Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
102 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 54)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 18, 2021
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our 5508 [Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers] support about 60 APs spread across our campus. It has been deployed in an HA pair on the anchor side for redundancy and hands off to a foreign controller of the same make/model in the DMZ to host our "web only" WLANs (such as for guests, BYOD, etc.) The WLC itself makes deployment of new APs as easy as connecting them to the LAN, allows for reasonably setup of new WLANs and for putting APs into groups to deploy WLANs to specific sets of APs. It also allows for decent monitoring of who is connected, to what, their signal strength, etc.
  • It's Cisco and like all our other Cisco products, chiefly switches, once you get it setup to your liking it just runs itself after that. The reliability factor has been huge for us.
  • Ease in deploying new APs has been nice. We have a DNS record (and DHCP Option 43 as a fallback) that helps new AP find the WLC. The WLC takes it from there.
  • Good monitoring of connections, kicking people off, blocking certain MACs are all useful features.
  • With the 5508, at least, the interface is very dated. The newer WLCs are streamlined in the Web UI and seem to be able to achieve the same results in fewer (and clearer) steps.
  • Steep learning curve right out of the box. Having a vendor assist that stands these up all the time will be very helpful.
For a large (several hundred+) corporate environment you will probably want a WLC to be able to scale your AP footprint. Cisco [Wireless LAN Controllers] stand up to the task and, as mentioned, once you get it setup how you want it really doesn't need to be messed with except for periodic updates. Just manage your APs from there.
Read Derek Benson's full review
May 12, 2021
João Vasconcelos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed a Cisco Wireless LAN Controller at our location to manage more than 20 access points installed in two buildings for more than a year. This hardware supports up to 150 access points and thus allows us to expand whenever we are evolving. The Cisco Wireless LAN Controller is connected to a distribution/core switch. Some VLANs are configured for each sector and two SSIDs for access to the wifi network, having an exclusive for any visitor/stranger. We have already used a third-party solution and had external attack problems, but with Cisco we are very well protected.
  • The controller installed with Cisco APs supports a high density of connected users.
  • Smartnet guarantee.
  • Full control of the WLAN.
  • Roaming between different environments.
  • The Smartnet service contract is expensive.
  • Some bugs in the control of APs where it presented the message that the equipment was offline, but it was not.
It is recommended for scenarios that require a wireless network with up to 150 access points. This hardware is essential to control all WLAN equipment and to replicate new ones that are installed frequently. We are not concerned with any additional configuration because the controller does everything automatically and replicates the initial configuration to the APs. In general, the solution is rated 10 and managed to meet all the prerequisites that were raised, providing mobility and flexibility to everyone in the company.
Read João Vasconcelos's full review
April 11, 2021
Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco Wireless Access Controllers for our organization gave us an ease of being able to secure the entrance of both internal and external equipment to the corporate network or BYOD, the integration for a solid authentication with LDAP or third parties makes it an excellent option for different user densities.
  • Great stability of access to the network.
  • Strong authentication and entry permission.
  • Excelente cobertura y alcance.
  • Intuitive and friendly to manage.
  • High hardware equipment costs.
  • Medium learning curve.
  • Support and updates far away.
One of the cases of success within the company was to be able to order the wireless environment of the remote offices, in the past, we have a mixed environment for wireless networks where internal users and external supplier users to the company joined. The controllers have helped to improve the mobility of internal users of the company as well as the separation of external users towards a BYOD network.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
May 15, 2021
Bruno Carvalho | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The scenario used is two WLCs installed in the local datacenter, one wlc appliance with licenses and the other is the HA model without license costs. This appliance manages the wireless network and configures the APs automatically. We just have to install the APs on the ceiling of the offices and connect the ethernet network and that's it. In the WLC we are able to capture details of each AP such as number of connected users, IP, radio frequency, range, noise, interference and others. In this management we are also able to administer authentication on users' radius server to allow access.
  • Support for 802.11ac APs.
  • Excellent quality smartnet contract.
  • Manages and automates the park of APs.
  • Incompatibility with some browsers.
  • Technical documentation in only a few languages.
It is great for controlling access points that are spread across different environments, even on different and distant sites and subnets. Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers helps us in IT to optimize the administration and maintenance work. With Prime management software we have the complete solution that includes monitoring and unified management. At the WLC we set up the captive portal to protect the network from attempted access by attackers and allow them to connect only those who have the credentials.
Read Bruno Carvalho's full review
February 11, 2021
Irfan Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers are being used by my organization as our primary wireless connectivity solution company-wide and country-wide for our remote locations. Before Cisco, we used multiple brands for wireless connectivity; we always faced communication issues among departments, especially in the production area, so we studied and selected Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers for our whole organization.
  • Hanging issues are resolved after Cisco Wireless deployment, over loading of users on a single AP is managed well.
  • Users are connected very smoothly, now no issues reported from users.
  • Logs and rectification are very easy and troubleshooting is very good.
  • One windows solution for all wireless issues company & country-wide users.
  • Pictorial shape must be added in reporting or add date range for logs
  • Recently removed or added devices must be highlighted in a report or on the dashboard.
  • Single tool for Cisco Wireless and Cisco switches network monitoring.
In large networks where users connectivity is not important in front of smooth data transmission Cisco is recommended because Cisco provided very very best connectivity for users and specially data transmission. HA is very excellent. We tried many times as drill we found very good results users even feel any shifting during drill.
In small networks it's not or less appropriate due to cost and other issues (small office always had financial issue).
Read Irfan Ahmed's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers across the organization as a means to get all our separate access points managed with a single application. The Cisco [Wireless LAN Controllers] allows us to push updates, configurations, and changes out to all Access points at once instead of having to do these things separately which was a problem in the past.
  • Easy to upgrade access points together
  • Stable interface
  • Bug and feature updates come out continuously
  • They do cost more than the competition
  • We have run into many licensing issues on the back end
  • Bug patches updates and outages are frequent
Would quickly recommend [Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers] to a colleague or local organization if they're already invested in Cisco equipment as they may likely be able to add their existing AP's to a current controller. If they were building their network from the ground up I may recommend a higher class series of wireless LAN controllers.
Read this authenticated review
June 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We installed a Cisco Wireless LAN Controller in the offices of a car factory in Latin America. To be able to manage more than 200 access points deployed throughout the factory from the administration to the part of the car production line. Thanks to the controller you can create a complex configuration from vlan separation for each sector to the different SSIDs that were requested by the client for internal and external use. I never had any problems with this driver as it is very complex and works very well.
  • The Clean Air feature are very useful
  • Being a very large controller, it allows the connection of many access points and does not consume much
  • Documentation from design to setup is excellent from Cisco
  • Unfortunately it is a very expensive equipment to buy
  • Great knowledge is needed to start the equipment
In the few years that I installed several Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers, I never had any hardware or software problems, the support is very complete from Cisco and the documentation on the website is very complete compared to other vendors. Based on the software, it shows that there is a lot of work since updates are constantly coming out. But at the cost level it is very expensive compared to other solutions.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Originally we had deployed a massive rollout of Cisco access points and were managing them by hand with a ton of time spent setting them up, managing, and various other duties. This was time consuming and tedious. When Cisco showed us the Wireless LAN controllers we were easily sold. They have been rolled out across the whole company and are massive time savers!
  • Well built hardware
  • Nicely designed UI
  • Very few outages if any
  • Management for all features isnt easily discoverable
  • Lots of issues getting some remote sites (vpn) access points into the system
  • Needed to convince management of the high price tag
Ok so Cisco is known for good hardware, and super stable software. This lineup is no different. You can pretty much bank on your devices staying up for as long as they have power. Throw a UPS in there and they will run years straight. This continues the tradition and gives you that warm and fuzzy feeling when you know your network will stay up.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our company for providing wifi connectivity in a warehouse for parts pickers. It is also used to connect approx. 600 wireless devices on different segments of the network. We are using this equipment for over 2 years, no major issues encountered during deployment and day to day use, management is simple, and Mac address filtering also works well.
  • Simple to deploy, and use.
  • Rouge devices mitigation.
  • Multiple Ssids provision.
  • Frequently update features and security updates.
  • Grahical user interface needs improvement.
  • Required features must be easier to access.
In locations with heavy metal construction or storage, parts warehouse, press shop, etc, we observed low network coverage as compared with cambium network equipment. Connections drop and reconnect when a metal wall came across the device and access point. The issue was resolved by adding multiple access points and reducing transmit power to avoid interference.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco WLAN controller to manage a number of Wireless Access Points in our organization. Multiple APs are installed in our building and it provides a single console to manage them all. We enable, disable or manage patches through WLAN controller.

Its one window operation made life easy for IT professionals.
  • Managing APs.
  • Patching.
  • Controls over routers, switches, firewalls.
  • Command line.
  • Interface.
  • Complexity.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Deployment security.
  • Real-time control of the access point.
  • Protocol extensibility.
  • Transport extensibility.
  • Reduces the amount of processing within access points, freeing up their computing resources to focus exclusively on wireless access instead
    of filtering and policy enforcement.
  • Enables centralized traffic handling, authentication, encryption, and policy enforcement for an entire WLAN system.
  • Provides a generic encapsulation and transport mechanism for multivendor access point interoperability, using either a Layer 2 infrastructure
    or an IP-routed network.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers are used for both wired and wireless communication within the organization. It is being applied on all of our branches to manage the access points.
  • AP management.
  • Regular and easy upgrade.
  • Outstanding issue detection.
  • Difficult to learn.
  • Automation process.
  • Take time to restart or reboot.
Helps to widen the organization and helps people connect to the workspace.
All the RRM features, the data rate are really helpful.

Regular upgrades fixes bugs reported earlier.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Michael Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We sell WLC devices and access points to clients who then have us deploy and secure there wireless infrastructure. Some of these environments are very challenging due to client density and high usage of the ISM bands 2.4 Ghz and 5Ghz. Most of these organizations have anywhere from 10 people to 75+ people onsite. Wireless is a business need so employees can work anywhere in the building. It also allows business to have hot desk environments for their mobile workforce.
  • Cisco has ClearAir for self-optimizing wireless networks.
  • [Cisco Wireless LAN] Controllers can be deployed in large and small environments.
  • Lots of access points to choose from.
  • Not as easy to deploy as Unifi Wireless Networks
  • Lots of documentation to read thought to optimize the wireless network.
  • Cisco management tools to ease deployments and map wifi propagation cost extra.
  • Uses AirOS and not IOS.
Cisco [Wireless LAN Controllers] are well suited for large to medium environments that have challenging wifi spectrum issues. These controllers and access points also have a lot of configuration knobs to help you fine tune your configuration. [Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers] also support LACP trunking and other industry standard protocols and features. This allows this product line to inter operate with other network equipment.
Read Michael Miller's full review
December 18, 2020
José Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This wireless LAN controller provides the wireless network management of some branches of our operation. We have implemented several APs and are managed by two Cisco 3504 Wireless LAN Controllers in redundancy to avoid interruptions. One of the problems that the Cisco Wireless LAN Controller solves is easy configuration, installation, and monitoring, because all APs are self-provisioned by it automatically.
  • Unified management and easy control of everything
  • Roaming layer 2 to allow even greater mobility
  • Automatic provisioning of APs with the controller
  • Manages up to 150 APs and 3,000 users at the same time
  • This version could be upgraded to support up to 200 APs; it would be amazing if that happens
Appropriate scenarios for Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers is like ours, which does not exceed 3,000 users and can control up to 150 APs simultaneously. It can be anywhere, as long as it is on the same subnet to maintain the connection. The Cisco 3504 Wireless LAN Controller has HA hardware, does not need to purchase an AP license, and also allows two devices to be connected in order to avoid failures and interruptions.
Read José Oliveira's full review
December 16, 2020
Roni Peterson Alvarenga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers are used to manage 30 access points (AIR-CAP2702I-Z-K9 with internal antenna and AIR-CAP2702E-Z-K9 with external antenna). In our company, four years ago, the intention of the controllers was to create a corporate wireless network, with authentication via active directory and radius for all employees. Each employee, after authentication, is directed to their own VLAN, regardless of where the antennas are.
  • Robustness
  • Ease of implementation
  • Vast material available
  • Many professionals available
  • A cleaner interface (mainly the advanced mode)
  • Synchronization of controllers in active-active format
  • Clearer and more documented integration with third-party tools (such as Zabbix, Nagios, etc.)
All Cisco technology can be deployed in any scenario, from small businesses or homes to large industries. The question is which structure is the most appropriate? And it is the responsibility of the IT manager to find the best alternative for the implementation. Product prices can be a deterrent, depending on the structure of the company, but Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers are manageable and cost-effective and worth the investment.
Read Roni Peterson Alvarenga's full review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers are used across our entire organization to manage multiple wireless network across 5 different sites. It allows us to centrally manage, control, and configure these networks from one easy to use interface. The ability to split and prioritize wireless traffic is very important running a warehouse with hundreds of wireless device users.
  • Network setup
  • User management
  • Expandability
  • Difficult upgrades
  • Clunky interface
A Cisco Wireless LAN Controller is the perfect solution when trying to take your wireless network to the next level. It is a great solution when you need to prioritize certain wireless traffic over others and provide security across the entire network platform. It has also worked well in managing wireless networks distributed across multiple physically location and I would recommend it for anyone in a similar situation.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers at a couple different locations for the entire building. This allows us to have a central management interface for all the access points so we don't have to individually modify each access point.
  • Centralized Management - No need to modify settings of each AP
  • Tons of settings - There are so many settings to configure you have really micromanage everything
  • Configuring wireless settings is very confusing because various settings are scattered all over the interface in different tabs
  • Lots of settings use Cisco's technical verbiage rather than common phrasing, so it's confusing what a lot of settings will do and requires researching the meaning before modifying the setting
  • The interface could be easier to use to do simple tasks such as reboot an access point
It's definitely suited for large deployments that need reliable wireless access, assuming you don't choose the lowest-end WLAN Controller or the low-end access points. The uptime of the controller is amazing, and it basically never needs rebooted. It can handle a lot of traffic and provides very detailed logs on all manner of wireless data.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco WLC across our whole organization in our company's 12 story building. We use it to give our employees the freedom to move around the building with their company issued laptops or their personal devices without worrying about not being able to get a good connection. We also use the Cisco WLC to provide internet access to our guests.
  • The WLC are very reliable. In the 10+ years the company has had them installed, we have not had any hardware or component failures.
  • No need for reboots. The CISCO WLC is not like a router you may have at home which you may have to reboot every few weeks or months. It can run for months without needing a reboot.
  • The Cisco WLC gives you a quick Network Summary when you first log into the system. This is very helpful to get a quick rundown on the status of your wireless network.
  • Using the Cisco WLC productively means a lot of hours spent implementing the system. It is not an easy device to jump right into.
  • The implementation of Certificates on the WLC device is also tedious and can be frustrating. This can be said for most of Cisco's products. I wish Cisco would come up with a better way to do this.
  • Upgrades of the software can be a pain when your WLC is configured in a High Availability Pair. Downloading the file updates, uploading the files to a TFTP server, having the WLC retrieve the files is an archaic way of doing software updates.
Our Cisco Wireless LAN Controller is well suited for an environment which on any given day can have upwards of 500+ wireless devices. These devices range from company issued laptops, cell phones and tablets, employees' personal devices and the devices belonging to our guests that are in the building. We use the Cisco Wireless LAN Controller to broadcast different SSIDs for company issued laptops, devices belonging to our guests and employees. This allows for a greater sense of security because we can control which devices we can permit on the network and reject the devices that we do not.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization was in need of inexpensive yet enterprise-grade wireless at our multiple smaller locations. The 2500 Series Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers presented the best mix of features and functionality at an appealing price-point for our needs. Each of our locations has a relatively small local network and local connectivity yet still needs reliable wireless throughout. The 2500 series controllers provided all the needed functionality, are a small form factor that does not take up a lot of space and does not require rack mounting, though they do support it.
  • Reliable Connectivity
  • Trusted Firmware upgrades
  • Distribution of Firmware to all connected AP's
  • As the starting model for the line of WLC's there are some limitations in capacity
  • Given the small size, a fan-less cooling solution would be preferred.
  • iOS and Android management Apps
With it's small form factor and refreshed web interface, the 2500 series is a welcome addition and cost effective solution for smaller sites looking to deploy under 50 Access Points. By the same token, larger sites, and sites where there is a higher client device density, the larger models are more suitable. Thankfully Cisco has several models to cater to every need.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the [Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers] in all our branches and operations center. (18 total locations) The device gives us the flexibility to deploy secure wireless networks across all areas. The interface is easy to use and offers the ability to manage a control the subsequent endpoints from a central location.
  • Secure Wireless Deployment
  • Flexibility to scale
  • Ease of administration
  • Limited in operability
  • Endpoints can be difficult to configure initially
  • Inconsistent availability causing need for more endpoints
If you are looking to deploy to multiple locations [Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers] are very easy to use and duplicate across locations all managed centrally. We have been audited several times and each time the wireless pen test has completed with no findings. This might not be the option if you are wanting to deploy to just one location as the initial setup takes quite a bit of configuration.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm a network admin who is using the Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers in our business to manage our many wifi SSIDs--both WLANs and guest internet VLANs. We have many users and many access points, and this product solves the problem of management among all those devices and users.
  • Easy-to-use web interface
  • Fast push of settings and firmware to APs
  • Simple management of many SSIDs and networks
  • Upgrades can be fairy difficult
  • Licensing is always a sore point for Cisco products
  • Among the top of wireless LAN controller price ranges
I can easily say that if you have the budget that allows for it, I would quickly recommend Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers to anyone with lots of APs to manage or many or complex WLAN configurations. There are other less expensive products from other companies, but if you want a solid choice that rarely fails, then Cisco is it.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Cisco 5508 Wireless LAN Controller is in use at our company as a means to centralize management for all our wireless network access points. It also allows us to manage WiFi networks, wireless LANs, and users on those networks in a really easy-to-understand manner. It solves the problem of having to manage all these things individually. As a member of the IT department I find that the Cisco 5508 Wireless LAN Controller is an important part of our system and integral to having a large WiFi network available. It solves many WiFi issues that we had before the transition.
  • Latest GUI has made managing it much easier
  • Constant firmware updates for bug fixes and feature additions
  • Well made hardware that can run for years without any problems
  • Cisco brand carries a large weight behind it!
  • Its not going to be the cheapest of LAN controllers
  • Having to deal with licensing issues almost yearly
  • TAC cases can be hard to get going sometimes (due to licensing usually)
  • Cost is a factor with big name brands
I would definitely recommend to any colleagues to use the 5500 series Wireless LAN Controllers that Cisco makes, as they're well made, run for a long time, get constant updates, and just work. If you're already a Cisco shop, there's not much incentive besides price to move to another vendor for this piece of the network. Very easy recommendation!
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For us as a medium-sized company with a lot of smaller branches, it was very important to find a solution that could provide wireless connectivity both for the employees and our guests in all of our locations. It would have to be easy to implement and relatively cheap; however, it would need to provide the required level of security. And we have found Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers that fully met our needs and have been a very stable solution for some time already. We have implemented them in every branch without any issues and they can now be centrally managed, which saves a lot of time for us. By implementing Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers we provided freedom of movement to our employees as well as made it possible for them to serve our customers in much more effective way.
  • Stability and reliability on a top level, as they have never needed a reboot
  • Easy to implement as you just install them and have centralized control
  • Security on a top level, with the AI functionality from Cisco and management panel where you will immediately see any threats
  • Interface UX is a bit complicated
  • No mobile applications for configuration on site
  • Licensing is bit complicated
Good for a wide branch network with a big number of presence points where you have to have a centralized point of management and a console where you can get a full overview of events and threats. However it does not always provide 100% accurate information, as there might be a delay with some parts of the statistics, which might make troubleshooting much harder.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our place of business has been using access points for wireless devices for many years. When we started getting many complaints from users about weak Wi-Fi in certain areas and slow connections even right next to the access points we knew we had a problem. Moving to all Cisco Aironets and a Cisco Wireless LAN Controller completely solved all our issues.
  • Super easy to use, set up, and deploy
  • Great software experience and very few bugs
  • Compatible with many management systems (first- and third-party)
  • It would be nice if they had more versatile mounts included besides the basic metal plate
  • Allow more POE protocols to power them
  • Less confusing license registration system
I'm not sure it would be best suited for a company not already using Cisco products, as there is going to be a large initial cost to get up and running. But once you have some required Cisco gear (switches/routers/wireless LAN controller), then you're in business. If you're already using those things then it's a very easy decision.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using a Cisco 2504 Wireless LAN Controller at a branch office with about eight APs with three SSIDs--a company internal network with 802.1x authentication, a network for our employees (WPA2-PSK) and their mobile devices, and a guest network with splash screen web authentication. We have a broad range of client devices, from handheld warehouse scanners to laptops. Due to the nature of the work we do, seamless connectivity with no interruptions is extremely important.
  • Reliability--no major problems, except once after reboot, client authentication did not work due to NTP misconfiguration (our fault).
  • Scalability--they are appropriate for companies of all sizes, although for the smallest companies there is a question of cost effectiveness of a such solution.
  • Ease of initial configuration and administration.
  • Cisco CleanAir--if your APs support it.
  • A lot of APs you can choose from.
  • GUI could be better (it looks a bit outdated, although it's well categorized).
  • Not all APs are supported with the latest firmware updates--we are stuck with a wireless LAN controller DoS vulnerability.
  • Firmware update via TFTP should be a thing of the past.
  • There's a lot of documentation to read.
I'd recommend it for medium to large businesses. For smaller companies or branch offices, if not managed from the headquarters, I'd prefer another product--maybe Meraki or Mobility Express due to lower costs, even simpler configuration, and removing unnecessary network complexity. If your are in a congested environment, you should also evaluate the CleanAir functionality and purchase supported APs.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers to manage every access point on our site individually and it was beyond challenging. We had over 100 on our site at the time. We now have 150, and it would be impossible without Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers. This manages every AP on our site now and the configs and updates are so easy. The ability to set Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers up with different locations so that everything works as planned in our different buildings is critical.
  • Updates
  • Managing configurations
  • Uptime
  • Ease of use
  • Load balancing
This is very good when you are integrating with other Cisco systems. We at one time tied this to our Cisco Network Admission Control system. We do not have Cisco ISE at this point but that also integrates well. This makes more and more sense when you have a high volume of access points. We are currently using radius with it now, and it has been working very well.
Read this authenticated review

Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers Scorecard Summary

What is Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers?

Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers : Cisco offers companies a comprehensive wireless portfolio to address the needs of networks, from small deployments all the way up to large enterprises. Optimized for 802.11ac Wave 2 and Wi-Fi 6performance, Cisco wireless LAN controllers are highly scalable, service-rich, and resilient platforms that provide centralized control, flexible management, and troubleshooting for large and small-scale deployments. Cisco aims to equip companies with the tools they need to help grow their network as their business grows with their wireless LAN controller portfolio.

Cisco promises to deliver key wireless innovations through custom-built access points that go beyond the Wi-Fi 6(802.11ax) wireless standard to provide radio-frequency excellence for high-density environments.

Cisco now offers a two-question, two-minute interactive tool to identify the Cisco products and services that help solve up to five network challenges.

Categories:  Wireless LAN

Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers Video

Watch Wireless Assurance In-Depth on TechWiseTV

Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers Downloadables

Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers Competitors

Aerohive Wireless, Fortinet Wireless LAN, Aruba Networks Wireless LAN (WLAN)

Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers?

Cisco offers wireless LAN.

What is Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.2.

Who uses Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers?

The most common users of Cisco Wireless LAN Controllers are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.