Cisco Umbrella Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
109 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have briefly evaluated other providers, and there are some out there that do this, but we are satisfied with what we get from Umbrella. The customer support has been sufficient and we have been able to wrap our service offerings around the feature set and functionality of Umbrella.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
April 02, 2021
Randy Zuehlke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at the other option of full web content filtering and decided this was a better approach for us. We really did not evaluate other options like Zscaler or Sophos.
Read Randy Zuehlke's full review
May 04, 2021
Mike Sabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Umbrella is the first security solution that we implemented in our whole company. We looked and tested many others but finally decided to use Cisco Umbrella because we have a couple of other Cisco systems and they just work.
Read Mike Sabat's full review
May 03, 2021
Ryan Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have had Cisco Umbrella for a very long time and with zero issues to date; the need to evaluate other products has not come up yet. I have used appliance-based web filters in the past and having it at the DNS level is nicer IMO for the level of redundancy it provides and the ability to function with failures.
Read Ryan Lee's full review
April 30, 2021
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've looked briefly at the DNS protection from Webroot. I think Webroot is a fine base, but would you prefer your 1999 Camry that works most of the time or would you rather be driving in a 2019 Acura NSX that does everything so well and makes you look like a hero using it?
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tested a couple options before going with Cisco Umbrella. Cisco Umbrella was definitely the most feature rich option and the most useful overall. At the time we compared other options, Webroot DNS Protection had just been released and we decided not to deploy a brand new product. At that time it wasn't nearly as complete a product as Cisco Umbrella, but that may have changed in the past couple years. WebTitan required a virtual machine to run the software so it wasn't appropriate for external or remote workers.
Read this authenticated review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated 3-4 primary competitors when searching for our optimal security solution. We found Cisco Umbrella to be the best choice for us due to the on / off premise functionality aspect that we felt other competitors were lacking in this area. The value preposition was also more compelling for the Cisco Umbrella product as we felt based on our specifications it was a slightly more cost competitive solution. Overall we are very happy with our decision.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At the time that we purchased Cisco Umbrella, then OpenDNS, we did not evaluate other products. Since then, several competing products have been released. I intend to evaluate these in the future, as we have not been happy overall with Cisco Umbrella. The unexpected side effects and poor support have been very frustrating.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Microsoft Defender for Endpoint (formerly Microsoft Defender ATP)
Cisco Umbrella allows much more protection than other products that we have evaluated. Many products such as Defender ATP only provide minimal web filtering, such as categories. However Umbrella allows us to filter much more, and have much more reporting capabilities than other products that are currently on the market.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For our use there was no real option or reason for us not to go with Cisco Umbrella. Our other security products were from Cisco, so it just made sense. We did look at the other products to make sure there was not any features missing that we required and there were not.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have not used any other products that fill this role, outside of traditional DNS servers and firewall safety measures.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were using the Barracuda Networks Web Filtering appliance for a portion of this use case, and at one time, we were using both Umbrella and Barracuda Web Filter. We let the Barracuda support expire due to issues between Barracuda Support and Sales, and have since been using only the Umbrella service. The Barracuda was much easier to configure for use with Active Directory, but Umbrella seems to provide a better overall layer of protection.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These products are used in conjunction with Umbrella to help cover the gaps in the product. Websense was the closest product we had in the past, however the cost and operating of the product became more and more difficult and costly.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

None of the other products tested offered the simplicity and ease of use of Umbrella and the guarantee that your endpoints will be secured regardless of network.
Read this authenticated review
November 10, 2020
Patrick Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

After a review of costs earlier this year I took the decision to move to ArcTitan as there was a much lower level of investment in return for a product that offered much the same level of protection. I have no complaints about it all so far. Very happy with it.
Read Patrick Smith's full review
August 28, 2020
John Patrick Duro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Apparently, Cisco Umbrella is our first and only choice. We did not gamble and waste resources on other competitors or alternatives in regards to what Cisco Umbrella is offering.
Read John Patrick Duro's full review
August 21, 2020
Daniel Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not evaluate any other products as Cisco Umbrella was perfect and already part of the Cisco eco system, so things like native API integration made it a easy decision.
Read Daniel Hosking's full review
August 19, 2020
Andreas Tan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Umbrella offers more visibility across our company network, and it offers more content categories and regular updates on the list.
Read Andreas Tan's full review
June 18, 2020
Sebastián Sarasate | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The simplicity of administration, the possibility of having a roaming user scheme with differential security policies for each case, and its integration with other products were key when deciding and undoubtedly generated a very positive impact both in the tasks of the IT team and in the general security of our devices.
Read Sebastián Sarasate's full review
May 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Cisco Umbrella due to its ability to be centrally managed and cloud-hosted. It was also important for us to move away from a proxy-based protection service due to poor Internet performance. Cisco Umbrella provided a simple, easy to deploy solution that could protect all our devices from anywhere.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2019
Dan Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I honestly have not compared Umbrella to other products. I know there are countless web content monitoring/filtering solutions out there but most of them require additional hardware, overhead, setup, etc. I didn't even consider them. To me it just makes more sense to filter at the DNS level. It is more unobtrusive and easier to accomplish. Not having to analyze network traffic beyond an IP address.
Read Dan Reynolds's full review

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco's secure access service edge (SASE) architecture, integrates multiple security services in a single, centrally managed, cloud-native solution to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. By unifying secure web gateway, firewall, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions, Cisco Umbrella helps reduce the resources required for deployment, configuration, and integration. And, by delivering this functionality from the cloud, you can scale to meet the needs of a remote and roaming workforce, shifting network perimeter, and multi-cloud environment — all while simplifying security. Umbrella can be easily integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

Has featureDNS-layer security
Has featureSecure web gateway (full proxy)
Has featureCloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
Has featureCloud-delivered firewall
Has featureInteractive threat intelligence
Has featureIntegrates with SD-WAN

Cisco Umbrella Videos (2)

Watch how Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco’s SASE global cloud architecture, enables your cloud transformation.

Watch how KCA Deutag strengthens their security with Cisco Umbrella to ensure consistent enforcement across distributed sites.

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Integrations

Cisco Secure Malware Analytics (formerly Threat Grid), ThreatConnect, ZeroFOX, FireEye, Check Point, Splunk, ThreatQ, Umbrella Enforcement API for Custom Integrations

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cloudflare, Akamai, Zscaler Internet Access, Infoblox, Palo Alto Networks, Netskope

Cisco Umbrella Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cisco Umbrella Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Chromebooks
Supported Countries:190 Countries

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

What is Cisco Umbrella's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Cisco Umbrella?

The most common users of Cisco Umbrella are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.