Cisco Umbrella

Cisco Umbrella

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Cisco Umbrella

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great security option

9 out of 10
July 05, 2022
Cisco Umbrella is an excellent security solution for our needs. We have a very distributed workforce across both geographies and office …
Continue reading

Umbrella Value Add

10 out of 10
March 29, 2022
I started using Cisco Umbrella for just DNS Security. That alone protected my organization from 95% of the malicious traffic that was …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Umbrella, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

32 people want pricing too
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco's secure access service edge (SASE) architecture, integrates multiple security services in a single, centrally managed, cloud-native solution to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. By unifying secure web gateway, firewall, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions, Cisco Umbrella helps reduce the resources required for deployment, configuration, and integration. And, by delivering this functionality from the cloud, you can scale to meet the needs of a remote and roaming workforce, shifting network perimeter, and multi-cloud environment — all while simplifying security. Umbrella can be easily integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

  • Supported: DNS-layer security
  • Supported: Secure web gateway (full proxy)
  • Supported: Cloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
  • Supported: Cloud-delivered firewall
  • Supported: Interactive threat intelligence
  • Supported: Integrates with SD-WAN

Cisco Umbrella Videos

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Integrations

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Chromebooks
Supported Countries190 Countries

Frequently Asked Questions

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

Cloudflare, Akamai, and Zscaler Internet Access are common alternatives for Cisco Umbrella.

Reviewers rate Availability highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Cisco Umbrella are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 46)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
September 05, 2022

Cisco Umbrella Review

Chiasa Kawaguchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The most basic and effective domain name system protection is provided by Cisco Umbrella. I began using it after my company's website was repeatedly attacked. When Cisco Umbrella DNS is installed, it detects, blocks, and alerts the administrator automatically. My company benefits from web filtering and cloud protection. Cisco Umbrella DNS safeguards you against any cyberattack. It has a substantial impact on web filtering. Domain-level malware is easily detected and blocked. Its DNS is compatible with the most recent IPv6. protocol.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product does fit in with our current tech stack, but it is by no means seamless. A significant amount of configuration and testing is required at each client site to ensure that the product does not interfere with local DNS resolution. The side affect problems of the roaming agent that I mentioned also cause some apps to not work, most notably, Office 365.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Even though the Cisco Umbrella product integrates with other Cisco products, unfortunately, we do not use Cisco firewalls or Cisco switches. However, we use a single sign-on that allows us to be logged into the Cisco umbrella dashboard and effectively monitor any real-time threats. It is one of our top three products in our security stack. .
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently do not integrate Cisco Umbrella with any other product. Is is very complimentary to using Securely for Chromebooks. It's nice for on-prem Windows devices because we do not need to install anything. We just point their DNS to Cisco Umbrella via DHCP. Any device joining are network is filtered.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco umbrella's integration with third-party products is very satisfactory. It's able to seamlessly fit with our security tech stack. We have multiple different systems that we run within our organization. We make sure that these systems and servers are all being secured by Cisco Umbrella. The integration of these systems is great!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We tried the AD integration and that had worked fine showing AD users within the Cisco Umbrella administration interface. It fits really well along with our security suite running in conjunction with antivirus and anti-malware pieces of software. We believe that bundling software is more effective to protect computers than using a single one.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a heavily technology dependent organization with multiple high resource users and have quite a few vendors within our tech stack and security stack specifically. From an integration perspective our tech team had absolutely no issue integrating this product with the rest of our stack. We found a high degree of interoperability with various vendors -- and no major issues on integration side.
July 05, 2022

Cisco Umbrella

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented "Splunk" for security purposes to have a broad view of many different devices. Umbrella will allow you to export logs and import them on the Splunk instance for all in one monitoring solution.
Umbrella provides an API that dumps logs into an aws servers and splunk retrieves them with the API.
March 29, 2022

Umbrella Value Add

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Integrations into Splunk Phantom SOAR has saved the organization a large amount of time during the incident response process. It has also sped up the time to remediate keeping us out of breach situations. It also works well with Active Directory to help write policy and get proper reporting on the requests being made.
Nicolas Tenthorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My biggest complaint about Cisco and Meraki products is their promise to integrate. The integration is supposed to be easy, but it's not. API keys are needed to be generated even though these companies are supposedly related. Cisco and Meraki could do a much better job at providing a single portal, with ALL products, Meraki, Cisco Umbrella, AMP.
March 03, 2022

Umbrella DNS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have yet to integrate Cisco Umbrella across other Cisco and third-party products. The integration took too long from the time we purchased Cisco Umbrella to when the integration was available. It has been set as a goal to integrate our systems but being that it was not an option from start, it is making for redundant work.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We send our Umbrella data into our SIEM and this has been very helpful with incident response and correlation of security events. We're using Splunk Cloud and this has helped us identify and resolve several incidents and investigations of interest. DNS is the key to security monitoring and is very helpful.
Christer Geberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The integration is smooth and effective with other tools. As attacks get more complex, the expense of identifying, detecting, and blocking them rises as well. However, attackers frequently reuse infrastructure across many attacks, leaving cyber fingerprints in the process. The main purpose of service providers and enterprises is to keep the malicious stuff out while keeping the relevant stuff in the network.
Brian Duffy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we used Meraki MX devices on the perimeter, and Meraki Access points to provide wireless internet in the offices. It was very easy to integrate Cisco Umbrella into those devices, so any endpoints that did not have the roaming client installed were also protected. You can set up different policies to use on the Meraki devices, which provide for more control over what traffic is allowed or blocked.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella integrates into a variety of other Cisco products. [Cisco] Umbrella integrates well within the SecureX, Talos and other Cisco security platforms but also within the Meraki wireless platform. The Meraki integration allows for policy to be applied directly at the SSID level and is a great way to handle guest devices.
PRAPHULLA DESHPANDE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Umbrella can integrate with [most Cisco] products, including Meraki products [...] with the help of APIs. Cisco Umbrella can integrate with Office 365 for email scanning in real-time scenarios, [ensuring] users will get clean emails without malicious URLs. Meraki products integrate well with Cisco Umbrella to get protection for branch offices where MX is [being used].
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have not integrated with any third parties yet. Although, we have looked into the integration with Cisco Meraki access points for filtering at the AP level before the traffic goes any further. However, COVID has caused us to shift some priorities. We do not have a SEIM to log into, but we are evaluating a few solutions right now that Umbrella supports.
Randy Zuehlke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are primarily a Cisco shop, so we already have Umbrella integration with Cisco Threat Response and SecureX to manage our threats across our entire Cisco suite of security products. We also have Cisco AMP and FTD's on our perimeter. So, having Umbrella provides great DNS protection within our environment. We do have a 3rd party SIEM/MDR service provider that ingests the Umbrella logs for additional visibility in the DNS realm.
Christopher J Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our network devices and on-site communication solutions are Cisco products. Therefore, integration amongst those products [is] simple. In addition to that, Cisco Umbrella's integration with other vendors' products is good as well. In particular, Umbrella's included platform named SecureX makes it better. We see all our integration in one place and manage most of them from there.
Return to navigation