TrustRadius
CodeIgniter is a free and open source PHP framework, developed originally by EllisLab.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/LF/Ly/S0PBV2KC0X7F.jpegCodeIgniter - A great framework to build great projects!CodeIgniter is an open-source PHP web application framework which can be used for rapid development without the overhead of having to constantly build reusable components. I have been using CodeIgniter for now 2 years and really loved it, it is smooth, with best features and easy to use. Well documented and fresher can read and use very easily. Build many products, admin panel etc. using CodeIgniter. Easily themes can be integrated into it. Lightweight, fast performance.,Enables you to develop projects much faster than you could if you were writing code from scratch. Provides logical structure, MVC framework, reusable interface. Faster, Lighter, production ready, high adoption.,Lack of modern namespace, autoloader use. Lots of modern PHP practices were adopted during this time, leaving CodeIgniter a bit behind in the times.,8,Clients loved products build using this framework. Easily usable. Less time devotion building modules and codes.,Laravel PHP Framework,Laravel PHP Framework, Yii FrameworkMy working experience with CodeIgniter FrameworkCodeIgniter is a great PHP framework for web development. We have used this framework for around 2 years. For small and medium projects like ours it work like magic. Our API development department was very happy with API development for Android applications and these work as expected. We have used CodeIgniter for our Android API development to send and receive user inputs for school management and results checking facility. One of our media websites was running with CodeIgniter. It's a very good framework for shared hosting servers. Because CodeIgniter's source code is smaller and does not require high memory or CPU, CodeIgniter helps us to reduce server costs also.,Consumes very low memory and CPU. Loads 3x faster than Laravel or WordPress. I have personally used other frameworks and comparison CodeIgniter is good to go. Easy directory navigation. Even if the core folders are move, only changing the directory location from config file is set up everything.,Not available enough functionality to develop larger projects. Because the source code comes with very low footprint, developers need to include essential packages by their own. CodeIgniter is suitable for small and medium projects. but for larger projects, CodeIgniter is not a perfect solution. because of lack of functions available, it is hard to develop or customize requirements.,8,CodeIgniter has been a very good alternative for developing API endpoint for our Android applications and we received very good output through CodeIgniter. Because the source code is smaller but comes with MVC pattern, it has the functionality to develop an application faster with MVC strategy.,Laravel PHP Framework, CakePHP, Symfony and Yii Framework,Laravel PHP Framework, CakePHP, Zend FrameworkA classic, solid PHP MVC frameworkWe developed our internal reporting dashboard using CodeIgniter. It allows the whole organization to login and gain access to many reports that deal with different aspects of our company. The dashboard is a great tool to help us review our performance as a company and help us share information to everyone within the company.,CodeIgniter is an MVC framework that allows us to organize our code in a manner that it is easier to maintain and update. If you are working in a team environment and building an application or website like our dashboard, then CodeIgniter is a great solution.,CodeIgniter has been a solid framework with excellent documentation. The only minor thing I have encountered is that CodeIgniter doesn't have a way to easily create pretty links with hyphens. The url is structured like this: domain.com/testing_here when ideally: domain.com/testing-here,10,CodeIgniter allowed my organization to create internal applications quickly and more efficient.,Zend Framework and CakePHP,Mouseflow, Google Tag Manager, Unbounce, CanvaSturdy and ReliableWe have used CodeIgniter as the mainstay in company intranets for multiple clients. This has allowed us to quickly create and deploy customized intranet/portals for companies to use and manage. CodeIgniter allows us to make specific changes to meet a client's needs and allows us to use the built in features and framework to not have to recreate things for each client.,Great for quick deployment of structured web applilcations. Easy to maintain and make changes on existing web applications. Great knowledge base and community to allow quick and accurate answers when having trouble.,Could be easier to create applications from scratch. PHP framework isn't for everyone.,9,Because of quick turnaround on portals/intranets, it was easy to offer this as an option to clients. As there is no cost associated with this framework, it was great not having to worry about purchasing or licensing. (MIT License). Community support helps in that there are no ongoing support contracts or costs. No direct representative for one-on-one support, if needed. This can cut into time used on projects.,CakePHP, Zend Framework and .NET,Kenshoo Infinity Suite, Slack, Box, Dropbox, AdWords, Bing Ads, Yahoo Gemini, Facebook for Business, HipChat, Google Analytics, Google Drive, Mouseflow, Smartsheet, OneNote, Bitbucket, GitHubDo you like Open Source products that work?CodeIgniter has been our marketing team's main tool to help us build our micro-sites to recruit students and grow our business for the past two years. They have leveraged CodeIgniter in ways that our previous solutions were unable to provide, and has helped to differentiate the feel of our sites.,Easy to use Helps with source control Open source is always best!,Update frequency,9,Saves time Assists in colaboration Easy to use,MySQL, Canvas, Blackboard, BlueJeans, VMware ESXi, Microsoft SQL Server
Unspecified
CodeIgniter
21 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

CodeIgniter Reviews

CodeIgniter
21 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 21 vetted CodeIgniter reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
RANDHIR KUMAR profile photo
January 22, 2018

Review: "CodeIgniter - A great framework to build great projects!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeIgniter is an open-source PHP web application framework which can be used for rapid development without the overhead of having to constantly build reusable components. I have been using CodeIgniter for now 2 years and really loved it, it is smooth, with best features and easy to use. Well documented and fresher can read and use very easily. Build many products, admin panel etc. using CodeIgniter. Easily themes can be integrated into it. Lightweight, fast performance.
  • Enables you to develop projects much faster than you could if you were writing code from scratch.
  • Provides logical structure, MVC framework, reusable interface.
  • Faster, Lighter, production ready, high adoption.
  • Lack of modern namespace, autoloader use.
  • Lots of modern PHP practices were adopted during this time, leaving CodeIgniter a bit behind in the times.
The input class makes it easy to provide server-side validation and scrubbing of user input. Setting Error messages. It doesn't require constant command-line access, It's great because it has a strong community and excellent documentation, but the problem is that it tries to retain backward compatibility with PHP 4 and therefore lacks a lot of "standard" features modern frameworks have such as auto-loading.
Read RANDHIR KUMAR's full review
Sazzad Hossain Sharkar profile photo
February 02, 2018

Review: "My working experience with CodeIgniter Framework"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeIgniter is a great PHP framework for web development. We have used this framework for around 2 years. For small and medium projects like ours it work like magic. Our API development department was very happy with API development for Android applications and these work as expected.

We have used CodeIgniter for our Android API development to send and receive user inputs for school management and results checking facility. One of our media websites was running with CodeIgniter.

It's a very good framework for shared hosting servers. Because CodeIgniter's source code is smaller and does not require high memory or CPU, CodeIgniter helps us to reduce server costs also.
  • Consumes very low memory and CPU. Loads 3x faster than Laravel or WordPress. I have personally used other frameworks and comparison CodeIgniter is good to go.
  • Easy directory navigation. Even if the core folders are move, only changing the directory location from config file is set up everything.
  • Not available enough functionality to develop larger projects.
  • Because the source code comes with very low footprint, developers need to include essential packages by their own.
  • CodeIgniter is suitable for small and medium projects. but for larger projects, CodeIgniter is not a perfect solution. because of lack of functions available, it is hard to develop or customize requirements.
If you have small or medium level sites to develop, CodeIgniter does perform very well. Although, developing blog and news portal type websites, it is very good and reliable to use.

Projects are a high requirement, CodeIgniter needs to customize a lot. Like developing an online shopping cart with CodeIgniter requires a lot of functionality. Complex functionality requires adding more assets for it to function properly and the codebase is then larger than expected.
Read Sazzad Hossain Sharkar's full review
Julian Estiva profile photo
December 15, 2017

CodeIgniter Review: "A classic, solid PHP MVC framework"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We developed our internal reporting dashboard using CodeIgniter. It allows the whole organization to login and gain access to many reports that deal with different aspects of our company. The dashboard is a great tool to help us review our performance as a company and help us share information to everyone within the company.
  • CodeIgniter is an MVC framework that allows us to organize our code in a manner that it is easier to maintain and update. If you are working in a team environment and building an application or website like our dashboard, then CodeIgniter is a great solution.
  • CodeIgniter has been a solid framework with excellent documentation. The only minor thing I have encountered is that CodeIgniter doesn't have a way to easily create pretty links with hyphens. The url is structured like this: domain.com/testing_here when ideally: domain.com/testing-here
CodeIgniter is a great MVC framework for PHP. If you would like to learn the model view controller architecture and object oriented programming, I found CodeIgniter easier to pick up versus Cake or Zend. CodeIgniter like any other MVC frameworks is designed for building robust applications that keep your logic separated from your display (view) allowing for better organization and team development. Although you can use CodeIgniter as a one page application, there are better frameworks out there for that and more lightweight such as angular, and reactjs.
Read Julian Estiva's full review
Benjamin Hale profile photo
December 13, 2017

CodeIgniter Review: "Sturdy and Reliable"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used CodeIgniter as the mainstay in company intranets for multiple clients. This has allowed us to quickly create and deploy customized intranet/portals for companies to use and manage. CodeIgniter allows us to make specific changes to meet a client's needs and allows us to use the built in features and framework to not have to recreate things for each client.
  • Great for quick deployment of structured web applilcations.
  • Easy to maintain and make changes on existing web applications.
  • Great knowledge base and community to allow quick and accurate answers when having trouble.
  • Could be easier to create applications from scratch.
  • PHP framework isn't for everyone.
This is a great framework for people with knowledge of MVC frameworks and PHP experience. We have used it for maintaining web portals/intranets for clients, and it has exceeded our expectations. This might not be the right tool for people looking for a CMS or more complicated applications. But, because of its open platform and resources, I am sure it could work for many more applications.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
Christopher Sweets profile photo
December 14, 2017

CodeIgniter Review: "Do you like Open Source products that work?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeIgniter has been our marketing team's main tool to help us build our micro-sites to recruit students and grow our business for the past two years. They have leveraged CodeIgniter in ways that our previous solutions were unable to provide, and has helped to differentiate the feel of our sites.
  • Easy to use
  • Helps with source control
  • Open source is always best!
  • Update frequency
CodeIgniter is not recommended for companies that would prefer a managed, and costly code platform.
Read Christopher Sweets's full review
No photo available
January 24, 2018

User Review: "CodeIgniter and its uses"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeIgniter is old, but still awesome for when you need to do PHP projects. Great architecture, beautiful documentation and easily understandable. System settings let you create your own code according to requirement. The best part is a major software developer community has used CodeIgniter so you can get every question's solution on the internet.
  • CodeIgniter - you essentially code what you need, using extra components to speed up your work.
  • Easily understandable and well documented. A great architecture for new comers.
  • Not compatible with newer versions of PHP.
  • More options now available on the internet that are the same as CodeIgniter also with a better version.
Best framework to use for API integration because of its architecture. CodeIgniter is a powerful PHP framework with a very small footprint, built for developers who need a simple and elegant toolkit to create full-featured web applications. It is most often praised for its lightning speed when compared to other PHP MVC frameworks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2017

Review: "CodeIgniter - Great for All Web Applications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CodeIgniter to help visualize data from our clients. We've created a custom dashboard to present the data in a way that's easy to read quickly.
  • Learning CodeIgniter is really simple. The documentation is helpful.
  • It forces a good MVC structure.
  • CodeIgniter has a somewhat steep learning curve.
CodeIgniter is great for building quick, scalable web applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2017

"CodeIgniter Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Beautiful, intuitive code and a strong framework for PHP which is stable. CodeIgniter makes your code beautiful and easy to comprehend, read, write and review codes. Built lots of products and projects using Codeigniter like CMS, OMS, WMS etc. Well suited for both small and big projects. Very easy to learn this framework, beautifully documented, no guidance needed for new learners.
  • Well managed documentation, complete package .
  • Easy to learn, free of cost.
  • Easy to use, and as it is open source you can use according to your need.
  • There should be some functionalities which can be used to analyze you data.
  • URLs are not structured properly.
1) Codeigniter is the best framework for beginners because it is well documented.
2) Proper formatting of code, easy to maintain and update.
3) Easy to install and learn MVC framework.
4) Can make easily custom plugins.
5) Great knowledge base and community, you can find any of your doubts easily about codeigniter since it vastly used.
Read this authenticated review
D. Marshall Lemcoe Jr. profile photo
June 21, 2017

Review: "CodeIgniter – An excellent choice for beginners and those who need to start coding right now!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeIgniter has been an integral part of our web development firm for years, and continues to be the backbone of over a dozen active projects. Our firm not only uses it for customer projects, but also for internal projects that require a simple framework.

In terms of solving business problems, it saves our customers and our programmers hours of time, because numerous tasks such as database queries and authentication are abstracted using industry standards. That is, programmers do not have to worry about escaping user input, connecting to a specific database driver, importing dependencies, or routing HTTP URIs.
  • CodeIgniter is an excellent tool when a simple database API is needed. Postgres, MySQL, and SQLite are all abstracted into a simple-to-use
  • CodeIgniter's simplicity is truly its best feature, because you are able to create controllers and methods based on the http://www.example//, and immediately being developing the application.
  • Flexibility is also another developer-friendly feature, because developers are able to design their application in any way - controllers, models, libraries, and helpers can be located anywhere or not used at all.
  • Since 2013 or so, Laravel has become the de facto PHP web framework, thanks to its PSR-7 support and modern design techniques. CodeIgniter lacks some of these modern style choices, and makes importing modern PHP modules slightly more difficult than would be expected.
  • Due to its simplicity, CodeIgniter is very forgiving as far as writing "dirty code" is concerned. CodeIgniter will let you make horrendous design choices, while still working "properly."
  • The CodeIgniter community has been declining in terms of volume and development time due to Laravel and general PHP design practices.
CodeIgniter is very well-suited to those beginning PHP web development, and who are tired of writing the same code over and over (like authentication mechanisms). It is a very good choice for those looking for a framework that will not try to "dictate" how their application is designed and which choices are made.

Situations where highly modular code is required and where more advanced features like queuing and hooking are needed are situations where CodeIgniter is not a good choice. More modern frameworks like CakePHP and Laravel are much better-suited.
Read D. Marshall Lemcoe Jr.'s full review
Jean Paul Ruiz Vallejo profile photo
April 04, 2017

CodeIgniter Review: "A PHP framework for small and medium size projects"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used CodeIgniter on a previous project. The project was a Learning Management System. Back then CodeIgniter was in version 2. For small and medium size projects it was a perfect choice. It provided a simple way to access MySQL databases with its own ORM, a low learning curve, plenty of documentation and developers working on it plus you were able to deploy a CodeIgniter projects in any hosting provider, for real, from GoDaddy to AWS. The main problem when it comes to using a PHP framework it's the learning curve. It's common that projects have to increase features really fast, and depending on the learning curve, it can take from 1 to 3 months to have a decent level when it comes to writing code in certain PHP framework. CodeIgniter has a very low learning curve; In a couple of weeks, you can learn how to use most of the common things.
  • Can be deployed on a very simple web hosting meaning low-cost hosting.
  • A very short learning curve for web developers.
  • Plenity of documentation.
  • The project was stopped for a long time and some other PHP frameworks got on the way improving more.
  • Not enough plugins so you will end developing a lot of custom plugins.
When you can't afford an expensive hosting tool such as a VPS or AWS you might want to consider using CodeIgniter. Also, when you don't have much time to train a developers' team and need a low learning curve PHP framework. When you need a highly scalable framework with lots of plugins, CodeIgniter might not be the best choice. Instead a better choice could be a framework like Laravel.
Read Jean Paul Ruiz Vallejo's full review
Jim Wyse profile photo
September 06, 2016

Review: "CodeIgniter - The Little Framework that could."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeIgniter is the framework our content management system is built on. It is used university wide. CodeIgniter allows the web services team to easily develop customizations within the CMS. Some applications include developing API integrations with other third party services, our single sign on program, cache breaking, along with text and image manipulation.
  • The active record class allows creating readable SQL statements that can be easily understood across the team's varying skill levels.
  • The input class makes it easy to provide server side validation and scrubbing of user input.
  • As an MVC framework, separation of code and presentation layer is easily implemented.
  • While the active record class is nice, there are occasionally times where it is unsuited and a custom SQL query needs to be coded.
  • An authentication method against an Active Directory would be nice. Everyone wants single sign on these days.
  • Composer integration would be a nice to have
For smaller applications, CodeIgniter seems well suited. When building larger applications it seems to get a little heavy as features are added. That may be due to lack of experience architecting a larger application with CodeIgniter.
Read Jim Wyse's full review

CodeIgniter Scorecard Summary

About CodeIgniter

CodeIgniter is a free and open source PHP framework, developed originally by EllisLab.
Categories:  PHP Frameworks

CodeIgniter Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No