Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
104 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Benjamín Marrón Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

Cisco Unified Communications Manager Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager servers to control all our telephony devices like iPhones, telepresence rooms, desktop video devices, analog phones, etc. We use it in our company and in new implementations with our customers. This specific server in the Cisco Collaboration portfolio is the one that controls all the calls and call routing, and it has a lot of custom features to make IP telephony more robust. The business problems that it solves are the lack of communication with all your partners, keeping them all together.
  • Unified administration of all your telephony devices
  • Integration with third-party devices and applications
  • Integration with voicemail, instant messaging and contact center
  • Support of all Cisco IP phones and third-party SIP devices.
  • Good troubleshooting tools for voice calls
  • The interface is a little bit old. They need to update the look of the web page.
  • There are a lot of menus--it should be better organized.
  • When updating a device package you have to reboot.
The Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is better for implementations with large companies, where many phones are needed since this server has a lot of capacity in a single node. Besides that, if it is necessary to scale the number of phones just add another server to increase the capacity. You can have up to eight servers running at the same time and assign several processes or services per server. Up to four nodes can work at the same time to take calls and register phones. The others would be used for other services such as TFTP, Music on Hold, Annunciator, etc. The Cisco Call Manager is the best call control server on the market for its capacity, flexibility, and reliability.
Read Benjamín Marrón Rojas's full review
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Cisco Unified Communications Manager - Your system can grow with your business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) (CUCM) was used by our company internally, as well as solutions provided to our customers. It addressed the issue of all communications, including our telephone calls, company wide chat functionality both inside and outside the company. It provides, phone, video, voicemail, automated attendant, toll bypass, desktop chat, and mobile chat.
  • Extensive call routing functionality
  • In depth auto attendant capability
  • Requires skilled and knowledgeable engineers to deploy.
  • A lot of moving parts to get full system running
CUCM is a great system that has a full feature set that will provide all features you would want for any size system. It may not be suited for small businesses that are less than 15 users due to cost. The BE6000 provides good cost for medium sized companies (up to 1,000 users) and the full size Call Manager system can grow as large as you need it to.
Read Steve Davis's full review
Girgis Hady | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Most powerful VOIP solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communication Manager ( Call Manager ) is being used across our whole organization to handle the collaboration between employees and each other. We used it as a call manager for our Cisco iPhones and using it for instant messaging, presence, and Jabber communication. Also, it's responsible for communication between our branches.
  • Managing Cisco iPhones.
  • Managing Jabber application communication.
  • Ease of iPhone and user management.
  • Integration with Microsoft Skype for business.
  • Needs easier GUI.
  • Licenses are costly.
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is well suited when using VOIP solution to manage our communications between employees in the same campus or between HQ and other branches even across different countries as we also used it to register iPhones located in other county using IPsec tunnel between branch firewall and our firewall.
Read Girgis Hady's full review
Patricio Santirso | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Cost-effective Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications is being used across the whole organization. It allows any employee to easily communicate to peers fast, cheap and with high quality. It is very simple to connect and interact with each office's local infrastructure. The migration process has been very simple, without having any outstanding items during implementation. It took me an average of 2.5 hours to migrate 50-100 users' offices.
  • It enabled the company to pursue new collaboration models.
  • Improved communications between key business processes and teams.
  • SImplified administration.
  • The default messages for voicemails, for example, was one of the most criticized features I received. It was too hard for people to setup from scratch.
  • The display in hardphones sometimes is not easy to understand, especially for business users who don't have an IT background.
  • There are many factory settings/configs that generally make the app hard to attain the company's security policy controls.
The simplicity to do call forwarding and generating escalation groups is a plus. The interface could be a lot more user-friendly for hardphones.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Cisco Call Manager can do anything you need it to do (and plenty you don't need it to do too).

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) across our whole agency to manage all of our VoIP phones, users and gateways. We also use it to integrate with our paging systems and attendant console solution. It has enabled us to centrally manage all of this, which was previously managed individually at every location, and to allow phone number mobility between locations and also with users' mobile devices.
  • Extremely broad industry support and resources available
  • Scales up well, and the new licensing is much more straightforward than before
  • Cisco has changed their CUCM licensing model four times since we started using it
  • With all of the power and features, it can be overwhelming to new users
For medium to large scale deployments where there will be a dedicated VoIP administrator Call Manager, this is a great choice. It provides all of the growth, flexibility and features you could want. For smaller, more straightforward deployments or ones where there won't be a dedicated administrator, a simpler product may be a better choice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Call manager that fits the need

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the heart of our telecommunications for our organization. We use Call Manager for our voice, messaging and contact centers. Across all departments, nearly every staff has a phone assigned. We use Call Manager as our primary platform for making and receiving calls. We also use Finesse as the software choice for our contact center.
  • Powerful feature set out of the box.
  • Mature platform and vast support direct from Cisco and from the community.
  • Integrations available to many APIs, other platforms.
  • We would like to have rules based call routing.
  • We would like to see licensing easier to manager.
  • A unified GUI will help with the multiple software packages.
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) has worked well for our large organization. We have multiple locations and mobile staff. Our deployment is relatively straight out of the box. Once we begin to push out more features, we will probably see more of the ROI.

Call Manager is best for:
  1. Large scale enterprise deployments.
  2. Mature platform needs.
  3. Contact Center.
Call Manager is not suited for:
  1. Small SMBs.
Read this authenticated review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

CUCM is your choice if you want everything plus the kitchen sink, you want it on-prem and you have the $$

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CUCM on-premise as our voice over IP (VoIP) solution, sometimes others will refer to it as a "PBX" or "voice services" software. CUCM is one of several components that work together to provide telephony across the entire enterprise. CUCM ties into and controls, at least in part, all of the other communications components that we use, such as our voicemail, emergency call handling, audio conferencing, teleconferencing and video calling, paging systems and PBX operator, which of which work together with CUCM being the "conductor". It enables us to make phone calls to each other and the rest of the world, just like an analog phone, except that voip calls can include extra stuff other than sound, such as video.
  • CUCM provides excellent call quality
  • CUCM gives visibility into call handling and call records
  • CUCM allows us to control everything about our voice communications
  • CUCM is overly complex and requires a very capable engineer to maintain it. Similarly, implementing anything new requires a great deal of specialized knowledge of CUCM.
  • CUCM is difficult to troubleshoot because of it's complexity.
  • CUCM is expensive licensing and they nickel and dime you with a plethora of tiny little license charges for every little feature. They have the most convoluted licensing models, ever, for their CU products in general.
CUCM is probably only very well-suited for the enterprise that must have complete, total control over everything about their communications system, wants to host their phone servers on-premise and wants to have every telephony and communications capability that exists. If you don't have these three needs, you should be looking at cloud hosted communications instead. That's because CUCM takes a great deal of specialized skill and plenty of engineer time to configure, maintain and operate. The server platform used by CUCM (and those of all of the other CU components) is not user-friendly, with interface designs that have not been updated for the 25 years that I've been setting up and maintaining them. That said, it's extremely customizable and inter-operable with just about any other communications component, as long as you have the skill to customize it or connect it. It's also very expensive and the licensing is literally incomprehensible.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Eduardo Viero | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

The most comprehensive IP communication solution on the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is possibly the most widely used IT infrastructure solution across our company by far. We started deploying it modestly, in 2004, for a small portion of our users in one department, and for some IT users. Since then, we started to increase the adoption, mostly when we had new departments or office layout changes, where it was easier and cheaper to deploy. At some port, we also started to deploy it in remote sites, across the globe. That movement allowed us to have a seamless phone experience and allowed our users to communicate across the globe. The US office could easily call HQ in Brazil without any cost per minute. That was a game-changer and allowed us to promote more with fast communication between offices. At some point, we decided to replace all the old TDM PBXs and that bunch of cables for the small and simple UCS servers. Besides the fact that it saved a lot of real estate in our datacenter also saved us time by letting us administer on a single console. Those were some of the business problems we solved during these past 15 years with Cisco.
  • The solution is probably one of the most robust IT solutions we have today. Although it works 24/7, it never required a reset "just because it needs to free memory" for example. In our deployment, the servers never went down due to a bug or software/hardware problem. We only reboot when we need to update or install some software fix.
  • Compared to other platforms on the market, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is the most complete and flexible one. You can manage not only Cisco endpoints but 3rd party too. Also, you can run on bare metal appliances or even in virtualized environments, which gives you more freedom of choice. Considering the amount of model of endpoints available, you can have several options for any use case, from the simplest no display desk phone to a wireless, LCD display, full-featured phone. That also gives you the freedom to select what works best in each environment.
  • If you consider both statements above, you'll see that Cisco Unified Communications Manager as the best ROI on the market. As an example, I can say that we're running instances (both hardware and software) of CUCM for the last 5 years. That's a huge advantage if you compare how short the lifecycle of digital platforms are these days. No upgrades, no parts replacement, no support tickets, no TAC calls, nothing.
  • Although once you learn how to use the management interface you can do things easily, the look and feel of the management interface has been the same for several years. It's not as modern as the other Cisco platforms and doesn't follow the latest design language we see in other systems. Seems like it got stuck in the past.
  • In our architecture, we use the same CUCM servers for both local and remote deployment because Cisco doesn't offer a version for branch offices that is small enough to fit both in our infrastructure and budget. I know they offer CUCM Express, which is a simpler and more affordable version, but it's not the same as the CUCM. You can't use it as a node for a distributed architecture. It only runs as a standalone system. From a management perspective, it takes a little more to support those kinds of mixed environments.
  • For large deployments, when you need to replace thousands of analog desk phones for new IP Phones, as our company did in the past, it can be very expensive. That's why it took several years until we reached a point where we could afford to replace more than half of our desk phones at once. The investment needed had to be substantial and sometimes it's not easy to justify that kind of investment if you're only updating the technology. As a manufacturing company, I can tell you that for the person who uses the phone on the floor, it doesn't matter if the phone is analog or IP. It must work and that's it. Although Cisco offers some affordable models, they're limited.
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is well suited for companies who rely on phone communication across several locations. You can deploy a distributed architecture that could support thousands of extensions in multiple sites and manage all of them in just one single pane of glass. Because the investment needed to create this infrastructure is considerably high, it may be not suitable for small businesses, especially in developing countries.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
Juan Ignacio Zappacosta | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used CUCM until some months ago in a strategic consultancy firm and with many customers within Chile, Argentina, and Bolivia. I was being used by all external consultants and the operative teams within the customers. There were very few business problems and we were very happy with this solution. We faced some delays and latency in some calls but the issues were always related to connectivity or network. It is not a "cheap" solution and the quality of the product was more than satisfactory. If the meeting has more than 199 attendees you will not be able to attend the call.
  • It is a secure solution. There are no severity 5s vulnerabilities associated with this solution.
  • The quality of the sound is excellent. There are very few solutions with such good quality in terms of latency, quality and delay/response.
  • It is highly scalable and easy to use.
  • It should have a free or beta version.
  • More than 199 should be allowed to attend the meetings.
  • During the meetings, the users should read the reasons why they are facing issues (connectivity issues, network, latency, poor quality/only sound, etc).
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a good solution for large and medium companies since big companies don't face many connectivity issues. It has everything you need, you can bring people together anytime, anywhere and on any device. Small companies and families are not under the scope of this application since is not that cheap and it has no beta or free version. I highly recommend to work on some enhancements of the look and feel and if it is possible in the integration to other apps.
Read Juan Ignacio Zappacosta's full review
Lee Weers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Cisco Call Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Call Manager is being used by all of the employees of the college. We have just over 500 handsets on campus. We have about 100 active users of Jabber. Facilities will use Jabber on their smartphones, where they do not have cell coverage, but they can get a wifi signal to make support calls.
  • Voicemail to email
  • Jabber provides some great flexibility
  • There are a lot of options
  • Can be easier to configure
  • Conflict between single number reach and jabber answering a call on a mobile device
  • Video integration
  • Implementing public trusted certificates.
I think it works well for larger environments. I would not use it in small office settings. It can require some dedicated staff. We have not found a great outbound calling capability that is suited for a size of 15 callers.
Read Lee Weers's full review
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager - VoIP Phone Solution on Steroids

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager across our entire organization. This includes 30+ sites and about 1,200 phones and users. This allows for easy four digit dialing between offices and provides organization wide voicemail and instant messaging and presents. The system also allows us to receive calls originating from location and answer from another to provide better coverage between departments and regions.
  • The first strength is this is a VoIP system allowing voice to travel across a data IP network. This makes cabling for phones very easy as the phone will utilize the same network cable that your PC would. This also means less infrastructure to support voice. No need for large PBX systems and closets that hide cabling nightmares.
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a very flexible product. It can be custom configured to best suit your business needs and locations. It can be used as a single tenant or multi tenant system. Each site or office location can be configured separately from others for greater control.
  • Cisco offers a wide range of phone models for various needs and supports many third party SIP phones. There are also multiple ways to integrate with legacy systems during a system migration or when integrating a new company or office.
  • Licensing can be difficult to understand. Cisco has changed licensing models multiple times over the years and determining what modes is best suited for your company can be difficult.
  • Systems backups need some work. If you are in a multi server geographically separated environment backups can be a problem. All servers are included in a backup session and if servers are across a WAN connection all that data is being pulled across the WAN. I would like to see cloud backup or multi location backup options.
  • When phones move between sites/subnets it would be nice to have a feature that could automatically move the phone configuration from one device pool to another so that location specific options are set for the moved phone.
For larger companies that need a VoIP solution, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is hands down the best solution. It will grow with your company and provide many features your users currently need or will ask for. There are options for smaller companies but with these options, there are features that are left out. For some, this may not be an issue but for others, it could be.

Read Brian Munn's full review
Ariel Lam | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2019

Another great communication tool from Cisco!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is being used at my organization for communicating within our organization as well as with others that are external to our organization, including vendors, third parties, or clients. The Call Manager software is being used across the whole organization. The business problem it addresses is that it allows seamless communication within and outside our organization on a day to day basis.
  • Manages our calls on a day to day basis.
  • Allows us to access internal and external parties with ease.
  • Allows for easy collaboration.
  • Not all features are easy to use.
  • Better support/instructions/feature documentation.
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a great tool for any organization. It is a day-to-day tool that can be used in order to manage and take calls with peers and clients. It does what the software promotes and it does a great job. As for scenarios where it is less appropriate, I cannot think of any.
Read Ariel Lam's full review
Amanda Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Cisco IP Phone

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco is used throughout the entire organization. I believe it was about 5 years (maybe more) when they changed to Cisco and we got new phones. It's nice to be able to log into your voicemail (or even your extension) from a different phone if you need to move. I also like how it's connected to Jabber so I can get to my voicemail or make calls from my computer if I'm away from a phone set. It's pretty easy to use, has a nice display. For our adjunct faculty, it is nice that they can log into the phone and then log off when they are gone, since they use shared space and share phones with one another.
  • Good for sharing phones. Has the ability to log into a phone to get voicemails and receive calls. Then another person can use the same phone later.
  • Like the connection to Jabber on the computer. Great for when you are at a computer but not by the actual phone.
  • The voicemail settings are great. I love that I can set my vacation voicemail to expire at a certain date and time, so I don't have to remember to change my voicemail back when I return.
  • One thing I have trouble with is changing my name for the standard greeting. I changed it for internal calls, but I couldn't get it to change overall.
  • I think for the future a touchscreen would be nice.
It's great for in the office use. If you're dialing into a meeting you have the ability to listen but mute yourself. You have speaker and headset options, which is nice. The different voicemail features are particularly helpful when you are traveling or out of the office for different reasons. You can even save some of your away voicemails for future use.
Read Amanda Carpenter's full review
Christina O'Steen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Cisco IP Phone System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is easy to use, and the phone also connects with my computer. When I am listening to music on my computer when the phone rings, my music is automatically muted. Also, I like the message system. Not only will you have the messages on your phone, but you will also get them in an email. Display is also updated to have your personal information and can be customized to ring through the computer and with different ring tones. I like this system, great for any size business.
  • It is versatile and it is intergraded into other systems, like our emergency system.
  • Easy to set up and use.
  • Reliable.
  • None
It is well suited in the university system. Easy to set up and use from the user standpoint. Versatile and very reliable, communications are vital for any business, you need to have a system that is reliable. This system is versatile and can be personalized for each person. Great product all around.
Read Christina O'Steen's full review
Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez) | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Efficiency Achieved

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize CUCM across all of our corporate contact centers, it allows us to centrally manage our end-points and helps us take care of the MACD support for thousands of users with just one small telecom team.
  • Simplified on-boarding
  • Allows us to handle a large population of remote agents
  • Provides us with High Availability/ Failover capabilities
  • Constant need to refresh end-points
  • No granular restriction to self service portal
  • New security only available in newer versions
Our specific instance is one where we have several corporate contact centers that have been unified utilizing CM. It has been very beneficial due to simplifying support due to standardization, centralized provisioning, and speeds turnaround time for ticket work.
Read Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez)'s full review
Stephanie Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

A great system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to solve the problem of seeing if a customer was hung up on, if our reps are taking calls and how many calls they have taken. It is used by our whole organization but mostly by our tech department. We use it also to see how many calls were taken in a day, week or month.
  • It shows the calls that come in.
  • How long a call lasted.
  • It also shows how many calls a rep took that day.
  • I would like it to show the individual when I select their name.
It is very suited for our company for everything we need it for. The most specific scenario is being able to see if a specific number has called into our office and who they spoke to if they did. It's helpful because we can determine if someone is doing their job.
Read Stephanie Chapman's full review
Renier Geldenhuys | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

Managing Unified Communications everywhere made simple

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose, designed and deployed a Cicso UCM based solution, globally, to provide us our collaboration backbone and make staying in touch real-time real. Spanning 4 continents and multiple timezones can sometimes make conferencing tricky, but with Webex and Cisco MRA this is easily overcome and allows us to stay in touch no matter where we are.
  • Versatile
  • Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones
  • Easily expandable
  • Expanding hardware is expensive.
  • Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.
Automatic call distribution within UCM could do with a tweak to allow for more visibility of real-time call flows.
Read Renier Geldenhuys's full review
Shawn Dietrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Call Manager Use in the Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Call Manager to provide our enterprise with voice connectivity. It allows us to centrally administer over 180 offices and close 500 remote workers.
  • Call Manager has easily scaled with our growing business.
  • Ease of deployment to end users.
  • Ease of management for phone and it’s firmware.
  • The GUI interface could certainly use a refresh. It’s been a few years since there update.
  • Integrate management of other UC solutions (i.e. Unity, Emergency Responder)
Well suited for any enterprise that is looking to centralize disparate voice systems and are looking for a gig level of control from end to end.
Read Shawn Dietrich's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager Makes Our Phone Calls Braindead Simple

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the firm's on-premise phone switch. We use it in all our offices in several states tied back to our production data center. We also use the voicemail, presence and Jabber features integrated with the product. All firm phone calls, voice conferencing and internal texting are made via this product.
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager is extremely reliable as a phone switch should be. We have never experienced downtime attributable to it.
  • The Cisco platform is easy for users to learn and utilize.
  • Integration with voicemail and directory services are well done and easy to use.
  • Integration with Jabber text services and presence are handy time savers and conveniences.
  • It can be tricky to implement emergency services through the product (think 911 calls).
  • Would like to see additional enhanced conference calling capabilities to potentially replace paid services.
  • Phone sets can be expensive when purchased in small quantities.
  • More soft buttons for additional saved phone numbers would be handy.
This platform is highly recommended for any middle to large size enterprise that needs a comprehensive on-premise phone switch that is stable, highly reliable and offers the features that most heavy voice callers demand. It can handle thousands of phones spread over a large number of physical locations, is easy to configure and manage and provides methods for reporting call information. The user interface is intuitive and requires little training and the phones themselves are attractive elements of a working office.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

Cisco Unified Communications Manager Handles all the Calls

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the tool across our entire organization. We have all our branches setup with 5 digits dialing from every desk set. It takes care of branch to branch voice calling. Also, we have all of our phone lines connected to the system so that we can manage call flow.
  • Multiple calls coming in at the same time to different locations.
  • System is easily customizable. We can make the system operate differently from one location to the other.
  • The system is robust and the hunt groups are able to be set up ad hoc which is great.
  • The online interface has not been updated for a couple of years. This could be worthwhile.
  • Ability to log in to the system via mobile devices and access and update as required.
This system is well suited for multiple location environments and organizations that would otherwise have long-distance surcharges. We can easily scale up the system and add multiple phones and additional routers without issue which makes the deployment of even temporary offices great. We can connect the routers and assign the 5 digit dialing setup the dial peers and we are good to go.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Dallio | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2018

Cisco Call Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Call Manager as our main VOIP system across our whole organization. We have a fault tolerant phone system that is more stable and versatile than previous system.
  • Versatile
  • Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones
  • Easily expandable
  • Updates for new phones are not easy to implement.
  • Expanding hardware is expensive.
  • Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.
If you are looking to switch to VOIP this is a very stable solution. I also like the fact that the servers are virtualized.
Read Michael Dallio's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

Opinions on CUCM from a Genesys PureConnect Developer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using CUCM primarily for PBX functionality but also incorporating the end user management for Cisco Jabber and some auto attendant functionality in conjunction with UCCX. We are late in the process of transitioning from Avaya to Cisco and a separate contact center platform. We are adopting CUCM throughout our entire organization, even working to replace remote key systems with the primary goal of having centralized support, less reliance on expensive small vendors and having a homogenized environment, simplifying support.
  • The web GUI for management may feel a bit clunky at first for being a modern application, but the navigation features (back, dependency views) quickly differentiate it from other environments.
  • Good API documentation on DEVNET and a fairly strong supporting community.
  • It plays fairly well in its own ecosystem (UCCX, IM and Presence, Unity) so the breadth of the ecosystem makes for a lot of functionality being available to you with adjuncts.
  • The AXL API for Call Manager feels particularly dated. The fact that it hasn't been deprecated for a more modern REST/JSON supporting API is a little lackluster.
  • CUCM's solution to elements missing API coverage is to open SQL queries via the API. This seems lazy of them rather than just increasing API coverage.
  • I know I'm hammering on the API's here, but the disparity between all of their applications' API seems like a terrible design decision. AXL is very different from Unity which is very different from Finesse. This creates a barrier to learning the ecosystem that just doesn't feel necessary.
  • The dial plan feels dated, clunky and almost indecipherable compared to some more streamlined applications.
CUCM is a solid enterprise PBX that does what it sets out to do very well. If you are a large enterprise or a collection of entities looking for a central and consistent deployment, it is hard to argue against CUCM. If you are a small entity setting up office phones, the cost could be an obvious barrier to entry, especially with smaller companies offering services that don't require physical phones or have an onsite data center presence.

That said, if you are in that situation it is worth looking at Cisco's broadsoft solution, as it is aimed at smaller and less complex customers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Review of Callmanager in a global setup

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using the Call Manager as central call control solution for our global voice and video endpoints including our Jabber clients. It's the central call control solution for all locations worldwide and helps us to provide a harmonized IT workplace for all users. Besides the standardization of the workplace, it helps to improve service processes through centralized management of the solution.
  • Large ecosystem to integrate additional solutions like for DECT or emergency services. If it's not included as a basic feature, there is a large possibility that a Cisco solution partner has a fitting solution.
  • High flexibility
  • Long support times
  • Updates take too long and too many steps
  • Administrative possibilities, many features of video endpoints cannot be configured via Call Manager
  • Licensing - it's too complex because of the many different models
Enterprises with many locations searching for a centralized on-premises solution which are interested in standardization and central management. I would recommend it less for small business with one location because of the complexity to implement and the resource requirements. For smaller solutions other products would fit better.
For video only solutions maybe an expressway as call control would be sufficient and Call Manager too oversized.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

CUCM isn't just for Call Routing! Route your faxes and even manage PA Systems!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM) Call Manager is used to manage all our phone numbers throughout our organization. Additionally, it is used to route a portion of fax numbers to our eFax server (StoneFax) as well as a recent implementation of Informacast which is used as our PA system at our school sites. It routes all our calls, digital and analog throughout our whole school district.
  • Ease of reporting. Able to obtain bulk reporting on current extensions assigned by location, which is very helpful to us as we have 21 different school sites. It makes it easier to manage when we are working on particular projects.
  • Extension Mobility is a very awesome feature of CUCM that allows users to login to any phone on our network with their own extension. This has served particularly well with our school counselors that roam to different school sites. It's easier for them to provide staff and parents one phone number to contact them at, as opposed to several numbers from all the sites they visit.
  • Cisco Meet Me is another awesome addition within the CUCM that allows for conference calling within our own phone system. No need to purchase a 3rd party phone conferencing when it can be implemented within your own infrastructure. It is extremely easy to configure and has been very beneficial for the executive staff in our district.
  • CUCM can improve by actually showing the administrator which DID numbers are available for use. We have a large block of DID numbers provided by AT&T, but when configuring them on the phone system we have no idea which ones are actually available for use. The worst thing is, if it's not configured on call manager BUT it is being used as a voicemail line on Cisco unity, I have no idea until I cross check the number on the Unity Server. It's really cumbersome having to go back and forth between unity and CUCM to ensure I'm actually configuring an available phone number.
  • Improvement with CUCM and Unity configuration. Having to configure phone numbers and voicemails on two separate systems wastes a lot of time. And there have been times where a phone number had been configured, but we forgot to attach the voicemail inbox to it, leaving the user without voicemails. I hope this can be improved in the future. I'm not against having two separate systems, but I wish there was a better way to integrate the two especially when it comes to voicemail management.
  • Improve on the User Interface. If you have no familiarity with CUCM, it is extremely hard to navigate and find the settings that you need. Unfortunately I did not receive much training, but the system wasn't that intuitive to be able to navigate easily. I had to youtube and google many things in order to make sense of the layout. Additionally, the Cisco user guides are extremely hard to follow as well.
CUCM is very well suited for several types of other tools (Example: eFax and Informacast). We were able to use our existing system to upgrade our PA system and implement a "panic button" alert across our districts to notify front office staff of an issue occurring in a classroom. It's very useful to be able to have one system in place that can be configured to route faxes and handle our PA system as well.

CUCM isn't appropriate for smaller organizations, in my opinion. It's a really robust system and if it is needed for a small amount of call routing, I think it would be too much work to establish servers and switches for CUCM in a small organization.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2018

Cisco Call Manager, a robust phone system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager for our Phone system. We have an on-premise phone system. We have 2 nodes. A Pub and a Sub so if a link goes out our off-site Sub takes over and our phone system still works. We also use Cisco Unity for our voice mail.
  • Cisco Jabber is a great application that can be used with the Cisco phone system. You can do audio or audio and video. It also allows for chat.
  • Hunt groups. You can have multiple people in the same group to ring multiple phones at once.
  • Using Cisco Unity with Call Manager you can create Auto Attendants and call menus.
  • Coming in brand new to using Call Manager it takes a bit to get to know it. Definitely get with someone who has experience and can learn how to manage it. I started 1.5 years ago with Call Manager and I'm decent now but I still have access to a tech for the complicated stuff. Document how to do everything and it will be easy to repeat!
  • It's very easy to make a mistake in setting up an extension.
  • It's hard to think of another Con. The biggest thing is learning how to do it. You don't need a certification to learn but it is best to learn from someone who has the knowledge and document as you go. The best way is to have them walk you through all the fixes and you learn as you fix things.
Call Manager is a great use when you have multiple sites. Also when you have a small IT department. It is very robust and once programmed correctly it pretty much operates well on its own without having to be touched. It's a great "set it and forget it" solution. Definitely pay to have someone help install and train!
Read Andrew Murphy's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (12)
8.0
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (20)
7.9
User templates (28)
8.1
Call reports (27)
7.2
Directory of employee names (28)
8.6
Answering rules (31)
8.5
Call recording (23)
7.1
Call park (27)
8.5
Call screening (25)
7.9
Message alerts (29)
7.3
Video conferencing (21)
7.0
Audio conferencing (30)
8.5
Video screen sharing (10)
6.9
Instant messaging (12)
8.1
Mobile app for iOS (18)
8.3
Mobile app for Android (16)
8.3

About Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.

Unified communications
Call Manager can consolidate communications infrastructures and enable individual users and teams to communicate within its interface. The solution features IP telephony, video, unified messaging, instant messaging, and networking. It also has various features to support mobile and remote workers.

Integrations
Cisco Unified (CM) supports industry communications standards, a range of gateways, and an ecosystem of third-party integrations and solutions plus partners.

Security
Cisco Unified (CM) supports the industry authentication, encryption, and communication protocols. It complies with industry certifications, and secures data and communications for customers in financial services, manufacturing, retail, and governments internationally.


Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Integrations

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Competitors

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No