TrustRadius
Couchbase headquartered in Mountain View, California offers the Couchbase Server, a NoSQL database.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3X/72/PLFWAXDHXJUJ.JPEGCouchbase Data Platform is pretty great, but it's not all rainbows and unicornsWe use Couchbase as the main backend database for our mobile data collection SaaS platform. We need to be able to collect any data that is valuable to our customers, and the Couchbase platform enables us to do that without having to worry about relational tables and schemas.,Key/value data store. Couchbase is blazing fast at data access and retrieval when you know what keys you want to access. Data querying with N1QL. If you have your indexes set up right, searching your unstructured data can be really fast too. Management dashboard. The Couchbase platform has a great admin panel that provides tons of insights into how your cluster is performing.,The Couchbase mobile suite is great, in theory. In practice we have found the sync to be somewhat unreliable, to the point where we had to write our own logic to push data to the server. We have not had a chance to upgrade to the new 2.0 version of mobile yet, so these issues may have been resolved there. 5 years later, the sync gateway component still isn't integrated into the main data platform. The Couchbase platform does a really great job at letting you independently scale services, but the sync gateway is still a standalone component. I get the feeling there is a rift between the Couchbase mobile team and Couchbase server team, or possibly that the Couchbase mobile product is just a side project or second-class citizen in the Couchbase world. One of the reasons that initially drew us to Couchbase was their touted dedication to open source development. Over the past year or so, they have really backed off on that. At the 2018 Couchbase connect conference, I didn't even hear the phrase 'open source' mentioned once. If you really dig into the source code that is available, you'll find that pretty much all new features are being developed closed-source in private repositories. So while you can build the 'community edition' yourself, it's not even close to what the full platform offers. So if you do hear any mention of 'Couchbase is open source', be aware that it's a bit of a facade.,8,The Couchbase data platform has made our product possible. We flat out wouldn't be able to do what we're doing on a traditional RDBMS.,8,8,The ability to support flexible data modeling has made our product possible. We make a mobile data collection platform that is totally configuration driven, and works for any vertical market we throw at it. That's because our data isn't tied to any particular schema. If we need to change the way a for looks or behaves, we just do it and save the new data to the DB - it doesn't care. If we needed to manage RDBMS tables for each data form / workflow we support, we simply wouldn't be able to scale.,We use Couchbase mobile heavily. I wouldn't say it's 'easy' to sync data to mobile apps. In practice, we have found the sync engine to be unreliable. When we first deployed Couchbase mobile at scale in 2016, we were plagued with sync issues and missing data. We worked for months trying to resolve these issues until we finally decided to write our own engine to push data from mobile to server. Today in production we use Couchbase mobile's sync engine to pull data down from the server, but use our own to push it back up. In our experience, Couchbase mobile was pretty terrible at detecting cell connection drops, incomplete / aborted syncs, phantom cell connections, etc. so we took it into our own hands. That being said, we are still using version 1.5 of Couchbase mobile. I'm aware that Couchbase did a full rewrite of their sync engine for 2.0, but we haven't upgraded to it yet, mainly because stability has not been a strength of the Couchbase mobile team. We were there during the 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 era and I can say that bugs abounded and fixes were released slowly. So we're giving 2.0 a lot of time to mature before we jump on the bandwagon.,MongoDBExcellent, fast, scalable data platformWe use it primarily when a fast, scalable database solution is required. This is critical in time sensitive operations. Given the focus placed on N1QL, it makes picking up by traditional SQL developers easier.,Ease of adoption Speed Ease of configuration,Analytics need to have time-series features to compete with OLAP solutions,10,Faster development More scalable New platform for developers to learn always increases ramp-up time Excellent support staff,10,10,Most of my use cases have had fairly stable schemas for the most part. But, in our SDLC, we have added fields as needed. This flexibility has meant that we haven't needed to give much thought to data migrations as the model changes.,We have not used it yet, but future mobile app development will most likely use Couchbase mobile.,MongoDB, MarkLogic, Redis, MySQL, PostgreSQL and Microsoft SQL ServerReview on Couchbase - trying it out to replace CosmosDb and MongoDbWe are writing a PoC at the moment to validate that Couchbase makes sense for our use case. Mojio essentially needs a solution that is more scalable and with performance than what we use now. Couchbase seems to be a good candidate with all functionalities and the caching layer, so we are at the evaluation phase. If it turns out to be a better solution, we will firstly migrate our date to Couchbase and eventually use analytics and even the mobile features.,The managed caching layer. The easy integration with analytics. The mobile features.,More online support (courses, etc). More documentation. The conference was awesome, so more conferences a year :),7,We are still at the Poc concept, so potentially cost savings. Potentially better performance. Potentially better scalability.,8,8,We come from a NoSQL data world, so the "document-based" schemas are not news to us. I did not see anything different than other NoSQL could offer in this sense.,We are still at the PoC concept, but we can potentially benefit from this capability and get rid of our whole push notification system, which is apparently less reliable than the solution offered by Couchbase.,Azure Cosmos DB and MongoDBPleased with the choice to use CouchbaseWe are implementing Couchbase to improve performance for several applications in our datacenter.,Improved Performance XDCR between locations Ease of expanding the cluster size,At rest encryption The ability to handle large data sets without the need for nodes that have huge amounts of memory.,9,The ease of deployment and scalability withing Couchbase has been a great asset to our teams, allowing us to deploy a solution in Couchbase in 20 mins. We have yet to deploy an existing application into Couchbase, but hope to see massive performance improvements once we do so. New deployments have gone smoothly as we have transitioned to using Couchbase for new product offerings.,10,9,We have not been able to utilize the capabilities of this design, but hope to do so in the future.,This is not something we have chosen to implement as of yet in our applications.,Oracle NoSQL DatabaseI like CouchBase!It is used in our team's product backend service developing. Due to fast performance and good persistance of CouchBase, we use it as our caching and also database.,Good persistence with replication feature Fast like cache,Some bugs during data replication Some timeout issues Does not upgrade easily-- not so compatible,9,Time saved through ease of management Faster development lifecycle Faster app running speed,8,10,Flexible data is good. Especially N1QL is designed to query data. One Suggestion: If caching query results could be done better, the speed could be even faster.,We don't have bussiness with mobile apps yet. But it sounds powerful!,MongoDB
Windows, Linux, Mac
Couchbase Data Platform
69 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Couchbase Data Platform Reviews

Couchbase Data Platform
69 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 69 vetted Couchbase Data Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ryan J. Thompson profile photo
September 24, 2018

Review: "Couchbase Data Platform is pretty great, but it's not all rainbows and unicorns"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase as the main backend database for our mobile data collection SaaS platform. We need to be able to collect any data that is valuable to our customers, and the Couchbase platform enables us to do that without having to worry about relational tables and schemas.
  • Key/value data store. Couchbase is blazing fast at data access and retrieval when you know what keys you want to access.
  • Data querying with N1QL. If you have your indexes set up right, searching your unstructured data can be really fast too.
  • Management dashboard. The Couchbase platform has a great admin panel that provides tons of insights into how your cluster is performing.
  • The Couchbase mobile suite is great, in theory. In practice we have found the sync to be somewhat unreliable, to the point where we had to write our own logic to push data to the server. We have not had a chance to upgrade to the new 2.0 version of mobile yet, so these issues may have been resolved there.
  • 5 years later, the sync gateway component still isn't integrated into the main data platform. The Couchbase platform does a really great job at letting you independently scale services, but the sync gateway is still a standalone component. I get the feeling there is a rift between the Couchbase mobile team and Couchbase server team, or possibly that the Couchbase mobile product is just a side project or second-class citizen in the Couchbase world.
  • One of the reasons that initially drew us to Couchbase was their touted dedication to open source development. Over the past year or so, they have really backed off on that. At the 2018 Couchbase connect conference, I didn't even hear the phrase 'open source' mentioned once. If you really dig into the source code that is available, you'll find that pretty much all new features are being developed closed-source in private repositories. So while you can build the 'community edition' yourself, it's not even close to what the full platform offers. So if you do hear any mention of 'Couchbase is open source', be aware that it's a bit of a facade.
If you're looking to store millions of data records for millions of users, where each user only accesses a couple of documents (auth, user profiles, private data store), you can't beat Couchbase for performance or scale.

If you want to store tons of data records with varying schemas or totally unstructured data, Couchbase is also a great fit. Their N1QL engine is pretty amazing and pretty fast, but don't expect SQL level performance.

If you're building a simple application with traditional relational data and on a tight budget, I'd say stick with something like Postgres.

Read Ryan J. Thompson's full review
Alex Cavnar profile photo
September 27, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Excellent, fast, scalable data platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily when a fast, scalable database solution is required. This is critical in time sensitive operations. Given the focus placed on N1QL, it makes picking up by traditional SQL developers easier.
  • Ease of adoption
  • Speed
  • Ease of configuration
  • Analytics need to have time-series features to compete with OLAP solutions
Couchbase is great for any general purpose situation, especially when speed and availability is a concern. If your data model changes frequently or is heavily unstructured, Couchbase is great.

However, if you need schema validation or enforcement, it lags behind, because that's not the point of the database. Also, because N1QL relies heavily on indexes, I wouldn't recommend it if you plan to do a lot of ad-hoc queries on your production data, as enabling the general index on a production server is not recommended.
Read Alex Cavnar's full review
Cesar Lula profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform: "Review on Couchbase - trying it out to replace CosmosDb and MongoDb"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are writing a PoC at the moment to validate that Couchbase makes sense for our use case. Mojio essentially needs a solution that is more scalable and with performance than what we use now. Couchbase seems to be a good candidate with all functionalities and the caching layer, so we are at the evaluation phase. If it turns out to be a better solution, we will firstly migrate our date to Couchbase and eventually use analytics and even the mobile features.
  • The managed caching layer.
  • The easy integration with analytics.
  • The mobile features.
  • More online support (courses, etc).
  • More documentation.
  • The conference was awesome, so more conferences a year :)
It is suited for scenarios in which a managed cache layer is needed, better integration with mobile data.
Read Cesar Lula's full review
Tyler Twitchell profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Pleased with the choice to use Couchbase"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are implementing Couchbase to improve performance for several applications in our datacenter.
  • Improved Performance
  • XDCR between locations
  • Ease of expanding the cluster size
  • At rest encryption
  • The ability to handle large data sets without the need for nodes that have huge amounts of memory.
Scaling and performance are the main benefits that I see from using Couchbase. It seems where speed is not necessary that another model would be preferable to have a hybrid between speed and the ability to store large amounts of data without the need for servers with a crazy amount of RAM or having to create 40-50 servers to accommodate the need.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Shizheng Zhang profile photo
September 25, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "I like CouchBase!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our team's product backend service developing. Due to fast performance and good persistance of CouchBase, we use it as our caching and also database.
  • Good persistence with replication feature
  • Fast like cache
  • Some bugs during data replication
  • Some timeout issues
  • Does not upgrade easily-- not so compatible
When you need cache and also need database and some search or analytics function, CouchBase has all of them
Read Shizheng Zhang's full review
Glen Kim profile photo
September 24, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform: "Review from kimco"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used by all departments at my current organization. Some teams use it for testing the data collection process and others use it as a bank ATM locator tool since Couchbase supports GIS. There are a few [departments] who will also consider using it for Member 360 as well.
  • Scaleability
  • No modeling
  • Performance
  • Easy usage
  • History lookup in monitoring
  • Central monitoring for all clusters
Transient data that can be removed after certain timeframe.
It may not be suitable for source of records like member account information that needs to be kept for audit purpose.
Read Glen Kim's full review
Nicholas Hrboka profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is fast."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fairly new employee, Couchbase is currently used in our production applications due to Couchbase lite and it's offline capabilities. We utilize sync-gateway for the write requests and N1Q1 for read requests.
  • I have enjoyed using the built in REST API analytics endpoints to monitor the status of my nodes.
  • As someone fairly new to Couchbase, not sure I have any ideas for improvements yet.
As far as I know, Couchbase is great for application that utilize offline features and sync-gateway seems like a great tool. I have noticed that speed is very important to Couchbase, and I appreciate that a lot.
Read Nicholas Hrboka's full review
Frank Keefer profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is faster."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love how easy it is to develop in Couchbase. I’ve used MongoDB in the past but the time to get running is much less in Couchbase.
  • Time to get running
  • Speed of queries
  • A small dev instance takes a little bit more horsepower to run.
Couchbase is well suited to large data, high availability, high performance.
Read Frank Keefer's full review
RJ Michels profile photo
May 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Conquers All!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is being used across the whole organization as it provides a vital tool to manage the data coming from various projects. Although these projects were in separate silos at one point, now we have the ability to better analyze our data even though it is mostly unstructured.
  • The platform provides the best integration of data delivered via mobile app.
  • The platform is good at real-time analysis of multiple data streams.
  • The platform is intuitive for admins to manage with good tools for permission setting.
  • The administrator functions via mobile are slightly difficult to find.
  • Data streams must be correctly integrated as opposed to AI-based integration of the streams.
I think Couchbase Data Platform is well suited for a scenario where server integration is seamless to the mobile experience. It's also very well suited in areas where new data steams need to be constantly integrated.
Read RJ Michels's full review
Tyler Jenkins profile photo
May 23, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is a Cut Above"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used across our organization and we have a large amount of data sprawl that needs to be effectively managed. Further, we also use the platform to manage different use cases for sales, marketing, and operations team members.
  • For a financial firm, fraud detection is of the utmost importance, and Couchbase does this very well -- but then, you also can leverage this data for better real-time analysis and detection
  • We needed strong response times when customer profiles are actively changing and updating, and Couchbase passed with flying colors
  • Couchbase does not have a very digestible view for admins, it is more of a secondary thought to maximizing the functionality of the platform
  • Couchbase could provide a better UI for updating Server from a mobile or tablet
Couchbase is best suited when managing multiple streams of real-time and existing data.
Read Tyler Jenkins's full review
Sai Kumar profile photo
May 15, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase - A New Era Database Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used as a data platform for both existing and new applications. It is the NoSQL platform of choice for the organization.
  • Provides ANSI SQL capabilities using N1QL
  • Auditing, eventing and analytics in the latest versions of Couchbase
  • TTL based document expiry to avoid batch deletes and improve overall cluster performance
  • Memory first approach to accessing data
  • RBAC and auditing provide excellent security capabilities in limiting privileges and identifying activities
  • Consolidate the number of logs and remove generic log messages for quick troubleshooting
  • Better error handling capabilities using error# to identify and address critical errors
Well suited for:
  • Document driven application usage
  • Migrating smaller databases from RDBMS to Couchbase
  • Less i/o, rather more memory-centric applications
  • Horizontally scalable environment
Less appropriate for:
  • Data warehouse that requires higher data retention
  • Normalized data environments that are structured and are limited to a schema.
  • Vertically scalable environments that require higher CPU/memory
Read Sai Kumar's full review
No photo available
October 22, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "High performance and easy management database"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my department, Couchbase is used to in a POC project to evaluate the overall performance, comparing the current DB2.
  • High performance reads and writes.
  • Powerful querying and lightweight analytics.
  • Low latency reads.
  • Replication
  • Scalability
  • Community Edition is buggy.
It performs really well for the high-performance content management with light weight analytics. However, it is not recommended for the scenarios where the highest level of database security is required and/or real time analytics is enforced.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "High performance and scalability NoSQL for business solutions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build enterprise data security solutions with the Couchbase Data Platform to deliver the outstanding performance and superior user experience to our clients and customers. Couchbase is becoming one of the critical pieces to our work, and is going to be further integrated into our enterprise solutions. Currently, Couchbase is heavily used by one business unit and we are evaluating the possible directions to roll out the solution to other products across the company. Our enterprise solutions provide secure data management and protection featuring real-time analytics, which significantly benefits from the low latency and high scalability.
  • Low latency and high performance
  • Easy-to-scale and asynchronous replication
  • High scalability
  • Live cluster reconfiguration
  • High sustained throughput
  • Full-text search
  • Real-time analytics
  • Advanced security and auditing
  • Indexing mechanisms need improvement
  • JSON support not as good when compared to others
It is well suited for highly scalable, interactive applications. Less appropriate if the applications require strong security with frequent replications, especially ones that run in multi-cloud environments.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Reducing cloud costs and improving performance for our nosql needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are evaluating and PoC'ing couchbase to move our existing unstructured data into a more cost-effective and scalable nosql datastore. We're a small company so it's being used by our platform engineering team, and regarding business problems, as i mentioned it's mostly to reduce cost and allow for better analytics/insights. Our current nosql store doesn't really allow any kind of live querying without impacting production performance.
  • Analytics (in the beta version) - being able to run broad queries and derive insights without affecting the operational store (ie. production systems)
  • Performance - the memory caching is a big boost from the other nosql dbs we evaluated
  • XDCR - super easy for cross region replication
  • Needs a managed cloud offering (ie. no worrying about infrastructure, kubernetes or anything.....just provision and go, and no devops required)
  • Documentation online could be more consolidated, and more of it :-)
  • It's not immediately clear which data to combine into the same bucket, versus which data to put into their own buckets (ie. guidance for which "type"s go together)
Seems well suited for systems which require a large amount of read/writes to a nosql database, or for analytics use cases where a traditional batch ETL system isn't good enough. It's less appropriate for structured data and transactional access.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 21, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase - During our testing phase"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the testing phase with the Couchbase Data Platform. We want to take advantage of the direct JSON communication as we are slowly converting our current application to be web based. We also want to take advantage of its offline capabilities as our application will be run under different scenarios. If this platform proves itself efficient, we do foresee it being used for the whole organization to manage web-driven data. We constantly have employees who visit other companies and need the most current data from our internal database which Couchbase Lite might be able to help with.
  • Mobile integration - SDKs that can be written in common languages for mobile development
  • Easy failovers - create and duplicate servers with ease
  • Direct communication with web app - no need to serialize/convert JSON to relational tables
  • Should allow servers to change their roles on the fly - currently you will need to take down the server and re-assign roles
  • SDK documentation is not as helpful and should have more examples
  • No pre-compiled procedures - unlike in SQL Server, Couchbase does not have pre-compiled stored procedures therefore we have to run various test to optimize our application
The Couchbase Data Platform is well suited for application that are going to ran under different networking scenarios. Where users either have weak or no signal but still need the most current data. Since this platform solves for concurrency and allows for users to use the nearest located server, it will optimize the run time and the receiving of data. This is not suited for applications that are ran under single instances. For example, apps that are for single use or internal kiosk applications that are in one area.
Read this authenticated review
Brant Burnett profile photo
April 06, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Sitting On A Couchbase All Day Is Great For Your (Mental) Health"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CenterEdge Software has been using Couchbase for a variety of use cases for many years. We started as simple query cache in 2012, then moved to shopping cart persistence, and now it's our primary database for our cloud-based products. Couchbase provides an easy to use but powerful platform that is very scalable, highly available, and performant. This allows us to design an application that we can be confident will scale to handle all of our customers' needs as we continue to onboard accounts. The ability to avoid downtime to perform scaling is particularly important since our customers are distributed around the globe.
  • Scalability - As our needs grow we can scale horizontally, taking advantage of autosharding. This is much less cumbersome than dealing with manual partitioning in RDBMS systems.
  • Availability - Automatic replication and failover within the cluster means we have no downtime, even if a node fails. It also means that we can scale up or perform database upgrades with zero down time.
  • Agility - The schemaless nature of Couchbase allows us to continuously deploy new application versions that add additional data to records, without the overhead and complexity of using DDL to alter table schemas.
  • Query Optimization - While the SQL-based query language is very robust and powerful, the automatic query optimization isn't as mature as RDBMS platforms. This requires a bit more attention to indexing and index hints.
  • Management UI - The management UI is much better than most other NoSQL platforms, but the need to connect to different nodes in the cluster depending on which function you are performing (FTS queries, N1QL queries, view management) can be a minor frustration.
  • Index Replica Management - The process for managing index replicas for high availability is not yet a streamlined as the other services, and can require some manual maintenance.
Couchbase is very well suited for any cloud-based deployment where performance, scalability, availability, and agility are valued over ACID transactions. This includes online stores, social media, IoT data streams, and much more. It also fits exceptionally well with microservices architectures, where eventual consistency (without ACID transactions) is the norm. Any development shop using Domain Driven Design techniques will also find the document storage approach of Couchbase fits well with aggregate persistence patterns as well.
Read Brant Burnett's full review
Jenny Hendriks profile photo
May 11, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Clears the Bar!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Couchbase Data Platform gives us an opportunity to maintain user profiles to support authentication over multiple channels. We also are able to incorporate real-time analytics by leveraging streaming integration with Hadoop. We use it across the whole organization since we see many benefits to being on a single platform. We are also considering using it to help us manage customer profiles.
  • Profile Management
  • Real-Time Big Data
  • Personalization
  • The interface is a bit clunky, and could be improved to produce a better UX for administrators.
The Couchbase Data Platform is best suited for profile management of employees and personalization through user profiles.
Read Jenny Hendriks's full review
Wes Rosenberg profile photo
April 16, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase HA"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's the core database for our call processing platform.
  • Speed and access to data in a very high speed environment
  • Scalability to handle large amounts of data
  • Reliability and redundancy in a very highly available environment
  • Support
  • Easier upgrade paths to newer versions
As with any NoSQL database, it greatly increases our time to market and ability to act "agile" with changes to data models and services that utilize those models.
Read Wes Rosenberg's full review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Review: "Transforming driver engagement with CouchBase Data Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used by Coyote IT department because it provides the real-time synchronization and offline mode we needed.
We deployed the Couchbase Data Platform to support the new driver statistics service. Couchbase Lite records statistics as the user is driving. Data is synchronized and stored to the Couchbase Server through the Couchbase Sync Gateway. The Coyote service creates aggregated documents, and stores them back in the Couchbase Server. Drivers then retrieve that data through the mobile app or a website.
  • Couchbase Data Platform is an End to End solution, from Mobile to Backend. It allows bringing NoSQL databases to embedded devices.
  • It is scalable and we can adapt the number of nodes according to our needs (multidimensional).
  • The Couchbase support is really good. Each time we needed them, we could have someone on the phone very quickly.
  • Our main issue with Couchbase Data Platform is the dependency of the Gateway to MAP / REDUCE views on the server side. Those views may sometimes fail with a high workload and it is the main bottleneck in our current use case.
  • Couchbase is currently working on it and we are waiting for the next version which will rely on the N1QL index because they are far more reliable and scalable than views.
Couchbase is very well suited for all KEY / VALUE needs based on NoSQL solution.
Couchbase is also very very good for bringing NoSQL DB to mobile applications including all synchronization process.
For now, it is a little less fitted to handle huge workload from Mobile because of Map/Reduce view dependency.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 10, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "On-line and off line usage key"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to support out applications that must run in stand alone and networked mode. We are expanding our offerings to a IOT solution as well.
  • The schema-less architecture allow us to provide backward support to system points and make changes at the same time.
  • Couchbase lite helps with offline data stores, and makes online syncing very easy.
  • Noft a ton of books written about it, most online support is from Couchbase itself.
  • Management console can be cumbersome.
Great scenario for more flexible data stores, but not great for highly relational data. Schema-less architecture can make data integrity a much more application side problem.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 23, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Great data platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The technology is used across many departments and to solve multiple business problems ranging from Internal apps to External apps.
  • Low latency response time with the help of managed cache at bucket level
  • Cross data center replication for high availability across data centers and disaster recovery
  • Secondary indexing and N1QL query support
  • Real-time scaling and Ease of administration
  • Lack of Enterprise features such as centralized administration tool, auditing, replication network.
It is well suited for web and mobile channels where low latency is very important.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2017

Couchbase Data Platform: "Couchbase Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I've] used couchbase server for a session based database as well as storing some of the meta info we had for our analytical end of the database.
  • Performance, it is way better than Mongo
  • Ease of maintanence. Reduced factor in tryng to resolve issues.
  • Scales easily and quickly.
  • HA across DCs is really needed, which was provided.
  • Reduction in pricing
  • Slightly better documentation
  • Allow community to submit/commit
[Well suited] for fast lookups on docstore it outperforms. But as a key value lookup, not so much, especially when it comes to writes.
Read this authenticated review
Jordan Moore profile photo
August 02, 2016

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Server - full of useful features, despite difficult to navigate documentation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I stay up to date on the latest Couchbase Server news and features. By my organization, it is strictly being evaluated as a arguably better NoSQL database alternative to MongoDB. As a consultant at Avalon Consulting, LLC., I helped implement 2 benchmarks comparing the major Couchbase releases of 4.0 and 4.5, which introduced the new N1QL functionality.
  • Scaling - By adding more hardware to the Couchbase Server cluster, one can quickly benefit from the overall increase in performance of the system
  • Mobile Synchronization - As a mobile developer, keeping data in sync between an embedded SQLite database and a RDBMS system takes more effort and thought than necessary and reduces time spent developing the rest of the application. Couchbase Server paired with the Sync Gateway and Couchbase Mobile significantly simplifies those transactions.
  • Hands-on documentation via Classes, Seminars, and Tutorials - The free videos on Couchbase's YouTube channel and the courses and seminars that are offered cover much of the basics needed to understand how to quickly get started with Couchbase Server and the features it provides.
  • No enforced schema policy - While this is true of most NoSQL technologies, the main benefit that I see Couchbase has is that they have recommended patterns for designing stored data.
  • Written documentation - Overall, navigating the documentation site is difficult. There have been several times when I try to search for something and find outdated code references or articles.
I would recommend Couchbase Server to someone looking for a quick, scalable NoSQL database with some additional useful features such as Mobile Synchronization, and SQL query support. In addition to that, there are connectors to Elasticsearch, which make it useful in search analytics, and Kafka, which make it useful in a Big Data / Hadoop environment. While the examples and tutorials are plentiful, the online written documentation is difficult to navigate.
Read Jordan Moore's full review
Charles Chao profile photo
March 01, 2016

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Is the Simple but Effective Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used in the engineering department. We used it as a centralized cache for key-value pairs, for our systems to perform large amounts of lookups. We have a cluster of Couchbase Servers, and mostly we are used the in-memory cache.
  • The Couchbase cluster was very stable. We almost never needed any maintenance work for the cluster.
  • The throughput was excellent. We started with just a 5-node cluster, and it sustained 700K/sec lookup operations for extended period of time. Later we upgraded to a 20-node cluster, it was able to take 1.2 million read/write operations. That's probably the limit of our client application.
  • Very easy on admin side.
  • Based on our use case, we don't have anything in particular that's not satisfactory.
I think Couchbase is very well suited as a centralized cache layer for a heavy load of read operations.
Read Charles Chao's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (21)
8.2
Availability (20)
7.7
Concurrency (20)
7.7
Security (20)
6.9
Scalability (20)
8.1
Data model flexibility (20)
8.5
Deployment model flexibility (19)
8.0

About Couchbase Data Platform

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with powerful NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at any scale.

Customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names. For more information, visit www.couchbase.com.

Categories:  NoSQL Databases

Couchbase Data Platform Features

Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Data Platform Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Data Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No