Cisco Umbrella Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 02, 2021
Randy Zuehlke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

We have it deployed with our Cisco AnyConnect VPN client and the Umbrella roaming client module. It has been great at extending the DNS and URL filtering beyond our corporate firewalls. We have not had any reported instances of the protection not working while outside the corporate network. The granular visibility by user is great for incident response functions.
Read Randy Zuehlke's full review
May 04, 2021
Mike Sabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Well, Cisco Umbrella provides us great DNS protection. It uses DNS to block threats over all ports and protocols, also direct IP connections. That protects us from any malware and infected machines that could potentially connect to our network. What is more, it helps us to save users even when they are our customers using our Wi-Fi.
Read Mike Sabat's full review
May 03, 2021
Ryan Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

It works well for remote offices and we don't notice any performance impact. It is harder to deploy via VPN clients but still very effective. Does block an alarming amount of traffic from some users and give you insight into people who need more security education.
Read Ryan Lee's full review
May 03, 2021
Nikola Marks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella serves very well on this matter. All the endpoints connected to our systems are secure thanks to Umbrella's DNS-layer protection. Cloud-based security mechanisms have access to a wider threat intelligence than we could have in our systems.
Read Nikola Marks's full review
May 03, 2021
Curtis Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella has functioned wonderfully for our district. It has blocked many sites that would have overwise caused headaches for our staff and students.
Read Curtis Jackson's full review
April 30, 2021
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Security Coverage

Especially during a pandemic, protecting users when they are not behind a firewall can be incredibly hard to accomplish. Thankfully we already had Umbrella in place to help protect endpoints that are roaming around the world. We've been notified regularly of ransomware attacks that have been thwarted by Umbrella.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
May 13, 2021
Stella Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

DNS layer protection works over all ports and protocols in order to prevent attacks. Their threat intelligence is fed by all users and they process these data with machine learning to define the threat patterns. Their security team filters those outputs and we benefit from this intelligence by just defining proper security policies.
Read Stella Neal's full review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

The client installer allows web filtering on endpoints that are outside the main firewall. Cisco Umbrella even supports pointing a remote site's DNS servers to Cisco Umbrella's DNS servers and it can be intelligently filtered if it matches a static IP configured in the web console.
Read this authenticated review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella provides DNS protection for our organization both inside and outside of the firewall. One way the product achieves this objective is thru a consistent policy approach -- the system works the same both inside/outside of the firewall and across all locations -- both remote and internal. We feel the threat level features and the cloud firewall are the 2 most useful features the product has towards achieving this objective and providing us the security we need.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

If the Cisco Umbrella roaming client is used, it provides an extra layer of protection for systems, but only as a supplement to traditional antivirus programs. While the protection is helpful, the side effects, such as the incorrect "No Internet" problem may outweigh the benefits of the product. I would recommend a through evaluation period before committing to the product.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella is very well suited for protecting endpoints both inside and outside the firewall. Since the product is continually running and does not need to connect back to a corporate firewall or whatnot, it provides the protection needed for a remote workforce, or protection under a pandemic. It successfully allows everything, but blocks what is defined.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella does a great job for us for DNS protection and URL filtering. Since moving to WFH, our workforce is now distributed. With Cisco Umbrella we are able to manage all of our endpoints regardless on their location or connection type. The central management has proven beneficial when making global changes to computers that may or may not connect to our network.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella provides all of our users with DNS protection and URL filtering wherever they are. We can easily know that due to the security features, our users can browse the web safely. Cisco Umbrella offers all of our endpoints the protection they need in this vastly changing hostile networking world.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

The protection has worked very well for all of our remote branch offices. As well with users roaming it has given us an additional level of security when it comes to users who inadvertently try accessing a malicious site. If the user hits a website that Umbrella is not sure is legit it sends IT a notification and then they can intern review and quickly enable access to that particular site that initially was blocked.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Umbrella provides some pretty useful DNS protection, which has been a pretty big use-case for our organization. By blocking malicious intent across all monitored ports, we have peace of mind that no malicious machines will be connecting to our networks.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Remote users are covered via a standalone agent or part of the Anyconnect client. Both are effective and check in with the cloud. If you operate in China the coverage is good as it can be given China's government firewall that sometimes blocks or slows down SSL traffic.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

It just does what it says it does (which is more than some of its competitors) and does it nicely and without loading the endpoint or requiring complex configurations. No matter which network the endpoint is connected to, you are assured its protection at all times.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Security Coverage

Umbrella on its own can do well protecting clients outside the network as long as you install the agent. The difficulty and consistency of deploying this agent depends on the type of endpoint and the system that will push out the agent. In my experience its a much smoother to provide remote protection when combined with Cisco Anyconnect.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

As our company has been remote first even before the pandemic, Cisco Umbrella is the basic required software to ensure safety of work to our employees.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

The trusted upstream of where ever a user is outside the office is standardized and we can trust it.
Read this authenticated review
November 10, 2020
Patrick Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

We never had an issue for our road sales team, they avoiding any malware infected websites thanks to this solution. Even some well masked sites were picked up when they were logging in from hotels. We know business partners and clients that were not so lucky. Everything remained unimpaired at all times.
Read Patrick Smith's full review
October 05, 2020
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Its simplicity over other comparable products means you can set up, configure, and deploy in a global fashion for your entire organization with minimal initial configuration and start protecting both perimeter and endpoints right away. Afterwards, you can get more granular, but 'out-of-the-box' you get a nice layered blanket of protection.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
August 28, 2020
John Patrick Duro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

What we love about Cisco Umbrella is that it is non-intrusive in the sense that it does not add more weight to the traffic on the user’s machine or even to traffic in transit. It is very valuable regardless if deployed internally or on edge sites. Rest assured that it is easy to deploy and set up. For best security defense, having Cisco Umbrella inside and outside the firewall is highly recommended.
Read John Patrick Duro's full review
August 21, 2020
Daniel Hosking | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

The way we have deployed Umbrella is purely for onsite guest wireless users. But even having no control of the end user devices, Umbrella by its nature improves the ability to enhance security and provide protection.
Read Daniel Hosking's full review
August 19, 2020
Andreas Tan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Security Coverage

Cisco Umbrella provides DNS layer protection for all our endpoints, whether inside the company site or remote worker without the complicated setup. It also doesn't add processing weight to the user's endpoint, as it sits on the cloud, this becomes a lifesaver for our IT management.
Read Andreas Tan's full review

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco's secure access service edge (SASE) architecture, integrates multiple security services in a single, centrally managed, cloud-native solution to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. By unifying secure web gateway, firewall, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions, Cisco Umbrella helps reduce the resources required for deployment, configuration, and integration. And, by delivering this functionality from the cloud, you can scale to meet the needs of a remote and roaming workforce, shifting network perimeter, and multi-cloud environment — all while simplifying security. Umbrella can be easily integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

Has featureDNS-layer security
Has featureSecure web gateway (full proxy)
Has featureCloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
Has featureCloud-delivered firewall
Has featureInteractive threat intelligence
Has featureIntegrates with SD-WAN

Cisco Umbrella Videos (2)

Watch how Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco’s SASE global cloud architecture, enables your cloud transformation.

Watch how KCA Deutag strengthens their security with Cisco Umbrella to ensure consistent enforcement across distributed sites.

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Integrations

Cisco Secure Malware Analytics (formerly Threat Grid), ThreatConnect, ZeroFOX, FireEye, Check Point, Splunk, ThreatQ, Umbrella Enforcement API for Custom Integrations

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cloudflare, Akamai, Zscaler Internet Access, Infoblox, Palo Alto Networks, Netskope

Cisco Umbrella Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cisco Umbrella Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Chromebooks
Supported Countries:190 Countries

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

What is Cisco Umbrella's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Cisco Umbrella?

The most common users of Cisco Umbrella are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.