Coda Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 01, 2021
Matt Woods | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Coda across our entire organization to sidestep the mess caused by dozens (and hundreds) of disconnected Google docs.
On my team, it helps us keep all our plans for upcoming product, design, and marketing work in one place. It's brilliant as a source of truth because we can create a table with key project information once and re-use across multiple filtered views depending on our needs.
  • Flexibility. It's easy to get started on a small scale, but add more complex organization strategies as needed.
  • Integrations. It's simple to ingest data from sources like Zapier for time-saving automations.
  • Useful components. View table data across different formats like cards or custom detail views.
  • Doesn't map 1:1 to spreadsheets. You can't use Coda to replace Google Sheets / Excel 100% of the time. Its database-like structure is an advantage for some use cases, but a limiting factor for others.
  • Formulas aren't intuitive. You can unlock seriously powerful workflows with the formulas provided, but they're far less intuitive than something like Google Sheets / Excel. This often leads to buggy or incorrectly set up documents too.
  • Difficult to manage complexity. You can put lots of data in one tool. But this can easily become cluttered, confusing, and sometimes redundant if a clear organization strategy isn't applied for larger documents.
When Coda Works Well
  • Using Airtable, but struggling to add the right context + automation? Coda's document/database hybrid with smart automation could save you tons of time.
  • Hitting the limits of your latest Google Sheet? Coda brings a fuller set of features that unlock collaboration and can help you filter down the complexity in some cases.
  • Setting up a no-code internal tool for your team? Coda excels at most use cases like this. Automate idea collection, voting, etc.

When Coda Doesn't Work Great
  • Collaborating with users outside your team? You probably want Google Docs instead.
  • Want a simple, no-fuss spreadsheet or doc? Coda's extra features might just get in the way.
Read Matt Woods's full review
February 25, 2021
Pearl Cheah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is still in a developmental stage in our organization. We are still learning and discovering where it can drive impact. Right now, we currently use it for:
Installation base management/reporting, Project management, Customer marketing emails, Point-of-care usage, Post-event analysis, Trackers, simple address book serving as a foundations to a simple CRM, Shielding calculation
  • Automation is fantastic. Automating row creations and actions has helped streamline a lot of our processes without sacrificing too much time and effort, making overall transition easier for most of the users.
  • Flexibility. We can virtually build almost anything and migrate things from our Excel.
  • Simplifies information access for the team, keeping information current and accessible.
  • App-like feel in mobile. This is one of the winning points when we took up Coda.
  • In the past 1 year of using Coda, I have observed large leaps of development and new feature release. This gives confidence to me as a new user that this product is here to stay and tries its best to stay relevant.
  • It takes getting used to in terms of how the formulas per column is implemented, in contrast to how we build tables in Excel. For organization/team purchase, it would be worth considering having a training for the core team of users. Right now, we do a lot of self-learning.
  • Inability to email charts or image without these objects being hosted on a third party. The community has been great in providing workarounds but it would be much more convenient to be able to have such ability natively.
  • APAC Support. I'm based in Malaysia, due to timezone differences, even with a livechat implemented, the support for each step and conversation takes up to 24 hours per response. Having some hours covered in our timezone would greatly improve customer support experience.
I think Coda is well suited for management of simple data in general. I'm a medical physicist, so some of our calculations are quite complex. This makes it such that I have to break down the formula into various columns and run a multiple calculations before it can output to a final result that I want. Hence, complex calculations, while workable, expect to spend more time in the building process. And if it's too large a data for calculations, you might run into a less than optimal situation with document loading.

We are still discovering more areas to work on and where it can add value/impact to our internal processes. I believe there's still room for growth in our usage for our organization.
Mainly due to timezone differences. I think Coda's support in general is well implemented and executed. They know their stuff and are helpful. But since I'm not in the same timezone, solution rates are slower for me, and that's not something I prefer. I work in customer service, too, and more often than not, time is important. Shortening the solution time would be a much greater experience.
Yes - We went from Pro to Team. No downtime. We just needed to migrate our docs.
Read Pearl Cheah's full review
February 25, 2021
Camille Hidalgo Nussbaum, CSM® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is being used as a multi-purpose application, an additional tool in our toolbelt (as we say). It is primarily being used for project management, team management, visibility, and collaboration. It just depends on the purpose. Coda's use cases and userbase are still growing, but there are some teams that have fully leaned into using Coda as a vital tool to their workflows.

As my team is made up of subject matter experts throughout the entertainment industry and located all over the world, it's difficult to find a tool that can not only accommodate all of their different styles of approach and also provide the flexibility to create a workflow that works for everyone. Coda was the first application that really could do this for us.
  • Ease of creating databases and automations.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Powerful and flexible doc building through the use of Coda formulas and Packs.
  • Providing support to their customers.
  • Constantly providing improvements and rolling out new functionality.
  • "Barrier of entry" is a little high for those who do not have any database experience.
  • More out-of-the-box integrations with other applications would be nice.
  • Performance for very heavy loaded/traffic documents could be improved.
  • Scalability for enterprise level customers and doc loads could be improved.
Coda is an excellent tool for custom project and team management. Unlike other PM platforms, you can create your own framework that works for you and your audience. With that said, the flexibility can be overwhelming, but once you are familiar with how to navigate and code, the possibilities are nearly endless.

What has been a great use case for us is that folks are doing project management in a number of tools (i.e. a memo, a database, a to-do list, etc.) and you can actually bring all of that into one Coda doc. Coda provides a space to create a real source of truth, jumping off point, hub, etc. and that has been very helpful for us to create more streamlined workflows and data cleanliness.
Read Camille Hidalgo Nussbaum, CSM®'s full review
February 24, 2021
German Fuentes Pavez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda helped us managed our projects in a way no other platform has done it. Eternal spreadsheets are now in the past. Our efficiency has improved as well.

We are currently managing clients, sale orders and monitoring progress in experimental projects. We are intending to use Coda across our company, in other departments due to its automation-user friendly options. We believe this is the opera prima of Coda, users will find more time to dedicate in other tasks, with more complexity and more ad-on value.
  • Automatization
  • Formulas
  • Table management
  • Pages and sections with its links
  • Stability
  • App
  • Formulas Q&A
Managing projects, teams and sales. Managing large scale projects, by time or complexity, is not recommended. Coda is best when you have identified the process you think are messy or can be automatized, or both. Recommended for users who must track progress and Excel is too complicated to understand for others. Not recommended for those who have specific task, or one-day rush duties.
Read German Fuentes Pavez's full review
March 09, 2021
Tara Vajra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Coda to solve the problem of teams using a variety of trackers and there not being a single source of truth. This has proved to be a powerful tool to help many cross-functional teams align on key information that is needed at every level but allowing departments, teams, and individuals to tailor their views to their specific needs.
  • Aesthetics - We have used many other programs, but Coda by far looks the best.
  • Ease of use - it is fun to build Coda documents!
  • Support - the customer support has been phenomenal.
  • Gantt - working on making improvements, but still need more.
  • Freezing Columns - would like to freeze so can see the far left column while side scrolling.
  • Infrastructure training.
Very helpful for project management and creating a source of truth. Hasn't been as helpful for resourcing and gantt visuals.
They are helpful and patient, often creating formulas themselves to help out with specific problems.
Read Tara Vajra's full review
February 24, 2021
Luisa Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Coda to collect all our SOPs for different corporate roles. I find the search engine of the program can be improved to be more intuitive. I have found myself checking multiple documents before actually finding the specific information/manual I want to access. Unless the specific keywords of the manual are typed as part of my search, I would have to ask other teams to share the actual link to access the information needed. I really enjoy having the option to expand and contract titles and subtitles in order to have a wider view of the information and expand the specific subject needed.
  • I really enjoy having the option to expand and contract titles and subtitles in order to have a wider view of the information and expand the specific subject needed.
  • Being an online tool accessible to many users.
  • Intuitive to find information through similar key words, not necessarily exact.
  • Speed when showing the contents, somethings it can lag.
When trying to save and share a higher amount of information without having to use computer space.
Read Luisa Gomez's full review
February 26, 2021
John Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Coda within my team to manage some simple lists. We work with a variety of clients across the globe, and using some of Coda's visualizations helps us keep track of who we are working with and what projects they are associated with.
  • Connected lists
  • Dynamic documents
  • Document formatting (don't format calculations differently than the rest of the document)
  • Additional visualizations--mapping multiple locations
Coda is a document that can leverage formulas. It is great for creating documents that need to summarize data from tables. It can also visualize the tables of data in multiple ways (e.g., a contact list can be shown in a normal spreadsheet-style view or in a series of cards).
Read John Sanchez's full review
March 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda as a tool to update our internal users on an ongoing project. The project affects many people across different departments and we wanted to give them a space to read about what's going on at product and tech level. There are only two of us creating the content and we communicate it via email/workplace to our target audience
  • You have a variety of contect you can create
  • There are predefined templates that you can use
  • You can invite people via email domain
  • The features sometimes are not as intuitive and it can take hours to do something as you envision it
  • Often what looks great on a laptop looks bad on a mobile
  • Feature updates or improvements deployed by coda can change how your content looks and you may not be aware for a while until you stumble across it
Coda is great to build a place for your users to go to and see information. It is easy to navigate through and the variety of content creation is great. However, it is not always easy to create what you want and there is a lot of playing around and learning.
Coda also sometimes misses some functionality which is expected. For example, downloading a list of users that have access to the platform. Being able to send push notifications when a new page has been created etc.
Overall it is a good tool to use just be prepared to invest time!
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started to use Coda to
  1. keep track of all of our upstream and downstream customer projects
  2. maintain a detailed view of application and OS configurations,
  3. manage software version compatibility overviews.
We manage our projects in Coda full-fledged, (e.g., with trackers for milestones, deliverables, actions, issues, decisions and more). Soon after establishing that framework, we started to use Coda to publish information relevant for a much wider group in the organization by means of "booklets" comprising a set of views that are filtered, grouped, and formatted as relevant for the audience. It's amazing to see how we've expanded the use of Coda on a week-by-week basis, now including trackers for daily standups, OKRs, and other purposes.
  • Overviews of any kind--think of lists you want to keep in Excel, but then easier and better.
  • Links between tables (references, look-ups).
  • Extensive filtering capabilities.
  • Conditional formatting.
  • Publishing/sharing information with a wider user group.
  • Creating multiple different views based on the same primary table.
  • It would be great if the row height of text fields could be capped to an x-number of lines. Now, you can select to use wrap/unwrap; however, headings and hard returns can still make the rows too high.
  • The formulas in Coda are very powerful yet can turn somewhat confusing, too. The good thing is that there are many YouTube videos available with instructions. Still, it may take certain users quite some time to get a good grasp on the formulas.
  • The speed of loading the pages has improved and should be improved further.
This is the best tool I ever used that delivers what it promises: it removes the need of using Excel for maintaining lists, filters, lookups, and what have you. Coda combines the power of Excel with a real database, conditional formatting in the tables, and rich text formatting in the text parts. Altogether, it is suitable for use as a company-wide information sharing tool.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda for the birds-eye view of our product management process. Tickets live in Jira, but because of Jira's inflexibility with respect to sorting and filtering tickets, we import everything into Coda in order to get a flexible, big picture view. The ability to sort and filter the same list of tickets in slightly different ways for different teams is invaluable. It's the only reason our process works!
  • Organizing information.
  • Sorting and filtering in multiple views.
  • Importing issues from Jira.
  • UI responsiveness with large amounts of data
  • UI design: It's good but could be even better.
  • Flexibility in customizing look & feel of components/tables.
Absolutely top-notch in situations where you need to sort and filter large amounts of data in different views for different groups (simultaneously). Unmatched in its flexibility to customize through formulas and code. We've looked at Airtable, Notion, Smartsheet, and several others, and Coda is the only one who gets the job done.
Read this authenticated review
February 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use it for user research and project management. Switching from spreadsheets to a database approach has been great, and allows for tables to [be] synced to new pages to strip out sensitive information.
  • Customer support
  • Sharing information
  • Data management and analysis
  • Bit of a learning curve with formulas, but has good support for this
  • Can't download it all in one go
Takes a while to create a template for user research but having done so it's much cheaper than dedicated alternatives.
Great for natural language (NLP) analysis, much easier than using Google's tools directly.
Very good for project management and integrating with other tools.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it for my personal work at the International Office. It has been of great help with the management of big numbers of incoming and outgoing mobilities, and as an excellent tool for more general purposes, like organizing my workflow and helping me to keep everything organized.
  • Organizing ideas.
  • Interrelating tables.
  • Organizing different sources of information in the same place.
  • Sometimes it can be complicated to realize how to put into practice some of its multiple features.
Coda is very well suited for multiple purposes, but the user should be ready to devote some time in the beginning to grasp all the possibilities and the way to implement them. Some tech-savvy recommended.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of our product designers introduced Coda to our team last year and it's been an absolute game-changer. We started using it with the Product team as a way to keep one "source of truth" for all the documents, project tracking, etc. But we've expanded it to create an entire research repository, using it for team standups and I also use it for my 1:1s and goal tracking.
  • One source of truth: It's incredibly easy to keep everything organized and easy to find.
  • Being able to show different views of the same information throughout your doc makes it really easy to customize the information.
  • In general, I love the "coding" aspect of it, and being able to do advanced functions has helped us create some really interesting automation and streamline our process.
  • The biggest improvement would be allowing individual adjustments to cells in tables and not just the entire column.
  • The charts could be improved; I find that they aren't great at putting the information in a logical order (ascending, descending).
  • Templating would be really nice to create something that can easily be duplicated cross doc or within a doc.
It's really great if you want to keep a lot of information organized in a single place. I've found many use cases in my job but also in personal planning outside of work, for example, I created a planner for my MBA cohort with a combined view of all the syllabus work.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the main Coda developer in my company. We've used Coda for a couple of years mainly as a database.
We are an engineering company working on many projects, so a unified document lets us centralize deadlines, information, tasks, and people involved. It is very useful to search for information based on different filters. This setup lets us have a better and more organized view of future deadlines and useful exploitation of information.
  • Creating a solid and unified database of information.
  • Lots of capabilities over filtering out data and show them.
  • Responsive support team that really tries hard to help you out.
  • Better customization on calendar layout.
Coda is well suited for creating a unified database that the company can use to have a better view of future deadlines or to analyze and evaluate past work. Once the database created, it is very easy to filter out and search for information. We do not use it as an everyday platform to share and exchange information.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda has been a game-changer for our team, as we've used it to increase transparency and visibility in upwards communication about our roadmap to leadership. Because of the flexibility and tooling, we've been able to link Coda to Slack, Jira, GCal, and more to build extremely helpful workflows and automations to keep various teams informed.
  • Automation
  • Organization
  • Flexibility
  • Collaboration
  • Notifications
  • Support
For our team, we've found that Coda is a great place and aptly suited for consolidated updates and roadmaps. On the other hand, we've seen that it is less appropriate for writing specs and collaborating on joint documents since the tooling is not as comprehensive as it is in other tools like Google Docs.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Coda by department across our studio. It helps manage bookings, holds, incoming projects, and the artists we have, both staff and freelance. Several people in my department use it so when we make changes or add notes, we can all see them and communicate effectively on how we want to proceed with our current jobs in-house.
  • Organization
  • Scheduling
  • Skill assessment
  • Communication
  • Communication with other software.
Coda is well suited for keeping track of people and what projects they are on. It's also easy to keep track of the skill set of each person with great filtering to see who all has the same skill but also the breakdown of who is better at said skill.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Coda across the product org (PMs PDs EMs PMMs) to write 360 docs, track progress OKRs, status updates, and team meetings. I personally use Coda for getting pulse updates and weekly statuses for my marketing team. Coda helps us have a source of truth for user interviews and cross-functional projects.
  • The use case templates.
  • Accessibility and navigation.
  • Providing updates & tagging capabilities.
  • Copy & pasting templates can be confusing.
Coda is great if you have cross-functional dependencies or manage large teams. It's been a central place for us to track progress on key projects. I do think that for tracking more granular projects, an Asana or Jira is better suited but Coda is great if you have different use cases like status meetings, etc.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Coda across multiple departments to help us work cross-functionally. Our design, sales, engagement, business ops, and customer success teams use it. The only team that doesn't use it would be our development team because they currently have their own tools.

It allows us to build docs and sheets according to our needs, with full flexibility as our company evolves and scales. We really enjoy the flexibility aspect of making it our own and fitting our business needs. We are also able to use templates that are provided by the Coda team to build off of and create future templates for our team. We can design financial modeling templates, track duties and metrics on an internal basis, and task management across all teams.
  • Flexible functionality.
  • Ease of use.
  • Great affordable price-point.
  • Some of the Coda templates can be overwhelming.
  • Some of the formulas can be non-intuitive.
  • Not well known—yet!
If you are a small/lean team that needs software that can scale with you, Coda will be so good for you. What's attractive is their team of support agents, affordable pricepoint, and library of templates to make your own.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coda is used across the whole organization and it helps us stay unified as a team by having a resource we can all access. I feel that it makes it much easier to communicate with my team. By being collaborative it allows us to have the freedom to add or edit any docs we need.
  • Great organizational tool
  • Collaborative
  • Easy to use
  • None
We like Coda because it's very simple and easy to use. It's a great resource for us as we can be aligned with each other and can instantly make updates or changes if need be. Instead having multiple open documents it's very convenient to have this in one place. So our team definitely takes advantage of the different features and having separate sections to keep things organized.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses coda to centrally track OKRs, project status, and project details. Coda makes it easy to stay organized and have a source of truth.
  • My favorite feature is the ability to create views of tables and roll ups.
  • Coda is completely customizable and easy to share
  • Replaces having multiple google docs, sheets, etc.
  • Some of the features are not intuitive such as copy and paste
Coda is great for tracking projects, project documentation, OKRs, and anything where you have multiple people needing to update information.
Read this authenticated review

What is Coda?

Coda is a doc that brings words, data, and teams together. It starts with a blinking cursor on a blank page and can grow as big as a team's ambition. Coda comes with a set of building blocksーlike pages for infinite depth, tables that talk to each other, and buttons that take action inside or outside the docーwhich users can combine to make a doc as powerful as an app. The vendor says people have made Coda docs that do everything from launch products, to scale small businesses, to help them study for tests.

Coda Features

Has featurePages: Every Coda doc starts with a page. And can grow into as many pages as you like, so you’ll never outgrow your doc, no matter how big your team or idea.
Has featureTables & Views: A table in Coda can be as simple as a list or as deep as a database. And it can have customizable, connected views, so everyone can work off the same data, in their own preferred way.
Has featureControls: Controls—like buttons, select lists, and sliders—make a doc feel more like an app for your team.
Has featurePacks: Packs connect your Coda doc to the apps you use everyday—the tools you and your team communicate, code, and design in.
Has featureFormulas: Formulas can live anywhere in Codaーon the page or in a control or table. You can think of them as the connective tissue between building blocks in Coda.
Has featureAutomations: Automation is the building block that puts your repetitive yet important tasks on autopilot.
Has featureTemplates: No need to start from scratch. We turned our most popular compositions of building blocks into time-saving templates and made them available inside your doc.
Has featureForms: Collect inputs and data and synthesize using Coda's building blocks to view and filter data

Coda Screenshots

Coda Videos (3)

Coda Integrations

Zapier, Slack, Intercom, Jira Software, Typeform, GitLab, GitHub, Shopify, Twilio, Google Drive, Zoom, Figma, Miro, Discourse, Greenhouse, Phabricator, Gmail, Google Calendar, Spotify, Wikipedia, YouTube, Google Translate, Google Contacts, FedEx, USPS, UPS, Weather

Coda Competitors

Notion, Quip, Google Docs & Sheets, Dropbox Paper, Microsoft Office

Coda Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0.00per month
Pro$10.00per month per doc maker; unlimited editors (paid annually)
Team$30.00per month per doc maker; unlimited editors (paid annually)
EnterpriseCustom Pricing

With Coda, you only pay for Doc Makers. Often one person creates a doc, others edit it, and some simply observe from afar. Instead of charging for everyone, we only charge for the people who create docs. Interested in enterprise pricing? Visit coda.io/enterprise

Coda Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Coda Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Coda?

Coda, from Coda Project headquartered in San Francisco, is a template-based document generation solution, supporting a variety of use cases presented by the vendor as ideal for smaller companies that might otherwise be relying on spreadsheets to maintain (for instance) product development, or inventory tracking. It is available free, with paid editions to support teams, automations, or for more advanced collaboration and workspace features, as well as more advanced security features.

Who uses Coda?

The most common users of Coda are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.