Cloudera Enterprise Data Hub Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Rakesh Neelavar Rao | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Best distro of Hadoop in the market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quaero’s data management
platform (QDMP) and its AdVantage platform are built upon Cloudera’s Distribution of Hadoop (Cloudera Enterprise). The AdVantage platform is targeted for clients in the media industry to better
understand their audience, enhance engagement, create richer experiences, and
increase overall audience value. Quaero has deployed
the platform across several clients in the media industry (ranging in ingestion
volume from ~3MM to ~1.5 Billion records
per day).
  • Excellent management capabilities via Cloudera Manager.
  • Open source and does not restrict our data to be bound by a proprietary format.
  • Offers excellent support for data governance and auditing.
  • Has all the components that would help us build a data hub.
  • Excellent platform support offered by Cloudera.
  • More flexible pricing of the support subscription.
  • Looking forward to the integration of Oozie and Impala
Cloudera Enterprise offers the right mix of components to build a robust data platform which supports both reporting and analytics which can deal with all sorts of data.
Read Rakesh Neelavar Rao's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2017

Cloudera Enterprise Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cloudera Enterprise for a data lake in order to generate value from big data. Big data stored in the data lake is used for different data science projects like churn prediction, recommendation engines etc.
  • Stability
  • Support
  • Documentation
  • More Up to date technologies(e.g. Spark 2.2)
  • Data Science Workbench improvement
  • Data quality tools
CDH is not a replacement of RDBMS, we should think it as complementary technologies to DWH systems. CDH can be used for data lake and reduces costs too much.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

A brief Cloudera Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Cloudera to implement our big data service platform. Our team manages a central Hadoop platform where various departments were subscribed in a pay as you go model where they used it to solve various BI and analytical problems. On a day to day basis application teams used it for running Mapreduce/Tez/Spark jobs against their data set which is stored in HDFS.
  • One of the oldest distributors of enterprise standard Hadoop.
  • Distribution is based on open source Hadoop even though customizations are done on top of that.
  • Faster updates and bug fixes to the products as they have Apache committers.
  • Central configuration and control of your Hadoop platform (but still needs improvements).
  • Not fully Open Source, couple of components of the distributions are privately owned, meaning with public contributions are not welcome
  • Improvements to Cloudera manager can only be recommended. its very hard to get it done once recommended as the full control is with them.
  • Should make components more aligned to Open Source rather than making it closed sourced.
  • Custom Features of open source software tools supported only by Cloudera are tricky. Cant commit changes to tools like Hue.
  • Improvements to Cluster Management tool is required, which are already available to its competitors.
I personally started my big data career by learning Cloudera Distribution and obtaining certification years ago. Comparatively, it was the only distribution worth mentioning back then, but competitors may have outgrown them as of now, the rate at which Cloudera advances in terms of quality of the product and services could be at a lower pace than they used to be. Cluster Management Interface used to be of high quality. Cloudera never supported distribution on a Windows platform where competitors do. I am not a big fan of privately owned repos mixed with open source tools. I will try to stay away from those as that may create a dependency later on.
Read this authenticated review
Lois Garcia, GSEC | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2014

Cloudera Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I first worked with Hadoop before there was Cloudera Enterprise. I remember quite well editing files across systems and devising methods to watch for changes, the pain of working out user access privileges, and the search for a sane package management. Cloudera Manager provides tools for all of this and more. The BI engineering team bootstrapped the Hadoop ecosystem, and I have just recently come in to support expansion. Cloudera Enterprise is great, and I appreciate supporting a company like Cloudera which is firmly rooted in the community.
  • Gives a view of the entire ecosystem
  • Enables the management of a cluster as a cluster, not individual servers
  • Eliminates the possibility of manual error executing complex administration tasks
  • I have no suggestions...yet.
A really small, sandbox installation might be better off without Cloudera Enterprise at the start. If you subsequently move to Cloudera Enterprise, the benefits will be very obvious.
Read Lois Garcia, GSEC's full review
Sireesha Chilakamarri | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2014

Easy Peasy Cloudera for Developers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it at AT&T Interactive for Search Engine analytic department. It is used between product development and the analytics teams
  • Quick search and sort
  • Fast response time
  • Big Data management
  • Ability to make easy to program the Map Reduce jobs
  • Ability to easily administer with an easy to use UI
Any product dealing with huge user database and storage can benefit from Cloudera products.
Read Sireesha Chilakamarri's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2014

Cloudera on a BigData Lab Environment

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloudera was deployed in a internal APJC Lab environment to support Big Data service creation on Company's Unified Server platform. The professional services organization was trying to create services to leverage the server product line services in the region.
  • Cloudera was able to help the deployment of nodes and consistency on the content deployment across multiple server blades.
  • As any new technology, difficult to hire resources who know the solution specially in APJC to help with Lab and PoC activities.
Basically, the hardware platform to be used, the network design, the use case for exploring Cloudera features, the size of the clusters, the management/assurance requirements to support the solution from an enterprise perspective, any automation/interface requirements to automate provisioning and environment preparation, multitenancy deployments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2014

Cloudera Products, one of the best available in Big Data market

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used the Cloudera Enterprise in my previous company wherein I had to used the Cloudera Impala product. I have also used Cloudera Hadoop, Hive, Sqoop, Pig, Mahout etc. Since my project had requirement for trying different tools available in market, we were doing research on which tool is the best, thats where we landed on Cloudera Enterprise products. It is used only in my department. To address the shareholder data in files from different suppliers which needs to be processed via MapReduce framework.
  • Wide range of Products available on Cloudera which runs on MapReduce framework.
  • Easy to install on Virtual Machines. All the products are available on the website and steps for installation are easily available and well documented with examples and case scenarios.
  • All the products with latest versions are available which can be easily installed via yum.
  • Cloudera Impala which the fastest way to query the HDFS without using MapReduce framework. This is freely available on their website while with Amazon EC2 machines and Windows Azure you have to shell some money for using their machine.
  • Some of the previous versions have compatibility issues with latest CentOS Virtual machines. So you have to take care of the Cloudera product's versions as well as CentOS version.
  • Compatibility issues with installation on Mac. Everything is Linux based so user has to have good knowledge of Linux commands.
  • GUI's are missing
  • I ended up spending time on matching the exact Cloudera product version with CentOS version. So had invested a lot of time in installtion/uninstallation of these products until u match/find the exact version. I had issues while installing Impala maybe it was new when i had a chance to work on Cloudera Impala.
It is well suited when you locally want all the Cloudera products (MapReduce/Hive/Pig/Impala/Sqoop etc) on your machine. The best thing it is free. Though Amazon EC2 and Windows Azure Virtual machines which have these products are installed are more friendly but you have to shell a lot of money on hourly basis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2014

Best tool to manage Hadoop environment.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it in lab testing. It was a great experience and greatly reduced the configuration/management time.
  • Centralized configuration
  • Centralized management
  • Dashboard
  • More help on UI options
I think it is the best tool to manage large environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2014

Cloudera Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The ability to monitor and manage numerous Hadoop clusters from one tool. It is an easy way to learn and use REST API and Python client library. It is also easy to use the graphical interface to manage the health of our clusters. It also makes the install process on numerous nodes easy.
  • Massive amounts of data consumption. It is fairly easy to implement and understand how to manage a Hadoop cluster.
  • Cloudera makes the management of a cluster much easier than installing and managing it with the pure Apache version.
  • Lots of documentation that is easy to find if you know exactly the right version of what you are looking for. Lots of "knob" turning.
It is useful for monitoring and managing numerous clusters.
Read this authenticated review

Cloudera Enterprise Data Hub Scorecard Summary

About Cloudera Enterprise Data Hub

The Cloudera Enterprise Data Hub powered by SDX supplies data governance capabilities with data warehouse, Cloudera Operational DB, a noSQL database, and other features.
Categories:  Data Governance

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Cloudera Enterprise Data Hub Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No