Cisco Umbrella

Cisco Umbrella

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Cisco Umbrella

Overview

Recent Reviews

Umbrella Value Add

10 out of 10
March 29, 2022
I started using Cisco Umbrella for just DNS Security. That alone protected my organization from 95% of the malicious traffic that was …
Continue reading

Umbrella DNS

9 out of 10
March 03, 2022
Cisco Umbrella is used across our entire organization. Our organization uses it to secure DNS access to "time-wasting" sites including …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Umbrella, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

22 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Amazon Route 53?

Amazon Route 53 is a Cloud Domain Name System (DNS) offered by Amazon AWS as a reliable way to route visitors to web applications and other site traffic to locations within a company's infrastructure, which can be configured to monitor the health and performance of traffic and endpoints in the…

N/A
Unavailable

What is Forcepoint URL Filtering?

Austin-based Websense offers Web Filter & Security, a web content filtering product.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco's secure access service edge (SASE) architecture, integrates multiple security services in a single, centrally managed, cloud-native solution to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. By unifying secure web gateway, firewall, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions, Cisco Umbrella helps reduce the resources required for deployment, configuration, and integration. And, by delivering this functionality from the cloud, you can scale to meet the needs of a remote and roaming workforce, shifting network perimeter, and multi-cloud environment — all while simplifying security. Umbrella can be easily integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

  • Supported: DNS-layer security
  • Supported: Secure web gateway (full proxy)
  • Supported: Cloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
  • Supported: Cloud-delivered firewall
  • Supported: Interactive threat intelligence
  • Supported: Integrates with SD-WAN

Cisco Umbrella Videos

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Integrations

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Chromebooks
Supported Countries190 Countries

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

What is Cisco Umbrella's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Cisco Umbrella?

The most common users of Cisco Umbrella are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (142)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 73)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Patrice Tanguay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella to control website access. Our goal is to detect malicious URLs \ Sites and control content for our employees. It is a great malware tool.
  • Malware prevention
  • Website content control
  • Internet security
  • Price per user
  • N/A
  • N/A
Cisco Umbrella is the perfect tool to define blocked content using categories. For us, the challenge is the french language. Sometimes a Google search will be blocked due to a word but in reality the meaning of the search was harmless. We then have to white list manually some sites.
Excellent protection at the DNS layer. Cisco Umbrella protects devices regardless of where they are and prevents any attempts from fraudulent sites.
We had one user case that all DNS were blocked. Support helped us quickly identify a wrong parameter
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Cisco Umbrella before Cisco acquired OpenDNS. It has been one of the best bang-for-your-buck products any organization can procure no matter which segment you are in. Umbrella protects us on a daily basis from thousands of malware and ransomware-related issues. The reporting features are also extremely easy to use and provide a great insight into your network usage.
  • DNS protection.
  • Malware protection.
  • Trojan detection.
  • Real time dashboards.
  • On premise agents could be less clunky.
  • False positives.
Cisco Umbrella is perfect in an environment where you allow internet browsing without any restrictions on the types of websites. It allows you to categorize certain websites and block them at the DNS level. If you already have a web proxy installed and are blocking certain categories of websites on that proxy, then Cisco Umbrella is probably not the right tool for you.
By leveraging the agents on the individual endpoints, users are protected even when they are not in the office. The individual agents sync back up with the Cisco server and keep their databases updated for any new malicious malware or ransomware threats. The remote branches are also connected via the Cisco Umbrella agents and provide detailed reporting.
We have not had a chance to use Cisco support frequently, but when we needed to troubleshoot some issues that we were having with the agent installation, the support was very responsive and the solution that they offered worked. The only reason I give it one less point is that the turnaround time for non-critical issues is very long.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is a great internet content filtering tool to have. With Cisco Umbrella we are able to implement the client on all our organization devices. Once we have those devices enrolled on Cisco Umbrella we are then able to provide content filtering to adhere to our organizational enforced policies.
  • Content Filtering
  • Reporting
  • The console interface may be better.
Cisco Umbrella is well suited in almost every aspect of our organizational meet. It provides great content filtering with the option of allowing us to customize the policies as we see fit. The reporting tool within Cisco Umbrella works great to monitor all our users. The only actual improvement I would want would be a more friendly user interface.
Cisco Umbrella is able to provide great protection for our endpoints that are outside our organizational firewall. The coverage that Cisco Umbrella is able to provide exceeds that of other content filtering services. The protection that we are given with Cisco Umbrella allows us to see any threat and naturalize those threats as soon as they are discovered.
Cisco Umbrella has been serving our organization's needs for over some years now. The parameters we have set up with the Cisco Umbrella client work wonders for all our organizational tech. They are definitely providing us secure risk management remotely and I would recommend this product to anyone that wants to monitor their organization's devices properly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella as our primary DNS for the organization. We take advantage of the filtration aspects of Umbrella to prevent access to known malicious sites and other sites that may be used to circumvent network protections. One of the most useful aspects of Umbrella is the "newly discovered domain" feature. This allows Umbrella to block websites that it has never seen before automatically and for a limited time. Malicious actors will often create short-lived websites that they use for propagation or infection; this feature provides a layer of protection there. Additionally, we take advantage of the SSL proxy DNS to get insight into encrypted DNS requests.
  • Content categorization
  • Content Filtration
  • Segmented Policy Enforcement
  • SSL Decryption
  • No integration with Cisco AMP
  • Activity Search can be a bit Obtuse
Cisco Umbrella is one of the best DNS platforms I've used. The distinctions in the policies have allowed for a number of versatile networks across our organization. We are able to give our web development team expanded internet access, our primary staff network normal business access, and our guest network limited internet access. All in one console, all very easily done.
Provided users use a VPN, they receive the same Umbrella filtration and access that they would on-premises. However, we have not expanded Umbrella deployment so that a user working from a remote location without using the VPN would receive the normal filtration. For those users, we are depended primarily on Cisco AMP for protection. It would be great if these products would integrate!
A Cisco TAC case is usually very helpful. However, they have a number of dud technicians scattered throughout their organization. It is also very difficult to get help when you need it; I have found scheduling a call a few days out to be the most successful way of receiving assistance.
June 13, 2022

Cisco Umbrella

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Cisco Umbrella to improve productivity and to prevent users from accessing certain sites they shouldn't. We also use it to try to increase our cyber security stance by preventing users from accessing malicious websites. It gives us a broad view of what users are trying to access and gives us the ability to allow or block the connections.
  • Monitor Connections
  • Prevent Malware and Phishing
  • Smart Search
  • More detailed connections
  • App for Umbrella
  • Upgraded smart search
After integrating Cisco Umbrella we noticed a user that had daily traffic to sketchy websites that he wasn't trying to access, Umbrella gave us the access to track down and eliminate the traffic that was running on the user's background. Umbrella is also extremely useful to block websites that are not productive at work such as social media.
We currently don't have many employees that work from the outside that would require DNS protection but we do have the ability to re route DNS traffic and monitor their activity. After installing it on specific devices all their traffic is re routed to cisco DNS server then it gets reported on our reports.
When we first implemented Umbrella and got some servers running for the instance we had some issues that we needed help with. We contacted our Cisco Representative and in a few minutes we were on a call being guided on what we needed to do and not to do.
We also tried Getting our meraki AP's integrated with the Umbrella and they also helped us get that running.
March 29, 2022

Umbrella Value Add

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I started using Cisco Umbrella for just DNS Security. That alone protected my organization from 95% of the malicious traffic that was being attempted. Later on I moved into full Security Internet Gateway providing fantastic protection for DLP, Full URL, CASB, and Remote Access. The ability to also integrate with my SOAR has saved us countless hours of response.
  • Integration with other tools
  • Intelligence is 2nd to none
  • Phenomenal performance
  • Better documentation
Integrations with my SOAR have allowed me to take swift action against malicious domains and it provides great intelligence reporting for my incident response documentation. Knowing it uses Talos for intelligence makes the organization feel much safer at the edge. Umbrella really has become more of an all-in-one solution for security at the edge and remote workers.
With IPAM enforced DNS entries all devices on the network have to go through Umbrella for protection at the edge. This was an easy win for the company. For our remote workforce, we installed the roaming agent with is already part of AnyConnect. This allowed us to protect our employees no matter where they are.
Easiest implementation compared to any other tool. It is also the most reliable connection we have at the edge providing unmatched security.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using the Cisco Umbrella way before the pandemics as an extra security layer to protect computers working within our internal network. That had been working really well and it's proven even more important after we had to buy laptops and send people to work from home, where we have much less control over the environment security.
  • Protect against various types of malware
  • Allow custom policy creation
  • Allows endpoint centralized management
  • Shows graphs with usage statistics
  • More intuitive administrator interface
  • AD integration is a bit complicated
  • Better pricing
We use Cisco Umbrella mostly to protect users' computers. After the pandemics, most of our staff are working from home and using a laptop. For that use case, Cisco Umbrella is really useful because it adds up to the regular antivirus software. We don't use that on servers though. That is because servers have more limited and predictable usage, so we use another software combination to protect that.
We use Cisco Umbrella mostly to protect our remote endpoints. Once in a while, we receive a request to whitelist a specific website that is being blocked by Cisco Umbrella because it belongs to a specific category that we don't want our users to access but in that particular case it's needed. Other than that, it works really well and we don't usually have issues.
To be honest we didn't need to use Cisco Umbrella support too many times. That was exactly because the product runs smoothly and with no failures. We used their support a couple of times to ask for help on doing some specific configurations. Cisco Umbrella's interface is sometimes confusing and it might take some time to find stuff you don't regularly use.
Nicolas Tenthorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella on all systems, including servers, firewalls, laptops, cellular devices. Cisco Umbrella offers a unified management portal that allows administrators to scope policies and audit web traffic. By implementing Cisco Umbrella, we increased our visibility and simplified our URL management policies that were independently managed by our firewalls in the past.
  • Unified Management Interface is easy to use
  • Site based IP address configuration for catch all DNS traffic
  • Whitelist and blacklist easy
  • Umbrella Virtual Appliances have been buggy in resolving local domain hosts.
  • Integration between other Cisco and Meraki products is complicated.
  • Reporting is not always accurate; for example, if you configure a Meraki access point to use an Umbrella Virtual Appliance, you lose device reporting. All reporting shows up under the AP's IP.
Cisco Umbrella provides another layer of protection on top of firewalls and antivirus. Cisco Umbrella makes whitelisting, blacklisting, and categorical web filtering easier through the use of a single admin portal. Updates to these lists are populated almost instantly to all of your local and remote devices. Cisco Umbrella may be overkill for smaller businesses that do not have a distributed workforce.
Remote users are forced to use the Cisco Umbrella roaming client. All web traffic off our network is routed through Cisco Umbrella's DNS, thus giving us full visibility and control over the endpoint URL filtering. By keeping our endpoints safe off-site, we can help mitigate risks that commonly occur on public wifi or unsecured networks.
I feel getting support for Cisco Umbrella is just as difficult as it is for other Cisco products. In my experience, it's very clunky and cumbersome for the customer to get actual help. Jumping through hoops and logins to identify a product contract and customer agreement number is commonplace when trying to open a case with TAC. Cisco should take notes from Meraki, where it's a lot easier to get help.
March 03, 2022

Umbrella DNS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is used across our entire organization. Our organization uses it to secure DNS access to "time-wasting" sites including personal mail which has been a source of malicious files, personal file share sites, monitor and block access to inappropriate sites. While we use it across our entire organization we provide departments with different access to accommodate different needs.
  • Reporting.
  • DNS Security.
  • Unique policy.
  • Identifying users.
  • Integration was slow.
  • Report has limited information.
Cisco Umbrella is easy to implement. Scaling to different company sizes is not difficult. Cisco Umbrella is ideal for organizations looking to secure DNS and refocus employees. Aside from blocking sites, the reporting can provide a clear picture of what users are accessing to improve productivity and identify problem areas where to improve productivity.
Cisco Umbrella has been excellent at completing its task both within our office and with roaming, remote, and branch offices. Considering the application is installed on a device, protection is enabled from the device itself. Being that we have protection on the device it has made working from home no different than working in the office as far as DNS and URL protection.
Cisco support can be...challenging. It would really depend on which tier was paid for but as of late it has been disappointing. I believe a large part of the poor support is the constant restructuring from Cisco. The Support web interface is constantly changing making it difficult to create a case. Another challenge is the technicians. For the most part, when opening a case we have received Cisco's white sheets from support technicians rather than troubleshooting support.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Cisco Umbrella across our offices and endpoints. We implemented this before the COVID-pandemic which really gave us visibility into what domains our systems were communicating with and gave a granular way for us to filter and restrict connections. It helped us find issues and resolve them. They often say, "It's not DNS... ok... it was DNS". This is a great tool to help get to the root cause.
  • DNS inspection.
  • Threat and anomaly data feeds.
  • Good for sending data to 3rd-party monitoring systems.
  • Deployment to endpoints is tricky.
  • Not really a good solution for Linux. You have to manually set OpenDNS servers.
We were 1/3 remote before the pandemic, then 100% remote during, and still 75% remote. We didn't have good network intrusion detection on the endpoints (NIDS) and Cisco Umbrella helped us with this. We could see what suspicious connections our infrastructure was doing. This was good to get ahead of time before the pandemic and made that transition much smoother.
This was a very good offering for us and a good first step towards DNS protection and URL Filtering. We didn't go with the full URL path because this was our first implementation of DNS Monitoring and it was cost-prohibitive. We could get domain reputation, category, etc without the full URL path. Going forward, the full URL is where we'll go.
Our network team mostly works with Cisco support but from what I understand, they were pretty helpful because we're an enterprise company. We use a few other Cisco products, so we do get a pretty good response from Cisco customer support. I'm not a fan of Cisco's SSO because we can't put it behind Okta but that's beyond the scope of this.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Cisco Umbrella helps] remote working with utmost care to data security. Ensuring company assets are not compromised while on any network. [It gives the] ease of use for everyone without impacting the productivity with [an] unwanted burden on CPU utilization. We had faced issues with earlier products where application[s] used to eat out CPU while executing. Most updated security application[s] with regular updates for new security vulnerabilities.
  • Firewall
  • Data security and protection
  • Security while on any network
  • Web access security
  • Slower data access for incident management
  • Content filtering functions
  • Flushing out old trail account data
Best Suited [for]:
Compan[ies] with distributed work force
Compan[ies] with more mobile workforce
Work from home access Companies with limited IT setup for setting up dedicated UTM and firewall products

Not suitable [for]: Companies with more focus on email based marketing promotions
Cost of subscription is high and can not be option for startups with limited capital flow
DNS filtering is always update[d] in Cisco Umbrella. It provides [an] efficient way to secure IT assets while being used on any data network. Visibility to [the] IT team on DNS accesses ensures that users are not compromised. Cloud application access is also ensured to be accessed securely. Remote login security [occurs] while accessing office network from anywhere.
Good community support
Accessibility to right support representative at right moment
Christer Geberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is a flexible, fast, and efficient tool that offers cloud-based security whenever and wherever we need it. Cisco Umbrella combines several security features into a single product, allowing us to safeguard devices, remote users, and distant sites from any place. Cisco Umbrella is the quickest and most effective approach to safeguard our users anywhere in the world. It provides our company with a fast, secure, and dependable internet connection. Before a connection is created, it uses the internet's infrastructure to prevent dangerous and undesired sites, IP addresses, and cloud apps to make connections fully secure and trusted.
  • Cisco Umbrella effectively detects attacks before they reach our networks or endpoints by processing 180 billion Internet requests per day.
  • On and off the network, Umbrella makes it simple to view Internet behavior across all users, cloud applications, devices, and places.
  • Anti-phishing, anti-malware, and anti-ransomware security are amazing and for the most extended view, they efficiently stop attacks across all ports and protocols.
  • For experts and professionals, the reporting is excellent, but it is not necessarily what our administrators require.
  • Many times Cisco Umbrella security solutions flag new websites as harmful even if they are not.
I highly recommend this tool to other network providers and corporations. They must use Cisco Umbrella to stay safe and don't let a cyberattack bring their company to a halt. There is no need to install hardware or software to manually update because security will be delivered through the cloud.
Thanks to Cisco Umbrella, our network is now fully protected, and we can provide the greatest possible experience to our visitors. The reliability, productivity, responsiveness, profitability, and protection of our business networks have all improved. Now it's a lot easier for us to increase the protection of our most valuable data.
The customer support is effective and reliable, they provide efficient services. Moreover, [trying] to track down security alerts from various technologies costs time, budget, and energy. That's why we need a robust solution to keep our networks secure and Cisco Umbrella is an intelligent and best network security firewall that can uncover current and emerging threats easily and keep our network protected from them.
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With most of our employees being remote workers, Cisco Umbrella was crucial in securing our company laptops. When a large percentage of your staff work outside the office and you have no control over the perimeter devices that are monitoring internet traffic, Cisco Umbrella provides ease of mind for those responsible for maintaining the security of the devices and the company's intellectual property. The Administration UI is very easy to use and, at the same time, offers excellent granularity of control over each device. One additional bonus if you are a Meraki user, you can tie your Cisco Umbrella policies to Meraki access points and firewalls.
  • Secure traffic to only approved sites.
  • Reporting on user traffic.
  • Allow for fine grain control of policies and permissions.
  • Troubleshooting blocks, legitimate traffic is sometimes blocked, and that is to be expected. Some tools to help administrators find and approve those blocks would be great.
  • Ability to mass approve or deny applications in the App Discovery and control center.
If you have remote workers, it is a no-brainer; Cisco Umbrella is well worth the investment in security. The only scenario in which I would say it is less appropriate is when none of the employees take their laptops home for work, and every device is protected by your office perimeter devices 100% of the time.
Very well, and it is the reason I would suggest anyone with remote workers to make the investment in protecting your company's assets and IP from malicious sites or applications. I was able to deploy it to the end-user laptops with minimal effort, and it worked right out of the box.
I have not had to use the support. However, if I would compare it to Meraki support, I would say it is ok, not the greatest support I've ever received, but certainly adequate.
November 06, 2021

Our backup to Securely

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Cisco Umbrella is being used to web filter our school district. All Windows PCs are set up via DHCP to point to the Cisco Umbrella DNS. This is used as a secondary web filter to Securely. We are mostly a Chrome-based school district and use Securely to filter those. Any device on our network points to Cisco Umbrella DNS.
  • Web filter.
  • Ease of use.
  • Reporting.
  • Nutanix AHV support.
  • Chrome plugin.
  • Interface is not as easy as other products.
It is well suited in a Windows environment. So far I have not found a Chromebook plugin. Windows you can install a client if you like. It's great to be able to filter through DNS even for BYOD. So when someone connects to our network DHCP points them to Cisco Umbrella DNS and they are filtered.
With a client for Windows they reach out to the cloud for web filter. We do not have many Windows devices left in our district so we do not implement this. All kids and most staff have Chromebooks. As I have stated I do not believe they have a Chromebook plugin.
I have not had to use the support myself yet. When the product is set up it runs and works just fine. We occasionally have to add websites to the deny or allow list when issues arise. This is really a pretty simple task.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella for managed DNS throughout our network. It protects our staff and students from harmful sites and content that may be inappropriate for some of them. It is kept current with the integration with other Cisco solutions across their security platform. We don't have to manage malicious sites on the firewall, Cisco Umbrella does it for us.
  • Cisco Umbrella protects our devices and users from malicious sites of all kinds.
  • Cisco Umbrella allows us to add additional web site types we may want to block for specific users.
  • Cisco Umbrella keeps the list of sites blocked current by utilizing data from their entire security platform.
  • Without the higher paid support options, support can be a little lacking.
  • The reporting is pretty good for technical people but it isn't always exactly what we need in a school setting for our administrators.
Cisco Umbrella is a great solution for protecting our network and users from malicious sites. It also provides a very good second-layer for other types of sites we want to block but it is not the best solution as a primary content filter for us.
Cisco Umbrella helps protect our users both on premise and off. Many of our students and staff take their devices home daily. By using simple to deploy protections, we extend the same level of protection and monitoring wherever the device goes.
Cisco Umbrella is a pretty straightforward product and much of it doesn't need a lot of support. We do not purchase the highest level of Cisco Umbrella support so we have email support only. The turnaround at our level is not as good as I would like it to be. Subscribing to a higher level of support will be a goal to see if that does improve the response. That said, the support is usually very good and the Cisco Umbrella team is very helpful overall. They are also very open to input about improvements within the product.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed it company wide as a measure of WFH, as the trusted DNS source for where ever you are working from. We found that the upstream provider of some people were suspicious and made errors, this allows people to work a bit more freely.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Lightweight
  • It works
  • The sso is a bit of a query mess
Anytime you have people that work away from the office this provides a lay of security to connecting from non-standard upstream.
The trusted upstream of where ever a user is outside the office is standardized and we can trust it.
The SSO was a bit [difficult] to setup and [we] needed their help.
September 23, 2021

Cisco Umbrella - It works.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella DNS services to protect our users on our network at home. We are using it across the entire organization to prevent users from going to dangerous websites.
  • DNS Filtering.
  • Secure gateway.
  • Firewall functionality.
  • I wish admins could whitelist via the client rather than loading the website.
  • Cisco Umbrella hasn't played well with CATO VPN client in the past.
  • It sometimes flags new website as dangerous when they are simply new.
It's well suited if you have home users and you want to protect them while they are off the corporate network.
It works very well.
We've not had to seek support. It works, and we go to the website, which is always up, to make configuration changes.
PRAPHULLA DESHPANDE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most cyber-attacks happen due to phishing URLs or emails [containing] malicious code which gets executed or force users to redirect to a malicious site. Wide-scale adoption of cloud applications, increasing remote users, and expansion of branch offices have rendered the on-premises security modes. Cisco Umbrella is a cloud-native multi-function security service [that] provides functionality on top of the network layers including firewall, DNS, CASB solution, and all together [with] intelligence from Cisco Talos. Cisco Umbrella blocks the request to malware, ransomware, phishing, and botnet [before the] connection gets established. It is ideally used by the entire organization to get maximum protection from malicious [content].
  • Security protection on and off-network - Not required to have a connection with the perimeter gateway in order to get protection from internet threats.
  • Scalability across a global network - As the product is self-built into the cloud, scalability based on requirements and user traffic can be extended to the maximum as possible with all license features available.
  • Provide protection - Cisco Umbrella works on DNS level. It means whatever request gets resolved by Cisco Umbrella to get visibility into the request, so handling [cloud-level traffic] and sending clear traffic at the perimeter becomes an easy task.
  • Cost Efficiency - [Cisco] Umbrella can be considered as a single license product with all functionality available in [the] SIG advantage package because DNS essential licenses don't provide functionalities that [most might want].
Well Suited:
All customers should take advantage of [Cisco] Umbrella, which includes having lean IT architecture, remote workers, and cloud applications where monitoring each [host computers are] not possible and users periodically visit unknown websites. Customers who don't want to invest [in a] firewall for branch office workers [to have] [Cisco] Umbrella in place will work some extend level. Banking sectors also can [leverage] it as having on-premises VM implementation is also possible, which provides almost [the] same functionalities/future set similar to [the] cloud.
For off-network coverage, if you use Cisco AnyConnect, no additional endpoint client is needed. If [you] don't have AnyConnect, [you] can use a lightweight client that works with any VPN client itself. The roaming client forwards requests for external internet domains to Cisco Umbrella IPs automatically. It has embedded a unique identifier that matches the device’s hostname and also encrypts the DNS request to prevent man-in-the-middle eavesdropping on the internet. So users [in the] same network can communicate from the internal domain, and users outside can go directly to the umbrella network.
  1. Reliable security coverage across all ports and protocols work similarly [to] firewall and proxy.
  2. Security protection on and off-network.
  3. Rapid deployment.
  4. Efficient management and easy to manage policies.
  5. Highly scalable Talos intelligence from Cisco.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When crypto virus infections become a new threat a few years ago, implementing Cisco Umbrella gave our company and clients an extra layer of protection against these threats. It is used on an ongoing basis across the entire company and all of our clients to help protect again new and emerging threats. The product also helps filter content that is inappropriate for the workplace.
  • The product does a good job of blocking known bad sites.
  • Content filtering categories allow us to block material that is deemed inappropriate.
  • Roaming client allows for laptops to be protect in or out of the office.
  • Often, the roaming agent causes Windows to incorrectly be unable to detect Internet access, causing Office 365 to not work.
  • Product support is not very good.
  • Reporting across multiple clients is not efficient.
Cisco Umbrella is most appropriate in organizations that do not require much support and Office 365 is not used. The level of support provided is lackluster. The roaming agent often causes Windows systems to incorrectly report that the machine does not have Internet access. This causes Office 365 apps to no work, resulting in a lot of wasted time trying to correct the error. The product was top-notch several years ago, but I would hesitate to recommend it now.
If the Cisco Umbrella roaming client is used, it provides an extra layer of protection for systems, but only as a supplement to traditional antivirus programs. While the protection is helpful, the side effects, such as the incorrect "No Internet" problem may outweigh the benefits of the product. I would recommend a through evaluation period before committing to the product.
Cisco Umbrella support is not good. The support is only provided by email and replies take around a day to be received. This has led to a lot of frustration from our technicians and clients when systems do not work and we don't have a resolution. The overage knowledge of the product my most support technicians seems sub-par.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed it to the entire company, in addition to their mobile devices (laptops) when they are offsite. For us, this solves the web filtering that in the past was cumbersome to manage. We did not want a heavy proxy web filter, but a general best effort one based on DNS. This product does that for us as well as generates great security alerts on malware using DNS.
  • Security.
  • Webfiltering.
  • Easy setup.
  • Reporting.
  • MacOS web filtering IP layer.
  • Mobile device - iOS and Android.
  • Webhooks.
This product works with hybrid cloud or companies fully in the cloud, but identity management could get harder. We have 500 users. Sometimes, due to the nature of DNS requests, it can be hard to see the forest through the trees or get false positive hits because some ads on a legitimate website loaded something bad. Overall the security it provides is very good and the insight into web browsing is very helpful. Being a SaaS product makes it easy to set up and maintain.
With the small application, it provides IP layer filtering. On MacOS it is iffy, but on Windows it works great. This helps the system understand what user is on a laptop at that time. If some devices don't support this you can set public DNS to their system and it will provide a very basic level of coverage. With us being more remote the coverage expanded easily to our workforces at home and everyone has been very happy.
They provide a very quick response if I need to email or call in. They also have chat bots, which are decent in providing some help, but the documentation answers most of our questions because it is well written.
Randy Zuehlke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OpenDNS across the entire organization, and it is currently a stop-gap measure until we identify and acquire a secure web gateway.
  • Keeps users away from identified spam or malicious sites.
  • Easily configured to add blocked sites of your own.
  • Great reporting features.
  • Timely and valuable response support from Help Desk.
  • Keeping up to date on known malicious sites and blocking those is difficult for all vendors, but this could always be improved upon.
  • A more detailed descriptions of what is included the Security Categories would be useful. Generic descriptions are provided. For example, state lottery sites could be detailed in the description of the Gambling category.
Obviously where the user is not sophisticated enough to change the DNS servers utilized then the product is great.
We have it deployed with our Cisco AnyConnect VPN client and the Umbrella roaming client module. It has been great at extending the DNS and URL filtering beyond our corporate firewalls. We have not had any reported instances of the protection not working while outside the corporate network. The granular visibility by user is great for incident response functions.
Nothing is perfect, but so far Umbrella has stood up to all of the major DNS vector threats (e.g., CC) we have encountered from APTs to criminal elements attempting to penetrate our network, whether to steal IP or install malware on our network. In conjunction with our suite of other security products, Umbrella has withstood the test of time. We have had this product on our network for over 3 years now with no complaints.
The product was easy to install and get running. To maintain the product is also a simple matter of maintaining lists of wanted and unwanted domains or URLs. The basic and advanced security features all do what they are intended to do with no known erroneous outcomes.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use Cisco Umbrella for [a] layer of security.
  • Best DNS protection for Business
  • Web filtering
  • Fast and Reliable
  • Sometimes highly expensive
  • Logs can be better filtered
  • Entry level setup should be free
Nice
[Integration] with SD wan. Cloud firewall deliverd.
Cisco Umbrella [is a] interesting and reliable product to use.
Christopher J Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is an overarching security solution that we have been using on our IT infrastructure for more than 2 years. Umbrella's coverage and features are varying and [satisfy] our needs without any problems. Mainly we benefit from [the] secure gateway, DNS service, and most importantly Cisco Umbrella's threat [intelligence] which is fed by many users from other companies.
  • Continously improved threat intelligience
  • DNS layer security for end users
  • Improved end point visibility
  • None. Everything works fine
Cisco Umbrella is a well-developed tool for security that I would recommend to IT departments. Its wide integration options [make] it better as it orchestrates with many other security and networking tools and devices smoothly.
Cisco's resource on threat [intelligence] is limitless. Benefiting from this resource, they provide a perfect security solution to us. We advise our colleagues to use OpenDNS (Cisco's subsidiary) on their devices. Also, we imply Cisco Umbrella's DNS layer security to prevent some threats even before reaching our colleagues' devices. Cisco Umbrella provides other protection solutions as well such as [the] SecureX platform.
Cisco does very well on both pre-sales and deployment after the purchase.
Stella Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Umbrella as its name presented is an inclusive security product that we use at our company. Mainly, we benefit from its secure gateway and dns layer security service. During the pandemic period, almost all of our colleagues started work remotely with company devices or own devices connected to company network. Umbrella's DNS layer security allows us to protect them everywhere.
  • Either on-site or remote, security policies are equally implied
  • Secure endpoints on company networks, protected endusers via DNS layer coverage
  • Broad threat intelligience fed by all users
  • none
I would recommend Umbrella as it is easy as cake to implement. Even on the mobile devices of the colleagues, they can be covered with just in two steps by defining the configuration and activating DNS service.
DNS layer protection works over all ports and protocols in order to prevent attacks. Their threat intelligence is fed by all users and they process these data with machine learning to define the threat patterns. Their security team filters those outputs and we benefit from this intelligence by just defining proper security policies.
I was not involved in deployment process. However, post-sales support, in particular guides, are helpful.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Cisco Umbrella being used across the entire organization, on all computers. The reason we use Cisco Umbrella is to control the website filtering in order to prevent users from accessing potentially malicious sites and/or content not deemed appropriate for work.
  • Lots of filtering options
  • Small client installer
  • Client installer works on remote computers
  • Creating a block list is a bit weird
  • Certain circumstances can cause a website not to load because of SSL certificate issues
  • Filtering rules can be a bit difficult to setup in complex scenarios
I think Cisco Umbrella is well suited for almost all organizations. It works so well that both a small business and a large business can use it without issues. Technically it can even be used by devices that don't support the client installer, so it can basically be used anywhere by anyone. The only downside to Cisco Umbrella is that it doesn't fully support Terminal Servers, in that it won't do user-based filtering, which can be a deal-breaker.
The client installer allows web filtering on endpoints that are outside the main firewall. Cisco Umbrella even supports pointing a remote site's DNS servers to Cisco Umbrella's DNS servers and it can be intelligently filtered if it matches a static IP configured in the web console.
We haven't had to contact their support very often, which is good. The few times we've had problems with sites getting categorized incorrectly, they've been able to fix the issue, but not always quickly. We've had a couple issues with sites that are classified as New that sometimes get blocked, and their response has been to wait a couple days and it won't be categorized as new anymore, so not exactly a quick fix.