TrustRadius
CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Jg/3r/U2218670N1AN.JPEGCode42 is a good endpoint backup solution, but is it worth the price?We use Code42 across the whole organization to provide hands-free backup to all our users. Code42 ensures that all company data contained on user devices is backed up to a secure location that can be easily restored from. The user doesn't have to do anything and the backup process runs in the background. This service prevents user files from being lost because we can't necessarily force them to copy everything to the network drives. Additionally, when users are offsite or offline, their files are saved to the local computer. Code42 backs up using any connection - wired or wireless.,Once the original backup is created, Code42 runs in the background and doesn't adversely affect user productivity or system performance. Code42 is relatively easy to set up and deploy. A technical advisor walks you through the process, which is very handy and makes the process painless. Code42 is centrally managed via webpage which gives administrators a lot of power and visibility into current backup status.,The first backup is taxing on the system. Some users report that their computers become almost useless. You can set maximum usage and idle time usage parameters but the original backup is still time and resource consuming. Be prepared. The initial setup is lengthy and confusing. If it weren't for the walkthrough with the technical support administrator, I would never have attempted it. Feedback from the admin portal is non-existent. We had multiple systems whose backups wouldn't start and finally realized, through other means, that we were out of licenses. Users can stop and disable the service.,7,Again, the initial backup resource drain makes some systems practically unusable and we never got any resolution from support on the issue. It is a relatively minimal backup solution but has a lot of enterprise add-ons (at a cost of course). It was easy to deploy via script and only required one pass to install. I didn't have to manually install on any system.,Druva inSync and OneDrive,WordPress, DigitalOcean, MySQLCost effective, easy to use and reliable endpoint backup.We use CrashPlan to backup our remote workers. We run a hybrid configuration - our server, their cloud storage. We retain administrative controls of everything from our main office so backups can't be disabled even accidently by our end users. This has allowed us to ensure that, no matter what happens, all their files are backed up and can be restored with very little effort.,Tech support is some of the best I've encountered. Every support engineer I've dealt with has been friendly, responsive and very well trained on every aspect of their product. We have a small staff and can't afford to dedicate anyone to administering any one system. CrashPlan works very well in 'set it and forget it' scenarios. We check the console regularly, update the software when updates come out and restore users files as needed. The rest of the time, it just runs. All the documentation on the support site is very clearly written and very version specific. If you need to upgrade from version x.y.1 to version x.y.2, you'll find an upgrade document that specifically addresses that upgrade, not just a general upgrade document that's 10 version out of date.,The Administrative console takes a bit of getting used to. Basic functionality is pretty straightforward but some of the deeper admin functions took some time to find. Software for hybrid setups is always lagging behind other configs.,10,Our remote workers are fully protected from data loss. By locking down the backup client, they can't "accidentally" turn it off and put their files at risk. Also, we can track the current state of all backups through the administrative console so we know to reach out to anyone if problems develop.,Carbonite,CentOSCrashPlan Code 42 - save your data and your assThis is being used to backup our important users (President, CFO, Head Account, Head Sales person, etc), any user that would cause major problems for the company if they were hit with Ransomware or the like are protected. I've used this to restore a user when they receive new computers or a single file needs to be restored (or a few files).,Backup - this software does a great job at backup. Runs in the background and doesn't cause any issues. Alerting is excellent and on point.,Restore process is a little convoluted - once you understand it, it is pretty easy to use, but it can be hard to figure out the first time. Support is very helpful in this regard. While it does do versioning, it can miss a few hours of time (up to 24 I've discovered), but even then, better a few hours then an entire system.,10,Your ROI on this product is great - $10/mo for unlimited storage, you can't really beat that. Will save your ass and make you look like a hero when the your CFO or President gets hit with Ransomware. Or any of your end users.,,Carbonite, Fortinet FortiGate, Meraki MS Switches,10,No,My user was getting a new computer. In an effort to get the most up to date data, I decided to use CrashPlan to restore the files. As I had never done this, it was a bit confusing the first time. I called CP and they walked me through the process, provided me with wiki articles WITH pictures so I could see what they were describing and got me up and running pretty quickly.CrashPlan ReviewIt is used by everyone at the company. It minimizes downtime in the event of a device being lost, stolen, or damaged.,Easy to deploy Easy to manage Easy for users to use,Reporting Alerting,10,Reduced downtime in the event of any data corruption Reduced downtime in the event of a device being lost or stolen,Druva inSync and SpiderOakCrashPlan can save your bacon!We are using Crashplan Pro on one device. We backup to several destinations including the Code42 cloud. We are using Crashplan to backup data because we were not satisfied with the speed, versions, and reliability of backing up to tape.,Crashplan just runs quietly. It doesn't need much attention once configured properly. I really like that I can go back to virtually any point in time and restore a file or group of files. Crashplan deduplicates so you can have multiple versions of your files without taking much more disk space. It is very easy and fast to restore files.,They are constantly updating Crashplan, They have already addressed areas that I was unhappy with. I don't have any current complaints.,10,This software is much less expensive than all others that I considered. Because we are using Crashplan, I have been able to restore data that would have cost a fortune to recreate.,
Unspecified
Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)
106 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Reviews

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)
106 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 106 vetted Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 69)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kenneth Hess profile photo
November 09, 2018

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Code42 is a good endpoint backup solution, but is it worth the price?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Code42 across the whole organization to provide hands-free backup to all our users. Code42 ensures that all company data contained on user devices is backed up to a secure location that can be easily restored from. The user doesn't have to do anything and the backup process runs in the background. This service prevents user files from being lost because we can't necessarily force them to copy everything to the network drives. Additionally, when users are offsite or offline, their files are saved to the local computer. Code42 backs up using any connection - wired or wireless.
  • Once the original backup is created, Code42 runs in the background and doesn't adversely affect user productivity or system performance.
  • Code42 is relatively easy to set up and deploy. A technical advisor walks you through the process, which is very handy and makes the process painless.
  • Code42 is centrally managed via webpage which gives administrators a lot of power and visibility into current backup status.
  • The first backup is taxing on the system. Some users report that their computers become almost useless. You can set maximum usage and idle time usage parameters but the original backup is still time and resource consuming. Be prepared.
  • The initial setup is lengthy and confusing. If it weren't for the walkthrough with the technical support administrator, I would never have attempted it.
  • Feedback from the admin portal is non-existent. We had multiple systems whose backups wouldn't start and finally realized, through other means, that we were out of licenses.
  • Users can stop and disable the service.
I think for the money, there are better products. Code42 is a solid endpoint backup solution but it also comes with some hassles, such as the initial backup system resource problem. The portal is OK. It seems to require a lot of re-login and that's annoying. It is well-suited to an environment where there's not a lot of data to be backed up. If someone has multiple gigabytes, start the initial backup over the weekend to avoid user complaints.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
John Coxen profile photo
October 17, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Cost effective, easy to use and reliable endpoint backup."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CrashPlan to backup our remote workers. We run a hybrid configuration - our server, their cloud storage. We retain administrative controls of everything from our main office so backups can't be disabled even accidently by our end users. This has allowed us to ensure that, no matter what happens, all their files are backed up and can be restored with very little effort.
  • Tech support is some of the best I've encountered. Every support engineer I've dealt with has been friendly, responsive and very well trained on every aspect of their product.
  • We have a small staff and can't afford to dedicate anyone to administering any one system. CrashPlan works very well in 'set it and forget it' scenarios. We check the console regularly, update the software when updates come out and restore users files as needed. The rest of the time, it just runs.
  • All the documentation on the support site is very clearly written and very version specific. If you need to upgrade from version x.y.1 to version x.y.2, you'll find an upgrade document that specifically addresses that upgrade, not just a general upgrade document that's 10 version out of date.
  • The Administrative console takes a bit of getting used to. Basic functionality is pretty straightforward but some of the deeper admin functions took some time to find.
  • Software for hybrid setups is always lagging behind other configs.
I would recommend CrashPlan for any organization that needs flexible and reliable backup where conventional backup technologies (backup to tape, etc.) are either not already in place or are impractical (e.g. remote workers).
Read John Coxen's full review
Nathan Venno profile photo
August 11, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan Code 42 - save your data and your ass"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used to backup our important users (President, CFO, Head Account, Head Sales person, etc), any user that would cause major problems for the company if they were hit with Ransomware or the like are protected. I've used this to restore a user when they receive new computers or a single file needs to be restored (or a few files).
  • Backup - this software does a great job at backup.
  • Runs in the background and doesn't cause any issues.
  • Alerting is excellent and on point.
  • Restore process is a little convoluted - once you understand it, it is pretty easy to use, but it can be hard to figure out the first time. Support is very helpful in this regard.
  • While it does do versioning, it can miss a few hours of time (up to 24 I've discovered), but even then, better a few hours then an entire system.
Backup and recovery of end-user computers - this product is a perfect compliment to your backup solution for your server/network backups. This will protect your users for a reasonable price with very little interference on your part. 'Install it and forget it' - once it in and running there really is nothing you need to do.
Read Nathan Venno's full review
No photo available
October 17, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan): "CrashPlan Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by everyone at the company. It minimizes downtime in the event of a device being lost, stolen, or damaged.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to manage
  • Easy for users to use
  • Reporting
  • Alerting
If you store data on your device you need a backup solution. CrashPlan was the best for our needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan can save your bacon!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Crashplan Pro on one device. We backup to several destinations including the Code42 cloud. We are using Crashplan to backup data because we were not satisfied with the speed, versions, and reliability of backing up to tape.
  • Crashplan just runs quietly. It doesn't need much attention once configured properly.
  • I really like that I can go back to virtually any point in time and restore a file or group of files.
  • Crashplan deduplicates so you can have multiple versions of your files without taking much more disk space.
  • It is very easy and fast to restore files.
  • They are constantly updating Crashplan, They have already addressed areas that I was unhappy with. I don't have any current complaints.
Almost anywhere that you want continuous backups. You wouldn't be able to backup a live database like Exchange. If you dump your database, you can back that up. I don't believe you would be able to restore a single email for instance. For backing up non database files, Crashplan is awesome.
Read this authenticated review
Alan Richtmyer profile photo
March 02, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Why I've been loyal to CrashPlan for many years - and more to come"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrashPlan is used across the whole organization. Every employee has it installed on their laptop and we also have it installed on some some servers to back up their data files. Most employees are remote and CrashPlan allows us to back up everyone without having to host our own backup server.
  • Crashplan backs up everything with ease. By default it starts backing up your user profile without even having to configure it, and thats enough for many people to get up and running right away, but it is highly configurable if you want.
  • Restoring files is pretty effortless as well. Easy to browse to the file(s) you want, choose a point in time if you want, and restore. Viola!
  • Versioning is a great automatic feature as well. Many of my users have taken advantage of restoring a previous version of a file they've mistakenly overwritten.
  • Being able to backup to multiple destinations is great too. You can connect your own storage, choose it as a destination and it starts using it. The local destination backup option makes restoration of large data much quicker.
  • Their version 5 client is almost too hands off. While one can appreciate the simplicity and cleanness of its design, I often prefer to get under the hood right away.
  • I wish they would make it easier to open the client from the system tray in version 5. In previous versions you would just double click the icon. Now it takes 3 clicks to expand the tray icon, open the settings and choose to open the actual application.
  • Sometimes destinations are offline when you need to restore, and usually at the worst time. We use CrashPlan to restore data for laptop replacements, and there are times when the destination is offline and you have to wait a while for the restore option to be available.
CrashPlan is a reliable, easy to use but very configurable data backup solution. It is an ideal choice for backing up users' data and even files on a file server, and not having to worry about tapes or other mediums. It's appropriate for anyone that needs to ensure their users' files are safe from everything from accidental deletion to ransomware. It is not a solution for bare-metal restore or for backing up/restoring individual database records since there are no agents that go along with it.
Read Alan Richtmyer's full review
Cedric BARNET profile photo
January 20, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Go champions!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CrashPlan for all our managed customers (Mac shops). We use it back up hundreds of users/devices including server or client workstation data, depending on our client needs and budget.
  • Continuous incremental backup
  • Reduplication and compression that really limits the storage needs
  • File level restore
  • Dashboard reliability
  • Client interface
  • Easier upgrade process
I recommend CrashPlan to my friends, colleagues, customers and pretty much everybody that has data to back up on a computer or server. Their different plans (including free for local backups) are appealing for any scenario.
Read Cedric BARNET's full review
No photo available
May 17, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan -- Easy, Efficient, End Point Protection"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrashPlan is currently being used at our organization for all corporate laptops. Users are instructed to keep vital documents and files in one of the backed up locations on the device, and we proceed to keep those around for seven years. We implemented CrashPlan as a replacement for Tivoli CDP as we required something low-maintenance with a user friendly interface.
  • Keeps backups safe and simple.
  • Upgrades to keep CrashPlan current are a breeze to apply.
  • Customer Service is incredible -- any technical issues we have encountered have been handled quickly and professionally.
  • The user interface in previous versions was confusing to non-technical end users. They have really made improvements on simplifying the client.
CrashPlan is perfect for any scenario, whether at home for personal use or in the office for corporate use. It has shaved down the amount of time we have spent implementing, maintaining, and upgrading by at least 50%. Users feel confident that their data is protected, and we feel confident on the technical side that we are well prepared for any device disaster.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 05, 2017

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Great product with fantastic support. Unparallelled of recent with other software products I have used"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Crashplan at our company. It has saved hours for some of our end users who have either had their computers completely infected to those who simply had some type of hardware failure. The ability to do this without end user intervention removes the complexity involved with restoring files for those individuals who are often on the road and or cannot be reached within a short distance of our office. The US being a large country, we ideally keep our remote users/sales team up and running as often as possible and get them up and running again after they have gone into some type of emergency.
  • Remote user backup.
  • Monitoring of users removing files from their PC.
  • Restores and upgrades of machines from Windows 7 to Windows 10 without sacrificing lots of time!
  • I think it really does a great job in many areas and [I] only think the reporting could get a little better.
  • Notifications that are sent to end users could be more clear.
  • Alerts to admins could be more clear for the end users that are out of sync.
[It is well suited for] backups for remote users who are not regularly in the home office with storage. Crashplan does a great job here. It was an issue that our company was facing for a long time and now appears to be in a great place.

I believe for those who rarely connect to a network and for those who have very slow network connections or have horrible connections in their home office, to begin with, it might not be the right solution. One employee who uses a hotspot out of his home rarely backs his files up [and] over a few months he has not done a full backup.
Read this authenticated review
Rex Sarchet profile photo
October 28, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan kept us from crashing and burning"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using CrashPlan to back up all of our remote users. The reason behind bringing on CrashPlan was that we needed a method to accurately back up and have access to data from our remote associates in the event of litigation. We soon found out that we could use CrashPlan to help us refresh the hardware for all 150 of our sales associates. We built the hardware in house, installed their most recent backup and then shipped out the new hardware. When they powered on their new system, it was identical to their previous solution. Complete with documents, email archives, desktop icons and IE favorites. We have not yet encountered any real problems. The closest thing to a problem is accessing the cold storage files. It is a bit clunky.
  • The ease of installation and deployment could not have been easier. The hardest part was getting our sales associates to actually click a link!
  • The back up is complete and transparent to the end user. Very hands off!
  • The admin portal is very user friendly. I can quickly determine who has recently backed up and those who have gone some time without an active backup.
  • As I mentioned previously, the file access in cold storage is a bit clunky. I would think that if I had admin rights I should be able to recover files from there relatively easily. But that is not the case.
  • I would like to see them have a different license tier for accounts in cold storage. The data there is not being manipulated, it is sitting stagnant and we are paying the same licensing as if it were an active backup.
CrashPlan is well suited for any size company. The license structure is such that you can easily add licenses as needed. We started out with our executive team and easily migrated to our entire remote associates. Very seamless and transparent. If someone is looking for a backup solution that is easy to use, easy to deploy and easy to administer, CrashPlan is perfect!
Read Rex Sarchet's full review
David Lo profile photo
October 25, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan... it just works!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrashPlan is being used as a disaster recovery/data backup tool in our organization. It is being deployed to the entire company of ~6000 users. CrashPlan addresses several business needs as it is a very versatile application. The help desk primarily uses it for disaster recovery when drives fail or end users accidentally delete a file. We also use it for hardware refreshes where pulling data from CrashPlan would be much quicker than USMT. Lastly, we use it for legal holds and data forensics.
  • It has a very easy to use UI so end users will have no problem understanding and using the application.
  • It is not intrusive at all in terms of system resource consumption and you will hardly notice it is running in the background.
  • Administration is extremely easy with the web console and allows you to push any changes to specific organizations or to the company as a whole.
  • The support staff and website documentation for issues or processes are very detailed and easy to understand.
  • Currently CrashPlan seems to be rolling out a lot of updates in very short time intervals. Given our change management processes, it is difficult to keep up with the latest and greatest releases.
CrashPlan is well suited in small or large environments that require users to maintain a backup or if the company doesn't allow backing up to external storage devices due to security reasons. There's really no reason a person shouldn't be using CrashPlan as the application is very lightweight and it gives users peace of mind knowing that their data is safe.
Read David Lo's full review
Ken Bailey profile photo
October 07, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Code42 CrashPlan - An excellent decision."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crashplan has been implemented in our organization globally as a corporate backup solution. This addresses a number of business requirements in regards to assisting users with data recovery as well as having data available for legal compliance. With Crashplan we have been able to have a great deal more control over fulfilling our data backup requirements than other products we've tested or implemented.
  • The installation and upgrade process of the server has been one of the easiest implementations I've been a part of.
  • The ability to lockdown options to ensure that our business requirements are met for compliance.
  • The support structure is top notch. Highly responsive and knowledgeable.
  • Some functionality is not available when implementing the cloud solution vs the on premise.

With remote employees, CrashPlan allows us to build out a computer locally, restore data that has been backed up, and then deliver the machine to the user. This allows for minimal downtime for a user who is upgrading.

Another scenario is that data can be backed up and put on legal holds allowing for our legal department to control for any issues.

Read Ken Bailey's full review
Clifford Goeke profile photo
September 07, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Try CrashPlan Pro. It will become your "Crash Plan""

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 15 local users and 35 remote users. I set up a parent and two sub organizations. The subs were set not to inherit the parent settings so I could control who could make changes to the settings. The remote users are locked down so we can be compliant with regulations about data archiving and retention. Remote users can not delete from backups and backups are set for unlimited retention. The backup is set to run continuously. The only issue we have had was with a user that has a satellite internet connection with limited or capped data. The first backup used most of her data allotment for the month. Users had to be educated to leave their computer on while the first backup was running.
  • After the install the user doesn't have to do anything. Our remote users were used to having to copy data to an external drive for archiving. Which meant it usually wasn't done. The central office didn't have access to any of those files either.
  • I am able to monitor which users are backed up and contact those that appear to be having issues.
  • Since the install package exceeded the attachment size allowed with our email client I included an HTML link to the location of the download.
  • The install took less than 10 minutes including the download of the software. Our documentation included screen shots of what the user should expect to see. This allowed remote users to install without having central IT get involved.
  • The management website times out frequently requiring a re-login.
  • Some of the information reported isn't consistent. Because each user can have multiple devices the number of devices doesn't match user number.
  • The number of users is the number of accounts that you have set up. Not the number of active users.
  • Some of the settings report inaccurately when first entering the screen. Refreshing the screen will update the settings. The help desk is aware of the problem and they are working to resolve the issue.
CrashPlan is great where you have remote or inexperienced users. It is a set and forget application. It just works.
Read Clifford Goeke's full review
Kayle Day profile photo
August 31, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan is Insurance Against Crashed Devices"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrashPlan was selected for our company to support a highly mobile user base. With a fast-growing company and lots of data being accessed, shared, and relied upon to do a job effectively, it is critical that we back up that data - and not by relying on users to understand when and where to save.

CrashPlan took the human error out of our backup plan. It guarantees data integrity, and our ability to service our users for a variety of needs. As an administrator, it gives me peace of mind that lost or stolen devices do not mean a loss of data. CryptoLockers don't scare me - now it's simply a matter of blowing away a machine and re-imaging with our CrashPlan backups. Accidentally deleted files can be restored in seconds, and if a user loses it somewhere in their mess of digital files, I can find it.

  • Device Refresh/Restore.
  • File Recovery.
  • Non-intrusive backups (no file sync!).
  • Administrative Portal.
  • File search across whole organization - a real loss of potential for expanding as a DLP product.
  • Deployment. It's doable, but it's not as easy as it should be.
CrashPlan is great for any organization that is looking for a lightweight, but not light in feature, backup solution. There is no file sync, and there are lots of opportunity for visibility into what is being stored and where. Device refresh and restore is a breeze, and helpful in a time where Microsoft has left their Windows Easy Transfer tool in the dust for transitioning machines from Windows 7 to 10. CrashPlan is NOT a DLP tool, but has the potential to be. It's a little disappointing to have a tool that gives some insight, but not all of it.

Read Kayle Day's full review
Leora "Sparky" Thomas profile photo
April 20, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "We may be small, but this backup is big on features!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Crashplan to backup training records and file shares related to the course materials and research we have performed. Our office was previously located in an area prone to hurricanes and flooding, so we have experienced disasters and loss of data. Crashplan was implemented as a simple, cost-effective way to ensure that wherever we were located, our data was located somewhere else as protection, and it has done the job splendidly.
  • Crashplan is simple to configure and starts working right away. No need to go through extensive setup to get it going, once the backup app is installed, off it goes.
  • Backing up network shares is as simple as pointing the Crashplan backup app to the drive and letting it go. It's fast and easy to configure.
  • Crashplan will do backups as often as every 15 minutes if you want, which provides extra coverage against ransomware and viruses. Restores are simple and easy and can be done from the same app that is installed to perform the backups.
  • I don't really have any cons, this is what a backup program should be.
We're a small office of eight people and for us, it is ideal. It's simple enough to configure without requiring outside assistance, yet powerful enough to do the job of backup systems that cost way more.
Read Leora "Sparky" Thomas's full review
Courtland Sorenson profile photo
July 15, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan - Good for your business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
For decades my company has used onsite usb backups for small businesses. With any onsite backup, you want the security and protection of an external drive that is shielded. The problem is most of them fail within a month of warranty, and usually quite unexpectedly.

Code42 and Crashplan:

- A solution that does not care about size.
- It takes our onsite backups to cloud, and gives us piece of mind for our Managed Service clients.
- It is the best hybrid solution I have seen, to date. No huge metadata files that cause issues.
- Customer support that works

Biggest things that need work:

- Backing up open databases and exchange. Would be nice if the tool was built in.
- Agents that quit unexpectedly. This happens randomly. Usually a fresh install will fix.
  • Unlimited backup
  • Restoring small files to phone when necessary
  • Gives small companies a tool to protect everything, at reasonable cost
  • User Interface needs help
  • Agent sometimes stops
  • Needs to backup exchange better
  • Needs to backup SQL better
A large enterprise network needs to make sure it can backup open databases.
Read Courtland Sorenson's full review
Samuel Laflamme profile photo
June 24, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "My Crashplan Experience"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a really great solution for computer backup on either cloud or hybrid solution. I can sleep easier because even if there a virus or hardware failure, my users will not lose any data. If a file is deleted or a bad change is made to it, my user can revert it themselves. The self service nature of crashplan is great.
  • When the deployment is finished, you can forget about until you need it.
  • The fact that the user can recover the data themselves is also a time saver.
  • It's also a great protection againt ransomware.
  • The Bandwidth management is also great.
  • The backups are encrypted.
  • My users can recover data themselves.
  • The client uses a lot of memory. For this kind of app it's essential to have a low memory footprint.
  • A lot of small files can make the app behave slowly.
  • The de-duplication could be improved. It's better on Windows 2012 R2.
I believe that crashplan is really good on a normal computer. It may be less [suited] on our developers' computer as they don't play with the settings because they have a lot of small files. We tried it on a few servers and our tests were not conclusive.

It's very well suited for the computers of our sales and marketing teams who travel a lot.
Read Samuel Laflamme's full review
Kevin Henningson profile photo
June 16, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Crash Plan, it is truly amazing."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department does use CrashPlan; it is used company wide. The software backs up important data on all of our employees' PCs and laptops. If there are any issues that we need to rebuild or image a device we are capable to do that with CrashPlan. It's very easy to use.
  • Runs quietly in the background. Most of our employees do not know it is even running.
  • Ease of use. VERY user friendly.
  • Support of the product. Code 42 is constantly making sure that we the users are always up to date and they actually listen to us on what we would like to see of the product to improve it.
  • Code 42 is always asking on how to improve the product. They receive so much feedback there really isn't that much to have them change. It is a product that is constantly evolving.
Yes, I had one of our employees get a ransomware virus. I wiped the laptop, and used CrashPlan's backed up data. Had a very fast turn around with the laptop.
Read Kevin Henningson's full review
Michael Knight profile photo
February 03, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan is hard to beat"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrashPlan has been rolled out to all of our full-time employees. This is around 850-1000 employees total. Prior to CrashPlan, we did not have a reliable means to back up data on the individual computers other than having our end users save to network shares. Synchronizing this data for off-line use has always been messy but now we can safely allow data to be stored on the local hard drives. Additionally, CrashPlan is our primary means for data retention when a user is no longer employed. Data can always be downloaded from the administrative console if needed, especially when access to the physical computer is non existent.
  • Once CrashPlan is fully set up and synchronizing, it truly is a "set it and forget it" solution. Backups, by default, happen every 15 minutes and the user only needs an internet connection for this to happen.
  • The administrative console is wonderful for IT to support its end users. We can download all user data if needed and centrally control the settings, including what folders/files are backed up, without interrupting the user.
  • We originally rolled out the product en masse about a year ago and this was supposed to install CrashPlan quietly and log the user in using their AD credentials. The former worked fine, however, the latter seems to have been sporadic. Most users are working fine but we have found a few cases recently that the data was not being backed up and in one instance, the hard drive failed causing the user to lose important work. We are having to work around this but would have liked Code42 to implement a better means for central deployment.
  • The current mobile apps work fine and allow a user to download any backed up file. I would personally like to see them be able to backup the contents of phones and tablets though.
As stated before, CrashPlan is a very automated and reliable means for backing up individual computers. It works on both Windows and Mac alike and encrypts all data being backed up. For the end-user, this product is second to none. The same can be said for IT departments but with the rollout issues that I mentioned before, caution should be applied.
Read Michael Knight's full review
Tyler Smith profile photo
May 25, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan above all others"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using CrashPlan for our top 50 VIPs and other users deemed with sensitive information. We use this to back up everyone from our CEO to our vice presidents. We had major problems with our previous cloud backup solutions and even on site solutions (virus infection, terrible admin console, no remote push) until we decided on CrashPlan. This has everything you could possibly want out of a cloud storage solution. Security, reliability, ease of use, the list goes on. Every company I will decide to go to in the future, implementing CrashPlan will definitely be my first priority.
  • Ease of use and deployment. Once deployed, users don't really need any training as the product is already backing up and if there are any problems the users will have no problem figuring out if need be. You are able to deploy with SCCM and even by hand it takes no longer then 3 minutes.
  • Remote restore is particularly efficient. You can pull up the user and their machines that are being backed up and choose which time frame, which day all the way down to minute to restore. simply amazing.
  • Back up! This barely uses any resources and the users will never notice. The only downside I guess you can say is the initial backup. One of our users had roughly 2 TB to back up. It had shown us that it will take 4+ months to back up. I realized this was from our horrible network at work.
  • There truly isn't much room for improvement but if I have to nit pick, maybe more admin console features.
  • Have a full feature list of commands you can set regarding the console view.
  • Be more visible regarding upload speeds and time left.
I truly believe in CrashPlan as a product. I have had it save my hide more than a few times. We have had viruses hit and other software didn't even come close to restoring files required as CrashPlan did. Also it made all of our computer migrations extremely easy to do.
Read Tyler Smith's full review
Frank C. Pieper profile photo
September 07, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Give your IT department a break"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have distributed employees including Home Office users and also part time freelancers. We are too small to allow break downs. Our philosophy is to make users self sufficient. CrashPlan helps us to achieve this for notebooks, mobile devices.
  • Self Service 100%
  • You can use restore anything anywhere in the world - go to the next Apple/PC store, get a new machine and simply sign on to your CrashPlan Account.
  • File History ! Just love it ! Once needed an older PowerPoint as I deleted some slides. A few clicks in the App and the version was restored on the desktop.
  • Backup initially can take a long time ... Incremental is good.
  • Look & Feel between Mac, WINDOWS, iOS, Android could be a bit more harmonized.
  • Get closer to the System Files, Profiles so users get as much restored as possible without the need for JAMF or else.
Almost no reason why not to use CrashPlan. Maybe if all users are only on a local LAN and you want to use a simply NAS storage and no remote users and no MAC users ... OK, then CrashPlan has too much to offer.
Read Frank C. Pieper's full review
Daniel Farst profile photo
May 12, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Code42 CrashPlan ProE"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're piloting the use of CrashPlan for managed endpoint cloud backup throughout the college, replacing a previous unmanaged product. We're gearing up to expand our use to a full-scale deployment. It's easy for end users to use, set and forget configuration, links in with our enterprise authentication, and performs very well.
  • Easy to use & manage. End users set it up and don't have to worry about it ever again. I get reports that everything is functioning correctly, or if there is a problem I get an alert and know who to check in with.
  • Handles large amounts of data very well. In comparison to our previous product which throttled the upload speed when the amount of data grew beyond their definition of "reasonable".
  • Great security configuration & encryption options. Meets our needs.
  • Integrates with our existing AD & LDAP infrastructure for easy authentication and no need to create new user accounts.
  • Up to 4 devices per seat, means that we're consuming less licenses than we were with our previous product, so even though it's more expensive per seat, we expect the licensing cost to be only marginally more.
  • Automated deployment could be tighter.
  • Some features like the device location mapping seem like they don't function consistently.
  • Somewhat complicated management interface. Takes a little while to figure out where the setting I need to change is, and there are multiple levels where it seems like you can set something (organization, device, user, etc.).
Code42 Crashplan ProE is well suited for the needs of a large enterprise or organization that wants managed endpoint backup on a per device, not per GB basis. It has great features catering to that area. It's probably overkill if you don't need managed backup, but they have an offering for that too.
Read Daniel Farst's full review
Dan Lepinski profile photo
January 07, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan is great"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CrashPlan as a primary backup for end user workstations across the entire company.
  • Versioning
  • Scheduled backups
  • Simple self-service restores
  • Admin console takes some getting used to with managing users.
  • Took me a while to find the button to do file restores from the admin console.
  • A nice feature would be the ability to select one of your alerts and create a support case about that alert with the click of a button.
I think CrashPlan is one of the best backup solutions out there for workstations and home computers. You can get very granular with what is backed up so you're not backing up unneeded files. The restore functionality is pretty easy to use, but may take some users a little time to understand it. The options of how you'd like to restore it are great too.
Read Dan Lepinski's full review
Michael Stepetic profile photo
April 26, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "CrashPlan, puts the power of file restores in your USERS hands!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crashplan is used through the entire organization, from backing up desktops and servers to local SAN storage and offsite data. It addresses the need for local desktop backups and offsite DR.
  • User Self Restores
  • Active Directory Integration
  • Local and Offiste Backup
  • You own the encryption keys
  • Multi-Server, Multi-Node configurations
  • Locations for Training
Crashplan is ideal for the SMB companies looking to start off with something relatively simple and easy to manage. It scales into the enterprise with the same simplicity and ease of management.
Read Michael Stepetic's full review
Daniel Bolens profile photo
August 11, 2016

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Review: "Crashplan is Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use crashplan to create a constant backup of all of our users' files. It's been extremely helpful when it comes to restoring machines, putting out new machines, and grabbing files if need be after an employee leaves the company. It's extremely user friendly and easy to manage.
  • User Friendly
  • Easy to manage
  • 100% Uptime
Crashplan is really useful in any environment with important data. I wouldn't use it for one or two users and/or if you're backing up data locally.
Read Daniel Bolens's full review

About Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)

CrashPlan is a cloud backup solution from Code42 in Minneapolis, MN.
Categories:  Endpoint Backup

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Features

Has featureAutomatic, continuous data protection
Has featureFull visibility of all protected devices and data in a single dashboard
Has featureSelf-service restore

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone