TrustRadius
Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/vW/pS/GUXTSLSNT4EO.pngEfficiency AchievedWe utilize CUCM across all of our corporate contact centers, it allows us to centrally manage our end-points and helps us take care of the MACD support for thousands of users with just one small telecom team.,Simplified on-boarding Allows us to handle a large population of remote agents Provides us with High Availability/ Failover capabilities,Constant need to refresh end-points No granular restriction to self service portal New security only available in newer versions,9,Our ticket completion increased an estimated 30% due to streamlining of support Business is pleased by failover design,OpenText QfinitiA great systemIt is used to solve the problem of seeing if a customer was hung up on, if our reps are taking calls and how many calls they have taken. It is used by our whole organization but mostly by our tech department. We use it also to see how many calls were taken in a day, week or month.,It shows the calls that come in. How long a call lasted. It also shows how many calls a rep took that day.,I would like it to show the individual when I select their name.,10,I have not had any negative impact.Managing Unified Communications everywhere made simpleWe chose, designed and deployed a Cicso UCM based solution, globally, to provide us our collaboration backbone and make staying in touch real-time real. Spanning 4 continents and multiple timezones can sometimes make conferencing tricky, but with Webex and Cisco MRA this is easily overcome and allows us to stay in touch no matter where we are.,Versatile Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones Easily expandable,Expanding hardware is expensive. Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.,7,Delivering information in real-time User availability and communication scalability at your fingertips,Cisco Unified Contact CenterCall Manager Use in the EnterpriseWe use Call Manager to provide our enterprise with voice connectivity. It allows us to centrally administer over 180 offices and close 500 remote workers.,Call Manager has easily scaled with our growing business. Ease of deployment to end users. Ease of management for phone and it’s firmware.,The GUI interface could certainly use a refresh. It’s been a few years since there update. Integrate management of other UC solutions (i.e. Unity, Emergency Responder),10,Positive ROI impact has been the reduction of local voice circuits and equipment.,Avaya Business Communications Manager and Microsoft Unified Communications as a Service,Microsoft Office 365Cisco Unified Communications Manager Makes Our Phone Calls Braindead SimpleCisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the firm's on-premise phone switch. We use it in all our offices in several states tied back to our production data center. We also use the voicemail, presence and Jabber features integrated with the product. All firm phone calls, voice conferencing and internal texting are made via this product.,Cisco Unified Communications Manager is extremely reliable as a phone switch should be. We have never experienced downtime attributable to it. The Cisco platform is easy for users to learn and utilize. Integration with voicemail and directory services are well done and easy to use. Integration with Jabber text services and presence are handy time savers and conveniences.,It can be tricky to implement emergency services through the product (think 911 calls). Would like to see additional enhanced conference calling capabilities to potentially replace paid services. Phone sets can be expensive when purchased in small quantities. More soft buttons for additional saved phone numbers would be handy.,10,The RFP response from our Cisco partner for the Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) was less expensive than the competitors. Ongoing maintenance for the product has also been competitively priced and our warranty and maintenance programs have covered all our needs. We are able to avoid some external conference calling services by using the built-in features of Call Manager. We were able to avoid an add-on product for internal chats by using the integrated Jabber product.,Avaya Business Communications Manager, Mitel Applications Suite and MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel),Adobe Acrobat DC, Microsoft SQL Server, FortiClientOpinions on CUCM from a Genesys PureConnect DeveloperOur organization is using CUCM primarily for PBX functionality but also incorporating the end user management for Cisco Jabber and some auto attendant functionality in conjunction with UCCX. We are late in the process of transitioning from Avaya to Cisco and a separate contact center platform. We are adopting CUCM throughout our entire organization, even working to replace remote key systems with the primary goal of having centralized support, less reliance on expensive small vendors and having a homogenized environment, simplifying support.,The web GUI for management may feel a bit clunky at first for being a modern application, but the navigation features (back, dependency views) quickly differentiate it from other environments. Good API documentation on DEVNET and a fairly strong supporting community. It plays fairly well in its own ecosystem (UCCX, IM and Presence, Unity) so the breadth of the ecosystem makes for a lot of functionality being available to you with adjuncts.,The AXL API for Call Manager feels particularly dated. The fact that it hasn't been deprecated for a more modern REST/JSON supporting API is a little lackluster. CUCM's solution to elements missing API coverage is to open SQL queries via the API. This seems lazy of them rather than just increasing API coverage. I know I'm hammering on the API's here, but the disparity between all of their applications' API seems like a terrible design decision. AXL is very different from Unity which is very different from Finesse. This creates a barrier to learning the ecosystem that just doesn't feel necessary. The dial plan feels dated, clunky and almost indecipherable compared to some more streamlined applications.,9,The Cisco TAC is fairly efficient at identifying bugs and Cisco is quick to develop fixes for said bugs, leaving minimal impact to SLAs. The ease of deployment and configuring new users reduced on-boarding time in comparison to our legacy Avaya solution. The ease of maintenance has reduced labor hours required for things like upgrades and routine reboots of equipment.,Genesys PureConnect,Genesys PureConnect, Genesys PureCloud, Microsoft Visual Studio CodeReview of Callmanager in a global setupI'm using the Call Manager as central call control solution for our global voice and video endpoints including our Jabber clients. It's the central call control solution for all locations worldwide and helps us to provide a harmonized IT workplace for all users. Besides the standardization of the workplace, it helps to improve service processes through centralized management of the solution.,Large ecosystem to integrate additional solutions like for DECT or emergency services. If it's not included as a basic feature, there is a large possibility that a Cisco solution partner has a fitting solution. High flexibility Long support times,Updates take too long and too many steps Administrative possibilities, many features of video endpoints cannot be configured via Call Manager Licensing - it's too complex because of the many different models,10,Fast return of investment by replacing existing solutions with high service costs Faster rollout of new location through a centralized approach Set the base for new services,,Jabber, Webex Meetings, Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series)Cisco Call ManagerWe are using Call Manager as our main VOIP system across our whole organization. We have a fault tolerant phone system that is more stable and versatile than previous system.,Versatile Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones Easily expandable,Updates for new phones are not easy to implement. Expanding hardware is expensive. Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.,9,Going from an old Centrex system to VOIP saved a lot of money. Being able to move the phones anywhere with a network connection saves from having to contract a telecom technician to come move phone lines. Moving to CCM has put us on a path to stay current in our telecom environment.,Avaya,Microsoft Exchange, Symantec Endpoint Protection, Microsoft BICisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)Communications Manager is a very complex and full featured telephony Enterprise solution. My company uses this product to deploy IP phones and analog telephony products to multiple sites across the state. CUCM is very stable and handles our 20k+ phone deployment very well. I would recommend some basic training before deploying or administrating this solution. It can be quite difficult to spin up for the new user. We use Communications Manager with Unity Connection and Contact Center Express for a complete voice solution.,Flexible configurations Accepts 3rd party SIP devices Great support from Cisco,Cost Difficult setup without training Administration slows down with concurrent users in database (10+),9,Good return on investment in the long run Simplifies purchasing End users enjoy the experience of using the products Respected brand,,Cisco Unified Contact Center, Aruba Networks Wireless, Pinnacle, Cisco Session Border ControllerCUCM isn't just for Call Routing! Route your faxes and even manage PA Systems!Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM) Call Manager is used to manage all our phone numbers throughout our organization. Additionally, it is used to route a portion of fax numbers to our eFax server (StoneFax) as well as a recent implementation of Informacast which is used as our PA system at our school sites. It routes all our calls, digital and analog throughout our whole school district.,Ease of reporting. Able to obtain bulk reporting on current extensions assigned by location, which is very helpful to us as we have 21 different school sites. It makes it easier to manage when we are working on particular projects. Extension Mobility is a very awesome feature of CUCM that allows users to login to any phone on our network with their own extension. This has served particularly well with our school counselors that roam to different school sites. It's easier for them to provide staff and parents one phone number to contact them at, as opposed to several numbers from all the sites they visit. Cisco Meet Me is another awesome addition within the CUCM that allows for conference calling within our own phone system. No need to purchase a 3rd party phone conferencing when it can be implemented within your own infrastructure. It is extremely easy to configure and has been very beneficial for the executive staff in our district.,CUCM can improve by actually showing the administrator which DID numbers are available for use. We have a large block of DID numbers provided by AT&T, but when configuring them on the phone system we have no idea which ones are actually available for use. The worst thing is, if it's not configured on call manager BUT it is being used as a voicemail line on Cisco unity, I have no idea until I cross check the number on the Unity Server. It's really cumbersome having to go back and forth between unity and CUCM to ensure I'm actually configuring an available phone number. Improvement with CUCM and Unity configuration. Having to configure phone numbers and voicemails on two separate systems wastes a lot of time. And there have been times where a phone number had been configured, but we forgot to attach the voicemail inbox to it, leaving the user without voicemails. I hope this can be improved in the future. I'm not against having two separate systems, but I wish there was a better way to integrate the two especially when it comes to voicemail management. Improve on the User Interface. If you have no familiarity with CUCM, it is extremely hard to navigate and find the settings that you need. Unfortunately I did not receive much training, but the system wasn't that intuitive to be able to navigate easily. I had to youtube and google many things in order to make sense of the layout. Additionally, the Cisco user guides are extremely hard to follow as well.,7Cisco Call Manager, a robust phone systemWe use Cisco Unified Communications Manager for our Phone system. We have an on-premise phone system. We have 2 nodes. A Pub and a Sub so if a link goes out our off-site Sub takes over and our phone system still works. We also use Cisco Unity for our voice mail.,Cisco Jabber is a great application that can be used with the Cisco phone system. You can do audio or audio and video. It also allows for chat. Hunt groups. You can have multiple people in the same group to ring multiple phones at once. Using Cisco Unity with Call Manager you can create Auto Attendants and call menus.,Coming in brand new to using Call Manager it takes a bit to get to know it. Definitely get with someone who has experience and can learn how to manage it. I started 1.5 years ago with Call Manager and I'm decent now but I still have access to a tech for the complicated stuff. Document how to do everything and it will be easy to repeat! It's very easy to make a mistake in setting up an extension. It's hard to think of another Con. The biggest thing is learning how to do it. You don't need a certification to learn but it is best to learn from someone who has the knowledge and document as you go. The best way is to have them walk you through all the fixes and you learn as you fix things.,9,Positive impact - The phone system works. Negative impact - When it goes down you don't have phones. However, it may not be the phone system but the router that gives you issues so you have to troubleshoot both. Positive impact - Except for adding and removing users, you don't have to touch it often.,,Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Barracuda Email Security Service, VIPRE, Microsoft SQL Server, Citrix NetScaler, Swiftpage ACT!, Microsoft ExchangeCisco UCMCisco UCM is our main phone system, we have integration with AD and have just started using/testing Jabber with mobile phones for our IT department. It has been working great allowing me to answer my desk phone from anywhere. Management of users is simple and efficient.,Easy of use Robust More features than you could ask for,Cost Tech support can be a bear Initial setup can be difficult,9,Out of the box there is some cost, but once up and running it takes care of its self,Windows Server, VMware ESXiReview of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)We use CUCM to manage our Cisco phone environment of roughly 1200 phones. This includes roughly 100 emergency phones of various types. We integrate directly with Exchange 2016 for Unified Communication, which allows voicemail to go directly to the user's inbox. (We do not use Unity.) We have around half dozen IP phone models (7941/42, 6921, etc.).,It is good at allowing for specific phone configurations. If you want to get granular, this is the tool for you. The single number reach feature works well, allowing simultaneous ringing to outside devices, such as a mobile phone or home phone. The Cisco IP Communicator application is great. I use it every day to emulate my physical phone from my laptop. I have used it extensively when working from home or at our co-location where cell service is not available. I just connect to the company VPN, launch the application, and use the phone just like it was on my desk. It even looks the same.,The user interface is not intuitive; if you don't know what you are doing, a single, small change can become a major problem. Provisioning a single device requires lots of clicks and manual input of data; easy to misspell something by accident. I find the provisioning process to be rather time consuming, but that may be because unified communications is not my primary role. CUCM is not particularly friendly to non-Cisco hardware; you can configure other makes (we use Polycom for conference phones), but the configuration process is pretty involved, and requires time and experience.,6,It has successfully provided us with a solid UC platform to host our VoIP phones. I consider that a net positive. It is rather time consuming to manager on a daily basis, which I would consider either neutral or negative, depending on how you look at it.,Fortinet FortiGate, Barracuda Web Filter, Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Sophos Endpoint ProtectionSenior Engineer, TelecommunicationsCall Manager is used for our organization and for telecommunication services for all our offices globally. It provides us with seamless voice and video communication and reduces cost incurred with Telco as we route all calls within the organization internally across our WAN,,Call Manager provides no-cost communication between all our offices globally. Call Manager administration is easier than traditional TDM and or other VoIP systems We used to be a full Cisco shop with Cisco routers and switches. However, we've changed our infrastructure to use Brocade and it works well with other systems.,It would be nice if Cisco-provided better management tools. We used to use Prime Collaboration but moved over to Riverbed UCExpert Our offices can sometimes fall victim to robocalls so it would be nice if Call Manager had an easy way to reject these calls instead of doing it on the cube router or provider side. I've been using Call Manager for a while now and I find that with each subsequent upgrade that it gets better and better. Maintenance upgrades can sometimes be difficult and I'm not sure how to address it but I've been using a new tool called Prime Collaboration Deployment that's helped. I think in general CUCM is a great product.,10,Since we did transformations of all our offices from Nortel to Cisco we have not needed maintenance support from local vendors in the offices. We've centralized all support of the offices globally to our corporate site. We leverage our WAN and route all internal calls within our sip trunks and save cost from our Telco providers eg AT&T, British Telecom, etc We've leveraged the other tools that have worked well for our business eg Jabber for PC, iOS and it's helped our communication process within the organization as well as with our clients.,Cisco Unity and Cisco ExpresswaysCisco UCM - Great tool for simple VOIP managementWe use Cisco Unified Call Manager across the system to manage our VOIP phones. This system is great because it is a fairly simple tool to use in regards to managing phones. It also is able to allow troubleshooting from any location with little to no interaction needed in person at the device.,Remote Troubleshooting Remote support of devices Organization of the company's phone lines and devices Ability to copy existing profiles from other phones for fast deployment Certificate Deployment,The web interface is a little dated and sometimes confusing Changes sometimes have to be saved two times which is repetitive Some of the descriptors in the drop downs are not clear Sometimes interface can be slow,8,Little to no downtime of system Very little time required to manage and implement changes on phones Features and options inside the system should be able to customize to reduce the fields when editing phone and extensions to prevent confusion,,AirWatch, Remote Desktop Manager, MS SharePoint, ServiceNow, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Exchange, Skype for Business, Adobe Acrobat DC, Pluralsight, LogMeIn Rescue, Microsoft Office 2016Cisco Unified Communications Manager, all your communication needs in one package.I've worked very closely with Cisco Unified Communications Manager thanks to a number of our clients. They use it for everything from something as basic to a phone call, to video conferences, and even down to basic instant messaging inside the corporation. From a management perspective, it's intuitive to administer, easy to get set up, and very robust for my client's communication needs. Overall I consider this a great product.,From an administration perspective the product is incredibly intuitive, and a joy to manage. Training a new user on the software, and hardware takes no time at all and Cisco provides a lot of detailed information to pass along to the end users. The ability to have everything practically seamless makes this a wonderful solution. From basic telephony, video conferencing, to instant messaging either in the office, or on the road, having unified presence and voice/video capabilities has been a huge selling point for our customers.,When I first started using the product the learning curve was a little steep, but overall once you take the time to learn the Call Manager it's incredibly intuitive. I don't know that there's much I think could need improvement. I've had end users complain about having too many options at first, but once they start using more of then this complaint usually disappears. I'm not sure this is something that really needs improvement, but I list this for lack of other ideas for improvement. Compared to other systems I think Cisco hit the mark on this one, and I don't have many areas that I would consider improving upon.,10,The clients I have using the system say it has helped consolidate expenses where before they were using multiple service for all their communication needs, have been able to wrap it into one package and overall save on costs. In consolidating services we have been able to save time from a management perspective. Before we would have to manage multiple systems to meet our clients needs, where as now were able to provided everything from a single service. Overall consolidating costs from multiple products, to a single product has been a huge cost savings, as well as saving time, and money from a support and administration perspective saving our clients time and money.,Skype for Business and Digium Asterisk,Digium Asterisk, Skype for Business, Digium SwitchvoxCisco Unified Communications Manager - VoIP Phone Solution on SteroidsWe use Cisco Unified Communications Manager across our entire organization. This includes 30+ sites and about 1,200 phones and users. This allows for easy four digit dialing between offices and provides organization wide voicemail and instant messaging and presents. The system also allows us to receive calls originating from location and answer from another to provide better coverage between departments and regions.,The first strength is this is a VoIP system allowing voice to travel across a data IP network. This makes cabling for phones very easy as the phone will utilize the same network cable that your PC would. This also means less infrastructure to support voice. No need for large PBX systems and closets that hide cabling nightmares. Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a very flexible product. It can be custom configured to best suit your business needs and locations. It can be used as a single tenant or multi tenant system. Each site or office location can be configured separately from others for greater control. Cisco offers a wide range of phone models for various needs and supports many third party SIP phones. There are also multiple ways to integrate with legacy systems during a system migration or when integrating a new company or office.,Licensing can be difficult to understand. Cisco has changed licensing models multiple times over the years and determining what modes is best suited for your company can be difficult. Systems backups need some work. If you are in a multi server geographically separated environment backups can be a problem. All servers are included in a backup session and if servers are across a WAN connection all that data is being pulled across the WAN. I would like to see cloud backup or multi location backup options. When phones move between sites/subnets it would be nice to have a feature that could automatically move the phone configuration from one device pool to another so that location specific options are set for the moved phone.,10,A positive impact would be we no longer need any expertise to manage a legacy PBX system and running out of ports for users. A negative impact would be as we grew we found we needed more expertise with Cisco Unified Communications Manager. This required additional training and time. A positive impact is with many of the other applications that utilize Cisco Unified Communication Manager we have a more collaborative user base.,,Cisco Spark Room Series, Cisco ASA, Cisco CatalystManaging Call ManagerClearpoint uses Call Manager to connect remote and internal phones across a nation-wide organization.,Day-to-day administration is relatively easy Phones are user-friendly Able to administer a nation-wide system from one location,Initial deployment can be difficult Expensive,8,At the time of our merger, Clearpoint chose Cisco over Avaya due to large-scale upgrade Avaya would have required. Adding phones and upgrading was still costly, but ROI was overall positive, even with having to transition some users from Avaya.,Avaya,Cisco Unified Contact Center, Cisco ASA, Cisco Meraki MX FirewallsCisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)We are currently reselling CUCM solutions for our enterprise customers, focusing these kind of solution for clients that have an installed base of Cisco Solutions. Cisco solutions work with great productivity when focusing when delivering Cisco's ecosystem. The quality of its telephones and solutions is currently a great driver to sell Cisco over other kind of manufacturers. When talking about Cisco, you get the possibility to increase your collaborators productivity, offering some other modules, like for example: Jabber Unity Mediasense etc...,Can be deployed using a centralized and virtualized approach or using a server (For example BE6K) Quality of its phones and equipments Evolution of its solutions and roadmap Ease to reach information and its capability to create documentation to help the partners,Desktop Sharing Federations with other IM&P solutions Integration with Lync Video solution, without the need to use VCS,9,It has a high ROI and OPEX (Cisco's support isn't cheap) It's focused on the American market values, and it has some high thresholds for discounts Its CAPEX is normally very high.,,Cisco Business Edition 6000 (BE6000), Cisco Unified Contact CenterPowerful Phone SystemCisco Unified Communications Manager was used by one remote manufacturing plant. Other sites used a company standard system that was decided upon and implemented after the Cisco system was already in place. The Cisco Communications Manager was used to administrate the Cisco phone system that we had in place and could be used to assign extensions, hunt groups and other phone features.,The system is powerful and can handle a huge number of phones. The GUI is powerful. It is easier to set up advanced functions than with some competing products.,To get the most out of the system you need to use the command line, which is very complicated. The system is much more expensive than competing systems.,5,The ROI for any Cisco system is very long, due to the high initial cost of the hardware, as well as the implementation. The cost of ongoing maintenance for the Cisco system is high due to the need for specialized support. The system is extremely stable and needs very little upkeep.,Avaya and ShoreTel
Unspecified
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)
73 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)
73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 73 vetted Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez) profile photo
June 12, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Efficiency Achieved"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize CUCM across all of our corporate contact centers, it allows us to centrally manage our end-points and helps us take care of the MACD support for thousands of users with just one small telecom team.
  • Simplified on-boarding
  • Allows us to handle a large population of remote agents
  • Provides us with High Availability/ Failover capabilities
  • Constant need to refresh end-points
  • No granular restriction to self service portal
  • New security only available in newer versions
Our specific instance is one where we have several corporate contact centers that have been unified utilizing CM. It has been very beneficial due to simplifying support due to standardization, centralized provisioning, and speeds turnaround time for ticket work.
Read Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez)'s full review
Stephanie Chapman profile photo
June 06, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "A great system"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to solve the problem of seeing if a customer was hung up on, if our reps are taking calls and how many calls they have taken. It is used by our whole organization but mostly by our tech department. We use it also to see how many calls were taken in a day, week or month.
  • It shows the calls that come in.
  • How long a call lasted.
  • It also shows how many calls a rep took that day.
  • I would like it to show the individual when I select their name.
It is very suited for our company for everything we need it for. The most specific scenario is being able to see if a specific number has called into our office and who they spoke to if they did. It's helpful because we can determine if someone is doing their job.
Read Stephanie Chapman's full review
Renier Geldenhuys profile photo
May 09, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Managing Unified Communications everywhere made simple"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose, designed and deployed a Cicso UCM based solution, globally, to provide us our collaboration backbone and make staying in touch real-time real. Spanning 4 continents and multiple timezones can sometimes make conferencing tricky, but with Webex and Cisco MRA this is easily overcome and allows us to stay in touch no matter where we are.
  • Versatile
  • Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones
  • Easily expandable
  • Expanding hardware is expensive.
  • Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.
Automatic call distribution within UCM could do with a tweak to allow for more visibility of real-time call flows.
Read Renier Geldenhuys's full review
Shawn Dietrich profile photo
May 08, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Call Manager Use in the Enterprise"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Call Manager to provide our enterprise with voice connectivity. It allows us to centrally administer over 180 offices and close 500 remote workers.
  • Call Manager has easily scaled with our growing business.
  • Ease of deployment to end users.
  • Ease of management for phone and it’s firmware.
  • The GUI interface could certainly use a refresh. It’s been a few years since there update.
  • Integrate management of other UC solutions (i.e. Unity, Emergency Responder)
Well suited for any enterprise that is looking to centralize disparate voice systems and are looking for a gig level of control from end to end.
Read Shawn Dietrich's full review
No photo available
June 05, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Unified Communications Manager Makes Our Phone Calls Braindead Simple"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the firm's on-premise phone switch. We use it in all our offices in several states tied back to our production data center. We also use the voicemail, presence and Jabber features integrated with the product. All firm phone calls, voice conferencing and internal texting are made via this product.
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager is extremely reliable as a phone switch should be. We have never experienced downtime attributable to it.
  • The Cisco platform is easy for users to learn and utilize.
  • Integration with voicemail and directory services are well done and easy to use.
  • Integration with Jabber text services and presence are handy time savers and conveniences.
  • It can be tricky to implement emergency services through the product (think 911 calls).
  • Would like to see additional enhanced conference calling capabilities to potentially replace paid services.
  • Phone sets can be expensive when purchased in small quantities.
  • More soft buttons for additional saved phone numbers would be handy.
This platform is highly recommended for any middle to large size enterprise that needs a comprehensive on-premise phone switch that is stable, highly reliable and offers the features that most heavy voice callers demand. It can handle thousands of phones spread over a large number of physical locations, is easy to configure and manage and provides methods for reporting call information. The user interface is intuitive and requires little training and the phones themselves are attractive elements of a working office.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Opinions on CUCM from a Genesys PureConnect Developer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using CUCM primarily for PBX functionality but also incorporating the end user management for Cisco Jabber and some auto attendant functionality in conjunction with UCCX. We are late in the process of transitioning from Avaya to Cisco and a separate contact center platform. We are adopting CUCM throughout our entire organization, even working to replace remote key systems with the primary goal of having centralized support, less reliance on expensive small vendors and having a homogenized environment, simplifying support.
  • The web GUI for management may feel a bit clunky at first for being a modern application, but the navigation features (back, dependency views) quickly differentiate it from other environments.
  • Good API documentation on DEVNET and a fairly strong supporting community.
  • It plays fairly well in its own ecosystem (UCCX, IM and Presence, Unity) so the breadth of the ecosystem makes for a lot of functionality being available to you with adjuncts.
  • The AXL API for Call Manager feels particularly dated. The fact that it hasn't been deprecated for a more modern REST/JSON supporting API is a little lackluster.
  • CUCM's solution to elements missing API coverage is to open SQL queries via the API. This seems lazy of them rather than just increasing API coverage.
  • I know I'm hammering on the API's here, but the disparity between all of their applications' API seems like a terrible design decision. AXL is very different from Unity which is very different from Finesse. This creates a barrier to learning the ecosystem that just doesn't feel necessary.
  • The dial plan feels dated, clunky and almost indecipherable compared to some more streamlined applications.
CUCM is a solid enterprise PBX that does what it sets out to do very well. If you are a large enterprise or a collection of entities looking for a central and consistent deployment, it is hard to argue against CUCM. If you are a small entity setting up office phones, the cost could be an obvious barrier to entry, especially with smaller companies offering services that don't require physical phones or have an onsite data center presence.

That said, if you are in that situation it is worth looking at Cisco's broadsoft solution, as it is aimed at smaller and less complex customers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager): "Review of Callmanager in a global setup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using the Call Manager as central call control solution for our global voice and video endpoints including our Jabber clients. It's the central call control solution for all locations worldwide and helps us to provide a harmonized IT workplace for all users. Besides the standardization of the workplace, it helps to improve service processes through centralized management of the solution.
  • Large ecosystem to integrate additional solutions like for DECT or emergency services. If it's not included as a basic feature, there is a large possibility that a Cisco solution partner has a fitting solution.
  • High flexibility
  • Long support times
  • Updates take too long and too many steps
  • Administrative possibilities, many features of video endpoints cannot be configured via Call Manager
  • Licensing - it's too complex because of the many different models
Enterprises with many locations searching for a centralized on-premises solution which are interested in standardization and central management. I would recommend it less for small business with one location because of the complexity to implement and the resource requirements. For smaller solutions other products would fit better.
For video only solutions maybe an expressway as call control would be sufficient and Call Manager too oversized.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Dallio profile photo
October 25, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Call Manager"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Call Manager as our main VOIP system across our whole organization. We have a fault tolerant phone system that is more stable and versatile than previous system.
  • Versatile
  • Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones
  • Easily expandable
  • Updates for new phones are not easy to implement.
  • Expanding hardware is expensive.
  • Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.
If you are looking to switch to VOIP this is a very stable solution. I also like the fact that the servers are virtualized.
Read Michael Dallio's full review
Jamaal Tate profile photo
August 30, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Communications Manager is a very complex and full featured telephony Enterprise solution. My company uses this product to deploy IP phones and analog telephony products to multiple sites across the state. CUCM is very stable and handles our 20k+ phone deployment very well. I would recommend some basic training before deploying or administrating this solution. It can be quite difficult to spin up for the new user. We use Communications Manager with Unity Connection and Contact Center Express for a complete voice solution.
  • Flexible configurations
  • Accepts 3rd party SIP devices
  • Great support from Cisco
  • Cost
  • Difficult setup without training
  • Administration slows down with concurrent users in database (10+)
I recommend this to companies that want an IP phone solution across multiple sites. Great for managing a mixed environment of desk phones, softphones and analog connections.
Read Jamaal Tate's full review
No photo available
November 08, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "CUCM isn't just for Call Routing! Route your faxes and even manage PA Systems!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM) Call Manager is used to manage all our phone numbers throughout our organization. Additionally, it is used to route a portion of fax numbers to our eFax server (StoneFax) as well as a recent implementation of Informacast which is used as our PA system at our school sites. It routes all our calls, digital and analog throughout our whole school district.
  • Ease of reporting. Able to obtain bulk reporting on current extensions assigned by location, which is very helpful to us as we have 21 different school sites. It makes it easier to manage when we are working on particular projects.
  • Extension Mobility is a very awesome feature of CUCM that allows users to login to any phone on our network with their own extension. This has served particularly well with our school counselors that roam to different school sites. It's easier for them to provide staff and parents one phone number to contact them at, as opposed to several numbers from all the sites they visit.
  • Cisco Meet Me is another awesome addition within the CUCM that allows for conference calling within our own phone system. No need to purchase a 3rd party phone conferencing when it can be implemented within your own infrastructure. It is extremely easy to configure and has been very beneficial for the executive staff in our district.
  • CUCM can improve by actually showing the administrator which DID numbers are available for use. We have a large block of DID numbers provided by AT&T, but when configuring them on the phone system we have no idea which ones are actually available for use. The worst thing is, if it's not configured on call manager BUT it is being used as a voicemail line on Cisco unity, I have no idea until I cross check the number on the Unity Server. It's really cumbersome having to go back and forth between unity and CUCM to ensure I'm actually configuring an available phone number.
  • Improvement with CUCM and Unity configuration. Having to configure phone numbers and voicemails on two separate systems wastes a lot of time. And there have been times where a phone number had been configured, but we forgot to attach the voicemail inbox to it, leaving the user without voicemails. I hope this can be improved in the future. I'm not against having two separate systems, but I wish there was a better way to integrate the two especially when it comes to voicemail management.
  • Improve on the User Interface. If you have no familiarity with CUCM, it is extremely hard to navigate and find the settings that you need. Unfortunately I did not receive much training, but the system wasn't that intuitive to be able to navigate easily. I had to youtube and google many things in order to make sense of the layout. Additionally, the Cisco user guides are extremely hard to follow as well.
CUCM is very well suited for several types of other tools (Example: eFax and Informacast). We were able to use our existing system to upgrade our PA system and implement a "panic button" alert across our districts to notify front office staff of an issue occurring in a classroom. It's very useful to be able to have one system in place that can be configured to route faxes and handle our PA system as well.

CUCM isn't appropriate for smaller organizations, in my opinion. It's a really robust system and if it is needed for a small amount of call routing, I think it would be too much work to establish servers and switches for CUCM in a small organization.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Murphy profile photo
June 07, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Call Manager, a robust phone system"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager for our Phone system. We have an on-premise phone system. We have 2 nodes. A Pub and a Sub so if a link goes out our off-site Sub takes over and our phone system still works. We also use Cisco Unity for our voice mail.
  • Cisco Jabber is a great application that can be used with the Cisco phone system. You can do audio or audio and video. It also allows for chat.
  • Hunt groups. You can have multiple people in the same group to ring multiple phones at once.
  • Using Cisco Unity with Call Manager you can create Auto Attendants and call menus.
  • Coming in brand new to using Call Manager it takes a bit to get to know it. Definitely get with someone who has experience and can learn how to manage it. I started 1.5 years ago with Call Manager and I'm decent now but I still have access to a tech for the complicated stuff. Document how to do everything and it will be easy to repeat!
  • It's very easy to make a mistake in setting up an extension.
  • It's hard to think of another Con. The biggest thing is learning how to do it. You don't need a certification to learn but it is best to learn from someone who has the knowledge and document as you go. The best way is to have them walk you through all the fixes and you learn as you fix things.
Call Manager is a great use when you have multiple sites. Also when you have a small IT department. It is very robust and once programmed correctly it pretty much operates well on its own without having to be touched. It's a great "set it and forget it" solution. Definitely pay to have someone help install and train!
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
John Van Lieshout profile photo
July 10, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco UCM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCM is our main phone system, we have integration with AD and have just started using/testing Jabber with mobile phones for our IT department. It has been working great allowing me to answer my desk phone from anywhere. Management of users is simple and efficient.
  • Easy of use
  • Robust
  • More features than you could ask for
  • Cost
  • Tech support can be a bear
  • Initial setup can be difficult
It can support tons of devices used in multiple different environments.
Read John Van Lieshout's full review
Shawn Umansky profile photo
June 06, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager): "Review of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CUCM to manage our Cisco phone environment of roughly 1200 phones. This includes roughly 100 emergency phones of various types. We integrate directly with Exchange 2016 for Unified Communication, which allows voicemail to go directly to the user's inbox. (We do not use Unity.) We have around half dozen IP phone models (7941/42, 6921, etc.).
  • It is good at allowing for specific phone configurations. If you want to get granular, this is the tool for you.
  • The single number reach feature works well, allowing simultaneous ringing to outside devices, such as a mobile phone or home phone.
  • The Cisco IP Communicator application is great. I use it every day to emulate my physical phone from my laptop. I have used it extensively when working from home or at our co-location where cell service is not available. I just connect to the company VPN, launch the application, and use the phone just like it was on my desk. It even looks the same.
  • The user interface is not intuitive; if you don't know what you are doing, a single, small change can become a major problem.
  • Provisioning a single device requires lots of clicks and manual input of data; easy to misspell something by accident.
  • I find the provisioning process to be rather time consuming, but that may be because unified communications is not my primary role.
  • CUCM is not particularly friendly to non-Cisco hardware; you can configure other makes (we use Polycom for conference phones), but the configuration process is pretty involved, and requires time and experience.
I think it is probably a great fit for organizations that have both a Cisco based infrastructure, as well as a full time telecommunications person to manage it.
Read Shawn Umansky's full review
No photo available
February 05, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Senior Engineer, Telecommunications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Call Manager is used for our organization and for telecommunication services for all our offices globally. It provides us with seamless voice and video communication and reduces cost incurred with Telco as we route all calls within the organization internally across our WAN,
  • Call Manager provides no-cost communication between all our offices globally.
  • Call Manager administration is easier than traditional TDM and or other VoIP systems
  • We used to be a full Cisco shop with Cisco routers and switches. However, we've changed our infrastructure to use Brocade and it works well with other systems.
  • It would be nice if Cisco-provided better management tools. We used to use Prime Collaboration but moved over to Riverbed UCExpert
  • Our offices can sometimes fall victim to robocalls so it would be nice if Call Manager had an easy way to reject these calls instead of doing it on the cube router or provider side.
  • I've been using Call Manager for a while now and I find that with each subsequent upgrade that it gets better and better. Maintenance upgrades can sometimes be difficult and I'm not sure how to address it but I've been using a new tool called Prime Collaboration Deployment that's helped. I think in general CUCM is a great product.
I used to do Avaya TDM and Avaya VoIP but that's been over 10 years ago. Honestly, I don't think there's a product that competes with Call Manager on the Enterprise level. I believe it's come a long way. We use Cisco 8800 / 9900 devices as well as Jabber and MRA to connect our remote users. We also leverage other products such as voice messaging with Unity Connections. I've also used other products such as Contact Center Express.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 14, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco UCM - Great tool for simple VOIP management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Call Manager across the system to manage our VOIP phones. This system is great because it is a fairly simple tool to use in regards to managing phones. It also is able to allow troubleshooting from any location with little to no interaction needed in person at the device.
  • Remote Troubleshooting
  • Remote support of devices
  • Organization of the company's phone lines and devices
  • Ability to copy existing profiles from other phones for fast deployment
  • Certificate Deployment
  • The web interface is a little dated and sometimes confusing
  • Changes sometimes have to be saved two times which is repetitive
  • Some of the descriptors in the drop downs are not clear
  • Sometimes interface can be slow
Call Manager is great if you are going to deploy Cisco phones at small, medium, or large companies where you will need to be able to manage phones as the staff and company size changes. This is also great when you don't have a dedicated IT staff member on site when the changes are to be made. The changes made are also close to immediate after being saved in the system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 08, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Unified Communications Manager, all your communication needs in one package."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've worked very closely with Cisco Unified Communications Manager thanks to a number of our clients. They use it for everything from something as basic to a phone call, to video conferences, and even down to basic instant messaging inside the corporation. From a management perspective, it's intuitive to administer, easy to get set up, and very robust for my client's communication needs. Overall I consider this a great product.
  • From an administration perspective the product is incredibly intuitive, and a joy to manage.
  • Training a new user on the software, and hardware takes no time at all and Cisco provides a lot of detailed information to pass along to the end users.
  • The ability to have everything practically seamless makes this a wonderful solution. From basic telephony, video conferencing, to instant messaging either in the office, or on the road, having unified presence and voice/video capabilities has been a huge selling point for our customers.
  • When I first started using the product the learning curve was a little steep, but overall once you take the time to learn the Call Manager it's incredibly intuitive. I don't know that there's much I think could need improvement.
  • I've had end users complain about having too many options at first, but once they start using more of then this complaint usually disappears. I'm not sure this is something that really needs improvement, but I list this for lack of other ideas for improvement.
  • Compared to other systems I think Cisco hit the mark on this one, and I don't have many areas that I would consider improving upon.
For a medium-sized business or larger I think this is a great solution. It covers pretty much all the needs you would want, basic telephony, video conferencing, instant messaging, and presence. Like anything else you get what you pay for if you have the budget for a Cisco product, I definitely recommend this. For the smaller business that doesn't need all the features or a business that doesn't have the appropriate budget to warrant a product like Call Manager, this may not be the best fit.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Munn profile photo
January 19, 2018

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Unified Communications Manager - VoIP Phone Solution on Steroids"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager across our entire organization. This includes 30+ sites and about 1,200 phones and users. This allows for easy four digit dialing between offices and provides organization wide voicemail and instant messaging and presents. The system also allows us to receive calls originating from location and answer from another to provide better coverage between departments and regions.
  • The first strength is this is a VoIP system allowing voice to travel across a data IP network. This makes cabling for phones very easy as the phone will utilize the same network cable that your PC would. This also means less infrastructure to support voice. No need for large PBX systems and closets that hide cabling nightmares.
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a very flexible product. It can be custom configured to best suit your business needs and locations. It can be used as a single tenant or multi tenant system. Each site or office location can be configured separately from others for greater control.
  • Cisco offers a wide range of phone models for various needs and supports many third party SIP phones. There are also multiple ways to integrate with legacy systems during a system migration or when integrating a new company or office.
  • Licensing can be difficult to understand. Cisco has changed licensing models multiple times over the years and determining what modes is best suited for your company can be difficult.
  • Systems backups need some work. If you are in a multi server geographically separated environment backups can be a problem. All servers are included in a backup session and if servers are across a WAN connection all that data is being pulled across the WAN. I would like to see cloud backup or multi location backup options.
  • When phones move between sites/subnets it would be nice to have a feature that could automatically move the phone configuration from one device pool to another so that location specific options are set for the moved phone.
For larger companies that need a VoIP solution, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is hands down the best solution. It will grow with your company and provide many features your users currently need or will ask for. There are options for smaller companies but with these options, there are features that are left out. For some, this may not be an issue but for others, it could be.

Read Brian Munn's full review
Ryan Thompson profile photo
March 14, 2017

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Managing Call Manager"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clearpoint uses Call Manager to connect remote and internal phones across a nation-wide organization.
  • Day-to-day administration is relatively easy
  • Phones are user-friendly
  • Able to administer a nation-wide system from one location
  • Initial deployment can be difficult
  • Expensive
Great for use for most organizations. The main negative is the cost, which can be burdensome.
Read Ryan Thompson's full review
Rui Ferraz profile photo
October 17, 2016

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are currently reselling CUCM solutions for our enterprise customers, focusing these kind of solution for clients that have an installed base of Cisco Solutions.
Cisco solutions work with great productivity when focusing when delivering Cisco's ecosystem. The quality of its telephones and solutions is currently a great driver to sell Cisco over other kind of manufacturers.
When talking about Cisco, you get the possibility to increase your collaborators productivity, offering some other modules, like for example:
Jabber
Unity
Mediasense
etc...
  • Can be deployed using a centralized and virtualized approach or using a server (For example BE6K)
  • Quality of its phones and equipments
  • Evolution of its solutions and roadmap
  • Ease to reach information and its capability to create documentation to help the partners
  • Desktop Sharing
  • Federations with other IM&P solutions
  • Integration with Lync
  • Video solution, without the need to use VCS
Well suited for:
  • Clients with a very high need to scale and with a lot of sites.
  • Solutions that need a collaborative solution that focuses on the functionalities rather than the price.
  • Clients that need a evolving solution and have their own technical support.
Read Rui Ferraz's full review
No photo available
June 10, 2016

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Review: "Powerful Phone System"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager was used by one remote manufacturing plant. Other sites used a company standard system that was decided upon and implemented after the Cisco system was already in place. The Cisco Communications Manager was used to administrate the Cisco phone system that we had in place and could be used to assign extensions, hunt groups and other phone features.
  • The system is powerful and can handle a huge number of phones.
  • The GUI is powerful.
  • It is easier to set up advanced functions than with some competing products.
  • To get the most out of the system you need to use the command line, which is very complicated.
  • The system is much more expensive than competing systems.
It is an expensive, powerful enterprise system and thus is not appropriate for a small business of less than 50 people.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (5)
8.7
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (11)
8.3
User templates (16)
8.6
Call reports (16)
7.3
Directory of employee names (16)
8.5
Answering rules (18)
9.0
Call recording (11)
7.8
Call park (15)
8.2
Call screening (14)
8.3
Message alerts (18)
7.9
Video conferencing (13)
8.0
Audio conferencing (16)
8.6
Mobile app for iOS (9)
8.8
Mobile app for Android (7)
8.1

About Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.
Categories:  VoIP

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Integrations

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Competitors

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No