TrustRadius
CommVault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the company headquartered in New Jersey.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0I/HH/VFV4C5TK4CJH.jpegCommVault- A great Backup!Disaster recovery, as it greatly minimizes the effect on business being able to get data back quickly. The functionality is dynamic, complex, and provides us the freedom to choose infrastructure and what not, as it works with just about every major vendor. We're also a reseller, and I've seen CommVault implemented in dozens of customer datacenters.,Disaster Recovery Virtualization Backup Replication,IOPS Dynamic provisioning Connectivity,8,ROI is great TCO is easily calcuated Training of staff is challenging,Hyper V,Microsoft Dynamics CRM, Zerto Virtual Replication, Hyper-VTry before you Buy!The application is used across the whole organization that we support. It provides data protection for critical and non-critical data from a DC environment to a remote office. The tool is easy to use and offers loads of functionality from management server consolidation to media agents/clients migration without any hassles. Well documented operational documentation proves helpful when in need of references and guidance.,Recent major release upgrades provide tools for pre-flight checks on the management servers if the environment is fit for upgrades or requires attention or fixes prior to a successful upgrade. Recently we went through a management server consolidation exercise and it worked flawlessly and the process was pretty straightforward and easy to follow. Support team is very responsive and provides confidence in solutions and good follow through until the problem is rectified or solved.,Does not have any migration tools if a customer is migrating from a non-CommVault backup tool to CommVault.,10,Symantec NetBackup,Symantec NetBackup, HP Data Protector, Carbonite DoubleTakeCommVault Backup/Archive and DR solutionCommvault is being used as a backup solution at all the Global DC and remote sites. We use it for backup, archive and to perform replication across multiple sites. It helped us to standardize backup architecture globally.It is also used for:Ability to maintain remote sites backup at regional DC sitesImprove DR capability,helped us with backup and archival to cloud,Deduplication Intellisnap feature integrates with all the major hardware vendors storage arrays. Allows us to co-ordinate the snapshot/clone backups and replications from Commvault GUI. VMware Backups Automation using workflows Reporting,Dash Copy feature has some cons where replication time can amount to more time compared to other products due to the algorithm which it has. Commvault's team should improve that.,8,Reduced overall TCO and moved towards OPEX based model.,Netbackup, Networker, HP DP and Avamar,Symantec NetBackup, NetworkerProven Backup Solution - Not the Easiest ThoughCommVault was used by the company as our global data management platform. In simpler terms it was used as our backup solution. The IT Department was responsible for backing up all datasets and workloads for the entire organization. Due to our regulatory requirements, long term retention was required (7+ years). We were backing up approximately 50TB of data per week and retaining it for 7+ years. CommVault allowed us to provide access to datasets for recent recoveries or for things like legal subpoenas. We used CommVault to power our disaster recovery and business continuity plans.,CommVault has the ability to backup data sets from a broad (maybe the broadest) set of technologies. Everything from traditional agent based backups, to bare metal, and the most modern virtual machine backups. CommVault has steadily evolved with an been on the forefront of the evolution of the data center from physical machine to virtual machines to software driven solutions. If you need to use VTL functionality, CommVault is still one of the best. Reporting tools within CommVault are very strong out of the box and do not require any additional technology to leverage. Releases of CommVault are typically well tested and easy to install in place or plan migrations.,The management console still uses Java and often has compatibility issues. I would dump java in favor or a HTML5 web console. CommVault is a huge solution capable of managing the most complex environments. It could benefit from some simplification and wizards to make it more approachable to smaller IT shops.,8,CommVault licensing was consistently on the more expensive side in the market. Other players like Veeam were always ready to come in and replace the solution at typically less than a one year license cost.,Veeam Availability Suite, Zerto Virtual Replication and Rubrik,Zerto Virtual Replication, VMware Site Recovery Manager, Trend Micro OfficeScan,No,7Pole Vault over the Disaster Recovery barCommVault is in use throughout the organization. The primary reason for the purchase at the time was for NDMP direct to tape backup of a NetApp storage appliance. However since the initial implementation in 2008, we now use it to solve several problems. It is used for email journaling compliance, archive replication to a DR site, server, email and SQL backup.,Support is always top notch. They always exceed expectations and I am always left with a very positive experience. They always meet callback SLA's as well. They have close ties to the major technology players, like NetApp, EMC and VMware to create API's making it seamless to implement new solutions. Once the the solution is setup and running, it requires very little hand holding and maintenance is quite easy.,CommVault's products can be confusing from an architecture standpoint. discovering where each piece plays a part can be hard without some additional support Training is almost a necessity if you are like us, a small organization with limited time to just learn a product on the go. Licensing could be better designed for the smaller guy. They have made attempts, but some additional work is need. Not all of us are big enough for capacity licensing to make sense.,9,The IT ROI, especially in our law enforcement environment has been extremely beneficial. The time it takes for FOI requests for email have been cut down to at least half. The management servers are difficult to host on virtual servers due to storage requirements, so this impact of limited data center space is less beneficial. I usually only have to contact support about 2 or 3 times a year at most, so IT is save the time of having to troubleshoot with support.,Symantec NetBackup,NetApp FAS series, VMware ESXi, Cisco Catalyst
Unspecified
CommVault
52 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

CommVault Reviews

CommVault
52 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 52 vetted CommVault reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-16 of 16)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
March 28, 2018

User Review: "CommVault- A great Backup!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Disaster recovery, as it greatly minimizes the effect on business being able to get data back quickly. The functionality is dynamic, complex, and provides us the freedom to choose infrastructure and what not, as it works with just about every major vendor. We're also a reseller, and I've seen CommVault implemented in dozens of customer datacenters.
  • Disaster Recovery
  • Virtualization
  • Backup
  • Replication
  • IOPS
  • Dynamic provisioning
  • Connectivity
CommVault is very well suited for an environment that is somewhat or completely virtualized and continuing that trend. It's for the data center manager that wants ease of functionality and manageability to be a driving force behind the purchase decision. The ideal customer would want to support multiple data recovery tiers, extending into applications and endpoints.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 26, 2018

CommVault Review: "Try before you Buy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is used across the whole organization that we support. It provides data protection for critical and non-critical data from a DC environment to a remote office. The tool is easy to use and offers loads of functionality from management server consolidation to media agents/clients migration without any hassles. Well documented operational documentation proves helpful when in need of references and guidance.
  • Recent major release upgrades provide tools for pre-flight checks on the management servers if the environment is fit for upgrades or requires attention or fixes prior to a successful upgrade.
  • Recently we went through a management server consolidation exercise and it worked flawlessly and the process was pretty straightforward and easy to follow.
  • Support team is very responsive and provides confidence in solutions and good follow through until the problem is rectified or solved.
  • Does not have any migration tools if a customer is migrating from a non-CommVault backup tool to CommVault.

CommVault is an eEnterprise scale backup solution that is able to provide data protection from ROBO to Regional/Global DC. Application aware plugins provide hot backup. AuxCopy features provide a secondary level of data protection to any medium for long-term data protection.

Dedupe tools are excellent. However, there are limitations and it would not work for clients with a DB sitting on ROBO environment.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2018

Review: "CommVault Backup/Archive and DR solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Commvault is being used as a backup solution at all the Global DC and remote sites. We use it for backup, archive and to perform replication across multiple sites. It helped us to standardize backup architecture globally.

It is also used for:

Ability to maintain remote sites backup at regional DC sites

Improve DR capability,helped us with backup and archival to cloud

  • Deduplication
  • Intellisnap feature integrates with all the major hardware vendors storage arrays. Allows us to co-ordinate the snapshot/clone backups and replications from Commvault GUI.
  • VMware Backups
  • Automation using workflows
  • Reporting
  • Dash Copy feature has some cons where replication time can amount to more time compared to other products due to the algorithm which it has. Commvault's team should improve that.
⁃Good for VMware backups and live sync, live mount and live browse features are very good.
⁃Intellisnap integrates with all the major hardware vendors storage arrays. Allows us to coordinate the snapshot/clone backups and replications from Commvault GUI.
⁃Makes DB Backups very easy and creates automatically.
⁃Reporting is excellent with custom dashboards and great views.
⁃Backup and Archive to cloud is great as it has cloud connectors to all cloud vendors.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Hereford profile photo
August 16, 2017

CommVault Review: "Proven Backup Solution - Not the Easiest Though"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CommVault was used by the company as our global data management platform. In simpler terms it was used as our backup solution. The IT Department was responsible for backing up all datasets and workloads for the entire organization. Due to our regulatory requirements, long term retention was required (7+ years). We were backing up approximately 50TB of data per week and retaining it for 7+ years.

CommVault allowed us to provide access to datasets for recent recoveries or for things like legal subpoenas. We used CommVault to power our disaster recovery and business continuity plans.
  • CommVault has the ability to backup data sets from a broad (maybe the broadest) set of technologies. Everything from traditional agent based backups, to bare metal, and the most modern virtual machine backups.
  • CommVault has steadily evolved with an been on the forefront of the evolution of the data center from physical machine to virtual machines to software driven solutions.
  • If you need to use VTL functionality, CommVault is still one of the best.
  • Reporting tools within CommVault are very strong out of the box and do not require any additional technology to leverage.
  • Releases of CommVault are typically well tested and easy to install in place or plan migrations.
  • The management console still uses Java and often has compatibility issues. I would dump java in favor or a HTML5 web console.
  • CommVault is a huge solution capable of managing the most complex environments. It could benefit from some simplification and wizards to make it more approachable to smaller IT shops.
Well Suited: Large and complex environments with high retention and varied data sets. If VTL is desired this solution is amazing.

Less Well Suited: Highly virtualized environments who need a simple turn key solution with fast recovery times.
Read Daniel Hereford's full review
Graham Murison profile photo
September 01, 2017

CommVault Review: "Pole Vault over the Disaster Recovery bar"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CommVault is in use throughout the organization. The primary reason for the purchase at the time was for NDMP direct to tape backup of a NetApp storage appliance. However since the initial implementation in 2008, we now use it to solve several problems. It is used for email journaling compliance, archive replication to a DR site, server, email and SQL backup.
  • Support is always top notch. They always exceed expectations and I am always left with a very positive experience. They always meet callback SLA's as well.
  • They have close ties to the major technology players, like NetApp, EMC and VMware to create API's making it seamless to implement new solutions.
  • Once the the solution is setup and running, it requires very little hand holding and maintenance is quite easy.
  • CommVault's products can be confusing from an architecture standpoint. discovering where each piece plays a part can be hard without some additional support
  • Training is almost a necessity if you are like us, a small organization with limited time to just learn a product on the go.
  • Licensing could be better designed for the smaller guy. They have made attempts, but some additional work is need. Not all of us are big enough for capacity licensing to make sense.
CommVault is great for compliance and backup scenarios. The server backups are seamless and just work! Their NDMP backup for our NetApp appliances are fantastic and unless you have hardware issues, it works every time.

CommVault is less suited for those smaller organization that have a limited budget and are looking for a great backup solution. If you are only looking for server backup, CommVault may be less attractive.
Read Graham Murison's full review
No photo available
July 05, 2017

CommVault Review: "Robust backup solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall the product has worked as expected from the day it is deployed. Support team responds in a reasonable amount of time and is generally knowledgable. Updates are quick and easy to deploy.
  • Service & Support
  • Documentation
  • Implementation, Maintenance and other IT support
  • Licensing
  • Before implementation do trainings
  • POC to understand any hardware or software performance
  • Backup IOs and capacity based licensing
Overall cost
Product functionality and performance
Product roadmap and future vision
Strong user community
Read this authenticated review
Keith Luken profile photo
March 28, 2017

CommVault Review: "Raising the bar in Enterprise data protectoin and recovery"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated to Commvault in our data center back in 2005 and which point we had less than 150 systems protected. Over the years as the company grew we also expanded the use to our remote offices (over 220) and eventually we were backing up over 2400 systems between our data center and remote locations. Commvault provides all the basic data protection for our systems. We protect Windows systems and VMs as well as AIX.
  • As the product has matured its efficient use of WAN resources has improved with deduplication allowing us to protect complex remote systems with limited bandwidth.
  • The Commvault interface provides a fairly consistent look and feel regardless of what type of agent or workload you are trying to protect.
  • The use of Storage polices allows for very granular control over how various workloads on the same system may be protected and retained.
  • The ability to create dynamic groups based on an endless number of attributes makes automation of backup sets easy.
  • Console auditing is great to prove who made changes to the environment as every change is logged within the system and can be retained for as long as you select.
  • The reporting engine is very robust and has flexibility to generate adhoc or scheduled reports.
  • The Java client (and only client) has been a pain point as it is very particular as to what version of Java you have running
  • Over the years the deduplication engine has been less than robust, much of which has been resolved in the latest version. There are still some deduplication gotchas that you need to plan and be prepared for. V11 is really the first version I would consider truly ready for prime time with lareg deduplication workloads.
  • Their windows agents still have a reliance on .Net which means not all upgrades are without a reboot. If you are not careful you can leave a system unprotected until it is rebooted.
  • The custom report engine requires you to understand the underlying database structure and needs to be improved to be more intuitive with selectable criteria and fields.
Commvault's strength lies in its robustness and flexibility. It can protect workloads on many different platforms. The UI while intimidating is fairly quick to learn once you understand basic concepts and their terminology. There are very few products that can scale up into the largest enterprises and go low to medium sized businesses and Commvault is clearly one of them. Their SMB business has been slow due to heavy competition especially in VMware centric shops where Veeam has been a strong competitor, but Commvault quickly wins in any environment with more than a few dozen VMs or that has anything other than pure VMware of Hyper-V. Commvault really needs a smaller SQL express like build that supports say a very small SMB where Veeam is easier to set up and use, but far less space efficient on the backups. Commvault's support organization has had its ups and downs, but the last few years has been very solid. Unless you need a true HSM based solution then Comvmault is hard to beat. TSM is the better HSM based product for now, but I would not put it past Commvault to try and one up TSM over the years. We backed up over 500TB across 200+ locations and our main data center and can't think of a product that would have been any easier or more reliable to use. Version 11 is the version that is really a true Enterprise ready deduplication and protection system.
Read Keith Luken's full review
Jim Stephanek profile photo
February 14, 2017

User Review: "Commvault can do it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is used to back up our entire physical and virtual server environment. We use the software to back up a plethora of software suites, such as SAP, AIX, MSSQL, SharePoint, and MS Server 2008-2012. We use many of the features inside of Commvault for business reporting of backups and performance metrics. We are also replicating this data to a disaster recovery site.
  • Commvault has made their software increasingly easier to navigate with what seems to be every service pack revision. I have found more shortcuts to places I need to navigate to with every update. That makes this a very functional software.
  • Commvault also gives very detailed logs to look over if there is an issue. They also give the ability to send logs very easily to support through their software. No need to manually collect logs and email them out, as it is all in the software GUI.
  • Commvault reporting and dashboards are very detailed, showing things like front end footprint and deduplication / compression rates. It shows the amount of disk used and how much is freed up on a daily basis.
  • The Commvault job controller allows for a very customized look into your current running backups. They have the ability to create multiple filters so you can apply them quickly to just see what you need.
  • The commcell browser tabs need to be static. When I am looking at the default subclient for a particular type of job, if I click on another client computer, it changes that default window into whatever I just clicked on. That is annoying. They could make the tab a little bigger and put a more detailed description in it so you can open up more tabs.
  • The job controller update intervals interfere with selecting multiple jobs and keeping them highlighted in case you need to suspend or kill multiple jobs. When it updates, it removes the selections.
  • Using JAVA is a hindrance because sometimes after you update multiple servers to a new service pack level, even after doing a manual refresh, it still says the old software version. You have to close out of the GUI and go back in for it to report properly. I think this is more of a JAVA issue and not a Commvault issue.
With the implementation of Commvault, we have backed up more information than we ever have than when we were using NetBackup. The agents that Commvault has to back up different types of data is so vast that I could almost guarantee they have what you need to get the job done. Is is a very diverse software that fits nearly every environment. The ability to replicate to a disaster recovery site has proven its worth recently when we did a DR test and it was incredibly successful as opposed to the way we had to do it with NetBackup last year.
Read Jim Stephanek's full review
Uday Bhaskar Jalagam profile photo
February 21, 2017

CommVault Review: "Simply a great enterprise data protection software out there"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is our only enterprise data protection solution now in my organization. We use commvault to protect our physical, virtual and cloud infrastructure. [It's also used] for all our production and non-production data.
It is very easy to manage and a very robust solution for various [types of] data protection and it helped us to reduce our OPEX costs.
  • Seamless integration with various applications like VMware, databases and other applications. Storage integration with IntelliSnap.
  • It supports most of the cloud platforms backup destinations if your objective is to move to the cloud.
  • Single place to manage all the data protection activities and management.
  • Best support in each of my support call experiences.
  • This is not what I would expect from a data protection solution, but since it is connected with each of my infrastructures they could provide some monitoring solutions so I don't have to go with another monitoring vendor.
  • If it could support an install on Unix and allow other database users to align their strategy if they want to go with a non Microsoft option.
It is well suited for a wide variety of applications and scenarios. It's hard to pick one, however, if you have a heterogeneous environment I would suggest going with commvault. For small organizations, I don't think it is worth it.
Read Uday Bhaskar Jalagam's full review
Scott Riser profile photo
February 17, 2017

User Review: "CommVault leads the pack"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
CommVault provides backup and recovery capabilities across all datasets within our enterprise.
  • CommVault integrates with VMWare extremely well offering industry leading recovery capabilities
  • CommVault provides hardware array integration that is unparalleled amongst is competitors and integrates with a vast swath of hardware vendors
  • CommVault provides deep cloud integration that enables our cloud strategy
  • Currently the administration console is based on Java
  • Documentation on new features lags considerably leaving understanding of functionality and features in the lurch
  • We've experienced difficulty restoring multi-terabyte SQL databases on multiple occasions from App-Aware VMWare backups
It is difficult to imagine a scenario where CommVault is not well suited from a feature and functionality perspective. It can be difficult to understand licensing which can lead to feature misunderstandings but all in all CommVault is one of the best products in the data management arena
Read Scott Riser's full review
Omar Campos profile photo
February 15, 2017

CommVault Review: "You'll never fear doing a restore again!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using CommVault to back up all of our servers and applications, which includes all of our file shares for the University. We are not currently using it to back up end-user devices.
  • CommVault has agents for all kinds of platforms that need to be backed up. For example, our ERP environment runs on HP-UX, and CommVault has a media agent for that.
  • You can use any storage to back things up via CommVault. We are using a cheap and affordable storage called Drobo.
  • Their support team is OUTSTANDING! You know how you dread calling Microsoft for support? You won't dread calling these folks; they are most friendly and helpful
  • The price was really high (we were paying per Terabyte), but they have recently restructured their pricing models, so it has likely gotten more affordable.
  • UI is Java; would be nice if it was HTML5
  • Would we nicer to just have a webpage to log into instead of a Java applet.
I suppose if you are mostly virtualized, you may consider a VM-aware specific product like Tintri and that may work better. Otherwise, it works great for backing up both virtual and physical servers/PC's. You can use existing physical storage which is really nice.
Read Omar Campos's full review
Chad Reese profile photo
March 31, 2017

CommVault Review: "Decent Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CommVault via an online service. At one point we had an on-premise version of it. It is very powerful, but not nearly as easy to use as other solutions such as Back-up Exec.
  • Very granular Exchange Back-up
  • Very powerful
  • Could be easier to use
  • Needs an improved GUI
Great for exchange level backups
Read Chad Reese's full review
No photo available
April 04, 2017

User Review: "CommVault: One Size Fits All!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Used across the board, for all departments, for backup, recovery, and offsite DR. While the usual backup/recovery from disk is used, also, tape offsite is key to getting the protection we need. Daily reports and stats are regularly assessed on both the backup and recovery side of the house. It's managed by one Admin and one backup.
  • Complete flexibility across physical, virtual, and application level backups.
  • Multiple pricing options for agility across different use cases.
  • First class service and support.
  • Marketing new features is lacking in most cases including Cloud functionality.
  • Service Pack communication and differences are vast.
  • VMware only product/feature set.
Where any mix of physical, virtual, application, and array level snapshots and backups are extremely strong. Where things can really get challenging is if you want a simple, VM only design. It can be done but it's definitely not the product's strong point. That being said, it is getting better with each version.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 31, 2017

User Review: "Commvault - Try it! You'll like it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Commvault is being used in two areas. We have an entire Commvault environment installed in the cloud, backing up any application requesting backup in the cloud. We also have an on premise Commvault environment backing up new business/applications. Our go forward strategy in data protection is Commvault that will eventually and essentially replace our current data protection environment.

Overall, Commvault is easier to manage for our support team. It works very well. Commvault support is great and gets issues resolved very quickly.
  • Backup and recovery: CommVault is easy to install. Easy to get up and running and makes it easy to backup and recovery data if necessary.
  • Reporting: CommVault has excellent, built-in reporting. You can report per environment or, if you have more than one CommVault environment (for example, in different regions of the country), you can aggregate reports from a worldwide view.
  • Analytics: This is a newer option in CommVault. This adds another dimension to CommVault beyond data protection. Using analytics, you can analyze the data stored in CommVault. It is comparable, but probably not as powerful, as Splunk
  • CommVault is excellent in the cloud. It supports most all cloud vendors. Its features for AWS are excellent.
  • CommVault supports many storage hardware vendors for snapshots. In general, they support many more that other major data protection software vendors.
  • CommVault needs provide easier ways to download software. Instead of having to download the entire software suite, I would like the option for individual components to be available for download.
  • In our very secure IT worlds we live in, CommVault should provide better ways to upload logs to their support site. Companies usually highly restrict being able to access much on the internet from within their data centers.
Commvault is well suited for most any size environment. Larger environments can take probably take better advantage to some of the more advanced features.
Commvault is mostly reliant on Windows for their infrastructure, but does support Linux for media agents.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2017

User Review: "CommVault saves the day!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using CommVault by our IT department to backup our critical systems. We are storing backups to a storage device and retaining monthly and yearly backups for 7 years. This will address our DR needs to be able to quickly restore any of our critical servers back to any point that we have retained backups to.
  • Automated backup jobs are easy to set up.
  • Summary reports are emailed after each backup so you know immediately if a job has failed on any of the systems.
  • User interface/console is easy to use and navigate.
  • Errors on failed backups can be fairly cryptic. Clearer error messages would be an enhancement to the current ones.
  • Support tends to not be very helpful.
  • Performance could be improved.
Commvault does a good job of backing up VMware VMs. We haven't expanded beyond that, and it can be pricey if you want to add the extra agents to do SQL or Exchange specific backups for example. The logging/error messages are pretty cryptic and do not help with figuring out why a backup might have failed.
Read this authenticated review
Elena Goryainova profile photo
April 15, 2016

CommVault Review: "One size doesn't fit all - evaluate it before using in large db farms"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CommVault company-wide for both file and database backups in different combinations since the company has more than 50 SQL Server instances and more than 100 servers in total.
  • Backs up multiple databases at one time.
  • Restores multiple databases at one time.
  • Provides various options for restore.
  • UI for database restore isn't intuitive - have to apply some intelligence to find the right combination of settings.
  • Alerts upon backup completion aren't functioning properly.
  • When a restore fails, the program does not always quit the restoration process on the database side.
  • When an attempt to restore fails, the error message doesn't appear in front of you. The restore hangs as 5% progress and you have to scroll to find out what was wrong.
  • Summary reports about backups aren't useful - too much information and no logical grouping or flexibility.
In the large-scale enterprise where are many SQL Servers and you need different backup schedules for different databases and copy-only backups interfere with regular backups, this tool doesn't produce consistent results. If the schedule is simple and the same across all databases, it is a good solution.
Read Elena Goryainova's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (12)
8.8
Live recovery (13)
7.9
Recovery verification (14)
8.5
Business application protection (15)
9.0
Multiple backup destinations (13)
9.1
Incremental backup identification (16)
9.1
Backup to the cloud (12)
9.1
Deduplication and file compression (15)
8.9
Snapshots (14)
8.8
Flexible deployment (6)
9.3
Management dashboard (6)
8.4
Platform support (6)
8.9
Retention options (6)
9.4
Encryption (6)
9.1

About CommVault

CommVault is the eponymous data backup and recovery solution from the company headquartered in New Jersey.

CommVault Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No