IBM Cloudant Reviews

100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Cloudant is hands down one of the greatest development decision I've made.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The documentation of Cloudant alone has made it my database service of choice. With MongoDB you have to manage hardware, sharding, networking... Cloudant takes all the hassle out of storage allowing you to focus on more important tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great and reliable DBaaS for IoT use cases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The feature-set, including security, is very comparable. Overall, IBM's services added to the product are mature and stable, although product support and engineers could be a little better. Global availability is improving, and Disaster Recover Capabilities are great. Overall, it's very comparable to MongoDB as a DBaaS offer, available globally and with great documentation.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Pease Solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Best for mobile

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cloudant is a hosted solution so it works better for me. Also, it includes a better authentication layer than CouchDB.
As for Couchbase, it has membase but the hosted options are much more expensive.
In the SQL world, I tried several sync solutions but the configuration and flow is not as smooth as the built-in capability in Cloudant.
Read Victor Pease Solano's full review
Naresh Jasotani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

IBM Cloudant DB - Scalability and Performance re-defined

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

IBM Cloudant DB is backed by CouchDB and that too hosted on IBM Cloud is the key. Concurrency and durability is the key here. In-memory capabilities are non-existent on the IBM Cloudant DB.
Read Naresh Jasotani's full review
Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

IBM Cloudant Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cloudant stacks up very well especially since it can perform multiple functions - primarily a noSQL schema-less data base but when integrated with an MDM solution (master data management) it can also do caching services efficiently and can also be used as a graph data base. Initially, when we tested against Cassandra, we found Cloudant faster when compared apples to apples for concurrent requests to the data base.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Cloudant Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have mainly used Cloudant as I work with IBM Cloud in my role and therefore it was easiest (and cheapest) to set up for the small scale prototypes we are building. (Which do however sometimes lead to scaled implementation)
Read this authenticated review
Wes Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2016

Cloudant is a great choice for DBaaS for mobile apps on multiple platforms and devices...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's easier to use than Dynamo, more open than Firebase, and has better documentation that CouchDB... it might not be fair to compare Modulus, Modulus obviously suffers from some scalability issues and might not be in the same class... but its a hosted DB service we had some experience with in the past....
Read Wes Wilson's full review
Romualdo Gobbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2016

Flexible data transportation HUB without structure constraints

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All other NoSQL document-centric DB must be installed on premise on in the cloud as complicated clusters. The "as a service" formula and the open source origin were the same reasons for Cloudant choice, freeing us of all system and administration tasks!
Read Romualdo Gobbo's full review
Don Burks | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2016

I traded self-hosted for Cloudant

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • irisCouch and mlab
Cloudant blows all of the other competitors out of the water. The robust UI, the scalability, the management console, these are all reasons why Cloudant is a superior product to any of these "competitors". Cloudant is head and shoulders above the rest. It was a pleasure to switch to their service.
Read Don Burks's full review
Justin Saul | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2016

Cloudant - Build more. Sleep more.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cloudant is a database as a service with a strong support team. The feature set is comparable to other solutions but not all are managed services, or have easy scalability, or can demonstrate production level reliability and performance.
Read Justin Saul's full review
Kris Bandurski | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2016

Short and sweet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used to host CouchDB ourselves, but moved to BigCouch at first for scalability and then to Cloudant to reduce the maintenance overheads.
We use Elasticsearch alongside Cloudant these days, since _changes streams make it easy to feed data from Cloudant into Elasticsearch. Cloudant's search engine works well, but Elasticsearch makes it easier to visualise data through Kibana.




Read Kris Bandurski's full review
Bryan Redeagle | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2016

If it fits your need, you'll never have problems or complaints.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The technology behind Cloudant (BigCouch) is no better or worse than any of these. They are all good for different reasons. What makes Cloudant my choice against them is the hosted portion. These are all just databases that I would have to manage. Cloudant is managed for me, and still runs the queries I need.
Read Bryan Redeagle's full review
Peter Ivie | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2016

The best prices and easy from start to scale

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I chose Cloudant because they had the best low end traffic prices while still providing room for pay as you need it scalability. I had an Amazon EC2 instance for a few years and I had to pay so much for it even though it hardly had any traffic. Being connected to IBM helped me trust them with my data.
Read Peter Ivie's full review
Denis Voloshko | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

6 months of Cloudant. So far so good ;)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cloudant extends features of CouchDB, but you don't have to host it for yourself. IBM does this for you. Also Cloudant is free if you are under $50 per month. And there is integration with other IBM products, like dashDB (for analytics).Cloudant has CouchApps and it's a feature MongoDB does't have.
Read Denis Voloshko's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2016

Cloudant - help you manage your cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've even worked with Cassandra, but I found Cloudant to be much simpler, easier, neat and efficient. Cassandra was not highly scalable but Cloudant was much efficient in it. Even the Monitoring and other scripts were pre-built which made it much time efficient for us.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (6)
8.1
Availability (6)
8.2
Concurrency (6)
8.0
Security (6)
8.1
Scalability (6)
7.5
Data model flexibility (6)
7.7
Deployment model flexibility (6)
7.5

About IBM Cloudant

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Cloudant is also available as a downloadable on-premises installation, and its API and powerful replication protocol are compatible with an open source ecosystem that includes CouchDB, PouchDB and libraries for the most popular web and mobile development stacks.

IBM Cloudant Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility

IBM Cloudant Video

IBM Cloudant Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional