CMiC Construction Platform

CMiC Construction Platform

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.4 out of 100
CMiC Construction Platform

Overview

Recent Reviews

CMiC You!!

8 out of 10
February 26, 2022
We use CMiC for Project Management, Payroll, Accounting, Invoice routing, and Time recording. The advantage of using CMiC is that all our …
Continue reading

Great product with issues

7 out of 10
September 18, 2021
We use CMiC to manage the construction documents for all of our projects. This includes financial modules for billing clients and paying …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 39 features

RFI tools (80)

7.6
76%

Collaboration & approvals (83)

7.4
74%

Jobsite reports (78)

6.9
69%

Document sharing (79)

6.4
64%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of CMiC Construction Platform, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is CMiC Construction Platform?

CMiC Project Management is a construction project collaboration and management solution. It centralizes project-related communications and documents onto one platform, and connects the job site with the back-end office.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Procore?

Procore is a project management software designed specifically for the construction industry. Procore is cloud-based and allows unlimited users per instance, so that construction team members and stakeholders can all access project information and documents.

What is PlanGrid?

PlanGrid is construction productivity software. The company provides tools to collaborate, collect, and manage project information throughout the project’s construction and operations lifespan. It enables document centralization and tracking.

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

7.5
75%

Payroll Management

7.9
79%

Asset Management

7.0
70%

Reporting & Analytics

7.2
72%

Construction Project & Field Management

6.9
69%

Estimating

7.2
72%

Product Details

What is CMiC Construction Platform?

CMiC aims to provide companies with an intelligent construction platform.

Purpose-built for the construction industry, the CMiC construction platform offers a suite of software applications that power E&C businesses for a broad range of customer segments. From financials & accounting, managing human & capital assets, to ensuring efficient project management for flawless project delivery, CMiC promises to help deliver value to your clients.

CMiC software is architected on a single database platform that offers companies and users benefits such as a single source of truth for all business needs, streamlined workflows across the enterprise, the ability to run analytics to visualize data, and a consistent user experience. The single database platform for construction aims to enable all the different modules to connect seamlessly and allows data to move freely. This helps provide simplified workflows, visibility & transparency and better decision making for construction executives.

CMiC Construction Platform Features

Construction Project & Field Management Features

  • Supported: Plan distribution & viewing
  • Supported: Plan markups & sharing
  • Supported: Document sharing
  • Supported: Issue tracking & punchlists
  • Supported: Photo documentation
  • Supported: Jobsite reports
  • Supported: RFI tools
  • Supported: Collaboration & approvals
  • Supported: As-built drawings
  • Supported: Mobile app
  • Supported: Submittal design and management
  • Supported: Checklists
  • Supported: Meeting Minutes
  • Supported: Specifications
  • Supported: Change orders

Estimating Features

  • Supported: Takeoff tools
  • Supported: Job costing
  • Supported: Cost databases
  • Supported: Cost calculator
  • Supported: Bid creation

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets
  • Supported: Asset issue and transfer management
  • Supported: Asset return
  • Supported: Warranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports
  • Supported: Data exportability

CMiC Construction Platform Screenshots

CMiC FIELDCMiC AnalyticsCMiC Drawing ManagementCMiC FIELD

CMiC Construction Platform Videos

CMiC Construction Platform Downloadables

CMiC Construction Platform Integrations

  • DocuSign
  • Textura
  • Comdata
  • HCCS
  • GCS Pay
  • ToolWatch

CMiC Construction Platform Competitors

CMiC Construction Platform Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)68%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)32%

CMiC Construction Platform Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesNorth America, Middle East, South East Asia
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is CMiC Construction Platform?

CMiC Project Management is a construction project collaboration and management solution. It centralizes project-related communications and documents onto one platform, and connects the job site with the back-end office.

What are CMiC Construction Platform's top competitors?

Procore and Acumatica are common alternatives for CMiC Construction Platform.

What is CMiC Construction Platform's best feature?

Reviewers rate Reimbursement management highest, with a score of 8.3.

Who uses CMiC Construction Platform?

The most common users of CMiC Construction Platform are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Construction industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (162)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 102)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC [Construction Platform] is our primary ERP platform for construction financials. It is our cost single point of data. It's used by everyone in the Company.
  • It scales well.
  • CMiC has a strong user base
  • There are many workflows available for you to choose from
  • Support has been traditionally sub par
  • The customer is not often treated like a partner
  • New releases are not tested throughly
This is well suited for larger organizations that have sufficient internal resources to test, train and deploy. It is critical to have internal support resources and not rely on CMiC [Construction Platform] as primary support.
Traditionally it was extremely poor. Less than average response time, and there didn't feel like an urgency. In the last 2 years it has improved a great deal however.
We have really only used CMiC [Construction Platform] for it's core cost accounting features and relied upon other systems for other workflows like HR, Document Management, Field. For Financial and Accounting, it's solid.
February 26, 2022

CMiC You!!

Jerome Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC for Project Management, Payroll, Accounting, Invoice routing, and Time recording. The advantage of using CMiC is that all our data is centralized into one database. This means that everything talks to each other without the need for clunky 3rd party integrations.
  • Project Management
  • Analytics/BI
  • Accounting
  • QA patching
  • Support
If you are looking for a natively integrated ERP platform built specifically for the Construction Industry, then CMiC is for you. There are many other solutions out there, but only a handful that integrates financials into project management. The advantage of this is that you get real-time, accurate financial data along with Project Management without the need for 3rd party integrations.
100% percent. This was why we chose CMiC. Workflows between the field and office have improved because field folks have insight into financial data on their projects.
Ejay Gering | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I use CMiC Construction Platform for all accounts payable, receivable, and overhead invoicing. Our project management operations use CMiC Construction Platform for processing all contracts, change orders, and billings via CMiC. Integrated accounting software cloud-based program for all construction operations.
  • Integrated accounting solution
  • timely and accurate forecasting
  • workflow - efficient approval process for contracts, change orders, and invoicing
  • Field Mobile Application - Different look and access for mobile use.
  • Field - Meeting Minutes and daily log program. Years behind others
  • Field - Just not user friendly
CMiC Construction Platform is well suited for accounting functions for construction managers. It is not suited for self perform work crews and field documents.
We benefitted in user buy-in as achieved results were recognized immediately. The benefits in staffing time spent to review/approve via imaging have saved countless hours of hand-delivered documents for signature approval, or rejection, and the return cycles. The real-time sharing of information from office to field and our subcontractor base has increased production and reduced risks.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Project Management Financial Management Productivity Tracking Change Order Tracking Potential Cost Impacts
  • Track Production
  • Track PCI
  • Manage Budget
  • Projections
  • Update Change Order Approval date upon Posting
  • Currently reads pending change orders as anticipated showing negative Over/Under
  • Allows codes to run a negative anticipated
I really enjoy using the production tracking module inside of CMiC. It automatically gives us our needed production rates to hit budget and its projections are fairly accurate.
CMiC has helped us track production accurately against our budget allowing us to relay to the field team if production is on track or if we need to find a way to increase production. This has kept us from busting our labor projections and allowed us to shift more funds into our over/under towards the end of the project or scope of work.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used CMiC for project management including, but not limited to, submittals, RFIs, document control, tracking safety issues in the field, and monthly billings to the owner/client. CMiC Project Management also sends us email notifiers if we were paid, if an RFI was responded to, and/or if a submittal package was approved by the design team.
  • Organization.
  • Approving of misc. invoices/sub invoices in workflow.
  • Notifications.
  • Making sense of billing to the owner.
  • User interface.
  • Ease of use for 3rd party design team/owners.
CMiC Project Management is a web-based database for project management. My team used it for tracking RFIs, submittal package approvals, safety issues in the field, and mainly billings. My project team was the first team at our company to formally use CMiC Project Management for 100% of the owner billings, instead of partially outside the system (excel) as previously project teams used. My lead PM ran into a lot of issues and glitches with this aspect of CMiC Project Management.
My company had benefited from CMiC Project Management from being able to track submittals, safety, RFIs, subcontract management, and billings. However, the billings portion of CMiC has had some major glitches. When we would go to pull the owner invoice, not all invoice attachments would download. This meant that each time a misc. or sub invoice was entered into the workflow, it had to be downloaded to the local desktop drive, or else it would be missed in the owner billing that month.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC [Construction Platform] is being used by the entire organization. Payroll uses it for processing payments. Accountants use it to pay our vendors and subcontractors. Project teams use it to track production, contracts, costs, and much more. The entire organization uses CMiC [Construction Platform] one way or another. It helps keep the teams organized.
  • The contract platform is user friendly and spits out the correct information.
  • It is easy to pull reports in CMiC enterprise for cost.
  • Easy to submit invoices for payment.
  • CMiC needs to work on the very outdated labor transfer platform. It is so old and not user-friendly [in my opinion].
  • [In my experience] there is a glitch that happens very often. You won't be able to log in if you don't close out all tabs and try to re-open the platform. Sometimes multiple times.
  • The user face could be nicer and more professional.
It is well suited for accounting. It could be better on the field side for project teams to be organized, it can be complicated.
It has been helpful but CMiC [Construction Platform] doesn't talk to our other platforms, such as WorkDay, as accurately as it should.
Carly Richardson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used across our organization from each department. It has drawn all financial, construction, and project plans. It has well-developed [a user] interface that is easy to run and customize to fit organization needs. We have been relying on the CMiC Construction Platform to plan and budget for our expenditure on projects and tasks.
  • Financial planning.
  • Project management.
  • This platform is well equipped with most suitable features.
I can highly recommend CMiC Construction Platform to any organization for planning, project management, and overall business management. We have built our business foundation effectively from the help of this great product on proper decision making. Empowering our staff is very by giving them the right roadmap and financing them to deliver the best results.
Our enterprise planning has led to effective collaboration from departments and contributed to [the] effective progress of our workflow. It has given us the best investment plans and proper management methods [for] our assets. Our workforce team [has] highly benefited from excellent planning infrastructure and protected our portfolio. Project management [has] been effective with our staff working as a team.
The support team [has] been in touch with our deployment team and has given them effective guidance up to completion. It has helped us in [the] best methods of resource allocation and secure record-keeping process. We have tracked all our billing information and made the right payments with documentation and avoided [unnecessary losses]. [The] support team has [to] lead our teams to the right channels and empowering our team with the right skills for maximum production.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC Construction Platform (along with other modules) is being used mainly by the construction and supervision teams. This program aims to increase the efficiency of tasks carried out on site. These tasks include but are not limited to RFI's, handling drawings and Specs., Minutes of meetings, and so much more tool.
  • Handling RFI's.
  • Reporting Tools.
  • Creating Workflows.
  • Lacking an estimation function.
  • Scheduling tools need some improvements.
  • Needs optimization for older devices.
CMiC Construction Platform excels in dealing with tasks that are related to the construction sites in the core. For example, CMiC Construction Platform gathers all Requests for Information (RFI's) of the project in a single centralized location. This allows the engineers to have better follow up on these RFI's especially when multiple RFI's are connected. On the other hand, when it comes to variation orders (VO's) the program has a slight disadvantage when compared to other alternatives.
CMiC Construction Platform along with the other different modules allowed for much smoother workflow for the site team and for the PMC department as well. As a result, now the team aims to deliver the project with a better time frame and tighter schedule. Overall CMiC Construction Platform improved the quality of work.
The supporting team for CMiC Construction Platform is really helpful and has been always there when needed. Sometimes we can face some issues with the support team of CMiC Construction Platform but usually, it is not much of an issue.
September 18, 2021

Great product with issues

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC to manage the construction documents for all of our projects. This includes financial modules for billing clients and paying sub-trades. We manage the additional cost impact through the enterprise module, which affects the financial module keeping all costs in line. We use the platform across the whole organization, connecting our Projects Department and our Financial Department. This helps us ensure costs are updated in real-time and prevents confusion between the two departments. We also use the system with our field operations—documents are added as they are received and our Field Team is able to stay up to date with real-time information.
  • Cost management.
  • Meeting minutes.
  • Invoicing.
  • Contract management.
  • Change records management.
  • Document management.
CMiC is well suited for companies that have can integrate multiple departments with it. For example, we do not have to share cost status with our financial department—they have real-time access to it. This ensures that departments are retrieving real-time information and prevents a lag or misinformation between departments. CMiC would not be suitable for an organization that does not heavily depend on project management, with cost and document management being crucial parts of the business. For a financial-only company, CMiC has a very simple system and is not the best when creating reports for finances.
We do not use the back-office feature from CMiC to its full extent. We do not have payroll set up on it but we do use it for timesheets. As payroll is sensitive data, we need to ensure it is kept separate from our CMiC super users. The integration of field and enterprise has been a great asset.
CMiC has major issues with their coding test runs before they go live. As such, the Support Team only knows about the issue when reported, but does not know how to fix it. It is a repeated issue, especially on small updates. Something working well will suddenly stop working and the support will have no idea. They can provide some solutions but more often than not, they need the coding team to comment.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC is our ERP platform to consolidate everything in one database, from the initial lead through the sales process through the final warranty in the construction process. It is also our filing and data storage system, as well as our communication platform with our external clients and business partners, all in a cloud format that allows for multiple site access, critical for the transfer of information among scattered job locations. This software helps us implement SOPs for all of our processes, and then provides insights through its measurement capacity and Business Intelligence reporting functionality.
  • Data collection & retention.
  • Management process & intuitive interfaces.
  • Robust and flexible accounting features.
  • Implementation and training process.
  • Bid management process.
  • Use of all hardware platforms (MAC and PC).
This software is appropriate when you're looking for a completely integrated ERP for the construction management process—multiple projects across multiple vendors and collaborators. It is less appropriate for trade contractors who don't have the burden of managing multiple subcontracts, or multiple collaborators, and would be overkill for their typical construction process.
It has unified all aspects of our construction business, provided a process for all functions, and the ability to collect and retain data, as well as easily access it within one system that is connected.
We've been in implementation for over two years on their cloud product, and still don't have all aspects working properly.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC Construction Platform as our main project management tool. We run RFIs, submittals, and meeting minutes through it as well as tracking our project financials and change orders. CMiC Construction Platform is missing a drawing management module that most other construction software has.
  • Financial forecasting.
  • Document tracking.
  • Financial organization.
  • Labor forecasting--this should automatically update the forecast as each pay period rolls.
  • No drawing coordination.
  • More flexibility with documents. Meeting minutes are tough to organize in a flexible manner.
CMiC Construction Platform brings a good amount of horsepower for the program's cost. It definitely lacks some of the additional tools of more expensive products and is not the most user-friendly. However, once you learn the ins and outs, it can be a good asset.
Support seems to be responsive when needed.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMIC to manage our subcontracts, Change Orders, RFIs, submittals, Transmittals, daily logs, and most of all of our project documentation. All of our superintendents and project managers use CMIC. We do not have the financial side of CMIC right now, but have been talking about it however some of our management is not comfortable with switching from the financial software that we currently have and some are also not comfortable with having our financial software be on the cloud, some of them prefer to have all of the financial information stored locally on our accountant's computer and not even on our company network. Right now we are not utilizing CMIC as much as we could and I would like to try and get the company to use it more. I really like the software and it was much less expensive than other applications. The CMIC support has been really good at times but early on it was a bit rough. We had some issues getting a good response from support but for the most part, I have been very satisfied with their support folks. The user interface is similar to that of other project management software applications so folks in our company that had previously used other applications have been able to switch over fairly easily.
  • The user interface is similar to that of other project management software applications so folks in our company that had previously used other applications have been able to switch over fairly easily.
  • I really like the software and it was much less expensive than other applications.
  • I like the mobile application so that our superintendents can view the documentation on their phones.
  • I really like the punch list capability mobile field, however, we have a hard time getting our superintendents to use it for some reason.
  • We have had issues with their support from time to time but recently they have been great.
  • They have had quite a few times where the system and features have gone down or been available over the past year or two but before that, it was always good with no problems.
  • I wish there was an easier way to customize all of the forms and reports and not have to only use Excel or Word MIP templates.
We use CMIC to manage our subcontracts, Change Orders, RFIs, submittals, Transmittals, daily logs, and most of all of our project documentation. All of our superintendents and project managers use CMIC. We do not have the financial side of CMIC right now, but have been talking about it, however, some of our management is not comfortable with switching from the financial software that we currently have and some are also not comfortable with having our financial software be on the cloud, some of them prefer to have all of the financial information stored locally on our accountant's computer and not even on our company network. Right now we are not utilizing CMIC as much as we could and I would like to try and get the company to use it more. I really like the software and it was much less expensive than other applications. The CMIC support has been really good at times but early on it was a bit rough. We had some issues getting a good response from support but for the most part, I have been very satisfied with their support folks. The user interface is similar to that of other project management software applications so folks in our company that had previously used other applications have been able to switch over fairly easily. I really like the punch list capability mobile field, however, we have a hard time getting our superintendents to use it for some reason. I like the mobile application so that our superintendents can view documentation on their phones.
We use CMIC to manage our subcontracts, Change Orders, RFIs, submittals, Transmittals, daily logs and most of all of our project documentation. All of our superintendents and project managers use CMIC. We do not have the financial side of CMIC right now, but have been talking about it however some of our management is not comfortable with switching from the financial software that we currently have and some are also not comfortable with having our financial software be on the cloud, some of them prefer to have all of the financial information stored locally on our accountant's computer and not even on our company network. Right now we are not utilizing CMIC as much as we could and I would like to try and get the company to use it more. I really like the software and it was much less expensive than other applications. The CMIC support has been really good at times but early on it was a bit rough and we had some issues getting a good response from support but for the most part, I have been very satisfied with their support folks. The user interface is similar to that of other project management software applications so folks in our company that had previously used other applications have been able to switch over fairly easily.
The CMIC support has been really good at times but early on it was a bit rough and we had some issues getting a good response from support, but for the most part, I have been very satisfied with their support folks. We have had issues with their support from time to time, but recently, they have been great.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMIC to integrate our accounting and construction management operations.
  • Tracks contracts and change orders.
  • Tracks owner changer orders.
  • Supports monthly billing using AIA type documents.
  • The platform is large so operation is pretty slow.
  • Field management (daily reports, material tracking) is a little bulky and hard to use.
  • Invoicing can be a little glitchy.
The CMiC Construction platform works well for tracking costs and financials. It makes job buyout relatively easy. It does not work as well with field management. The daily report module is not particularly user-friendly for field personnel.
CMIC has been a benefit to our back-office operations, however, it has not been much help in the field. While our IT guys find it very easy to use, the construction crews struggle with the platform.
Questions are always answered, however, not always in a timely manner. Responses sometimes take 24 to 48 hours, and while this may seem fast, when the issue is in regards to a payment due the next day, it can be an issue.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC to manage real estate multifamily development projects. We highly rely on job cost tracking, invoice approval, and bill package functionalities to improve our efficiencies and recordkeeping. The system does have a learning curve but it has been very helpful overall considering we previously used QuickBooks to track everything.
  • Invoice approval.
  • Spent to date detail.
  • Draw package for lender.
  • Not very user-friendly.
  • Glitches often.
Very well-suited for construction, not so great for managing complex capital structure.
We have not.
Fairly quick to respond when a case is opened but the self help manuals could be improved
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC for our project management, financials, and payroll. CMiC helps us manage all the subcontracts/AP in one system, which along with payroll data is used for Jjb billing. Costing, AP, and payroll flow right into Job billing. We also do union payroll which CMiC handles very well.
  • Payroll.
  • Financials.
  • Job costing.
  • Job billing.
  • More robust safety module.
  • Flexible checklist with QR codes.
  • BI that is easier to use for users.
CMiC is strong in financials. If used for a job, billing with payroll works very well.
Integration with Textura for job billing and Kofax for AP has been very successful integrations for us. DocuSign integration helped a lot during the pandemic for subcontract and change order approval.
There is always a delay in support and development queues. Sometimes tickets are not looked at for months.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC Construction Platform is used for managing expectations on the job site across the country for management to understand what is going on, on a daily basis.
  • Simplicity of reporting.
  • Collaboration.
  • Process Flow.
  • Accounting.
  • Meeting expectations.
  • Support.
CMiC Construction Platform is great at visually conceptualizing ideas. They have a 360-degree product, meaning from Management to PM's, PM's to Superintendents, Superintendents to Assistants, Assistants to safety management, safety management to upper management, upper management to accounting, accounting to owners.
This was a major selling point. The whole process is within one application. Adhering and the ability to adjust to our individual needs were another factor that played into the decision. It's a matter of meeting and delivering on expectations on newly enhanced modules. There is a light at the end of the tunnel and I hope we can all get there.
They need to work on expectations. When enhancing a module, they have been known to deliver gaps between the new enhancement and the old one. The support is no longer available as they direct their full attention on the enhancement part while leaving the gap in between those projects empty. This causes issues and discrepancies.
It is a very easy to use system. When you remove all the additional fluff that other cloud based companies use, and simplify the user's experience, the platform works exceptionally well.
Grace Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC Construction Platform is a great solution [for] project managers for [the] creation of different project reports and schedules. Estimating and easy to manage orders, contracts, and even project [licenses]. CMiC Construction Platform has capabilities on CRM and [is a] great tool for project finance and payroll management.
  • Creating reports.
  • Billing and Invoicing.
  • Task management.
  • Planning functions.
  • Scheduling tools can be modified.
  • Estimation can be more accurate.
CMiC Construction Platform offers the most required capabilities for project resource planning and budgeting of any construction project. CMiC Construction allows the user to get started easily without [much] training. The workflow management and drawing organization capability through Cloud is effective and helpful [in] reducing time wastage.
Creating different reports of several [operations] within the project is now very easy [with CMiC Construction Platform]. Order management and project cost estimating have been good with the tool.
The team is active and responsive to any problem [reported] by their [customers] and [is] effective [in implementing] their help. The tool offers support [over the phone] and through their help setting [which] is easy and effective. Well implemented CMiC Construction Platform has the ability to manage the entire project lifecycle.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CMiC for construction management and accounting purposes across the whole organization. The integration of both construction and accounting is very helpful for tracking purposes that address the issue of trying to coordinate between two different platforms.
  • Integrated accounting and construction management platforms to aid in tracking and minimize errors
  • Forecasting module is clear
  • Construction admin modules need some work as outside users are unlikely to want to use
  • Some minor bugs still in meeting minutes
The integration of both the construction and accounting software is very helpful for forecasting and tracking of invoicing. Issuance of contract documents such as subcontracts/POs are also well constructed assuming the templates are properly set up. Some administrative tracking programs like meeting minutes, RFIs, submittals, etc. still need some work as we have found it's unlikely for outside parties to want to use CMiC in lieu of traditional email.
CMiC support is available to aid, but sometimes updates to fix the issues can take a while.
CMiC has improved workflow between all parties from construction and accounting. Forecasting has also been improved to be more efficient and accurate for job profit projections.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire company uses CMiC for both accounting and project management. It has been helpful being able to incorporate all necessary departments into one software.
  • Communication between every department
  • Keeping all accounting and project management data in one space
  • Being able to use that data to focus on tasks that need more attention or effort
  • Better communication between Enterprise and Field where invoicing is concerned
  • Less random and vague error messages for users and subs billing in the online portal
  • More help from support when problems arise in regards to accounting functions with some sense of urgency.
It is very well suited to processing invoices, and job costing. We make frequent use of the reports and query functions as well. There are a few things in the software that do not function properly or at all however. We were told upon the sale of CMiC to us that we would be able to use the Compliance functions to help keep up with insurance expirations for vendors or subs etc. Unfortunately, it has not worked properly yet. Furthermore, it has actually caused really annoying issues that CMiC has yet to help us fix. It has been auto-assigning "automobile insurance" to all the vendors on both the subcontract level per job and the vendor level. These cause "compliance holds" each time we go to print a batch of checks. We did not even turn that option on as we do not use it, but we have no way to turn it off short of periodically running a compliance hold report and manually removing whatever the software will allow. If the vendor happens to have an invoice already in the system or a voucher in a batch you're screwed. After submitting the problem to the support team several times, and even a phone call complete with a patronizing non-helpful IT person, the problem still persists. The compliance part of CMiC does not even remotely function, let alone function properly, and needs attention ASAP.
There is zero sense of urgency for issues that are time sensitive to us as a small business like being able to process subcontractor billings and invoices. There is an always a patronizing and condescending tone to any support we do receive. If anything, we get zero help, but come away from the problem having to get our in-house IT person to assist instead. Several times, they did not seem to even understand or pay attention to the issues we were having, and we were frustrated by their inability to understand and listen to the problem. Instead, the response is more like an inquisition into what we potentially did in the software to cause the problem we are having or error message we received. Like, "it must be something you did wrong, lets figure that out so I can make you feel inferior, but not be helpful in any way." Then, they send a message about your error message being turned over to the programming team. After that, the support bully sends emails once a week forcing you to either close your ticket or comment. So, basically, you're forced to give up on the problem without it being solved because the "system" does not want you to leave an open ticket just sitting there, but the support team either doesn't give a rip about your problem, or isn't in any hurry to fix it. Furthermore, they are completely fine if the system bullies you into closing the "inactive ticket" because then they have digital permission to ignore you. It stinks. "Support" for CMiC is not supportive in the least.
We do not use CMiC for HR or payroll purposes due to the poor functionality of the Compliance portion of the software. In addition to that, we get too many crashes and error messages to trust it to handle that data.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[CMiC Construction Platform] is being used across the whole organization: in the office and in the field. From creating job costs to reconciling bank accounts
  • Easy to add/edit vendors and business partners
  • Quick search through AP invoices
  • Tracing a transaction is well made
  • Entering a code of the vendor instead of the company name while recording an invoice takes time and seems counter intuitive
  • Editing an invoice created through Image Management on the AP side is limited to description and address field. When changing the rest (invoice# or a date or an amount) - the whole trace of who entered/submitted/approved disappears. The way it works now is: deleting an invoice from the batch, locating it through Registry/invoice search, unsubmitting it, making changes, submitting, adding back to batch - time consuming
  • In Multiple distribution pop up window, when entering a new invoice, I'd make the field "Company" to be autofilled once "Job" is entered. It takes time to memorize what job number belongs to what company.
  • There is only web version available and it is limited compare to a desktop client. For instance I can only make one change at a time and save it. Multiple changes don't get saved in one click
[CMiC Construction Platform] is well suited for bigger companies with multiple locations and lots of employees.
It would be less appropriate for smaller companies that don't require such detailed job description/costing etc
Some questions are not answered/ problems not fixed in 24 hours and it takes weeks to get the fix.
It allows to collaborate with multiple locations in different states; allows to work remotely for the most part - anything can be attached as an electronic document, with notes and explanations; anything can be added, entered and seen by other team members.
August 26, 2020

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMiC is being used as a document control and collaboration tool by us as the GC for a project in conjunction with our client and their designer as collaborators. It currently creates more problems than it addresses. Except for the activity tracking for submittals and RFIs we currently only see functions similar to a SharePoint or Dropbox system because there were so many issues during the initial setup 6 months ago that have continued to drag out that we have never been fully set up and requests to finish installation continue to push as our account gets moved to different leads.
The platform has significant issues with setup and customization for us, we have repeatedly submitted requests for assistance with item not functioning properly (data not fully shown on report prints, data disappearing, incorrect data being transmitted via the I/O feature on submittals, request for custom documents folder structures) and many of our larger issues have not been resolved. We would be better off with SharePoint because it at least allows for document structuring the way we need for this project and the file data wouldn't have date or missing information issues like we are currently experiencing. The product issues are bad enough, but the "IT support" process of trying to tell us how to program the system that was never fully programmed to "fix" something or not being able to fix a collaborator access issue without needing a middle man to collect screen shots is less than ideal. People shouldn't have be be tech savvy to use this product. If you offer "IT support" it should include fixing the issue directly instead of a drawn out series of screen shots and condescending messages.
  • Data tracking.
  • Installation and setup.
  • Tech support.
  • Glitches and error fixing in a timely manner.
  • Custom document folder options.
  • User friendly platform.
  • Streamlined collaborator viewing/use.
  • Customer support.
  • More urgency in fixing ongoing issues.
  • Single point of contact, you require it of your client but don't provide it.
  • Direct support access for all users, including collaborators.
It's a cumbersome platform that doesn't support plans and specs in a way utilized by most construction companies. There is no way to download a specific set (or specifically selected number) of individual drawings sheets, it doesn't package drawings in sets, the Specs function (at least as far as we've been set up for) isn't a function as much as it is a documents folder, uploading is a tedious process that gains no benefit.
Won't ever use it, have hated the functions we are using so have zero intention of trying to switch over to utilize any of these CMiC features. If the experience is anything like our field use has been it would end our company as a business.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally purchased CMiC to use across all parts of the business but we didn't ever get beyond using it in the accounting department and a little bit in the field for project managers.
CMiC appears to be a good platform. If everything worked, it would be well suited to a larger construction company that has a static list of cost codes that are applied across all jobs. It does not seem to have a very good service portion to it. However, even though the software would be suited to job costing clients, our experience was that there are still so many issues with the software that the appearance was deceiving.
  • Approval processes for AP invoices
  • Multiple places where data can be easily uploaded
  • Integration with tools like Bluebeam for drawing management (CMiC mobile app)
  • Taxes do not flow from the job to POs and subcontracts.
  • Stability of the product in general
  • Payroll--entering of employees and time do not flow easily.
  • AP invoices
  • Updates--if you are cloud-based, you have no control over when the software is updated.
It really depends on who you get for support. On the upside, they have switched to Salesforce for their support which does allow you to log calls on the web (which is very easy). The downside is that if you have a complex issue, support either fights you on it OR just ignores it. They are certainly helpful with smaller issues but they seem to lack an escalation process within support to ensure that complex issues are dealt with.
If anything, this software has had a negative impact on our whole company both in terms of reliable information and the speed at which we can get information into the system. This has forced us to slow down on our closes and/or accrue tons of invoices every month which, again, has a negative impact on the jobs themselves because PMs cannot see their updated to-date costs.
August 09, 2020

Great Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses CMiC for both accounting and project management. I am familiar with the project management side. It's been great for budget management and I love the fact that I can code invoices digitally. Saves a ton of time reviewing printed paperwork as we'd done in the past.
CMiC has been great in keeping our company with live budget updates. Drawing management has been a struggle. We've begun using BlueBeam instead for this.
  • Great at keeping budgets in real time.
  • Daily reports are thorough.
  • Contract entry & change orders are easy.
  • Drawing management, loads plans slowly.
  • Photos are very hard to manage and see what they are.
  • Would like to be able to delete a posted change order (instead of voiding only).
Support is being run through one of my employees, therefore I'm unsure if they're slow or if my employer is slow in their response time.
From my point of view, CMiC has sped up our billing process and has made it more effective. I'm not too involved in the back-office functionality, but all around it seem sot be a lot better than how we were running previously.
August 07, 2020

CMiC Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the CMiC Construction Platform across the whole organization. It has brought synergy to our business in collaboratively being able to better communicate and produce exceptional business results to our internal and external customers.
From a financial perspective, CMiC Construction Platform is very helpful to put the analytics in place to see at a glance the projections and actuals of the company's business. We do like the project management field side for our Engineers to be able to access drawings and make notable changes.
  • The budget process for jobs is exceptional at keeping track and modifying when needed.
  • The mobile feature is exceptional to use in tracking employees.
  • ECM utilization with drawing management is phenomenal at modifying updating and notating changes/comments.
  • Financial Position in the CMiC analytics is a helpful tool
  • Implementation
  • Importing documents: some of the templates are not functioning correctly
  • Security: too many areas and not one source for control
Could be a little better at updating information on the help site.
This has been beneficial to the company as a whole due to the functionality of the software to integrate the multiple modules and processes that intertwine to produce a positive outcome from our projects reporting finances and productivity.
Great for the system with a little difficulty with security.
Edward Ruffolo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CMIC is used as a true ERP application across the entire enterprise, including financials, project controls, human capital management, enterprise content management, project management, field, and mobile.
CMIC provides a fully integrated ERP environment, such that labor costs automatically become available for billing, change orders issued by project management are automatically reflected in billing, as well as subcontractor request for payment.
  • Integration of disciplines across the enterprise.
  • Strong support for payroll, especially union payroll.
  • Wide variety of third-party applications, such as Kofax, DocuSign, Vertex tax, etc.
  • Reporting and analytics could be improved. We have had to develop all of our own.
  • Obtaining application support is cumbersome and time consuming.
  • Very limited web-based standard training and inline help assistance.
Very strong integration, feature-rich, and comprehensive construction application, really the best construction ERP in the market. Customer support needs to be improved as well as standard reports and analytics.
Project financial risk control in the product is outstanding, especially in terms of capturing revenues by ensuring no billable costs are missed, and that change orders are properly managed from a cost and billing standpoint. Subcontractor management is also outstanding, with tight controls over contract values, pay requests, and contract revisions.