Cloudflare Reviews

85 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 25, 2019
Darcy Knapp, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Excellent for managing server loads and site speed for our clients. Most would have to buy bigger hosting packages to handle their busy days, but CloudFlare picks up the traffic and reduces the burden on the server. Most clients can rely on smaller hosting accounts to keep their sites up.
Read Darcy Knapp, MBA's full review
March 02, 2020
Emily Muhoberac | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I genuinely think Cloudflare is suited for companies of all sizes, from a solo blogger to large corporations. For robust websites, it can get expensive, so it might be cost-prohibitive for sole proprietors who need many page rules. What website doesn't need extra security and speed?
Read Emily Muhoberac's full review
February 05, 2020
Carlos Eduardo de Souza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Cloudflare is a fantastic tool that makes our websites faster by optimizing traffic and caching files. Also, it adds a layer of security (even on the free plan), which blocks incoming threats.
  • The best part is the ability to use this service as a nameserver since we don't have to rely anymore on different hosting services.
Read Carlos Eduardo de Souza's full review
November 25, 2019
Ben Gelsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a website that you want secure (https) and fast (CDN) then the CloudFlare free plan is a no-brainer. For anything other than a simple personal blog/website, CloudFlare makes sense (and it would be good even for that humble blog as well). Ever since I discovered CloudFlare I've used them for every single website I create. The funny thing is, none of my sites have needed to go beyond CloudFlare's free plan, so I still haven't actually paid them.
Read Ben Gelsey's full review
October 24, 2019
Bryan McAnulty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use CloudFlare primarily for its content delivery network and security features like DDoS protection. It's threat blocking and page speed rules also help us maintain the setup we want for our web applications. While we will use it for web applications 100% of the time, we also put at least the free plan on almost all websites we create because it is so quick to implement and still provides great performance and security features.
Read Bryan McAnulty's full review
September 13, 2019
Chris Widner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Regardless of the size of your company, website, or technical needs, CloudFlare can not only protect your sites but make them faster and more efficient. With the right setup I can see using CloudFlare actually saving you money vs. hosting yourself or using other free DNS and traffic management providers. It can scale with you as your business grows.
Read Chris Widner's full review
January 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cloudflare is well suited for all websites, especially those managed by a small team/staff.

For small teams, Cloudflare provides many essential services right away, including SSL certificates, website performance monitoring, content delivery networks, and site security. For larger teams, a lot of these services can be more specialized, so Cloudflare is probably not needed.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our site was running outdated software for a while, and CloudFlare protected us while we went through the process of upgrading everything. This was a huge help! But the firewall rules prevent admin users from doing simple things like saving blog posts which contain links, and the User Challenge screens don't work properly. We've wasted a lot of time figuring out the exact set of whitelisting rules necessary for various users at various locations, and then every once in a while it all breaks and we need to start over! And when it does, the support staff is zero help.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare is great anytime you need to add DNS entries for sites.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2019
Marco Diversi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Cloudflare is essential if you are looking to have a free CDN, free SSL certificates that auto-renew, speed optimizations, instant CDN configurations, awesome apps to inject into your sites, reducing the chances to make mistakes editing the .htaccess file with rules and so much more. Also, we use it as a registrar, they are offering wholesale price on almost all the TLDs with DNSSEC that auto configure.
Read Marco Diversi's full review
June 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Protecting a website against malicious traffic and DDoS attacks is all but required these days and Cloudflare makes these protections relatively easy to use and free or low cost to get started. Anybody can set up a free account which will provide rudimentary website protection, so there is really no reason not to use Cloudflare. If your website comes under attack, it is easy to get in touch with a human at Cloudflare who can advise in modifying Cloudflare settings to remediate the attack. While they cannot do anything with your website or other services, they can generally advise and assist in troubleshooting to pinpoint the source so the attack can be diffused as much as possible. Aside from the website protection features, Cloudflare provides options and tools to work with anything from a small website or company on up to large, heavily trafficked sites.
Read this authenticated review
August 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare has a lot to offer in one place: WAF, anti-DDOS, DNS, CDN, load balancer, and certificates. Other solutions don't offer that much, and if they do, they cost much more. So far we didn't experience major issues with the service, and Cloudflare Support was very responsive when we used them. I believe there are alternatives which focus on specific features and for that reason, they have more abilities, for example, in WAF. But if your environment doesn't require it, Cloudflare is a great solution.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2019
Ed Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare is best suited, in my experience, to organizations who rely on web-based applications for critical business functions and where application uptime is essential. In our situation, our ERP system is web-based and if we have sustained network outages due to servers between us and the host, that impacts all aspects of the business from customer support to accounting. CloudFlare has a lot of other product solutions, but the routing and reliability services are what's most important to us.
Read Ed Hart's full review
December 21, 2018
Ramon Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very good for any large sites that are vulnerable to attacks from malicious users that could slow down the site. Also for ecommerce sites that cannot afford to be down for any amount of time. If speed is a top concern, then their premium and free versions are worth a shot so that you can test out their speed features to make your site even faster.

I don't think I have ran into any issues that they could not solve or help out with, so I can't think of any areas that are weak points for them.
Read Ramon Khan's full review
November 25, 2018
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare does a superb job of being a one-stop-shop for domain services. It updates you if there are any security threats as well as provides best practice recommendations including SSL certificates and other secure traffic concerns. The base package is useful just to see the traffic hitting one's website and how many are "unique" visitors.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
August 14, 2018
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use CloudFlare primarily in situations where we need a simple-to-use, free or cheap CDN. For most uses that are deeper integrated into other services, we tend to select offerings from Amazon, Google, or Microsoft Azure, as those tend to work better with other products from those companies.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
August 01, 2018
Dave Stack | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare is great if you are looking for a fast DNS service that will mask your IP address.
While I use a paid plan, their free tier is amazing and should not be discounted or overlooked if you are just getting started.
Read Dave Stack's full review
July 05, 2018
Michael Stein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare is one of the very few CDN service providers that offer a robust, free CDN service for all its users. The best part about it is that you don’t need to pay a dime for it irrespective of how much traffic your site’s generating, which is a proposition that’s hard to beat.
Read Michael Stein's full review
June 27, 2017
Chris Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for small, simple sites with few non-standard situations. Good for WordPress and other CMS/Frameworks that have a pre-built plugin. Otherwise, you may need some expertise or assistance to configure and troubleshoot your particular situation. The more dynamic the site in terms of backend interaction, the more chance for these types of situations. Also, watch out for server firewalls which can block CloudFlare's IPs and cause problems. Ideally, you'll need access to update these settings or a responsive and helpful hosting support.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
February 21, 2017
Joey Yax | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I can't think of a scenario where CloudFlare isn't appropriate. The only time somebody shouldn't use it is if they have internal requirements prohibiting them from using alternate DNS managers. It can be slightly more cumbersome for a novice user to have to set up another account to manage their domain too, but it's 100% worth the few extra minutes to get this up and running.
Read Joey Yax's full review
February 21, 2017
Chris Gabriel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Super fast implementation of CDN functionality and security. It is very easy to disable these features during development or for troubleshooting as well. The dashboard makes it easy to manage these features, especially the ones unnecessary for low-traffic situations.
Read Chris Gabriel's full review
May 25, 2016
Matt Lundstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

CloudFlare is great for shared hosting customers and perhaps even SMBs. These comprise about 90% of the sites on the Internet so CloudFlare is a great solution for the majority of sites out there. Enterprise customers probably already have their own dedicated CDN solutions and in-house IT departments in place.
Read Matt Lundstrom's full review
April 03, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

DNS configuration with very easy CDN settings. Also you can use free SSL CloudFlare certificates and it is very easy to configure.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cloudflare?

Cloudflare, from the company of the same name in San Francisco, provides DDoS and bot mitigation security for business domains, as well as a content delivery network (CDN) and web application firewall (WAF).

Cloudflare Competitors

Cloudflare Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
FreeFree
Pro$20per month
Business$200per month
EnterpriseContact sales team

Cloudflare Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No