Cisco Umbrella Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
64 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

ILEANA COLMENTER | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Umbrella covers your back!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Nowadays, Connext as a part of Migesa Group has been using Umbrella across all the company even in its partner companies (capta, Migesa, SoftM). Because we have more than 7 branch offices in Mexico and a lot of travelers and home workers, Umbrella is a MUST in each computer to ensure security inside and outside of our organization.
  • Umbrella detects any threat during user’s navigation.
  • Umbrella allows mobile users to be protected even outside the office.
  • Umbrella should integrate a view of amp solution in its dashboard (because clients buy the bundle of both solutions and always complain about the two dashboard administration).
  • Simplify the process of delivering Umbrella clients through Active Directory.
I consider Umbrella as a unique solution to protect the DNS resolution of a network which is why I recommend it to all organizations no matter the field they specialize in. This solutions helps networks to be updated, secured and most importantly protected from internal users who don’t know if their request to a website is malicious or if that link in the corporate email is a petition of a malicious site.
You have a basic and an advanced support. Both offer the best support allowing you to create a case in almost any language and you will have the resolution faster than other vendors. In case they struggle with the solution because of a client’s network issue, they open a conversation with your team to find the way out.
Read ILEANA COLMENTER's full review
Sebastián Sarasate | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2020

Cisco Umbrella Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we have been using Cisco Umbrella to protect each site in Argentina and Brazil (+160 locations) for more than 2 years and in more than 2500 roaming clients.
  • Centralized management to all sites
  • Roaming Client, to protect user when they are out of the office
  • Reporting of users and sites
  • Integration with AMP
  • Integration with Active Directory for name resolution on roaming clients
I consider it possible to use Cisco Umbrella in any scenario as a content filter. Without a doubt, the best use case is when you have multiple sites and many users who work remotely.
In our case, for what are large offices we have a virtual server like DNS to host Umbrella queries. In the case of the smallest offices, these queries go to our DC. For remote users we have the roaming client installed on each device.
We had excellent support from the moment when we carried out an exhaustive review of all the products on the market until today already in production and during implementation. We use a mixed services scheme between Cisco professionals and a local partner. In my experience, it is the best option and always leaving the implementation tasks to their own team so as not to lose the know-how.
Read Sebastián Sarasate's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2020

Cisco Umbrella: Simple to use, simply get it

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used enterprise-wide for both our internal endpoints as well as our guest-WIFI networks. Umbrella allows us to provide a consistent policy to all these endpoints without requiring all traffic to pass through my entire security stack. In addition, we are able to apply this policy to managed endpoints when they would otherwise be considered off-net.
  • Application of policy to networks, not just managed endpoints.
  • High-volume DNS forwarder. No reliance upon ISP DNS services.
  • Identification of requesting endpoint depending on deployment methodology.
  • Reporting policy actions when IP of endpoint appears to change between resolution and access times.
Easily apply policies to an enterprise without touching any endpoints by simply using Cisco Umbrella as a forwarder on existing DNS servers. However, that deployment method precludes Umbrella from providing visibility into which endpoints may be trying to communicate with C&C servers.

Deploying the Umbrella roaming module provides a means to extend a security policy and protection to mobile devices when outside the enterprise networks.
Extension to endpoints outside the firewall requires the installation of an agent, either a dedicated Umbrella agent or the AnyConnect Roaming Security module. Once that agent and an organization-specific config file are deployed there is no more touch required on the endpoint as all policy management/reporting is accessed via the cloud management dashboard.
Umbrella support has always been responsive and willing to work with us, whether that was simply user education, issue troubleshooting, or submitting feature enhancement requests.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2020

Cisco Umbrella is our Protection Shield

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Umbrella globally for the whole organization and divide policies by departments. It protects our office and remote (roaming) computers against malicious domains. For manufacturing sites, we have a policy to restrict internet access (use allow-only policy). We are trying to use all features of the Cisco Umbrella and connect ThreatGrid and ThreatResponse.
  • Protect against Malicious Domains
  • Protect against Newly Seen Domains
  • Decrypt traffic
  • No Cisco-Managed Destination Lists of "Big players" like Microsoft, SalesForce, Amazon
Cisco Umbrella is perfectly protecting our users against malicious domains or inappropriate categories of websites like P2P network, Adult Content, Newly Seen domains. The great feature of Cisco Umbrella is the support of Roaming Clients--protect our users anywhere, at the office and at home. Allow-only mode is a nice feature as well to use zero-trust methodology.
We use Roaming Security Module for Cisco AnyConnect. The integration is really straightforward and can apply user-based and group-based policies for endpoints outside the firewall, roaming users, and remote branch offices.
We had no much interaction with support because Umbrella has a very good deployment guide.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Cisco Umbrella protects us from the dark clouds of the Internet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is used across our entire organization. We utilize the Umbrella Roaming Client to protect all of our computers, whether on- or off-network. Cisco Umbrella gives the ability to push Internet protection policies to all of our users, no matter where they may be working. Cisco Umbrella protects 100% of our users 100% of the time.
  • Cisco Umbrella protect devices regardless of where or how they are connected to the Internet.
  • Cisco Umbrella simplifies and unifies policy administration.
  • Cisco Umbrella protects our devices from a wide range of potential content and security risks.
  • Cisco Umbrella Reporting can be cumbersome.
  • Log retention location and duration could be better thought out.
  • No mobile app to administer the platform
Cisco Umbrella is well suited for organizations that have a vast remote workforce and that have a need to easily protect all their devices.
Reponse times on some support cases have been quite lengthy. Support cases can potentially drag out if a constant check-in communication is not sent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Hop under my umbrella!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Umbrella as a content filter and for malware protection across the whole organization when endpoints are not behind one of our central firewalls. I like the ease of deployment, the rich statistics it supplies, and the great AMP integration. It also protects our VPN users when they are not connected.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Structured rich statistics.
  • Option to go full proxy.
  • SSL scanning for all requests.
Complete company coverage without exceptions is how we use it. I can't think of a scenario where it would not be useful, except for smaller networks where you can still have integration points (e.g. Meraki) but don't need a full-blown enterprise setup.
Because their support service is very, very good and much faster than e.g. Cisco TAC.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Umbrella DNS Filtering for Everyone

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Umbrella for DNS Security and URL filtering. Our entire organization uses DNS forwarded to Cisco Umbrella. Our mobile users use the Cisco Umbrella profile loaded into the Cisco Secure Mobility Client to protect both inside and outside the firewall. Cisco Umbrella adds another layer of security to our multi-layered setup at an affordable price.
  • The up-time has been excellent so far.
  • The Umbrella profile loads right into our Cisco Secure Mobility Client setup.
  • The Active Directory implementation is convoluted and complicated.
  • Would like to be able to create a rule (block or allow) directly from the reporting pages.
Cisco Umbrella protects all of our endpoints both inside and outside of the firewall. Simple DNS forwarding allows this solution to be used by even the smallest of organizations, and indeed, it is even appropriate for home use. The more complicated the network, the more difficult it is to configure the Active Directory integration.
We do not pay for phone support from Umbrella, so our support is only through the knowledge base and email support. Umbrella support always replies within the specified time, and their support has been excellent except for the issues regarding Active Directory setup and configuration, although I am not sure I would blame support from those issues--that is probably more of an engineering issue.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Umbrella Review - Keeping the Rain Out of Your Network.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First - Cisco Umbrella used to be called OpenDNS. Cisco bought them. And of course had to rename it - especially since it had OPEN in the name. LOL! I work as the director of IT for a mid sized architectural firm. The architects were used to going about anywhere they wanted on the web and when I started here I knew I had to find a way to "protect" them without being too pushy. OpenDNS, aka Umbrella has been a lifesaver. Using their selection list I was able to whittle down the content available to my users while still having the ability to customize and whitelist sites they needed to have access to. This product - in case you don't know - filters traffic at the DNS level. They have whitelist/blacklist DNS entries and for the most part it is totally transparent and extremely fast.
  • Filters content at the DNS level. Makes it a little harder for the sneaky ones to make it through.
  • Since this is at the DNS level, using their DNS servers (as a forwarder to your local DNS) it is extremely fast. Transparent.
  • Always being updated. Not dependent on "definitions" or algorithms - a site is either blacklisted or whitelisted.
  • Easy to implement, apply, maintain
  • Reporting is a bit convoluted. I'd like it to be easier to sort out.
I believe security has to be approached in a multi-layered manner. I consider Umbrella to be essential - the first layer of defense if you will. After all if the users can't get there - they won't get stung. But again, I believe in multi-layers and I know people will be people... In addition to the "pre-set" content categories - you can also blacklist sites you deem necessary. I honestly can't think of a scenario where Umbrella wouldn't work well.
I'm not at all advocating giving up on good anti-virus or firewalls & security appliances. I just consider Umbrella a member of the team.
The very few times I've needed customer support it has been decent.
Read Dan Reynolds's full review
Patricio Santirso | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

The best Umbrella ever!! CISCO Umbrella

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Umbrella to protect our work stations as we have a massive portion of our employees working remotely and outside our company network. Cisco Umbrella is allowing us to avoid using the VPN Connection to access specific company sites or applications, simplifying the way our non-IT users work.
  • Simplicity of configuration.
  • Continuous updates.
  • Malware detection.
  • I can't think of a scenario where Cisco Umbrella didn't work correctly.
  • The administration panel could be simplified, but it works fine anyway.
  • Reporting capabilities or connectivity to other reporting tools.
I think Cisco Umbrella is a very appropriate tool when most of your business users work outside your office and need to provide them a secure environment to connect to the company's content. It gives the ability to connect without having to use VPN in some cases, allowing them to open their laptops and have access to data.
I never faced a significant issue with this tool. It has fit all the purposes we are using it for. I will continue using this solution in the future and recommend it to my partners. I think CISCO is headed in the right direction in these types of products. Thanks, CISCO!
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
Nicole McMillian | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Cisco Umbrella a Security Must Have

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella to secure our organization tarting with DNS-layer protection. Cisco Umbrella helps us starting at the Internet layer to block malicious and unwanted domains, IP addresses, and cloud applications before a connection is ever established. We have the ability to approve apps for or organization and see what is being blocked in real time.
  • Application Security and Blocking.
  • Improves visibility at the DNS layer.
  • Helps with the speed of incident response.
  • I'm pleased with Cisco Umbrella. I don't have any areas for improvement.
Cisco Umbrella is a high-security tool, whether you have 50 employees or 10,000. For large organizations, this tool helps you keep the pulse of your company and gives you some added visualization. Another great function of this tool is that it connects to Cisco Threat Intelligence, and you can pivot to and do research and create cases to dig deeper into if needed.
The Cisco Umbrella Support is quick and very helpful. They know the product and are always available to give direction, or technical support.
Read Nicole McMillian's full review
Emiliano Sola | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Cisco Umbrella Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for resolving URL, DNS malware protection, evaluating the web proxy. We started the POC on a single part of the company and we extended it to the entire organization. We are looking forward to deploying some appliances to detect which machines are trying to resolve malicious websites.
  • DNS control.
  • Web proxy.
  • Reporting summary.
  • Integration with other components.
Appropriate for DNS filtering, web proxy, and applicative firewalling. It would be a great idea to integrate Umbrella with other products (for instance, Trendmicro) to improve the understanding of the potential malicious domain the machines try to resolve. In particular, it would cross the antivirus softwares data with the detected DNS queries.
Cisco's commercial side and support were patient and always available. We had a very good experience. They followed the company in the implementation of the Umbrella solutions. The initial evaluation was very clear and the consultants were very skilled technically.
Read Emiliano Sola's full review
Elvin Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

My Cisco Umbrella Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is being used organization-wide amongst all of our departments. It helps us serve as our "first line of defense" against internet and firewall threats.
  • It protects from "security blind spots" we weren't previously aware of.
  • It has given us a protection tool for our cloud-based apps.
  • Helps block against unwanted domains, IP addresses, etc.
  • More online training and FAQ's.
  • Very small number of cases where it has affected internet connectivity and/or computer performance.
Cisco Umbrella is a great tool for non-profits and small businesses needing an inexpensive, yet quality solution that can be used to defend against internet threats.
They offer options for 24/7 support. They also provide online FAQ's along with a documentation portal and e-learning hub.
Read Elvin Thomas's full review
Jesus Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Cisco Umbrella Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
It is being used across our organization and several clients, we use Cisco Umbrella for workstation protection.
  • Integration with other Cisco products.
  • DNS protection.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Log management.
  • Reporting could be better.
It is suited for any organization. It has helped us to pass security audits, provides great visibility and protection.
With all our issues or questions TAC has always been helpful.
Read Jesus Franco's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

An MSP Perspective on Cisco Umbrella

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella internally and are also use it as an important security tool for most of our customers. We use it for DNS encryption/web security as well as content filtering.
  • Lightweight, doesn't use up much resources.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Shows local DNS settings as 127.0.0.1 when an agent is installed, which confuses some customers.
  • Causes issues sometimes where client loses DNS settings and has no internet access.
It's good for us as an MSP because it's easy to manage all of our customers from one location. The cloud management interface is easy to manage and navigate. It's also very easy to deploy and manage remotely, which is very necessary for use as an MSP.
I have actually not had to work with their support too often. But from what I remember, their support was responsive and helpful. It's easy to create cases from the cloud portal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Cisco Umbrella Has You Covered!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Cisco Umbrella client to filter web content that we do not want to leave accessible for public consumption. We filter websites and other content by category and we white list sites that we want to allow for one reason or another.
  • Web filtering.
  • White listing.
  • More specific content categories.
Cisco Umbrella is very useful for internet content filtering by category. Although the categories are broad, the client is very effective at the direct identification of potentially troublesome websites. It is less appropriate for web content that is more nebulous. There are instances where web content will be blocked for reasons that we cannot identify. However, it is easy to white list.
The Cisco Umbrella client is very easy to use, set up, and configure. But in the very few instances where we have needed support for it, the support technicians were easy to reach, knowledgeable and very willing to provide assistance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Game Changer!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella allowed us to gain visibility on how the web is being used in our organization. It allows us to immediately protect against malware, phishing, and gives us command and control over our network and mobile users!
  • Easy to implement.
  • ROI is very high.
  • Powerful functionalities.
  • Logs could be more easy to filter (and faster).
Umbrella is well suited and perfect for every network in my opinion.
Every time I opened a ticket, I got a professional answer in a few hours. Support so far has been excellent.
Read this authenticated review
Ralf Richter | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Cisco Umbrella, formely OpenDNS in daily use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for DNS security at our servers and clients. All clients are secured by Umbrella and the ISOC is operating the service. With Umbrella we have a higher security level for our clients, because the very critical destinations are filtered and the client can not access the source.

[It's] very easy to use at firewalls and routers, too.
  • integration in firewall
  • software for clients dedicated or included in AnyConnect
  • actual filters
  • definition of used ip addresses
  • internal DNS synchronization
  • low price and very easy to install
  • operating without problems
  • stable usage
  • software integrated in AnyConnect Client or dedicated available
  • very actual for criminal destinations
  • integration in other tools or managements for easier look
  • we are using AMP too and have this all integrated in on single Cloud view
  • software is very stable and switches fast from internal (secured) to external (direct access)
Read Ralf Richter's full review
Marcel Janecek | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Cisco Umbrella

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella was added as a first layer of defense, we are using 2 Layers of Proxies, first commonly used web filtering (WSA) and second on the top of this is Umbrella which protect our company on a DNS level
  • Uses DNS to stop threats.
  • It blocks command & control callbacks.
  • Investigate feature.
  • Umbrella roaming client
Cisco Umbrella is well suited as a very first level of defense as it blocks all malicious or returning C&C traffic. It protects on the DNS level which gives us better results as a general Content filter. Also It works well together with other Cisco tools like Cisco AMP. It can be used everywhere. Cisco Umbrella is not very well used if the company is using private and public DNS aliases for one specific IP address. As Umbrella is external resolver it always resolves IP addresses to the external IP, which could sometimes lead to problems. This could be solved by adding IP address into "internal domains" which open a small security hole for the company. If the attacker knows that fact.
Read Marcel Janecek's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Cisco Umbrella

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella for DNS protection on workstations. The performance of Umbrella is impressive for it is a cloud-native service since day one. It's a smart proxy that only routes the traffic to risky destinations through its network and the safe content is accessed directly with no delay. Roaming users are protected when they are on or off the corporate network by installing a light client. The problem is that there is still no support for roaming Android and Linux devices.
  • DNS Protection
  • Alerting on malicious activity in real-time
  • Alert on protection
  • Issues with networks with the same name in internal and external DNS.
  • Definition of used IP addresses.
  • Internal DNS synchronization.
Its benefit is to prevent thieves of information and viruses who wish to enter the system to enter successfully achieving their evil, but Cisco Umbrella ensures that this does not happen and that it is a secure network free of any possibility of information being lost. Valuable or damaging equipment, every day, day and night is protected by this system for our well-being.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2019

Cisco Umbrella for the win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us the decision came down to figuring out how to manage our zone data and getting control of how employees were accessing the internet. The Enterprise has the responsibility to defend its little corner of the Internet and Umbrella provided the capability to achieve that. Having that visibility to know what systems are looking up in the DNS provides valuable information that can feed behavior analytics that drives a portion of our security process. It also provides an added layer of protection by having mechanisms to block access to known malicious domains and URLs, a plus for any company looking to combat the biggest issues we face as network defenders - phishing.
  • The ability to get be very granular with what can be blocked and the response to these events was outstanding.
  • It is very easy to implement and maintain. Meaning you could drop this in a few hours and be immediately protecting your environment.
  • The visibility and context it provides are beyond compare! Being able to quickly search or alert on events is a time savor and a force multiplier in time sensitive situations.
  • I wish I didn't have to pay extra for the Investigate portion. It just feels like such an integral part of the product to have a separate module.
For a company that has nothing in place to manage Internet connectivity at the DNS level this is very well suited. It allows automation of a process that would usually require research and analysis - but here Cisco is doing the heavy lifting for us. Specifically for our org it has halted wide scale cred harvesting phishing campaigns in their tracks on multiple occasions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

Umbrella: The only way to go.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Cisco Umbrella as a means to protect our environment from drive-by downloads, malware, and viruses in the wild. Since implementation, we have decreased our occurrences by approximately 70%. This system is so easy to implement and requires very little time on a daily basis and protects the environment before anything ever gets to the network.
  • Reporting is precise and extensive.
  • Effective in real-time filtering catches new outbreaks and threats block them very quickly.
  • Integrates smoothly with a plethora of other Cisco products.
  • Could improve the streamlined process to integrate with the network.
  • It requires us to spin up 3 servers to implement in our network.
Cisco is very well suited for small organizations like ours that does not have a large security team at its disposal to examine and identify threats.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Useful for rapid Investigations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I used Cisco Umbrella during the WannaCry Campaign to check if some of our customers were affected and block all the DNS requests on time. We also found several other indications of compromises that helped us to localize other infections on endpoints and correctly review our security policies.
  • Fast Deployment.
  • Protection for the entire corporation.
  • Efficiency in detecting and predicting 0day attacks.
  • Some customers maybe need to have better local integration with their infrastructures.
  • Better integration with CASB capabilities.
The best scenario is end-user protection both on and off the corporate network. The Off-network protection is able to protect the endpoint wherever you are with very low bandwidth requirements (like remote locations or low-performance mobile networks) and without obliging the user to connect via VPN in order to be protected by corporate rules. The worst scenario is if you need to protect and segment your local network. Umbrella is not what you need.
Read this authenticated review
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Cisco Umbrella - Good DNS Protection

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella for DNS protection on workstations by using the roaming client on endpoints, and we also use the virtual machines that integrate with Active Directory for DNS protection on a network. It provides protection against potentially malicious websites and known bad servers on the Internet.
  • DNS protection
  • Alerting on malicious activity in real-time
  • Reporting on protection
  • We've had issues with networks that the internal DNS name is the same as the external DNS name; it would be good if that could be improved
  • I have seen false-positives before that blocked certain websites that did not appear to be malicious; this was rare but did happen more than once
  • The layout of the admin panel seems a little bit like it's lacking and hard to find your way around; would be nice to see that improve
Overall, it's nice to have DNS protection set up and working well, even when there's a good anti-virus or anti-malware program in place on a workstation or server; Cisco Umbrella does that part well. I've seen it stop attempts for malware to phone home out to bad servers, which is helpful.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Umbrella provides powerful cloud-based top-level filtering and protection for all kinds of networks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using this in our department since it was OpenDNS, and use it primarily to protect users who are connecting on-site or remotely from stumbling into or exposing our network to problematic content, especially malware, etc. Because we have a diverse range of users on the network, many of whom bring their own devices, it's helpful to have DNS-level security rather than count on everyone to use safe internet practices.
  • Umbrella is surprisingly easy to use.
  • Excellent documentation throughout makes it easy to figure out even if you're not an IT expert, but it's highly customizable for those of us who are.
  • DNS-level security is great, and Umbrella continues the powerful work of OpenDNS.
  • Frankly, I can't think of anything here. We've never had any issues in our use case whatsoever.
When you have a number of users accessing your network, particularly if they're bringing their own devices and you're unsure whether they have sufficient security or use good internet practices, Umbrella is a great way to protect your network at the highest level. It's especially nice that it's cloud-based, so you don't have to mess with server-level firewalls (if you don't want to). It's also good for filtering content if you want to be able to do that.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2018

Umbrella, worth it's weight for sure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are an MSP with 7000 endpoints that we support. Umbrella is not optional for our clients. While antivirus is required, it serves as a checkbox. Umbrella is what does all of the heavy lifting for us on the antimalware side of things.
  • Cisco umbrella protects the whole network. While you can have an agent installed on machines to provide more protection abilities and filtering, you more than likely have IoT devices on your network and you want to make sure those aren't working with bad actors.
  • Umbrella is lightweight and the geniuses behind it are constantly finding ways to thwart evildoers.
  • When we initially put in umbrella we were spending over 40 hours per month on fighting crypto viruses and that dropped to 20 hours for the next 12 months. It has paid for itself easily.
  • Every once in a while it conflicts with an app and we need to turn it off to troubleshoot, see it working again, then create a ticket to get support to resolve the issue.
Great product that saves us SO much time by blocking more bad actors than I could ever count.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review

About Cisco Umbrella

Cisco Umbrella unifies multiple security services in a single cloud platform to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. The Umbrella Secure Internet Gateway (SIG) Essentials package offers a broad set of security functions meant to replace separate firewall, secure web gateway, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions. By enabling all of this from a single platform and dashboard, Umbrella is designed to significantly reduce the time, money, and resources previously required for deployment, configuration, and integration tasks. It can be integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

Has featureDNS-layer security
Has featureSecure web gateway (full proxy)
Has featureCloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
Has featureCloud-delivered firewall
Has featureInteractive threat intelligence

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No