Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Oleksandr Tsapenko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I'm using Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints but have a plan to implement it widely in my company. I think Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints is a very useful solution for achieving our goal to secure users from risk to be infected by malware.
  • Ease of use
  • Straight method to solve specific security issues and fulfill the security gap
  • Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints could have some features to integrate with third-party solutions
Specific tool for specific need. If you have a gap in your security infrastructure (protection from malware) you might think to use Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints to make sure your company's devices are safe. But also you can go beyond and enforce your SOC with Cisco AnyConnect where Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints is used as one of modules.
Great web interface, which allows you to easily manage all devices and have an overall view of the whole security picture.
Like most Cisco products, Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints has a great knowledge base on Cisco's community portal, but unfortunately the Cisco support team cannot always clearly describe the solution for your issue, especially if it is related to the demo period. Nevertheless, Cisco goes to great efforts to improve your current situation with Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) for Endpoints support.
Read Oleksandr Tsapenko's full review
March 01, 2021
Sebastián Sarasate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Advanced Malware Protection is our antivirus and antimalware solution. It is deployed throughout the organization.
  • It is simple.
  • Its administration is centralized.
  • Integrates with other brand products.
  • Greater market penetration.
  • More documentation.
  • More partners with deep knowledge.
I consider that Cisco Advanced Malware Protection is very useful and recommended in environments with a large number of computers, in different locations and with a high risk.
If other products of the suite such as umbrella, stealwatch and / or Cisco ISE are also used, much better.
I give it a very good score due to its simplicity in deployment, actually being able to do everything remotely is very good. Also noteworthy is the low consumption of resources compared to other competitive products.
Cisco support is really very remarkable and the tool has a good integration with other products, a very good work dashboard and very useful reporting.
Read Sebastián Sarasate's full review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) is being used across our entire school district for endpoint protection. We have over 10K devices, that it protects from various antivirus and malware threats. Its is a very robust cloud managed solution.
  • It gives great visibility of all detected threats across our devices.
  • It is very easy to deploy and maintain.
  • The cloud UI is constantly being updated with new features.
  • I don't know if this is a bad feature but the engine is very sensitive it picks up a lot of things that are not always threats.
  • While AMP is a strong product it is not cheap.
  • Software upgrades usually require a reboot which can make it difficult with student devices.
While on the expensive side, Cisco Advanced Malware Protection (AMP) is a solid product that is very robust and can be customized a lot. It can also integrate with Cisco's threat grid, umbrella, firepower and other security solutions to give a more broad range of visibility.
Cisco support is top notch.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2020
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Advanced Malware Protection for Endpoints is being used as the primary antivirus product across our thousands of endpoints and servers to protect our end-users before, during, and after any malicious activity or malware incident. The features of the product make it effective against both known and unknown malware but also against malicious activity using legitimate software tools.
  • lightweight connector
  • great integration with other security products
  • highly effective
  • will also alert for vulnerable software being used on your systems
  • Management console is web-based, which is always less customizable.
Any internet-connected device can be protected (Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, & Apple) and Cisco Advanced Malware Protection can integrate with email, web, and firewall security products to provide full coverage and visibility.
Cisco Threat Response (free) makes investigation and prevention much easier. The ability to share casebook with other users makes collaboration during incident response effective.
Easy to deploy, use, manage.
Support for AMP is excellent, some of the best engineers I have worked with.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
May 28, 2020
Rik Aragoza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Day-to-day use, implementation, and deployment experience were awesome! Being in internal IT support, Cisco Advanced Malware Protection provides an additional layer of security with minimal to no effort in making sure that we have visibility and security with our endpoints. Maintenance and routine work were lessened due to the feature set that this application brought!
  • We utilize Cisco AMP on our ASA and our CES as well.
  • Using it everywhere gives us great visibility into where a file came from and what it does.
  • It provides complete protection for endpoints, from the point of entry and acts to prevent vulnerabilities.
  • In addition, it provides users with a view of possible blind spots which is cross-platform (Windows, Android, iOS, Linux, macOS) and can immediately perform isolation with only a few clicks!
  • Sometimes during whitelisting, other files from security tools get isolated even if it's not user intended.
  • Re-syncing policies also take some time, albeit in a straightforward process.
  • As with all security software, false-positives are still detected.
  • Hoping that once the library is expanded further, the false positives will be fewer.
For starters looking for endpoint security, or companies looking to upgrade those initial safe measures, Cisco Advanced Malware Protection is definitely worth a look to see if it would be compatible with their use-case. Even for bigger and most established companies, I think it's still worth considering all together.

It might not be appropriate for those who already have a long-term/standing security application that they go with as the migration or transition towards Cisco AMP might not be well suited.
If you are looking at a new security software or at least planning to change your current one, make sure that this is on the short-list as the feature-set is extensive!

It provides complete protection for endpoints, from the point of entry, and acts to prevent vulnerabilities.

It provides users with a view of possible blind spots which is cross-platform (Windows, Android, iOS, Linux, macOS) and can immediately perform isolation with only a few clicks.
All cases (albeit minimal) were handled appropriately towards resolution by Cisco's support. Kudos to them!
We only looked at administrator guides and deployment materials for end-user training, as it's only a handful of people in the support team that is working with this application. We also had senior security engineers assisting on the deployment making it a breeze. Administrator and Deployment guides helped a lot, in addition to the support that Cisco provides if needed.
Read Rik Aragoza's full review
November 20, 2019
Nicole McMillian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AMP is being used across our organization on workstations and servers.
  • Detects malware and viruses on endpoints.
  • AMP shows a timeline associated with an event and if the malicious event has spread.
  • AMP quarantines but also does retroactive pullbacks of malicious attachments or downloads if they are later discovered to be bad.
  • I would like to see some emphasis put on being able to makes notes if there is an incident you are working on so other analysts do not have to open the incident or ask you if you have worked on the incident.
  • More clarity around files/downloads that are quarantined...so that they do not end up in your incidents but maybe another tab for incidents that AMP resolved without need for work by an analyst.
  • I would like to see silent upgrades. At this moment in order to upgrade you have to do a reboot, this is my biggest frustration.
AMP is a great addition to any organization. AMP is your eyes and ears, keeps you on the pulse of your organizations end point safety. The console is easy to use. AMP has helped us see immediate threats so that things do not go unnoticed in our environment and that is a huge win.
We have needed very little support, but anytime we need to reach out for assistance they have always been helpful and knowledgeable about the product and helped us resolve any issues or needs we may have.
Read Nicole McMillian's full review
November 16, 2019
Jesus Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
AMP is being used across the whole organization and several costumers. We use it to block malware, provides visibility to what is running on our endpoints.
  • Detects and block malware on endpoints.
  • It provides good visibility and trajectory.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • The need for a reboot in upgrades.
  • The number of exclusions.
AMP is well suited for any organization, it helps to reduce risks on catching malware on endpoints.
Anytime we have needed support they have helped us to solve our issues quickly.
Read Jesus Franco's full review
October 02, 2019
Elvin Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization. We use it to block malware attacks and other types of potential security attacks.
  • Easy to install/push to computers.
  • Runs in the background.
  • AMP helps drastically reduce investigation and remediation cycles.
  • More options for the end-user.
For us, Cisco AMP has been well suited for us to easily check for potential security breaches, malware, etc. I can't really think of any limitations.
It's been a very effective tool for the company.
Read Elvin Thomas's full review
June 12, 2019
Scott Shipley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AMP is used globally across the entire organization. It provides great protection and visibility to what is executing on my servers and endpoints. Operationalizing the tool with our ITSM system allows for quicker remediation.
  • Provides good visibility to vulnerable software.
  • Device trajectory for applications is very useful when determining if an application should really be whitelisted.
  • It is very effective at mitigating command and control.
  • The tool needs a facility for submitting SHA-256 and samples via the web interface to report false positives. This is a very common issue and a quicker method for submitting these types of items must be addressed.
  • Reporting need to be reintroduced as it was available in earlier versions of the management portal.
  • The limited number of exclusions can be challenging depending on the environment.
AMP is great for providing endpoint visibility of your endpoints. However, it is not a catch-all for everything happening on your systems. Limited visibility to powershell execution is a weak point and would require further analysis.
Read Scott Shipley's full review

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (9)
7.8
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (9)
8.4
Centralized Management (9)
9.0
Hybrid Deployment Support (6)
7.1
Infection Remediation (9)
7.2
Vulnerability Management (9)
7.4
Malware Detection (9)
8.6

What is Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP)?

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco Advanced Malware Protection [AMP] for Endpoints) offers cloud-delivered next-generation antivirus, endpoint protection platform (EPP), and advanced endpoint detection and response (EDR).
Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Features

Endpoint Security Features

Has featureAnti-Exploit Technology
Has featureEndpoint Detection and Response (EDR)
Has featureCentralized Management
Has featureInfection Remediation
Has featureVulnerability Management
Has featureMalware Detection

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Video

Watch AMP Overview

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Downloadables

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Integrations

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Competitors

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Centralized Management highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP)?

The most common users of Cisco Secure Endpoint (formerly Cisco AMP) are from Enterprises and the Computer Networking industry.