TrustRadius
Couchbase headquartered in Mountain View, California offers the Couchbase Server, a NoSQL database.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3X/72/PLFWAXDHXJUJ.JPEGSitting On A Couchbase All Day Is Great For Your (Mental) HealthCenterEdge Software has been using Couchbase for a variety of use cases for many years. We started as simple query cache in 2012, then moved to shopping cart persistence, and now it's our primary database for our cloud-based products. Couchbase provides an easy to use but powerful platform that is very scalable, highly available, and performant. This allows us to design an application that we can be confident will scale to handle all of our customers' needs as we continue to onboard accounts. The ability to avoid downtime to perform scaling is particularly important since our customers are distributed around the globe.,Scalability - As our needs grow we can scale horizontally, taking advantage of autosharding. This is much less cumbersome than dealing with manual partitioning in RDBMS systems. Availability - Automatic replication and failover within the cluster means we have no downtime, even if a node fails. It also means that we can scale up or perform database upgrades with zero down time. Agility - The schemaless nature of Couchbase allows us to continuously deploy new application versions that add additional data to records, without the overhead and complexity of using DDL to alter table schemas.,Query Optimization - While the SQL-based query language is very robust and powerful, the automatic query optimization isn't as mature as RDBMS platforms. This requires a bit more attention to indexing and index hints. Management UI - The management UI is much better than most other NoSQL platforms, but the need to connect to different nodes in the cluster depending on which function you are performing (FTS queries, N1QL queries, view management) can be a minor frustration. Index Replica Management - The process for managing index replicas for high availability is not yet a streamlined as the other services, and can require some manual maintenance.,10,N1QL's SQL-like syntax has made bringing new developers up to speed both easy and inexpensive. The schema-less approach to data store has increased agility. Operating at scale, Couchbase tends to be less expensive than major RDBMS solutions, especially once you implement high availability in RDBMS.,10,10,Flexible data modeling has really fit well with CenterEdge's agile development approach and our move towards continuous delivery. As product owners request new features that require persisting additional attributes, the process is completely frictionless. A developer simply adds the new attribute to the class in their code, changes the code to use it, and commits the code. This moves down the deployment pipeline all the way to production, with no need for creating and running DDL scripts at each phase. Even more complicated changes, such as change an attribute from a scalar value to an array of scalars, are vastly simplified.,At this point CenterEdge hasn't moved into the field of mobile application development, so we don't have any experience with Couchbase Mobile. However, we are investigating it as a possible method for providing an offline mode for on-premise desktop applications.,MongoDB and Amazon DynamoDBCouchbase Conquers All!!!Couchbase Data Platform is being used across the whole organization as it provides a vital tool to manage the data coming from various projects. Although these projects were in separate silos at one point, now we have the ability to better analyze our data even though it is mostly unstructured.,The platform provides the best integration of data delivered via mobile app. The platform is good at real-time analysis of multiple data streams. The platform is intuitive for admins to manage with good tools for permission setting.,The administrator functions via mobile are slightly difficult to find. Data streams must be correctly integrated as opposed to AI-based integration of the streams.,9,The platform has made IT admin functions much easier. The deployment of app changes happens quicker. New data can be integrated into the mobile app experience quick enough where users don't experience much lag.,9,9,We have benefited greatly from the integration of multiple new and existing data sources. This is often difficult to deploy rapidly and analyze in real-time, but not at all with Couchbase.,We want our end users to have access to new data streams seamlessly in the mobile experience, and Couchbase excels at making this happen.,MongoDB, Redis and Amazon DynamoDBCouchbase is a Cut AboveCouchbase is used across our organization and we have a large amount of data sprawl that needs to be effectively managed. Further, we also use the platform to manage different use cases for sales, marketing, and operations team members.,For a financial firm, fraud detection is of the utmost importance, and Couchbase does this very well -- but then, you also can leverage this data for better real-time analysis and detection We needed strong response times when customer profiles are actively changing and updating, and Couchbase passed with flying colors,Couchbase does not have a very digestible view for admins, it is more of a secondary thought to maximizing the functionality of the platform Couchbase could provide a better UI for updating Server from a mobile or tablet,9,Couchbase has great up-time and helps us lower costs by not having to deploy personnel for maintenance and oversight functions Couchbase is intuitive to use, and this leads to faster development for new use cases,9,9,We are a firm that is constantly evaluating new streams of data that would make our internal algorithms or analyses that much better, and integration of these new streams is very easy as is removal of streams.,Couchbase Mobile allows for apps that can continue to work even without a data signal. This is a big deal for "lock-in" as customers shouldn't begin looking elsewhere if an app goes blank without a wifi or cell signal.,MongoDBCouchbase - A New Era Database PlatformCouchbase Data Platform is used as a data platform for both existing and new applications. It is the NoSQL platform of choice for the organization.,Provides ANSI SQL capabilities using N1QL Auditing, eventing and analytics in the latest versions of Couchbase TTL based document expiry to avoid batch deletes and improve overall cluster performance Memory first approach to accessing data RBAC and auditing provide excellent security capabilities in limiting privileges and identifying activities,Consolidate the number of logs and remove generic log messages for quick troubleshooting Better error handling capabilities using error# to identify and address critical errors,10,Very easy to install and administer and doesn't require DBAs to deploy any DDL. It gives developers the flexibility to model their environment as per their requirements, reducing turnaround time. Runs on a VM/commodity hardware and doesn't require an expensive engineered appliance. Eventually, it provides significant cost savings. Horizontally scalable and has HA capabilities. It's easy to add nodes and distribute services (data/index/query) on-the-go without any downtime.,10,10,We haven't used the data modeling platform yet.,We are using the Couchbase mobile platform and it has been immensely simplified the process of syncing data.,MongoDBCouchbase Clears the Bar!The Couchbase Data Platform gives us an opportunity to maintain user profiles to support authentication over multiple channels. We also are able to incorporate real-time analytics by leveraging streaming integration with Hadoop. We use it across the whole organization since we see many benefits to being on a single platform. We are also considering using it to help us manage customer profiles.,Profile Management Real-Time Big Data Personalization,The interface is a bit clunky, and could be improved to produce a better UX for administrators.,9,The ROI has been great by focusing on a single platform, ensuring faster deployment.,8,9,We have benefited from flexible data modeling since our data is not homogeneous from one source to the next.,Couchbase Mobile does make syncing easier, but the mobile app experience can be cleaned up to increase the ease-of-use.,MongoDB and Cloudera Enterprise
Windows, Linux, Mac
Couchbase Data Platform
41 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Couchbase Data Platform Reviews

Couchbase Data Platform
41 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 41 vetted Couchbase Data Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
April 06, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Sitting On A Couchbase All Day Is Great For Your (Mental) Health"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CenterEdge Software has been using Couchbase for a variety of use cases for many years. We started as simple query cache in 2012, then moved to shopping cart persistence, and now it's our primary database for our cloud-based products. Couchbase provides an easy to use but powerful platform that is very scalable, highly available, and performant. This allows us to design an application that we can be confident will scale to handle all of our customers' needs as we continue to onboard accounts. The ability to avoid downtime to perform scaling is particularly important since our customers are distributed around the globe.
  • Scalability - As our needs grow we can scale horizontally, taking advantage of autosharding. This is much less cumbersome than dealing with manual partitioning in RDBMS systems.
  • Availability - Automatic replication and failover within the cluster means we have no downtime, even if a node fails. It also means that we can scale up or perform database upgrades with zero down time.
  • Agility - The schemaless nature of Couchbase allows us to continuously deploy new application versions that add additional data to records, without the overhead and complexity of using DDL to alter table schemas.
  • Query Optimization - While the SQL-based query language is very robust and powerful, the automatic query optimization isn't as mature as RDBMS platforms. This requires a bit more attention to indexing and index hints.
  • Management UI - The management UI is much better than most other NoSQL platforms, but the need to connect to different nodes in the cluster depending on which function you are performing (FTS queries, N1QL queries, view management) can be a minor frustration.
  • Index Replica Management - The process for managing index replicas for high availability is not yet a streamlined as the other services, and can require some manual maintenance.
Couchbase is very well suited for any cloud-based deployment where performance, scalability, availability, and agility are valued over ACID transactions. This includes online stores, social media, IoT data streams, and much more. It also fits exceptionally well with microservices architectures, where eventual consistency (without ACID transactions) is the norm. Any development shop using Domain Driven Design techniques will also find the document storage approach of Couchbase fits well with aggregate persistence patterns as well.
Read Brant Burnett's full review
May 26, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Conquers All!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is being used across the whole organization as it provides a vital tool to manage the data coming from various projects. Although these projects were in separate silos at one point, now we have the ability to better analyze our data even though it is mostly unstructured.
  • The platform provides the best integration of data delivered via mobile app.
  • The platform is good at real-time analysis of multiple data streams.
  • The platform is intuitive for admins to manage with good tools for permission setting.
  • The administrator functions via mobile are slightly difficult to find.
  • Data streams must be correctly integrated as opposed to AI-based integration of the streams.
I think Couchbase Data Platform is well suited for a scenario where server integration is seamless to the mobile experience. It's also very well suited in areas where new data steams need to be constantly integrated.
Read RJ Michels's full review
May 23, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase is a Cut Above"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used across our organization and we have a large amount of data sprawl that needs to be effectively managed. Further, we also use the platform to manage different use cases for sales, marketing, and operations team members.
  • For a financial firm, fraud detection is of the utmost importance, and Couchbase does this very well -- but then, you also can leverage this data for better real-time analysis and detection
  • We needed strong response times when customer profiles are actively changing and updating, and Couchbase passed with flying colors
  • Couchbase does not have a very digestible view for admins, it is more of a secondary thought to maximizing the functionality of the platform
  • Couchbase could provide a better UI for updating Server from a mobile or tablet
Couchbase is best suited when managing multiple streams of real-time and existing data.
Read Tyler Jenkins's full review
May 15, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase - A New Era Database Platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used as a data platform for both existing and new applications. It is the NoSQL platform of choice for the organization.
  • Provides ANSI SQL capabilities using N1QL
  • Auditing, eventing and analytics in the latest versions of Couchbase
  • TTL based document expiry to avoid batch deletes and improve overall cluster performance
  • Memory first approach to accessing data
  • RBAC and auditing provide excellent security capabilities in limiting privileges and identifying activities
  • Consolidate the number of logs and remove generic log messages for quick troubleshooting
  • Better error handling capabilities using error# to identify and address critical errors
Well suited for:
  • Document driven application usage
  • Migrating smaller databases from RDBMS to Couchbase
  • Less i/o, rather more memory-centric applications
  • Horizontally scalable environment
Less appropriate for:
  • Data warehouse that requires higher data retention
  • Normalized data environments that are structured and are limited to a schema.
  • Vertically scalable environments that require higher CPU/memory
Read Sai Kumar's full review
May 11, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Clears the Bar!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Couchbase Data Platform gives us an opportunity to maintain user profiles to support authentication over multiple channels. We also are able to incorporate real-time analytics by leveraging streaming integration with Hadoop. We use it across the whole organization since we see many benefits to being on a single platform. We are also considering using it to help us manage customer profiles.
  • Profile Management
  • Real-Time Big Data
  • Personalization
  • The interface is a bit clunky, and could be improved to produce a better UX for administrators.
The Couchbase Data Platform is best suited for profile management of employees and personalization through user profiles.
Read Jenny Hendriks's full review
April 16, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase HA"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's the core database for our call processing platform.
  • Speed and access to data in a very high speed environment
  • Scalability to handle large amounts of data
  • Reliability and redundancy in a very highly available environment
  • Support
  • Easier upgrade paths to newer versions
As with any NoSQL database, it greatly increases our time to market and ability to act "agile" with changes to data models and services that utilize those models.
Read Wes Rosenberg's full review
May 21, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase - During our testing phase"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently in the testing phase with the Couchbase Data Platform. We want to take advantage of the direct JSON communication as we are slowly converting our current application to be web based. We also want to take advantage of its offline capabilities as our application will be run under different scenarios. If this platform proves itself efficient, we do foresee it being used for the whole organization to manage web-driven data. We constantly have employees who visit other companies and need the most current data from our internal database which Couchbase Lite might be able to help with.
  • Mobile integration - SDKs that can be written in common languages for mobile development
  • Easy failovers - create and duplicate servers with ease
  • Direct communication with web app - no need to serialize/convert JSON to relational tables
  • Should allow servers to change their roles on the fly - currently you will need to take down the server and re-assign roles
  • SDK documentation is not as helpful and should have more examples
  • No pre-compiled procedures - unlike in SQL Server, Couchbase does not have pre-compiled stored procedures therefore we have to run various test to optimize our application
The Couchbase Data Platform is well suited for application that are going to ran under different networking scenarios. Where users either have weak or no signal but still need the most current data. Since this platform solves for concurrency and allows for users to use the nearest located server, it will optimize the run time and the receiving of data. This is not suited for applications that are ran under single instances. For example, apps that are for single use or internal kiosk applications that are in one area.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2018

Review: "Transforming driver engagement with CouchBase Data Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used by Coyote IT department because it provides the real-time synchronization and offline mode we needed.
We deployed the Couchbase Data Platform to support the new driver statistics service. Couchbase Lite records statistics as the user is driving. Data is synchronized and stored to the Couchbase Server through the Couchbase Sync Gateway. The Coyote service creates aggregated documents, and stores them back in the Couchbase Server. Drivers then retrieve that data through the mobile app or a website.
  • Couchbase Data Platform is an End to End solution, from Mobile to Backend. It allows bringing NoSQL databases to embedded devices.
  • It is scalable and we can adapt the number of nodes according to our needs (multidimensional).
  • The Couchbase support is really good. Each time we needed them, we could have someone on the phone very quickly.
  • Our main issue with Couchbase Data Platform is the dependency of the Gateway to MAP / REDUCE views on the server side. Those views may sometimes fail with a high workload and it is the main bottleneck in our current use case.
  • Couchbase is currently working on it and we are waiting for the next version which will rely on the N1QL index because they are far more reliable and scalable than views.
Couchbase is very well suited for all KEY / VALUE needs based on NoSQL solution.
Couchbase is also very very good for bringing NoSQL DB to mobile applications including all synchronization process.
For now, it is a little less fitted to handle huge workload from Mobile because of Map/Reduce view dependency.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "On-line and off line usage key"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to support out applications that must run in stand alone and networked mode. We are expanding our offerings to a IOT solution as well.
  • The schema-less architecture allow us to provide backward support to system points and make changes at the same time.
  • Couchbase lite helps with offline data stores, and makes online syncing very easy.
  • Noft a ton of books written about it, most online support is from Couchbase itself.
  • Management console can be cumbersome.
Great scenario for more flexible data stores, but not great for highly relational data. Schema-less architecture can make data integrity a much more application side problem.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2018

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Great data platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The technology is used across many departments and to solve multiple business problems ranging from Internal apps to External apps.
  • Low latency response time with the help of managed cache at bucket level
  • Cross data center replication for high availability across data centers and disaster recovery
  • Secondary indexing and N1QL query support
  • Real-time scaling and Ease of administration
  • Lack of Enterprise features such as centralized administration tool, auditing, replication network.
It is well suited for web and mobile channels where low latency is very important.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2017

Couchbase Data Platform: "Couchbase Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I've] used couchbase server for a session based database as well as storing some of the meta info we had for our analytical end of the database.
  • Performance, it is way better than Mongo
  • Ease of maintanence. Reduced factor in tryng to resolve issues.
  • Scales easily and quickly.
  • HA across DCs is really needed, which was provided.
  • Reduction in pricing
  • Slightly better documentation
  • Allow community to submit/commit
[Well suited] for fast lookups on docstore it outperforms. But as a key value lookup, not so much, especially when it comes to writes.
Read this authenticated review
August 02, 2016

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Server - full of useful features, despite difficult to navigate documentation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I stay up to date on the latest Couchbase Server news and features. By my organization, it is strictly being evaluated as a arguably better NoSQL database alternative to MongoDB. As a consultant at Avalon Consulting, LLC., I helped implement 2 benchmarks comparing the major Couchbase releases of 4.0 and 4.5, which introduced the new N1QL functionality.
  • Scaling - By adding more hardware to the Couchbase Server cluster, one can quickly benefit from the overall increase in performance of the system
  • Mobile Synchronization - As a mobile developer, keeping data in sync between an embedded SQLite database and a RDBMS system takes more effort and thought than necessary and reduces time spent developing the rest of the application. Couchbase Server paired with the Sync Gateway and Couchbase Mobile significantly simplifies those transactions.
  • Hands-on documentation via Classes, Seminars, and Tutorials - The free videos on Couchbase's YouTube channel and the courses and seminars that are offered cover much of the basics needed to understand how to quickly get started with Couchbase Server and the features it provides.
  • No enforced schema policy - While this is true of most NoSQL technologies, the main benefit that I see Couchbase has is that they have recommended patterns for designing stored data.
  • Written documentation - Overall, navigating the documentation site is difficult. There have been several times when I try to search for something and find outdated code references or articles.
I would recommend Couchbase Server to someone looking for a quick, scalable NoSQL database with some additional useful features such as Mobile Synchronization, and SQL query support. In addition to that, there are connectors to Elasticsearch, which make it useful in search analytics, and Kafka, which make it useful in a Big Data / Hadoop environment. While the examples and tutorials are plentiful, the online written documentation is difficult to navigate.
Read Jordan Moore's full review
March 01, 2016

Couchbase Data Platform Review: "Couchbase Is the Simple but Effective Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used in the engineering department. We used it as a centralized cache for key-value pairs, for our systems to perform large amounts of lookups. We have a cluster of Couchbase Servers, and mostly we are used the in-memory cache.
  • The Couchbase cluster was very stable. We almost never needed any maintenance work for the cluster.
  • The throughput was excellent. We started with just a 5-node cluster, and it sustained 700K/sec lookup operations for extended period of time. Later we upgraded to a 20-node cluster, it was able to take 1.2 million read/write operations. That's probably the limit of our client application.
  • Very easy on admin side.
  • Based on our use case, we don't have anything in particular that's not satisfactory.
I think Couchbase is very well suited as a centralized cache layer for a heavy load of read operations.
Read Charles Chao's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (10)
8.3
Availability (10)
8.1
Concurrency (10)
8.1
Security (10)
7.6
Scalability (10)
8.3
Data model flexibility (9)
8.6
Deployment model flexibility (9)
8.1

About Couchbase Data Platform

Couchbase’s mission is to be the data platform that revolutionizes digital innovation. To make this possible, Couchbase created what it calls the world’s first Engagement Database. Built on the most powerful NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform includes Couchbase Server and Couchbase Mobile and is open source. The platform aims to provide unmatched agility and manageability – as well as unparalleled performance at any scale – to deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer experiences.


Couchbase customers include industry leaders like AOL, Amadeus, AT&T, Cisco, Comcast, Concur, Disney, Dixons Carphone, eBay, General Electric, Marriott, Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, PayPal, Ryanair, Rakuten/Viber, Tesco, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.


Couchbase investors include Accel Partners, Adams Street Partners, Ignition Partners, Mayfield Fund, North Bridge Venture Partners, Sorenson Capital, and WestSummit Capital.

Categories:  NoSQL Databases

Couchbase Data Platform Features

Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Data Platform Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Data Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No