ConnectWise Automate Reviews

129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 54)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 03, 2021
Erik Metzler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech)] to manage and monitor client end points, as well to provide automation. We integrate it with ScreenConnect, ConnectWise Manage, and ITGlue. Automation is one of the major functions it performs for us. With it we can push other tools like Logic Monitor, ScreenConnect, AutoElevate and DeskDirector. We also have it send alerts to our ticketing system for reactive support.
  • Automation
  • Monitoring
  • Configuration reference
  • Automation can be difficult to implement
  • Discrepancy between web and installed client.
We heavily rely on it's automation and ability to run script for pushing additional tools and fixes to client end points. However, creating scripts is not particularly intuitive. We have only 1 person on staff that can setup scripts, and we have to use an outside vendor for more advanced work. We recently started using AutoElevate to handle UAC, and we have a script that allows us to push it to new client end points easily.
Read Erik Metzler's full review
March 04, 2021
Luke Kuhlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Automate for RMM as internal IT and have deployed it across the whole organization, it is key for our daily asset management.
  • Performs maintenance and daily routines.
  • Performs security and patching solutions.
  • Allows for ease of support of end users.
  • Comes with lots of tools, but most of which you must assemble yourself.
  • Great for the tinkerer who likes to try and troubleshoot, but support is lacking.
  • Requires lots of configuration out of the box.
Obviously Automate is designed for MSP, but I have found that some internal IT forces could benefit from this software as it helps organize, manage, and protect your physical inventory fleet. Its integration with other products allows for ease of end-user support, and accurate reporting for auditors and compliance regulators. This software has allowed us to consolidate 5 disparate applications into this one and it has helped our helpdesk staff increase productivity and resolution of issues.
Read Luke Kuhlow's full review
January 27, 2021
Daren Anderson, MSIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are a managed service provider so we use Automate for all our MSP clients; it helps us to monitor updates for our customers and, if needed, uninstall updates if something went wrong.
  • Takes care of updates
  • Support
  • Technical documentation
  • Has a big learning curve just starting out.
  • Needs mores simplified directions.
  • Better support.
If you have a managed service provider business, you definitely need to look at Automate and its accompanying program Manage and ConnectWise Control. Automate will do just that—automate your MSP business as it takes away the normal day to day updates, and in case there is an issue with a Windows update, you can just as easily uninstall all those updates with a few keystrokes rather than going from machine to machine and doing that task. You can also bring up all your systems in the dashboard and check for issues before they happen.
Read Daren Anderson, MSIS's full review
January 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT team that I am involved with mainly use this product mainly for screen sharing access to either assist end-users or to manage servers remotely (more so nowadays). It has been invaluable with helping members of the team demonstrate issues with our back-office application so we can speed up support for those users, but equally its been a great help in remote managing servers when other means have been unable to work. We use this in an almost exclusively Windows PC environment so I cannot say how this performs no other platforms and the use is pretty well limited to the aforementioned desktop sharing aspect.

From a regular, IT support aspect, though this is quite a comprehensive asset inventory, support ticketing, monitoring, altering tool.
  • Desktop sharing / view with chat to the operator, file sharing and pass-through for keyboard strokes
  • Computer/server monitoring with thresholds and warning
  • Search - tracking down computers when you have many by name, logged in user, IP
  • End user ticket raising is built into the tray icon which make access really easy
  • Really minor niggle but login to the management website can be a pain at times
  • Would like to be able to access the remote desktop session as an option to manage rather than always accessing the console session on windows. There is command prompt option to manage computers without interrupting the user but sometimes its just easier to use a GUI.
  • The management website has come on leaps and bounds but occasionally we still have the odd issue, but nothing that really stops us achieving what we need to do.
Absolutely great alternative to RDP, and a lifesaver when operating across physically separate sites when point to point connectivity went down as its access to servers are routed through the internet.

For us it can be a bit intrusive at times when you're trying to grab logs off a computer running one of our bespoke apps when someone is using actually using it, hence it would be nice to be able to access a different session on windows, but there are ways around it.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2020
jesse nanes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP who uses Automate to manage 3000+ endpoints. Automate handles Windows patching, alerting, remote access, among many other things for our business. It is our primary source of management for our users workstations and servers.

  • Manages Windows updates.
  • Alerting for offline servers.
  • Antivirus management.
  • Backup management.
  • Due to its many features, it seems some areas are a bit difficult to configure.
Automate is useful for managing a large number of endpoints. It is a bit overkill if you have a smaller number of users. Automate can be used for a variety of things from managing your internal IT assets to managing thousands of customer endpoints.
Support is very helpful. There is usually a bit of a wait but in most cases I get my issues solved via chat support. Sometimes a call is required but phone support is very courteous and helpful.
Read jesse nanes's full review
February 12, 2020
Adam Friedli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Automate is being used by the support services department of the company. We are a managed services provider, so we manage all of our clients from within ConnectWise Automate. It allows us to easily connect to client machines and servers, run scripts against the machines to install applications, and assist with installing patches without manual intervention. It definitely helped cut back a lot on manual tasks, which saves the team a lot of time on more menial tasks. It allows us to devote more time to other issues instead of the various management tasks for machines we support.
  • Automated patching. The patch management is very robust and doesn't let us down. We can rely on it to do its job.
  • Scripting. The scripting engine and layout is excellent. It's very easy to work with and adapt Powershell scripts and other script to the native format with its functions. It also gives detailed logs to help determine why something went wrong if there's issues.
  • They have conflicting scheduling paradigms. When scheduling patching for clients, the 1st Friday is interpreted as the very first Friday of the month, even if this is the 1st of the month. For scripting, the 1st Friday of the month is interpreted as the 1st Friday of the 1st FULL WEEK of the month. This makes no sense to have two different interpretations, and makes it unreliable to schedule recurring scripts to fall when recurring maintenance does. The scripts need to be done manually because of this.
  • There is no way to dictate reboot orders for patch policies. This tied directly in with my first point. We have some clients that require reboot orders. This is not possible without having different patch policies for each server and specifying a time this way. But, there aren't small enough increments of time to make this reliable, plus patching duration might vary. Excluding reboots with patching and scheduling reboot scripts fixes this. However, this can't be done once on a recurring schedule due to the different scheduling paradigms already discussed. We have to schedule these manually each month.
ConnectWise Automate is a fantastic platform for managing multiple clients, and I feel this is why it was created in the first place. I have ready complaints about certain components and behaviors in the past online. However, it appears they have fixed these issues in later versions as we have not experienced them. It also has competitive pricing for RMM's for MSP's to use. It could also be used for a single company to manage their environment, but I don't think it was meant for this. There might be other options that are more cost effective, especially if a single company doesn't have hundreds of machines to manage or more.
They are very responsive and also make sure our issues are addressed. There can be busier times during the day when it takes longer to get a response, but we always get the impression they can and want to make sure our concerns are dealt with. Having quality support when you need it is very valuable, and any MSP can relate to this as being paramount.
Read Adam Friedli's full review
October 07, 2019
Asfer Bin Saleh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ConnectWise has a CRM, ticketing system, help desk, and tools for project management, billing, and procurement. The business tool also has reporting and dashboards and uses over 300 third-party integrations.

ConnectWise gives businesses a complete business management and process automation platform for technology companies including IT service companies, professional services, software developers, security, and telecom. The workflow rules that are defined in ConnectWise cover various areas of the business, ranging from conducting targeted marketing campaigns to monitoring service delivery using service level agreements.


You can create work plans and project timelines and get detailed reporting on progress of projects. It’s also possible to use the workflow engine to manage deadlines and get notifications of overdue tasks.

  • It includes a ticketing system using workflow automation, SLA, as well as performance monitoring and access tickets from mobile devices.
  • Dashboards of the tool show overviews and detailed explanations of KPIs. Your business can also use the custom report writer to generate reports on whatever issue you want.
  • You can use ConnectWise to automate the range of ITIL process, such as: incident management, availability management, change management, service reporting, service-level management, service asset and configuration management, request management, and knowledge management.
  • You can track all your clients information and every single job you do for them. You can do quotes, send them, add providers to compare prices, manage the calendar of the employees, assign tickets to the correct person, there is nothing you can't do with this tool.
  • Inside all the greatness, there are some works around that you have to do for specific duties that could be automated.
  • Make sure you keep notes on each client profile, you can use the private note section, it is secure and it works as a reminder of everything you need to do about that specific client, only you and your employees will see those.
It allows your team to receive, process and respond to service requests quickly and efficiently thanks to the ticket system that comes with ConnectWise Manage and this application does not have a multi-channel communication, adding that you have to have a level of training for that application because if you do not have it, handling it will be quite difficult.
ConnectWise Automate lets you manage more endpoints, with enhanced productivity and improved service, all without increasing expenses.

It can manage patches and updates across thousands of computers. We also use it for customized monitoring and alerting on workstations and servers. Monitoring is really robust and granular. It does a great job of gathering a TON of data about the network, and that data is searchable. There are a bunch of different reports built in. Integrates with Manage, Control, and other applications. It does a ton of stuff out of the box, and has endless customization options.
Read Asfer Bin Saleh's full review
October 03, 2019
Garry Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ConnectWise Automate is used in managing client systems as well as our own internal systems. Users in our support teams use it daily for access to and management of systems, alerting, and updates and users in an account management role also access it regularly for asset reporting and management.
  • Scripting
  • Remote asset control
  • Asset reporting an inventory
  • The local client is very robust, but it can be a resource hog.
  • The web client is not as full-featured as the local client but runs much faster.
  • Updates on the local client are installed automatically when you launch the application, but they can take some time to run. Since there is no option for a window to install them, this can cause delays when launching the software for the first time after a period of inactivity.
Automate integrates natively with the rest of the ConnectWise suite. If you are looking for a one-stop-shop, then Automate, Control and Sell are a great way to go. There are regular updates to the toolset, but because it has been around for so long certain aspects of it still seem quite dated. For example, the local client is not well optimized. The web version is making progress, but still lacking the ability to export asset reports called data views. Once all of the functionality from the local client is available on the web client that will make a significant difference.
Support can often take a long time to resolve an issue depending on what the problem is. They are responsive though. My support experience typically tends to be with more advanced issues that have a longer resolution time by nature. We tend to solve more trivial problems internally and do not often need to reach out to support.
Read Garry Adams's full review
October 03, 2019
Todd Swartzman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RealTime, LLC uses ConnectWise Automate in our managed services department. Automate provides rich data, simple endpoint management, and allows RealTime to automate tasks that were out of reach prior to changing to Automate about 7 years ago.
The primary uses are patch management, VMware management, automation, client onboarding, cybersecurity solutions deployment, reporting data, and tight integration with our PSA, ConnectWise Manage. Remote control via ScreenConnect, or Connect I think it's called now, is pretty seamless and we even have one-click access to backstage when using the web version of Automate. Security-wise, we use AD integration and Two-factor authentication to secure our connections to the tool in and out of the office.
  • It feeds tons of data to our reporting solution.
  • A good overview of client endpoints, online status, av status and access to many tools to keep from disturbing end-users while troubleshooting their computers.
  • Synchronizes with our PSA to automate billing changes.
  • Tightly integrated with the remote control tools so we don't have to jump into a different console to make that connection.
  • Alerting on multiple items (got one just a little while ago from the VMware plugin about a failed drive on a VM Host) and automatic ticket creation, and in many cases, automated remediation.
  • Patch management is always a little finicky. Gets better every time.
  • If you decide to hitch your MSP to ConnectWise Automate, make sure you have a clear plan of what you want to accomplish and please, save your self a ton of hassle and use ConnectWise consulting to get things going initially.
  • Conflicting answers from support on more complicated items.
  • Not sure if this applies, but you need to have someone at your MSP whose job is the care and feeding of Automate, as well as that script and automation creation. Not really a complaint, more along the lines of "you are buying a business automation platform, you need to dedicate people to get the most out of it."
Mature MSP's can't go wrong selecting Automate as their RMM tool, as long as you dedicate qualified personnel to get the most out of the product. It is well suited for in house, or co-managed IT. We let some in house IT staff use Automate for their internal use and if they invest the time in learning the basics, it is a good value add. It often just ends up being the way they remote into their computers.

Startup MSP's, or those who just don't understand the value of automation - Automate isn't for you. You can get some good value out of it, but the complexity and cost may outweigh the benefits if you just don't have the scale or dedicated, skilled resources to really get the most out of the product.
Support can be clunky and inconsistent. Fortunately, we don't have to contact support very often. I've heard all the horror stories online, but our experience doesn't match up that much. If it matters, we run Automate in house, not the hosted version.
Read Todd Swartzman's full review
November 15, 2019
William Pote | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Automation of mundane and repetitive tasks.
  • Management of our clients
  • It can be painfully slow.
  • It's quite complex and needs a lot of training.
If you are an MSP looking to scale and are willing to put in the time and effort it will take you a long way.
Read William Pote's full review
January 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ConnectWise Automate as our RMM platform. We are happy with the product as a whole. We are using the on-premise version of the software. One complaint we do have is the slowness of the application. However, they are moving more and more functions over to the web URL. At one point, we switched from Labtech over to Kaseya. Kaseya was substantially less expensive, however, we ended up switching back to Labtech within 8 months due to the technical support and lack of features within Kaseya.
  • Computer Management
  • Remote Control
  • Performance
  • Integration
Well suited for managed service providers as well as larger companies with over 200 computer assets. Less appropriate for smaller companies or managed service providers that are doing more break-fix services and not real management. The software would work well in government or municipal entities in addition to MSPs.
Most of the time their support is good for smaller things. They have a chat assist which is a nice function. When you run into a larger issue or an issue with an integration the support becomes less reliable and inconsistent. Generally your wait time on chat is under 5 minutes.
Read this authenticated review
October 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it daily in my technical support role. It is used across my organization.
  • Seamless integration with other ConnectWise products.
  • Works well and is feature rich.
  • Allows me to access servers at anytime for patching and maintenance.
  • Honestly, there is not much I would change.
  • As far as I am concerned; it is the best by far.
  • Might be a little expensive for small MSP's...But worth the investment.
Medium MSP's who need a solution to manage multiple clients and access their machines for maintenance and help desk support.
Prompt and precise resolutions to the few issues I have had.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use ConnectWise within our managed services department and also for our internal IT operations. We use ConnectWise to provide remote support for end users' computers. In additional to remote control capabilities we use ConnectWise for patch management and remote monitoring. ConnectWIse is great since it provides a CRM platform and you don't have to purchase a separate CRM platform.
  • The reporting is great and it shows clients and staff how many issues have been resolved and how to decrease trouble areas.
  • Great at patch management.
  • Scripting is one of the thing we use extensively and ConnectWise has great scripts to use and also it's very easy to create your own.
  • The remote control capabilities are fast and responsive and the bandwidth overhead is minimal.
  • New features are constantly being added.
  • Wish is was cheaper. This is a competitive market and they should lower the price to be more competitive.
  • The GUI needs to be cleaned up and more streamlined. Currently it's a mess.
  • Tech support could be better.
ConnectWise is great for MSPs and internal IT departments. It provides great reporting to see where the problem areas are and how to resolve them. It's great for those companies that have nationwide deployments and help IT departments to resolve end users' issues remotely.
ConnectWise is great but not perfect. I wish the price was more competitive compared to the other RMM providers.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it daily to support our clients. We are an MSP that supports small to mid-sized local governments. It integrates well with our other applications.
  • Smooth remote access to managed devices.
  • Real-time machine health.
  • Seamless integration with ConnectWise manage and Bizdox.
  • We have some issues with the managed devices actually being online but no connection through the application. Have to restart the service on the machine.
  • A little slow for the application to load on startup.
  • Resource heavy.
-Great solution for MSP and internal IT departments who manage several sites and machines.
-A little too expensive for small IT providers to manage just a few machines.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses ConnectWise Automate as a central point for end-user support and automation management. We leverage Automate as a scripting repository which provides us with the flexibility to apply configurations based on machine information such as installed applications, site where the machines are located at, and other parameters such as resources available. Automate allows us to 'script it once' and deliver many times, as a managed services provider, this is of crucial importance as it is a multitenant architecture which we can apply to all of our customers based on service tiers that they have signed up for.
  • Scripting.
  • Centralized configuration management.
  • Healthchecks.
  • The GUI interface is archaic.
  • Scripting engines could use work to be more PowerShell native.
  • Ability to work in VDI environments.
ConnectWise Automate is well suited for physical PCs, laptops and virtual environments where VDI is not in the mix. It is well suited for HyperV environments but is lacking a bit in ESX and XenServer.
Support has largely increased since the acquisition of Automate. This is not to say that support is necessarily good, there are often times where it is difficult to get escalation support from ConnectWise on this product and very many times the engineers assigned to tickets have no idea how the product works. The hardest part of support and understandably so with a product like this is that every company is going to have their own customizations.
Read this authenticated review
October 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Automate every day to provide our customers with support. We use it to remote control, automate maintenance tasks, monitor our clients' systems. It is an essential part of how we do business. Our business would not be successful without this application and the rest of the ConnectWise suite of products.
  • Remote control.
  • Patching.
  • Monitoring.
  • It is a little slow some times.
  • It can be difficult to set-up and maintain.
  • The interface is not very intuitive for new users.
It is well suited for a managed services environment. It provides an effective way for us to manage thousands of systems at the same time.
It works well for us.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2019
Jonathan Hozeska | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ConnectWise Automate solves our ability to provided scripted resolution to repetitive tasks for all of our clients. Regardless of the client or physical location ConnectWise Automate is the tool that allows us to perform a consistent task, document the work, and send the necessary details of it to billing. Network Services Group deploys it to every client. It is part of our comprehensive support stack.
  • Automatically perform and records billable work time.
  • Consistently perform representative tasks.
  • Schedule tasks for off-hours to minimize disrupting our clients.
  • Excellent source for details in developing new sales.
  • Having to pay for licensing in advance. If you need additional licenses you need to plan ahead to have them available.
  • Some ConnectWise Automate options such as third-party patching could offer patching for more software.
  • ConnectWise Automate can be very complex so it can take time to understand all it can do. The more time you invest in ConnectWise Automate the easier and more powerful it becomes.
ConnectWise Automate solves all of our inventory and network health issues. We have deployed it in multi-site, wide area networks to provide common critical desktop support and automation tasks. Integrations available for ConnectWise Automate further extend its abilities into areas outside of common desktop management. Its powerful scripting capabilities with back-end data aggregations provide the core of its features.
Read Jonathan Hozeska's full review
July 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an MSP using ConnectWise Automate to manage about 1100 endpoints for our clients. We use this product for patch management and remote monitoring/maintenance.
  • Integration to ScreenConnect and ConnectWise are fairly tight at this point.
  • Powerful tool for automation and custom scripting - if you have the technical capabilities and time, you can do more with Automate than any RMM on the market...
  • New UI is built to be pretty, but it's bloated, slow, and lacks the information that used to live on the main screen. You now have to dig to get information that was once easily at hand...
  • Too Noisy - it alerts on EVERYTHING, and it's very difficult to tone it down without missing things that are important. This puts a drain on staff time... We can't respond to every ticket, and then important details get lost in the noise...
  • No Mac/Linux client - my admins need access to a Windows PC to function...
If you're very technical and have advanced scripting skillsets, this is a great tool.

If you're short staffed, this tool will create so much work that you can't get it all done.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2019
Gawain Stern | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire Service Team uses ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech). It gives us the power to automate the management of a greater number and broader range of endpoints, maximizing our efficiency and our profitability. We use the scripting and numerous connected products, such as Warranty Master and ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect). Screens like Dataviews and tabs like Hardware are immensely useful.
  • It's better than Kaseya.
  • It's flexible, allowing our integration team to leverage the data therein, creating custom tools that empower and accelerate us.
  • It's fairly stable, considering its immense power.
  • Its interfaces have a wide variety of looks and feels, and it might be nicer if it were more cohesive.
  • Documentation of usage and features can be hard to locate at times.
  • A little more memory stability would be nice.
ConnectWise Automate (formerly LabTech) is best suited for mid-size to large MSPs; it might be a bit much for the one-man-show or smaller MSP.
Read Gawain Stern's full review
October 18, 2018
David Wertz, CHSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Automate as one of our tools to provide Managed Services to our client base. It is used for patch management, system monitoring and alerting, remote control, scripting and asset management. We install Automate on all managed servers and workstations.
  • Scripting in Automate is very comprehensive and flexible. Other tools we've used pale in comparison to the scripting in Automate.
  • Remote control is 2nd to none. Screen Connect has proven to be incredibly fast and stable. This is a significant improvement over the old LabVNC in previous versions of Automate
  • The ability to group things manually and dynamically. Being able to automatically add systems to groups based on some criteria (almost anything) and then run scripts or commands against those groups is a huge benefit. A great example is adding machines to a group based on anti-virus install. If a machine doesn't have AV installed it gets added to a group. The group is setup to run a script at some frequency to install AV.
  • The biggest issue for Automate is their support. They seem to be completely overwhelmed. Chat support for simple questions can be anywhere from 30 to 60 minutes in the queue. Then when you are connected they are doing little more than creating a ticket that will take days to hear back from them.
  • Patching. The documentation and advice from our implementation person do not match reality. The process of denying a patch is documented, but doesn't work. We were unable to block certain patches from being distributed until we spoke to a specialist about it. He couldn't explain the mis-matched documentation.
  • Speed. Using the Automate client is painfully slow. Very sluggish and non-responsive at times.
I can only speak from a Managed Service Provider point of view. The tool is certainly well suited to provide RMM and patching for an MSP or other IT service provider. Automate would likely work well in an enterprise environment especially organizations with multiple remote locations/users that may not be connected via a VPN.
Far too many issues that take ages to get resolved. Even their chat support takes a long time to get in contact with someone. When you do chat with a support rep they generally can't help you and just escalate the ticket. At least everything you've chatted about is now in the ticket.
Read David Wertz, CHSP's full review
February 05, 2019
John Trevino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When we first started using Automate we used it for all of our clients. However, we have now brought that down to just a few due to the cost of the product. We still actively use it today for a handful of servers.
  • It organizes client machines very well.
  • Is very good at automating processes.
  • Is great for setting up alerts on client's machines.
  • The cost of the product is way too high.
  • A better GUI and wizard would help streamline the process.
  • The auto-install process for other applications could be made a lot better.
It is great if you need a solution to automate computer processes like updating computers and applications. It's also useful if you need alerts sent to a centralized location. The fact it also utilizes ConnectWise Control to remote into computers is also very nice.

It is not really an appropriate product for those who do not have more than 100 client's machines to manage.
Read John Trevino's full review
June 14, 2018
Catherine Zuniga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm a sole proprietor and ConnectWise makes it possible for me to connect with my clients from home, across the United States and Canada. ConnectWise allows me to connect with clients and see their specific issues first hand. I am also able to save clients money for training that would have to be done on site because I am able to connect to their individual workstations and to do program training with the individual or group remotely at their convenience.
  • Allows me to download files from a toolbox feature or drag and drop from my server to their system.
  • Gives an easy to use client access window to easily find different clients and groups.
  • Simple to use, install and work with. Unlike many other programs of its type, it is easy to generate an email invitation to a client to connect or give them a simple code to connect. Also has the ability for me to share my screen with clients for training and demonstrations.
  • That's a tough one! Great program, great features already.
  • Possibly allowing the chat box to remain on screen. It closes when you connect to a program or open windows on the screen.
  • Allow more than 1 username/ password to be stored for the auto access. Notes made on different machines seem to disappear if there is an upgrade. I lost some notes I had made on sites I support using this feature.
If you need 24 hr access to a client, ability to access workstations and have the same abilities as if you were physically there. Also, could be the less appropriate for organizations with multiple employees wherein having this type of access may be in violation of privacy of the client, or employees that can access client information inappropriately. I work in the medical field, and due to HIPPA, this could be a problem if I had employees that were not HIPPA trained or certified.
Read Catherine Zuniga's full review
October 03, 2018
Kimberly Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love ConnectWise. It was a little cumbersome at first to deploy but it works great as a support tool across the organization. I have a lot of remote users who I support with it and sometimes due to bandwidth I may get disconnected but other than that it is great. It is very user-friendly once you surpass the small learning curve.
  • It connects quickly
  • Signing in is bar none
  • Connection is fast
  • Lots of additional features have been added.
  • The upgrade GUI is a little hard to use out of the box
  • It disconnects randomly sometimes
  • Some commands like rebooting can be a little slow
It is well suited for medium to large businesses due to the cost. I would not think it is appropriate for a small business; other remote software is better suited for that.
Read Kimberly Hammond's full review
January 10, 2018
Donovon Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Scripting across multiple domains
  • Remote Resource Monitoring
  • Onboarding
  • Patch Management can be un-reliable at times
  • Easier UI
  • Better integration with AntiVirus providers
If you are tasked with managing a large IT network, or a multi-domain/multi-client group of systems, there really aren't many better options out there. Automate, when configured properly, can handle patching, scripting, on board and off boarding of clients, and give you greater insight into your client's pain points via reporting and monitoring.
Read Donovon Carter's full review
December 27, 2017
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Management of servers and workstations. Organized by client and location for ease of use.
  • Remote access is unparalleled, one button click and the computer is up with very good refresh rate.
  • Scripts and automation are easy to create and perform. Automated reboots of servers / workstations make management easy.
  • Steep learning curve, program can be very intimidating when initially configuring and deploying.
  • Software version upgrades can become a bit clunky and "undo" some progress. Recent version upgrade revamped entire Windows patching system and required setup from scratch.
  • Limitations on hardware monitoring, especially for hypervisors with VMWare.
Any MSP should investigate this software, as a former user of N-Able, LabTech has much more automation and is feature rich. It literally takes years of use to scratch the surface of its possibilities.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Remote monitoring (16)
8.6
Network device monitoring (15)
7.5
Multiple Server Monitoring (16)
8.8
Multi-device monitoring (15)
8.8
Automated alerts and notifications (16)
8.6
Patch Management (15)
8.3
Service configuration management (15)
8.3
Software and hardware inventory (16)
8.7
Policy-based automation (16)
8.1
Performance data reports (15)
8.2
Customizable reporting (14)
8.4
Data visualization (14)
7.6
Risk analysis (13)
6.7
Data backup and recovery (10)
6.8
Antivirus and malware management (15)
8.1
Adinistraor access control (13)
8.8

What is ConnectWise Automate?

ConnectWise Automate, formerly LabTech, is an IT management tool that helps deliver IT services. The vendor says their remote monitoring and management (RMM) platform provides powerful automation to discover and manage devices, monitor for problems, and automate action. According to the vendor, this solution enables users to deliver streamlined reactive and proactive managed services, stop putting out fires, and start focusing on what matters most.

ConnectWise Automate Features

Has featureDiscovery
Has featureManagement
Has featureMonitoring
Has featureAutomation
Has featureIntegration

ConnectWise Automate Screenshots

ConnectWise Automate Downloadables

ConnectWise Automate Integrations

ConnectWise Automate Competitors

Kaseya VSA, Autotask Endpoint Management, Continuum Managed IT Services, Solarwinds N·able

ConnectWise Automate Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Implementation Fee$700
Agents$1.00-$6.00per month/per agent

ConnectWise Automate Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

ConnectWise Automate Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: Automate's Control Center is in English, Agents are compatible with all Windows supported Languages