Coda

Coda

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Coda

Overview

Recent Reviews

Coda Reviews

8 out of 10
April 19, 2022
We were using Coda in my previous workplace to collaborate within immediate as well as cross-functional teams and use one platform for …
Continue reading

Coda Rocks!

9 out of 10
April 15, 2022
Coda is allowing our quickly growing company to consolidate and track OKRs across many different departments and functions. We often have …
Continue reading

Coda Is The Best By Far

9 out of 10
April 13, 2022
Coda is used across the whole organization and it helps us stay unified as a team by having a resource we can all access. I feel that it …
Continue reading

Coda Is One in/for All!

8 out of 10
December 08, 2021
We use Coda to create documents of all sorts -- text, sheets, anything -- and store them. First off, you can easily create any document …
Continue reading

Great tool to use

7 out of 10
March 03, 2021
We use Coda as a tool to update our internal users on an ongoing project. The project affects many people across different departments and …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Coda, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0.00

Cloud
per month

Pro

$10.00

Cloud
per month per doc maker; unlimited editors (paid annually)

Team

$30.00

Cloud
per month per doc maker; unlimited editors (paid annually)

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://coda.io/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Coda?

Coda is a doc that brings words, data, and teams together. It starts with a blinking cursor on a blank page and can grow as big as a team's ambition. Coda comes with a set of building blocksーlike pages for infinite depth, tables that talk to each other, and buttons that take action inside or outside the docーwhich users can combine to make a doc as powerful as an app. The vendor says people have made Coda docs that do everything from launch products, to scale small businesses, to help them study for tests.

Coda Features

  • Supported: Pages: Every Coda doc starts with a page. And can grow into as many pages as you like, so you’ll never outgrow your doc, no matter how big your team or idea.
  • Supported: Tables & Views: A table in Coda can be as simple as a list or as deep as a database. And it can have customizable, connected views, so everyone can work off the same data, in their own preferred way.
  • Supported: Controls: Controls—like buttons, select lists, and sliders—make a doc feel more like an app for your team.
  • Supported: Packs: Packs connect your Coda doc to the apps you use everyday—the tools you and your team communicate, code, and design in.
  • Supported: Formulas: Formulas can live anywhere in Codaーon the page or in a control or table. You can think of them as the connective tissue between building blocks in Coda.
  • Supported: Automations: Automation is the building block that puts your repetitive yet important tasks on autopilot.
  • Supported: Templates: No need to start from scratch. We turned our most popular compositions of building blocks into time-saving templates and made them available inside your doc.
  • Supported: Forms: Collect inputs and data and synthesize using Coda's building blocks to view and filter data

Coda Screenshots

One unified surface means ideas aren’t limited to a file type. Your project doesn’t have to be split across tabs of documents, spreadsheets, and apps.Packs are our version of integrations or plug-ins. They connect your doc to the apps you use every day, so you can pull live data in or push updates out automatically.Drag-and-drop templates give you a quick-start shortcut to commonly used templates like Upvote/Downvote, To-Do List, and Team Sentiment Tracker.You can slice, dice, and chop your data however you'd like using Views. A View is a mirror of your data that can be tailored to your unique needs, all while staying connected to the source.When you access your doc from your mobile device, you’ll feel like you built an app. Doc pages become tabs, buttons become swipe actions and doc notifications become push notifications (if you want them to).Our Doc Gallery contains docs self-published by our community. These published docs have a webpage-like interface and have varying levels of interactivity like view, play or edit. Find and share tools, templates, tiny apps, interactive handbooks, and anything else you can build in Coda.

Coda Videos

Meet Coda
Learn how Figma's Yuhki Yamashita uses Coda to ship product
Watch Coda CEO & Co-Founder Shishir Mehrotra transform Stripe COO Claire Hughes Johnson's fabled offsite doc into an interactive Coda doc

Coda Integrations

Coda Competitors

Coda Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Coda?

Coda, from Coda Project headquartered in San Francisco, is a template-based document generation solution, supporting a variety of use cases presented by the vendor as ideal for smaller companies that might otherwise be relying on spreadsheets to maintain (for instance) product development, or inventory tracking. It is available free, with paid editions to support teams, automations, or for more advanced collaboration and workspace features, as well as more advanced security features.

Who uses Coda?

The most common users of Coda are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 26)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mariolis Ferrer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is a platform that brings it all together, it is a perfect place for work teams to manage documents, spreadsheets and applications, it is a solution that helps the team understand better and work collaboratively and transparently participating quickly and by collaborating affectively making better decisions, Coda has the power to seamlessly evolve a document with connected data and tables that connect to each other.
  • Coda is a platform that makes it easy to add infinite capabilities to documents, it is a solution that I really like because it offers ingenious collaboration tools when organizing meetings, designing more collaborative and equitable forums, turning work into a friendly and inclusive culture for the team.
  • Coda is a tool that facilitates the way we manage documents and spreadsheets by serving as a dashboard with lists to streamline processes, helping to keep a team connected, organized and without wasting time.
  • Coda is a platform that helps with project management increasing workflow, collaboration and error reduction, it is a tool that is designed to work in an optimized way providing a complete and flexible service with wonderful features and solutions to which we can get the most out of it by going from ideas to actions in seconds.
Coda is a complete and visually pleasing solution that is of great help in my organization allowing work teams to make better decisions, keep projects organized, increase flow, collaborate productively and safely. When organizing meetings, Coda is of great help because it allows me to design collaborative and equitable forums, building a friendly and inclusive culture for the team.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using Coda, my organization has mostly documented everything relating to the project on which my organization collaborated, and our organization has a number of explicit deadlines by which consumers must return information. My organization was able to construct smooth templates through Coda. My organization was able to organize a lot of material in the space and was able to document video, images, and links as well. Table options, formatting, and conditional filtering features have also assisted my organization in prioritizing what my company wants to focus on, planning a project, and highlighting different bits of data for different people across several pages and table.
  • Constructing smooth templates.
  • Documenting video, images, and links.
  • Highlighting different bits of data for different people.
  • Improve dashboard of Coda.
  • Reduce pricing of Coda.
  • Improve customer support of Coda.
My organization considers Coda for a variety of business and organizational projects. Using Coda, my organization keeps a lot of data and different types of data in one place. The user interface of Coda is very fluid and easy to use. My organization has benefitted from using the efficient and effective operational functionality of Coda.
April 19, 2022

Coda Reviews

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Coda in my previous workplace to collaborate within immediate as well as cross-functional teams and use one platform for managing all information instead of spreading work across word documents, presentations, excel sheets, and over areas. Coda provides a very intuitive and flexible platform to organise all information irrespective of the formats.
  • Very intuitive to use
  • Highly flexible- you dont need to think of formats
  • Very agile and collaborative
  • Integrations with internal tools are not great. You cannot read/write info to other tools of your choice easily.
  • Managing scale can get clumsy.
  • Onboarding/ initial learning curve is cumbersome for many users.
Coda is extremely agile and works really well for highly collaborative organisations that do not want to get into the hassles of managing different formats and storage of different information. It makes organising information very structured and easy and also keeps it highly collaborative for internal as well as external teams.
April 15, 2022

Coda Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is allowing our quickly growing company to consolidate and track OKRs across many different departments and functions. We often have multiple programs, spreadsheets and communication streams floating around about the same topic with unique access to each. Coda has allowed us to bring all of this information together in a consolidated and clean format.
  • Collaboration
  • File sharing
  • Knowledge consolidation
  • Automated integration with other programs
Coda has served us well as we establish and measure OKRs on a monthly, quarterly and annual basis. The multitude of owners that play a role in these results creates challenges as it pertains to information gathering, sharing and reporting. Coda is helping us solve all of these challenges. Coda is working well for our smaller organization but could present challenges at a larger enterprise.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is used across the whole organization and it helps us stay unified as a team by having a resource we can all access. I feel that it makes it much easier to communicate with my team. By being collaborative it allows us to have the freedom to add or edit any docs we need.
  • Great organizational tool
  • Collaborative
  • Easy to use
  • None
We like Coda because it's very simple and easy to use. It's a great resource for us as we can be aligned with each other and can instantly make updates or changes if need be. Instead having multiple open documents it's very convenient to have this in one place. So our team definitely takes advantage of the different features and having separate sections to keep things organized.
December 08, 2021

Coda Is One in/for All!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda to create documents of all sorts -- text, sheets, anything -- and store them. First off, you can easily create any document type: report, to-do list, poll, spreadsheet, etc. You can add tables, images, voting, ranking... whatever comes to your mind. Then you can organize these documents with ease, creating directories with pages and subpages (also, you can add one of many interesting icons to make it all neat and funky). Finally, you can integrate it all with tools such as Gmail or Slack, which saves a ton of time!
  • Document creation.
  • Storing documents in a neat and organized manner.
  • Integration with Gmail and Slack.
  • Design can be improved. Sometimes it looks so 80s (font especially).
  • It's not very intuitive.
Well-suited scenario: A team works on a report. An outline is very clear since we use pages and subpages. It contains images and tables and that is well combined. Everyone can add their part, and also everyone can leave comments. Less-appropriate scenario: A new person needs to get onboarded and learn to use Coda. Past familiarity with text editors is of no use and it will take significant time.
September 28, 2021

Coda the Giant

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently at my company we use Coda for all of our shared documents. It's essentially the "office" part of us while we're all working remote. It's a source where we keep company information and track and manage our internal processes, from onboarding to company information to track and manage budgets.
  • Organization
  • collaboration
  • dark mode
  • It's hard to know all the features or where to start on building a page
  • It doesn't seem very intuitive
Coda is great if you know how to code documents and it's good for storing information in an organized manner. However if you're looking for a simple solution I don't think this is it, to get good one would need training.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started to use Coda to
  1. keep track of all of our upstream and downstream customer projects
  2. maintain a detailed view of application and OS configurations,
  3. manage software version compatibility overviews.
We manage our projects in Coda full-fledged, (e.g., with trackers for milestones, deliverables, actions, issues, decisions and more). Soon after establishing that framework, we started to use Coda to publish information relevant for a much wider group in the organization by means of "booklets" comprising a set of views that are filtered, grouped, and formatted as relevant for the audience. It's amazing to see how we've expanded the use of Coda on a week-by-week basis, now including trackers for daily standups, OKRs, and other purposes.
  • Overviews of any kind--think of lists you want to keep in Excel, but then easier and better.
  • Links between tables (references, look-ups).
  • Extensive filtering capabilities.
  • Conditional formatting.
  • Publishing/sharing information with a wider user group.
  • Creating multiple different views based on the same primary table.
  • It would be great if the row height of text fields could be capped to an x-number of lines. Now, you can select to use wrap/unwrap; however, headings and hard returns can still make the rows too high.
  • The formulas in Coda are very powerful yet can turn somewhat confusing, too. The good thing is that there are many YouTube videos available with instructions. Still, it may take certain users quite some time to get a good grasp on the formulas.
  • The speed of loading the pages has improved and should be improved further.
This is the best tool I ever used that delivers what it promises: it removes the need of using Excel for maintaining lists, filters, lookups, and what have you. Coda combines the power of Excel with a real database, conditional formatting in the tables, and rich text formatting in the text parts. Altogether, it is suitable for use as a company-wide information sharing tool.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Coda to solve the problem of teams using a variety of trackers and there not being a single source of truth. This has proved to be a powerful tool to help many cross-functional teams align on key information that is needed at every level but allowing departments, teams, and individuals to tailor their views to their specific needs.
  • Aesthetics - We have used many other programs, but Coda by far looks the best.
  • Ease of use - it is fun to build Coda documents!
  • Support - the customer support has been phenomenal.
  • Gantt - working on making improvements, but still need more.
  • Freezing Columns - would like to freeze so can see the far left column while side scrolling.
  • Infrastructure training.
Very helpful for project management and creating a source of truth. Hasn't been as helpful for resourcing and gantt visuals.
They are helpful and patient, often creating formulas themselves to help out with specific problems.
March 03, 2021

Great tool to use

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda as a tool to update our internal users on an ongoing project. The project affects many people across different departments and we wanted to give them a space to read about what's going on at product and tech level. There are only two of us creating the content and we communicate it via email/workplace to our target audience
  • You have a variety of contect you can create
  • There are predefined templates that you can use
  • You can invite people via email domain
  • The features sometimes are not as intuitive and it can take hours to do something as you envision it
  • Often what looks great on a laptop looks bad on a mobile
  • Feature updates or improvements deployed by coda can change how your content looks and you may not be aware for a while until you stumble across it
Coda is great to build a place for your users to go to and see information. It is easy to navigate through and the variety of content creation is great. However, it is not always easy to create what you want and there is a lot of playing around and learning.
Coda also sometimes misses some functionality which is expected. For example, downloading a list of users that have access to the platform. Being able to send push notifications when a new page has been created etc.
Overall it is a good tool to use just be prepared to invest time!
Matt Woods | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Coda across our entire organization to sidestep the mess caused by dozens (and hundreds) of disconnected Google docs.
On my team, it helps us keep all our plans for upcoming product, design, and marketing work in one place. It's brilliant as a source of truth because we can create a table with key project information once and re-use across multiple filtered views depending on our needs.
  • Flexibility. It's easy to get started on a small scale, but add more complex organization strategies as needed.
  • Integrations. It's simple to ingest data from sources like Zapier for time-saving automations.
  • Useful components. View table data across different formats like cards or custom detail views.
  • Doesn't map 1:1 to spreadsheets. You can't use Coda to replace Google Sheets / Excel 100% of the time. Its database-like structure is an advantage for some use cases, but a limiting factor for others.
  • Formulas aren't intuitive. You can unlock seriously powerful workflows with the formulas provided, but they're far less intuitive than something like Google Sheets / Excel. This often leads to buggy or incorrectly set up documents too.
  • Difficult to manage complexity. You can put lots of data in one tool. But this can easily become cluttered, confusing, and sometimes redundant if a clear organization strategy isn't applied for larger documents.
When Coda Works Well
  • Using Airtable, but struggling to add the right context + automation? Coda's document/database hybrid with smart automation could save you tons of time.
  • Hitting the limits of your latest Google Sheet? Coda brings a fuller set of features that unlock collaboration and can help you filter down the complexity in some cases.
  • Setting up a no-code internal tool for your team? Coda excels at most use cases like this. Automate idea collection, voting, etc.

When Coda Doesn't Work Great
  • Collaborating with users outside your team? You probably want Google Docs instead.
  • Want a simple, no-fuss spreadsheet or doc? Coda's extra features might just get in the way.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Coda within my team to manage some simple lists. We work with a variety of clients across the globe, and using some of Coda's visualizations helps us keep track of who we are working with and what projects they are associated with.
  • Connected lists
  • Dynamic documents
  • Document formatting (don't format calculations differently than the rest of the document)
  • Additional visualizations--mapping multiple locations
Coda is a document that can leverage formulas. It is great for creating documents that need to summarize data from tables. It can also visualize the tables of data in multiple ways (e.g., a contact list can be shown in a normal spreadsheet-style view or in a series of cards).
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda for the birds-eye view of our product management process. Tickets live in Jira, but because of Jira's inflexibility with respect to sorting and filtering tickets, we import everything into Coda in order to get a flexible, big picture view. The ability to sort and filter the same list of tickets in slightly different ways for different teams is invaluable. It's the only reason our process works!
  • Organizing information.
  • Sorting and filtering in multiple views.
  • Importing issues from Jira.
  • UI responsiveness with large amounts of data
  • UI design: It's good but could be even better.
  • Flexibility in customizing look & feel of components/tables.
Absolutely top-notch in situations where you need to sort and filter large amounts of data in different views for different groups (simultaneously). Unmatched in its flexibility to customize through formulas and code. We've looked at Airtable, Notion, Smartsheet, and several others, and Coda is the only one who gets the job done.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use it for user research and project management. Switching from spreadsheets to a database approach has been great, and allows for tables to [be] synced to new pages to strip out sensitive information.
  • Customer support
  • Sharing information
  • Data management and analysis
  • Bit of a learning curve with formulas, but has good support for this
  • Can't download it all in one go
Takes a while to create a template for user research but having done so it's much cheaper than dedicated alternatives.
Great for natural language (NLP) analysis, much easier than using Google's tools directly.
Very good for project management and integrating with other tools.
Pearl Cheah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is still in a developmental stage in our organization. We are still learning and discovering where it can drive impact. Right now, we currently use it for:
Installation base management/reporting, Project management, Customer marketing emails, Point-of-care usage, Post-event analysis, Trackers, simple address book serving as a foundations to a simple CRM, Shielding calculation
  • Automation is fantastic. Automating row creations and actions has helped streamline a lot of our processes without sacrificing too much time and effort, making overall transition easier for most of the users.
  • Flexibility. We can virtually build almost anything and migrate things from our Excel.
  • Simplifies information access for the team, keeping information current and accessible.
  • App-like feel in mobile. This is one of the winning points when we took up Coda.
  • In the past 1 year of using Coda, I have observed large leaps of development and new feature release. This gives confidence to me as a new user that this product is here to stay and tries its best to stay relevant.
  • It takes getting used to in terms of how the formulas per column is implemented, in contrast to how we build tables in Excel. For organization/team purchase, it would be worth considering having a training for the core team of users. Right now, we do a lot of self-learning.
  • Inability to email charts or image without these objects being hosted on a third party. The community has been great in providing workarounds but it would be much more convenient to be able to have such ability natively.
  • APAC Support. I'm based in Malaysia, due to timezone differences, even with a livechat implemented, the support for each step and conversation takes up to 24 hours per response. Having some hours covered in our timezone would greatly improve customer support experience.
I think Coda is well suited for management of simple data in general. I'm a medical physicist, so some of our calculations are quite complex. This makes it such that I have to break down the formula into various columns and run a multiple calculations before it can output to a final result that I want. Hence, complex calculations, while workable, expect to spend more time in the building process. And if it's too large a data for calculations, you might run into a less than optimal situation with document loading.

We are still discovering more areas to work on and where it can add value/impact to our internal processes. I believe there's still room for growth in our usage for our organization.
  • no training
Mainly due to timezone differences. I think Coda's support in general is well implemented and executed. They know their stuff and are helpful. But since I'm not in the same timezone, solution rates are slower for me, and that's not something I prefer. I work in customer service, too, and more often than not, time is important. Shortening the solution time would be a much greater experience.
Yes
We went from Pro to Team. No downtime. We just needed to migrate our docs.
Camille Hidalgo Nussbaum, CSM® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is being used as a multi-purpose application, an additional tool in our toolbelt (as we say). It is primarily being used for project management, team management, visibility, and collaboration. It just depends on the purpose. Coda's use cases and userbase are still growing, but there are some teams that have fully leaned into using Coda as a vital tool to their workflows.

As my team is made up of subject matter experts throughout the entertainment industry and located all over the world, it's difficult to find a tool that can not only accommodate all of their different styles of approach and also provide the flexibility to create a workflow that works for everyone. Coda was the first application that really could do this for us.
  • Ease of creating databases and automations.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Powerful and flexible doc building through the use of Coda formulas and Packs.
  • Providing support to their customers.
  • Constantly providing improvements and rolling out new functionality.
  • "Barrier of entry" is a little high for those who do not have any database experience.
  • More out-of-the-box integrations with other applications would be nice.
  • Performance for very heavy loaded/traffic documents could be improved.
  • Scalability for enterprise level customers and doc loads could be improved.
Coda is an excellent tool for custom project and team management. Unlike other PM platforms, you can create your own framework that works for you and your audience. With that said, the flexibility can be overwhelming, but once you are familiar with how to navigate and code, the possibilities are nearly endless.

What has been a great use case for us is that folks are doing project management in a number of tools (i.e. a memo, a database, a to-do list, etc.) and you can actually bring all of that into one Coda doc. Coda provides a space to create a real source of truth, jumping off point, hub, etc. and that has been very helpful for us to create more streamlined workflows and data cleanliness.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it for my personal work at the International Office. It has been of great help with the management of big numbers of incoming and outgoing mobilities, and as an excellent tool for more general purposes, like organizing my workflow and helping me to keep everything organized.
  • Organizing ideas.
  • Interrelating tables.
  • Organizing different sources of information in the same place.
  • Sometimes it can be complicated to realize how to put into practice some of its multiple features.
Coda is very well suited for multiple purposes, but the user should be ready to devote some time in the beginning to grasp all the possibilities and the way to implement them. Some tech-savvy recommended.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of our product designers introduced Coda to our team last year and it's been an absolute game-changer. We started using it with the Product team as a way to keep one "source of truth" for all the documents, project tracking, etc. But we've expanded it to create an entire research repository, using it for team standups and I also use it for my 1:1s and goal tracking.
  • One source of truth: It's incredibly easy to keep everything organized and easy to find.
  • Being able to show different views of the same information throughout your doc makes it really easy to customize the information.
  • In general, I love the "coding" aspect of it, and being able to do advanced functions has helped us create some really interesting automation and streamline our process.
  • The biggest improvement would be allowing individual adjustments to cells in tables and not just the entire column.
  • The charts could be improved; I find that they aren't great at putting the information in a logical order (ascending, descending).
  • Templating would be really nice to create something that can easily be duplicated cross doc or within a doc.
It's really great if you want to keep a lot of information organized in a single place. I've found many use cases in my job but also in personal planning outside of work, for example, I created a planner for my MBA cohort with a combined view of all the syllabus work.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the main Coda developer in my company. We've used Coda for a couple of years mainly as a database.
We are an engineering company working on many projects, so a unified document lets us centralize deadlines, information, tasks, and people involved. It is very useful to search for information based on different filters. This setup lets us have a better and more organized view of future deadlines and useful exploitation of information.
  • Creating a solid and unified database of information.
  • Lots of capabilities over filtering out data and show them.
  • Responsive support team that really tries hard to help you out.
  • Better customization on calendar layout.
Coda is well suited for creating a unified database that the company can use to have a better view of future deadlines or to analyze and evaluate past work. Once the database created, it is very easy to filter out and search for information. We do not use it as an everyday platform to share and exchange information.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda has been a game-changer for our team, as we've used it to increase transparency and visibility in upwards communication about our roadmap to leadership. Because of the flexibility and tooling, we've been able to link Coda to Slack, Jira, GCal, and more to build extremely helpful workflows and automations to keep various teams informed.
  • Automation
  • Organization
  • Flexibility
  • Collaboration
  • Notifications
  • Support
For our team, we've found that Coda is a great place and aptly suited for consolidated updates and roadmaps. On the other hand, we've seen that it is less appropriate for writing specs and collaborating on joint documents since the tooling is not as comprehensive as it is in other tools like Google Docs.
February 25, 2021

Coda to the rescue

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda by department across our studio. It helps manage bookings, holds, incoming projects, and the artists we have, both staff and freelance. Several people in my department use it so when we make changes or add notes, we can all see them and communicate effectively on how we want to proceed with our current jobs in-house.
  • Organization
  • Scheduling
  • Skill assessment
  • Communication
  • Communication with other software.
Coda is well suited for keeping track of people and what projects they are on. It's also easy to keep track of the skill set of each person with great filtering to see who all has the same skill but also the breakdown of who is better at said skill.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Coda across the product org (PMs PDs EMs PMMs) to write 360 docs, track progress OKRs, status updates, and team meetings. I personally use Coda for getting pulse updates and weekly statuses for my marketing team. Coda helps us have a source of truth for user interviews and cross-functional projects.
  • The use case templates.
  • Accessibility and navigation.
  • Providing updates & tagging capabilities.
  • Copy & pasting templates can be confusing.
Coda is great if you have cross-functional dependencies or manage large teams. It's been a central place for us to track progress on key projects. I do think that for tracking more granular projects, an Asana or Jira is better suited but Coda is great if you have different use cases like status meetings, etc.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Coda to collect all our SOPs for different corporate roles. I find the search engine of the program can be improved to be more intuitive. I have found myself checking multiple documents before actually finding the specific information/manual I want to access. Unless the specific keywords of the manual are typed as part of my search, I would have to ask other teams to share the actual link to access the information needed. I really enjoy having the option to expand and contract titles and subtitles in order to have a wider view of the information and expand the specific subject needed.
  • I really enjoy having the option to expand and contract titles and subtitles in order to have a wider view of the information and expand the specific subject needed.
  • Being an online tool accessible to many users.
  • Intuitive to find information through similar key words, not necessarily exact.
  • Speed when showing the contents, somethings it can lag.
When trying to save and share a higher amount of information without having to use computer space.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Coda across multiple departments to help us work cross-functionally. Our design, sales, engagement, business ops, and customer success teams use it. The only team that doesn't use it would be our development team because they currently have their own tools.

It allows us to build docs and sheets according to our needs, with full flexibility as our company evolves and scales. We really enjoy the flexibility aspect of making it our own and fitting our business needs. We are also able to use templates that are provided by the Coda team to build off of and create future templates for our team. We can design financial modeling templates, track duties and metrics on an internal basis, and task management across all teams.
  • Flexible functionality.
  • Ease of use.
  • Great affordable price-point.
  • Some of the Coda templates can be overwhelming.
  • Some of the formulas can be non-intuitive.
  • Not well known—yet!
If you are a small/lean team that needs software that can scale with you, Coda will be so good for you. What's attractive is their team of support agents, affordable pricepoint, and library of templates to make your own.
German Fuentes Pavez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda helped us managed our projects in a way no other platform has done it. Eternal spreadsheets are now in the past. Our efficiency has improved as well.

We are currently managing clients, sale orders and monitoring progress in experimental projects. We are intending to use Coda across our company, in other departments due to its automation-user friendly options. We believe this is the opera prima of Coda, users will find more time to dedicate in other tasks, with more complexity and more ad-on value.
  • Automatization
  • Formulas
  • Table management
  • Pages and sections with its links
  • Stability
  • App
  • Formulas Q&A
Managing projects, teams and sales. Managing large scale projects, by time or complexity, is not recommended. Coda is best when you have identified the process you think are messy or can be automatized, or both. Recommended for users who must track progress and Excel is too complicated to understand for others. Not recommended for those who have specific task, or one-day rush duties.