and WLCs.
  • Used to monitor Cisco wireless devices.
  • Provides stats for Cisco devices including switches.
  • Generate heat maps for placement of APs.
  • Can only monitor Cisco devices.
Cisco Prime is well suited if the environment is all Cisco.
As long as there are active licenses for Cisco Prime then you will receive support. If the licenses expire then you are on your own.
Read Reggie Pauling's full review
November 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are utilizing Prime at all our remote offices on top of our current Cisco wireless architecture. We are utilizing WIPS for security and also take advantage of the Rogue access point detection functionality on a quarterly basis to help detect unauthorized access points.
  • Detection of potentially malicious files on the wireless side.
  • Easily identifiable detection of Rogue Access Points.
  • Centralized management of all our WIPS 'Wireless Intrusion Prevention' setup.
  • The reporting side could be more verbose, lacks some common options.
  • The integration with Meraki was not easy and the Meraki management dashboard lacks details.

If you already have a Cisco Wireless Infrastructure, this is a great security add on that doesn't break the bank and can be deployed in a day.

Add great application visibility at a user/session-level. Can review the performance of each application, history, application usage, etc.

We have only contacted support once, and TAC was very responsive and had the issue resolved the same day.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2019
Eduardo Viero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Cisco Prime LAN Management across the whole organization. We deployed it in our HQ, and from there we manage all the LAN and remote location's sites. It's obvious that for us, having multiple sites in different countries, Cisco Prime gives us a huge advantage. We can deploy our configuration, monitor equipment, and generate reports in one single pane of glass. Regarding business aspects, we can save a lot of money on consulting services remotely, at the same time increasing performance solving issues and getting business online much faster.
  • You can deploy from simple snippets of config to a whole template to multiple devices at the same time. That saves us a lot of time (remember that time is money) when we need to change some setting globally, like adjust a ACL or add new global policy. Doesn't matter how many models of the same equipment you have.
  • The Network Topology map is also a great tool for troubleshooting. You can check several aspects of the topology, the connection between the equipment, the status of the connections and even check specific alarms related to that part of the topology (or map). Again, consider that in a multi site, global environment and you'll see the benefits.
  • Inventory and firmware updates are also great tools inside the solution. You have check exactly what equipment is outdated and schedule an update with a couple of clicks. You can do that also in a batch, saving a lot of time (and money) and avoid to go handle the equipment one by one, sometimes even needing to have physical access to those equipment.
  • Maps. One thing that I miss is the fact that you can't see both wired and wireless equipment in the same topology map. For visualization and troubleshooting purposes, that would help a lot, and I honestly don' t think it's that much harder to implement.
  • I'd love to see an option to show 'live dashboards,' maps, or other visual tools to publish in a NOC room, or even just to broadcast in a big monitor to allow multiple workmates to check that information. Again, I don't think that would be too hard to implement. I remember a similar feature was available in the first versions of the product, way back in the 90's (yes, I'm that old :-) )
  • Sometimes, depending on what screen you are, the solution can be a little slow. I'm not saying the whole system is slow, but sometimes that slowness can bother a little.
  • Talking about areas for improvement, one area I think can be improved is the upgrade process. Even for not so large deployments, it can take a lot of time. Having this time decreased would be the right thing to do.
One thing is clear: Cisco Prime LAN is well suited for an enterprise environment. If you have enterprise-class network equipment, you'll be well served. If you only use or have a mix of SMB class equipment and enterprise, maybe you won't see the true value. Also, if you only use Meraki equipment, you also probably won't see much value.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
February 09, 2019
Roger Mialkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Prime LMS to manage and administer all of our various Cisco devices. It supports switches, routers, firewalls, wireless access points, and wireless controllers. A central point of managing network devices in an enterprise is required due to the deployed volume you're dealing with and trying to manage. Cisco Prime LMS does this well.
  • Cisco Prime LMS excels at gathering metrics and configuration information from all of the devices at regularly scheduled intervals. We can compare changes in configurations from particular dates, which allows us to troubleshoot issues quicker.
  • The reports that you can run are well composed, and it is easy to generate new reports that will fit your needs.
  • The system installs on a single server, so there's no need to dedicate separate applications and database servers. CPU, Storage, and RAM requirements are reasonable so you won't need a high-end server either.
  • Cisco Prime LMS isn't able to gather metrics from firewalls with multiple contexts, so you need to create each context as a new firewall, which can make it cumbersome and difficult to manage if you have more than 10 contexts.
  • The application also doesn't support the latest Cisco technologies such as ACI and UCS, so LMS shouldn't be considered a single pane of glass for all things Cisco.
  • It seems that the development of the product has slowed in order to focus on newer offerings from Cisco. It's unfortunate because this product is a good workhorse that chugs right along and doesn't eat up resources like some of Cisco's newer products do.
Cisco Prime LMS is well suited for medium to large companies and enterprises that employ Cisco network equipment. Its reasonably sized footprint allows it to work fairly maintenance free once it's configured to do its job. If you're a small business with just a couple of dozen Cisco devices, then this product might not provide the best ROI for you compared to some open source network management solutions available.
Read Roger Mialkowski's full review
June 25, 2018
Keith W Gibbons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used primarily by the network infrastructure team for both wired and wireless solutions. We mainly use it for monthly reporting, wireless statistics, wireless deployment planning for a 4 building campus with 1000+ users. When we have a complaint of wireless coverage issues, we can quickly determine the APs involved, and adjust any settings necessary.
  • Wireless planning mode has been very helpful when expanding to new areas in our buildings.
  • The alerting is very detailed when we have any issues on hardwired and wireless devices
  • Depth of Cisco equipment information is much deeper than we can get from SNMP queries in other management products
  • The detailed reporting capabilities greatly increase our KPI reporting for senior management
  • Wireless management is somewhat lacking in that we still need to go to our WLC for deeper changes
  • Alerting is not deeply descriptive requiring more digging
  • Wireless alerts do not give true reasons for disassociation, only that AP disassociated
Is the best tool for Cisco based hardware information, but alerting is limited
Read Keith W Gibbons's full review
July 06, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Prime to monitor our wireless infrastructure, backup device configurations, provide wireless analysis and predictions. It assists us in preliminary wireless access point mounting locations to provide adequate wireless coverage.
  • Great tool for troubleshooting end device connectivity issues by showing wireless stats.
  • Great tool for documenting wireless access point placements in buildings.
  • Good tool for automatically backing up device configurations
  • Limited zoom options in the wireless maps can be frustrating.
  • Reporting isn't very easy to use, especially for device inventory reports.
Well suited as a troubleshooting tool, especially for wireless. Not very well suited for reporting or health monitoring.
Read this authenticated review
September 09, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution is used in our organization to manage all the switches, router and access points we have. We have approximately 300 switches, 10 routers and almost 300 access points.
  • Alerting is good
  • Ease of management
  • Supports wide range of products that can be configured easily by SNMP
  • Topology view should be included
  • Host recognizability should be added
If your environment has Cisco AP and 5700 controller you have to (must) get Cisco Prime Infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution?

Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution is that company's option... for LAN management.
Categories:  Network Monitoring

Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution?

Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution is that company's option... for LAN management.

What is Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution?

The most common users of Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution are from Enterprises and the Education Management industry.