TrustRadius
Clickability is a content management systems acquired by Upland Software in 2013, which provides a SaaS platform for web content creation, management, publishing and analytics, for enterprises, digital marketing and online publishing for marketers and enterprises.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/eV/Dq/O4C0WRSTM1HM.pngBest for building Websites quickly.Clickability is used in the entire client organization I work for. It is mainly used for building a marketing website with a quick turn around time. Business users are be able to edit the content on the live site. It is also used to build websites with high volume content like press releases. Developers can just work on display logic and as Clickability is offered as SAAS, deployments don't need any reboots.,Content Creation Workflows Website Creation Ease of Development Online Marketing,Version Control Release Planning when huge number of templates need to be pushed to production Velocity Scripting used to create website templates could be improved,8,Increase in website traffic, SEO Better utilization of dev resources Quick turn around time,,Developer,More than 10,000 pages,Vendor implementedDown Click ClickabilityRight now it is used for all websites for Vance publishing. Clickability allows multiple users to add pages easily who do not have any HTML or programing experience. It also allows for the flexibility to design templates which can easily display information from other sources. On of the best things about Clickability is we needed a page to manage our webinars and show different titles and content based on dates. Clickability allowed us to program to display "Upcoming Webinar" vs "Watch Now" dependent on the date. It also is easier for the editor who is responsible for the webinar to change information or add information as needed without knowing any programing or markup.,Clickability is good at allowing information to be updated quickly by people that don't understand HTML markup or programing. Clickability has a powerful programing language. Clickbility allows you to return to previous versions. This is very important when testing and if you make mistakes.,It doesn't allow testing to people who do not have passwords. You must create an account to test in staging. I would like to be able to show someone a website in staging without them needing to log in. I would like the process for static websites to be more streamlined. I don't like creating a template then create content for a website that won't be changed by updated content. You have a useful resource pdf. Which I use all the time. I would also like to see more useful tools to help the learning curve for Clickability. Video's, webcasts, or white pages to help with the steep learning curve that Clickability has. Add easy access to social sites for sharing and posting.,3,The ability to have editors update information or ad articles quickly is very important and Clickability makes this easy for them. Our business is information and it is crucial that we are able to get information online quickly. From a programers perspective Clickability has lots of strength and is very powerful. The powerfulness also makes it a large learning curve to learn. Being tasked with finding issues or fixing previous issues is very difficult. Due to the process of templates and content you often have to go many places to find one or two issues. I would like to see something that shows you this template is used on these pages and this content is being linked to these templates.,,1,Don't know,From a person who just updates the website and fills forms out. It is easy to do that. This was all added by the programer which is a tedious task. I think the history of searches and being able to return to published history is very goodClickability Review from a Prominent News CorporationWe use Clickability as a CMS to host the content for our websites, and deliver our web pages to our customers in Southeastern Wisconsin. We began by hosting our flagship site, www.jsonline.com but as a corporate initiave, eventually migrated all of the websites of our popular news corporation. In all, we have close to 200 websites that are all independently content-managed by the various newsrooms in the company.,Clickability's API allows us to integrate our newsroom print publishing system with our websites, as well as feeds from other sources. Clickability has a robust content delivery and redundancy architecture which delivers "always-on" content delivery. Clickability's template language allows us the freedom to innovate as we integrate with other systems. Clickability gives us the ability to distinguish device type and deliver different solutions to different devices aka responsive web design.,The UI presentation was developed before tabbed-browsing became available/popular, thus you can run into serious trouble if you are not careful. The security implementation, while allowing extreme granularity (good), has become extremely difficult to manage over time (bad). We have written our own web-based front-end UIs in order to compensate for the somewhat awkward content entry experience that the UI provides.,10,I know a big positive is the fact that it is always-on. We are the leading news corporation for our state, and in many markets, nationwide. We pride ourselves on our strong ethics in the community and thus need to exude reliability to maintain the trust of these communities. Having a website fail periodically erodes that reliable perception. It has allowed different areas of the company to approach our team and work in a cohesive manner.,,9Easy to use CMSClickability is used as a CMS for different external websites across the company. There are very simple sites but also complex ones which have difficult processes. On one site we do quarterly results publishing.,Simple CMS, all our users cope very fast with the publishing process. Even non-tech-savy people! Implementation of new sites very fast - great project teams! Good design resources to support you in making sure the site has a nice layout and is user-friendly in regards of usability.,Some outages in the recent year Support is not very fast and knowledgeable,8,none,MS SharePointGreat CMSClickability is the CMS that we use for 15 of our local broadcast sites. Employees that have access to it are developers, designers, sales, producers, reporters, etc. Not all employees have access to the Clickability system, and most don't have full permissions. It's a great tool for creating our sites' pages, publishing stories, delivering quality news and weather reports for our users.,Clickablity allows for easy story publishing. This is crucial with breaking news and keeping viewers up-to-date. It has a good back end for specific development of additional features. We work with a team of developers that create items for live video promotions, weather closing ticker bars, etc. The templates that you can create help with quick page layout reproductions to help with usability and site continuity.,The initial concept of how the pages work with sections can be tricky. Once you get into the system and start creating layouts and pages, it's becomes easier. You have to have some training and a good period for learning. There could be more drag and drop features. Some menus are small and take a while to change the placement (i.e. updating navigation).,10,More page views Easier layout replication The system maintains a history that is easy to revert to in case of errors or changes Great staging server,1,500,6,Building sites Producing stories Importing weather radar images and news feeds,Creating widgets to help with promotions Weather closing ticker bars Scheduling live stream alerts for on-air,Create home page layouts that can be scheduled for certain times Responsive design layouts,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,We looked at several other systems. We researched price, usability, reviews, customer support, etc. This one met our goals.,Vendor implemented,Change management was minimal,Story/content transfering Initial layout set up Learning the new system,8,10,No,They've always been helpful and timely with any issues.,Creating pages Creating stories Testing layouts, pages, functionality, usability of sites,Updates to template layouts Initial concept of how the system works Changing the location of navigation items.,Yes, but I don't use it,9
Unspecified
Clickability
12 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Clickability Reviews

Clickability
12 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 12 vetted Clickability reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sriharsha Chekuri profile photo
December 23, 2015

Clickability Review: "Best for building Websites quickly."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clickability is used in the entire client organization I work for. It is mainly used for building a marketing website with a quick turn around time. Business users are be able to edit the content on the live site. It is also used to build websites with high volume content like press releases. Developers can just work on display logic and as Clickability is offered as SAAS, deployments don't need any reboots.
  • Content Creation Workflows
  • Website Creation
  • Ease of Development
  • Online Marketing
  • Version Control
  • Release Planning when huge number of templates need to be pushed to production
  • Velocity Scripting used to create website templates could be improved
Clickability is not suited when when users log in into a website and lot of the website functionality is tied to user login. It is well suited for read only content sites. At what frequency is the content on the site updated? How much control is needed by the business user to edit the site? If a business needs more control, I prefer Clickability.
Read Sriharsha Chekuri's full review
Adam Blinzler profile photo
July 07, 2015

User Review: "Down Click Clickability"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now it is used for all websites for Vance publishing. Clickability allows multiple users to add pages easily who do not have any HTML or programing experience. It also allows for the flexibility to design templates which can easily display information from other sources. On of the best things about Clickability is we needed a page to manage our webinars and show different titles and content based on dates. Clickability allowed us to program to display "Upcoming Webinar" vs "Watch Now" dependent on the date. It also is easier for the editor who is responsible for the webinar to change information or add information as needed without knowing any programing or markup.
  • Clickability is good at allowing information to be updated quickly by people that don't understand HTML markup or programing.
  • Clickability has a powerful programing language.
  • Clickbility allows you to return to previous versions. This is very important when testing and if you make mistakes.
  • It doesn't allow testing to people who do not have passwords. You must create an account to test in staging. I would like to be able to show someone a website in staging without them needing to log in.
  • I would like the process for static websites to be more streamlined. I don't like creating a template then create content for a website that won't be changed by updated content.
  • You have a useful resource pdf. Which I use all the time. I would also like to see more useful tools to help the learning curve for Clickability. Video's, webcasts, or white pages to help with the steep learning curve that Clickability has.
  • Add easy access to social sites for sharing and posting.
Having used other programs that are similar. I find Clickability has some of the most flexibility and power with its programing code. The problem is the curve to learn the new code is very steep. There are other systems not as powerful as Clickability but have a much smaller learning curve. Some of my issues may be due to the fact I am tasked with fixing some of the issues with the previous person. The organization of content, templates can be difficult to find where the problem is.
Read Adam Blinzler's full review
Dave Sell profile photo
April 26, 2014

"Clickability Review from a Prominent News Corporation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Clickability as a CMS to host the content for our websites, and deliver our web pages to our customers in Southeastern Wisconsin. We began by hosting our flagship site, www.jsonline.com but as a corporate initiave, eventually migrated all of the websites of our popular news corporation. In all, we have close to 200 websites that are all independently content-managed by the various newsrooms in the company.
  • Clickability's API allows us to integrate our newsroom print publishing system with our websites, as well as feeds from other sources.
  • Clickability has a robust content delivery and redundancy architecture which delivers "always-on" content delivery.
  • Clickability's template language allows us the freedom to innovate as we integrate with other systems.
  • Clickability gives us the ability to distinguish device type and deliver different solutions to different devices aka responsive web design.
  • The UI presentation was developed before tabbed-browsing became available/popular, thus you can run into serious trouble if you are not careful.
  • The security implementation, while allowing extreme granularity (good), has become extremely difficult to manage over time (bad).
  • We have written our own web-based front-end UIs in order to compensate for the somewhat awkward content entry experience that the UI provides.
Why give it a 10? I shudder at the thought of using anything else to manage and deliver websites reliably to our nationwide audiences. With our very minimal staff of software engineers (with great personalities) we have been able to innovate and satisfy our internal newsroom demands, which are high to the extreme. Our team is very agile and has adapted well to the changing times in the past 4 years that I have been senior software engineer, and team lead. The 10 is for flexibility, extensibility, reliability, and the freedom we experience as developers.
Read Dave Sell's full review
No photo available
October 27, 2016

Clickability Review: "Easy to use CMS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clickability is used as a CMS for different external websites across the company. There are very simple sites but also complex ones which have difficult processes. On one site we do quarterly results publishing.
  • Simple CMS, all our users cope very fast with the publishing process. Even non-tech-savy people!
  • Implementation of new sites very fast - great project teams!
  • Good design resources to support you in making sure the site has a nice layout and is user-friendly in regards of usability.
  • Some outages in the recent year
  • Support is not very fast and knowledgeable

For very cheap microsite solutions Clickability is too expensive.

It is a great application for any website that should be run longer and there are one time publishers that want to be able to do publishing themselves.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 04, 2014

Clickability Review: "Great CMS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clickability is the CMS that we use for 15 of our local broadcast sites. Employees that have access to it are developers, designers, sales, producers, reporters, etc. Not all employees have access to the Clickability system, and most don't have full permissions. It's a great tool for creating our sites' pages, publishing stories, delivering quality news and weather reports for our users.
  • Clickablity allows for easy story publishing. This is crucial with breaking news and keeping viewers up-to-date.
  • It has a good back end for specific development of additional features. We work with a team of developers that create items for live video promotions, weather closing ticker bars, etc.
  • The templates that you can create help with quick page layout reproductions to help with usability and site continuity.
  • The initial concept of how the pages work with sections can be tricky. Once you get into the system and start creating layouts and pages, it's becomes easier. You have to have some training and a good period for learning.
  • There could be more drag and drop features.
  • Some menus are small and take a while to change the placement (i.e. updating navigation).
It's great for having a placement list for stories on a page. Once you target the content, it's a simple drag-and-drop to reorder them. You know exactly which pages the story is on, because of where you target it. We also found we needed a more robust story template. Our developers were able to add more features to initial layout which provided a better user experience.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2014

Clickability Review: "Great CMS that needs a great community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Clickability for our Marketing website. It allowed us to host all of our outward facing webpages as well as marketing materials and product documentation. It was mainly used by the marketing department, but other departments posted content on the site. This ranged from engineering with product information to HR with job postings. Once the templates and content types were developed, it was easy for employees to post content without needing coding skills.
  • The customization from page to page is the best I've seen in a CMS. Each page could have its own template and content rendering if necessary
  • The UI is fairly straight forward and easy to use. It can also be customized by user role.
  • The Velocity template creation is easily done through the console. No need to FTP files to a server.
  • The version control of each content item or template is handled through the CMS. No terminal needed.
  • The ability to run server side code is not there.
  • A GUI of template creation could be used for the non-coder users.
  • Some parameters of content types are hard to find as they can be stored in various areas
As a true content management system it is great for site and content creation. It does need some help when it comes to adding functionality for using modern code systems that require server side scripting. For a marketing or public company site, it is an ideal CMS. For a SAAS type site, there could be many road blocks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 28, 2014

User Review: "Clickability CMS is it for you?"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I worked for the only authorized re-seller for Clickability. We did mainly websites for tv and radio stations but there were a mix of other customers in there as well. For many years it was our main cms platform which we managed 100+ different websites on it. I know we were the edge case for this type of usage as other customers 10+ sites was a huge number. Clickability main selling point is you do not have to waste IT resources and time maintaining a CMS platform because Clickability hosts the platform themselves and uses their own CDN and servers. Lets break down the pros and cons of this approach.
  • Easy to get going for a business that has tons of content they need to manage.
  • Clickability offers development and design services so you don't really even need IT.
  • No need to worry about server uptime, storage, bandwidth, etc you have all the reports at your fingers for what you are using.
  • Simple template and content design system, easy to expand and add.
  • Powerful CMS and settings with a design and programming guide provided.
  • AkAMAI and Limelight CDN's can be used for powerful and fast loading in many regions.
  • Debugging tools to see how long specific templates and content load is exceptional. One can narrow down that this specific template ran X number of times and took this look and had to be stopped at X number of time due to exceeding set limits.
  • Having a built in Dev, Staging, Production environments for testing makes seeing new features and how they will integrate into your site seamless.
  • If you are not constantly updating content then maybe this isn't the best CMS for you.
  • Turn around time on development can be lackluster and most find it easier to have 1-2 developers on staff for larger projects.
  • Over the years outages have happened but slowness is more common to due the shared platform and logic programming errors. This has improved greatly but still can happen.
  • The programming language behind clickability that is exposed is Apache Velocity. https://velocity.apache.org/engine/releases/velocity-1.5/user-guide.html While basic it is not as powerful as other web developers are used to.
  • The guide can be simplistic and more examples could be useful. Also cryptic special case features that are not widely can be troublesome.
  • Costs for storage, transfer and bandwidth can be costly because of limited options for where to store such content.
  • Development and Staging does not load on the normal servers so performance testing can be difficult to compare to production before launching a new template or code.
  • Extensive performance tools are in place because it is extremely easy to have non scaling, badly performing code as sites get bigger.
  • Most of the support team is based in CA, so support hours are geared towards US which could be a deterrent for European customers.

Overall this works well for media and newspaper websites that get less than 100 million pageviews a month. Also if you have your own developer and artist on staff you can really create exceptional websites, however it isn't required. There is a steep learning curve due to lack of published examples like other programming languages such as ruby, php etc. For most of your data entry and content editors the learning curve is minimal and can be taught in hours. Price is going to be a huge factor in determining does this make sense for your organization because you have to take how much traffic you have into account. If you stay within your limits great, if you exceed them media and bandwidth costs can begin to bloat your budget and make this a less attractive solution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 30, 2014

User Review: "Clickability Publishes Success"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the previous company I worked for, a commerical newspaper and online news company, Clickability was used by reporters, editors, web designers, web developers, and IT professionals. Clickability addresses how articles are saved, edited and published, as well as how websites are designed and saved via templates.
  • Adding custom content fields while adding a new article or blog page.
  • Managing user and user groups.
  • Developing and saving web design templates.
  • Adding Facebook/Social Media commenting.
  • Sharing articles and blog entries to Social Media sites.
  • Video/media clips/podcasting publishing.
Clickability is a great product to create and manage news articles and blog entries, create and manage newsletters and user recipients. The product is very scalable in terms of adding more than one website/publication to publish online and adding more users/editors. The product suite is only useful for big newspaper and media organizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 30, 2014

Clickability Review: "A CMS that can help you move fast"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Clickability is being used across the editorial team of the company. It's used by multiple divisions within the company. It addresses our need as a business to create and produce web content so that we can present a high quality website to our readers. It's a great tool for us as a content management system.
  • The ease of search for items by ID makes finding something quick and easy.
  • The system moves very fast, which enables us to respond to breaking news and get content up on the site quickly.
  • Making copies or opening read-only versions of stories are great so that one person can read while another person produces.
  • Targeting is heavy and clunky. It's a big process to get the right targets on stories and have a full team carry that out.
  • Multiple URLs create confusion for search engines and for readers.
  • A lack of history for images is limiting, and it would be great to have that history.
There are definitely specific scenarios. For example, Clickability is good in a breaking news scenario. So one key question to ask is how fast the program is. Speed is very important in my field, and it's important to be able to move through the CMS quickly. Also, how reliable is it? If it's a program that crashes often, that can be a problem. Fortunately, Clickability doesn't crash very often.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (3)
9.0
API (1)
8
Internationalization / multi-language (1)
8
WYSIWYG editor (3)
8.0
Code quality / cleanliness (3)
8.9
Admin section (3)
9.0
Page templates (3)
9.9
Library of website themes (1)
1
Mobile optimization / responsive design (2)
9.0
Publishing workflow (3)
8.0
Content taxonomy (3)
9.0
SEO support (2)
9.0
Bulk management (2)
8.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (2)
7.0
Community / comment management (3)
4.0

About Clickability

Clickability is a content management systems acquired by Upland Software in 2013, which provides a SaaS platform for web content creation, management, publishing and analytics, for enterprises, digital marketing and online publishing for marketers and enterprises. It is coded in Java and uses the Velocity scripting language. Developers may take advantage of the open SOAP-based API and Eclipse IDE Plugin.
Categories:  Content Management

Clickability Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No