TrustRadius
Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/vW/pS/GUXTSLSNT4EO.pngCUCM is your choice if you want everything plus the kitchen sink, you want it on-prem and you have the $$We use CUCM on-premise as our voice over IP (VoIP) solution, sometimes others will refer to it as a "PBX" or "voice services" software. CUCM is one of several components that work together to provide telephony across the entire enterprise. CUCM ties into and controls, at least in part, all of the other communications components that we use, such as our voicemail, emergency call handling, audio conferencing, teleconferencing and video calling, paging systems and PBX operator, which of which work together with CUCM being the "conductor". It enables us to make phone calls to each other and the rest of the world, just like an analog phone, except that voip calls can include extra stuff other than sound, such as video.,CUCM provides excellent call quality CUCM gives visibility into call handling and call records CUCM allows us to control everything about our voice communications,CUCM is overly complex and requires a very capable engineer to maintain it. Similarly, implementing anything new requires a great deal of specialized knowledge of CUCM. CUCM is difficult to troubleshoot because of it's complexity. CUCM is expensive licensing and they nickel and dime you with a plethora of tiny little license charges for every little feature. They have the most convoluted licensing models, ever, for their CU products in general.,3,This stuff is pricey. CUCM has to be tied together with a whole other host of Cisco call servers in order for it to do everything you need it to do, so there is always some other expensive license to buy every time you want to add or change something, so it can be a serious money pit. But if your leaders want the very best, and they want to keep everything in-house, this is probably your solution. Goodwill from leadership is way up, thanks to CUCM. The feature set is enormous, so we can do almost anything you can imagine with our phone system, and our leadership loves the video features and the way it integrates with WebEx and other related components.,OfficeSuite UC (formerly Broadview),10,Sophos Phish Threat, Microsoft Azure, Microsoft SQL ServerThe most comprehensive IP communication solution on the marketCisco Unified Communications Manager is possibly the most widely used IT infrastructure solution across our company by far. We started deploying it modestly, in 2004, for a small portion of our users in one department, and for some IT users. Since then, we started to increase the adoption, mostly when we had new departments or office layout changes, where it was easier and cheaper to deploy. At some port, we also started to deploy it in remote sites, across the globe. That movement allowed us to have a seamless phone experience and allowed our users to communicate across the globe. The US office could easily call HQ in Brazil without any cost per minute. That was a game-changer and allowed us to promote more with fast communication between offices. At some point, we decided to replace all the old TDM PBXs and that bunch of cables for the small and simple UCS servers. Besides the fact that it saved a lot of real estate in our datacenter also saved us time by letting us administer on a single console. Those were some of the business problems we solved during these past 15 years with Cisco.,The solution is probably one of the most robust IT solutions we have today. Although it works 24/7, it never required a reset "just because it needs to free memory" for example. In our deployment, the servers never went down due to a bug or software/hardware problem. We only reboot when we need to update or install some software fix. Compared to other platforms on the market, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is the most complete and flexible one. You can manage not only Cisco endpoints but 3rd party too. Also, you can run on bare metal appliances or even in virtualized environments, which gives you more freedom of choice. Considering the amount of model of endpoints available, you can have several options for any use case, from the simplest no display desk phone to a wireless, LCD display, full-featured phone. That also gives you the freedom to select what works best in each environment. If you consider both statements above, you'll see that Cisco Unified Communications Manager as the best ROI on the market. As an example, I can say that we're running instances (both hardware and software) of CUCM for the last 5 years. That's a huge advantage if you compare how short the lifecycle of digital platforms are these days. No upgrades, no parts replacement, no support tickets, no TAC calls, nothing.,Although once you learn how to use the management interface you can do things easily, the look and feel of the management interface has been the same for several years. It's not as modern as the other Cisco platforms and doesn't follow the latest design language we see in other systems. Seems like it got stuck in the past. In our architecture, we use the same CUCM servers for both local and remote deployment because Cisco doesn't offer a version for branch offices that is small enough to fit both in our infrastructure and budget. I know they offer CUCM Express, which is a simpler and more affordable version, but it's not the same as the CUCM. You can't use it as a node for a distributed architecture. It only runs as a standalone system. From a management perspective, it takes a little more to support those kinds of mixed environments. For large deployments, when you need to replace thousands of analog desk phones for new IP Phones, as our company did in the past, it can be very expensive. That's why it took several years until we reached a point where we could afford to replace more than half of our desk phones at once. The investment needed had to be substantial and sometimes it's not easy to justify that kind of investment if you're only updating the technology. As a manufacturing company, I can tell you that for the person who uses the phone on the floor, it doesn't matter if the phone is analog or IP. It must work and that's it. Although Cisco offers some affordable models, they're limited.,10,Having a distributed architecture and phones deployed across all locations gave us a huge ROI along the years. It allowed us not only facilitate communication between offices around the country and the world but at the same time, allowed the company to save a lot of money on phone bills. Imagine, 10 years ago, how expensive international calls were. Well, 10 years ago, we provided our company a way to call office to office, from the US to Brazil, free of charge, no matter how many calls they needed. Due to the robustness of the whole solution, we didn't need to invest either in the core infrastructure or desk phones. We still have working desk phones from 15 years ago, when we did our first deployment and that's a huge ROI.,9,10,Skype for Business (formerly Lync),Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers, Microsoft AzureCisco Unified Communications Manager ReviewI used CUCM until some months ago in a strategic consultancy firm and with many customers within Chile, Argentina, and Bolivia. I was being used by all external consultants and the operative teams within the customers. There were very few business problems and we were very happy with this solution. We faced some delays and latency in some calls but the issues were always related to connectivity or network. It is not a "cheap" solution and the quality of the product was more than satisfactory. If the meeting has more than 199 attendees you will not be able to attend the call.,It is a secure solution. There are no severity 5s vulnerabilities associated with this solution. The quality of the sound is excellent. There are very few solutions with such good quality in terms of latency, quality and delay/response. It is highly scalable and easy to use.,It should have a free or beta version. More than 199 should be allowed to attend the meetings. During the meetings, the users should read the reasons why they are facing issues (connectivity issues, network, latency, poor quality/only sound, etc).,7,Cisco as a brand is always a plus and a positive impact. A negative impact may be considered if the price is too expensive for small companies. I had a very good experience using this solution. The previous solution (skype 4B + outlook) was full of vulnerabilities and the downtime was unacceptable.,RSA Archer and Qualys Container Security (CS),8,TIBCO Spotfire, Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BICost-effective SolutionCisco Unified Communications is being used across the whole organization. It allows any employee to easily communicate to peers fast, cheap and with high quality. It is very simple to connect and interact with each office's local infrastructure. The migration process has been very simple, without having any outstanding items during implementation. It took me an average of 2.5 hours to migrate 50-100 users' offices.,It enabled the company to pursue new collaboration models. Improved communications between key business processes and teams. SImplified administration.,The default messages for voicemails, for example, was one of the most criticized features I received. It was too hard for people to setup from scratch. The display in hardphones sometimes is not easy to understand, especially for business users who don't have an IT background. There are many factory settings/configs that generally make the app hard to attain the company's security policy controls.,9,Improved productivity. Savings on support costs. Nee functionalities being added as the product evolves.,Avaya Aura Call Center Elite and Avaya Aura Workforce Optimization,8,Avaya Aura Workforce Optimization, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), ADP Mobile SolutionsCisco Call ManagerCall Manager is being used by all of the employees of the college. We have just over 500 handsets on campus. We have about 100 active users of Jabber. Facilities will use Jabber on their smartphones, where they do not have cell coverage, but they can get a wifi signal to make support calls.,Voicemail to email Jabber provides some great flexibility There are a lot of options,Can be easier to configure Conflict between single number reach and jabber answering a call on a mobile device Video integration Implementing public trusted certificates.,8,It helped get us to all SIP faster Provided some internal collaboration tools.,Mitel Applications Suite,8Cisco Unified Communications Manager - VoIP Phone Solution on SteroidsWe use Cisco Unified Communications Manager across our entire organization. This includes 30+ sites and about 1,200 phones and users. This allows for easy four digit dialing between offices and provides organization wide voicemail and instant messaging and presents. The system also allows us to receive calls originating from location and answer from another to provide better coverage between departments and regions.,The first strength is this is a VoIP system allowing voice to travel across a data IP network. This makes cabling for phones very easy as the phone will utilize the same network cable that your PC would. This also means less infrastructure to support voice. No need for large PBX systems and closets that hide cabling nightmares. Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a very flexible product. It can be custom configured to best suit your business needs and locations. It can be used as a single tenant or multi tenant system. Each site or office location can be configured separately from others for greater control. Cisco offers a wide range of phone models for various needs and supports many third party SIP phones. There are also multiple ways to integrate with legacy systems during a system migration or when integrating a new company or office.,Licensing can be difficult to understand. Cisco has changed licensing models multiple times over the years and determining what modes is best suited for your company can be difficult. Systems backups need some work. If you are in a multi server geographically separated environment backups can be a problem. All servers are included in a backup session and if servers are across a WAN connection all that data is being pulled across the WAN. I would like to see cloud backup or multi location backup options. When phones move between sites/subnets it would be nice to have a feature that could automatically move the phone configuration from one device pool to another so that location specific options are set for the moved phone.,10,A positive impact would be we no longer need any expertise to manage a legacy PBX system and running out of ports for users. A negative impact would be as we grew we found we needed more expertise with Cisco Unified Communications Manager. This required additional training and time. A positive impact is with many of the other applications that utilize Cisco Unified Communication Manager we have a more collaborative user base.,,10,Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series), Cisco ASA, Cisco Catalyst Switches,600,2,Internal and external communications. (Send and receive phone calls). Internal collaboration with instant messaging and sharing.,Remote access has been a big part of our current usage. Being able to have a phone or softphone at home or anywhere you have internet access. Instant messaging and presence is now a staple with our users.,Tighter integration with other Cisco products. Webex, Teams, Telepresence.,10,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Analyst Reports,I don't believe I would change anything.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was minimal,Setting up the VoIP gateways. This was a new concept to us and we needed additional knowledge to understand the setup. We implemented this solution when the product was young and at that point there was many bugs. We performed upgrades constantly.,10,Yes,No,Cisco has always provided exceptional support whenever I open a ticket. I have used Cisco support many times and have always had great service and knowledable engineers.,Cloning or copying of phones to easy setup,Nothing specific. This is a detailed system and knowledge of VoIP is needed to understand the setup and functionality,No,10Another great communication tool from Cisco!Cisco Unified Communications Manager is being used at my organization for communicating within our organization as well as with others that are external to our organization, including vendors, third parties, or clients. The Call Manager software is being used across the whole organization. The business problem it addresses is that it allows seamless communication within and outside our organization on a day to day basis.,Manages our calls on a day to day basis. Allows us to access internal and external parties with ease. Allows for easy collaboration.,Not all features are easy to use. Better support/instructions/feature documentation.,9,Allows our organization to better communicate with one another. Clear audio and video feed at all times given that you had a good internet connection which turned into more business. Great communication tool all around.,Skype for Business (formerly Lync),9,Polycom RealPresence Immersive Studio, Google Ad Manager, HubSpotCisco IP PhoneCisco is used throughout the entire organization. I believe it was about 5 years (maybe more) when they changed to Cisco and we got new phones. It's nice to be able to log into your voicemail (or even your extension) from a different phone if you need to move. I also like how it's connected to Jabber so I can get to my voicemail or make calls from my computer if I'm away from a phone set. It's pretty easy to use, has a nice display. For our adjunct faculty, it is nice that they can log into the phone and then log off when they are gone, since they use shared space and share phones with one another.,Good for sharing phones. Has the ability to log into a phone to get voicemails and receive calls. Then another person can use the same phone later. Like the connection to Jabber on the computer. Great for when you are at a computer but not by the actual phone. The voicemail settings are great. I love that I can set my vacation voicemail to expire at a certain date and time, so I don't have to remember to change my voicemail back when I return.,One thing I have trouble with is changing my name for the standard greeting. I changed it for internal calls, but I couldn't get it to change overall. I think for the future a touchscreen would be nice.,8,I think it was positive in that it was an upgrade from the system we had before.,8Cisco IP Phone SystemCisco Unified Communications Manager is easy to use, and the phone also connects with my computer. When I am listening to music on my computer when the phone rings, my music is automatically muted. Also, I like the message system. Not only will you have the messages on your phone, but you will also get them in an email. Display is also updated to have your personal information and can be customized to ring through the computer and with different ring tones. I like this system, great for any size business.,It is versatile and it is intergraded into other systems, like our emergency system. Easy to set up and use. Reliable.,None,9,Lower phone cost that is versatile and provides reliable service.,9,Banner Student, Oracle PeopleSoft HCMEfficiency AchievedWe utilize CUCM across all of our corporate contact centers, it allows us to centrally manage our end-points and helps us take care of the MACD support for thousands of users with just one small telecom team.,Simplified on-boarding Allows us to handle a large population of remote agents Provides us with High Availability/ Failover capabilities,Constant need to refresh end-points No granular restriction to self service portal New security only available in newer versions,9,Our ticket completion increased an estimated 30% due to streamlining of support Business is pleased by failover design,OpenText QfinitiA great systemIt is used to solve the problem of seeing if a customer was hung up on, if our reps are taking calls and how many calls they have taken. It is used by our whole organization but mostly by our tech department. We use it also to see how many calls were taken in a day, week or month.,It shows the calls that come in. How long a call lasted. It also shows how many calls a rep took that day.,I would like it to show the individual when I select their name.,10,I have not had any negative impact.Managing Unified Communications everywhere made simpleWe chose, designed and deployed a Cicso UCM based solution, globally, to provide us our collaboration backbone and make staying in touch real-time real. Spanning 4 continents and multiple timezones can sometimes make conferencing tricky, but with Webex and Cisco MRA this is easily overcome and allows us to stay in touch no matter where we are.,Versatile Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones Easily expandable,Expanding hardware is expensive. Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.,7,Delivering information in real-time User availability and communication scalability at your fingertips,Cisco Unified Contact CenterCall Manager Use in the EnterpriseWe use Call Manager to provide our enterprise with voice connectivity. It allows us to centrally administer over 180 offices and close 500 remote workers.,Call Manager has easily scaled with our growing business. Ease of deployment to end users. Ease of management for phone and it’s firmware.,The GUI interface could certainly use a refresh. It’s been a few years since there update. Integrate management of other UC solutions (i.e. Unity, Emergency Responder),10,Positive ROI impact has been the reduction of local voice circuits and equipment.,Avaya Business Communications Manager and Microsoft Unified Communications as a Service,Microsoft Office 365Cisco Unified Communications Manager Makes Our Phone Calls Braindead SimpleCisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the firm's on-premise phone switch. We use it in all our offices in several states tied back to our production data center. We also use the voicemail, presence and Jabber features integrated with the product. All firm phone calls, voice conferencing and internal texting are made via this product.,Cisco Unified Communications Manager is extremely reliable as a phone switch should be. We have never experienced downtime attributable to it. The Cisco platform is easy for users to learn and utilize. Integration with voicemail and directory services are well done and easy to use. Integration with Jabber text services and presence are handy time savers and conveniences.,It can be tricky to implement emergency services through the product (think 911 calls). Would like to see additional enhanced conference calling capabilities to potentially replace paid services. Phone sets can be expensive when purchased in small quantities. More soft buttons for additional saved phone numbers would be handy.,10,The RFP response from our Cisco partner for the Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) was less expensive than the competitors. Ongoing maintenance for the product has also been competitively priced and our warranty and maintenance programs have covered all our needs. We are able to avoid some external conference calling services by using the built-in features of Call Manager. We were able to avoid an add-on product for internal chats by using the integrated Jabber product.,Avaya Business Communications Manager, Mitel Applications Suite and MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel),Adobe Acrobat DC, Microsoft SQL Server, FortiClientCisco Unified Communications Manager Handles all the CallsWe are using the tool across our entire organization. We have all our branches setup with 5 digits dialing from every desk set. It takes care of branch to branch voice calling. Also, we have all of our phone lines connected to the system so that we can manage call flow.,Multiple calls coming in at the same time to different locations. System is easily customizable. We can make the system operate differently from one location to the other. The system is robust and the hunt groups are able to be set up ad hoc which is great.,The online interface has not been updated for a couple of years. This could be worthwhile. Ability to log in to the system via mobile devices and access and update as required.,10,Real ROI with existing long-distance costs eliminated. Cisco IP phones are less money than the old Norstar so per set we are spending less on the unit as well as support costs to maintain the old phone system. Ability to run reports with the interface to our call reporting application.,10Cisco Call ManagerWe are using Call Manager as our main VOIP system across our whole organization. We have a fault tolerant phone system that is more stable and versatile than previous system.,Versatile Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones Easily expandable,Updates for new phones are not easy to implement. Expanding hardware is expensive. Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.,9,Going from an old Centrex system to VOIP saved a lot of money. Being able to move the phones anywhere with a network connection saves from having to contract a telecom technician to come move phone lines. Moving to CCM has put us on a path to stay current in our telecom environment.,Avaya,Microsoft Exchange, Symantec Endpoint Protection, Microsoft BIOpinions on CUCM from a Genesys PureConnect DeveloperOur organization is using CUCM primarily for PBX functionality but also incorporating the end user management for Cisco Jabber and some auto attendant functionality in conjunction with UCCX. We are late in the process of transitioning from Avaya to Cisco and a separate contact center platform. We are adopting CUCM throughout our entire organization, even working to replace remote key systems with the primary goal of having centralized support, less reliance on expensive small vendors and having a homogenized environment, simplifying support.,The web GUI for management may feel a bit clunky at first for being a modern application, but the navigation features (back, dependency views) quickly differentiate it from other environments. Good API documentation on DEVNET and a fairly strong supporting community. It plays fairly well in its own ecosystem (UCCX, IM and Presence, Unity) so the breadth of the ecosystem makes for a lot of functionality being available to you with adjuncts.,The AXL API for Call Manager feels particularly dated. The fact that it hasn't been deprecated for a more modern REST/JSON supporting API is a little lackluster. CUCM's solution to elements missing API coverage is to open SQL queries via the API. This seems lazy of them rather than just increasing API coverage. I know I'm hammering on the API's here, but the disparity between all of their applications' API seems like a terrible design decision. AXL is very different from Unity which is very different from Finesse. This creates a barrier to learning the ecosystem that just doesn't feel necessary. The dial plan feels dated, clunky and almost indecipherable compared to some more streamlined applications.,9,The Cisco TAC is fairly efficient at identifying bugs and Cisco is quick to develop fixes for said bugs, leaving minimal impact to SLAs. The ease of deployment and configuring new users reduced on-boarding time in comparison to our legacy Avaya solution. The ease of maintenance has reduced labor hours required for things like upgrades and routine reboots of equipment.,Genesys PureConnect,Genesys PureConnect, Genesys PureCloud, Microsoft Visual Studio CodeReview of Callmanager in a global setupI'm using the Call Manager as central call control solution for our global voice and video endpoints including our Jabber clients. It's the central call control solution for all locations worldwide and helps us to provide a harmonized IT workplace for all users. Besides the standardization of the workplace, it helps to improve service processes through centralized management of the solution.,Large ecosystem to integrate additional solutions like for DECT or emergency services. If it's not included as a basic feature, there is a large possibility that a Cisco solution partner has a fitting solution. High flexibility Long support times,Updates take too long and too many steps Administrative possibilities, many features of video endpoints cannot be configured via Call Manager Licensing - it's too complex because of the many different models,10,Fast return of investment by replacing existing solutions with high service costs Faster rollout of new location through a centralized approach Set the base for new services,,Jabber, Webex Meetings, Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series)CUCM isn't just for Call Routing! Route your faxes and even manage PA Systems!Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM) Call Manager is used to manage all our phone numbers throughout our organization. Additionally, it is used to route a portion of fax numbers to our eFax server (StoneFax) as well as a recent implementation of Informacast which is used as our PA system at our school sites. It routes all our calls, digital and analog throughout our whole school district.,Ease of reporting. Able to obtain bulk reporting on current extensions assigned by location, which is very helpful to us as we have 21 different school sites. It makes it easier to manage when we are working on particular projects. Extension Mobility is a very awesome feature of CUCM that allows users to login to any phone on our network with their own extension. This has served particularly well with our school counselors that roam to different school sites. It's easier for them to provide staff and parents one phone number to contact them at, as opposed to several numbers from all the sites they visit. Cisco Meet Me is another awesome addition within the CUCM that allows for conference calling within our own phone system. No need to purchase a 3rd party phone conferencing when it can be implemented within your own infrastructure. It is extremely easy to configure and has been very beneficial for the executive staff in our district.,CUCM can improve by actually showing the administrator which DID numbers are available for use. We have a large block of DID numbers provided by AT&T, but when configuring them on the phone system we have no idea which ones are actually available for use. The worst thing is, if it's not configured on call manager BUT it is being used as a voicemail line on Cisco unity, I have no idea until I cross check the number on the Unity Server. It's really cumbersome having to go back and forth between unity and CUCM to ensure I'm actually configuring an available phone number. Improvement with CUCM and Unity configuration. Having to configure phone numbers and voicemails on two separate systems wastes a lot of time. And there have been times where a phone number had been configured, but we forgot to attach the voicemail inbox to it, leaving the user without voicemails. I hope this can be improved in the future. I'm not against having two separate systems, but I wish there was a better way to integrate the two especially when it comes to voicemail management. Improve on the User Interface. If you have no familiarity with CUCM, it is extremely hard to navigate and find the settings that you need. Unfortunately I did not receive much training, but the system wasn't that intuitive to be able to navigate easily. I had to youtube and google many things in order to make sense of the layout. Additionally, the Cisco user guides are extremely hard to follow as well.,7Cisco Call Manager, a robust phone systemWe use Cisco Unified Communications Manager for our Phone system. We have an on-premise phone system. We have 2 nodes. A Pub and a Sub so if a link goes out our off-site Sub takes over and our phone system still works. We also use Cisco Unity for our voice mail.,Cisco Jabber is a great application that can be used with the Cisco phone system. You can do audio or audio and video. It also allows for chat. Hunt groups. You can have multiple people in the same group to ring multiple phones at once. Using Cisco Unity with Call Manager you can create Auto Attendants and call menus.,Coming in brand new to using Call Manager it takes a bit to get to know it. Definitely get with someone who has experience and can learn how to manage it. I started 1.5 years ago with Call Manager and I'm decent now but I still have access to a tech for the complicated stuff. Document how to do everything and it will be easy to repeat! It's very easy to make a mistake in setting up an extension. It's hard to think of another Con. The biggest thing is learning how to do it. You don't need a certification to learn but it is best to learn from someone who has the knowledge and document as you go. The best way is to have them walk you through all the fixes and you learn as you fix things.,9,Positive impact - The phone system works. Negative impact - When it goes down you don't have phones. However, it may not be the phone system but the router that gives you issues so you have to troubleshoot both. Positive impact - Except for adding and removing users, you don't have to touch it often.,,Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Barracuda Email Security Service, VIPRE, Microsoft SQL Server, Citrix NetScaler, Swiftpage ACT!, Microsoft ExchangeCisco UCMCisco UCM is our main phone system, we have integration with AD and have just started using/testing Jabber with mobile phones for our IT department. It has been working great allowing me to answer my desk phone from anywhere. Management of users is simple and efficient.,Easy of use Robust More features than you could ask for,Cost Tech support can be a bear Initial setup can be difficult,9,Out of the box there is some cost, but once up and running it takes care of its self,Windows Server, VMware ESXiReview of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)We use CUCM to manage our Cisco phone environment of roughly 1200 phones. This includes roughly 100 emergency phones of various types. We integrate directly with Exchange 2016 for Unified Communication, which allows voicemail to go directly to the user's inbox. (We do not use Unity.) We have around half dozen IP phone models (7941/42, 6921, etc.).,It is good at allowing for specific phone configurations. If you want to get granular, this is the tool for you. The single number reach feature works well, allowing simultaneous ringing to outside devices, such as a mobile phone or home phone. The Cisco IP Communicator application is great. I use it every day to emulate my physical phone from my laptop. I have used it extensively when working from home or at our co-location where cell service is not available. I just connect to the company VPN, launch the application, and use the phone just like it was on my desk. It even looks the same.,The user interface is not intuitive; if you don't know what you are doing, a single, small change can become a major problem. Provisioning a single device requires lots of clicks and manual input of data; easy to misspell something by accident. I find the provisioning process to be rather time consuming, but that may be because unified communications is not my primary role. CUCM is not particularly friendly to non-Cisco hardware; you can configure other makes (we use Polycom for conference phones), but the configuration process is pretty involved, and requires time and experience.,6,It has successfully provided us with a solid UC platform to host our VoIP phones. I consider that a net positive. It is rather time consuming to manager on a daily basis, which I would consider either neutral or negative, depending on how you look at it.,Fortinet FortiGate, Barracuda Web Filter, Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Sophos Endpoint ProtectionCisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM)Communications Manager is a very complex and full featured telephony Enterprise solution. My company uses this product to deploy IP phones and analog telephony products to multiple sites across the state. CUCM is very stable and handles our 20k+ phone deployment very well. I would recommend some basic training before deploying or administrating this solution. It can be quite difficult to spin up for the new user. We use Communications Manager with Unity Connection and Contact Center Express for a complete voice solution.,Flexible configurations Accepts 3rd party SIP devices Great support from Cisco,Cost Difficult setup without training Administration slows down with concurrent users in database (10+),9,Good return on investment in the long run Simplifies purchasing End users enjoy the experience of using the products Respected brand,,Cisco Unified Contact Center, Aruba Networks Wireless, Pinnacle, Cisco Session Border ControllerCisco UCM - Great tool for simple VOIP managementWe use Cisco Unified Call Manager across the system to manage our VOIP phones. This system is great because it is a fairly simple tool to use in regards to managing phones. It also is able to allow troubleshooting from any location with little to no interaction needed in person at the device.,Remote Troubleshooting Remote support of devices Organization of the company's phone lines and devices Ability to copy existing profiles from other phones for fast deployment Certificate Deployment,The web interface is a little dated and sometimes confusing Changes sometimes have to be saved two times which is repetitive Some of the descriptors in the drop downs are not clear Sometimes interface can be slow,8,Little to no downtime of system Very little time required to manage and implement changes on phones Features and options inside the system should be able to customize to reduce the fields when editing phone and extensions to prevent confusion,,AirWatch, Remote Desktop Manager, MS SharePoint, ServiceNow, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Exchange, Skype for Business, Adobe Acrobat DC, Pluralsight, LogMeIn Rescue, Microsoft Office 2016Cisco Unified Communications Manager, all your communication needs in one package.I've worked very closely with Cisco Unified Communications Manager thanks to a number of our clients. They use it for everything from something as basic to a phone call, to video conferences, and even down to basic instant messaging inside the corporation. From a management perspective, it's intuitive to administer, easy to get set up, and very robust for my client's communication needs. Overall I consider this a great product.,From an administration perspective the product is incredibly intuitive, and a joy to manage. Training a new user on the software, and hardware takes no time at all and Cisco provides a lot of detailed information to pass along to the end users. The ability to have everything practically seamless makes this a wonderful solution. From basic telephony, video conferencing, to instant messaging either in the office, or on the road, having unified presence and voice/video capabilities has been a huge selling point for our customers.,When I first started using the product the learning curve was a little steep, but overall once you take the time to learn the Call Manager it's incredibly intuitive. I don't know that there's much I think could need improvement. I've had end users complain about having too many options at first, but once they start using more of then this complaint usually disappears. I'm not sure this is something that really needs improvement, but I list this for lack of other ideas for improvement. Compared to other systems I think Cisco hit the mark on this one, and I don't have many areas that I would consider improving upon.,10,The clients I have using the system say it has helped consolidate expenses where before they were using multiple service for all their communication needs, have been able to wrap it into one package and overall save on costs. In consolidating services we have been able to save time from a management perspective. Before we would have to manage multiple systems to meet our clients needs, where as now were able to provided everything from a single service. Overall consolidating costs from multiple products, to a single product has been a huge cost savings, as well as saving time, and money from a support and administration perspective saving our clients time and money.,Skype for Business and Digium Asterisk,Digium Asterisk, Skype for Business, Digium Switchvox
Unspecified
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)
93 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)
93 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 93 vetted Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Jane Updegraff profile photo
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CUCM on-premise as our voice over IP (VoIP) solution, sometimes others will refer to it as a "PBX" or "voice services" software. CUCM is one of several components that work together to provide telephony across the entire enterprise. CUCM ties into and controls, at least in part, all of the other communications components that we use, such as our voicemail, emergency call handling, audio conferencing, teleconferencing and video calling, paging systems and PBX operator, which of which work together with CUCM being the "conductor". It enables us to make phone calls to each other and the rest of the world, just like an analog phone, except that voip calls can include extra stuff other than sound, such as video.
  • CUCM provides excellent call quality
  • CUCM gives visibility into call handling and call records
  • CUCM allows us to control everything about our voice communications
  • CUCM is overly complex and requires a very capable engineer to maintain it. Similarly, implementing anything new requires a great deal of specialized knowledge of CUCM.
  • CUCM is difficult to troubleshoot because of it's complexity.
  • CUCM is expensive licensing and they nickel and dime you with a plethora of tiny little license charges for every little feature. They have the most convoluted licensing models, ever, for their CU products in general.
CUCM is probably only very well-suited for the enterprise that must have complete, total control over everything about their communications system, wants to host their phone servers on-premise and wants to have every telephony and communications capability that exists. If you don't have these three needs, you should be looking at cloud hosted communications instead. That's because CUCM takes a great deal of specialized skill and plenty of engineer time to configure, maintain and operate. The server platform used by CUCM (and those of all of the other CU components) is not user-friendly, with interface designs that have not been updated for the 25 years that I've been setting up and maintaining them. That said, it's extremely customizable and inter-operable with just about any other communications component, as long as you have the skill to customize it or connect it. It's also very expensive and the licensing is literally incomprehensible.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Eduardo Viero profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is possibly the most widely used IT infrastructure solution across our company by far. We started deploying it modestly, in 2004, for a small portion of our users in one department, and for some IT users. Since then, we started to increase the adoption, mostly when we had new departments or office layout changes, where it was easier and cheaper to deploy. At some port, we also started to deploy it in remote sites, across the globe. That movement allowed us to have a seamless phone experience and allowed our users to communicate across the globe. The US office could easily call HQ in Brazil without any cost per minute. That was a game-changer and allowed us to promote more with fast communication between offices. At some point, we decided to replace all the old TDM PBXs and that bunch of cables for the small and simple UCS servers. Besides the fact that it saved a lot of real estate in our datacenter also saved us time by letting us administer on a single console. Those were some of the business problems we solved during these past 15 years with Cisco.
  • The solution is probably one of the most robust IT solutions we have today. Although it works 24/7, it never required a reset "just because it needs to free memory" for example. In our deployment, the servers never went down due to a bug or software/hardware problem. We only reboot when we need to update or install some software fix.
  • Compared to other platforms on the market, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is the most complete and flexible one. You can manage not only Cisco endpoints but 3rd party too. Also, you can run on bare metal appliances or even in virtualized environments, which gives you more freedom of choice. Considering the amount of model of endpoints available, you can have several options for any use case, from the simplest no display desk phone to a wireless, LCD display, full-featured phone. That also gives you the freedom to select what works best in each environment.
  • If you consider both statements above, you'll see that Cisco Unified Communications Manager as the best ROI on the market. As an example, I can say that we're running instances (both hardware and software) of CUCM for the last 5 years. That's a huge advantage if you compare how short the lifecycle of digital platforms are these days. No upgrades, no parts replacement, no support tickets, no TAC calls, nothing.
  • Although once you learn how to use the management interface you can do things easily, the look and feel of the management interface has been the same for several years. It's not as modern as the other Cisco platforms and doesn't follow the latest design language we see in other systems. Seems like it got stuck in the past.
  • In our architecture, we use the same CUCM servers for both local and remote deployment because Cisco doesn't offer a version for branch offices that is small enough to fit both in our infrastructure and budget. I know they offer CUCM Express, which is a simpler and more affordable version, but it's not the same as the CUCM. You can't use it as a node for a distributed architecture. It only runs as a standalone system. From a management perspective, it takes a little more to support those kinds of mixed environments.
  • For large deployments, when you need to replace thousands of analog desk phones for new IP Phones, as our company did in the past, it can be very expensive. That's why it took several years until we reached a point where we could afford to replace more than half of our desk phones at once. The investment needed had to be substantial and sometimes it's not easy to justify that kind of investment if you're only updating the technology. As a manufacturing company, I can tell you that for the person who uses the phone on the floor, it doesn't matter if the phone is analog or IP. It must work and that's it. Although Cisco offers some affordable models, they're limited.
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is well suited for companies who rely on phone communication across several locations. You can deploy a distributed architecture that could support thousands of extensions in multiple sites and manage all of them in just one single pane of glass. Because the investment needed to create this infrastructure is considerably high, it may be not suitable for small businesses, especially in developing countries.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
Juan Ignacio Zappacosta profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used CUCM until some months ago in a strategic consultancy firm and with many customers within Chile, Argentina, and Bolivia. I was being used by all external consultants and the operative teams within the customers. There were very few business problems and we were very happy with this solution. We faced some delays and latency in some calls but the issues were always related to connectivity or network. It is not a "cheap" solution and the quality of the product was more than satisfactory. If the meeting has more than 199 attendees you will not be able to attend the call.
  • It is a secure solution. There are no severity 5s vulnerabilities associated with this solution.
  • The quality of the sound is excellent. There are very few solutions with such good quality in terms of latency, quality and delay/response.
  • It is highly scalable and easy to use.
  • It should have a free or beta version.
  • More than 199 should be allowed to attend the meetings.
  • During the meetings, the users should read the reasons why they are facing issues (connectivity issues, network, latency, poor quality/only sound, etc).
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a good solution for large and medium companies since big companies don't face many connectivity issues. It has everything you need, you can bring people together anytime, anywhere and on any device. Small companies and families are not under the scope of this application since is not that cheap and it has no beta or free version. I highly recommend to work on some enhancements of the look and feel and if it is possible in the integration to other apps.
Read Juan Ignacio Zappacosta's full review
Patricio Santirso profile photo
October 03, 2019

Cost-effective Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications is being used across the whole organization. It allows any employee to easily communicate to peers fast, cheap and with high quality. It is very simple to connect and interact with each office's local infrastructure. The migration process has been very simple, without having any outstanding items during implementation. It took me an average of 2.5 hours to migrate 50-100 users' offices.
  • It enabled the company to pursue new collaboration models.
  • Improved communications between key business processes and teams.
  • SImplified administration.
  • The default messages for voicemails, for example, was one of the most criticized features I received. It was too hard for people to setup from scratch.
  • The display in hardphones sometimes is not easy to understand, especially for business users who don't have an IT background.
  • There are many factory settings/configs that generally make the app hard to attain the company's security policy controls.
The simplicity to do call forwarding and generating escalation groups is a plus. The interface could be a lot more user-friendly for hardphones.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
Lee Weers profile photo
October 03, 2019

Cisco Call Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Call Manager is being used by all of the employees of the college. We have just over 500 handsets on campus. We have about 100 active users of Jabber. Facilities will use Jabber on their smartphones, where they do not have cell coverage, but they can get a wifi signal to make support calls.
  • Voicemail to email
  • Jabber provides some great flexibility
  • There are a lot of options
  • Can be easier to configure
  • Conflict between single number reach and jabber answering a call on a mobile device
  • Video integration
  • Implementing public trusted certificates.
I think it works well for larger environments. I would not use it in small office settings. It can require some dedicated staff. We have not found a great outbound calling capability that is suited for a size of 15 callers.
Read Lee Weers's full review
Brian Munn profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager across our entire organization. This includes 30+ sites and about 1,200 phones and users. This allows for easy four digit dialing between offices and provides organization wide voicemail and instant messaging and presents. The system also allows us to receive calls originating from location and answer from another to provide better coverage between departments and regions.
  • The first strength is this is a VoIP system allowing voice to travel across a data IP network. This makes cabling for phones very easy as the phone will utilize the same network cable that your PC would. This also means less infrastructure to support voice. No need for large PBX systems and closets that hide cabling nightmares.
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a very flexible product. It can be custom configured to best suit your business needs and locations. It can be used as a single tenant or multi tenant system. Each site or office location can be configured separately from others for greater control.
  • Cisco offers a wide range of phone models for various needs and supports many third party SIP phones. There are also multiple ways to integrate with legacy systems during a system migration or when integrating a new company or office.
  • Licensing can be difficult to understand. Cisco has changed licensing models multiple times over the years and determining what modes is best suited for your company can be difficult.
  • Systems backups need some work. If you are in a multi server geographically separated environment backups can be a problem. All servers are included in a backup session and if servers are across a WAN connection all that data is being pulled across the WAN. I would like to see cloud backup or multi location backup options.
  • When phones move between sites/subnets it would be nice to have a feature that could automatically move the phone configuration from one device pool to another so that location specific options are set for the moved phone.
For larger companies that need a VoIP solution, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is hands down the best solution. It will grow with your company and provide many features your users currently need or will ask for. There are options for smaller companies but with these options, there are features that are left out. For some, this may not be an issue but for others, it could be.

Read Brian Munn's full review
Ariel Lam profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is being used at my organization for communicating within our organization as well as with others that are external to our organization, including vendors, third parties, or clients. The Call Manager software is being used across the whole organization. The business problem it addresses is that it allows seamless communication within and outside our organization on a day to day basis.
  • Manages our calls on a day to day basis.
  • Allows us to access internal and external parties with ease.
  • Allows for easy collaboration.
  • Not all features are easy to use.
  • Better support/instructions/feature documentation.
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a great tool for any organization. It is a day-to-day tool that can be used in order to manage and take calls with peers and clients. It does what the software promotes and it does a great job. As for scenarios where it is less appropriate, I cannot think of any.
Read Ariel Lam's full review
Amanda Carpenter profile photo
September 25, 2019

Cisco IP Phone

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco is used throughout the entire organization. I believe it was about 5 years (maybe more) when they changed to Cisco and we got new phones. It's nice to be able to log into your voicemail (or even your extension) from a different phone if you need to move. I also like how it's connected to Jabber so I can get to my voicemail or make calls from my computer if I'm away from a phone set. It's pretty easy to use, has a nice display. For our adjunct faculty, it is nice that they can log into the phone and then log off when they are gone, since they use shared space and share phones with one another.
  • Good for sharing phones. Has the ability to log into a phone to get voicemails and receive calls. Then another person can use the same phone later.
  • Like the connection to Jabber on the computer. Great for when you are at a computer but not by the actual phone.
  • The voicemail settings are great. I love that I can set my vacation voicemail to expire at a certain date and time, so I don't have to remember to change my voicemail back when I return.
  • One thing I have trouble with is changing my name for the standard greeting. I changed it for internal calls, but I couldn't get it to change overall.
  • I think for the future a touchscreen would be nice.
It's great for in the office use. If you're dialing into a meeting you have the ability to listen but mute yourself. You have speaker and headset options, which is nice. The different voicemail features are particularly helpful when you are traveling or out of the office for different reasons. You can even save some of your away voicemails for future use.
Read Amanda Carpenter's full review
Christina O'Steen profile photo
September 27, 2019

Cisco IP Phone System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is easy to use, and the phone also connects with my computer. When I am listening to music on my computer when the phone rings, my music is automatically muted. Also, I like the message system. Not only will you have the messages on your phone, but you will also get them in an email. Display is also updated to have your personal information and can be customized to ring through the computer and with different ring tones. I like this system, great for any size business.
  • It is versatile and it is intergraded into other systems, like our emergency system.
  • Easy to set up and use.
  • Reliable.
  • None
It is well suited in the university system. Easy to set up and use from the user standpoint. Versatile and very reliable, communications are vital for any business, you need to have a system that is reliable. This system is versatile and can be personalized for each person. Great product all around.
Read Christina O'Steen's full review
Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez) profile photo
June 12, 2019

Efficiency Achieved

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize CUCM across all of our corporate contact centers, it allows us to centrally manage our end-points and helps us take care of the MACD support for thousands of users with just one small telecom team.
  • Simplified on-boarding
  • Allows us to handle a large population of remote agents
  • Provides us with High Availability/ Failover capabilities
  • Constant need to refresh end-points
  • No granular restriction to self service portal
  • New security only available in newer versions
Our specific instance is one where we have several corporate contact centers that have been unified utilizing CM. It has been very beneficial due to simplifying support due to standardization, centralized provisioning, and speeds turnaround time for ticket work.
Read Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez)'s full review
Stephanie Chapman profile photo
June 06, 2019

A great system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to solve the problem of seeing if a customer was hung up on, if our reps are taking calls and how many calls they have taken. It is used by our whole organization but mostly by our tech department. We use it also to see how many calls were taken in a day, week or month.
  • It shows the calls that come in.
  • How long a call lasted.
  • It also shows how many calls a rep took that day.
  • I would like it to show the individual when I select their name.
It is very suited for our company for everything we need it for. The most specific scenario is being able to see if a specific number has called into our office and who they spoke to if they did. It's helpful because we can determine if someone is doing their job.
Read Stephanie Chapman's full review
Renier Geldenhuys profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose, designed and deployed a Cicso UCM based solution, globally, to provide us our collaboration backbone and make staying in touch real-time real. Spanning 4 continents and multiple timezones can sometimes make conferencing tricky, but with Webex and Cisco MRA this is easily overcome and allows us to stay in touch no matter where we are.
  • Versatile
  • Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones
  • Easily expandable
  • Expanding hardware is expensive.
  • Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.
Automatic call distribution within UCM could do with a tweak to allow for more visibility of real-time call flows.
Read Renier Geldenhuys's full review
Shawn Dietrich profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Call Manager to provide our enterprise with voice connectivity. It allows us to centrally administer over 180 offices and close 500 remote workers.
  • Call Manager has easily scaled with our growing business.
  • Ease of deployment to end users.
  • Ease of management for phone and it’s firmware.
  • The GUI interface could certainly use a refresh. It’s been a few years since there update.
  • Integrate management of other UC solutions (i.e. Unity, Emergency Responder)
Well suited for any enterprise that is looking to centralize disparate voice systems and are looking for a gig level of control from end to end.
Read Shawn Dietrich's full review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the firm's on-premise phone switch. We use it in all our offices in several states tied back to our production data center. We also use the voicemail, presence and Jabber features integrated with the product. All firm phone calls, voice conferencing and internal texting are made via this product.
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager is extremely reliable as a phone switch should be. We have never experienced downtime attributable to it.
  • The Cisco platform is easy for users to learn and utilize.
  • Integration with voicemail and directory services are well done and easy to use.
  • Integration with Jabber text services and presence are handy time savers and conveniences.
  • It can be tricky to implement emergency services through the product (think 911 calls).
  • Would like to see additional enhanced conference calling capabilities to potentially replace paid services.
  • Phone sets can be expensive when purchased in small quantities.
  • More soft buttons for additional saved phone numbers would be handy.
This platform is highly recommended for any middle to large size enterprise that needs a comprehensive on-premise phone switch that is stable, highly reliable and offers the features that most heavy voice callers demand. It can handle thousands of phones spread over a large number of physical locations, is easy to configure and manage and provides methods for reporting call information. The user interface is intuitive and requires little training and the phones themselves are attractive elements of a working office.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the tool across our entire organization. We have all our branches setup with 5 digits dialing from every desk set. It takes care of branch to branch voice calling. Also, we have all of our phone lines connected to the system so that we can manage call flow.
  • Multiple calls coming in at the same time to different locations.
  • System is easily customizable. We can make the system operate differently from one location to the other.
  • The system is robust and the hunt groups are able to be set up ad hoc which is great.
  • The online interface has not been updated for a couple of years. This could be worthwhile.
  • Ability to log in to the system via mobile devices and access and update as required.
This system is well suited for multiple location environments and organizations that would otherwise have long-distance surcharges. We can easily scale up the system and add multiple phones and additional routers without issue which makes the deployment of even temporary offices great. We can connect the routers and assign the 5 digit dialing setup the dial peers and we are good to go.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Dallio profile photo
October 25, 2018

Cisco Call Manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Call Manager as our main VOIP system across our whole organization. We have a fault tolerant phone system that is more stable and versatile than previous system.
  • Versatile
  • Easy setup and configuration of new and existing phones
  • Easily expandable
  • Updates for new phones are not easy to implement.
  • Expanding hardware is expensive.
  • Adding licenses is very confusing because of the license tier system they have in place.
If you are looking to switch to VOIP this is a very stable solution. I also like the fact that the servers are virtualized.
Read Michael Dallio's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using CUCM primarily for PBX functionality but also incorporating the end user management for Cisco Jabber and some auto attendant functionality in conjunction with UCCX. We are late in the process of transitioning from Avaya to Cisco and a separate contact center platform. We are adopting CUCM throughout our entire organization, even working to replace remote key systems with the primary goal of having centralized support, less reliance on expensive small vendors and having a homogenized environment, simplifying support.
  • The web GUI for management may feel a bit clunky at first for being a modern application, but the navigation features (back, dependency views) quickly differentiate it from other environments.
  • Good API documentation on DEVNET and a fairly strong supporting community.
  • It plays fairly well in its own ecosystem (UCCX, IM and Presence, Unity) so the breadth of the ecosystem makes for a lot of functionality being available to you with adjuncts.
  • The AXL API for Call Manager feels particularly dated. The fact that it hasn't been deprecated for a more modern REST/JSON supporting API is a little lackluster.
  • CUCM's solution to elements missing API coverage is to open SQL queries via the API. This seems lazy of them rather than just increasing API coverage.
  • I know I'm hammering on the API's here, but the disparity between all of their applications' API seems like a terrible design decision. AXL is very different from Unity which is very different from Finesse. This creates a barrier to learning the ecosystem that just doesn't feel necessary.
  • The dial plan feels dated, clunky and almost indecipherable compared to some more streamlined applications.
CUCM is a solid enterprise PBX that does what it sets out to do very well. If you are a large enterprise or a collection of entities looking for a central and consistent deployment, it is hard to argue against CUCM. If you are a small entity setting up office phones, the cost could be an obvious barrier to entry, especially with smaller companies offering services that don't require physical phones or have an onsite data center presence.

That said, if you are in that situation it is worth looking at Cisco's broadsoft solution, as it is aimed at smaller and less complex customers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using the Call Manager as central call control solution for our global voice and video endpoints including our Jabber clients. It's the central call control solution for all locations worldwide and helps us to provide a harmonized IT workplace for all users. Besides the standardization of the workplace, it helps to improve service processes through centralized management of the solution.
  • Large ecosystem to integrate additional solutions like for DECT or emergency services. If it's not included as a basic feature, there is a large possibility that a Cisco solution partner has a fitting solution.
  • High flexibility
  • Long support times
  • Updates take too long and too many steps
  • Administrative possibilities, many features of video endpoints cannot be configured via Call Manager
  • Licensing - it's too complex because of the many different models
Enterprises with many locations searching for a centralized on-premises solution which are interested in standardization and central management. I would recommend it less for small business with one location because of the complexity to implement and the resource requirements. For smaller solutions other products would fit better.
For video only solutions maybe an expressway as call control would be sufficient and Call Manager too oversized.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (CUCM) Call Manager is used to manage all our phone numbers throughout our organization. Additionally, it is used to route a portion of fax numbers to our eFax server (StoneFax) as well as a recent implementation of Informacast which is used as our PA system at our school sites. It routes all our calls, digital and analog throughout our whole school district.
  • Ease of reporting. Able to obtain bulk reporting on current extensions assigned by location, which is very helpful to us as we have 21 different school sites. It makes it easier to manage when we are working on particular projects.
  • Extension Mobility is a very awesome feature of CUCM that allows users to login to any phone on our network with their own extension. This has served particularly well with our school counselors that roam to different school sites. It's easier for them to provide staff and parents one phone number to contact them at, as opposed to several numbers from all the sites they visit.
  • Cisco Meet Me is another awesome addition within the CUCM that allows for conference calling within our own phone system. No need to purchase a 3rd party phone conferencing when it can be implemented within your own infrastructure. It is extremely easy to configure and has been very beneficial for the executive staff in our district.
  • CUCM can improve by actually showing the administrator which DID numbers are available for use. We have a large block of DID numbers provided by AT&T, but when configuring them on the phone system we have no idea which ones are actually available for use. The worst thing is, if it's not configured on call manager BUT it is being used as a voicemail line on Cisco unity, I have no idea until I cross check the number on the Unity Server. It's really cumbersome having to go back and forth between unity and CUCM to ensure I'm actually configuring an available phone number.
  • Improvement with CUCM and Unity configuration. Having to configure phone numbers and voicemails on two separate systems wastes a lot of time. And there have been times where a phone number had been configured, but we forgot to attach the voicemail inbox to it, leaving the user without voicemails. I hope this can be improved in the future. I'm not against having two separate systems, but I wish there was a better way to integrate the two especially when it comes to voicemail management.
  • Improve on the User Interface. If you have no familiarity with CUCM, it is extremely hard to navigate and find the settings that you need. Unfortunately I did not receive much training, but the system wasn't that intuitive to be able to navigate easily. I had to youtube and google many things in order to make sense of the layout. Additionally, the Cisco user guides are extremely hard to follow as well.
CUCM is very well suited for several types of other tools (Example: eFax and Informacast). We were able to use our existing system to upgrade our PA system and implement a "panic button" alert across our districts to notify front office staff of an issue occurring in a classroom. It's very useful to be able to have one system in place that can be configured to route faxes and handle our PA system as well.

CUCM isn't appropriate for smaller organizations, in my opinion. It's a really robust system and if it is needed for a small amount of call routing, I think it would be too much work to establish servers and switches for CUCM in a small organization.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Murphy profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Communications Manager for our Phone system. We have an on-premise phone system. We have 2 nodes. A Pub and a Sub so if a link goes out our off-site Sub takes over and our phone system still works. We also use Cisco Unity for our voice mail.
  • Cisco Jabber is a great application that can be used with the Cisco phone system. You can do audio or audio and video. It also allows for chat.
  • Hunt groups. You can have multiple people in the same group to ring multiple phones at once.
  • Using Cisco Unity with Call Manager you can create Auto Attendants and call menus.
  • Coming in brand new to using Call Manager it takes a bit to get to know it. Definitely get with someone who has experience and can learn how to manage it. I started 1.5 years ago with Call Manager and I'm decent now but I still have access to a tech for the complicated stuff. Document how to do everything and it will be easy to repeat!
  • It's very easy to make a mistake in setting up an extension.
  • It's hard to think of another Con. The biggest thing is learning how to do it. You don't need a certification to learn but it is best to learn from someone who has the knowledge and document as you go. The best way is to have them walk you through all the fixes and you learn as you fix things.
Call Manager is a great use when you have multiple sites. Also when you have a small IT department. It is very robust and once programmed correctly it pretty much operates well on its own without having to be touched. It's a great "set it and forget it" solution. Definitely pay to have someone help install and train!
Read Andrew Murphy's full review
John Van Lieshout profile photo
July 10, 2018

Cisco UCM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCM is our main phone system, we have integration with AD and have just started using/testing Jabber with mobile phones for our IT department. It has been working great allowing me to answer my desk phone from anywhere. Management of users is simple and efficient.
  • Easy of use
  • Robust
  • More features than you could ask for
  • Cost
  • Tech support can be a bear
  • Initial setup can be difficult
It can support tons of devices used in multiple different environments.
Read John Van Lieshout's full review
Shawn Umansky profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CUCM to manage our Cisco phone environment of roughly 1200 phones. This includes roughly 100 emergency phones of various types. We integrate directly with Exchange 2016 for Unified Communication, which allows voicemail to go directly to the user's inbox. (We do not use Unity.) We have around half dozen IP phone models (7941/42, 6921, etc.).
  • It is good at allowing for specific phone configurations. If you want to get granular, this is the tool for you.
  • The single number reach feature works well, allowing simultaneous ringing to outside devices, such as a mobile phone or home phone.
  • The Cisco IP Communicator application is great. I use it every day to emulate my physical phone from my laptop. I have used it extensively when working from home or at our co-location where cell service is not available. I just connect to the company VPN, launch the application, and use the phone just like it was on my desk. It even looks the same.
  • The user interface is not intuitive; if you don't know what you are doing, a single, small change can become a major problem.
  • Provisioning a single device requires lots of clicks and manual input of data; easy to misspell something by accident.
  • I find the provisioning process to be rather time consuming, but that may be because unified communications is not my primary role.
  • CUCM is not particularly friendly to non-Cisco hardware; you can configure other makes (we use Polycom for conference phones), but the configuration process is pretty involved, and requires time and experience.
I think it is probably a great fit for organizations that have both a Cisco based infrastructure, as well as a full time telecommunications person to manage it.
Read Shawn Umansky's full review
Jamaal Tate profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Communications Manager is a very complex and full featured telephony Enterprise solution. My company uses this product to deploy IP phones and analog telephony products to multiple sites across the state. CUCM is very stable and handles our 20k+ phone deployment very well. I would recommend some basic training before deploying or administrating this solution. It can be quite difficult to spin up for the new user. We use Communications Manager with Unity Connection and Contact Center Express for a complete voice solution.
  • Flexible configurations
  • Accepts 3rd party SIP devices
  • Great support from Cisco
  • Cost
  • Difficult setup without training
  • Administration slows down with concurrent users in database (10+)
I recommend this to companies that want an IP phone solution across multiple sites. Great for managing a mixed environment of desk phones, softphones and analog connections.
Read Jamaal Tate's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Unified Call Manager across the system to manage our VOIP phones. This system is great because it is a fairly simple tool to use in regards to managing phones. It also is able to allow troubleshooting from any location with little to no interaction needed in person at the device.
  • Remote Troubleshooting
  • Remote support of devices
  • Organization of the company's phone lines and devices
  • Ability to copy existing profiles from other phones for fast deployment
  • Certificate Deployment
  • The web interface is a little dated and sometimes confusing
  • Changes sometimes have to be saved two times which is repetitive
  • Some of the descriptors in the drop downs are not clear
  • Sometimes interface can be slow
Call Manager is great if you are going to deploy Cisco phones at small, medium, or large companies where you will need to be able to manage phones as the staff and company size changes. This is also great when you don't have a dedicated IT staff member on site when the changes are to be made. The changes made are also close to immediate after being saved in the system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've worked very closely with Cisco Unified Communications Manager thanks to a number of our clients. They use it for everything from something as basic to a phone call, to video conferences, and even down to basic instant messaging inside the corporation. From a management perspective, it's intuitive to administer, easy to get set up, and very robust for my client's communication needs. Overall I consider this a great product.
  • From an administration perspective the product is incredibly intuitive, and a joy to manage.
  • Training a new user on the software, and hardware takes no time at all and Cisco provides a lot of detailed information to pass along to the end users.
  • The ability to have everything practically seamless makes this a wonderful solution. From basic telephony, video conferencing, to instant messaging either in the office, or on the road, having unified presence and voice/video capabilities has been a huge selling point for our customers.
  • When I first started using the product the learning curve was a little steep, but overall once you take the time to learn the Call Manager it's incredibly intuitive. I don't know that there's much I think could need improvement.
  • I've had end users complain about having too many options at first, but once they start using more of then this complaint usually disappears. I'm not sure this is something that really needs improvement, but I list this for lack of other ideas for improvement.
  • Compared to other systems I think Cisco hit the mark on this one, and I don't have many areas that I would consider improving upon.
For a medium-sized business or larger I think this is a great solution. It covers pretty much all the needs you would want, basic telephony, video conferencing, instant messaging, and presence. Like anything else you get what you pay for if you have the budget for a Cisco product, I definitely recommend this. For the smaller business that doesn't need all the features or a business that doesn't have the appropriate budget to warrant a product like Call Manager, this may not be the best fit.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (9)
8.3
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (15)
8.0
User templates (23)
8.1
Call reports (22)
7.3
Directory of employee names (23)
8.5
Answering rules (26)
8.6
Call recording (19)
7.1
Call park (23)
8.4
Call screening (22)
8.0
Message alerts (25)
7.2
Video conferencing (19)
6.9
Audio conferencing (25)
8.4
Video screen sharing (7)
6.0
Instant messaging (8)
7.8
Mobile app for iOS (14)
8.4
Mobile app for Android (12)
8.3

About Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Integrations

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Competitors

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No