Cisco UCS Series Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 05, 2021
William Guertin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have a mixture of COLO and Cloud devices. Our primary platform resides on Cisco USC B chassis (we have quite of few of them across the globe.) These for the most part are running virtual servers leveraging VMware as the hypervisor technology. We have implemented a number of virtual technologies successfully using this hardware from normal VMS to Kubernetes nodes. This hardware allows us to provide our development teams significant cost savings as compared to migrating to the Cloud. We typically host our development as well as many production environments on our Cisco Chassis.
  • Our primary networking environment is based on Cisco technologies and the Cisco UCS meshes very well with the networking tech.
  • We have multiple products and multiple customers and the Cisco UCS does an excellent job of offering significant computing power while being able to slice it up and isolate those environments physically and logically from other environments.
  • Increased flexibility in being able to upgrade hardware while leveraging our previous expense of buying the chassis. We can update individual blades at a lower cost than buying new servers every few years.
  • Related to the previous point. The chassis offers more flexibility without the paywall associated with buying all new hardware. There are a number of different modules that can be added to the chassis that change the offered features while keeping the cost manageable.
  • Just thinking if there is a way to make enabling lightweight containers (ie Kube nodes) easier due to build in features? More of a question than a statement.
  • I really can't think of three things at this time. I have used Sun, IBM, and Cisco Blade servers and Cisco seems to be the most intuitive and easiest to work with.
For our case, Cisco UCS works very well for our topology. We have a lot of isolation between our products and we receive significant cost savings over moving all our development to the Cloud. There is always the cost comparison between buying individual 1U servers and trying to serve the environments that way. There are situations where the initial cost of buying a UCS vs buying smaller 1U servers where you don't need the capacity that a UCS delivers.
Read William Guertin's full review
May 03, 2021
Ujjwal Goel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for the organization and also we implement Cisco collaboration solution over it for the customers. It is the only solution for hosting Cisco collab apps without the issue of CPU spike, memory high, etc.
  • Fast IO speed.
  • Easy upgrade of VM tools.
  • Easy installation of hypervisor and VM management.
  • Easy management using CIMC and UCS Manager.
  • Should support NAS based storage too.
  • Should improve the UCS Manager controls and make it more like CIMC.
  • CIMC of UCS should work without flash too as flash has been discontinued by Adobe and CIMC needs flash.
For any Cisco collaboration product like CUCM, CUC, UCCX, CER, etc. the UCS series is the best choice. It can be UCS C or B or even BE.
Read Ujjwal Goel's full review
March 12, 2021
Benjamin Bubbers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco UCS Series servers in our OT. We operate four data centers and are using Cisco UCS Series servers in each of them. Some are part of our HyperFlex clusters and some are used standalone. We have an MS SQL AAG on two of the servers, others are used as Domain Controllers or backup repositories.
  • Managed via UCS manager.
  • Able to use profiles to standardize.
  • Different models available.
  • Parts availability after products eol.
I only know scenarios where they are well suited. We use them as every server by now and are very happy with the performance and the value.
RMAs are a little more complicated than we were used to by another vendor. But the Support is great and very helpful though
You are able to do anything you can imagine with these severs
Read Benjamin Bubbers's full review
June 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a mixture of implementation in our different regions in the company, which hosts multiple (interconnected) cloud services that we offer to our customers. One of our platform resides on a Cisco UCS chassis, which runs the heart of our NL infrastructure. It hosts several Virtual Machines via VMware as the hypervisor technology, which takes care of our UC services and infrastructure.
  • Easily managed (via UCS Manager)
  • Ease of Installation and Upgrade
  • Compatibility with our current infrastructure, mainly composed of Cisco technologies with a mix of other vendors
  • Improve the stability/compatibility CIMC without flash (force HTML5)
  • Server virtualization support (perhaps as an additional feature)
Very well suited for organizations like ourselves, which still heavily relies on both cloud infrastructure, but still building on premise solutions for internal use and customer infrastructure. It allows us to easily manage, deploy (and remove if needed), upgrade and improve the capacity of our services, whilst ensuring reliability as these serve as the core of the infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our Engineering department for managing the IBM VMs and Windows Remote Desktop machines.
  • It supports installation of hypervisors like ESXi.
  • Provide Cisco Integrated Management Controller for managing the hardware.
  • Provide good specs of hardware to support many types of virtual machines.
  • They should send it with licensed ESXi.
  • Cisco should provide server virtualization support too.
  • The hardware should provide support to network-based storage without any performance issues.
Cisco UCS is best for managing virtual machines and it integrates well with ESXi which runs as a hypervisor on it. Also, inbuilt CIMC provides management of hardware.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our experience with Cisco UCS has been outstanding. We are using it for our compute power for all of our VMWare environments. We have had two instances of UCS, We have used the B and C series systems. We have had tremendous uptime and seamless usage of this system for many years.
  • Easy management
  • Reliably
  • Cost
  • Initial configuration
We have used different options in the past and this has been our best fit. We are doing both VDI and our virtual servers on this system without any trouble. We have used multiple storage systems with it and that has worked great. I cannot think of a time where it did not meet our needs.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco UCS Series servers are used as the basis of the virtual machines that run our telephony systems. As such, they are really only used by the IT department, although the telephone system itself is used by everyone. The Cisco UCS Series servers provide a solid compute platform for our virtual machines.
  • Good priced servers suitable for many virtual workloads
  • Pre-tested for use with Cisco telephony virtual servers
These servers have been great for our company, as they are designed to work well with other Cisco components in our network. They are a compute platform designed to run VMware as the hypervisor, so if that is not your chosen virtualization technology, then maybe these are not the servers for you.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco UCS rack-mount servers as a corporate standard for our data centers and local branches to provide compute for the different applications and services. The UCS platform provides a stable environment that is also easy to manage and support.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Performance.
  • Excellent reliability.
  • Deploy in less time with fewer steps.
  • Price.
  • You need to pay for SMARTnet to get support.
  • High hardware cost.
I would definitely recommend evaluating Cisco UCS Series in your company. You pay a little bit higher price but you will receive a reliable, stable and manageable infrastructure. You could also choose Cisco offers advanced purchasing or leasing options.
We are buying Cisco UCS Series together with SMARTnet's maintenance contract. SMARTnet will offer you guaranteed response time and spare parts replacement according to agreed terms.
Cisco UCS Series has a very simple configuration before moving to production. You just need to connect power and network cables, provide initial remote config and upload OS.
Read this authenticated review
March 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Cisco UCS Series servers 5 years ago to be the servers that host our virtual machines for voice over IP solution inside the company. and during this years we used them to add more virtual machines to it to expand our environment and setup more solutions. It was very powerful devices which enable us to have our servers up and running without problems.
  • Great performance
  • Easy to use
  • Very powerful servers
  • It's quite expensive
  • Lake of knowledge between engineers
Due to the stability of the product and the powerful we got from it, I'm sure to recommend it to colleagues if you need a standalone server or a powerful host for our virtual machine. This server comes to enable you do this. The server has multiple room for upgrade, memory, and hard disks, so you can upgrade it while you are going to scale up your environment.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCS is our compute backbone of our Private Cloud. We have almost 250 UCS Blades distributed across many chassis and 6 UCS Domains. UCS helps us in providing reliable compute resources for our virtualization services to our needs. The NIC virtualization is the most effective feature that we use in our cloud. UCS stateless blades give us leverage to quickly reuse the blade anywhere and migrate seamlessly.
  • Virtulization of VIC cards
  • UCS Manage to manage all the blades and integration with VMware
  • Consistant Cisco Tech support in TS
  • Stateless Architecture
  • UCS VIX should support DPDK and SR-IOV
  • 25 G NIC full compaitability wth Nexus switches 25G ports
  • Cisco UCS Manager to manage multiple UCS FIs not just 2
Based on our 5 years of expeience with Cisco UCS, we can say that is best suited for IaaS compute virtualizations. I see it as a fit for all scenarios be it enterprise, DC, Corporate, anywhere.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco UCS blade and rack-mount servers in our Enterprise data centers to provide compute for our infrastructure that encompasses over 2500 servers. The UCS platform provides a stable environment that is also easy to administer. The UCS platform makes it easy to scale up and scale-out as necessary too. You can upgrade the Fabric Interconnects, individual blades, and chassis without any downtime as well.
  • Easy to manage
  • Scalable
  • High performance
  • Cost-effective
  • Technical support
  • Lots of RAM DIMM failures
  • Firmware upgrades are still a bit painful.
Cisco UCS is a great foundation on which to build your enterprise-class server infrastructure. It is not a good fit for small companies because the networking components would be too costly to implement. Cisco UCS blades and rack-mount servers are relatively easy to manage through the UCS console, where you can apply blade profiles and create automation to help provision new servers, etc.
We get our Cisco UCS support directly through Cisco Smartnet support. Overall, they are above average, but like with most large vendors it depends on which engineer you get when you call. Our Cisco sales team does add value and we can leverage them to escalate cases or issues that come up.
Cisco UCS's usability is where they really shine compared to other server and compute platforms. Cisco has a very simple network configuration, so only a few cables to connect to the network core and you are up and running. Overall, the management interface for Cisco UCS is pretty straightforward as well. We have onboarded engineers onto our team and they can pick up basic UCS administration pretty quickly. We also like the ability to leverage APIs, etc. to automate blade and server builds.
Read Mark McCully's full review
October 09, 2020
Prabhjyot Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the most powerful computing solution in the industry. Server addresses varying workload challenges through a balance of processing, memory, I/O, and internal storage resources. It has centralized our server management and allows us to treat servers like a pool of resources instead of discrete devices. Currently used by an IT team. Improved new infrastructure giving opportunity to create a complete storage in a box solution.
  • Stable with an easy administration GUI.
  • Reliable and compliant hardware components which are not Cisco rebranded.
  • The customer support area needs improving.
  • Need to improve the response in case of failure in hardware.
Currently we use it in a very low capacity. In case we want to expand then it will not be an appropriate option in this scenario.
This definitely needs an improvement both in hardware and technical support.
Because of reliability and improved performance.
Read Prabhjyot Singh's full review
September 12, 2020
Elizabeth Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It provides a higher level of communication and easier streamlining throughout our organization. The retention of data and easy access helps especially during a new work from home environment. Every user has full access and it's fairly easy to navigate through. It has additional integrations that could help larger organizations.
  • Works quickly
  • Data retention
  • Storage
  • Reboot
  • Cloud service
  • Integrations
If used to its full capacity with the integrations it would be best used for larger organizations. The cloud server could use some improvements but it also might be in the size/service purchased by our company. It speeds up our data and our storage and makes our cross-office communication flow easily.
It serves its purpose and works well for our company size. We have recently moved to fully remote due to the pandemic and having access to everything as we were in the office has been very helpful. Without that our jobs would have been significantly impacted. In other words, so far so good.
It's user friendly, basic functions for usage. With a standard IT support, even the functions and steps of troubleshooting are fairly easy and user friendly. Their product support team is always available as well for additional support, questions or light troubleshooting. It being a commonly used product also makes it convenient.
Read Elizabeth Rodriguez's full review
September 04, 2020
Wouter Hindriks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have moved our entire virtual environment (~1000 virtual servers) to Cisco UCS B servers. We have 40 physicals blades which provide all the computing power. For our customers, we host a virtual desktop environment complete with application servers, E-mail server, and file/print servers. We have stopped using all other vendors' servers because of the great scalability and ease of maintenance of our UCS environment.
  • Easy to manage, all operations from provisioning servers to firmware maintenance can be done from the UCS manager.
  • Easy to scale, since all intelligence resides at the Fabric Interconnect level, adding more servers is just a case of sliding in more blades, and deploy existing service profiles to provision the hardware with all the right config and firmware.
  • Great documentation and technical support available.
  • Initial setup is more involved than traditional servers.
  • Slightly larger financial investment when starting your UCS environment because of the need to add the Fabric Interconnects.
Good:
If you need to scale on a regular basis and need a flexible enviroment.
If you need a high density and high performance enviroment.

Less good:
If you need a very small static set of servers then most features of UCS will be not be as valuable for you.
Read Wouter Hindriks's full review
August 13, 2020
Alejandro Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a VMware cluster hosted by 5 Cisco UCS servers UCSB-B200-M4 running more than 100 VM. They work perfectly, the performance is perfect, and we have some critical workload there. The virtual machines hosted are from different departments and give several services to all of the companies, some are for internal use and others are for clients.
  • Excellent performance for critical workloads.
  • Simplify the administration of all components.
  • Excellent reliability
  • The management is not too easy.
  • The manage console needs to be more intuitive.
  • The support needs to improve in case of hardware failure or a diagnostic problem.
Is well suited when you need to implement a VMWare cluster since you can create server profiles and the UCS manage console helps you to implement it from 0 just creating an image from another server, so the time of deployment drops significantly.
The diagnostic time should be better and the time to send spare parts needs to improve, especially when you are in the Latin America region.
Read Alejandro Pineda's full review
September 15, 2020
Antonio Setem | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have many racked Cisco UCS servers in our datacenter. We use it in IT and Web infrastructure, services, database, virtualization, file sharing, and public cloud. Rack UCS servers are based on Intel Xeon chips and are fully compatible with other systems already deployed and older than we have. It has facilitated and contributed a lot to our IT team due to its reliability.
  • High-performance virtualization and IT and web infrastructure
  • Integration with public and hybrid cloud
  • Services and file sharing
  • High hardware cost and manufacturer warranty and support
The big benefit of this solution is in unified computing. No matter how many UCS servers or blades we have, we will always have a single point of administration and management in which computers, as well as virtualization network elements, LAN and SAN are gathered in a simple and efficient interface. Over time, we have been expanding more servers and the deployment is extremely easy and fast with the minimum possible configuration.
The manufacturer of this solution has excellent support and warranty for the hardware and firmware. The service is quick and easy to solve problems or address doubts. UCS is a device that will hardly give problems and the support is more for firmware updates. Cisco is a reference in this requirement and serves us very well.
Usability is excellent; management is unified across LAN, SAN, and virtualization networks. The servers are highly scalable and adding new ones is super simple unlike other manufacturers.
Read Antonio Setem's full review
September 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCS is being used throughout our organization as our default server architecture. Cisco is used for the majority of our network backbone so when we were upgrading from HP and Dell servers we decided to test out Cisco. It solves our problem of having full sized servers as we've moved all to blades and chassis.
  • Well designed hardware
  • Expansion abilities are huge
  • Connects well with other cisco products
  • Software interface is confusing and has many bugs
  • Price is high for premium name
  • Back plane limitations
Cisco is king for a reason. You pay a high price but you get a great product. Besides some software glitches (which are getting better with each software update) you really have a solid product that you can rely on. Cisco as a whole is known for rock solid hardware that rarely goes down.
Cisco support is generally very good. Licensing issues will creep up at times when contact support but if you keep good documentation or plan to use smart licensing you can avoid those problems. Cisco responds quickly in an outage and has fast hardware turn around time when you need a part.
While Cisco's hardware is solid and long running, their software is usually the weak point. I will say that they are getting better with each release but if I had to find a problem with usability that would be it. Overall usability is good when you can work around software issues.
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a manager of the IT Department, our network admins came to me about purchasing a Cisco UCS (B series), and it is currently being used for the majority of our computing and virtual server needs. We have moved our entire existing physical server pool to these blades and chassis systems. They have continually outperformed our older rack-mounted servers from HP and Dell in pretty much every area besides power usage! As an engineer, I have a lot of hands-on experience with similar products; the UCS specifically answers a lot of requests that the others could not. The UCS system has completely replaced our existing hardware that was due for updates. We are now fully switched over to the Cisco UCS series as our main server farm. For my role, I wanted to get a system that worked well for our admins and made their jobs easier overall!
  • Great chassis and blade design.
  • Power efficiency with latest B series.
  • Super fast performance.
  • Cisco makes great hardware.
  • The company backs up their product with great support.
  • The software is buggy at times.
  • The UI is very complex and confusing.
  • Cisco's licensing is occasionally a headache.
  • Patch management can be troublesome.
Its hard not to suggest Cisco UCS when it easily outperforms the other major server providers in price per performance metrics. You get usually a faster box, and well designed hardware for less. Support is top tier. Only thing people may have a problem with is Cisco's often times confusing and unnecessarily complex licensing structure. If you have limited space, the UCS is a life saver. We wanted to reduce our wiring and rack space and with the Cisco system we've got it all in a single rack now.
Cisco support for the UCS is the same experience you will have with most of their other product lines. And what you've come to experience is short wait times for tier 1 issues and quick callbacks for others. The same goes for their UCS line and also hardware turnaround is very fast. When we have a high priority ticket we can literally call and be on the phone with someone within minutes, and as you know when you're under the gun each minute is crucial.
This is probably where I will ding them the most. Cisco is a hardware company first, and a software company second (maybe third?). In the past few years, they definitely have been getting better by coming to a single UI design language but the UCS interface is still behind by quite a bit. If you don't mind running on a couple of versions old software, then you can run a more stable version and get by. If there are major security updates you may not be able to swing this, however. So just know when you're on the latest and greatest you tend to deal more with bugs.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize the UCS platform for our virtual compute, physical compute, as well as SASE application with a physical presence. Having a proven leader in this sector allows us to bring stability in our environment. Standardizing in one platform allows upgrades to be easier to perform and maintenance negotiations much easier.
  • Total cost of ownership
  • Ability to scale
  • Single pane to manage infrastructure
  • Diverse in equipment adaption
  • More testing on firmware releases
  • Cost could be higher end
Great suited in DC/farms where you want to standardize on platforms. Cisco UCS could become less of a player if they were more agile to agnostic vendors. Creating a proprietary bubble is a big deterrent.
Great support depending on your support model that was purchased.
its able to scale accordingly with infrastructure needs.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCS B Series is supporting on-premises resources such as hosting VMs for file sharing and also testing environments. Has allowed us to condense space but still take advantage of high performing devices. Our downtime has reduced due to smooth VM transferring processes without corruption or compromising of data.
  • Blades are easily replaced
  • Reduces rack space
  • Like other systems you will need to keep up with updates in sequential order
  • Updates and maintenance may require some downtime
Time constraints and low manpower can be a well-suited scenario to implement Cisco UCS B-Series. As long as updates are being applied the hardware does not require much support. It can complement a backup solution very adequately.
Have not had any issues that could not be resolved. Cisco is a large company and it can depend on who becomes your support tech but overall the experience has been good.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCS servers are the underlying host servers for our Cisco CUCM (voice / conferencing / meeting / chat services) clusters both for our publisher CUCM cluster and our subscriber CUCM cluster. They are beefy, powerful, private-labeled HP servers (they are actually manufactured by HP and Cisco simply slaps the UCS label on them) and very well-supported servers as long as you pay for the SmartNet on them until you stop using them. I love these servers and I really wish I could afford to have them everywhere, but I can't, they are just too expensive, so they only house our phone server clusters.
  • Cisco UCS servers are really excellent hypervisor hosts. They were built for it and one can tell that they were. They also have nice add-on features that you can buy when you first get them, but you can also add a lot of features later on.
  • Cisco USC servers, exactly like their HP analogues, HP ProLiant servers, are very robust, extremely reliable and have really excellent management tools. You don't have to pay or an iLo subscription on UCS servers like you do on HP ProLiants, however. A USC server comes with the "CIMC" or "Cisco Integrated Management Controller" which is obviously pretty much exactly the same thing as an iLo.
  • You can get parts for Cisco UCS server super fast (depending on your SmartNet plan type) and the support (through TAC) is unbeatable.
  • Cisco UCS servers are really expensive, especially considering that they are manufactured by HP and have the same motherboards, raid controllers, riser cards, etc etc as an HP ProLiant from the same time period and with the same specs. Even most of the server case looks like an HP ProLiant when you sit them side by side, something that I have actually done. Obviously you are paying for the Cisco name and Cisco TAC support, but under the covers UCS servers are HP servers.
  • It's kind of high-handed, but we were sort of forced to buy Cisco UCS servers to host our Cisco phone server clusters. The Cisco salesman (and the sales engineer form the VAR that was helping) both said that TAC can't support certain hardware-related problems with CUCM (or Unity or CUPS/IMP, etc) if those servers are hosted on a non-Cisco USC server. That said, they are really nice servers, even for the price. I just felt like we were railroaded into buying them.
USC servers are not for everyone. They are pricey, full stop. But they offer superior reliability and uptime and you really do need that kind of reliability if you are going to host a whole cluster of phone servers on one of these. They are scalable up to pretty enormous capabilities, so even a large enterprise would be able to set up their phone system using UCS servers. And that is the number 1 purpose for which I would recommend them. If you are NOT looking for a home for CUCM phone servers, you will probably not want to commit the $ for these servers, unless you are strongly committed to the Cisco brand or Cisco TAC support.
Cisco TAC is simply unbeatable and that goes for Cisco UCS server support just as well as it does for Cisco CUCM software. TAC has a well-deserved, excellent reputation and I do not hesitate to call them or open a ticket online, because I always know that I will get the help that I need and get it quickly.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
October 02, 2019
Cédric MARIOT | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At first we deployed UCS B-series into our Datacenter to host our production virtual machines. All is managed throw UCS Central. After some training and initial configuration, adding new blade take a couple of minutes. It has deeply decrease human action issues and administration time. This year we have deployed a new UCS Mini at a remote production site. Configuration was prepared before devices purchasing and so deployment was very fast and secured.
  • Centralized configuration
  • Blade interchangeability with service profiles
  • Secured and centralized hardware drivers upgrades
  • Secured changes like adding VLAN
  • Need learning and training to create proper profiles
  • Support is not automated: need to manually create cases
We used UCS-B on central Datacenter and on main production sites for the more sensible workloads (ERP, Databases, VDI)
It is not suitable for Remote Office and Branch Office for costs reason.
It has been preferred to Hyperconverged systems to allow more flexibility.
It replace HPE Blades which are less easy to use and to monitor.
As Cisco support is efficiency, case creation is not automated, you have to created manually cases for a part replacement.
Read Cédric MARIOT's full review
April 26, 2019
Sam Majam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco UCS B Series as the primary computer platform for our organization. We are essentially 100% virtualized, and it complements our VMWare environment very well.
  • Reliable platform.
  • Efficient use of data center floor space due to the blade architecture.
  • Scalability.
  • Manageability.
  • Cost: can be expensive to implement.
  • Management interface/GUI still uses java.
  • KVM can be sluggish.
Great for environments that have considerable compute needs and an efficient way to manage. Due to the costs to implement, it may not be optimal for small environments.
Read Sam Majam's full review
June 06, 2017
Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. it address the following business problems:

  • Port Reduction: The unification of the system provided a platform to reduce the number of network and storage ports I needed to consume. Fewer ports meant fewer devices, which translated into CapEx and OpEx savings.
  • Scalability: The ability to scale horizontally was greatly increased by the architecture of the UCS. I could easily add servers without running cables to network and storage switches.
  • Management: The UCS Manager provided a single pane of glass to manage the entire domain of UCS servers. Additionally, I could use the XML API to manage the domain as well. Flexibility wins.
  • Cisco UCS is ENERGY STAR certified. In fact, Cisco UCS has the best power-to-performance ratio in the market
  • Cisco UCS Manager is the only server management system that allows you to manage both blade and rack servers from a single interface.
  • Cisco virtual interface cards (VICs) are converged network cards (CNAs) that extend the network fabric directly to both servers and virtual machines so that a single connectivity mechanism can be used to connect both physical and virtual servers with the same level of visibility and control.
  • They are more expensive than competitors.
  • Correctly applying the concept of service profiles requires significant instruction, practice, and in-the-field fine tuning. Requires extensive planning for green-field installations.
  • Differences in “East-West” traffic and “Nort-West” traffic performance.
The use case for UCS boils down to two advantages: agility, and shrinking provisioning and maintenance time.

If you're worried about single vendor lock-in for hardware and networking, if you run the same application on 10,000 servers, or if capital costs for servers are a major concern, Cisco UCS won't be very attractive to you.
Read Jose Antonio Alvarez Cubero's full review
March 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UCS C-Series is being used by our organization as a multi-tenanted cloud platform. It allows us to deliver cloud solutions to our various customers at scale and with the dependability that comes with all Cisco solutions. The advanced management capabilities allow us to build and maintain a reference design with minimal effort.
  • Dependability - the UCS C-Series servers have never failed or faltered since installation.
  • Ease of maintenance due to packaged updates.
  • Ability to manage the environment with standards, allowing reference architectures to be deployed.
  • Integration between Prime and UCS C-Series has caused several problems.
Cisco offers some advanced purchasing and leasing options for UCS which can give service providers flexibility in their management of costs for a cloud environment. This really helps with on-demand systems.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco UCS Series?

Active data demands agile infrastructure built from ongoing innovation and delivery. So the vendor presents the Cisco UCS Series Storage Servers to deliver rapid scalability and performance, and to activate data and insights in real time. They state its modular architecture provides users the right-size infrastructure for the workload and operate with the efficiency and predictable TCO needed.

Cisco UCS Series Downloadables

Cisco UCS Series Competitors

Cisco UCS Series Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco UCS Series?

The Cisco UCS Series is a modular, high-density, high-availability, dual-node storage- optimized server suited for service providers, enterprises, and industry-specific environments. It provides dense, cost-effective storage to address your ever-growing data needs. Designed for a new class of data-intensive workloads, it is simple to deploy and excellent for applications for big data, data protection, software-defined storage environments, scale-out unstructured data repositories, media streaming, and content distribution.

What is Cisco UCS Series's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.1.

Who uses Cisco UCS Series?

The most common users of Cisco UCS Series are from Enterprises and the Unknown industry.