Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
132 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Keith Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Love the product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is used across the entire organization. Provides a backup and recovery solution that meets all federal guidelines and requirements for FedRamp. It is used to backup file data, as an integrated solution to backup mail in Office365, as a site recovery solution to move systems between multiple clouds, and the full imaging of systems.
  • Point in time recovery of SQL databases.
  • Integration into multiple clouds for single pane management.
  • Encryption for endpoints using SaaS cloud offerings.
  • Simple archiving of data to long term storage.
  • End user self service data restore.
  • Licensing model is somewhat difficult to understand and estimate when deploying solution.
  • Legacy protocols for SaaS integrations still in place. Slow to upgrade.
  • Not cost efficient when compared to cloud integrated backup solutions.
  • There does not seem to be an offering for small companies or small deployments. Wish there was a light version for smaller clients. Wish there was a solution generator tool instead of a lengthy sales process for each new feature deployment.
In my experience, Commvault is best designed for large enterprises with sparse or segmented data deployments. If all of your data is similar, and sitting in one data center or cloud storage solution, it isn't cost-effective. In a word, overkill. I had a client that was looking for a backup solution for unstructured data in separate and air-gapped data sources. My cCmmvault rep could not offer a solution that was cost-effective and did not require multiple copies of the data, so storage made the solution nonscalable or cost-effective.
Read Keith Kelly's full review
Vladan Kojanic | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Unique backup system throughout the organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Serbia’s Ministry of Environmental Protection is leading the way for public sector organizations to meet the government’s 2020 initiative of digitalizing citizen services. With more than 330 employees in Belgrade and across 22 locations in Serbia, the IT team needs to be able to support a variety of operating systems and facilitate field workers’ remote backups over
    the public network.
  • Our datacenter in Belgrade must be able to support secure file sharing between a host of different devices across the country. We need to ensure departments can share information without compromising on security if a device is lost or stolen. With Commvault, the organization can protect its data and safeguard services.
  • It has also increased efficiency as system administrators can now manage restores remotely from a central console rather than having to travel to site, and each employee can do data restore themselves without the involvement of IT staff.
  • With Commvault, the Ministry now has a central platform for data backup and management that can be customized to suit current and future requirements.
  • The user-friendly solution was quick and easy to set up, integrates seamlessly and offers
    comprehensive data protection. No competing solution on the market offers the same level of organic integration.
  • We have happier and more productive users thanks to its user-friendly interface, employees working in the field needed minimal training to start sorting, backing up, and sharing documents on the move.
  • Collaboration between departments has improved, while deduplication has helped reduce the organization’s data footprint more than 80%.
  • User friendly
  • Easy to use for both administrators and employees
  • One place (console) for complete administration
  • Employees can backup and restore their data without the help of IT staff
  • Follows business requirements and regulations
  • They should also turn to non-backup users (administrators) to do the basic settings themselves.
  • They should make other templates for other countries (regions) where their tool is used.
  • Multilingualism
As mentioned above, Commvault is a tool that allows you to set up a complete system from one place and for all types of backup that exist in a particular organization. It is easy to use for end users as well as system administrators. When colleagues want to see or hear about the Commvault solution, I am always happy to invite them to look at the system at work.
Read Vladan Kojanic's full review
Shalika Senadeera | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Commvault is a Top player in Complete backup and Recovery

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is an enterprise-level tool that we use to backup all kinds of workloads. I have implemented Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery in many Enterprise-level, Corporate banks and financial companies to mitigate their data loss and compliance with their audit requirements. I have implemented it across many platforms such as MS SQL, MySQL, Oracle, AIX, Exchange, VMware, Azure, Office 365, Hyper-V, Loutas Note, Windows FS/Unix FS backups and many cloud storage and virtual environments. Commvault DR option as well. We especially used Backup replication (Dash Copy), VM Replication (Live sync) and DB replication and VM life cycling process. Customers like the Commvault CommCell console, it is a single console solution.
  • Commvault has better Duplication ratio.
  • Commvault is good at reports and audit trails. We won't miss anything which is required for our audit.
  • Support team is very responsive and provides confidence in solutions and good follow through until the problem is rectified or solved.
  • It does not have any agent for Zimbra mail backup.
  • It has to provide or should come up with supporting smaller environments.
  • I would like to keep using the java console instead of using the Command Center.
CommServe can manage backups for virtual machines via VSA without installing agents on virtual machines (non-application aware backups).
Read Shalika Senadeera's full review
Matthew Magbee | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 03, 2020

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Review- By someone who uses it every single day.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Commvault across our entire company. In the US, we have each location split as a division. Each division has its own media agent, storage, and permissions group. All reports go to divisional directors and staff as well as visuals for Command Center. This setup isolates each location to only be able to view their items. This reduces stress on local staff and allows me and my team to focus on big-picture disaster recovery. This setup really helps with off-loading restorations and live data to other divisions as tests or failover scenarios.
  • Reports
  • Deduplication
  • Plans
  • Active Directory
Nothing is perfect, nor never will it be. Commvault knows this. They also take that and spin into a way that allows them to mold and construct a "Perfect for YOU" application and solution. Where the shortfalls of most applications present hardships, Commvault thrives on these issues to make a great product. The need to address particular issues within your environment allows them to mold this solution to exactly what you need and want. That in itself is as perfect as I can ask for.
Too often the "out of the box" solution just doesn't cut it. Our entire environment is this exact scenario. Nothing in our company is cookie cutter. But I know how I want it to work and flow. I have been able to construct an operable and manageable environment with the help and guidance of this amazing team of engineers and developers.
Read Matthew Magbee's full review
Andrew Buckle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

Commvault: Fast 'n' Furious

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

It is used as the single platform to back-up various systems distributed within the organization.

  • It supports various operating systems.
  • De-duplication is built in.
  • It can be controlled from anywhere, by anybody with the correct access.
  • The front end and the operations are designed in a uniform manner. This makes is easier to learn, and the operations to perform certain tasks are familiar.
  • The reporting and feedback tools are excellent.
  • The virtual environment is protected. New machines can be included automatically.
  • Network bandwidth is used efficiently.
  • Failed backups are highlighted quickly so the underlying cause can be addressed.
  • Manually aging jobs to expire the data could be easier.
  • Jobs that run through a firewall can be tricky to get running.
We have distributed sites over poor networks, but the client side de-duplication makes a real difference. The single pane of GUI makes familiarization easier, especially for customer service staff. Pre- and post-execution scripts are great. Good support for Microsoft products including clusters and Active Directory. Hyper-V and VMware are all supported with new machines automatically added.
Read Andrew Buckle's full review
Ali YAZICI | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2019

All about customer experience of Commvault Backup application

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using all of our production environment for backups and replications.
  • Backup
  • Restore
  • Automation
  • Policies
  • Move backup data between storage policies
Commvault offers very good backup software for big enterprise companies. It also has archives and replications in single software. Additionally, we can use workflow for programming, write scripts for backups, monthly restore tests, get snap and mount on the storage, or whatever else. Reports are very useful and user-friendly.
Read Ali YAZICI's full review
Max Pang | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Try before you Buy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is used across the whole organization that we support. It provides data protection for critical and non-critical data from a DC environment to a remote office. The tool is easy to use and offers loads of functionality from management server consolidation to media agents/clients migration without any hassles. Well documented operational documentation proves helpful when in need of references and guidance.
  • Recent major release upgrades provide tools for pre-flight checks on the management servers if the environment is fit for upgrades or requires attention or fixes prior to a successful upgrade.
  • Recently we went through a management server consolidation exercise and it worked flawlessly and the process was pretty straightforward and easy to follow.
  • Support team is very responsive and provides confidence in solutions and good follow through until the problem is rectified or solved.
  • CommServe can manage backups for virtual machines via VSA without installing agents on virtual machines (non application aware backup)
  • Does not have any migration tools if a customer is migrating from a non-CommVault backup tool to CommVault.
  • If Full backups for Virtual Machines failed on a subclient, they can only be rerun for incrementals instead of FULL backups

CommVault is an eEnterprise scale backup solution that is able to provide data protection from ROBO to Regional/Global DC. Application aware plugins provide hot backup. AuxCopy features provide a secondary level of data protection to any medium for long-term data protection.

Dedupe tools are excellent. However, there are limitations and it would not work for clients with a DB sitting on ROBO environment.

Read Max Pang's full review
Jason Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Comprehensive and continued improvements

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is our primary data protection tool and is used across the entire environment. Commvault provided us with an easier way to manage and monitor backup and restore processes from multiple environments and platforms all within a single product with a common interface and experience. The virtualization portion of the product has minimized the amount of work required for setting up and managing backups across our data center.
  • Virtualization protection.
  • Simplified management.
  • DB2 Backup.
CommVault is a well-rounded platform that is very capable of protecting multiple data types including physical, virtual, database and application-specific as well as cloud-based workloads.
Read Jason Mills's full review
Pradeep Kabbur | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Commvault is meant for Enterprise enviroment. It works best for the large players

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is an enterprise level tool which we use to backup all kinds of work loads. We were able to backup our complete environment using Commvault.
  • Commvault is good at reports and audit trails. We won't miss anything which is required for our audit.
  • Very good at backing up large sized systems.
  • Well designed to assist with protecting large environments.
  • Very well maintained logs and catalogue for restore purposes.
  • It has to provide or should come up with supporting smaller environments.
  • Their licensing needs to be simplified as it goes with data type.
  • Best suited for enterprise customers and very large environments.
  • It is not suitable for the small and medium environments.
Read Pradeep Kabbur's full review
Ruwan Jayasanka | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Perfect Backup solution for enterprise level

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Choosing CommVault was an excellent choice for our organization. As part of our virtualization and consolidation effort, we made a concerted effort to end the days of several disparate backup platforms protecting different groups of systems; each with different requirements, capabilities and limitations. CommVault has unified our backup and recovery operations and provides powerful data loss protection for all of our production and test systems, physical and virtual alike. While saying that the planning and installation phases are involved would not be untrue, the time required to do it correctly pays dividends in the end, as it did with us.
  • Commvault has better Deduplication ratio
  • Support with many of its applications
  • Support for many OS platforms
  • The initial installation and configuration takes little time.
  • New command center is quite complicated.
Commvault is suited for banking sector, enterprise, as well as midsize business.
Read Ruwan Jayasanka's full review
Mithila Perera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

Best backup and recovery solution for enterprises

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have implemented Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery in many enterprise-level companies. Specifically banks and financial companies to mitigate their data loss and compliance their audit requirements. We have deployed across many platforms such as, AIX, AS400, Oracle, SQL, MySQL, Exchange, vmware, Hyper-V, O365, endpoints backup and many cloud storage solutions and virtual environments. Commvault is popular among our customers for disaster recovery options as well, specially vm replication, DB replication, backup replication and backup server failover options. Our customers like Commvault mostly because in a single console they can manage backup and replication and all above mentioned. It's been made easy to use for the administrator and they love it.
  • Everything backup and recovery, replication, endpoints and cloud solutions can be managed by single console.
  • Having a web console makes it easier to access from anywhere.
  • Been able to use LAN free backups (using only fiber SAN network).
  • Recovering emails from app awareness backup of exchange.
  • Would like to keep using java console instead of using web console.
  • Does not have any agent for Zimbra mail backup.
It is well suited to use with customers like banks and finance companies because Commvault is capable of catering all backups, replication and compliances. If the customer is looking only for replication then they should not go for Commvault. People should carefully select the licenses by talking to the vendor so that they can help them for their environment.
Read Mithila Perera's full review
Arun Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Commvault proud customer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Commvault for the last couple of years, and since then, I have compared it with top leading backup solution like Dell, IBM, Acronis, Symentac, Veritas, and many more. Commvault is only the only backup solution that can give you great peace of mind and make you data ready.
  • It work very well in DR recovery.
  • It has recovered my entire DB Server in 20 Minutes.
  • Its compressed my large Data, approx 2.5 Tb, into 300 Gb. It helps me use space efficiently.
  • Its customer care is very responsive and committed.
  • It needs a very sound person to understand this terminology for backup support.
  • Commvault's sales team is not very prompt.
Backing of any environment, SAP, DB, Application, ESXI, HyperV, Cloud, and many more applications is a very easy job for Commvault.
Read Arun Singh's full review
khalid alabid | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Commvault experience at Saudi Investment Bank

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault has successfully consolidated legacy backup and restore tools into a single, reliable and secure data protection enterprise solution. With Commvault software, our bank's old, existing, and future data are in good hands. We now focus on our IT business and leave data protection to Commvault. Thanks to the Commvault team.
  • Commvault is an enterprise solution for data protection.
  • Commvault software is reliable and secure.
  • With Commvault solution, your data is in good hand.
  • Commvault is a scalable backup solution.
  • Commvault supports many platforms and technologies.
  • Commvault supports storage pool sharing for better space management.
Commvault has successfully consolidated legacy backup and restore tools into a single, reliable and secure data protection enterprise solution.
Read khalid alabid's full review
Finn Busk Sørensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Getting a consolidated backup overview, using Commvault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Commvault as a general backup solution for all on-premise backend systems and for part of our cloud environment. Our backup environment covers our setup globally, but with the largest part being located at our HQ in Denmark. The backup is managed by a team of 4, located in Denmark, China and the Philippines.

  • Covers all areas.
  • Centralized management.
  • Consolidated overview.
  • Easier to learn using it (steep learning curve).
  • More freedom on logical grouping your setup in the console.
Commvault covers your entire environment, no matter if it is Windows, Linux, AIX, SAP or....
Read Finn Busk Sørensen's full review
Tim McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Commvault has been a great choice for my company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to backup the entire on-premise backup of all the IT systems and data for BAM.
  • It works like it is supposed to!
  • Technical team like it.
  • It is well supported.
  • I don't have an opinion on this.
No specific instances.
Read Tim McCarthy's full review
Theodore Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

You will not be disappointed with Commvault!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is our enterprise backup solution. It protects our physical and virtual infrastructure, so it's used across the entire organization. Commvault simplifies data protection by providing backup and recovery options in one location for multiple environments.
  • Commvault offers the ability to recover all workloads in a single platform.
  • Their support is unmatched. When a problem arises, support is usually knowledgeable of a solution.
  • The only thing that I would like to see different is for Commvault to have a direct line that customers could call for escalated instances. No matter what the severity of your support instance is, you have to open a ticket via the web and wait for an engineer to pick it up.
Commvault is well suited for any organization that cares about protecting and recovering data in the event of a loss or outage.
Read Theodore Henderson's full review
Akmal Kusumajaya | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Cloud backup in the future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Commvault as default backup of all critical application, since our business owner requested to ensure IT minimum downtime and high level risk management.
  • Faster backup for over 100 server application
  • Backup solution is one of our digitalization road-maps
  • Improve current backup manual
Commvault can backup much more multi platform.
Read Akmal Kusumajaya's full review
Robert Ouzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

I like the Commvault product.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a backup solution for our organization by our academic and administrative staff.
  • Good backup solution for many applications such as databases and virtual environment
  • Fast restores
  • Nice reports and statistics
  • Professional support
  • Missing information in Alerts Reports
  • Improve the Command Center utility
It offers one solution for a lot of environments and applications.
Read Robert Ouzen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Excellent enterprise backup and recovery solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used to backup all corporate and research data from on-prem and Cloud ICT systems across the organization.
  • Provides an enterprise level solution that supports our backup and archival strategy.
  • Management of backup sets
  • Replication of backup sets to cloud storage
  • Backup of Cloud data to on-prem storage repositories
  • Some development on BCP capabilities would be an advantage
  • Excellent for enterprise backups
  • Not so good to support business continuity strategies (eg snapshotting to the Cloud to provide full offsite resilience of ICT systems)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Why we chose Commvault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our operations. It has addressed our issue of backups over distance. We use two d2d solutions to keep our retention to an agreed upon timetable. Commvault has allowed us to do SQL backups on a timeframe that our developers are very happy. We do VMware backups that exceed our rpo and rto standards.
  • SQL backups
  • Vmware granular backups
  • Easier Oracle restores
  • Removal of outdated alerts
The product is well suited for any organization that requires a robust backup and restore solution. It is not for a small company as there is a rather large equipment cost to get setup. The professional support is second to none. Just with the support model Commvault uses, that is worth the annual maintenance costs alone. We have never not been able to complete a restore.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Commvault is the way to go.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Commvault to backup all of our physical and virtual servers. We have been able to successfully restore files and servers every time that we needed to. Commvault is a great tool for making sure that your data is in multiple places and gives you an easy way to verify that your backups are happening as they should be.
  • Their support is great, always ready to take care of the customer
  • Options, there are a lot of things that Commvault does besides backup your data
  • I can not think of any at the moment
I think that Commvault is well suited for mid-large environments because of the options that you have and how easy it is to implement different options. For small companies, there may be too many options that would not be used. Overall it does a great job for what we need it for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Commvault Backup & Recovery Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, Commvault is used as an enterprise-wide backup and recovery solution. We use it to backup our virtual server environment, physical servers and applications such as EMR, Exchange, MS SQL, MYSQL and Sharepoint.
  • Fast backup times. Our backup times greatly improved after switching to Commvault.
  • Efficiently backs up server and virtual environments.
  • Ensure your Commvault environment is well sized to avoid performance issues.
  • The licencing model is hard to follow.
Commvault can be suited for any environment. They offer backup appliances for smaller deployments to server install with SAN storage. They have flexible configuration options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

From my perspective Commvault data protection solution today is the best on the market.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by whole organization. It addresses business data protection problems.
  • We backup about of 5PB of data with Commvault, and our backup SLA is 98%.
  • Commvault covers all use cases of data protection: VM's, DB, physical servers and cloud environment.
  • Relatively expensive software.
Commvault is very good for mid and enterprise size companies, less appropriate for small and very small businesses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Commvault Rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is being used by the infrastructure team to backup all corporate workloads (VMs, files, applications, and O365 data). Commvault addresses data protection for the business.
  • Backup & Restore
  • eDiscovery
  • Cloud Storage
  • Office 365 Data Protection
  • Administration Console
  • Indexing Timeframe
Commvault is best suited for data protection of all on-premise and Cloud services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Protect your most precious data with Commvault

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are an MSP and use Commvault as our backup services solution. Also, our internal IT department is a tenant on this platform. Commvault helps us and our customers face the data protection challenges of legacy applications and Saas offerings. With Commvault, we are able to backup all of it with a single tool and pane of glass.
  • Office365 data in mailboxes, SharePoint, and Onedrive.
  • Oracle databases on physical Unix server systems.
  • Snapshot integration with Net-app Storage systems.
  • Easy secondary storage to S3 based services.
  • Not all licenses are available in a multi-tenant SPM platform yet.
  • Commvault specialists are hard to find.
Commvault is an enterprise data management solution. It might not be a perfect fit for SMB markets. In mid-sized and enterprise markets, CommVault is the best fit, as it covers all data-related challenges. In hybrid cloud infrastructures, things get a lot more complex to manage, therefore protection of all your data, wherever it is located, needs to be well protected.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (44)
8.5
Live recovery (43)
8.6
Recovery verification (45)
8.5
Business application protection (47)
8.8
Multiple backup destinations (44)
9.2
Incremental backup identification (49)
9.2
Backup to the cloud (36)
8.8
Deduplication and file compression (46)
9.5
Snapshots (46)
9.2
Flexible deployment (37)
8.9
Management dashboard (39)
8.7
Platform support (39)
9.0
Retention options (38)
9.4
Encryption (37)
9.4

About Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery

Commvault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the data management company headquartered in New Jersey. Its features support multi-cloud backup, protection for applications, databases, and virtual machines, end-point user data protection, and disaster recovery.

Commvault provides support for backup and recovery of files, applications, databases, hypervisors, and a variety of popular cloud storage options, including Amazon AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Modalities can be cloud or multi-cloud, on-premises or cloud-only workloads.

Key Features

Cloud Backup and Recovery Options

  • Complete backup and recovery across files, applications, databases, virtual machines
  • Archiving for files and virtual machines
  • Encryption of data in flight and at rest
  • Compress and deduplicate data for moving workloads
  • Disaster recovery
  • Hardware snapshot management
  • Replication and virtual machine incremental replication
  • Backup operational reporting through Commvault Command Center
  • File sharing
  • Comprehensive view of data storage locations: on-premises data centers, public, and private clouds
  • Consistent service level agreements for hybrid IT environments
  • IT agility from tested data management practices
  • Policy control management for cloud and on-premises workloads
Categories:  Archiving,  Data Center Backup

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Competitors

Commvault Complete Backup & Recovery Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No