TrustRadius
Couchbase headquartered in Mountain View, California offers the Couchbase Server, a NoSQL database.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3X/72/PLFWAXDHXJUJ.JPEGQuick, reliable, and easy to work with. Couchbase has a bright future ahead of it.Couchbase is now our first choice for NoSQL for many teams/groups/departments in Western Union. It serves a purpose for a quick and easy transition from old expensive RMDS databases to the new generation of cloud NoSQL storage.,Couchbase is easy to set up in the cloud or on the on-premise servers. Within minutes you can get yourself a database that will cheap, conveniently accessed, and highly available. More than that - it'll retain the way to query it like a traditional RDMS. Couchbase is easy to maintain because high availability is one of its main features. You can build your Couchbase cluster on, say, 10 virtual boxes in the cloud, and have all the work on the database side done without any interruption to your applications. Couchbase has great customer support. They are always ready to help when you face a problem. Tickets opened easily and get a quick response on support.couchbase.com. Documentation is awesome. N1QL query language (very close to a standard SQL) is great when your application cannot rely entirely on key-value gets. This makes it easy to convert the tables of legacy RDMS and applications accessing it to the new generation of apps-database combo.,General recommendation from Couchbase would be to have RAM on servers big enough to fit 20-25% of a dataset. This is promised to be driven down to just single percents with release 6.5 in summer of 2019. This can drive the cost of underlying servers dramatically for huge TB databases. Indexes are tied to specific servers. It'll be nice at some point to have them spread across all index nodes and be able to rebalance indexes the same way as data itself.,10,A quick transition from traditional RDMS to cloud NoSQL. Significantly fewer work hours for DBAs. Quick read and write access converts into improved customer satisfaction.,10,8,Databases under my administration have complex JSON structures including arrays. All fields are still easily accessible by the query and can be indexed.,I had no experience with Couchbase Mobile.,Why I like CouchhbaseCouchbase is being used in our web site. It is the main caching system and we use it for shared sessions across the cluster. It is being used for all layers of our website, and by several other support systems, again mainly as a fast caching system across multiple servers in a cluster.,Fast fetching of data Easy to implement N1QL queries Even faster queries when using indexes,Easier method to increase the number of nodes in a cluster Official support for Node.JS sessions The ability to see when a document will expire,10,Faster app keeps the customer returning to our site The free community edition allows us to use Couchbase with only development time and infrastructure costs in mind Development time of shared session was very fast and easy,10,10,The agility of Couchbase was great for our web site. It allows us to write the data in a .NET application and read it in a Node.JS application. We can easily throw all of our cache into one bucket without any concern to the data types we insert. Couchbase also allows flexibility in the number of buckets we are using.,Our mobile site benefits from the same caching system as our desktop site. Since all of our suppliers measure us on Look to book ratio, we must make sure we make as little searches as possible while giving results for every search performed by any user. Shared caching allows us to give a search result without making an actual search, and bring results just from cache.,MongoDBCouchbase ReviewWe are using Couchbase as a backup for my JSON documents saved by Apache Nifi. This process, in the future, can move us to use a bi-directional replication feature between our companies.,Easy user interface. Bi-directional replication is good. Fails tolerance. Index of documents.,A migration tool from other SGBDs to Couchbase. Rest API commands 100% compatible with MongoDB for migrations applications without change code. Certification's program.,10,Very positive in the replication.,8,we haven't used this.,I would like to use this capability but we can´t use it yet.,Couchbase reviewCouchbase Data Platform is used at our Symantec Cloud Connect division for payments and invoice processing of various customers.,HA Monitoring Authentication Failover,Advanced monitoring Single page view for multiple clusters Collection-level separation of data,8,Quick deployment & easy upgrade Workload isolation (query, index, search, graph and AI) Multi-master option,9,8,Yes, its great dynamic flexible data model is well suited for modern agile applications,Yes, I am with mobile sync capability,Simple, Flexible, PowerfulOur organization has started using Couchbase. We have built our custom implementation for accessing Couchbase buckets. Some teams have already moved from Oracle to Couchbase, and we have seen good profits in the annual report. Many teams are making the move. Although many are transitioning to Couchbase, the majority of our teams are using Oracle, due to our clientele. Couchbase makes business easy and simple. Since Couchbase uses NoSQL, it's very flexible and versatile to create and maintain documents where our clients require change over time. It`s extremely handy to modify the documents on the go. With no specific schema, we can work with different types of data with varying lengths. Seeking and accessing data takes less time compared to traditional RDBMS. But Couchbase does introduce a few problems. Since schema is absent, there are no validations on the data. Triggering data inserts/updates needs to be handled separately. Short procedures have now become lengthy java classes. Unnesting and accessing elements of the array takes forever, and it usually fails with a timeout. Considering the pros and cons, moving to Couchbase is a good decision for mobile and web developers, and for new companies.,Schema-free. Today's changing demands in mobile and web development is well suited with the free document structure that Couchbase offers. Snappy results. Couchbase is faster than traditional RDBMS. Couchbase supports ACID “transactions” on a per-document level.,Could benefit from triggers during transactions, so that the other documents get updated automatically, or to execute a particular logic. Schema type validation on individual fields, whilst providing a schema-free document structure, would be great.,9,Faster execution time compared to using traditional RDBMS. Schema-free flexible document structure. Low production cost.,8,7,With a flexible JSON structure with basically no schema, it comes in quite handy to keep up with clients' changing requirements. Als,o various data types, and varying lengths of data can be accommodated within a single JSON document. All the data can be kept as a key or value, depending on the user's choice.,Yes, Mobile apps primarily use JSON which integrates with web applications using JSON. Hence, it is beneficial.
Windows, Linux, Mac
Couchbase Data Platform
87 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Couchbase Data Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Couchbase Data Platform
87 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 87 vetted Couchbase Data Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Artem Nemkov profile photo
April 11, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Quick, reliable, and easy to work with. Couchbase has a bright future ahead of it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is now our first choice for NoSQL for many teams/groups/departments in Western Union. It serves a purpose for a quick and easy transition from old expensive RMDS databases to the new generation of cloud NoSQL storage.
  • Couchbase is easy to set up in the cloud or on the on-premise servers. Within minutes you can get yourself a database that will cheap, conveniently accessed, and highly available. More than that - it'll retain the way to query it like a traditional RDMS.
  • Couchbase is easy to maintain because high availability is one of its main features. You can build your Couchbase cluster on, say, 10 virtual boxes in the cloud, and have all the work on the database side done without any interruption to your applications.
  • Couchbase has great customer support. They are always ready to help when you face a problem. Tickets opened easily and get a quick response on support.couchbase.com. Documentation is awesome.
  • N1QL query language (very close to a standard SQL) is great when your application cannot rely entirely on key-value gets. This makes it easy to convert the tables of legacy RDMS and applications accessing it to the new generation of apps-database combo.
  • General recommendation from Couchbase would be to have RAM on servers big enough to fit 20-25% of a dataset. This is promised to be driven down to just single percents with release 6.5 in summer of 2019. This can drive the cost of underlying servers dramatically for huge TB databases.
  • Indexes are tied to specific servers. It'll be nice at some point to have them spread across all index nodes and be able to rebalance indexes the same way as data itself.
Couchbase will be best when quick access is important and the size of the database is not huge. For huge databases (say, greater than 5TB) the cost of underlying servers can be considerable. Couchbase is very good when high-availability is important. Also, Couchbase is "the quickest of them all" (as I say for some independent comparisons).
Read Artem Nemkov's full review
Gilad Teller profile photo
April 11, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Why I like Couchhbase"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is being used in our web site. It is the main caching system and we use it for shared sessions across the cluster.

It is being used for all layers of our website, and by several other support systems, again mainly as a fast caching system across multiple servers in a cluster.
  • Fast fetching of data
  • Easy to implement N1QL queries
  • Even faster queries when using indexes
  • Easier method to increase the number of nodes in a cluster
  • Official support for Node.JS sessions
  • The ability to see when a document will expire
Couchbase is a very good caching system. Getting data by key is very easy and intuitive. Getting data by a more complex N1QL requires a bit more learning, but is still easy for anyone who ever used SQL. Indexing is a bit more of an issue, and can make your app slower if it is not done correctly.
Read Gilad Teller's full review
Alberto Tavares profile photo
April 11, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform: "Couchbase Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Couchbase as a backup for my JSON documents saved by Apache Nifi. This process, in the future, can move us to use a bi-directional replication feature between our companies.
  • Easy user interface.
  • Bi-directional replication is good.
  • Fails tolerance.
  • Index of documents.
  • A migration tool from other SGBDs to Couchbase.
  • Rest API commands 100% compatible with MongoDB for migrations applications without change code.
  • Certification's program.
Replication is suited.
Mobile integration is more or less.
Read Alberto Tavares's full review
VenkataRamaRao Surapaneni profile photo
April 08, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform: "Couchbase review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used at our Symantec Cloud Connect division for payments and invoice processing of various customers.
  • HA
  • Monitoring
  • Authentication
  • Failover
  • Advanced monitoring
  • Single page view for multiple clusters
  • Collection-level separation of data
It's more appropriate for Caching, Social Media, IoT, Sensors, Modern e-commerce, etc. It's less appropriate for applications that require complex transactions with strong 2-phase commits, strong server-side business logic with transactions and advanced analytics.
Read VenkataRamaRao Surapaneni's full review
No photo available
April 12, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Simple, Flexible, Powerful"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has started using Couchbase. We have built our custom implementation for accessing Couchbase buckets. Some teams have already moved from Oracle to Couchbase, and we have seen good profits in the annual report. Many teams are making the move. Although many are transitioning to Couchbase, the majority of our teams are using Oracle, due to our clientele.
Couchbase makes business easy and simple. Since Couchbase uses NoSQL, it's very flexible and versatile to create and maintain documents where our clients require change over time. It`s extremely handy to modify the documents on the go. With no specific schema, we can work with different types of data with varying lengths. Seeking and accessing data takes less time compared to traditional RDBMS.
But Couchbase does introduce a few problems. Since schema is absent, there are no validations on the data. Triggering data inserts/updates needs to be handled separately. Short procedures have now become lengthy java classes. Unnesting and accessing elements of the array takes forever, and it usually fails with a timeout.
Considering the pros and cons, moving to Couchbase is a good decision for mobile and web developers, and for new companies.
  • Schema-free. Today's changing demands in mobile and web development is well suited with the free document structure that Couchbase offers.
  • Snappy results. Couchbase is faster than traditional RDBMS.
  • Couchbase supports ACID “transactions” on a per-document level.
  • Could benefit from triggers during transactions, so that the other documents get updated automatically, or to execute a particular logic.
  • Schema type validation on individual fields, whilst providing a schema-free document structure, would be great.
Couchbase is especially suited for applications where there are frequent changes to the document structure. We prefer to use the Couchbase server for web and mobile applications.
Couchbase is not preferred to be implemented for legacy applications that are only needing maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase on mobile is a winner!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is currently being used as a part of our mobile stack, specifically for the Sync Gateway capabilities. It allows for easy management of data state and for push/pull of updates, The built-in XDCR capabilities allow us to migrate data easily from one server cluster to another easily when needed. The NoSQL format allows us to massage our data into a much more consumable and lighter weight format, increasing sync performance.
  • Easy sync protocol to mobile devices, the minimal code needed to pull data down to a device.
  • Powerful indexing that can be as simple or as complex as you need, allowing for quick lookups for commonly used data sets.
  • Great analytics present in the server dashboard that allows you a great top-down view of system usage, resources, etc.
  • Bit of a steep learning curve to get a cluster set up, especially with sync gateway.
Data that is highly flexible and not necessarily formatted to a specific standard is great in the Couchbase platform. The JSON based structure of the documents allows for easy addition/removal of fields from a document as well as no migration headaches.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2019

"Couchbase Data Platform Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our applications to store the data physically.
  • Performs well.
  • Scalable.
  • Support should be highly available immediately as these are used for mission-critical systems.
  • Support for auto backup restore schedule within the console.
  • Increase the limit of the number of buckets.
It is the perfect solution for fast data retrieval if consistency is not an issue.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2019

"Couchbase Data Platform Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase as a session storage system due to its great performance and easy cross data center (XDCR) system.
  • Session storage.
  • Querying using the N1QL Query language.
  • Scalability.
  • Materialized views
  • Procedures.
Couchbase is best suited with session management/storage, as it's high speed, flexible model makes it the best in class for that application.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 08, 2019

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase, continue growing as you are already doing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used across the whole organization. It is our primary and unique database we work with. It addresses user registration and business profile payments. Right now we are about to integrate the eventing service. The underlying database is what makes the difference.
  • Core database engine
  • Scale-out architecture
  • Query
  • Provide more examples of complex queries
  • Provide more examples of better index usage
More appropriate:
- Easy to use.
- Easy to administrate after setting it up.
Less appropriate:
- Simple database use case
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 22, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "High performance and easy management database"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my department, Couchbase is used to in a POC project to evaluate the overall performance, comparing the current DB2.
  • High performance reads and writes.
  • Powerful querying and lightweight analytics.
  • Low latency reads.
  • Replication
  • Scalability
  • Community Edition is buggy.
It performs really well for the high-performance content management with light weight analytics. However, it is not recommended for the scenarios where the highest level of database security is required and/or real time analytics is enforced.
Read this authenticated review
Ryan J. Thompson profile photo
September 24, 2018

Review: "Couchbase Data Platform is pretty great, but it's not all rainbows and unicorns"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase as the main backend database for our mobile data collection SaaS platform. We need to be able to collect any data that is valuable to our customers, and the Couchbase platform enables us to do that without having to worry about relational tables and schemas.
  • Key/value data store. Couchbase is blazing fast at data access and retrieval when you know what keys you want to access.
  • Data querying with N1QL. If you have your indexes set up right, searching your unstructured data can be really fast too.
  • Management dashboard. The Couchbase platform has a great admin panel that provides tons of insights into how your cluster is performing.
  • The Couchbase mobile suite is great, in theory. In practice we have found the sync to be somewhat unreliable, to the point where we had to write our own logic to push data to the server. We have not had a chance to upgrade to the new 2.0 version of mobile yet, so these issues may have been resolved there.
  • 5 years later, the sync gateway component still isn't integrated into the main data platform. The Couchbase platform does a really great job at letting you independently scale services, but the sync gateway is still a standalone component. I get the feeling there is a rift between the Couchbase mobile team and Couchbase server team, or possibly that the Couchbase mobile product is just a side project or second-class citizen in the Couchbase world.
  • One of the reasons that initially drew us to Couchbase was their touted dedication to open source development. Over the past year or so, they have really backed off on that. At the 2018 Couchbase connect conference, I didn't even hear the phrase 'open source' mentioned once. If you really dig into the source code that is available, you'll find that pretty much all new features are being developed closed-source in private repositories. So while you can build the 'community edition' yourself, it's not even close to what the full platform offers. So if you do hear any mention of 'Couchbase is open source', be aware that it's a bit of a facade.
If you're looking to store millions of data records for millions of users, where each user only accesses a couple of documents (auth, user profiles, private data store), you can't beat Couchbase for performance or scale.

If you want to store tons of data records with varying schemas or totally unstructured data, Couchbase is also a great fit. Their N1QL engine is pretty amazing and pretty fast, but don't expect SQL level performance.

If you're building a simple application with traditional relational data and on a tight budget, I'd say stick with something like Postgres.

Read Ryan J. Thompson's full review
Alex Cavnar profile photo
September 27, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Excellent, fast, scalable data platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily when a fast, scalable database solution is required. This is critical in time sensitive operations. Given the focus placed on N1QL, it makes picking up by traditional SQL developers easier.
  • Ease of adoption
  • Speed
  • Ease of configuration
  • Analytics need to have time-series features to compete with OLAP solutions
Couchbase is great for any general purpose situation, especially when speed and availability is a concern. If your data model changes frequently or is heavily unstructured, Couchbase is great.

However, if you need schema validation or enforcement, it lags behind, because that's not the point of the database. Also, because N1QL relies heavily on indexes, I wouldn't recommend it if you plan to do a lot of ad-hoc queries on your production data, as enabling the general index on a production server is not recommended.
Read Alex Cavnar's full review
Cesar Lula profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform: "Review on Couchbase - trying it out to replace CosmosDb and MongoDb"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are writing a PoC at the moment to validate that Couchbase makes sense for our use case. Mojio essentially needs a solution that is more scalable and with performance than what we use now. Couchbase seems to be a good candidate with all functionalities and the caching layer, so we are at the evaluation phase. If it turns out to be a better solution, we will firstly migrate our date to Couchbase and eventually use analytics and even the mobile features.
  • The managed caching layer.
  • The easy integration with analytics.
  • The mobile features.
  • More online support (courses, etc).
  • More documentation.
  • The conference was awesome, so more conferences a year :)
It is suited for scenarios in which a managed cache layer is needed, better integration with mobile data.
Read Cesar Lula's full review
Tyler Twitchell profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Pleased with the choice to use Couchbase"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are implementing Couchbase to improve performance for several applications in our datacenter.
  • Improved Performance
  • XDCR between locations
  • Ease of expanding the cluster size
  • At rest encryption
  • The ability to handle large data sets without the need for nodes that have huge amounts of memory.
Scaling and performance are the main benefits that I see from using Couchbase. It seems where speed is not necessary that another model would be preferable to have a hybrid between speed and the ability to store large amounts of data without the need for servers with a crazy amount of RAM or having to create 40-50 servers to accommodate the need.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Shizheng Zhang profile photo
September 25, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "I like CouchBase!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our team's product backend service developing. Due to fast performance and good persistance of CouchBase, we use it as our caching and also database.
  • Good persistence with replication feature
  • Fast like cache
  • Some bugs during data replication
  • Some timeout issues
  • Does not upgrade easily-- not so compatible
When you need cache and also need database and some search or analytics function, CouchBase has all of them
Read Shizheng Zhang's full review
Glen Kim profile photo
September 24, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform: "Review from kimco"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used by all departments at my current organization. Some teams use it for testing the data collection process and others use it as a bank ATM locator tool since Couchbase supports GIS. There are a few [departments] who will also consider using it for Member 360 as well.
  • Scaleability
  • No modeling
  • Performance
  • Easy usage
  • History lookup in monitoring
  • Central monitoring for all clusters
Transient data that can be removed after certain timeframe.
It may not be suitable for source of records like member account information that needs to be kept for audit purpose.
Read Glen Kim's full review
Nicholas Hrboka profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is fast."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fairly new employee, Couchbase is currently used in our production applications due to Couchbase lite and it's offline capabilities. We utilize sync-gateway for the write requests and N1Q1 for read requests.
  • I have enjoyed using the built in REST API analytics endpoints to monitor the status of my nodes.
  • As someone fairly new to Couchbase, not sure I have any ideas for improvements yet.
As far as I know, Couchbase is great for application that utilize offline features and sync-gateway seems like a great tool. I have noticed that speed is very important to Couchbase, and I appreciate that a lot.
Read Nicholas Hrboka's full review
Frank Keefer profile photo
September 20, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is faster."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love how easy it is to develop in Couchbase. I’ve used MongoDB in the past but the time to get running is much less in Couchbase.
  • Time to get running
  • Speed of queries
  • A small dev instance takes a little bit more horsepower to run.
Couchbase is well suited to large data, high availability, high performance.
Read Frank Keefer's full review
RJ Michels profile photo
May 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Conquers All!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is being used across the whole organization as it provides a vital tool to manage the data coming from various projects. Although these projects were in separate silos at one point, now we have the ability to better analyze our data even though it is mostly unstructured.
  • The platform provides the best integration of data delivered via mobile app.
  • The platform is good at real-time analysis of multiple data streams.
  • The platform is intuitive for admins to manage with good tools for permission setting.
  • The administrator functions via mobile are slightly difficult to find.
  • Data streams must be correctly integrated as opposed to AI-based integration of the streams.
I think Couchbase Data Platform is well suited for a scenario where server integration is seamless to the mobile experience. It's also very well suited in areas where new data steams need to be constantly integrated.
Read RJ Michels's full review
Tyler Jenkins profile photo
May 23, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is a Cut Above"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used across our organization and we have a large amount of data sprawl that needs to be effectively managed. Further, we also use the platform to manage different use cases for sales, marketing, and operations team members.
  • For a financial firm, fraud detection is of the utmost importance, and Couchbase does this very well -- but then, you also can leverage this data for better real-time analysis and detection
  • We needed strong response times when customer profiles are actively changing and updating, and Couchbase passed with flying colors
  • Couchbase does not have a very digestible view for admins, it is more of a secondary thought to maximizing the functionality of the platform
  • Couchbase could provide a better UI for updating Server from a mobile or tablet
Couchbase is best suited when managing multiple streams of real-time and existing data.
Read Tyler Jenkins's full review
Sai Kumar profile photo
May 15, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase - A New Era Database Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used as a data platform for both existing and new applications. It is the NoSQL platform of choice for the organization.
  • Provides ANSI SQL capabilities using N1QL
  • Auditing, eventing and analytics in the latest versions of Couchbase
  • TTL based document expiry to avoid batch deletes and improve overall cluster performance
  • Memory first approach to accessing data
  • RBAC and auditing provide excellent security capabilities in limiting privileges and identifying activities
  • Consolidate the number of logs and remove generic log messages for quick troubleshooting
  • Better error handling capabilities using error# to identify and address critical errors
Well suited for:
  • Document driven application usage
  • Migrating smaller databases from RDBMS to Couchbase
  • Less i/o, rather more memory-centric applications
  • Horizontally scalable environment
Less appropriate for:
  • Data warehouse that requires higher data retention
  • Normalized data environments that are structured and are limited to a schema.
  • Vertically scalable environments that require higher CPU/memory
Read Sai Kumar's full review
Jenny Hendriks profile photo
May 11, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Clears the Bar!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Couchbase Data Platform gives us an opportunity to maintain user profiles to support authentication over multiple channels. We also are able to incorporate real-time analytics by leveraging streaming integration with Hadoop. We use it across the whole organization since we see many benefits to being on a single platform. We are also considering using it to help us manage customer profiles.
  • Profile Management
  • Real-Time Big Data
  • Personalization
  • The interface is a bit clunky, and could be improved to produce a better UX for administrators.
The Couchbase Data Platform is best suited for profile management of employees and personalization through user profiles.
Read Jenny Hendriks's full review
No photo available
September 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "High performance and scalability NoSQL for business solutions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build enterprise data security solutions with the Couchbase Data Platform to deliver the outstanding performance and superior user experience to our clients and customers. Couchbase is becoming one of the critical pieces to our work, and is going to be further integrated into our enterprise solutions. Currently, Couchbase is heavily used by one business unit and we are evaluating the possible directions to roll out the solution to other products across the company. Our enterprise solutions provide secure data management and protection featuring real-time analytics, which significantly benefits from the low latency and high scalability.
  • Low latency and high performance
  • Easy-to-scale and asynchronous replication
  • High scalability
  • Live cluster reconfiguration
  • High sustained throughput
  • Full-text search
  • Real-time analytics
  • Advanced security and auditing
  • Indexing mechanisms need improvement
  • JSON support not as good when compared to others
It is well suited for highly scalable, interactive applications. Less appropriate if the applications require strong security with frequent replications, especially ones that run in multi-cloud environments.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Reducing cloud costs and improving performance for our nosql needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are evaluating and PoC'ing couchbase to move our existing unstructured data into a more cost-effective and scalable nosql datastore. We're a small company so it's being used by our platform engineering team, and regarding business problems, as i mentioned it's mostly to reduce cost and allow for better analytics/insights. Our current nosql store doesn't really allow any kind of live querying without impacting production performance.
  • Analytics (in the beta version) - being able to run broad queries and derive insights without affecting the operational store (ie. production systems)
  • Performance - the memory caching is a big boost from the other nosql dbs we evaluated
  • XDCR - super easy for cross region replication
  • Needs a managed cloud offering (ie. no worrying about infrastructure, kubernetes or anything.....just provision and go, and no devops required)
  • Documentation online could be more consolidated, and more of it :-)
  • It's not immediately clear which data to combine into the same bucket, versus which data to put into their own buckets (ie. guidance for which "type"s go together)
Seems well suited for systems which require a large amount of read/writes to a nosql database, or for analytics use cases where a traditional batch ETL system isn't good enough. It's less appropriate for structured data and transactional access.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 21, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase - During our testing phase"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the testing phase with the Couchbase Data Platform. We want to take advantage of the direct JSON communication as we are slowly converting our current application to be web based. We also want to take advantage of its offline capabilities as our application will be run under different scenarios. If this platform proves itself efficient, we do foresee it being used for the whole organization to manage web-driven data. We constantly have employees who visit other companies and need the most current data from our internal database which Couchbase Lite might be able to help with.
  • Mobile integration - SDKs that can be written in common languages for mobile development
  • Easy failovers - create and duplicate servers with ease
  • Direct communication with web app - no need to serialize/convert JSON to relational tables
  • Should allow servers to change their roles on the fly - currently you will need to take down the server and re-assign roles
  • SDK documentation is not as helpful and should have more examples
  • No pre-compiled procedures - unlike in SQL Server, Couchbase does not have pre-compiled stored procedures therefore we have to run various test to optimize our application
The Couchbase Data Platform is well suited for application that are going to ran under different networking scenarios. Where users either have weak or no signal but still need the most current data. Since this platform solves for concurrency and allows for users to use the nearest located server, it will optimize the run time and the receiving of data. This is not suited for applications that are ran under single instances. For example, apps that are for single use or internal kiosk applications that are in one area.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (30)
8.1
Availability (29)
7.9
Concurrency (28)
7.7
Security (28)
7.1
Scalability (28)
8.2
Data model flexibility (28)
8.3
Deployment model flexibility (27)
8.0

About Couchbase Data Platform

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with powerful NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at any scale.

Customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names. For more information, visit www.couchbase.com.

Categories:  NoSQL Databases

Couchbase Data Platform Features

Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Data Platform Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Data Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No