Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
166 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

David Lester | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault - The Swiss Army knife for Data Protection.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like to refer to Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery as a Swiss Army knife. The healthcare industry encompasses a vast array of hardware and software solutions. Providing data protection to all of these architectures is paramount to the safety of our patients. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery allows us the flexibility to customize our support model so that it fits the institutional vision.
  • Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery provides complete auditing. Having worked with many products in the past, most fell short on reporting. In particular reporting on restores. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery provides detailed information on operations that were performed, the account performing the operation and where was the data placed.
  • The flexibility of the product allows it to be more of a framework than a rigid application. By leveraging vendor specific API's, such as NetApp SnapVault/SnapMirror access, stronger integration and a more reliable service is produced. The workflow functionality and ability to utilize personal scripts helps administrators perform developer functions.
  • Support for aging technologies is a challenge for any large institution. Maintaining the ability to support old solutions, even in a limited capacity, is more desirable than bringing in a secondary solution or not support it at all.
  • Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery has developed the concept of plans that work great in smaller institutions but can hamstring large enterprises by the limited flexibility. There are situations where plans appear to be forced into decisions. Ideally, providing the ability to disable plans would be beneficial.
  • The security model is granular in respects to permissions and ability to implement it for a single object (client, user, job). Implementing the correct collection of permissions can sometimes feel like opening a padlock. This appears to be a great place to implement a wizard for guiding administrators through desired behaviors and building the appropriate security role.
Other backup products have a tendency to be rigid in design. Many times it is necessary to choose a backup solution that best fits the environment and sacrifice features for functionality. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is centered on adaptability. The product framework provides infinite flexibility while also providing backward capability to previous configurations. Utilizing vendor APIs allows for less product development time, more reliable operations and better support. The integrated auditing and logging mechanisms provide extensive analysis of processes.
The extensive logging and process analysis allows for definitive root-cause identification. Support teams are easy to work with and fully understand the scenario. Case registration leverages AI technology to intelligently evaluate case classification. Support case registration ensures that I am connected to the correct support group the first time. The support teams quickly follow up with responses and provide periodic updates to ensure you stay informed.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery allows us to segregate production data from backup data. Encrypted communications prevent management channel hijacking and ensure data integrity. Since content is deduplicate and encrypted before reaching the backup storage, we do not have to worry about executable files running on the backup storage and corrupting our data. Validation and remediation processes run periodically to ensure integrity and the media agents run malware protection algorithms to identify potential concerns. Replicated data only consists of data chunk signatures, therefore each site is isolated from one another.
Read David Lester's full review
Christopher Jon Olesch Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Your Commvault solution awaits....

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Commvault as a service along with hardware that meets Commvault specifications.
Some of the business problems addressed are the ability to protect Hourly Transaction Log jobs, HANA, Oracle coverage, SAN Intellisnap operations.
  • The customer support team is bar none. I always have confidence that any issues that arise will be resolved.
  • Interface is very intuitive.
  • Excellent reporting (both canned & custom)
  • Logs are very detailed.
  • Workflows, API access allow for automation
  • Supports a multitude of legacy applications as well as bleeding-edge & current systems
  • Licensing is complex
  • Cost impedes implementation for organizations that would be a great fit.
  • Exchange & Sharepoint coverage
I've supported many backup applications, where most other backup solutions cause pain-points Commvault comes out ahead. If your organization doesn't fit the mold of out-of-box or cookie-cutter solutions, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery offers custom solutions.
We utilize the Enterprise Support Program. It's a top-notch support option. It offers strategic world-class technical management. The support partners with us to provide the best possible solution/resolution to any issue we encounter.
We are not allowed to discuss specific incidents if they did or did not happen.
Read Christopher Jon Olesch Jr.'s full review
Adnan Sadique | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Commvault: Complete BaaS solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CCL/Revera's Backup-as-a-Service (BAAS) offering uses Commvault as its Backup & Recovery solution. The good thing about Commvault is that it covers all sorts of customer backup requirements and have a very flexible restore option. For example, we can backup supplicated databases (like DB2, SQL, Oracle, etc) using Application iDataAgent and if required, we can export backup data in application native formats.
The backup data replication and storage policy setup architecture makes Commvault the top product as you can tailor your storage policy depending on any requirements. The Global Deduplication feature offers exceptional savings.
  • Single pane of glass for effective centralized management
  • Outstanding and very responsive customer support
  • Support for both legacy and emerging applications
  • Complex Licensing Model
  • Costly solution
  • Uses Java to launch management console which is slow and Java-related issues come with it
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery can easily support large and complex environments, geographically scattered across multiple Data Centres, as we have. You can manage/monitor everything up to the central management console. You can easily set up a multi-tenanted BaaS model and segregate backup data into individual tenant-based storage policies if required.
Engaging Commvault support is super easy and realizable. You do not have to chase support on phone/email. Commvault does deliver what it promises and this makes Commvault the very best available product on the market.
A few of our customers had been victims of ransom and malware attacks a few years ago. We have performed FULL server recovery from both agent-based backups and VSA backups.
Read Adnan Sadique's full review
Colin Bogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

My Commvault review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a managed services provider, we use it both internally for our corporate backup solution as well as sell it as a service to our managed services customers. Commvault is used primarily for data protection, but we also use it for archiving and endpoint protection.
  • Virtual Server backups
  • SQL backups
  • Archiving
  • UI consistency
  • Better control over feature releases and hotfix packages. Sometimes there are too many bugs
Commvault is very well suited for our situation where we are deploying MediaAgents and storage at a customer site, backing up their data, and then replicating those backups to a secondary site (cloud, hosted data center, or second customer site). The auxiliary copy capabilities, ransomware protection, and granular control for each copy make Commvault a very reliable product.

Reporting and alerting are major advantages that Commvault has over other products we support. With so much capability built into the product, we don't have to rely on 3rd-party tools to help us manage our Backup As A Service offering.
Commvault support is like nothing I've ever encountered. They go above and beyond to troubleshoot problems even when the source of the issue is not directly tied to the Commvault software.
We have used Commvault several times to recover from ransomware attacks. The product itself performed exactly as expected. We restored over 250 servers in less than 24 hours.
Read Colin Bogan's full review
Jason Elsmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

GO Commvault!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at DaVita, I have been helping to manage Commvault data protection/management solution for the last 3 years. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery provides for a very strong offering for any type of backup/recovery/archiving solution on the market. Everything from VM Snapshots, Server File System Agents, several databases agents, along with SAN snapshot protection, Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery provides so many features for our DaVita business to utilize.
  • Commvault VM LiveSync.
  • IntelliSnap SAN snapshot protection.
  • Auxiliary Copy to Tape for long term data retention.
  • The Java CommCell Console freeze/hangups/occasional slowness.
  • Updating agents of any type, can sometimes be a huge endeavor.
  • Oracle DB granular recoveries can sometimes be difficult, because of the many plethora of restore options.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery sure brings the swiss-army knife of features to the table to provide almost any kind of data protection solution for it's customers. I've enjoyed using Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery for the past 13yrs. The next biggest challenge I'm seeing at this current time is with specific Google Cloud Platform offerings.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Customer Support is a TOP Notch offering/benefit that sure helps to boost the Commvault product overall.
Thankfully, no ransomware/malware attacks from my awareness.
Read Jason Elsmore's full review
Anirudh Srinivas | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

The one stop shop for all data protection and recovery needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is deployed on our customer environment which is an insurance vendor, it's deployed on the entire estate managing more 10PB of Front end data. The primary application use case is automation with the server agent deployment, configuration is all automated. There was a need for various types of applications and middleware to be all managed under one solution.
  • Plethora of application and database support under one product.
  • Excellent reporting tools to have granular information.
  • Ease of use for administrator, with support for automation.
  • Integration into various applications like SQL , Vmware etc.
  • The support for multi platform migration.
  • The support for multi database vendor for application ( Commserve DB ).
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is best suited for small and large environment who need fewer admins and would like automate most of the operations. The tool is best suited for companies would like to backup different types of applications, middleware and data off prem and on prem.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery gives a very trusted relationship with the vendor. We are able to have very minimal to 0 downtime and high availability for all backups. The backups are designed to complete within the window allocated, which keeps up our SLA on the top always.
The environment has been secured at multiple levels of attack. We also use Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery's internal mechanism to block attacks which are last level of defense mechanism.
Read Anirudh Srinivas's full review
Paul Sevick | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

CommVault is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using CommVault for over 10 years and backup pretty much everything with it across our entire enterprise. Currently we are backing up 25 virtual servers, 6 physical servers and multiple SQL databases. Once setup it's an amazing product that works extremely well, everything is controlled from a central Commcell console that makes management, deployment and monitoring much easier.
  • Centralized management
  • World class support
  • Can backup anything anywhere
  • Confusing licensing model
  • Expensive
CommVault can backup just a few servers but where it shines is in larger environments with many servers scattered in different offices running different OS's. You can everything up to single location, manage and deploy everything everything from one console. It can eliminate multiple backup hardware scattered all over the related individual backup problem and centralize everything.
The product works very well but there have been occasions where we need to contact support. Placing a support is call is easy and fast, depending on the severity of the incident they call you back exactly within the time frame indicated. I have spoken to New Jersey based support people who have expert knowledge of the problem.
Read Paul Sevick's full review
Shalika Senadeera | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Commvault is a Top player in Complete backup and Recovery

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is an enterprise-level tool that we use to backup all kinds of workloads. I have implemented Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery in many Enterprise-level, Corporate banks and financial companies to mitigate their data loss and compliance with their audit requirements. I have implemented it across many platforms such as MS SQL, MySQL, Oracle, AIX, Exchange, VMware, Azure, Office 365, Hyper-V, Loutas Note, Windows FS/Unix FS backups and many cloud storage and virtual environments. Commvault DR option as well. We especially used Backup replication (Dash Copy), VM Replication (Live sync) and DB replication and VM life cycling process. Customers like the Commvault CommCell console, it is a single console solution.
  • Commvault has better Duplication ratio.
  • Commvault is good at reports and audit trails. We won't miss anything which is required for our audit.
  • Support team is very responsive and provides confidence in solutions and good follow through until the problem is rectified or solved.
  • It does not have any agent for Zimbra mail backup.
  • It has to provide or should come up with supporting smaller environments.
  • I would like to keep using the java console instead of using the Command Center.
CommServe can manage backups for virtual machines via VSA without installing agents on virtual machines (non-application aware backups).
In ny experience, Support is available within 15-30 minutes.
Read Shalika Senadeera's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Commvault across our entire company. In the US, we have each location split as a division. Each division has its own media agent, storage, and permissions group. All reports go to divisional directors and staff as well as visuals for Command Center. This setup isolates each location to only be able to view their items. This reduces stress on local staff and allows me and my team to focus on big-picture disaster recovery. This setup really helps with off-loading restorations and live data to other divisions as tests or failover scenarios.
  • Backup
  • Reports
  • Duplication
  • Options
  • Active Directory
  • Non-SQL database support
  • AD restores
I feel that Commvault's Active Directory Recovery and Testing of the recovery could be improved, but this could very well be a situation where I am not fully understanding the scope. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is spot-on in all other areas and will be a perfect fit for anyone with a decent-sized IT footprint.
The real winner of this company and application is its staff of support engineers and the management. Seriously, I could hate the application and despise using it and would still subscribe and deploy 100% across the company. No other company works as hard for its users as Commvault. Having a solid application on top of this is more than anyone can ask for.
We are not allowed to discuss specific incidents if they did or did not happen.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault in my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is used at DaVita to ensure our data protection meets Federal guidelines and supports our Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity Needs.
  • Commvault is the Swiss Army knife for data protection in an Enterprise environment. You name the environment and Commvvault has something to protect it. Very helpful in this on-prem/off-prem world that is developing into a DevOps world.
  • Improves our Disaster Recovery
  • Starting to utilize for data migration for VMware in places where Zerto is too expensive
  • Would be good to improve simplicity. Obviously, with the hundreds of different types of OSs, we have to support this is a challenge. However, I think Commvault is committed to significant improvements in 2020.
  • Not quite a ding as more of an acknowledgment of the need to improve Google Cloud data protection. The biggest problem is Google is just ramping up their cloud features/functions which hinders Commvault to provide that so, Commvault is getting there.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is well suited for our environment, which has a huge number of different Operating Systems that need protection. One less appropriate scenario for Commvault is trying to improve as a DATA mover instead of just a backup/restore/DR. CommVault has all our data, but the tools to manage data such as legal searches and migration of VMware is lacking--it's there, but other tools do a much better job. If Commvault is going to become a leader in DATA and not just backup/restore, they need to really improve these data tools to be industry leaders, not just an add-on to backup.
The number of questions we've had going to Commvault has decreased over the past year. This is because support is better and the tool is better. The reason for not a "10", is we have other vendors that answer faster and don't need for us to call them. However, we have many other vendors that are below CommVault including some very major companies and some medium-sized ones. This puts Commvault near the top, but not AT the top.
Our IT Security team is one of the best in healthcare. Thank goodness our need to rely on Commvault is minimum. However, we do have things set up to air-gap and protect our investments should any ransomware issues occur.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

The solution for all your data protection needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is used across the organization as the Enterprise Backup solution.
  • Automation like workflow.
  • Ease of use, less complexity.
  • Excellent support, very pro-active.
  • Leaders in the backup realm.
  • Additional workflow template and not so much the canned reports that comes with it.
  • Pricing, it does get pricey when you start adding new features not purchased before hand.
  • Licensing structure, should be more flexible especially in for an enterprise level customers.

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is best suited for a large environment that is hybrid and a mix bag of applications, storage devices, and operating system. It's really a good fit like our environment where we are in a transition of physical to virtual and on-prem to Cloud provider. Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery really covers these arenas really well.

I believe it's less appropriate for a small SMB that does need not a robust backup infrastructure due to cost.

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery support is a Gold Standard for us. We are a ESP customer and have a designated Support Account Manager (SAM) & a Technical Account Manager (TAM) who we meet with every other week to go over any existing issues and upcoming version revisions release. But of course not all companies or organization will need this type of level of support but we have proven that this works for us due to the shear size of our environment and the number of offices we support.
We have been lucky so far and that our environment have not been breached so far but I must say we take these things very serious and actually hires a third party vendor for penetration testing. We take all the precautionary measures to ensure our environment is patched and security updates applied in a monthly basis. In our Commvault environment we also enable all the security features it has including the ransomware feature & encryptions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2020

There's a lot to be said for not having to worry about backup and recovery.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is used across the whole organization to provide disaster recovery and operational support for Windows and several versions of UNIX and Linux. Operational support includes database refreshes and data migrations. As far as I am aware, we no longer use it for Archiving because of a disastrous mistake someone made when performing some cleanup in the GUI, which resulted in loss of data. Commvault and a Data Recovery company were unable to put Humpty Dumpty back together again, although they both tried very hard. The data structures on disk are just too complex, and the purpose of the cleanup was permanent deletion of some old data, so in that sense, it worked perfectly.
  • Manages thousands of backups across multiple OS types and releases
  • Provides an easy way to locate, view and restore the content of those backups.
  • Permits distributed configuration and control through role-based user accounts
  • Balances the workload against the backup infrastructure capabilities.
  • The new "extent-based-backup" feature is potentially a huge win and Commvault advantage for sites with enormous files to back up (terabytes), but the assignment of extents to backup streams could use some optimization, and there should be some tuning tools for extent-based backups.
  • It shouldn't be so hard to figure out how to get the GUI to use a larger font. The default font is extremely small and completely unsuitable for many of us with "Senior" in our titles.
  • It should be trivial to clone an existing backup set or client configuration and then update just the unique bits.
I've been creating and using backup systems for over 40 years, and I know how hard it is for a single solution to work well in different environments. I've been very surprised to find that Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery does a really good job with just about everything in the backup/recovery space. It is both very, very capable, and flexible, suitable for very large and complex environments.

Until recently it had one fatal flaw in environments with huge files to back up (terabytes each), but that has now been addressed with "extent-based backups", allowing multiple backup streams to back up different parts of the same file(s). With more tuning and maturity, that feature will have huge benefits in all kinds of enterprise-class situations.
We get quick response to our queries, and the documentation is more complete and accurate that I expected. The really hard problems can take a while, but Commvault does not hesitate to connect the end-user with the engineering and development teams to solve those problems. They also do not seem to have the tendency that you see in many vendors to close the case as fast as possible (to make the closure stats better) even when you do not yet have the full answer that you need. They keep at it until every issue and question has been explored.
Attack response is not my area of experience with Commvault, but I have seen in the documentation that this has been taken into account and there are actions and configuration choices that can be made to ensure recoverability after an attack. I plan to find out what our Commvault administrators have already put in place for this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

Why Commvault against competitors

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is our core Backup Enterprise tool, used to backup more than 1200 VMs and more than 120 physical Servers. It yearly addresses around 60 to 90 restores or recoveries.
  • It cover all our OS and application scenarios, both virtual and physical.
  • Brings us "peace of mind" on a reliable tool.
  • Have a very good support organization with really qualified technicians.
  • Maybe more deep CLI documentation (both "q" commands and SQL).
It needs know-how, but for sure is "the" enterprise tool that covers all our needs.
Based on my experience with other providers' support, I can say CV have a reliable support organization, one of the key points to choose CV.
Fortunately we were never exposed to such attacks, but in the case they come, we are sure we have the possibility to recover our data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Calm-Vault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is our enterprise solution for backup and recovery. It primarily is used in the intel and power environments.
  • Reliability
  • Manageability
  • Availability
  • Additional canned reports
  • Fewer hardware requirements
  • Less costly licensing
Commvault works well in a granular recovery situation. The misconception that backup and recovery is disaster recovery needs to be communicated effectively to the organization.
We have a dedicated SME on our account who comes and works in the trenches with staff once a month. On top of that, we meet weekly to discuss any issues or any strategic moves that we want to make in the environment. The biggest benefit is the environment is now being proactively managed vs reactive, allowing for the environment to be reliable when we need it most.
We have locked down (followed best practice) for setting up our Commvault environment. We have not experienced a ransomware attack. We do have read-only snapshots in the event we were to experience such an attack. Commvault does have anomaly detection that has informed us of abnormal updates to a number of files or deletes to a filesystem. So we have confidence that we will be protected in such an event.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery review from an MSP/CSP perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Commvault as a service offering to our client base and have done so for the past 10 years, delivering a data protection service that is the largest in the country.
  • Reliability
  • Options for protecting different workloads
  • Support structure with ESP and TAM
  • Development cycle and adoption of client requested modifications/enhancements
  • Integration of the personalization teams TAPI functionality into core product to increase speed of new functionality rollout.
  • Automation around agent installation for MSPs
  • Dynamic workload allocation, so automatically pausing and resuming workloads automagically so any late-night failures because of any network or client issue could be tried again during the backup window, potentially multiple times.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is best where a managed service offering needs to be built to provide service for clients. Especially where there is the requirement for long-term retention of data, Commvault is by far the leader of this piece of the puzzle in particular.
Meets all our service requirements and we have thousands of happy clients and a powerful team managing our infrastructure with this solution. As we use it for a managed service to our clients, we have an extensive capability that fits well with the product and we have made the most of its functionality and the support we get from Commvault.
We protect all our systems with Commvault. We have not had an issue to describe.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

With Commvault, One Size Does Fit (Almost) All

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host servers for many Oregon governmental agencies. The backup team is responsible for providing the necessary backups for these agencies to ensure the safety of Oregon's data assets.
  • Commvault supports a wide variety of operating systems and applications.
  • Product support from Commvault is excellent.
  • It can be scaled up to handle large organizations.
  • Constantly providing fixes and improvements to the product.
  • Commvault isn't always intuitive to use.
  • Like most software, there are often bugs that need to be dealt with. However, Commvault has been very responsive.
  • Virtual server backups not as well executed as other products.
If you have a diverse environment that supports AIX, Linux, Windows, and multiple databases or other applications, Commvault is hard to beat. They really do cover lots of platforms. This keeps you from having to run many different applications just to do backups. However, if you are a smaller shop, or maybe a VMware only shop, I think there are better choices available.
The Commvault support organization is excellent, provided around the clock support. They have knowledgeable staff, are very responsive, and have always done what is necessary to at least get the answers to the issue, even if the answer has to come from development. A+
We have restored system and files for customers who have had minor malware outbreaks. However, while we are the backup team, restores are typically done by the customer or a different team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Protecting your data, from all threats including you.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are equivalent to a multinational corporation that is very geographically dispersed. Commvault is the complete backup and disaster recovery solution for us. It is used across the organization and we use on-prem and cloud instances. The nature of our business requires a comprehensive and capable product that is easy to configure and deploy from remote locations.
  • Easy to use interface on top of a comprehensive and trustworthy platform.
  • Policy-based capabilities allow plans that can be easily duplicated and deployed, saving time and helping to ensure assets are protected.
  • The system is very well thought out, the built-in deduplication capabilities save over wire data transmission reducing the throughput and network congestion.
  • Support for encryption
  • Hardware requirements are pretty steep, but understandable for a product that is as comprehensive as Commvault.
  • There is a pretty steep learning curve and the training is a must for a product with the complexity and capabilities of Commvault.
Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery is well suited for most environments. It has cloud capabilities that reduce storage requirements and allows a third party to maintain the media. Utilizing the cloud can reduce the cost, however, time to restore and business continuity will be impacted.
Their support is top-notch. They are responsive and receptive to changing needs. Anytime our system experiences problems, Commvault is quick to determine the cause and provide a solution. Our systems require 24 X 7 availability so when a system isn't performing as needed it has the potential to be disastrous. You need a responsive provider like Commvault to help correct problems and correct them quickly.
We have had a few instances of malware and ransomware, fortunately, with Commvault we are able to quickly restore any corrupt data and system states.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Happy and Protected.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery to backup and retain all server infrastructure in our environment. It helps us solve audit requirements with data retention and data protection. We also use it as a fail safe for major hardware/software failures.
  • Deduplication: Allows for multiple point in time restores without using tons of backend storage. Commvault Dedup has been proven to work effectively time and time again in our environment.
  • Upgrade and Supportability: Commvault upgrades usually go extremely smoothly. The upgrade process is well documented via Commvault website. We are able to maintain a secure and up to date environment very easily.
  • Commvault IntelliSnap backup is a very effective and useful tool for protecting multiple VMS at a quick speed.
  • Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery's client based backups are just about as solid as any tool I have ever seen or used. Client side backups are very user friendly and extremely easy to deploy. I like the amount of information given when failures occur makes troubleshooting issues very easy.
  • Support is good until it is an advanced troubleshooting problem. Then it takes a very long time to get to DEV and sometimes even longer to fix.

Client based remote backups - Well Suited

IntelliSnap VSA backups - Well Suited

Instant Failover Recovery for VMs - Less appropriate.

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery's support is good until advanced troubleshooting happens, then it just depends on the engineer.
We backup on a 7 day a week model. We us this to protect VMS and physical boxes against corruption or hardware failure. We also use Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery to prove restores and functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Why we chose Commvault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our operations. It has addressed our issue of backups over distance. We use two d2d solutions to keep our retention to an agreed upon timetable. Commvault has allowed us to do SQL backups on a timeframe that our developers are very happy. We do VMware backups that exceed our rpo and rto standards.
  • SQL backups
  • Vmware granular backups
  • Easier Oracle restores
  • Removal of outdated alerts
The product is well suited for any organization that requires a robust backup and restore solution. It is not for a small company as there is a rather large equipment cost to get setup. The professional support is second to none. Just with the support model Commvault uses, that is worth the annual maintenance costs alone. We have always been able to complete a restore.
Their support model is the standard that should be adopted by the rest of the backup providers. The gardener quadrant is a staple in our industry and Commvault continues to shine. They never give up on trying to help the end user. The Techinical ability of the support staff is amazing
Read this authenticated review
Keith Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Love the product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is used across the entire organization. Provides a backup and recovery solution that meets all federal guidelines and requirements for FedRamp. It is used to backup file data, as an integrated solution to backup mail in Office365, as a site recovery solution to move systems between multiple clouds, and the full imaging of systems.
  • Point in time recovery of SQL databases.
  • Integration into multiple clouds for single pane management.
  • Encryption for endpoints using SaaS cloud offerings.
  • Simple archiving of data to long term storage.
  • End user self service data restore.
  • Licensing model is somewhat difficult to understand and estimate when deploying solution.
  • Legacy protocols for SaaS integrations still in place. Slow to upgrade.
  • Not cost efficient when compared to cloud integrated backup solutions.
  • There does not seem to be an offering for small companies or small deployments. Wish there was a light version for smaller clients. Wish there was a solution generator tool instead of a lengthy sales process for each new feature deployment.
In my experience, Commvault is best designed for large enterprises with sparse or segmented data deployments. If all of your data is similar, and sitting in one data center or cloud storage solution, it isn't cost-effective. In a word, overkill. I had a client that was looking for a backup solution for unstructured data in separate and air-gapped data sources. My cCmmvault rep could not offer a solution that was cost-effective and did not require multiple copies of the data, so storage made the solution nonscalable or cost-effective.
In general, Commvault has been a bit slow to solve the issues that I have presented. The overall response times and avenues for support are excellent. But, the timeframe from reporting the issue to resolving the issue has been longer than some other products I am familiar with.
Read Keith Kelly's full review
Vladan Kojanic | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Unique backup system throughout the organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Serbia’s Ministry of Environmental Protection is leading the way for public sector organizations to meet the government’s 2020 initiative of digitalizing citizen services. With more than 330 employees in Belgrade and across 22 locations in Serbia, the IT team needs to be able to support a variety of operating systems and facilitate field workers’ remote backups over
    the public network.
  • Our datacenter in Belgrade must be able to support secure file sharing between a host of different devices across the country. We need to ensure departments can share information without compromising on security if a device is lost or stolen. With Commvault, the organization can protect its data and safeguard services.
  • It has also increased efficiency as system administrators can now manage restores remotely from a central console rather than having to travel to site, and each employee can do data restore themselves without the involvement of IT staff.
  • With Commvault, the Ministry now has a central platform for data backup and management that can be customized to suit current and future requirements.
  • The user-friendly solution was quick and easy to set up, integrates seamlessly and offers
    comprehensive data protection. No competing solution on the market offers the same level of organic integration.
  • We have happier and more productive users thanks to its user-friendly interface, employees working in the field needed minimal training to start sorting, backing up, and sharing documents on the move.
  • Collaboration between departments has improved, while deduplication has helped reduce the organization’s data footprint more than 80%.
  • User friendly
  • Easy to use for both administrators and employees
  • One place (console) for complete administration
  • Employees can backup and restore their data without the help of IT staff
  • Follows business requirements and regulations
  • They should also turn to non-backup users (administrators) to do the basic settings themselves.
  • They should make other templates for other countries (regions) where their tool is used.
  • Multilingualism
As mentioned above, Commvault is a tool that allows you to set up a complete system from one place and for all types of backup that exist in a particular organization. It is easy to use for end users as well as system administrators. When colleagues want to see or hear about the Commvault solution, I am always happy to invite them to look at the system at work.
The cooperation with the support team so far has been excellent. We will be informed on every problem. The first line will help very soon after the ticket is opened. They always meet the appointment. Every problem is solved as soon as possible. When talking with the support team, they immediately indicated that they had the knowledge, and knew where to look. If the problem goes beyond their help frame, the second aid level is immediately activated, the case is raised to a higher level and another call/help meeting is scheduled immediately. The nice thing about this company is that you can follow every ticket online.
Read Vladan Kojanic's full review
Matthew Magbee | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 03, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review- By someone who uses it every single day.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Commvault across our entire company. In the US, we have each location split as a division. Each division has its own media agent, storage, and permissions group. All reports go to divisional directors and staff as well as visuals for Command Center. This setup isolates each location to only be able to view their items. This reduces stress on local staff and allows me and my team to focus on big-picture disaster recovery. This setup really helps with off-loading restorations and live data to other divisions as tests or failover scenarios.
  • Reports
  • Deduplication
  • Plans
  • Active Directory
Nothing is perfect, nor never will it be. Commvault knows this. They also take that and spin into a way that allows them to mold and construct a "Perfect for YOU" application and solution. Where the shortfalls of most applications present hardships, Commvault thrives on these issues to make a great product. The need to address particular issues within your environment allows them to mold this solution to exactly what you need and want. That in itself is as perfect as I can ask for.
Too often the "out of the box" solution just doesn't cut it. Our entire environment is this exact scenario. Nothing in our company is cookie cutter. But I know how I want it to work and flow. I have been able to construct an operable and manageable environment with the help and guidance of this amazing team of engineers and developers.
I like the product very much. The real winner of this company and application is its staff of support engineers and the management. Seriously, I could hate the application and despise using it and would still subscribe and deploy 100% across the company. No other company works as hard for its users than Commvault. Having a solid application on top of this is more than anyone can ask for.
Read Matthew Magbee's full review
Andrew Buckle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Commvault: Fast 'n' Furious

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

It is used as the single platform to back-up various systems distributed within the organization.

  • It supports various operating systems.
  • De-duplication is built in.
  • It can be controlled from anywhere, by anybody with the correct access.
  • The front end and the operations are designed in a uniform manner. This makes is easier to learn, and the operations to perform certain tasks are familiar.
  • The reporting and feedback tools are excellent.
  • The virtual environment is protected. New machines can be included automatically.
  • Network bandwidth is used efficiently.
  • Failed backups are highlighted quickly so the underlying cause can be addressed.
  • Manually aging jobs to expire the data could be easier.
  • Jobs that run through a firewall can be tricky to get running.
We have distributed sites over poor networks, but the client side de-duplication makes a real difference. The single pane of GUI makes familiarization easier, especially for customer service staff. Pre- and post-execution scripts are great. Good support for Microsoft products including clusters and Active Directory. Hyper-V and VMware are all supported with new machines automatically added.
We used a platinum partner. To begin with, they were good, but after pulling out of support we struggled to find alternative partner support.
Read Andrew Buckle's full review
Ali YAZICI | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2019

All about customer experience of Commvault Backup application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using all of our production environment for backups and replications.
  • Backup
  • Restore
  • Automation
  • Policies
  • Move backup data between storage policies
Commvault offers very good backup software for big enterprise companies. It also has archives and replications in single software. Additionally, we can use workflow for programming, write scripts for backups, monthly restore tests, get snap and mount on the storage, or whatever else. Reports are very useful and user-friendly.
Generally, Commvault support is very fast. We can send all master server, media agent and clients logs easily with one click. Usually case owner fix the problem with logs and sometimes they need to make remote connection. It is easier to convince them of remote connection or to take the case to a higher level engineer, if we compare to other vendors.
Read Ali YAZICI's full review
Max Pang | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Try before you Buy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is used across the whole organization that we support. It provides data protection for critical and non-critical data from a DC environment to a remote office. The tool is easy to use and offers loads of functionality from management server consolidation to media agents/clients migration without any hassles. Well documented operational documentation proves helpful when in need of references and guidance.
  • Recent major release upgrades provide tools for pre-flight checks on the management servers if the environment is fit for upgrades or requires attention or fixes prior to a successful upgrade.
  • Recently we went through a management server consolidation exercise and it worked flawlessly and the process was pretty straightforward and easy to follow.
  • Support team is very responsive and provides confidence in solutions and good follow through until the problem is rectified or solved.
  • CommServe can manage backups for virtual machines via VSA without installing agents on virtual machines (non application aware backup)
  • Does not have any migration tools if a customer is migrating from a non-CommVault backup tool to CommVault.
  • If Full backups for Virtual Machines failed on a subclient, they can only be rerun for incrementals instead of FULL backups

CommVault is an eEnterprise scale backup solution that is able to provide data protection from ROBO to Regional/Global DC. Application aware plugins provide hot backup. AuxCopy features provide a secondary level of data protection to any medium for long-term data protection.

Dedupe tools are excellent. However, there are limitations and it would not work for clients with a DB sitting on ROBO environment.

They are exceptional. Their support is available 24 x 7.
Easy to use interface on CommServe Console and Web Administrator Console to navigate and administer backup jobs
Read Max Pang's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (57)
8.6
Live recovery (54)
8.7
Recovery verification (58)
8.5
Business application protection (61)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (60)
9.3
Incremental backup identification (65)
9.3
Backup to the cloud (46)
8.9
Deduplication and file compression (62)
9.6
Snapshots (60)
9.3
Flexible deployment (53)
9.0
Management dashboard (55)
8.9
Platform support (55)
9.1
Retention options (53)
9.5
Encryption (52)
9.5

About Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery

Commvault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the data management company headquartered in New Jersey. Its features support multi-cloud backup, protection for applications, databases, and virtual machines, end-point user data protection, and disaster recovery.

Commvault provides support for backup and recovery of files, applications, databases, hypervisors, and a variety of popular cloud storage options, including Amazon AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Modalities can be cloud or multi-cloud, on-premises or cloud-only workloads.

Key Features

Cloud Backup and Recovery Options

  • Complete backup and recovery across files, applications, databases, virtual machines
  • Archiving for files and virtual machines
  • Encryption of data in flight and at rest
  • Compress and deduplicate data for moving workloads
  • Disaster recovery
  • Hardware snapshot management
  • Replication and virtual machine incremental replication
  • Backup operational reporting through Commvault Command Center
  • File sharing
  • Comprehensive view of data storage locations: on-premises data centers, public, and private clouds
  • Consistent service level agreements for hybrid IT environments
  • IT agility from tested data management practices
  • Policy control management for cloud and on-premises workloads

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Competitors

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No