CMiC Construction Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
118 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 80)

Caloub Huttash | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2020

The Solution You're Looking For

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a small, commercial Construction Manager and General Contractor, the CMiC Construction Platform is being implemented by most of our whole organization. We have in house I.T., accounting, contract administration, and construction project teams. We currently use CMiC as part of our construction project teams management of our projects.

Using CMiC to help administer our projects allows the office and field to consistently be on the same page. Daily information is being constantly updated and it helps keep the flow of information in one, reliable place. In an industry that's almost gone paperless, it's key to keep all the project information in an online file that can be accessed by all members of the project team.
Whether it's in the field, or in the office, the CMiC Construction Platform is well suited for daily project management of construction projects. From a project inception, to project closeout, the tools and modules available will help keep your project running smoothly. All aspects of the construction process can be tracked and accessed for real time information.

CMiC is a very robust program and we haven't explored all of the modules that are available to us at this point.
  • Opportunities for Maximum Collaboration
  • Breadcrumb Trails for Documentation
  • Multiple Integrations with Other Programs
  • Multiple Reporting Options for Real Time Information
  • Mobile Applications
  • Customization Opportunities for Current and/or New Templates
  • Support System, Portal, & Accessibility
  • Security Flags & Setup
  • Some Areas are Hard to Use
The support is an area that can be improved. All support is done through tickets and attachments, with an occasional phone call mixed in. Answers are often movie snips or manuals for work done by the customer. Support is also not available 24/7 like other places. When you do have issues, there is automation so you know it's being processed.

The people that work in support are friendly and knowledgeable, but the overall delivery could be improved.
The CMiC platform has allowed us to spend less labor hours on project administration. We're not only getting bang for our buck, but it's helping us reduce support staff hours. It also helps with workflow through automated reminders and responsibility notifications. It also keeps a record of when revisions are made and by who made them. The break crumb trail is very helpful when looking at the cycle or history of an item.
Read Caloub Huttash's full review
Amanda Leffler | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

New to CMiC and loving it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have recently implemented CMiC Construction Platform across our entire organization for all aspects of project management, finance, and payroll. We wanted to find software that could incorporate more functions so that we could consolidate the number of programs being used and CMiC was the right fit for this.
We previously had issues with information not being transferred across the various software platforms that we used, which meant that we had to duplicate work. A minor example is the CRM needs that we have from sales and estimating to project management. Simple address changes had to be entered in at least three different databases and this increased the likelihood of silly errors.
  • It integrates many aspects of project management into one location.
  • It produces easy to understand reports that incorporate financial aspects of the project so that costs and profit can be calculated in real-time rather than as a lagging indicator.
  • Document management is housed within the project, reducing the number of locations and the need for additional cloud storage to maintain project documentation.
  • CMiC customer assistance is prompt and helpful.
  • We are new to CMiC and the setup was a little difficult for us. It would be helpful to know what kind of information we need to input prior to a live training session so that we have real data to use.
  • Our initial implementor seemed lost because of the software version update. Better communication from CMiC to the vendors who sell it in the US may be a good idea.
  • All of our training sessions are done remotely, which can be tedious and difficult to follow when the sessions are so long. Less than four hours may help the information be absorbed--maybe 2-hour long training sessions over a greater number of days.
So far we have been very happy with the increased capability of the software. We are still working with the CMiC implementors to customize our setup as we fully transition the CMiC, but they have been very responsive and are helping us work out solutions for our unique needs. This platform will simplify the process of collaborating between departments as well as other vendors, subcontractors, and clients.
As we are still in our multi-month roll-out phase, we have not even fully utilized all of the features that are offered by the CMiC software, but so far we have been impressed with the potential that we see. In order to be effective and to actively manage project costs and general overhead, real-time financial analytics are critical. The integration offered by CMiC has helped us to get that information more quickly so that we can adapt faster to changes in projects. It will be this ability to react quickly that will translate to a more competitive edge in the post-covid19 construction industry.
Read Amanda Leffler's full review
Tony Ricca | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2020

CMiC from a PM's perspective

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the platform across the whole company from project management to accounting to payroll. It addresses several of the facets of the business and allows them to cohesively "talk" to one another.
  • Project financial forecasting: has good ability to manage all costs from one screen which is a great time saver and gives you the ability to see the effects of your changes real-time.
  • Invoice review and approval gives you the ability to review the data and actual invoice (PDF) and make real time changes as necessary.
  • Production of various reports that relate to the content they were created from.
  • Accessing different projects as if you were in a data base is troublesome. Running server queries and constantly having to type in your project is time consuming.
  • When creating timesheets, I don't have the ability to copy lines that I've already created. I'm forced to start from scratch on every line which is time-consuming. I also don't have a function to copy previous timesheets when I know the information from the previous week will be the same as the current week I'm about to populate.
  • In the forecasting and financial modules, CMiC can get quite glitchy with the internet platform. I run Firefox and Google. What happens is the financial matrix on the screen starts to detach itself, meaning when you scroll on the screen some of the columns move and others don't. The information becomes misaligned and you have to back out and start again.
  • CMiC very much needs a way to customize meeting minutes. It's very very troublesome to group topics or add subject matter to a new item to an existing topic. The UI should be more fluid and usable so the user can add lines where ever they need to and have the item number expand to incorporate that.
  • Customer service really likes to argue and debate issues we have. The attitude they have is that CMiC is correct and the user is the issue. We have had several issues especially in payroll where things were wrong. We were forced to created case studies over time to prove the point. This seems exactly the opposite of the purpose of customer service.
CMiC seems well suited for financial activity, invoice management, and pretty much most things that would act like data entry into a server where the program can process the data and provide a response or a report. Where CMiC seems to struggle is having an intuitive user interface where the user has the ability to customize the module to suit their needs. A great example is the lack of customization in creating meeting minutes and the lack of ability to actively update the minutes and see previous notes. You have to print your previous minutes and have them on the side of the screen to be able to run a meeting and update the minutes at the same time. Most people have laptops in a meeting and don't have the luxury of two monitors. Due to this, I handwrite notes to later update CMiC. This is very time-consuming. Software such as Procore allows you to easily see and update your minutes all in one place.
Now that I'm getting comfortable with the software, things seem to be going pretty well. I rate it a 7 because I have outlined some areas that could vastly improve.
As a PM, the 'back office' functionality is where I mostly engage the program. I think it does mostly a good job combining several modules but has a large room for improvement on the user interface, customization, and intuition.
Read Tony Ricca's full review
Edward Ruffolo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2020

Take your ERP financials and project controls to the highest level

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMIC is used as a true ERP application across the entire enterprise, including financials, project controls, human capital management, enterprise content management, project management, field, and mobile.
CMIC provides a fully integrated ERP environment, such that labor costs automatically become available for billing, change orders issued by project management are automatically reflected in billing, as well as subcontractor request for payment.
  • Integration of disciplines across the enterprise.
  • Strong support for payroll, especially union payroll.
  • Wide variety of third-party applications, such as Kofax, DocuSign, Vertex tax, etc.
  • Reporting and analytics could be improved. We have had to develop all of our own.
  • Obtaining application support is cumbersome and time consuming.
  • Very limited web-based standard training and inline help assistance.
Very strong integration, feature-rich, and comprehensive construction application, really the best construction ERP in the market. Customer support needs to be improved as well as standard reports and analytics.
Project financial risk control in the product is outstanding, especially in terms of capturing revenues by ensuring no billable costs are missed, and that change orders are properly managed from a cost and billing standpoint. Subcontractor management is also outstanding, with tight controls over contract values, pay requests, and contract revisions.
Read Edward Ruffolo's full review
Steve Kostick | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2020

CMiC Construction Platform Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC across the enterprise which includes multiple brands. As part of our implementation, 4 years ago, we had a goal to eliminate all third-party applications within our organization. In doing so, we have moved all processes to CMiC. That said, we still have third-party applications such as Kofax, DocuSign, and FMW but we make the selections based on the ability to use them with and pull/push information to CMiC. This makes CMiC the source for all of our information.
CMiC Construction Platform does a good job with project management and job costing applications, but the deeper you get into the application the more you find the things it fails at. Email is a big item. The system has the ability to send and receive emails, which it does a good job at including the ability to customize the message body and to select the attachments to include, but the system has no notification process for failed emails. The mobile app is also a great tool that our field personnel love to use, but once again it does not have auto updates associated with the objects so we have found information is overwritten when one user forgets to refresh the screen with the latest RFIs or submittals.
  • Mobile field
  • Project Management
  • Job Costing
  • Payroll
  • Creation of Dashboards
  • User security management
CMiC does a poor job providing implementation support, and anyone implementing needs to invest in a third party such as Palmer or Tilson to assist in the process to get it over the finish line.

Support after is adequate but is slow on critical items requiring help from management at CMiC to get the issues across the finish line.
Because CMiC does both, everyone is aligned with the same goals and data set.
Read Steve Kostick's full review
Laurie Smithson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2020

CMiC Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the CMiC Construction Platform across the whole organization. It has brought synergy to our business in collaboratively being able to better communicate and produce exceptional business results to our internal and external customers.
From a financial perspective, CMiC Construction Platform is very helpful to put the analytics in place to see at a glance the projections and actuals of the company's business.
  • The budget process for jobs is exceptional at keeping track and modifying when needed.
  • The mobile feature is exceptional to use in tracking employees.
  • ECM utilization with drawing management is phenomenal at modifying updating and notating changes/comments.
  • Implementation
  • Importing documents: some of the templates are not functioning correctly
  • Security: too many areas and not one source for control
Could be a little better at updating information on the help site.
This has been beneficial to the company as a whole due to the functionality of the software to integrate the multiple modules and processes that intertwine to produce a positive outcome from our projects reporting finances and productivity.
Read Laurie Smithson's full review
Ryan Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

Dividends on horizon during lengthy implementation

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used throughout our company. In the field (superintendent usage via tablet and laptop), in the office for project management, and on the financial side as well. It has become a one-stop-shop for management and finances so we are not using two different programs and trying to interface them correctly. It also interfaces with the field effectively and is a good information-sharing tool.
It would appear that CMiC Construction Platform is better suited for larger firms. It does take quite a long time to implement and the growing pains are vast. The technical glitches are all too frequent, and most of its little idiosyncrasies are frustrating to say the least. Again, it is a great communication and information sharing tool between site/office/subcontractors and consultants/designers.

  • Job cost forecasting/budget forecasting
  • Ball-in-court reminders
  • Invoice approval/coding
  • Cloud-based
  • Ease of inputting change orders/PCIs
  • Glitches need constant fixing
  • Remove fillable fields when not needed/used
  • Help boxes on windows
  • Not opening up new tabs/windows for everything in background
  • Shop drawing numbering is cumbersome at best. Ability to label as you want to would be better.
Training and continued support/platform modification has been quite poor. Extremely long modification times, missing deadlines regularly, being unprepared for sessions with our firm.
It has made site-to-office communication much more seamless. We work largely in remote communities, and it has allowed greater cohesiveness and access to information. I think we are still very much implementing the processes to a larger degree so more time will be needed to fully evaluate the lions share of the impact.
Read Ryan Taylor's full review
Jean Meisner | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

CMiC Construction Platform Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the whole organization. It is great to have one system from start to finish for our projects. Information is entered once & is available to everyone that needs to see it. It is also great that we are working towards going paperless!
CMiC Construction Platform is great at handling all the different aspects of construction. It is capable of tracking all contracts, change orders, communications with owners, job reports, safety, etc.
It handles costs, payables, sub-contractors, payroll, and the list goes on & on.
  • Love the ability to scan into the system
  • Tracking costs in real-time for everyone to see
  • Setting up the system was painful.
  • Training needs to be more specific to the companies needs.
When you have an issue, you have to send in a ticket and then wait for them to get back to you. There are times when you need an answer immediately & waiting does not work!
This is one of the main goals we were trying to achieve by going to CMiC. To have one system that could handle the back office as well as the field. No more duplication, etc.
Read Jean Meisner's full review
Kathy Hogeveen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2020

Underwhelmed and exhausted from trying to work with CMiC

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This purchase has been 50% of what we had hoped for. We definitely feel oversold. The product delivery was fraught with errors that took months to be resolved, causing our implementation to take 18 months. Since that time we have consistently found the support to be weak and extremely slow.

We chose to stay with CMiC purely because of the amount of time and effort put into the implementation with the hope that their R12 version being released in May 2020 would improve the ability for their team to support their clients. We participated in the beta testing and all training that was offered in preparation for the changes to come. The new version crippled us for 2 weeks. We still have numerous issues not resolved. They have tried to be helpful, however, what was implemented is not what we tested. We truly do not understand how this went into production.

We have stepped back to reevaluate the decision to stay with CMiC and have found that all our project teams and finance department have become inefficient. We have all found workarounds outside the software to remain in the construction business rather than problem-solving with CMiC. The cost involved for our staff to use this solution is not worth the price of the software.
The one positive thing we achieved by using this solution is real-time information between field, project controls, and accounting. This was a major reason we chose a full ERP. However, the software is simply too cumbersome to be effective. The number of steps it takes to create any document is too many. Other solutions do document creation with one-third the number of clicks it takes in CMiC.
  • Real-time information from field to finance
  • User interface needs to be simplified to speed up entry
  • Support has simply got to improve in all areas
  • Drag and drop functionality needs to be added to project controls
  • Emailing directly from the software and allowing for replies to be recorded is crucial
  • Ability to see your GL entries in bank reconciliations
  • Allowing one cheque per vendor when they are on numerous projects
  • Being able to see all invoices awaiting approval by Project Manager
  • GPS on time tracking app for people in the field
They do try. However, we have numerous cases that have gone on for months without the original challenge being dealt with. We've been very frustrated with quick answers that have led to several back-and-forth conversations only to point the support person back to the original challenge. We gave them a lot of grace considering the numerous versions of the software they were supporting. However, their support delays have cost our company a lot of money.

In 2020, it is time for online chat support or at least a phone number. The current support system is ineffective.
This is the area that we are most satisfied with. The fact that all members of our team now understand how their work affects the next department has improved communications and processes within our company. The software is simply too cumbersome to be efficient.

We did not complete the implementation of the additional modules after three years of use simply because each module did not meet our expectations.
Read Kathy Hogeveen's full review
Chris Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2020

Light years behind other construction management platforms.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMIC is used across our accounting and field operations. CMIC was software of choice due to the accounting link to the construction management side, which eliminates double entry for accounting. However, the construction management side is extremely lacking and requires double entry for the field operations side of the company.
CMIC is not user friendly, even with new roll out it is still light years behind some of the other construction management web based software's out there. First - Drawings upload process is through another software and it does not load properly to help with a drawing log or submittal procurement log. Once drawings are uploaded they are not an interactive area. I feel it is extremely important to link submittals, RFI's, and observations to the plans. I also believe uploading ASI should be an easy task and be emailed directly from CMIC to all subcontractors. I beleive it to be extremely important for any person involved in the project has one, and one location only to get the most current and update information on the project.
  • Accounting and budget would be the only strength I see.
  • Submittals - Platform is not friendly, should have autofill instead of looking up everything. The ball in court is confusing. Should be able to markup submittals from within CMIC, stamp and send to architect for response.
  • RFI - you should be able to create a revision, again, not friendly, please look at Procore platform and try to go after what they are doing.
  • Meeting Minutes are complicated, cannot send them out from CMIC.
  • Drawings are not a tab only a document. Drawings should be able to be marked up and have items linked and once published everyone should be able to see it.
It is non-existent! I searched their website for training tools, even resorted to Youtube looking for other user help ( which there is very little). I went to CMIC website called the phone number left a message to never receive a callback, asked my company IT person who our contact was, and was told we do not have one. Worst customer service I have ever experienced.
I am on field operations side and this software system does not have a good platform, I would NOT recommend CMIC to anyone!
Read Chris Brown's full review
Kiersten Tuning | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2020

Connectivity!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC Construction Platform is being used by our entire organization. We use the cloud-based software version which makes multiple streams of communication spread smoothly throughout the project team in the field to corporate and management. Having the whole organization use one software prevents information from being lost and promotes teamwork.
CMiC Construction Platform is well suited for project management and collaboration with multiple team members on a project. Multiple people are able to collaborate on a document or discussion. In addition levels of approval can be designated for different processes in order to have appropriate checks and balances. I cannot think of a scenario where CMiC Construction Platform is less appropriate.
  • Construction Management
  • Change Management
  • Analytics
  • Mapping
  • IT Glitches with Data
  • Slow upload/download speeds
CMiC has an immense amount of resources and applicaitions to make your company succeed in its objectives. I believe in order to have the software run at its best the user needs to be invested in learning everything they can about the software. The software is only as good as the user.
This has made back-office work much easier and easy flowing. When an issue arrives, we are able to easily track the source and history due to the awesome connectivity between accounting and the field management team. Workflow is much smoother and we are saving overhead costs with the CMiC construction platform.
Read Kiersten Tuning's full review
Jane Krogstad | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

A Roller Coaster Ride!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMIC is used across our whole company, from accounting to job site supervisors.
Well suited for LARGE contractors. Very expensive for smaller businesses.
  • Accounts payable image workflow is nice once in place.
  • The ability to export to Excel just about any screen of data is very useful.
  • Pretty easy to "pickup" without a ton of training.
  • Support is REALLY frustrating!
  • On any given day, usually following an update, the system has some serious consistency and accuracy issues.
  • Expensive and they hit you with all kinds of nickel and dime add-ons.
After submitting a problem, they always come back with "do you have a screenshot?" Not every problem can be screen shot! And they have access to your system via the cloud so they need to start there instead of "throwing it back in your court". REALLY frustrating!
Although I'm not a fan of CMIC, I can see there's value but our co. is small enough that it doesn't justify the price. There are a lot of glitches and workarounds. For example, just in the last 2 weeks, the payroll module SUDDENLY chose to pay the OT at the regular rate and in one case, paid a rate that was old instead of using his current hourly rate. So random and impossible to trust the data when things like this happen.
Read Jane Krogstad's full review
Ryan Waldroop | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2020

Great for financials and integration, somewhat lacking elsewhere

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC across the whole organization. Superintendents use it for their daily reports and for approving pay applications that are submitted by Collaborative subcontractors. Project Managers use it to write contracts and change orders and also to approve invoices and pay requests. All of this makes it easy for the accounting department to just select the invoices to be paid. There's not a lot of double-entry of work after approvals because the field module and financials all talk to each other.
CMiC is great if you need an all-in-one software solution that allows your folks in the field and what they do in the software to directly impact what's going on with accounting. We ran trials of other field solutions and they were probably better at what they did but required invoice approvals to be re-entered once received by accounting in another piece of software.
  • Same database of information between field and financials
  • No need to import/export information from one side to the other
  • Allows subcontracts to bill for themselves
  • Reduces double-entry of work
  • Cloud software is clunky and sometimes slow or offline
  • Too many options in many places, not enough in others
  • Tries to do too many things, but does few of them well
CMiC support has *usually* been very responsive and helpful. They do require extensive and expensive training before providing support.
CMiC's financial feature set is some of the best in class that we tested, at least for the price point we were looking at. The field modules can sometimes be frustrating or lacking, but get the job done. The beauty is that everyone is on the same platform so everything generally just works without the need for double-entry or import/export.
Read Ryan Waldroop's full review
Justin Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

Honesty is the best policy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a construction database for our field and office use. We use it to manage our job sites and stay organized with daily logs, submittals, journals, etc. It is used throughout the entire company from the executive team to the office to the field team. It is a helpful way to stay organized and keep accountability for each subcontractor. In construction, organization is key and CMiC is helpful for this.
CMiC Construction Platform is well suited for organization in each project and keeps things such as submittals and RFI and change orders intact. Some issues are with the daily journal and the camera feature, and logging things in is not always easy. Also, the mobile field app does not always work correctly or sometimes does not work at all. There seem to be a lot of bugs that need to be worked out still.
  • Organization
  • Database is user friendly
  • Submittals and RFI log is easy to use
  • Daily log journals
  • Installing pictures into the log does not work most of the time
  • CMiC mobile field app does not always work and has error messages frequently
I have been in contact with the CMiC team before, I have been sent to many different people to try and figure out a problem with the end result left with empty promises and unresolved issues.
When CMiC works correctly it works great. It is few and far between that the CMiC mobile field app works correctly, and when I call or email to get a resolution I don't get much help. I am still waiting on resloutions for issues from last year.
Read Justin Scott's full review
Alyson Gregoire | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2020

Field Project Management Financial Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC is being used by our Accounting team to manage our entire financial portfolio. Our Project Management team (myself included) uses CMiC for all financials relating to our specific projects (i.e budget, forecasting, change orders, etc).
It is well suited for financials, change orders, budget uploads, and reports. It is not so great for submittals and RFIs (our company has now switched to Procore for those elements of the project).
  • Reports: Mainly change order reports, this is great to present to our clients on a weekly basis.
  • Budget upload and ease of transferring costs from one cost code to another.
  • Forecasting: the monthly cost report never matches the forecasting, and it is very difficult to figure out where you went wrong in your forecasting to correct these errors.
  • Once you enter a change order field (i.e 91002), if you entered any wrong information while "adding a new" change order type, you cannot go back and correct it.
It is beneficial to our project teams to manage the financial aspect of the project. It is not so beneficial in terms of displaying an accurate picture of the job from a holistic perspective, as we only use it for financials. As far as the back end (i.e accounting, payroll, etc) I am not involved in that process.
Read Alyson Gregoire's full review
Greg Prue | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

CMiC offers useful tools for us now and offers potential for much greater use.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC is used widely throughout the company. The different modules are used in different departments. My familiarity is with "Field" used by project managers & some site superintendents and with e-time entry. I have never used the Financial Modules.

The Field Module serves to consolidate information and facilitate communication between stakeholders. The E-Time Module is used to enter hours worked per project.
  • E-Time Entry allows a simple task to be performed, with data entry possible by approved stakeholders.
  • Field provides a platform to share communication with all approved stakeholders. Access can be limited as appropriate. There is a lot of flexibility to use a large number of modules within Field.
  • It is possible to share the information via email with a pre-approved user list.
  • The application is not always intuitive. I would recommend an on-line user guide and potentially an on-line training module.
  • E-Time Entry should open to the current date, rather than have an extra step to select the current date.
  • "Field," if it does not already have the capability, should allow "Project Users" (my sub-trades) to access selected aspects of the module, rather than just receive emails about the activity.
  • "Field" allows a user to enter RFIs. When entering the question, it should be possible to paste an image (.jpg, PDF, etc.) into the body of the question.
  • "Field" should have a feature to automatically follow up on "unanswered questions", with the follow-up date selectable.
CMiC Construction Platform is a reasonably good solution to track project activity if used diligently by stakeholders. Unfortunately, each project team and team member has different commitment levels and different skill levels.

Part of the difficulty is that in the construction industry there are so many stakeholders from different companies that they do not all have access to the platform and not all are technically limited.
My support is provided by in-house personal and is responsive. I have no direct contact with CMiC.
My exposure is limited to the Project Management and Field Operations. I find it allows me to raise issues quickly and directed to the appropriate stakeholders. Responses though vary and need to be managed and followed up on quickly. It would be great if aspects of the follow-up were automated.
Read Greg Prue's full review
Hugo Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

CMiC - More that just a database!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC is being used across our organization.

Pros:
-redundancy of data entry
-chance of errors
-inter-department communication
-produces timely reports
-standardizes our procedures

Cons:
-most things are pretty easy to learn, however there are certain parts of the system that are not intuative
-not all error messages are clear
-a lot of the reports that we need to create/alter cannot be done using MIP, and it can be quite costly, and the turn around time is very slow

Despite the cons, I would still give CMiC a 7.5/10. All ERP systems will have their drawbacks, the important thing is that the positives outweigh the negatives, and I believe CMiC easily does that.
  • Tracks Financial Health
  • Fully integrates Finance and Project Delivery
  • Allows for collaboration through IO email with Third Parties
  • Reduces data entry
  • Adds the perfect level of controls
  • Issues can take some time to be fixed
  • Customization can be expensive
  • Not user "friendly" - takes time to learn
  • Error messages are not always clear
It meets the majority of our needs. It works best on larger projects, where the full breadth of CMiC can be utilized properly. On shorter projects it can seem more time consuming than beneficial fully utilizing everything CMiC has to offer.

It also works best it you have a dedicated CMiC team to help roll out and support users.
Customer support is great at responding (for the most part), however I still believe it takes too long to resolve issues. Certain issues are not considered "urgent" can sit for months. Even when we pay for custom things to be added, we find ourselves waiting quite a while to get things up and running.
It has helped greatly. Having everything available from anywhere we have a laptop (or even tablet) makes this system available. That coupled with the fact that once something is entered it is available to every user of CMiC, makes our processes run smoothly, and it allows management to have all the information faster.
Read Hugo Hernandez's full review
Nicholas Fenton | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Hammering out a Constructive Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use CMiC for recording meeting minutes, construction submittal/RFIs and managing cost. It’s only used by our construction department. The biggest problem it solves is giving us one location to store information regarding a project. Having all the items listed above in one location makes it easier for us to share information with the design team and owner.
  • Submittal sand RFI: CMiC does a great job of allowing submittals and RFI to be submitted, reviewed and tracked.
  • CMiC provides a great platform for creating meeting minutes.
  • Cost management: CMiC is great for managing the the overall budget for a project.
  • Change Orders: creating and tracking change orders in CMiC can be a little clunky, for example when a potential change item is added to a change order it does lock it out from being selected for a different change order.
  • Transmittal: there is a lot of information on the transmittal sheet that we don’t use.
  • Setting up the architect to be able to review submittals and RFIs was difficult and it took a few weeks to work out the bugs.
CMiC is a great platform for housing meeting information including agendas, minutes and site photographs. It is great for processing RFIs and submittals for the project team to review. It’s not well suited for field reports. Although it is easy to complete and upload field reports, it’s extremely clumsy to search the field reports for specific information if you don’t know the date something happened.

I’m giving Support a middle of the road review rating because I haven’t contacted CMiC services before. I do have teammates that have contacted CMiC and they have stated that their experience was pleasant. As a result, I have rated this as a 5 because I don’t have enough information to rank it higher or lower.
Since our construction department and our accounting department don’t both use CMiC, it is hard to comment regarding these questions. I do personally see the benefits of using this product across all divisions of the company to increase workflow and reduce the likelihood of information being transferred incorrectly. Mostly between accounting and construction.
Read Nicholas Fenton's full review
Randy Stanger | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

CMiC at a Glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a commercial construction company doing business in all of the western states. We use CMiC for our accounting, payroll, project management, and field. Before switching to CMiC we struggled with being able to connect with our guys in the field and being able to access our data from outside the office. With CMiC Cloud it has given us the ability to access our data from wherever we are. We constantly struggled with our field being able to see the latest information. CMiC Field has given them access to see the latest data and also easily submit daily journals and various reports.
  • CMiC has really good costumer service
  • CMiC is constantly trying to evolve to meet the new and everyday needs
  • Willingness to collaborate with users on how they can improve
  • They provide a wide array of useful tools
  • The ability through the cloud to work from anywhere
  • Depending on what module you are in, there are a lot of issues with continuity. It appears that each screen was designed by a different programmer and there wasn't a basic structure to follow. The save button on one screen is at the top and on another it is on the bottom. Then on other screens the save button is called "process". Also on most date entry fields, you can enter the date as MMDDYY but on others, you have to do YYYY-MM-DD. I would really like them to make things consistent through all of the modules. It makes training new employees more difficult when there isn't consistency.
CMiC Construction Platform works great as an all-in-one solution. However, due to the fact that CMiC can do so many things well other programs that specialize in just one thing are oftentimes a little cleaner or more polished. The thing that has helped our company the most is being connected to the cloud. We are able to work from home, on the road, or in the field. Our connectivity with our field superintendents has never been better. They are able to see updated sub-lists, submittals, RFIs in real-time, not needing to rely on the project managers to either print or email the documents to them. For the price, there isn't a better all-in-one solution on the market.
Like in every company some employees are better at helping customers than others but CMiC as a company cares for their customers and tries to help and resolve their issues and concerns.
The workflows in CMiC are great. I wish that as a cloud customer we had more control over creating and modifying some of the workflows. One of the problems that we face is when you send something into the workflow for approval, the originator doesn't get notified once things are approved.
Read Randy Stanger's full review
Simona Nicolescu | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Newbie Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to organize the entire company. All departments use it and it helps track all of our projects. As a coordinator, we use it for scheduling, financial tracking, project process and POs, COs, etc.
  • Purchase orders, change orders, estimates, etc.
  • Organizes projects well.
  • It is very useful to have everything in one place.
  • Uploading files can be easier, a click and drag option would be useful.
I believe it is useful in every way. I've worked for companies that do not use these types of platforms and the process of running a project is so much slower and more complicated. It helps prevent mistakes and makes things quicker.
I haven't had any issues with it.
I'm not involved with the finances or planning for the company, but I believe it works well seeing as this is what the company uses.
Read Simona Nicolescu's full review
Kris Lindley | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

New User Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The project managers have used it for a few years, I am in the transition of moving to the accounting side.
  • Cloud-base
  • Powerful info
  • Real-time reporting
  • A bit complicated for our use.
  • Security settings can be a challenge to setup.
  • AP vs contact use.
For construction field use it works very well, on phones tables laptops everyone has the access they need. The accounting side can also be done remotely and in today's world that is very helpful.
From my limited us this is the best review I could give. However, our team that uses it every day is very happy with the software.
With having all aspects of the business under on "roof" we can get real-time data job reports, and track budget to actual costs.
Read Kris Lindley's full review
George Gokmen Oktem | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

General Review of CMiC (before R12)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC helps project teams to share the files and follow up on RFIs, change orders, and shop drawings in the same place.
  • Ease to export report in different formats.
  • Easy to analyze cost to complete forecasts.
  • Variety in the reports.
  • Lack of general overview project report compiling project information from different departments (Let's say total RFPs or number of outstanding punch list items, or projected cost-profit vs bid profit, etc.).
  • Lack of notification system.
  • Lack of auto-generated reports and emails.
  • Lack of speed on certain pages (Forecasting screen or large queries takes a while to load).
CMiC is well suited for contractors working for both large and small volume projects, particularly in the private sector. However, some of the detailed functions may overwhelm small contractors and or may be obsolete for general contractors working for public projects and using the owner's platform as project controls in addition to CMiC.
The Support team is very efficient and responsive.
CMiC usually allows field people to reach the data without having back-office involvement and increase the efficiency of data flow from the field to the back office as well via mobile apps. However, the implementation of mobile apps hasn't been an easy process yet.
Read George Gokmen Oktem's full review
Tom McInerney | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2020

Beginner - but enjoying

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization - used by construction field/project managers and incorporated into the billing department as well. It incorporates budgeting tools/construction field inquiries (RFIs, documentation, drawings) as well as daily logs and information critical to the construction site. It also incorporates monetary issues and tracks the cause (field issues/RFIs).
  • Good budgeting/finance tools.
  • Incorporates RFIs/field reports.
  • Document (drawing) incorporation.
  • Scheduling/budgeting.
  • More user/friendly interface.
  • Selective export to excel.
  • Use with chrome.
It seems to work well as an overall solution to construction companies - payroll, hr, field and project teams. There are multiple modules that are effective tools for all users in the firm and a single solution for a variety of items. A drawback would be if there's incorporation from an outside owner - would be cumbersome for them.
I haven't used support but done training mostly - that has been good.
Overall, the workflow has been helpful in incorporating my daily tasks into a simple platform. There's billables, projections, budgeting, construction day-to-day all in one location. It's been helpful in simplifying daily work and streamlining the overall construction processes and items in a interface that's both customizable and robust.
Read Tom McInerney's full review
Nona Hosseinian | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

CMiC Review

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the Finance and Field packages. The entire company uses CMiC. I'm not really involved in the bigger picture...I use mainly the Finance package.
The nice part of using CMiC Construction Platform is that the PCIs are approved, confirmed, and posted for the Project Manager and client. The downside of this is if errors are found later, they can't be corrected easily. There are a few reports that I like, for example, job transaction report, job status report, job costing report. You create a subcontractor change order without using PCI, the issue is, it can't be billed properly.
  • I love the links between POs, Invoices, PCIs, Billing, etc.
  • It's good that changes are done in real-time and can be viewed by others immediately.
  • Queries can be moved to Excel.
  • The speed could be improved.
  • There is no report to show outstanding balances from our vendors--a comparison between AP and the PO.
  • Until invoices are posted in AP, the amounts of the invoices do not show as part of the % spent on a PO.
  • You should be able to run a report from Finance that would show invoices from Imaging and Finance that have not been entered or posted.
They generally don't figure out the issue. We have many outstanding tickets. I have been kicked out of CMiC in the middle of posting invoices and invoices have been "lost." When this happened (several times), support took too long to resolve so we had to enter the invoices through AP, which causes many problems.
Read Nona Hosseinian's full review
Zachary Geller | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

CMIC Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across all of our construction management and field departments. Ties financials into all project management functions.
  • Helps keep track of financials in real-time.
  • One database for most of the functions we use daily.
  • Forecasting provides a very good tool to see financial the health of a project.
  • Not user-friendly at all!
  • Drawing/document management is terrible.
  • RFI/submittal tools are awkward and (again) not user-friendly.
  • Many glitches and lags while using.
  • Half of training consists of "work arounds" of the CMIC system to fit our needs.
CMIC has great potential with the financial aspect. If the user interface could be more intuitive/friendly, I think it would be a really great product. Drawing/document/communication/RFI/Submittal management is archaic. I am used to a Bim-360 or Procore type tool for this. Much more user-friendly.
We go through a 3rd party for CMIC issues. This can be somewhat slow and again, we end up creating a lot of workarounds within the system.
There is a benefit to having financials tied more closely to the field. This can help field personnel make better decisions that impact financials.
Read Zachary Geller's full review

CMiC Construction Platform Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (8)
6.5
Employment history (10)
6.8
Job profiles and administration (7)
5.7
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (7)
5.7
Organizational charting (4)
5.6
Organization and location management (5)
5.2
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (8)
4.7
Pay calculation (11)
6.8
Support for external payroll vendors (6)
5.2
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (7)
6.1
Benefit plan administration (8)
6.0
Direct deposit files (10)
7.7
Salary revision and increment management (10)
6.4
Reimbursement management (7)
6.3
Tracking of all physical assets (6)
5.8
Dashboards (15)
5.6
Standard reports (23)
5.7
Custom reports (16)
6.3
Data exportability (21)
6.8
Plan distribution & viewing (47)
5.4
Plan markups & sharing (43)
3.7
Issue tracking & punchlists (54)
6.2
Photo documentation (51)
4.9
Jobsite reports (59)
5.1
Document sharing (63)
5.9
RFI tools (62)
5.9
Collaboration & approvals (62)
6.1
As-built drawings (36)
5.8
Mobile app (42)
4.6
Submittal design and management (56)
5.6
Meeting Minutes (25)
5.5
Specifications (17)
4.9
Change orders (28)
6.7
Takeoff tools (14)
5.2
Job costing (32)
6.6
Cost databases (28)
6.8
Cost calculator (21)
6.6
Bid creation (18)
6.0

About CMiC Construction Platform

CMiC aims to provide companies with an intelligent construction platform.

Purpose-built for the construction industry, the CMiC construction platform offers a suite of software applications that power E&C businesses for a broad range of customer segments. From financials & accounting, managing human & capital assets, to ensuring efficient project management for flawless project delivery, CMiC promises to help deliver value to your clients.

CMiC software is architected on a single database platform that offers companies and users benefits such as a single source of truth for all business needs, streamlined workflows across the enterprise, the ability to run analytics to visualize data, and a consistent user experience. The single database platform for construction aims to enable all the different modules to connect seamlessly and allows data to move freely. This helps provide simplified workflows, visibility & transparency and better decision making for construction executives.
Categories:  Construction

CMiC Construction Platform Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features
Has featurePlan distribution & viewing
Has featurePlan markups & sharing
Has featureDocument sharing
Has featureIssue tracking & punchlists
Has featurePhoto documentation
Has featureJobsite reports
Has featureRFI tools
Has featureCollaboration & approvals
Has featureAs-built drawings
Has featureMobile app
Has featureSubmittal design and management
Has featureChecklists
Has featureMeeting Minutes
Has featureSpecifications
Has featureChange orders
Estimating Features
Has featureTakeoff tools
Has featureJob costing
Has featureCost databases
Has featureCost calculator
Has featureBid creation
Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Has featureData exportability

CMiC Construction Platform Screenshots

CMiC Construction Platform Videos (2)

Watch What does CMiC’s construction software do? How does it deliver value to construction firms? Watch this introductory video to learn how CMiC can help your business optimize productivity, minimize risk and drive growth.

Watch How can you ensure that your construction firm is maximizing the value and output of your full construction crew? Watch this short video, which introduces solutions to these challenges, and download the eBook 5 Factors that Distinguish a High-Performance Construction Field Solution to learn more!

CMiC Construction Platform Downloadables

CMiC Construction Platform Integrations

DocuSign, Textura, Comdata, HCCS, GCS Pay, ToolWatch

CMiC Construction Platform Competitors

Procore, Viewpoint, SAGE

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Pricing available upon request.

CMiC Construction Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
68%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
32%

CMiC Construction Platform Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

CMiC Construction Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:North America, Middle East, South East Asia
Supported Languages: English