Cisco Umbrella Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
112 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 20, 2021
Christopher J Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is an overarching security solution that we have been using on our IT infrastructure for more than 2 years. Umbrella's coverage and features are varying and [satisfy] our needs without any problems. Mainly we benefit from [the] secure gateway, DNS service, and most importantly Cisco Umbrella's threat [intelligence] which is fed by many users from other companies.
  • Continously improved threat intelligience
  • DNS layer security for end users
  • Improved end point visibility
  • None. Everything works fine
Cisco Umbrella is a well-developed tool for security that I would recommend to IT departments. Its wide integration options [make] it better as it orchestrates with many other security and networking tools and devices smoothly.
Cisco's resource on threat [intelligence] is limitless. Benefiting from this resource, they provide a perfect security solution to us. We advise our colleagues to use OpenDNS (Cisco's subsidiary) on their devices. Also, we imply Cisco Umbrella's DNS layer security to prevent some threats even before reaching our colleagues' devices. Cisco Umbrella provides other protection solutions as well such as [the] SecureX platform.
Cisco does very well on both pre-sales and deployment after the purchase.
Read Christopher J Evans's full review
April 30, 2021
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Umbrella for DNS protection on workstations by using the roaming client on endpoints, and we also use the virtual machines that integrate with Active Directory for DNS protection on a network. It provides protection against potentially malicious websites and known bad servers on the Internet.
  • DNS protection
  • Alerting on malicious activity in real-time
  • Reporting on protection
  • We've had issues with networks that the internal DNS name is the same as the external DNS name; it would be good if that could be improved
  • I have seen false-positives before that blocked certain websites that did not appear to be malicious; this was rare but did happen more than once
  • The layout of the admin panel seems a little bit like it's lacking and hard to find your way around; would be nice to see that improve
Overall, it's nice to have DNS protection set up and working well, even when there's a good anti-virus or anti-malware program in place on a workstation or server; Cisco Umbrella does that part well. I've seen it stop attempts for malware to phone home out to bad servers, which is helpful.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
April 02, 2021
Randy Zuehlke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OpenDNS across the entire organization, and it is currently a stop-gap measure until we identify and acquire a secure web gateway.
  • Keeps users away from identified spam or malicious sites.
  • Easily configured to add blocked sites of your own.
  • Great reporting features.
  • Timely and valuable response support from Help Desk.
  • Keeping up to date on known malicious sites and blocking those is difficult for all vendors, but this could always be improved upon.
  • A more detailed descriptions of what is included the Security Categories would be useful. Generic descriptions are provided. For example, state lottery sites could be detailed in the description of the Gambling category.
Obviously where the user is not sophisticated enough to change the DNS servers utilized then the product is great.
We have it deployed with our Cisco AnyConnect VPN client and the Umbrella roaming client module. It has been great at extending the DNS and URL filtering beyond our corporate firewalls. We have not had any reported instances of the protection not working while outside the corporate network. The granular visibility by user is great for incident response functions.
Nothing is perfect, but so far Umbrella has stood up to all of the major DNS vector threats (e.g., CC) we have encountered from APTs to criminal elements attempting to penetrate our network, whether to steal IP or install malware on our network. In conjunction with our suite of other security products, Umbrella has withstood the test of time. We have had this product on our network for over 3 years now with no complaints.
The product was easy to install and get running. To maintain the product is also a simple matter of maintaining lists of wanted and unwanted domains or URLs. The basic and advanced security features all do what they are intended to do with no known erroneous outcomes.
Read Randy Zuehlke's full review
May 04, 2021
Mike Sabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed Cisco Umbrella over 2 years ago. We decided to use it because we needed one good solution to give us the best security across the whole company. And we've had great success. Now we are able to protect our users and our network with the best solution on the market. Thank You, Cisco!
  • Cybersecurity
  • Block threats
  • Control the use of apps
  • Price
Cisco Umbrella is really great for cybersecurity. It protects all my users at any level. So for example some users could visit some webpages that could try to install viruses on users' machines. Cisco Umbrella protects us against that and finds that risk situation, blocks webpages, and protects us from possible disaster.
Well, Cisco Umbrella provides us great DNS protection. It uses DNS to block threats over all ports and protocols, also direct IP connections. That protects us from any malware and infected machines that could potentially connect to our network. What is more, it helps us to save users even when they are our customers using our Wi-Fi.
Cisco's support for Cisco Umbrella is the same as for any other Cisco's solution--just great. When we had some issues with installation Cisco Support helped us quickly. I would like to have Cisco Support anywhere :)
Read Mike Sabat's full review
May 03, 2021
Ryan Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Umbrella to help block unwanted websites from being navigated on company use machines. We use it across the entire organization both on a client level via the VPN add-in and on each designated network via umbrella proxy devices. It helps keep people from inadvertently navigating to known malicious websites.
  • Blocks malicious websites.
  • Integrates with SecureX to help with single pane of glass.
  • Easy to update and add websites to block or to whitelist.
  • Higher overhead to maintain with the appliances needed.
  • Not as simple to rollout client as some products are.
  • More reports and more information rich dashboard would be nice.
I would recommend Umbrella to anyone looking at having some outbound blocking. It works and I have not found another product that works as well. The problem with outbound filtering is that you can only block so much before you get way too many false positives. It is hard to find the balance that works.
It works well for remote offices and we don't notice any performance impact. It is harder to deploy via VPN clients but still very effective. Does block an alarming amount of traffic from some users and give you insight into people who need more security education.
I have never used Cisco's support team for Umbrella. I will rate them a 9 based on my experience with other TAC issues. All the work that we did either to implement or to support is done internally or via an MSP that assists us regularly. The system is easy enough and stable enough that we have never had to leverage Cisco TAC on anything yet.
Read Ryan Lee's full review
May 03, 2021
Nikola Marks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella works as a single platform bringing together various security components, such as threat intelligence, firewall, DNS-layer security, secure web gateway. We use it as a secure internet gateway to protect our employees anywhere. Employees do not need to be connected to our VPN or internet network when they are working remotely; its protection is flexible. Cisco Umbrella protects our employees from common end-user targeting attacks such as malware, phishing, and ransomware. As it is cloud based, many threats are easily identified and prevented on the cloud before reaching our employees. This process is easily done by only using DNS services.
  • Integrated security components in one solution
  • Cloud based; does not require VPN or local network connection
  • Improves visibility
Before the COVID-19 pandemic, I had been helping our employees regarding their security concerns. Cisco Umbrella helps our security team to give an extra shield to our employees to use against online threats without losing any performance. Thanks to its DNS-layer service, employees can also be protected on their personal devices while working remotely. Not only company devices, but also others are secure. Lastly, company device logs are collected and stored securely on Cisco cloud.
Cisco Umbrella serves very well on this matter. All the endpoints connected to our systems are secure thanks to Umbrella's DNS-layer protection. Cloud-based security mechanisms have access to a wider threat intelligence than we could have in our systems.
I have not had a conversation with the pre-sales team, and deployment was so easy that we did not need to get support from the company.
Read Nikola Marks's full review
May 03, 2021
Curtis Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is being used across our whole organization/school district. It allows us to filter via DNS filtering websites that staff and students are accessing to make sure we are not hitting spam/phishing/malware sites.
  • Filters websites for potential bad sites.
  • Warns users of potential website issues.
  • Filters using DNS for websites that may be bad sites i.e. malware/phishing/spam.
  • Better granularity in the filtering.
Umbrella is well suited to our school district situation because it can filter our staff and students both on-premises and at home. It provides filtering for both our windows desktop and our Chromebooks (via a Google Extension).
Cisco Umbrella has functioned wonderfully for our district. It has blocked many sites that would have overwise caused headaches for our staff and students.
Haven't had to use them much after the initial install. The product has worked on it own with few issues.
Read Curtis Jackson's full review
April 30, 2021
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are an MSP with 7000 endpoints that we support. Umbrella is not optional for our clients. While antivirus is required, it serves as a checkbox. Umbrella is what does all of the heavy lifting for us on the antimalware side of things.
  • Cisco umbrella protects the whole network. While you can have an agent installed on machines to provide more protection abilities and filtering, you more than likely have IoT devices on your network and you want to make sure those aren't working with bad actors.
  • Umbrella is lightweight and the geniuses behind it are constantly finding ways to thwart evildoers.
  • When we initially put in umbrella we were spending over 40 hours per month on fighting crypto viruses and that dropped to 20 hours for the next 12 months. It has paid for itself easily.
  • Every once in a while it conflicts with an app and we need to turn it off to troubleshoot, see it working again, then create a ticket to get support to resolve the issue.
Great product that saves us SO much time by blocking more bad actors than I could ever count.
We've seen the number of ransomware attacks drop substantially after putting Umbrella in place
Especially during a pandemic, protecting users when they are not behind a firewall can be incredibly hard to accomplish. Thankfully we already had Umbrella in place to help protect endpoints that are roaming around the world. We've been notified regularly of ransomware attacks that have been thwarted by Umbrella.
Every once in a while Umbrella will get in the way and cause issues with a certain application. Creating a ticket with Cisco will normally take a few days to resolve. In the meantime we have to shut off Umbrella for the client to work. This needs to be shored up.
It's a fantastic product that works better than advertised.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
May 13, 2021
Stella Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Umbrella as its name presented is an inclusive security product that we use at our company. Mainly, we benefit from its secure gateway and dns layer security service. During the pandemic period, almost all of our colleagues started work remotely with company devices or own devices connected to company network. Umbrella's DNS layer security allows us to protect them everywhere.
  • Either on-site or remote, security policies are equally implied
  • Secure endpoints on company networks, protected endusers via DNS layer coverage
  • Broad threat intelligience fed by all users
  • none
I would recommend Umbrella as it is easy as cake to implement. Even on the mobile devices of the colleagues, they can be covered with just in two steps by defining the configuration and activating DNS service.
DNS layer protection works over all ports and protocols in order to prevent attacks. Their threat intelligence is fed by all users and they process these data with machine learning to define the threat patterns. Their security team filters those outputs and we benefit from this intelligence by just defining proper security policies.
I was not involved in deployment process. However, post-sales support, in particular guides, are helpful.
Read Stella Neal's full review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is a great cloud-based security service that has helped us protect our employee's accounts, devices, and identities. This DNS security setup has been one of the most impressive I have ever seen or had the pleasure of using. It provides us with a fantastic amount of service for the price paid.
  • DNS Security is top-notch
  • The reporting dashboard allows us to see data and interpret it to make informed decisions.
  • It is easy to manage a large number of devices/accounts while using this platform.
  • The initial setup was a little tedious and time-consuming.
  • The reporting and alert configuration could use an overhaul.
  • Issues can be complex when you run into one. Expect to contact support.
This program, once properly set up, provides an amazing level of DNS security that I believe is second to none. While the platform is amazing and the service it provides is great, that doesn't mean that it is perfect. Like any product that I have ever used, there is always room for improvement which is why I am glad that we are in the hands of Cisco.
Ever since the pandemic went into full swing our company has started to rely more heavily on remote workers and people using personal networks, unknown networks, and our usual networks. Initially, it was a cause for concern as nowadays you never really know who or what is waiting for you on an unknown network. Cisco Umbrella has given us reassurance that no matter where our employees are, they will be protected.
Since I have had to use the support and service options for Cisco Umbrella more than any of my other Cisco programs, I can say that the support for this program is really above and beyond what I have experienced with other companies. They are patient and they make sure that they fully understand the issue that you are facing before trying to diagnose and correct it.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Cisco Umbrella being used across the entire organization, on all computers. The reason we use Cisco Umbrella is to control the website filtering in order to prevent users from accessing potentially malicious sites and/or content not deemed appropriate for work.
  • Lots of filtering options
  • Small client installer
  • Client installer works on remote computers
  • Creating a block list is a bit weird
  • Certain circumstances can cause a website not to load because of SSL certificate issues
  • Filtering rules can be a bit difficult to setup in complex scenarios
I think Cisco Umbrella is well suited for almost all organizations. It works so well that both a small business and a large business can use it without issues. Technically it can even be used by devices that don't support the client installer, so it can basically be used anywhere by anyone. The only downside to Cisco Umbrella is that it doesn't fully support Terminal Servers, in that it won't do user-based filtering, which can be a deal-breaker.
The client installer allows web filtering on endpoints that are outside the main firewall. Cisco Umbrella even supports pointing a remote site's DNS servers to Cisco Umbrella's DNS servers and it can be intelligently filtered if it matches a static IP configured in the web console.
We haven't had to contact their support very often, which is good. The few times we've had problems with sites getting categorized incorrectly, they've been able to fix the issue, but not always quickly. We've had a couple issues with sites that are classified as New that sometimes get blocked, and their response has been to wait a couple days and it won't be categorized as new anymore, so not exactly a quick fix.
Read this authenticated review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is an excellent security solution for our needs. We have a very distributed workforce across both geographies and office and remote setups and were looking for something that provided security across the entire network. This is exactly what Cisco Umbrella provides for us - we use it across the entire organization and it works very well for our needs.
  • Ability to mix office and remote setups
  • Excellent remote solution
  • Great security solution
  • Ease of initial setup
  • Ability to quickly onboard additional users
We would highly Cisco Umbrella security solution for many reasons, the most important to us being; Compared to the other security solutions we considered Cisco Umbrella had the most flexibility to manage multiple venues and integrate a mix of remote and office employees. This was very important to us and given this dynamic seems to be increasing in prevalence -- this ability will be very important to many organizations facing the same security decision we did. We feel Cisco had the best flexibility in this area of all the products we considered.
Cisco Umbrella provides DNS protection for our organization both inside and outside of the firewall. One way the product achieves this objective is thru a consistent policy approach -- the system works the same both inside/outside of the firewall and across all locations -- both remote and internal. We feel the threat level features and the cloud firewall are the 2 most useful features the product has towards achieving this objective and providing us the security we need.
We have been Cisco fans for quite some time. This product / support team lives up to expectations and the high degree of service we have come to expect from them. Whenever we had any sort of question / issue (which there were not many, as this was fairly seamless to integrate) they were responsive and helpful towards finding a solution.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When crypto virus infections become a new threat a few years ago, implementing Cisco Umbrella gave our company and clients an extra layer of protection against these threats. It is used on an ongoing basis across the entire company and all of our clients to help protect again new and emerging threats. The product also helps filter content that is inappropriate for the workplace.
  • The product does a good job of blocking known bad sites.
  • Content filtering categories allow us to block material that is deemed inappropriate.
  • Roaming client allows for laptops to be protect in or out of the office.
  • Often, the roaming agent causes Windows to incorrectly be unable to detect Internet access, causing Office 365 to not work.
  • Product support is not very good.
  • Reporting across multiple clients is not efficient.
Cisco Umbrella is most appropriate in organizations that do not require much support and Office 365 is not used. The level of support provided is lackluster. The roaming agent often causes Windows systems to incorrectly report that the machine does not have Internet access. This causes Office 365 apps to no work, resulting in a lot of wasted time trying to correct the error. The product was top-notch several years ago, but I would hesitate to recommend it now.
If the Cisco Umbrella roaming client is used, it provides an extra layer of protection for systems, but only as a supplement to traditional antivirus programs. While the protection is helpful, the side effects, such as the incorrect "No Internet" problem may outweigh the benefits of the product. I would recommend a through evaluation period before committing to the product.
Cisco Umbrella support is not good. The support is only provided by email and replies take around a day to be received. This has led to a lot of frustration from our technicians and clients when systems do not work and we don't have a resolution. The overage knowledge of the product my most support technicians seems sub-par.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Umbrella to protect our DNS, and web filtering. This allows us to ensure that if an endpoint tries to access a malicious IP, Cisco Umbrella will not allow it. This is being used across our entire enterprise - both Windows and Macintosh computers. It adds another layer of protection from having to connect to a VPN and route traffic through a "regular" firewall. This way if a user is at a coffee shop or whatnot - they are still protected using Cisco Umbrella.
  • DNS Protection
  • Web Filtering
  • Auditing User Activity
  • No way to filter "Unknown" categories
  • Sometimes the certificate install causes some hiccups
  • Complex administrative interface
Cisco Umbrella is well suited for endpoints that are either mobile, or not in a "regular" office setting. With COVID this becomes increasingly important with users no longer at a physical building. Cisco Umbrella works to protect the user wherever they are and keep the company data safe and secure. It also ensures that users cannot access "inappropriate" material - such as adult - on their work computers.
Cisco Umbrella is very well suited for protecting endpoints both inside and outside the firewall. Since the product is continually running and does not need to connect back to a corporate firewall or whatnot, it provides the protection needed for a remote workforce, or protection under a pandemic. It successfully allows everything, but blocks what is defined.
We have not yet had to contact Customer Support on any issues yet. Our organization did take the class in order to learn how to administer the product so it gave us a good understanding of what the product is and how to use it. The community site has been easy to use and allows for us to find many of the answers that we need.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Umbrella to monitor our internet traffic and control application usage. This is used across our origination at all of our sites. The biggest issue we are solving for is web connections to unknown sites. In a WFH world, Cisco Umbrella has assisted us in keeping our users safe.
  • DNS monitoring
  • Web filtering
  • Application filtering
  • Reporting can be problematic
  • Policies can be hard to manage
If you are looking for a DNS management tool or web filtering tool Cisco Umbrella is hard to beat. After using Cisco Umbrella for a number of years, the product has continued to evolve. I can only see this continuing as Cisco integrates Umbrella deeper into its security practice. Since Cisco Umbrella is scalable it is a good fit for any company.
Cisco Umbrella does a great job for us for DNS protection and URL filtering. Since moving to WFH, our workforce is now distributed. With Cisco Umbrella we are able to manage all of our endpoints regardless on their location or connection type. The central management has proven beneficial when making global changes to computers that may or may not connect to our network.
I wish I had phone support. Currently is is email only support. They do a good job of communicating new features, maintenance windows, or scheduled downtime. We have received the support we needed when we requested, so I cannot say I have any issues. We have not needed to open many cases so email is fine.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is being used by our organization as a DNS tool and as a web filtering tool. It addresses the business problem of preventing certain types of websites to be accessed for organizations that don't necessarily need larger forms of security such as a web access filter or a firewall.
  • Easy to implement
  • Easy to whitelist sites
  • Doesn't break
  • License counts should update automatically.
Cisco Umbrella is well suited for a managed service provider that has smaller organizations as clients that still need web filtering, but don't require a web access filter or a larger firewall. It is less appropriate if you have other forms of web filtering or do not require any filtering at all.
Cisco Umbrella provides all of our users with DNS protection and URL filtering wherever they are. We can easily know that due to the security features, our users can browse the web safely. Cisco Umbrella offers all of our endpoints the protection they need in this vastly changing hostile networking world.
I haven't had to reach out to the support team but once or twice in all my time, and it was never for anything technical. The agents and services work as they are supposed to without any fear of breakage. If we have any issue with the service, we reboot the machine and make sure the services are running.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is being used by our entire organization. It solves a number of pressing issues including web filtering, and malware websites. It gives us a high-level analysis of the number of sites that have users have accessed or tried to access as well as browser counts for the number of blocks that Umbrella has been able to keep away from our users.
  • Web filtering
  • High level dashboard analysis
  • Ease when it comes to adding locations.
  • Able to easily add further filtering.
  • Over all, the software operates very well in the space.
  • We don't have any other issues.
Cisco Umbrella is suited for organizations that require a high level of filtering when it comes to website filtering.
As well if you have multiple locations it provides you with some additional high level information.
The dashboard is very easy to navigate and we believe it is one of the most reliable tools out there for all of the malware and ransom sites.
The protection has worked very well for all of our remote branch offices. As well with users roaming it has given us an additional level of security when it comes to users who inadvertently try accessing a malicious site. If the user hits a website that Umbrella is not sure is legit it sends IT a notification and then they can intern review and quickly enable access to that particular site that initially was blocked.
When we have any issues it is a quick ticket creation and someone promptly gets back to us.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Umbrella for DNS Security and URL filtering. Our entire organization uses DNS forwarded to Cisco Umbrella. Our mobile users use the Cisco Umbrella profile loaded into the Cisco Secure Mobility Client to protect both inside and outside the firewall. Cisco Umbrella adds another layer of security to our multi-layered setup at an affordable price.
  • The up-time has been excellent so far.
  • The Umbrella profile loads right into our Cisco Secure Mobility Client setup.
  • The Active Directory implementation is convoluted and complicated.
  • Would like to be able to create a rule (block or allow) directly from the reporting pages.
Cisco Umbrella protects all of our endpoints both inside and outside of the firewall. Simple DNS forwarding allows this solution to be used by even the smallest of organizations, and indeed, it is even appropriate for home use. The more complicated the network, the more difficult it is to configure the Active Directory integration.
We do not pay for phone support from Umbrella, so our support is only through the knowledge base and email support. Umbrella support always replies within the specified time, and their support has been excellent except for the issues regarding Active Directory setup and configuration, although I am not sure I would blame support from those issues--that is probably more of an engineering issue.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CIsco Umbrella is currently being used by our engineering department to monitor our wide variety of servers. With full transparency, it addresses problems such as cybersecurity and general hardware problems.
  • Cybersecurity malware prevention
  • Possibility to view the status of all ports and devices on the machine
  • Easy to use dashboard
  • Some areas of the dashboard are misplaced and are a bit difficult to get through
  • We've hit a few false-positive reports
  • Live reporting could use some rework
Umbrella is pretty well suited for a variety of applications, from simple home use to corporational use. Despite false-positives, it's easy to be assured that data is safe, secure, and monitored.
Umbrella provides some pretty useful DNS protection, which has been a pretty big use-case for our organization. By blocking malicious intent across all monitored ports, we have peace of mind that no malicious machines will be connecting to our networks.
The support team is one of the best! They had great response times and were generally very pleasing to work with on short notice after pulling our hair out with a weird bug/problem.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella is used on all endpoints / servers globally and are the only DNS servers for the entire company.
  • Policy Management / Configuration
  • Detailed reporting
  • Ease of configuration
  • Endpoint Identity quality of information
  • False positive reporting and remediation
  • Real time log viewing on appliances (for troubleshooting purposes)
It is well suited to protect the organization against threats that can be mitigated by DNS lookups. Unfortunately not all threats use DNS lookups and can be a gap for those types of bad scenarios. It is not a silver bullet and EDR still must be used to cover other vectors of attack on endpoints.
Remote users are covered via a standalone agent or part of the Anyconnect client. Both are effective and check in with the cloud. If you operate in China the coverage is good as it can be given China's government firewall that sometimes blocks or slows down SSL traffic.
The initial incident submission is handled by a "bot" which does not always give an appropriate response, which then in turn requires an escalation to a live person which generally can answer the issue or resolve the problem. Response time for the 2nd level escalation takes much longer and can possibly leave your company more vulnerable in the short time window. There are instances were you need a quick response and there is no way to get a quick answer.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to protect all client machines regardless of location (both on and off the network). One of the few products that allow you to protect and keep track of your endpoints when they are not on your own network. Very lightweight on the client but very powerful as it's all managed from the cloud.
  • Great endpoint control and visibility
  • Ease of management
  • Difficult to troubleshoot
  • Complicated licensing
From one of the most reputable brands on the market, Umbrella is a wonderful product to protect your endpoints, especially if you have a lot of mobile users. Management is very straightforward using the cloud service and it works great with other Cisco security products like AMP.
It just does what it says it does (which is more than some of its competitors) and does it nicely and without loading the endpoint or requiring complex configurations. No matter which network the endpoint is connected to, you are assured its protection at all times.
This is the only downside to Cisco. While their engineers are knowledgeable and great to work with, their escalation system leaves a lot to be desired, and what's meant to be a simple process gets complicated and tedious.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Umbrella across our organization as well as integrate it into enterprise, educational, and municipal networks. Its our go to for a first line of network security. Umbrella has been added more and more features for all customers without any significant licensing or implantation changes. Highly recommended.
  • Easy to use
  • Effect first layer of security
  • always improving
  • versatile
  • can be difficult to deploy mobile agents, except for chromebooks
  • application category look up tool needed
  • scheduled reporting features are limited
Any network from SMB to enterprise to public sector can benefit from the added security and visibility. Not suited for home use.
Umbrella on its own can do well protecting clients outside the network as long as you install the agent. The difficulty and consistency of deploying this agent depends on the type of endpoint and the system that will push out the agent. In my experience its a much smoother to provide remote protection when combined with Cisco Anyconnect.
Just as good as all other Cisco products, though Cisco can not assist much with the other software/products needed to deploy the roaming client agent.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use Cisco Umbrella for [a] layer of security.
  • Best DNS protection for Business
  • Web filtering
  • Fast and Reliable
  • Sometimes highly expensive
  • Logs can be better filtered
  • Entry level setup should be free
[Integration] with SD wan. Cloud firewall deliverd.
Cisco Umbrella [is a] interesting and reliable product to use.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella solution enabled us with a web filtering option. It is very important to us that the software is cloud native and with that it can provide a good quality protection. It is used across all departments as it is used as the base line against any threats our employees may face in their daily work on the web.
  • Lightweight client footprint
  • Cloud native
  • Proxy functionality
  • DNS proxy approach doesn't always work with VPN
  • Any issues with the solution aren't easy to be reported and fixed
It is very easy and quick to apply protection to the whole company by forwarding DNS. Cisco Umbrella could extend its offering with data leak protection.
As our company has been remote first even before the pandemic, Cisco Umbrella is the basic required software to ensure safety of work to our employees.
As mentioned earlier, the support would be the part to be improved in Cisco Umbrella. The reporting itself and the speed of resolution is something which we would like to see a positive change the most in this software, especially as we rely on it 100% of the time.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed it company wide as a measure of WFH, as the trusted DNS source for where ever you are working from. We found that the upstream provider of some people were suspicious and made errors, this allows people to work a bit more freely.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Lightweight
  • It works
  • The sso is a bit of a query mess
Anytime you have people that work away from the office this provides a lay of security to connecting from non-standard upstream.
The trusted upstream of where ever a user is outside the office is standardized and we can trust it.
The SSO was a bit [difficult] to setup and [we] needed their help.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco's secure access service edge (SASE) architecture, integrates multiple security services in a single, centrally managed, cloud-native solution to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. By unifying secure web gateway, firewall, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions, Cisco Umbrella helps reduce the resources required for deployment, configuration, and integration. And, by delivering this functionality from the cloud, you can scale to meet the needs of a remote and roaming workforce, shifting network perimeter, and multi-cloud environment — all while simplifying security. Umbrella can be easily integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

Has featureDNS-layer security
Has featureSecure web gateway (full proxy)
Has featureCloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
Has featureCloud-delivered firewall
Has featureInteractive threat intelligence
Has featureIntegrates with SD-WAN

Cisco Umbrella Videos (2)

Watch how Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco’s SASE global cloud architecture, enables your cloud transformation.

Watch how KCA Deutag strengthens their security with Cisco Umbrella to ensure consistent enforcement across distributed sites.

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Integrations

Cisco Secure Malware Analytics (formerly Threat Grid), ThreatConnect, ZeroFOX, FireEye, Check Point, Splunk, ThreatQ, Umbrella Enforcement API for Custom Integrations

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cloudflare, Akamai, Zscaler Internet Access, Infoblox, Palo Alto Networks, Netskope

Cisco Umbrella Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cisco Umbrella Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Chromebooks
Supported Countries:190 Countries

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

What is Cisco Umbrella's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Cisco Umbrella?

The most common users of Cisco Umbrella are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.