IBM Cloudant Reviews

101 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Medline Masson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

A Highly Effective Cloud-Based Service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Strong customer support experts.
  • Financial viability.
  • Needs a better way of creating queries.
  • Modernized certain aspects for making valid queries (Still SQL oriented).
Read Medline Masson's full review
Brandon Stephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

IBM Cloudant is great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Limited support for popular programming languages such as Python, Perl, and R.
  • No support for SQL.
  • No support for XML.
  • The lack of memory capabilities.
Read Brandon Stephan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Cloudant is hands down one of the greatest development decision I've made.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Support has been great addressing any issues.
  • The documentation is very easy and straight forward to follow.
  • The many storage locations and migration capabilities allow for quick and easy access to data wherever needed.
  • Not supporting temporary views can be limiting at times.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Pease Solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Best for mobile

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Authentication improved with the API keys
  • Synchronization with https, which means secure and trustable syncs
  • Scale in a transparent way
  • Free start with the $50 allowance makes Cloudant the best way to start
  • It would be nice to have a way to import bulk data
  • There must be a better way to check usage. There are a lot of transactions not shown in the actual report
  • There must be a way to reset a db -- a way to set the actual data as the base and eliminate all deleted docs
Read Victor Pease Solano's full review
Saket Nalegaonkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

IBM Cloud Bound Services Optimize the Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is NoSQL
  • It has better performance than Mongo Atlas
  • Queries are easy to use and support for views is also helpful
  • Speed of searching through records can be improved.
  • Some ML to predict enhancement in queries can surely help IBM and clients mutually target optimal solutions.
  • Views accepting multiple parameters.
Read Saket Nalegaonkar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

A Solid and Performace prune DB

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cross datacenters sync
  • Quick sync performance and data transfer
  • Some pretty high add/update response time
  • We had some issues with concurrent data saving/reading
  • Due to CouchDB implementation the purge of some database field requires a copy of the desired fields to a new database
  • Could find an easier way to assign access permission
Read this authenticated review
Naresh Jasotani | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

IBM Cloudant DB - Scalability and Performance re-defined

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For us, performance and scalability is the key, and Cloudant DB backed by CouchDB is scalable and performant.
  • IBM Cloudant dB is very easy to provision for sandbox, development, QA as well as production.
  • Support for Java for CouchDB app server analytics enables a greater control for over developers.
  • Schema free oriented very easy to program and build applications on it.
  • We love it!!
  • Lacks in-memory capabilities
  • Limited support for programming languages like Python, R, Perl
  • No XML support
  • No SQL support :(
Read Naresh Jasotani's full review
Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

IBM Cloudant Experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Coudant allows unlimited secondary index fields when compared to others that have certain limitations.
  • Cloudant also has the ability to do bi-directional sync for replication and synchronization.
  • Cloudant can run on bare metal and virtual machines.
  • Cloudant can also be deployed in multi-user or private cloud environments.
  • very easy to program and build apps
  • Sometimes, there are no slower response times [than] when trying to pull records - I mean that slowness is in terms of milli-seconds :-)
  • I wish it has in memory computing capability
  • XML is still not supported by this product
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Deepak Kaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

Cloudant Rocks!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Strong query interface, IBM Cloudant provides a very robust and flexible query interface allowing us to write simple as well as complex queries.
  • Performance, for the most part we have been happy with the performance of the Cloudant database
  • Simple and straight forward. Ability to roll out the instances quickly and with a simple interface has been important for us.
  • The shared instances of Cloudant can have better isolation mechanisms. We have had instances where the performance of our instance was negatively impacted because other instances on the same node were taking more resources.
  • Better conflict resolution. Cloudant should take away some complexity of conflict resolution from the application. Today the application has to manage most of that complexity.
Read Deepak Kaul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Cloudant Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Adding and deleting documents in the UI is intuitive
  • The UI is helpful for managing the data
  • It is hosted on the cloud and doesn’t require much set up to get going
  • The @Cloudant/Cloudand npm SDK has very limited functionality when compared to MongoDB, the Cloudant queries that can be made with JSON is good however, but it is not obvious from the start that you can do this.
Read this authenticated review
Romualdo Gobbo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2016

Flexible data transportation HUB without structure constraints

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Managing different documents in JSON format: every well formed structure of JSON docs are stored without a previous data schema support.
  • Queu reviews: are the power map-reduce functions applying after the documents ingestion.
  • Replication: powerful and easy DevOps function to save, copy or back up the data from one Cloudant DB to another in synchronizing way even between different sites geographically distributed.
  • The automatic creation of Data Warehouse relational DB DashDB for Analytics from NoSQL is one of the [most] invaluable features ever found. The SDP-Schema Discovery Process is really unleashing the power of JSON schema-less into structured relational DB ready for all analytic tools without any programming intervention.
  • The API GEO call based on GeoJSON structure, is one of the features that has been much more awaited in the "location awareness" application now implicit in quite all applications from marketing to logistics. The GEO API is built by the query options making the geo search application integration more easy than ever.
  • To have a sort of LUW - Logical Unit Work when many documents are involved into a single update process. The changing of one document is related to its status information but it must be synchronized with all the other documents involved in the process.
Read Romualdo Gobbo's full review
Justin Saul | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2016

Cloudant - Build more. Sleep more.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cloudant is flexible and fast. From basic document storage, to aggregate data requests, to creating graph data models, Cloudant was flexible enough to handle it.
  • Cloudant events every record change enabling an easy way to event everything.
  • The Cloudant support team is fantastic.
  • At the time, filtered replication is sub-optimal for large data sets. This will improve over time.
  • The divide (cost & performance) from tenant to dedicated is a bit wide for startups.
Read Justin Saul's full review
Carlos Eduardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2016

Cloudant: the best choice for my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cloudant is cloud. Through Cloudant our company was able to connect all of our services into a single database in a very easy and faster way. This made our maintenance and analysis about our services much easier.
  • Cloudant is elastic. This is very important in business today. We spend only what we really need and have used. Nothing more.
  • Cloudant is very easy. Our company was able to connect Cloudant with all of our services and apps very easily. In a few weeks Cloudant was completely integrated to our services.
  • Our company team is completely integrated with Cloudant. The service is great and any new feature will be welcome.
Read Carlos Eduardo's full review
Kris Bandurski | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2016

Short and sweet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scalability.
  • Fast ingest rates.
  • Fault tolerance.
  • Great for building data pipelines (_changes streams).
  • I'd like to have an option of specifying a view (or multiple views) for the _changes stream that will be used to process the documents returned alongside changes (with include_docs=true)
  • Database-specific monitoring dashboards would be great.
  • Ability to tweak job priorities (on dedicated clusters).
Read Kris Bandurski's full review
Bryan Redeagle | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2016

If it fits your need, you'll never have problems or complaints.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It stores a very large amount of information very efficiently. Granted, we're just storing call detail records, but we're storing 200K records in 50MB.
  • Querying isn't as fancy as SQL-based databases. But if you know what you need and can get it in a view, it is very fast. I'm querying both date and phone number without any issues.
  • The UI for managing your databases is top notch. We can build views and searches, and query those with issues. This lets us refine and perfect our JS functions and queries very easily.
  • Search Queries. They work when they work, but some of the documentation is a tad confusing and the bookmark system of pagination is not great.
Read Bryan Redeagle's full review
Denis Voloshko | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

6 months of Cloudant. So far so good ;)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scales well.
  • Full access via http is great!
  • I personally like replication to vanilla CouchDB to use it locally from time to time.
  • Downloading data from Cloudant is a pain. Feplication via http is slow.
  • I would add the ability to use external functions for Cloudant, as it's implemented in CouchDB.
Read Denis Voloshko's full review
Nicolas Peeters | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Scaling our data layer without headaches

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Scale your data layer without issues.
  • Great support team.
  • Great documentation.
  • The Dashboard application is really slow and very hard to use to do any hard work.
  • No playground environment to test some very large map/reduce queries (and therefore any changes in the design have to reindex the whole DB).
  • Besides being slow, the Dashboard is actually less usable.
Read Nicolas Peeters's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Cloudant, great for ACRA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fair cost and possibility to stay on free usage program.
  • High availability. Our databases never ever experienced falls.
  • Fair documentation access. We could find tutorials across the web.
  • The learning curve could be a little tough if used for first time.
  • UI could be redundant and unintuitive in some cases (at least about 1 year ago).
  • Little integration with other tools
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Jesús Aponte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Cloundant Just Works! The best for us: The API.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Documentation. You really do well in that.
  • Reliability. We think IBM cloudant makes us feel secure with our data, we manage sensible information that we don't want to be open to the world.
  • Time. Everything can be done quickly. No too many configuration steps. The Cloudant API just works
  • Lack of a local version. We have to use alternatives as CouchDB or pouchdb.
  • The integration with other nosql databases should be easier.
  • Official wrappers for languages like python. That would be very useful.
Read Jesús Aponte's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (6)
8.4
Availability (6)
8.3
Concurrency (6)
8.1
Security (6)
8.7
Scalability (6)
7.2
Data model flexibility (6)
7.5
Deployment model flexibility (6)
8.0

About IBM Cloudant

IBM Cloudant is a distributed database that is optimized for handling heavy workloads that are typical of large, fast-growing web and mobile apps. Available as an SLA-backed, fully managed IBM Cloud service, Cloudant elastically scales throughput and storage independently. Cloudant is also available as a downloadable on-premises installation, and its API and powerful replication protocol are compatible with an open source ecosystem that includes CouchDB, PouchDB and libraries for the most popular web and mobile development stacks.

IBM Cloudant Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility

IBM Cloudant Video

IBM Cloudant Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloudant Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Brazil, Spanish, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional