Couchbase Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
166 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 18, 2021
Janice Donholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to reease and update applications fast and easy in the cloud. Couchbase is robust NoSQL platform that has benefited us by shortening the application release cycle from months to weeks now. We are able to onboard new data points without having a lengthy data modelling as it has made it simple to create on-the-fly schema changes for continuous delivery.
  • High performance cache compared to to other similar products.
  • It is easy to manage as you can implement Couchbase server at any scale
  • Robust N1QL query language and flexible JSON schema.
  • Issues like clunky SDK or bad app code .
It is well suited for organization that deal with infrequent changes to structures of files with knowledge of which type of queries will be executed.
It has enabled us to release more updates on our application and shortened the time for the release of applications too.
Read Janice Donholm's full review
December 17, 2020
Boris Goshem | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase help us to simply integrate data sources, datasets, and applications to capture the data on every channel, to deliver an accurate and real-time view of our data. Couchbase is the best at consolidating layers to work together providing reliability and durability. Couchbase helps us to improve client experience and operations. It is used across the organization with greater adoption by all employees.
  • It is flexible to integrate multiple data into multiple sources.
  • High availability and disaster recovery.
  • High in performance compared to other databases.
  • It is cumbersome to load backup of the older version to a new one.
  • Ease of application and the emerging data.
  • The performance of querying process is slow.
It is well suited for high-demand migration of applications to new versions, or bringing together independent applications.
We are using it to develop mobile applications.
Read Boris Goshem's full review
October 15, 2020
Chethan Chandra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using couchbase to gather Infra health, stats for near real time analytics, to make decisions to scale out or up the Infra.
We have more than 40K servers in our Infra, both virtual and physical. We've historically had slow processes, to reading performance statistics from each of them and analyzing them. Before we could react to a need for server upscale, an incident would have happened. This is where we tried other solutions and are currently using Couchbase. We are able to load vast amount of data every second and come up with near real time decisions.
  • Key-value storage.
  • N1QL is easy, comprehensive and fast.
  • Scalable across datacenters.
  • Integration with Elasticsearch.
  • Inconsistent memory, CPU consumption pattern.
  • Still evaluating and optimizing our deployment.
A less appropriate scenario would be that - I still can't imagine how this will work in OLTP environment where real time transaction processing & responses are needed. This may be attributed by my limited knowledge, also because our scenario doesn't involve real time processing. For real time analysis we are satisfied.
We are building long time data storage and analytical purpose application for internal use only.
No, we are not planning mobile. If what we are implementing right now becomes a major success and adopted widely, we may look at mobilising the solution, but we are looking at 1.5 to 2 years from now.
I haven't had many opportunities to request support, I will look forward to better the rating. We have technical development and integration team who reach out directly to TAM at Couchbase.
Couchbase has been quite a usable for our implementation. We had similar experience with our previous "trial" implementation, however it was short lived.
Couchbase has so far exceeded expectation. Our implementation team is more confident than ever before.
When we are Live for more than 6 months, I'm hoping to enhance this rating.
Read Chethan Chandra's full review
March 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Enterprise is used for numerous products in the airline for various business lines. In 2016 the first use case came because of distinct features of Couchbase Lite, like mobile devices peer-to-peer sync. This was a technically challenging project, with mobile devices synching with each other on the airplane board during a flight thru the onboard Wi-Fi. It included a lot of specific work with avionics vendors, device manufacturers and Couchbase experts. The outcome was a great passenger experience for onboard meal ordering and personalized service.
  • Couchbase Lite is industry leading mobile product.
  • Couchbase Server is doing very solid both on-premise and public cloud, with fast response, good reliability and scalability, using it for business critical real-time applications in a leading global airline.
  • Expertise and experience of the support and consulting staff is very good.
  • Commercial process is smooth and flexible.
  • Doing great with key-value and N1QL, evaluating now full text search.
  • Using it as a caching in business critical airline applications, plus as a datastore for other set of use cases, also as replacement of relational datastores.
  • Cluster sizing during the design phase can be improved, especially if the client lacks prior experience. Vendor consultants are very meticulous in order to provide best of class performance and response time, although some more real-world pragmatic approach is often needed.
  • Couchbase Lite 2 went thru a major revamp, which broke the compatibility of the applications with some features removed and other changed. That needed development teams working to refactor the applications.
Great for mobile use, caching use cases, also as replacement for relational data stores. Confident to put my business critical application on it. Commercial staff is really helpful. As the airline was heavily impacted during the pandemic, we got full understanding with great commercial conditions and flexibility. Recommended for variety of use cases in most challenging environments.
Lite is of great use in the airline, with meal ordering applications and field support mobile application for engineering staff. Caching use cases excel and bring fast response times with top reliability. Used to replace an in-memory solution from another major vendor. NoSQL is as good as possible, although the downside of indexing needs to be taken into account.
Support is at the top enterprise level.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase was chosen to integrate mobile data from online/offline data collection apps right into our backend. Right now, due to the coronavirus pandemic and its repercussions, the project has been aborted. It was used in one department.
  • Data synchronization between mobile apps and backend
  • Querying stored data
  • Database monitoring
  • Document structured mobile data storing
  • Transactions support
  • Documentation. We used Couchbase views just to find out they were not recommended due to our use case size. There was no mention of that in Couchbase documentation.
  • Improvements in Couchbase Light query support to provide all capabilities found in Couchbase Server
  • Windows environment support
Couchbase synchronization works like a charm in an online/offline mobile app scenario. Querying is flexible enough and the functionalities associated with Couchbase server allow its usage for developing detailed close to real-time operation support systems. It is not a good solution for keeping large datasets for auditing considering Couchbase memory capabilities (cost was prohibitive). In-depth knowledge was necessary to fine-tune the data model. Couchbase also doesn't provide triggers. Events capabilities provide some support but still lack control.
Data synchronization was the feature that drove us towards Couchbase, and it worked really well. Our use case was a data collection system that had online/offline capabilities and synchronized data to Couchbase server that was used to power a data collection operation monitoring system. That product didn't go into production due to the COVID-19 pandemic and circumstances related to it.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase Data Platform is used across the whole organization. It is our primary and unique database we work with. It addresses user registration and business profile payments. Right now we are about to integrate the eventing service. The underlying database is what makes the difference.
  • Core database engine
  • Scale-out architecture
  • Query
  • Provide more examples of complex queries
  • Provide more examples of better index usage
More appropriate:
- Easy to use.
- Easy to administrate after setting it up.
Less appropriate:
- Simple database use case
This is one of the main reasons why we chose Couchbase in the first place. Scalability includes the ability to increase workload size within an existing infrastructure (hardware, software, etc.) without impacting performance.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2020
Ausrine Stankeviciute | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is my go-to NoSQL database. As a developer, I use Couchbase primarily because of how powerful and flexible it is. It enables me to build applications quicker than ever before and deploy them within the cloud. The main business problem that Couchbase solves is the need for a distributed cloud-based NoSQL database in order to increase scalability and overall development performance.
  • All-in-one NoSQL database with in-built SDKs
  • Distributed database design out of the box
  • Easy to scale development with kubernetes
  • Managing large volumes of data can be slow
  • Documentation could be improved to enable earlier adoption
  • Requires a dedicated internal dev team to support and maintain
The following are scenarios where Couchbase is very well suited:
* Projects where scalability horizontally is a top priority
* Projects where a dedicated team exists that is able to set up, use, maintain and support the database

The following are scenarios where Couchbase is not well suited:
* Projects with new teams or inexperienced teams where upskilling and training will be needed
The primary type of applications that I develop with the help of Couchbase are purpose-built business applications with Java and .NET in the information technology field. In the near future, I hope to test out and take advantage of the Couchbase Mobile platform in order to build an accompanying mobile application.
Read Ausrine Stankeviciute's full review
August 12, 2020
Kok Sang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Couchbase for mobile an app project as a data store and peer to peer to cloud syncing for mobile. There are several No SQL databases but we choose Couchbase as the winner for our project because we can use community release, flexible JSON schema, easy SQL-friendly query language, fully integrated SDKs for .NET, and it can be installed on Windows & Linux and the most important things is a peer to peer cloud syncing for mobile using SynchGateway service, whereas other No SQL databases don't have it. As time goes by, the index and view are increased rapidly to spend 240 GB on storage for each cluster that makes failover not work. if we got, that problem the app could not save or retrieve data from Couchbase.
  • The SDK was easy integrated with .NET.
  • Peer to peer to cloud syncing for mobile using the Synch Gateway service was amazing.
  • We can use community release for our project.
  • Index and view are increased rapidly and spent 240 GB on the server storage.
  • Every bug fix and patch was not set to the current version but the latest version, whereas we have to reinstall if any patches, it was time-consuming and not worth it.
  • Backup and restore is time consuming.
Based on the pros and cons, each patch should be related to the current version and users don't have to reinstall the latest Couchbase.
We are using Couchbase to build a mobile app using peer to peer technology (synch gateway service).
Read Kok Sang's full review
August 12, 2020
Rares Rusu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase powers our promotional platform. It allows us to deliver real-time updates to our customers, while enabling us to keep a flexible schema. We are able to deliver quickly new business requirements as a result. It has enabled our teams to take control over the entire tech stack, front-end, middle tier and storage, which has led to better results.
  • Performance.
  • Schema flexibility.
  • Cross data center replication.
  • N1ql maturity.
Document retrieval works excellent, this is where Couchbase excels.
We are building customer engagement applications using Couchbase. We keep various data into Couchbase (user state, promotional content, user progress into promotions).
Read Rares Rusu's full review
June 19, 2020
Daniel Olfelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase was chosen initially to solve the problem of global distribution of data for our authentication services. We wanted our auth data to replicate globally, be flexible, and easy to query. It also had to be fast so that we could quickly direct users to the correct data center where their data existed. Couchbase solved all those problems for us. It also included simple management consoles and automatics recovery when nodes became corrupt or went missing. It was used for this and several other products.
  • Management of nodes is simple and requires minimal maintenance.
  • The ability to query is flexible and the N1QL language is convenient, though it can have pitfalls.
  • Replication provides great data resiliency, as well as speed and performance on a global scale.
  • At large query volume, it can be difficult to scale. This is mostly due to user error, but the flexibility afforded makes these issues easy to slip through.
  • The N1QL language, while convenient, obscures powerful features and hinders in-depth learning of the NoSQL principles.
  • Couchbase is self-hosted, and as such, it required internal DevOps resources to maintain.
Couchbase is well suited for global deployments. It also works well in a variety of cloud or on-premise environments. This flexibility makes it a great product that can be used almost anywhere. If you only use a single cloud provider or don't have any capacity to maintain a database, then choosing the NoSQL flavor of your provider might provide a better experience.
We built an employee scheduling and time & attendance WFM platform. Our platform reaches many countries outside the US, so we have used Couchbase for helping us scale parts of our applications globally. We also have a large mobile user base on both iOS and Android but have not used Couchbase Mobile.
Read Daniel Olfelt's full review
May 27, 2020
Nathan Ekstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is being used as a backend datastore for our document management SaaS system. We originally brought it in to replace aging technologies, such as E-Directory. As our experience with it has grown so has its use inside of our product. We are now actively migrating our systems that rely on SQL Server to it as well.
The biggest issues that Couchbase solved for us were scaling and data elasticity. As our user base grew we knew we needed a system that could scale horizontally so that we had more predictable capital expenditures that could be planned for. We also wanted to be able to update data models without having to perform difficult schema definition changes or table alterations. Couchbase met both of these objectives.
  • Single and multi-record lookups are extremely fast.
  • N!QL lets SQL programmers get up and running quickly without having to learn a new way of thinking.
  • Full-text search, still basic but becoming more useful.
  • Management UI is awesome providing a useful dashboard for determining the health of your cluster.
  • Rolling updates just work.
  • Full text search is very basic and fairly limited throwing errors at times that are difficult to understand or resolve.
  • .NET SDK has not always been compatible with the latest server version.
Couchbase is ideal for situations where you store JSON objects that you usually retrieve using a unique key, speed and reliability in this area is supreme. With N!QL it is also a great replacement for situations where you would use SQL. With that said however, it is not a good fit for situations where you need strong ACID properties. It is an eventually consistent system and with a lot of transactions happening it can take it awhile for an index to catch up. You can usually work around those issues but it does require extra work.
We are using Couchbase as part of a document management Saas product.
Read Nathan Ekstrom's full review
April 28, 2020
Kalinga Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
According to my experience, this is the best database solution for NoSQL Databases. Therefore, we have been using it for several years. Both it's products, which are the Couchbase Database Server and the mobile database platforms, are essential and efficient. And to work on these, we need some previous knowledge and practice. However, the service that they provide is precious for us to achieve the success of our work. Our developing team using Couchbase for our customers' web-based and mobile app projects. We can easily work using Couchbase Database.
  • This is a very flexible and efficient database that has high performance. As well as it is easy to deploy and manage.
  • Couchbase consists of high scalability and reliability.
  • The speed is very high, therefore, it can do faster developments by handling a large set of data.
  • And security is another important quality included in this database.
  • Less downtime.
  • Couchbase has less community support.
  • It can not be used without proper knowledge and practice, so new users have to learn first.
Couchbase is well suited for web-based high demanding, high transaction apps.
Suitable for mission-critical applications. Can connect multiple web applications to the database.
Read Kalinga Bandara's full review
April 19, 2020
Anjelo Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is one of the famous database solutions, which is used at the enterprise-level mostly to manage NoSQL Databases. This comes with two products: Couchbase Database Server and the mobile application database platform. Clouchbase server is well suited for application management and the other Couchbase mobile application server is suited for mobile application development databases. This solution is used in departmental, mostly in the Applications Development department and the Cybersecurity department.
  • Flexible database with high performance.
  • Easy to manage: this has integrated database performance monitoring toolkit which was easy for database management
  • High security for data with the latest encryption and data masking technologies used in the Couchbase database solution.
  • Less downtime of the database, no major issues and incidents found so far.
  • When integrating NoSQL databases with Android mobile applications a little bit tricky.
  • Configuring a database cluster: This configuration part is a bit harder than the other database solutions.
According to my experience, Couchbase is well-suited for mobile application developments as a NoSQL database. Also, this Couchbase database server can be used for Enterprise business applications as a backend database.
Read Anjelo Bandara's full review
May 11, 2020
Tharanga Wickramsinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is the most efficient database solution, which we are using for all kinds of NoSQL Databases. It is easy to learn, use, implement, and configure. This consists of a number of various features that can help developers to develop better apps. So in our organization, we are using Couchbase for developing web apps for clients and internal usage.

  • Reliability and security are high.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • GUI of the Couchbase is easy to understand.
  • Has many various features.
  • Has a good support service.
  • Can stick with future business goals.
  • Some features of Couchbase can be improved, like reporting and logs features.
Couchbase is well suited for solutions that need to process a large set of data at the same time, such as enterprise web apps. As an example, customer transaction web sites.
We are developing customer engagement applications such as online ticket booking, online groceries for clients. Those all have multiple transactions at the same time.
Read Tharanga Wickramsinghe's full review
April 21, 2020
Prasad Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we are serving thousands of customers at the same time using web applications and mobile applications that have a high number of transactions. So we are using Couchbase for those applications, which fulfills our requirements. Another thing is we feel that it is easier to develop apps using Couchbase.
  • Easy to rapidly develop and manage applications
  • High-performing database.; ability to serve a large set of transactions at the same time
  • Adaptable for multiple types of apps such as web applications, mobile apps
  • N1QL is easier than SQL.
  • High availability and reliability
  • Less community support
  • Hard to learn at first
These days businesses are adopting large scale web applications and mobile applications for serving customers better. Traditional RDBMS databases cannot serve those demanding requests. But Couchbase is adapting high-performing databases for those kinds of demanding applications.
Supports multiple types of apps. Well optimized.
Read Prasad Silva's full review
April 13, 2020
Aruna Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is one of the best solutions for NoSQL databases. In our organisation, we use Couchbase for projects such as internal apps as well as client projects. I feel that this product is more comfortable to work than traditional databases. Can be used for web applications, mobile and IoT.
  • Provides high performance. It can handle a large set of data.
  • Easier to use than Mongo DB.
  • High scalability and reliability.
  • Ability to do faster development.
  • Easy deployment and manageability.
  • Needs better documentation.
  • Low community support.
Couchbase is well suited for web applications, mobile and IoT. N1QL is easy to use for those applications. Also, continuous delivery is an excellent feature.
Scalability is high as well suited for large scall mission-critical application.
Read Aruna Bandara's full review
April 10, 2020
Chathuranga Amarasinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is the most functional No SQL database management tool, and it can be implemented with any application that uses No SQL databases. Mostly this tool is used to manage databases easily and most suitable for developing mobile applications.
  • Easy manageable solution for No SQL database
  • Offers a one month trial and users can download and purchase after the trial
  • Performance of the database is higher than other database
  • This supports cloud integrations as well
  • Security of the database is high and it uses the latest security technologies and encryption technologies to prevent data leakage.
  • Annual subscription rate is high
  • In initial data migration to cloud database there will be some lag
Couchbase is most suitable for large scale enterprise databases and also it is useful to integrate with mobile applications as well for as No SQL database integration.
It's perfect for large scale enterprise database managements.
Read Chathuranga Amarasinghe's full review
September 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was initially a cache (caching data aggregated from multiple sources, with various response time and rate limiters), but as usage grew, confidence grew also, we started also using it a database with NoSQL, to query multiple documents based upon more and more complex queries, to fit our needs.
  • Key value access is super fast.
  • NoSQL is particularly useful when you have a SQL background.
  • .Net client works like a charm and is well maintained.
  • With NoSQL, you kind of have a vendor locked in.
  • When something goes wrong, rarely, it's sometimes hard to find the culprit using the statistics.
  • We feel we are missing some features by using the community edition, but we survive.
Couchbase is well suited to a fast distributed Key Value store with a light need of SQL-like language for access. Below 5 minutes response time is usual for KV access, nearly impossible for SQL/HTTP call in our systems. It saves us.
We are an API gateway to our huge IT Systems (30 systems accessed using the gateway), and Couchbase serves as a cache for all those dependencies. It allows us to serve our client with response times well below what could be achieved without Couchbase.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase & SyncGatway were used to allow for rapid prototyping of our backend systems. However in the desire for rapid iteration we implemented things incorrectly that ultimately ended up hurting our ability to scale resiliently using the Couchbase view engine.

Couchbase would make a fine caching layer and the potential for N1QL looks interesting. However as we were using older versions of the product the effort to migrate to newer libraries resulted in us ultimately migrating off Couchbase.
  • Horizontal scalability.
  • Caching.
  • View Engine locking during node failover.
If I needed to implement a horizontal scaling caching layer, Couchbase would be something I would look closely at.
Mobile application development & web app development using Couchbase as a primary document store.
Read this authenticated review
June 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is our favorite non-relational database when we implement Smart Cities projects in customer facilities. It is mainly used by the Development and Implementation team. It allows us to use large amounts of data thanks to its non-relational design, its high performance, and its JSON DB schema. In addition, its management is very simple and has great security.
  • Excellent performance with JSON storage
  • N1QL High Performance Query Language
  • Scalable database
  • No SQL schema, concept change
  • Documentation missing in Spanish
  • System administrator required
The Couchbase server allows developing Smart Cities applications with great agility and continuous delivery. Its performance is excellent compared to other non SQL alternatives like MongoDB. Its management and administration is simple for a Database administrator. In addition, it has its own query language called N1QL that allows non-SQL queries to be performed as if using a relational and SQL paradigm.
Our Smart Cities project developments are focused on the creation of Dashboards for web environments, so we have not yet used the Couchbase server within a mobile environment. We will try to use it in the future if any of our clients require it.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We at our company use Couchbase as the product database for customer-facing desktop and server applications, with high demand in performance requisites. Couchbase enables our product, not only to tackle all the business demands but also to leverage the new business models with the Couchbase Lite to Server connectivity framework.

Couchbase is a great product covering different usage scenarios, both for Backoffice/Backend intensive operations and client-side DB. Couchbase as well offers good integration with encryption services, fulfilling our security and privacy requirements.
  • Querying & Indexing
  • Resilience
  • Support
  • Scalable models
  • Encryption
  • Backwards compatibility
I find Couchbase to be a very suitable solution where you have to deal with both online and offline scenarios, leveraging on Couchbase LITE and Couchbase server alternatives. Moreover, Couchbase is a great alternative when dealing with large data volumes in a segregated architecture, enabling different business models and capabilities compared to competitors.
We build mobile, desktop, and back-office solutions covering a wide set of use cases for our end customers. For the case of mobile applications and desktop applications, Couchbase Lite allows us to manage easily online and offline scenarios, releasing the applications from complex connectivity race conditions. Couchbase Lite is a lightweight solution with wide alternatives to integrate with different technologies throughout the several APIs available.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by the entire company and customers. Several of our developers are trained on it and work with it.
  • Scales
  • Fast
  • Easy to learn
  • Confusing errors
  • Confusing admin console
  • Lots of versions
Couchbase is well suited for any environment where you need metadata stored reliably, and with quick access. I wouldn't recommend storing larger files on it.
We are building a document storage platform that relies heavily on containers with various attributes (all stored in Couchbase), and needs to be up 24/7. Couchbase helps us build these applications.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as a persistent cache, as well as for very quick storage and retrieval of large JSON docs. We are also storing some BLOBs (Binary Large Objects). This makes us able to react to changing requirements faster than if we were using a traditional relational database. We also use the ability to swap out the default serialiser in certain scenarios.
  • Fast retrieval of JSON data.
  • Resilience.
  • Great analytics.
  • Max number of bucket limitations.
  • Auth mechanism.
  • Cloud SaaS instance.
Good for very fast retrieval of JSON data. Not so good for typical relational work loads. Very good for aggregations - like counts, sums, etc. across millions or billions of rows.
We have not used Couchbase Mobile.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mostly used by e-commerce development across several different development teams.
  • Shopping cart checkout
  • Concurrent writes
  • Metadata repo
  • Backup processes without data loss.
  • Reduce costs to align with competitors.
  • Free training for new support teams instead of cost-based.
Obviously, it's not well suited for anything transactional. It's also not greatly suited for upgrades or patches without turning off auto-failover. It is well suited for metadata databases and front end fast data retrieval.
It is relatively easy to deploy without training but not intuitive enough to set it up with best practices without pretty good working knowledge of the DB and all its settings and terminology.
Shopping carts, SKUs, and pricing for front end corporate web site. We haven't used mobile at this point, but have recommended it to the team.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase was chosen initially to start new projects that require No SQL database, full-text search capabilities and later some analytics capabilities.

Initial idea was to go on MongoDB and Elasticsearch, but after some research, we decided to challenge Couchbase as we expect to benefit from functionalities like: native mobile synchronisation, data replication, N1QL (for smooth developer transition), high performance and easy deployment.

We are still in the development phase and it's used only by one development department.
  • Installation and deployment.
  • Data replication.
  • Platform scaling.
  • No clear communication on some functional limitations.
  • Require a strong infrastructure if we use more than 2 buckets.
  • Need to change mindset when you come from standard SQL DB.
Couchbase allows us to start quickly new development phase but later on you discover some limitations that you need to invest more on your application design, but the product remains a good choice for the moment.
Initial Web application will be for Medical practitioner and after we expect to benefit from Couchbase Mobile to provide companion solution.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (75)
8.4
Availability (74)
8.9
Concurrency (73)
8.3
Security (72)
7.5
Scalability (73)
8.5
Data model flexibility (73)
7.3
Deployment model flexibility (72)
8.7

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at scale.

The vendor states that current customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.

Couchbase Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Video

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase Competitors

Couchbase Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No