Cisco Umbrella Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
110 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 30, 2021
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Cisco Umbrella for DNS protection on workstations by using the roaming client on endpoints, and we also use the virtual machines that integrate with Active Directory for DNS protection on a network. It provides protection against potentially malicious websites and known bad servers on the Internet.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
May 04, 2021
Mike Sabat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We installed Cisco Umbrella over 2 years ago. We decided to use it because we needed one good solution to give us the best security across the whole company. And we've had great success. Now we are able to protect our users and our network with the best solution on the market. Thank You, Cisco!
Read Mike Sabat's full review
May 03, 2021
Ryan Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Umbrella to help block unwanted websites from being navigated on company use machines. We use it across the entire organization both on a client level via the VPN add-in and on each designated network via umbrella proxy devices. It helps keep people from inadvertently navigating to known malicious websites.
Read Ryan Lee's full review
May 03, 2021
Nikola Marks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella works as a single platform bringing together various security components, such as threat intelligence, firewall, DNS-layer security, secure web gateway. We use it as a secure internet gateway to protect our employees anywhere. Employees do not need to be connected to our VPN or internet network when they are working remotely; its protection is flexible. Cisco Umbrella protects our employees from common end-user targeting attacks such as malware, phishing, and ransomware. As it is cloud based, many threats are easily identified and prevented on the cloud before reaching our employees. This process is easily done by only using DNS services.
Read Nikola Marks's full review
May 03, 2021
Curtis Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella is being used across our whole organization/school district. It allows us to filter via DNS filtering websites that staff and students are accessing to make sure we are not hitting spam/phishing/malware sites.
Read Curtis Jackson's full review
April 30, 2021
Karl Fulljames | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an MSP with 7000 endpoints that we support. Umbrella is not optional for our clients. While antivirus is required, it serves as a checkbox. Umbrella is what does all of the heavy lifting for us on the antimalware side of things.
Read Karl Fulljames's full review
May 13, 2021
Stella Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Umbrella as its name presented is an inclusive security product that we use at our company. Mainly, we benefit from its secure gateway and dns layer security service. During the pandemic period, almost all of our colleagues started work remotely with company devices or own devices connected to company network. Umbrella's DNS layer security allows us to protect them everywhere.
Read Stella Neal's full review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have Cisco Umbrella being used across the entire organization, on all computers. The reason we use Cisco Umbrella is to control the website filtering in order to prevent users from accessing potentially malicious sites and/or content not deemed appropriate for work.
Read this authenticated review
May 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella is an excellent security solution for our needs. We have a very distributed workforce across both geographies and office and remote setups and were looking for something that provided security across the entire network. This is exactly what Cisco Umbrella provides for us - we use it across the entire organization and it works very well for our needs.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When crypto virus infections become a new threat a few years ago, implementing Cisco Umbrella gave our company and clients an extra layer of protection against these threats. It is used on an ongoing basis across the entire company and all of our clients to help protect again new and emerging threats. The product also helps filter content that is inappropriate for the workplace.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco Umbrella to protect our DNS, and web filtering. This allows us to ensure that if an endpoint tries to access a malicious IP, Cisco Umbrella will not allow it. This is being used across our entire enterprise - both Windows and Macintosh computers. It adds another layer of protection from having to connect to a VPN and route traffic through a "regular" firewall. This way if a user is at a coffee shop or whatnot - they are still protected using Cisco Umbrella.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco Umbrella to monitor our internet traffic and control application usage. This is used across our origination at all of our sites. The biggest issue we are solving for is web connections to unknown sites. In a WFH world, Cisco Umbrella has assisted us in keeping our users safe.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella is being used by our organization as a DNS tool and as a web filtering tool. It addresses the business problem of preventing certain types of websites to be accessed for organizations that don't necessarily need larger forms of security such as a web access filter or a firewall.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella is being used by our entire organization. It solves a number of pressing issues including web filtering, and malware websites. It gives us a high-level analysis of the number of sites that have users have accessed or tried to access as well as browser counts for the number of blocks that Umbrella has been able to keep away from our users.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Cisco Umbrella for DNS Security and URL filtering. Our entire organization uses DNS forwarded to Cisco Umbrella. Our mobile users use the Cisco Umbrella profile loaded into the Cisco Secure Mobility Client to protect both inside and outside the firewall. Cisco Umbrella adds another layer of security to our multi-layered setup at an affordable price.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CIsco Umbrella is currently being used by our engineering department to monitor our wide variety of servers. With full transparency, it addresses problems such as cybersecurity and general hardware problems.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella is used on all endpoints / servers globally and are the only DNS servers for the entire company.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used to protect all client machines regardless of location (both on and off the network). One of the few products that allow you to protect and keep track of your endpoints when they are not on your own network. Very lightweight on the client but very powerful as it's all managed from the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Umbrella across our organization as well as integrate it into enterprise, educational, and municipal networks. Its our go to for a first line of network security. Umbrella has been added more and more features for all customers without any significant licensing or implantation changes. Highly recommended.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Cisco Umbrella solution enabled us with a web filtering option. It is very important to us that the software is cloud native and with that it can provide a good quality protection. It is used across all departments as it is used as the base line against any threats our employees may face in their daily work on the web.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We deployed it company wide as a measure of WFH, as the trusted DNS source for where ever you are working from. We found that the upstream provider of some people were suspicious and made errors, this allows people to work a bit more freely.
Read this authenticated review
November 10, 2020
Patrick Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were using it company wide to prevent staff from downloading content from phishing websites. Previously we had nothing in place and were lucky not to be infiltrated. A close business partner was hit hard so we moved quickly to address our need - looking back I think the level of investment may have been too high.
Read Patrick Smith's full review
October 05, 2020
Tim Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I had trialed it previously but actually have deployed it also at home with the Meraki Go setup I have too. Its simplicity of usage, installation, and configuration in that setup is outstanding and a great benefit to add those extra layers of security to home use without being expensive.
Read Tim Roberts's full review
August 28, 2020
John Patrick Duro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It provides us control of employee and guest user access over internal and guest wireless. Also, delivers control over Internet browsing. With it, we able to have another defense layer for all our users and guests through filtering URLs and domains of malicious and suspicious sites. We also integrate with our SIEM for notable events, alerting, dashboards, reporting, and monitoring of our wireless users.
Read John Patrick Duro's full review

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco's secure access service edge (SASE) architecture, integrates multiple security services in a single, centrally managed, cloud-native solution to secure access to the internet and control cloud app usage. By unifying secure web gateway, firewall, DNS-layer security, threat intelligence, and cloud access security broker (CASB) solutions, Cisco Umbrella helps reduce the resources required for deployment, configuration, and integration. And, by delivering this functionality from the cloud, you can scale to meet the needs of a remote and roaming workforce, shifting network perimeter, and multi-cloud environment — all while simplifying security. Umbrella can be easily integrated with an SD-WAN implementation to provide a combination of performance, security, and flexibility to delight both end users and a security team.

Cisco Umbrella Features

Has featureDNS-layer security
Has featureSecure web gateway (full proxy)
Has featureCloud access security broker (CASB) functionality
Has featureCloud-delivered firewall
Has featureInteractive threat intelligence
Has featureIntegrates with SD-WAN

Cisco Umbrella Videos (2)

Watch how Cisco Umbrella, a key component of Cisco’s SASE global cloud architecture, enables your cloud transformation.

Watch how KCA Deutag strengthens their security with Cisco Umbrella to ensure consistent enforcement across distributed sites.

Cisco Umbrella Downloadables

Cisco Umbrella Integrations

Cisco Secure Malware Analytics (formerly Threat Grid), ThreatConnect, ZeroFOX, FireEye, Check Point, Splunk, ThreatQ, Umbrella Enforcement API for Custom Integrations

Cisco Umbrella Competitors

Cloudflare, Akamai, Zscaler Internet Access, Infoblox, Palo Alto Networks, Netskope

Cisco Umbrella Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cisco Umbrella Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Cisco Umbrella Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Chromebooks
Supported Countries:190 Countries

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Umbrella?

Cisco now offers OpenDNS Umbrella Web Filtering. Cisco acquired OpenDNS in August 2015, and rebranded the product as Cisco Umbrella.

What is Cisco Umbrella's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Cisco Umbrella?

The most common users of Cisco Umbrella are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.