Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW) Reviews

23 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 15, 2021
Victor Lau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Utilized across the entire organization as a single point of entry to the internet. It provides a secure solution for internal and external users, ensuring secure access to all applications. The AnyConnect solution provides a secure method for remote users to connect into corporate applications, utilized much over the past year for WFH.
Read Victor Lau's full review
July 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Version information: Firepower NGFW 2110

We currently use two [Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower 2110 )]in a HA Pair for a large department in our organization. It handles the North/South traffic as well as the VPNs for about a dozen offices. We use it in conjunction with the Cisco FMC. We moved from ASAs to these last year and the shift was to include the NGFW features that we were missing out on with the ASAs. Additionally, the modern GUI interface is a significant step up from the CLI of the ASAs.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Now using Cisco NGFW (with built-in SourceFire) as a replacement for older hardware that didn't have the source fire stuff built in. I must say that it does make most of our issues go away from the old system, such as having to use different interfaces to control both, and policies that had to be done twice. The FirePower NGFW is much faster as well, which was an issue with the old equipment.
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco FirePower NGFW is our main firewall for our entire organization. We have multiple units as backups and failovers. It was purchased to replace an older Cisco ASA and a separate Sourcefire device to give us an all-in-one unit that worked better and faster than the older devices. It has solved that problem and more with its super-advanced feature set.
Read this authenticated review
January 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco Firepower at multiple locations with different type of deployment as per requirements such as small site, medium site, and large sites. Sites are classified based on the number of users and type of application access.

Somes sites have cluster firewalls and others are using single standalone deployment
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2020
Cody Plassmeyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Firepower NGFW (formerly Sourcefire is being used by the entire company since all of our internet traffic flows through it. The IT department is the department that manages Cisco Firepower NGFW (formerly Sourcefire).
Read Cody Plassmeyer's full review
January 29, 2020
Kuntal Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Firepower NGFW (formerly Sourcefire), as we call it, is being used by our Department for managing the security of our campus. The primary reason behind using it is to trigger alerts when there is an intrusion activity on our perimeter or even within our boundaries. Cisco Firepower NGFW (formerly Sourcefire) gives us a detailed report of suspicious packets going through it. These reports provide insight into the daily flow of malicious traffic on our network, university computers that show suspicious behavior, intruders trying to scan our network, users downloading/uploading malicious files, etc. It increases the visibility of our cyberinfrastructure, thereby helping us to secure it.
Read Kuntal Das's full review
August 26, 2019
Kenneth Ma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently using Cisco Firepower NGFW in our perimeter networks in 4 datacenters across our whole organization. Layer 7 firewalling and IPS services are utilized to keep our company safe and secure. Cisco Firepower has provided us with deep network and security visibility into the environment and helps prevent any unauthorized access and unwanted threats. Automated threat controls with the Intrusion Prevention System have proven crucial in saving time and reducing complexity.
Read Kenneth Ma's full review
January 12, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SourceFire NGFWs are used mainly for our outbound internet access, replacing current ASAs, intrusion detection and other anti-malware hardware that is in place today.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (8)
7.9
Visualization Tools (8)
7.5
Content Inspection (8)
9.3
Policy-based Controls (8)
8.3
Active Directory and LDAP (7)
7.0
Firewall Management Console (8)
8.8
Reporting and Logging (8)
8.4
VPN (7)
9.1
High Availability (8)
9.7
Stateful Inspection (8)
9.5
Proxy Server (7)
7.6

What is Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW)?

Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Cisco Firepower NGFW) is a firewall product that integrates with other Cisco security offerings. It provides Advanced Malware protection, including sandboxing environments and DDoS mitigation. Cisco also offers a Next Generation Intrusion Prevention System, which provides security across cloud environments using techniques like internal network segmentation. The firewall can be managed locally, remotely, and via the cloud. The product is scalable to the scope of the business needs.
Categories:  Firewall

Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate High Availability highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW)?

The most common users of Cisco Secure Firewall (formerly Firepower NGFW) are from Enterprises and the Financial Services industry.