Skip to main content
TrustRadius
ConnectWise Automate

ConnectWise Automate
Formerly LabTech

Overview

What is ConnectWise Automate?

ConnectWise Automate, formerly LabTech, is a remote monitoring and management (RMM) platform. It provides powerful automation to discover and manage devices, monitor for problems, and scripts repetitive action.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

ConnectWise Automate is a powerful tool that is actively used by customers to support and monitor their networks and servers. With this …
Continue reading

Not For Small MSP

6 out of 10
October 06, 2022
Incentivized
We use ConnectWise Automate for both Microsoft and 3rd party software patching management for our customers. We also utilize its …
Continue reading

Automate Me, Baby!

9 out of 10
January 02, 2020
Incentivized
We use ConnectWise Automate as our RMM platform. We are happy with the product as a whole. We are using the on-premise version of the …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 4 features
  • Remote monitoring (21)
    7.3
    73%
  • Policy-based automation (21)
    6.9
    69%
  • Patch Management (20)
    5.9
    59%
  • Network device monitoring (20)
    5.1
    51%
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Agents

$1.00-$6.00

On Premise
per month/per agent

Implementation Fee

$700

On Premise

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://info.connectwise.com/automate/b…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

ConnectWise Automate Demo

YouTube

Office365 For ConnectWise Automate - [Shell Console]

YouTube

Active Directory UC for ConnectWise Automate

YouTube

Office365 for ConnectWise Automate

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Monitoring Tasks

Various types of monitoring

6.1
Avg 7.3

Management Tasks

Various tasks required to keep systems running smoothly

6.3
Avg 7.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is ConnectWise Automate?

ConnectWise Automate enables users to proactively monitor, manage, and support client networks. Key features of ConnectWise Automate include:
  1. Discovery – Automatically deploy and detect the status of devices, creating accountability and access to all managed devices.
  2. Management – Providing access to each endpoint managed makes it easier to resolve issues fast and keep downtime to a minimum.
  3. Patching – Configures Windows patch management with out-of-the-box policies for Microsoft and third-party software.
  4. Automation – Automates repeatable tasks to decrease costs and also keeps techs happy by automating the tasks they hate doing.

ConnectWise Automate Screenshots

Screenshot of Monitor: Find problemsScreenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

ConnectWise Automate Video

ConnectWise Automate overview

ConnectWise Automate Integrations

ConnectWise Automate Competitors

ConnectWise Automate Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesAutomate's Control Center is in English, Agents are compatible with all Windows supported Languages

Frequently Asked Questions

ConnectWise Automate, formerly LabTech, is a remote monitoring and management (RMM) platform. It provides powerful automation to discover and manage devices, monitor for problems, and scripts repetitive action.

Kaseya VSA, Datto RMM, and N-able N-sight RMM are common alternatives for ConnectWise Automate.

Reviewers rate Remote monitoring highest, with a score of 7.3.

The most common users of ConnectWise Automate are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(205)
Loading...

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 58)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mike Boteler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you are an MSP that wants to save engineer and customer time there is no other RMM out there that can compete with ConnectWise Automate. If you are an MSP that doesn't have alot of scripting/coding experience and just want surface level ticketing, you should look for another platform as this is best suited for full throttle automation.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ConnectWise Automate is a great tool to remotely manage your client base. It helps manage Windows updates across your clients and allows you to remotely install/uninstall software sometimes. It can give you details about what is installed on a system, you can see printers and storage space. It gives you so much information.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I recommend it to all IT colleagues; regardless of the size of the PCs with which you work most of the time, the application allows connection stability between computers that make it possible to continue working or taking care of the infrastructure from afar.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For remote management, reporting, and alerting across multiple environments, Automate handles these tasks like a champ. Clients and sites are neatly arranged and easily accessible in a drill down tree. Dataviews can be ran to glean reports on various data relating to devices. One often used is Software Listing. You can pull a complete, searchable list of software on devices by company, site, and individual machines. This is great for planning and completing software deployments. Many other dataviews are available, including complete chassis details of devices.
October 06, 2022

Not For Small MSP

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Connectwise Automate is pretty much a jack-of-all-trade RMM. It requires full-time management. It's not designed for small MSP. From the time of onboarding to fully implementing its functionalities, our hosted Automate took us roughly about 8 months to smooth things out. Even that, we still work on improving from scripting to policy management.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In my opinion, it is extremely difficult to use and set up. I find the interface tough with multiple nests and folders to access different things. I also do not like the inability to add or remove clients easily when your computer count changes.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Connectwise Automate for most of my normal Job functions. We use ESET endpoint protection, and ConnectWise Automate handles the version updates for us. When a new version comes out, I just have to modify my custom settings to include the current version number, and it updates the entire fleet of machines. Additionally, I have used ConnectWise Automate for: Setting up Security evaluations, Setting unique local administrator accounts for 2,000 machines, removing unwanted software from all machines in the fleet, and others.

Patch Management works well, but the interface and deployment are clunky and have a steep learning curve. Once mastered, it handles patching very well, but navigation is not the easiest. Further, it comes with some decent canned reports, but generating custom reports is not well documented and very difficult. It used to be done using Crystal reports, and if you knew the database, you could generate very nice reports, but it has since moved to a custom report builder, and the nesting/grouping does not work well
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ConnectWise Automate is well suited for a large scale environment with multiple clients. A Managed Service Provider would benefit greatly from software like this. Your clients can have access to their computers as well which can help them manage their machines as well. ConnectWise Automate would not be ideal for a small company as it primarily caters to the management of a large scale organization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Absolutely great alternative to RDP, and a lifesaver when operating across physically separate sites when point to point connectivity went down as its access to servers are routed through the internet.

For us it can be a bit intrusive at times when you're trying to grab logs off a computer running one of our bespoke apps when someone is using actually using it, hence it would be nice to be able to access a different session on windows, but there are ways around it.
March 04, 2021

Automate Attraction

Luke Kuhlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Obviously Automate is designed for MSP, but I have found that some internal IT forces could benefit from this software as it helps organize, manage, and protect your physical inventory fleet. Its integration with other products allows for ease of end-user support, and accurate reporting for auditors and compliance regulators. This software has allowed us to consolidate 5 disparate applications into this one and it has helped our helpdesk staff increase productivity and resolution of issues.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We heavily rely on it's automation and ability to run script for pushing additional tools and fixes to client end points. However, creating scripts is not particularly intuitive. We have only 1 person on staff that can setup scripts, and we have to use an outside vendor for more advanced work. We recently started using AutoElevate to handle UAC, and we have a script that allows us to push it to new client end points easily.
January 28, 2021

Automate Review

Daren Anderson, MSIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
If you have a managed service provider business, you definitely need to look at Automate and its accompanying program Manage and ConnectWise Control. Automate will do just that—automate your MSP business as it takes away the normal day to day updates, and in case there is an issue with a Windows update, you can just as easily uninstall all those updates with a few keystrokes rather than going from machine to machine and doing that task. You can also bring up all your systems in the dashboard and check for issues before they happen.
March 14, 2020

ConnectWise Automate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Automate is useful for managing a large number of endpoints. It is a bit overkill if you have a smaller number of users. Automate can be used for a variety of things from managing your internal IT assets to managing thousands of customer endpoints.
Adam Friedli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
ConnectWise Automate is a fantastic platform for managing multiple clients, and I feel this is why it was created in the first place. I have ready complaints about certain components and behaviors in the past online. However, it appears they have fixed these issues in later versions as we have not experienced them. It also has competitive pricing for RMM's for MSP's to use. It could also be used for a single company to manage their environment, but I don't think it was meant for this. There might be other options that are more cost effective, especially if a single company doesn't have hundreds of machines to manage or more.
January 02, 2020

Automate Me, Baby!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Well suited for managed service providers as well as larger companies with over 200 computer assets. Less appropriate for smaller companies or managed service providers that are doing more break-fix services and not real management. The software would work well in government or municipal entities in addition to MSPs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
ConnectWise is great for MSPs and internal IT departments. It provides great reporting to see where the problem areas are and how to resolve them. It's great for those companies that have nationwide deployments and help IT departments to resolve end users' issues remotely.
Asfer Bin Saleh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It allows your team to receive, process and respond to service requests quickly and efficiently thanks to the ticket system that comes with ConnectWise Manage and this application does not have a multi-channel communication, adding that you have to have a level of training for that application because if you do not have it, handling it will be quite difficult.
October 04, 2019

One piece of the puzzle

Garry Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Automate integrates natively with the rest of the ConnectWise suite. If you are looking for a one-stop-shop, then Automate, Control and Sell are a great way to go. There are regular updates to the toolset, but because it has been around for so long certain aspects of it still seem quite dated. For example, the local client is not well optimized. The web version is making progress, but still lacking the ability to export asset reports called data views. Once all of the functionality from the local client is available on the web client that will make a significant difference.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Mature MSP's can't go wrong selecting Automate as their RMM tool, as long as you dedicate qualified personnel to get the most out of the product. It is well suited for in house, or co-managed IT. We let some in house IT staff use Automate for their internal use and if they invest the time in learning the basics, it is a good value add. It often just ends up being the way they remote into their computers.

Startup MSP's, or those who just don't understand the value of automation - Automate isn't for you. You can get some good value out of it, but the complexity and cost may outweigh the benefits if you just don't have the scale or dedicated, skilled resources to really get the most out of the product.
Jonathan Hozeska | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ConnectWise Automate solves all of our inventory and network health issues. We have deployed it in multi-site, wide area networks to provide common critical desktop support and automation tasks. Integrations available for ConnectWise Automate further extend its abilities into areas outside of common desktop management. Its powerful scripting capabilities with back-end data aggregations provide the core of its features.
Return to navigation