TrustRadius
Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/40/Lo/5H5225TXL61B.jpegUmbrella provides powerful cloud-based top-level filtering and protection for all kinds of networksWe've been using this in our department since it was OpenDNS, and use it primarily to protect users who are connecting on-site or remotely from stumbling into or exposing our network to problematic content, especially malware, etc. Because we have a diverse range of users on the network, many of whom bring their own devices, it's helpful to have DNS-level security rather than count on everyone to use safe internet practices.,Umbrella is surprisingly easy to use. Excellent documentation throughout makes it easy to figure out even if you're not an IT expert, but it's highly customizable for those of us who are. DNS-level security is great, and Umbrella continues the powerful work of OpenDNS.,Frankly, I can't think of anything here. We've never had any issues in our use case whatsoever.,10,Umbrella has allowed us to protect our network regardless of who's connecting and where they're going. It's also allowed us to have some degree of control over where they're going, specifically to protect the network from sites which are known to have network-malicious content. Perhaps the biggest negative impact is the occasional mis-filtering of sites and content, but since Umbrella lets us include a way for users to contact us, this is not a problem.,Google FormsUmbrella, worth it's weight for sureWe are an MSP with 7000 endpoints that we support. Umbrella is not optional for our clients. While antivirus is required, it serves as a checkbox. Umbrella is what does all of the heavy lifting for us on the antimalware side of things.,Cisco umbrella protects the whole network. While you can have an agent installed on machines to provide more protection abilities and filtering, you more than likely have IoT devices on your network and you want to make sure those aren't working with bad actors. Umbrella is lightweight and the geniuses behind it are constantly finding ways to thwart evildoers. When we initially put in umbrella we were spending over 40 hours per month on fighting crypto viruses and that dropped to 20 hours for the next 12 months. It has paid for itself easily.,Every once in a while it conflicts with an app and we need to turn it off to troubleshoot, see it working again, then create a ticket to get support to resolve the issue.,10,The amount of times Umbrella has stopped crypto from entering an environment is countless. If crypto manages to get on a desktop, it doesn't let it communicate back with the bad actor server and notifies us in Connect Wise that a computer needs a virus cleaned off. We can look at our antivirus suite and see that maybe a dozen items are blocked in a month. Looking at umbrella, it's literally millions of bad data points being rejected.,Webroot SecureAnywhere,Webroot SecureAnywhere, Cisco Meraki MX Firewalls, Cisco Meraki Wireless Access PointCisco Umbrella keeps you protectedCisco Umbrella is used across our whole organization to protect the network from malicious web traffic that might be due to malware, crypto mining, command and control, phishing or other sources. With the virtual umbrella appliances connected to our AD, we can identify the computers that might be infected, but stopped from talking to the outside, and get them cleaned quickly. It's an important layer of DNS security.,Dashboard is easy to use to identify any issues Easy to configure networks to monitor Easy to configure policies and settings,A little more insight as to what the virtual umbrella appliance is doing A little more granular in content filtering or a better explanation of what is in each category Easier log management - max of 30 days held in Cisco-managed S3 storage,10,We can identify traffic to "bad" sites easier and quicker High impact on network security for low spend,,PRTG Network Monitor, VMware ESXi, Microsoft Office 365Great product and a must have for any organizatioin.We currently use Cisco Umbrella as our first line of defense against threats from the internet. It is currently being used across the organization and addresses many problems around current and emerging threats and protects us against the phishing, malware, and ransomware.,Protects the organizations from phishing, malware and ransomware attempts. It does a really good job at it. Very easy to implement. The GUI couldn't be easier. API's available for integration into other products. The products ability to have visibility into internet activity across all devices regardless of whether they are off the corporate network or not is a huge plus for us.,Support is not always fast enough to address any issues. Also, different tiers of support including ones where you have to purchase a higher tiered plan for phone support. Takes a little time to configure the product to avoid interference with other web filtering products. A lot of room for improvement in reporting.,9,Technical support has had fewer calls dealing with malware, phishing attemptsCisco Umbrella. OpenDNS.Used within remote offices, offsetting the smart filtering into the cloud instead of on-premise. Good hybrid approach with Cisco AMP. Protects from malicious call-backs and real time web-filtering that is policy based.,real time, uses global sensors and data analytical engines (ML/AI) provides great visibility into outbound traffic and protects DNS based communications very easy integration and deployment,false positives can be improved (VoIP traffic is getting reported and trapped). the reporting could be more advanced and needs to support many formats (PDF/XML/etc.),8,websense
Unspecified
Cisco Umbrella
14 Ratings
Score 9.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Cisco Umbrella Reviews

Cisco Umbrella
14 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 14 vetted Cisco Umbrella reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ho'omana Nathan Horton profile photo
January 14, 2019

Cisco Umbrella Review: "Umbrella provides powerful cloud-based top-level filtering and protection for all kinds of networks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using this in our department since it was OpenDNS, and use it primarily to protect users who are connecting on-site or remotely from stumbling into or exposing our network to problematic content, especially malware, etc. Because we have a diverse range of users on the network, many of whom bring their own devices, it's helpful to have DNS-level security rather than count on everyone to use safe internet practices.
  • Umbrella is surprisingly easy to use.
  • Excellent documentation throughout makes it easy to figure out even if you're not an IT expert, but it's highly customizable for those of us who are.
  • DNS-level security is great, and Umbrella continues the powerful work of OpenDNS.
  • Frankly, I can't think of anything here. We've never had any issues in our use case whatsoever.
When you have a number of users accessing your network, particularly if they're bringing their own devices and you're unsure whether they have sufficient security or use good internet practices, Umbrella is a great way to protect your network at the highest level. It's especially nice that it's cloud-based, so you don't have to mess with server-level firewalls (if you don't want to). It's also good for filtering content if you want to be able to do that.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Karl Fulljames profile photo
December 15, 2018

Cisco Umbrella Review: "Umbrella, worth it's weight for sure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are an MSP with 7000 endpoints that we support. Umbrella is not optional for our clients. While antivirus is required, it serves as a checkbox. Umbrella is what does all of the heavy lifting for us on the antimalware side of things.
  • Cisco umbrella protects the whole network. While you can have an agent installed on machines to provide more protection abilities and filtering, you more than likely have IoT devices on your network and you want to make sure those aren't working with bad actors.
  • Umbrella is lightweight and the geniuses behind it are constantly finding ways to thwart evildoers.
  • When we initially put in umbrella we were spending over 40 hours per month on fighting crypto viruses and that dropped to 20 hours for the next 12 months. It has paid for itself easily.
  • Every once in a while it conflicts with an app and we need to turn it off to troubleshoot, see it working again, then create a ticket to get support to resolve the issue.
Great product that saves us SO much time by blocking more bad actors than I could ever count.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
No photo available
December 18, 2018

User Review: "Cisco Umbrella keeps you protected"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is used across our whole organization to protect the network from malicious web traffic that might be due to malware, crypto mining, command and control, phishing or other sources. With the virtual umbrella appliances connected to our AD, we can identify the computers that might be infected, but stopped from talking to the outside, and get them cleaned quickly. It's an important layer of DNS security.
  • Dashboard is easy to use to identify any issues
  • Easy to configure networks to monitor
  • Easy to configure policies and settings
  • A little more insight as to what the virtual umbrella appliance is doing
  • A little more granular in content filtering or a better explanation of what is in each category
  • Easier log management - max of 30 days held in Cisco-managed S3 storage
Cisco Umbrella provides insight as to what users are browsing that is unknown to them, like harmful ads, malware infected websites, phishing sites, etc. We can then help educate and train users what to be on the lookout for and improve our first line of defense—our users. We don't use the service as a tool to catch our users, but to train, educate and protect them from the bad actors that lurk on the web.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Cisco Umbrella Review: "Great product and a must have for any organizatioin."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Cisco Umbrella as our first line of defense against threats from the internet. It is currently being used across the organization and addresses many problems around current and emerging threats and protects us against the phishing, malware, and ransomware.
  • Protects the organizations from phishing, malware and ransomware attempts. It does a really good job at it.
  • Very easy to implement.
  • The GUI couldn't be easier.
  • API's available for integration into other products.
  • The products ability to have visibility into internet activity across all devices regardless of whether they are off the corporate network or not is a huge plus for us.
  • Support is not always fast enough to address any issues. Also, different tiers of support including ones where you have to purchase a higher tiered plan for phone support.
  • Takes a little time to configure the product to avoid interference with other web filtering products.
  • A lot of room for improvement in reporting.
As the first line of defense against threats from the internet, it does a great job protecting us from current and emerging threats, protects us against the phishing, malware, and ransomware. The product itself is easy to deploy and use. It gives great visibility into devices that are on/off the network which is a great plus. It is suited for any organization that has users/devices that are not necessarily joined to the domain or off the corporate network.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

User Review: "Cisco Umbrella. OpenDNS."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used within remote offices, offsetting the smart filtering into the cloud instead of on-premise. Good hybrid approach with Cisco AMP. Protects from malicious call-backs and real time web-filtering that is policy based.
  • real time, uses global sensors and data analytical engines (ML/AI)
  • provides great visibility into outbound traffic and protects DNS based communications
  • very easy integration and deployment
  • false positives can be improved (VoIP traffic is getting reported and trapped).
  • the reporting could be more advanced and needs to support many formats (PDF/XML/etc.)
Well suited for organizations with other Cisco products (FirePower/AMP/IPS/etc). Integration with Cisco AnyConnect is a great feature. File monitoring feature just got released that can be utilized via policies.
Read this authenticated review
Todd Swartzman profile photo
March 27, 2017

Cisco Umbrella Review: "One of the best decisions we ever made."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We made the decision to purchase Cisco Umbrella (when it was OpenDNS) in 2014 and implement it for over 2000 endpoints as an additional protection from malware and phishing. We saw the time our MSP spent on these types of issues plummet, from a few incidents a month to a handful per year. Money extremely well spent. We believed so much in the ROI, we paid for this service ourselves as a cost saving measure. I don't think we'll ever not use this service!
  • Largely mitigates phishing and malware from compromised websites.
  • Great web content filter for laptops that leave the office and for smaller clients that may not have any other web content filtering in place.
  • Simple setup and management of the product.
  • The biggest room for improvement is the support. It is email only since Cisco bought OpenDNS. We can purchase phone based support at additional cost.
  • The navigation could be a bit better.
  • Automated reporting isn't customizable. The built in reports are ok.
We use Cisco Umbrella as an additional layer of security for all of our clients. It really shines for mobile users who we still want to be restricted to our web content policies. I don't know if a situation where Umbrella wouldn't be appropriate, unless you just don't use the internet.
Read Todd Swartzman's full review
No photo available
April 25, 2017

Cisco Umbrella Review: "OpenDNS Web Filtering is amazing! Easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering is being used by HSL to help implement ISO 27001:2013. It helps us meet certain filtering requirements required to pass audit and obtain certification. The IT team primarily implements this across the company and we address any browsing concerns from the CISO office with this product.
  • Blocks many known websites by default.
  • Easy to implement.
  • API available for implementation into other devices, such as a SIEM.
  • Pages load slowly.
  • Butts heads with other web filtering products.
  • No Android support.
OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering is well suited for all environments, but in our particular case it is very useful. Our environment is a hybrid setup with some on premise and some cloud. We also have multiple remote locations as well as remote agents that require access to our internal network. This allows us to control what users can browse, even when remote.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Umbrella Scorecard Summary

About Cisco Umbrella

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No