Cisco UCS Series

Cisco UCS Series

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.1 out of 100
Top Rated
Cisco UCS Series

Overview

Recent Reviews

Cisco UCS Series Review

10 out of 10
October 25, 2021
We are using Cisco UCS rack-mount servers as a corporate standard for our data centers and local branches to provide compute for the …
Continue reading

UCS

9 out of 10
May 05, 2021
Our experience with Cisco UCS has been outstanding. We are using it for our compute power for all of our VMWare environments. We have had …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco UCS Series, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco UCS Series?

The Cisco UCS Series is a modular, high-density, high-availability, dual-node storage- optimized server suited for service providers, enterprises, and industry-specific environments. It provides dense, cost-effective storage to address your ever-growing data needs. Designed for a new class of data…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

3 people want pricing too

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco UCS Series?

Active data demands agile infrastructure built from ongoing innovation and delivery. So the vendor presents the Cisco UCS Series Storage Servers to deliver rapid scalability and performance, and to activate data and insights in real time. They state its modular architecture provides users the right-size infrastructure for the workload and operate with the efficiency and predictable TCO needed.

Cisco UCS Series Downloadables

Cisco UCS Series Competitors

Cisco UCS Series Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

The Cisco UCS Series is a modular, high-density, high-availability, dual-node storage- optimized server suited for service providers, enterprises, and industry-specific environments. It provides dense, cost-effective storage to address your ever-growing data needs. Designed for a new class of data-intensive workloads, it is simple to deploy and excellent for applications for big data, data protection, software-defined storage environments, scale-out unstructured data repositories, media streaming, and content distribution.

HPE ProLiant DL and Dell PowerEdge R are common alternatives for Cisco UCS Series.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.5.

The most common users of Cisco UCS Series are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (94)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 36)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Colin Moynihan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Discuss problems with customers and understand their requirements. Big sales with partners (Netapp/Pure). Large deployments are a huge benefit.
  • Speed of Deployment
  • Flexible platform support
  • Mixed workloads
  • More investment with UCS mini going forward
  • Cost benefit compared to other vendors
  • More information UCS migrations with CIMC supervisor being retired
Large deployments can be reliable platforms once running and software support. Lead times are really hurting at the moment.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco UCB Series for voice and voicemail services. We would like to use them for remote worker services and integration with emergency alert systems.
  • QOS
  • MOH
  • License Management
  • Ease of Management
  • Disaster Recovery with Publisher and Subscriber
  • Great access to Network services for Publisher and Subscriber
  • The MWI has intermittent false positives
  • Reports are not easily customizable on older versions
  • vLan configuration can be cumbersome
The options in the admin control panel are easily identifiable; there is lots of great community information for troubleshooting; managing the UCS series switches is easily managed.
June 13, 2022

Cisco UCS My Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Normally we use these servers for virtualization. Always using Vmware as Hypervisor. In them, we mount different types of virtual machines, for example, Windows Server that is used as domain controller servers, DHCP servers, Active Directory, etc. In addition, we also use them to implement other Cisco services such as Cisco Prime Infrastructure, CMX, Cisco ISE, and even virtual Wireless controllers.
  • Excelent Performance
  • A very useful function is the CIMC in which you can monitor and even manage some of the server's own functions remotely.
  • HTML based kvm works great.
  • Perhaps something I don't like about these servers, especially the C-220 and 240 models, is that they are very large and 2 people are needed to mount them in the rack.
These servers are an excellent option for large networks where several virtual servers can be mounted, as this saves space and energy. In addition to other services as mentioned above, Cisco Prime Infrastructure, Cisco CMX, Windows Servers, vWLC. All this with the help of VMware as Hypervisor. An example where it would not be a good option would be in a small network or a small office where only 1 or 2 servers are required. In this case, I think the cost-benefit ratio is not adequate.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both our main production site and our site use UCS as their primary virtual machine. All of our servers have been replaced with UCS blades, thus we no longer have a traditional server setup. UCS and VMWare have made firmware upgrades a snap, with no downtime, because to their integration. Once the blade comes, the template is ready to go as if it had been there all along. This is another benefit of scaling up with additional blades.
  • Long-term reliability. There have been few hardware failures with Cisco UCS throughout the years, unlike some of the company's other systems
  • Easy OS updates and full firmware packages that cover all of the sub-components, there is little downtime for firmware upgrades
  • Some issues with the operating system were present in Memory's memory for some time. A few DIMMS had to be replaced before the current firmware stabilized the problem
  • Although some of the templating is a little difficult to understand, this is typical of most Cisco products
Cisco was a pioneer in redefining the traditional server paradigm, and it's the only one we've seen so far. When it comes to infrastructure upgrades, we're not tempted by the latest hyper-converged offerings. The HP Poliant and HP blades were our go-to weapons for years. However, nothing has come close to matching UCS's comprehensive offering. Network, computing, and storage management capabilities have not yet been beaten.
Ayush Dhawan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used it to help in reducing the TCO and increase agility factor. Each server addresses changing workload challenges from a balance of processing, memory, I/O, and its internal storage resources.
this provides single pane to get information from virtual or physical infrastructure.
It is a good product and has good interface
  • Easy information gathering
  • Single user interface
  • Integrated networking, virtualisation & storage
  • Pricing
  • Better API integration to Clour
  • Availability
It is suited well for the infrastructure where the presence of Physical infra is still dominant and virtualisation is though basic setup. This helps in simplying number of connected devices. Cisco UCS Series has the ability to integrate to traditional OS which is present with some clients which are still hesitant to migrate
January 15, 2022

Great all-around server

Pjeter Gjergjaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as host for large network architecture for a large provider [in the]USA. Very easy to use and delivers as per the datasheet released with UCS. It is versatile and offers a range of support for different architectures. Was used for [a] host of 4g arch (open stack and RH platform) but also is used now for 5G Arch.
  • Hardware
  • Storage
  • Networking
  • Access
  • KVM
  • Raid controller
Very reliable. It is widely used by large providers across the world. So you can't go wrong if you decide to purchase it.
Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our HP C Series blade chassis with UCS back in 2013. Since then we have upgraded the chassis and blades once, rolling the old chassis' to our DR site. UCS serves as our main [computer] for our virtual environment at both our main production site as well as for our DR hot site. We no longer have a classic server environment as we have moved to all UCS blades. Combined with VMWare, UCS has made firmware upgrades a breeze without downtime. Another bonus is when scaling up with new blades, we pre-configure the blade before it arrives and once it is plugged in, the template has it ready to go as if it were there all along.
  • Minimal downtime for firmware upgrades when paired with VMWare
  • Easy OS upgrades with complete firmware packages that cover all of the subcomponents
  • Solid performance over time. Unlike some other Cisco products, UCS is well baked and has lasted a very long time with barely any hardware failures.
  • Memory for a while had a few bugs with the OS. We ended up replacing a handful of DIMMS before the latest firmware seems to have stabilized the issue.
  • Some of the templating is not intuitive, but this is on par with most things Cisco.
We played with Nutantix and used HP blades for years. But nothing really has matched the complete package that is included with UCS. The ability to manage the network, compute, and storage, alongside the firmware in one place, has yet to [beat]. Cisco was one of the first to revolutionize the old school server model and has yet to beat in our opinion. Some of the new hyper-converged products look nice, but we keep sticking to UCS when upgrading our infrastructure.
Olayinka Awoyemi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a big company with many branches across the province and sometimes having employees working from different provinces, Cisco UCS servers help us to ensure that our data and information are centralized in such a way that all branches and locations can easily access their preferred applications and as well use it for their day to day activities.
  • Excellent performance
  • Excellent record of reliability
  • Excellent scalability
  • None for now
Cisco UCS series is best suited for all companies regardless of size - small, medium, or large. In the present state of working from home, the Cisco UCS series can handle and integrate a huge amount of computers via virtual networks such as LAN. It is also suited for managing and administering cloud operations.
Chethan Chandra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cisco UCS B, C series blades in our Datacenters to host Database workloads both on bare metal and Xen.
  • Seamless to plug and play, be it for new blades or maintenance of existing blades.
  • Reliable, provides low or no latency High Availability.
  • Easy to scale out chassis & blades.
  • We couldn't rely on baremetal requirements with more than 1TB memory.
  • Hardware support handling was different by regions, some good some not so good.
We use [Cisco] UCS [Series] for bare-metal database workloads & Xen hypervisors. It handles the smaller workloads, up to 1TB of memory, the failover is fast and reliable. The smaller app servers are never to be worried about. In general, works well for hosting 1-2 large-scale solutions. For scenarios where the solutions need a larger scale (more databases, larger database, multiple solutions, multiple tiers), the "blade" concept will not work. This is where you should consider the 4U or 8U servers, to consolidate workloads spread across multiple chassis and smaller blades. This may be expensive but is much easily maintainable.
October 25, 2021

Cisco UCS Series Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco UCS rack-mount servers as a corporate standard for our data centers and local branches to provide compute for the different applications and services. The UCS platform provides a stable environment that is also easy to manage and support.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Performance.
  • Excellent reliability.
  • Deploy in less time with fewer steps.
  • Price.
  • You need to pay for SMARTnet to get support.
  • High hardware cost.
I would definitely recommend evaluating Cisco UCS Series in your company. You pay a little bit higher price but you will receive a reliable, stable and manageable infrastructure. You could also choose Cisco offers advanced purchasing or leasing options.
We are buying Cisco UCS Series together with SMARTnet's maintenance contract. SMARTnet will offer you guaranteed response time and spare parts replacement according to agreed terms.
Cisco UCS Series has a very simple configuration before moving to production. You just need to connect power and network cables, provide initial remote config and upload OS.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco UCS B Series for the Production client-facing environment and a very small portion of the same series on non Production environment. The VMware Hyper-Visor is running on bare metal hosting several virtual machines. It's been for almost 7 years we have been using this and it boosted our up-time as we didn't have any issues while it's running or even during any kind of firmware upgrades.
  • [It's] easy to manage and configure all the chassis and blades using the UCS manager.
  • Upgrading the firmware, VMware driver on Cisco UCS is very straight forward.
  • Uptime. We never had a situation where the server had crashed.
  • [The] initial investment was very expensive unless Cisco provides a good deal compared to their competitors.
  • Increase the hardware EOL and support for min 10 years.
  • Very expensive to upgrade the Memory as Cisco recommends not to use the third-party product as it voids the warranty.
Except for the pricing, which can be further negotiated, sometimes Cisco provides additional addons for free of cost which is a cost-benefit. We have been running the production and UAT environment for almost 7 years and never experienced any issues related to the hardware. The upgrade of the firmware takes a reasonable amount of time depending on the number of chassis, servers, and importantly the load of the virtualization platform as the time depends on how quickly the Virtual machines are freed from the host for the upgrade. The firmware upgrade is a smooth process that starts from the Fabric Interconnect and moves down to the chassis and blades.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a mixture of implementation in our different regions in the company, which hosts multiple (interconnected) cloud services that we offer to our customers. One of our platform resides on a Cisco UCS chassis, which runs the heart of our NL infrastructure. It hosts several Virtual Machines via VMware as the hypervisor technology, which takes care of our UC services and infrastructure.
  • Easily managed (via UCS Manager)
  • Ease of Installation and Upgrade
  • Compatibility with our current infrastructure, mainly composed of Cisco technologies with a mix of other vendors
  • Improve the stability/compatibility CIMC without flash (force HTML5)
  • Server virtualization support (perhaps as an additional feature)
Very well suited for organizations like ourselves, which still heavily relies on both cloud infrastructure, but still building on premise solutions for internal use and customer infrastructure. It allows us to easily manage, deploy (and remove if needed), upgrade and improve the capacity of our services, whilst ensuring reliability as these serve as the core of the infrastructure.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our Engineering department for managing the IBM VMs and Windows Remote Desktop machines.
  • It supports installation of hypervisors like ESXi.
  • Provide Cisco Integrated Management Controller for managing the hardware.
  • Provide good specs of hardware to support many types of virtual machines.
  • They should send it with licensed ESXi.
  • Cisco should provide server virtualization support too.
  • The hardware should provide support to network-based storage without any performance issues.
Cisco UCS is best for managing virtual machines and it integrates well with ESXi which runs as a hypervisor on it. Also, inbuilt CIMC provides management of hardware.
May 05, 2021

UCS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our experience with Cisco UCS has been outstanding. We are using it for our compute power for all of our VMWare environments. We have had two instances of UCS, We have used the B and C series systems. We have had tremendous uptime and seamless usage of this system for many years.
  • Easy management
  • Reliably
  • Cost
  • Initial configuration
We have used different options in the past and this has been our best fit. We are doing both VDI and our virtual servers on this system without any trouble. We have used multiple storage systems with it and that has worked great. I cannot think of a time where it did not meet our needs.
William Guertin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have a mixture of COLO and Cloud devices. Our primary platform resides on Cisco USC B chassis (we have quite of few of them across the globe.) These for the most part are running virtual servers leveraging VMware as the hypervisor technology. We have implemented a number of virtual technologies successfully using this hardware from normal VMS to Kubernetes nodes. This hardware allows us to provide our development teams significant cost savings as compared to migrating to the Cloud. We typically host our development as well as many production environments on our Cisco Chassis.
  • Our primary networking environment is based on Cisco technologies and the Cisco UCS meshes very well with the networking tech.
  • We have multiple products and multiple customers and the Cisco UCS does an excellent job of offering significant computing power while being able to slice it up and isolate those environments physically and logically from other environments.
  • Increased flexibility in being able to upgrade hardware while leveraging our previous expense of buying the chassis. We can update individual blades at a lower cost than buying new servers every few years.
  • Related to the previous point. The chassis offers more flexibility without the paywall associated with buying all new hardware. There are a number of different modules that can be added to the chassis that change the offered features while keeping the cost manageable.
  • Just thinking if there is a way to make enabling lightweight containers (ie Kube nodes) easier due to build in features? More of a question than a statement.
  • I really can't think of three things at this time. I have used Sun, IBM, and Cisco Blade servers and Cisco seems to be the most intuitive and easiest to work with.
For our case, Cisco UCS works very well for our topology. We have a lot of isolation between our products and we receive significant cost savings over moving all our development to the Cloud. There is always the cost comparison between buying individual 1U servers and trying to serve the environments that way. There are situations where the initial cost of buying a UCS vs buying smaller 1U servers where you don't need the capacity that a UCS delivers.
Ujjwal Goel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for the organization and also we implement Cisco collaboration solution over it for the customers. It is the only solution for hosting Cisco collab apps without the issue of CPU spike, memory high, etc.
  • Fast IO speed.
  • Easy upgrade of VM tools.
  • Easy installation of hypervisor and VM management.
  • Easy management using CIMC and UCS Manager.
  • Should support NAS based storage too.
  • Should improve the UCS Manager controls and make it more like CIMC.
  • CIMC of UCS should work without flash too as flash has been discontinued by Adobe and CIMC needs flash.
For any Cisco collaboration product like CUCM, CUC, UCCX, CER, etc. the UCS series is the best choice. It can be UCS C or B or even BE.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Cisco UCS Series servers 5 years ago to be the servers that host our virtual machines for voice over IP solution inside the company. and during this years we used them to add more virtual machines to it to expand our environment and setup more solutions. It was very powerful devices which enable us to have our servers up and running without problems.
  • Great performance
  • Easy to use
  • Very powerful servers
  • It's quite expensive
  • Lake of knowledge between engineers
Due to the stability of the product and the powerful we got from it, I'm sure to recommend it to colleagues if you need a standalone server or a powerful host for our virtual machine. This server comes to enable you do this. The server has multiple room for upgrade, memory, and hard disks, so you can upgrade it while you are going to scale up your environment.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco UCS Series servers are used as the basis of the virtual machines that run our telephony systems. As such, they are really only used by the IT department, although the telephone system itself is used by everyone. The Cisco UCS Series servers provide a solid compute platform for our virtual machines.
  • Good priced servers suitable for many virtual workloads
  • Pre-tested for use with Cisco telephony virtual servers
These servers have been great for our company, as they are designed to work well with other Cisco components in our network. They are a compute platform designed to run VMware as the hypervisor, so if that is not your chosen virtualization technology, then maybe these are not the servers for you.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco UCS Series servers in our OT. We operate four data centers and are using Cisco UCS Series servers in each of them. Some are part of our HyperFlex clusters and some are used standalone. We have an MS SQL AAG on two of the servers, others are used as Domain Controllers or backup repositories.
  • Managed via UCS manager.
  • Able to use profiles to standardize.
  • Different models available.
  • Parts availability after products eol.
I only know scenarios where they are well suited. We use them as every server by now and are very happy with the performance and the value.
RMAs are a little more complicated than we were used to by another vendor. But the Support is great and very helpful though
You are able to do anything you can imagine with these severs
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCS is our compute backbone of our Private Cloud. We have almost 250 UCS Blades distributed across many chassis and 6 UCS Domains. UCS helps us in providing reliable compute resources for our virtualization services to our needs. The NIC virtualization is the most effective feature that we use in our cloud. UCS stateless blades give us leverage to quickly reuse the blade anywhere and migrate seamlessly.
  • Virtulization of VIC cards
  • UCS Manage to manage all the blades and integration with VMware
  • Consistant Cisco Tech support in TS
  • Stateless Architecture
  • UCS VIX should support DPDK and SR-IOV
  • 25 G NIC full compaitability wth Nexus switches 25G ports
  • Cisco UCS Manager to manage multiple UCS FIs not just 2
Based on our 5 years of expeience with Cisco UCS, we can say that is best suited for IaaS compute virtualizations. I see it as a fit for all scenarios be it enterprise, DC, Corporate, anywhere.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a manager of the IT Department, our network admins came to me about purchasing a Cisco UCS (B series), and it is currently being used for the majority of our computing and virtual server needs. We have moved our entire existing physical server pool to these blades and chassis systems. They have continually outperformed our older rack-mounted servers from HP and Dell in pretty much every area besides power usage! As an engineer, I have a lot of hands-on experience with similar products; the UCS specifically answers a lot of requests that the others could not. The UCS system has completely replaced our existing hardware that was due for updates. We are now fully switched over to the Cisco UCS series as our main server farm. For my role, I wanted to get a system that worked well for our admins and made their jobs easier overall!
  • Great chassis and blade design.
  • Power efficiency with latest B series.
  • Super fast performance.
  • Cisco makes great hardware.
  • The company backs up their product with great support.
  • The software is buggy at times.
  • The UI is very complex and confusing.
  • Cisco's licensing is occasionally a headache.
  • Patch management can be troublesome.
Its hard not to suggest Cisco UCS when it easily outperforms the other major server providers in price per performance metrics. You get usually a faster box, and well designed hardware for less. Support is top tier. Only thing people may have a problem with is Cisco's often times confusing and unnecessarily complex licensing structure. If you have limited space, the UCS is a life saver. We wanted to reduce our wiring and rack space and with the Cisco system we've got it all in a single rack now.
Cisco support for the UCS is the same experience you will have with most of their other product lines. And what you've come to experience is short wait times for tier 1 issues and quick callbacks for others. The same goes for their UCS line and also hardware turnaround is very fast. When we have a high priority ticket we can literally call and be on the phone with someone within minutes, and as you know when you're under the gun each minute is crucial.
This is probably where I will ding them the most. Cisco is a hardware company first, and a software company second (maybe third?). In the past few years, they definitely have been getting better by coming to a single UI design language but the UCS interface is still behind by quite a bit. If you don't mind running on a couple of versions old software, then you can run a more stable version and get by. If there are major security updates you may not be able to swing this, however. So just know when you're on the latest and greatest you tend to deal more with bugs.
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco UCS blade and rack-mount servers in our Enterprise data centers to provide compute for our infrastructure that encompasses over 2500 servers. The UCS platform provides a stable environment that is also easy to administer. The UCS platform makes it easy to scale up and scale-out as necessary too. You can upgrade the Fabric Interconnects, individual blades, and chassis without any downtime as well.
  • Easy to manage
  • Scalable
  • High performance
  • Cost-effective
  • Technical support
  • Lots of RAM DIMM failures
  • Firmware upgrades are still a bit painful.
Cisco UCS is a great foundation on which to build your enterprise-class server infrastructure. It is not a good fit for small companies because the networking components would be too costly to implement. Cisco UCS blades and rack-mount servers are relatively easy to manage through the UCS console, where you can apply blade profiles and create automation to help provision new servers, etc.
We get our Cisco UCS support directly through Cisco Smartnet support. Overall, they are above average, but like with most large vendors it depends on which engineer you get when you call. Our Cisco sales team does add value and we can leverage them to escalate cases or issues that come up.
Cisco UCS's usability is where they really shine compared to other server and compute platforms. Cisco has a very simple network configuration, so only a few cables to connect to the network core and you are up and running. Overall, the management interface for Cisco UCS is pretty straightforward as well. We have onboarded engineers onto our team and they can pick up basic UCS administration pretty quickly. We also like the ability to leverage APIs, etc. to automate blade and server builds.
September 18, 2020

Cisco UCS - Pros and Cons

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize the UCS platform for our virtual compute, physical compute, as well as SASE application with a physical presence. Having a proven leader in this sector allows us to bring stability in our environment. Standardizing in one platform allows upgrades to be easier to perform and maintenance negotiations much easier.
  • Total cost of ownership
  • Ability to scale
  • Single pane to manage infrastructure
  • Diverse in equipment adaption
  • More testing on firmware releases
  • Cost could be higher end
Great suited in DC/farms where you want to standardize on platforms. Cisco UCS could become less of a player if they were more agile to agnostic vendors. Creating a proprietary bubble is a big deterrent.
Great support depending on your support model that was purchased.
its able to scale accordingly with infrastructure needs.
September 15, 2020

My Cisco UCS Series Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have many racked Cisco UCS servers in our datacenter. We use it in IT and Web infrastructure, services, database, virtualization, file sharing, and public cloud. Rack UCS servers are based on Intel Xeon chips and are fully compatible with other systems already deployed and older than we have. It has facilitated and contributed a lot to our IT team due to its reliability.
  • High-performance virtualization and IT and web infrastructure
  • Integration with public and hybrid cloud
  • Services and file sharing
  • High hardware cost and manufacturer warranty and support
The big benefit of this solution is in unified computing. No matter how many UCS servers or blades we have, we will always have a single point of administration and management in which computers, as well as virtualization network elements, LAN and SAN are gathered in a simple and efficient interface. Over time, we have been expanding more servers and the deployment is extremely easy and fast with the minimum possible configuration.
The manufacturer of this solution has excellent support and warranty for the hardware and firmware. The service is quick and easy to solve problems or address doubts. UCS is a device that will hardly give problems and the support is more for firmware updates. Cisco is a reference in this requirement and serves us very well.
Usability is excellent; management is unified across LAN, SAN, and virtualization networks. The servers are highly scalable and adding new ones is super simple unlike other manufacturers.
September 12, 2020

Cisco Yay or Nay

Elizabeth Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It provides a higher level of communication and easier streamlining throughout our organization. The retention of data and easy access helps especially during a new work from home environment. Every user has full access and it's fairly easy to navigate through. It has additional integrations that could help larger organizations.
  • Works quickly
  • Data retention
  • Storage
  • Reboot
  • Cloud service
  • Integrations
If used to its full capacity with the integrations it would be best used for larger organizations. The cloud server could use some improvements but it also might be in the size/service purchased by our company. It speeds up our data and our storage and makes our cross-office communication flow easily.
It serves its purpose and works well for our company size. We have recently moved to fully remote due to the pandemic and having access to everything as we were in the office has been very helpful. Without that our jobs would have been significantly impacted. In other words, so far so good.
It's user friendly, basic functions for usage. With a standard IT support, even the functions and steps of troubleshooting are fairly easy and user friendly. Their product support team is always available as well for additional support, questions or light troubleshooting. It being a commonly used product also makes it convenient.