Cisco Routers Reviews

223 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 15, 2020
Jacob Klein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco devices are used throughout the enterprise and support the entire organization. They help us ensure our end user and customer network is segmented from our employee and testing networks. They provide a secure barrier from other devices and we rely on them to keep unwanted scans from penetrating to our server VLANs and network.
  • Secure protection in areas that need to be protected.
  • They are reliable; we can always count on them to support our devices and stay online.
  • They have a common management interface that provides familiarity across Cisco platforms.
  • Provide additional options for connectivity
  • Possible cross-platform features
  • More diverse power options should be standard features
Cisco Routers are well suited for organizations that are looking for reliable and secure network routers. Once they are set up and configured, they have a reputation for longevity. Updates from Cisco are provided on a regular basis and contain many security patches throughout the year. The use of Cisco Routers might be less appropriate for smaller organizations that may not have the staff to support the devices.
Yes, we have certainly benefitted from threat protection on our network from Cisco. The access controls from Cisco provide reliable and secure lockout mechanisms and ensure our VLANs are segmenting traffic as we need them to. We have recently undergone a vulnerability scan from an outside security company and were very pleased to hear that our network protection performed as expected and kept the scanning utilities out of our critical server infrastructure (as we expected it to).
Read Jacob Klein's full review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Meraki MX Cisco Routers at a couple different remote locations. They allow us to manage all devices from one web console without having to individually log in to multiple remote devices. It's nice not to have to worry about managing updates on each device, so I'm definitely happy about that.
  • Centralized management
  • Automatic updates
  • Simple site-to-site VPN configuration
  • The yearly license fee for Meraki products is way too costly
  • No ability to manage an individual device and no CLI interface
  • Some configuration changes are difficult or not well implemented
The Meraki MX series of Cisco Routers are well suited for an organization that doesn't have enough time to manage firewalls, security, or updates--along with the cash flow to pay for the yearly subscription. They are also good for organizations with multiple levels of IT experience because the web interface makes it easy to change network settings, track where network devices are, and deploy updates. They are not good for networks that are highly static because you would already know where things are on the network and wouldn't need the web interface for finding devices or changing settings. They are also not good for companies that don't want to pay an ongoing subscription fee, as the cost is quite high compared to what is provided, and if you stop paying for the yearly subscription, the hardware is useless.
The Meraki series provides really good threat protection and is a good option for overall network security. Having the constant updates and always-on link to the web console allows Cisco to include better security than on their standalone devices. I think the subscription fee helps force Cisco to support their Meraki products with updates longer than they would with a standalone product, so I don't have to worry about replacing equipment as often.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in a startup and small business setting for secure and fast network access for all office devices.
  • It is very easy to install and configure.
  • It can support high speeds and good network security protocols.
  • It could use more switch ports for more direct wired connections.
It is perfect for small businesses who need fast and secure network access at all times.
My organization has definitely benefited from it. It has done its job and provided reliable network access for all our devices.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I have implemented Cisco Routers for most of WAN connections and Internet peering sites. Most of the business issues like security and bandwidth issues are very well handled by Cisco Routers. The problems these routers solved were VPN and WAN QOS. Most of our customers use these routers for the whole organisations and across all BU.
  • Security. You can run VPN services on these routers along with core function of routing.
  • Rate limiting for DDOS or traffic on WAN links can help to prioritise the actual user traffic.
  • Routing. This is main feature of these devices and they do it really well.
  • GUI Management, as such there is no great GUI built-in. CCP can help but it's more for switches rather than for routers.
  • The whole upgrade procedure is pure manual work, great if it could have been single click button for upgrade and downgrade.
  • Config rollbacks are still manual, good to see if Cisco can implement config checkpoints.
Cisco Routers are well suited for mid to large companies. Be it for WAN or SD-WAN or Internet connections. These routers got the functions to handle all these. These routers may be less appropriate if you need ease of management or GUI management only. Routers are good for routing and may not be able to do all functions of firewalls, so should not be used in replacement of FW for these.
Yes.The IOS software is also safer and hardened with security in mind. The product design itself is secure thus providing more assurance to end customers.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Routers are utilized by our organization in order to host our film database and manage our library of prior film submissions. We are looking for the most cost effective solution to manage our database of over 250,000 films while reducing the latency viewers experience while accessing prior films and submitting new films to our database.
  • Excellent ping/access times.
  • Ease of setup and installation.
  • High upfront installation cost.
  • Long installation time - few month process.
  • Need to hire external IT consultants for installation.
Cisco Routers have been an excellent resource for our organization for a variety of reasons. They allow us to host our database without the need for incremental cloud vendors and hosting costs. They afford an easy maintenance and upkeep without the need to hire many external consultants to manage the database.
Cisco Routers have provided us a high degree of threat protection. Due to their native security features we were able to minimize external cyber security costs. Prior to purchasing Cisco Routers we engaged PaloAlto for our cyber security framework - after making the Cisco purchase we were able to reduce external cyber security costs while not worrying about threat protection due to Cisco's security reputation.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2019
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Routers are used corporate-wide, by 700+ users daily, including users on campus and remotely via VPN. They address basic user connectivity to corporate assets. We do not use many ACLs on these particular devices, opting for a dedicated firewall instead, but for routing, these devices are spot on. Meraki, at least, is much easier to set up if not as granular that traditional IOS, but for out of the box setup, can't be beaten.
  • Cisco Routers set up easily (even the IOS derivatives); they are basic in a good way.
  • Cisco Routers support all routing protocols (limitations on Merakis)
  • Work well in conjunction with Cisco switches.
  • Documentation can be challenging sometimes if questions are had. The tech docs can be overwhelming.
There are routers of all sizes for all needs that can be implemented as basically as needed or in the most complex of environments. The only time where they may be not suited is when the supporting staff may not be Cisco-savvy as there is a learning curve involved.
We do not implement these features at the L3 level. We instead use an L7 NGFW. The routers only route and we have some very basic ACLs there only.
Read Derek Benson's full review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a full time Cisco Shop, and use Cisco Routers for multiple reasons and at multiple locations. Also when vendors install equipment in our locations our preference is to use Cisco equipment for/by them in order to maintain stability. Cisco has proven to be the de facto standard in routing and in support models! The new generation of routers provide stability and full time availability to our organization as a whole.
  • Route traffic between subnets
  • Security
  • Cost
  • Recent issues with TAC support
In an enterprise environment, Cisco equipment is a must. The stability, the support, parts availability and amount of engineers that work with this equipment is unmatched! Cisco truly is the definition of the networks and internet.
Cisco Routers in small to mid size business is also appropriate and might be the only option for some of the applications that might be needed. I would recommend Cisco equipment over any other brand.
We use multiple security features of Cisco Routers and other equipment from Cisco. The security aspect is one of the reasons Cisco get chosen to be in our environment over and over again and not just for the routers. A lot of different tools from Cisco and non-Cisco vendors utilize security features of Cisco Routers.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All our routers are Cisco routers and have been for many years. Cisco is still the de facto standard and have very high quality. From a technical perspective the internet is a very good resource for any troubleshooting you might need to do: there is a massive amount of documentation and experience to be found on the web regarding Cisco.
  • Documentation on Cisco Routers is abundant.
  • The web is a great resource for troubleshooting.
  • Speed is good on the routers.
  • Pricing is a little high.
  • No real negatives are further worth mentioning.
As Cisco is still the de facto standard for routers or even other network equipment, it is the brand to go to. Especially high-end usage is excellent. It might be a bit too expensive for smaller companies. But quality has a price, so Cisco is certainly always worth to have a look at.
While our Cisco router is not the primary line of defense of our network, they do allow us to add that little extra protection. Although Cisco offers the options for security, you still need to configure them yourself, so it is important to have knowledgable staff or contractors to help you.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recently used two RV models of Cisco Routers, more precisely the RV042 and RV340. The main feature used is the VPN and in both it worked well. I believe most of those looking for and purchasing this line of Cisco Routers are looking to implement such functionality in their small and medium businesses.
  • Functional VPN with robust configuration options for small businesses.
  • Load balancing for WAN, adding excellent manageability to your network.
  • Dual WAN.
  • Firmware improvements as the routers (at least the models I used) can sometimes crash while setting up.
  • In two RV042 that I had to configure and monitor, I had problems where they stopped working properly (crashes, loss of settings, bug). In another model, the VPN did not connect and only after a router restart did it work.
  • Three WAN options on RV line.
Cisco Routers is well suited for small businesses that need to connect branch offices via VPN, WAN redundancy allowing business continuity, and Internet link load balancing.
It has configurable firewalls and logs that add security to your network. They have good security options that will work well in conjunction with other protections applied in the network. There are also access configuration options, blacklists, and web filtering.
Read this authenticated review
June 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They are used in our distribution, core, and peering layers.
  • Route packets.
  • Store prefixes.
  • There are inconsistencies in syntax and feature set across families.
  • The recommended code releases are usually way behind the release schedule.
  • Catastrophic bugs can cause issues with the most benign of changes.
The best use case for Cisco over other vendors is their training and certification programs, which are the de facto standard. If you only have experience with Cisco gear and don't want to expand your horizons, then Cisco is obviously going to be the choice.
No, we are not interested in our routers doing anything except routing.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Routers Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Routers?

Cisco routers support secure, reliable enterprise connections. These enterprise routers help users implement an intent-based, future-ready WAN that is constantly learning, adapting, and protecting. Deploy routers for the branch, cloud, co-location, or the data center with any type of connectivity, including MPLS, Internet, and 4G LTE.

With over 30 years of experience and an end-to-end portfolio, Cisco routing solutions can deliver for today’s networking needs. The vendor promises to help customers successfully manage technology transitions. Embedded security detects threats in mere hours instead of months. The vendor has studies how networks are consumed, applying those learnings to the new network.

About Cisco
Cisco routers deliver open, intent-based networking platform across the branch, WAN, and cloud. They provide end-to-end security, automation, and analytics with award-winning services and support.

Cisco Routers Video

Watch SD-WAN for a Multicloud World

Cisco Routers Downloadables

Cisco Routers Competitors

Cisco Routers Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No