Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
TRUE
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Call it CUCM

9 out of 10
May 24, 2021
Cisco Unified Communication Manager is being used by our whole organization across all of our sites. This is the main medium of …
Continue reading

Call manager that fits the need

8 out of 10
November 15, 2019
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is the heart of our telecommunications for our organization. We use Call Manager for …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Answering rules (39)
    8.7
    87%
  • Directory of employee names (36)
    8.6
    86%
  • User templates (36)
    8.5
    85%
  • Audio conferencing (37)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)?

Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

10 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Webex Calling?

Webex Calling is a cloud-based phone system optimized for midsize businesses, providing a PBX solution with a virtual receptionist and personalized voice mailboxes, calling with extension numbers, direct inward dialing (DID) numbers, directory URIs (email-style addresses), or directory-based…

What is VirtualPBX?

VirtualPBX is a VoIP solution that in addition to VoIP offers analog, smartphone, WebRTC, SIP Trunking & native calling options. It can also be used as a virtual contact center or virtual office solution.

Features Scorecard

Cloud PBX

7.6
76%

Call Management

7.6
76%

VoIP system collaboration

8.1
81%

Mobile apps

7.9
79%

Product Details

What is Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)?

Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.

Unified communications
Call Manager can consolidate communications infrastructures and enable individual users and teams to communicate within its interface. The solution features IP telephony, video, unified messaging, instant messaging, and networking. It also has various features to support mobile and remote workers.

Integrations
Cisco Unified (CM) supports industry communications standards, a range of gateways, and an ecosystem of third-party integrations and solutions plus partners.

Security
Cisco Unified (CM) supports the industry authentication, encryption, and communication protocols. It complies with industry certifications, and secures data and communications for customers in financial services, manufacturing, retail, and governments internationally.


Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Integrations

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Competitors

Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Call Manager is a unified call control center from Cisco that supports enterprise collaboration functions across the spectrum of IP telephony, video & web conferencing, and messaging. Features include call forwarding, call back, call transfer, ad hoc conferencing, and call park.

RingCentral MVP are common alternatives for Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager).

Reviewers rate Answering rules highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (152)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 42)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified, is a software application, enhancing its capabilities in production environments only requires upgrading software on the server platform, thereby avoiding expensive hardware upgrade costs. Less appropriate could be it's a litter expensive.
RAJESH VENGILOT | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Unified Communications Manager platform would be most suited for the below scenarios.
1. An organization with very restricted policies and compliance where can't move to cloud-based solutions for data security. They can install the CUCM on-premises.
2. An organization that is still on a legacy phone system could adopt CUCM to save costs and have better services.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product in general (in my humble opinion) has plateaued with regards to features and functionalities that it can provide in comparison to most cloud-based solutions available in the marketplace today. Plus, directionally and strategically, Cisco has realized, albeit a bit too late, that cloud is where the future is. COVID exposed the lack of scalability and the ability to quickly adapt. Cloud is the future. Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) will exist for use cases that do not cater to large enterprise telephony requirements but rather to address more unique nuances like hardware-based storage for compliance, etc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CUCM is very well suited for large offices with a need for traditional phone systems, especially offices where people will want traditional desk phones.
CUCM is less appropriate in a situation where large amount of remote working is needed, or in situations where it needs to have 100% uptime, especially because of the need for physical servers. It's also not as good if staff prefers soft phones over physical phones.
May 24, 2021

Call it CUCM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is suited for a medium to large company that needs communication with the entire organization. It is reliable and configurable in many ways. As a Network Engineer at our organization, we use this as our main communication line for it is reliable, easy to use, and to understand.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you have a medium to large organization, the Cisco Unified Communications Manager solution is well suited for your needs. It may be a little "overkill" for an organization with just a few dozen people though. As mentioned previously, it isn't a "cheap" product, but I feel the costs are justified by the functionality, reliability, and professional support that come with Cisco products.
Leonardo Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is well suited for organizations that need secure communications in a strong and stable solution and not affecting business continuity operations even under risk scenarios and deployments. It is less appropriate for organizations that handle a low financial budget because of the devices and licensing costs and the need to provide services for a small number of users.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I would strongly recommend the Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) to others. For large enterprise companies where there is a broad range of requirements and a need for on-prem services, Cisco Unified Communications Manager offers a complete solution with features to tackle nearly any use case within the organization. It is probably less friendly to a small company in terms of setup and maintaining the environment, as well as cost of license.
Benjamín Marrón Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is better for implementations with large companies, where many phones are needed since this server has a lot of capacity in a single node. Besides that, if it is necessary to scale the number of phones just add another server to increase the capacity. You can have up to eight servers running at the same time and assign several processes or services per server. Up to four nodes can work at the same time to take calls and register phones. The others would be used for other services such as TFTP, Music on Hold, Annunciator, etc. The Cisco Call Manager is the best call control server on the market for its capacity, flexibility, and reliability.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For medium to large scale deployments where there will be a dedicated VoIP administrator Call Manager, this is a great choice. It provides all of the growth, flexibility and features you could want. For smaller, more straightforward deployments or ones where there won't be a dedicated administrator, a simpler product may be a better choice.
Steve Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
CUCM is a great system that has a full feature set that will provide all features you would want for any size system. It may not be suited for small businesses that are less than 15 users due to cost. The BE6000 provides good cost for medium sized companies (up to 1,000 users) and the full size Call Manager system can grow as large as you need it to.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) is well suited when using VOIP solution to manage our communications between employees in the same campus or between HQ and other branches even across different countries as we also used it to register iPhones located in other county using IPsec tunnel between branch firewall and our firewall.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager) has worked well for our large organization. We have multiple locations and mobile staff. Our deployment is relatively straight out of the box. Once we begin to push out more features, we will probably see more of the ROI.

Call Manager is best for:
  1. Large scale enterprise deployments.
  2. Mature platform needs.
  3. Contact Center.
Call Manager is not suited for:
  1. Small SMBs.
Juan Ignacio Zappacosta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is a good solution for large and medium companies since big companies don't face many connectivity issues. It has everything you need, you can bring people together anytime, anywhere and on any device. Small companies and families are not under the scope of this application since is not that cheap and it has no beta or free version. I highly recommend to work on some enhancements of the look and feel and if it is possible in the integration to other apps.
October 03, 2019

Cisco Call Manager

Lee Weers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I think it works well for larger environments. I would not use it in small office settings. It can require some dedicated staff. We have not found a great outbound calling capability that is suited for a size of 15 callers.
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CUCM is probably only very well-suited for the enterprise that must have complete, total control over everything about their communications system, wants to host their phone servers on-premise and wants to have every telephony and communications capability that exists. If you don't have these three needs, you should be looking at cloud hosted communications instead. That's because CUCM takes a great deal of specialized skill and plenty of engineer time to configure, maintain and operate. The server platform used by CUCM (and those of all of the other CU components) is not user-friendly, with interface designs that have not been updated for the 25 years that I've been setting up and maintaining them. That said, it's extremely customizable and inter-operable with just about any other communications component, as long as you have the skill to customize it or connect it. It's also very expensive and the licensing is literally incomprehensible.
Brian Munn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For larger companies that need a VoIP solution, Cisco Unified Communications Manager is hands down the best solution. It will grow with your company and provide many features your users currently need or will ask for. There are options for smaller companies but with these options, there are features that are left out. For some, this may not be an issue but for others, it could be.

September 27, 2019

Cisco IP Phone System

Christina O'Steen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is well suited in the university system. Easy to set up and use from the user standpoint. Versatile and very reliable, communications are vital for any business, you need to have a system that is reliable. This system is versatile and can be personalized for each person. Great product all around.
September 25, 2019

Cisco IP Phone

Amanda Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's great for in the office use. If you're dialing into a meeting you have the ability to listen but mute yourself. You have speaker and headset options, which is nice. The different voicemail features are particularly helpful when you are traveling or out of the office for different reasons. You can even save some of your away voicemails for future use.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This system is well suited for multiple location environments and organizations that would otherwise have long-distance surcharges. We can easily scale up the system and add multiple phones and additional routers without issue which makes the deployment of even temporary offices great. We can connect the routers and assign the 5 digit dialing setup the dial peers and we are good to go.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Communications Manager is well suited for companies who rely on phone communication across several locations. You can deploy a distributed architecture that could support thousands of extensions in multiple sites and manage all of them in just one single pane of glass. Because the investment needed to create this infrastructure is considerably high, it may be not suitable for small businesses, especially in developing countries.
June 12, 2019

Efficiency Achieved

Claudia Kallesen (Ramirez) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our specific instance is one where we have several corporate contact centers that have been unified utilizing CM. It has been very beneficial due to simplifying support due to standardization, centralized provisioning, and speeds turnaround time for ticket work.
June 06, 2019

A great system

Stephanie Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very suited for our company for everything we need it for. The most specific scenario is being able to see if a specific number has called into our office and who they spoke to if they did. It's helpful because we can determine if someone is doing their job.