Couchbase

Couchbase

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.1 out of 100
Top Rated
Couchbase

Overview

Recent Reviews

Couchbase, powerful nosql

8 out of 10
April 15, 2022
We use Couchbase for two main purposes. First is the NoSQL database to store unstructured data. The n1ql language is very powerful to …
Continue reading

Very long questions.

5 out of 10
April 01, 2022
Offline storage of vessel operations by sea fearers. The data syncs to cloud Couchbase and use for analytics.
Continue reading

Move forward

8 out of 10
March 30, 2022
CodeFactory company is implementing an Informational system based on microservice architecture. Some services use Couchbase as data …
Continue reading

Couchbase scales well

10 out of 10
March 29, 2022
Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Popular Features

View all 7 features

Availability (97)

9.2
92%

Scalability (96)

8.7
87%

Performance (98)

8.5
85%

Data model flexibility (96)

8.4
84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Couchbase, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase provides a cloud database that offers the capabilities required for business-critical applications on a scalable and available platform. Couchbase is built on open standards, and aims to combine the best of NoSQL with the power and familiarity of SQL in order to simplify the transition…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.couchbase.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

7 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Redis™*?

Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.

What is Amazon DynamoDB?

Amazon DynamoDB is a NoSQL database, from Amazon Web Services.

Features Scorecard

NoSQL Databases

8.6
86%

Product Details

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at scale.

The vendor states that current customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.

Couchbase Features

NoSQL Databases Features

  • Supported: Performance
  • Supported: Availability
  • Supported: Concurrency
  • Supported: Security
  • Supported: Scalability
  • Supported: Data model flexibility
  • Supported: Deployment model flexibility

Additional Features

  • Supported: Multi-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
  • Supported: Cross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
  • Supported: Flexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
  • Supported: Full Text Search (FTS)
  • Supported: Analytics
  • Supported: Mobile & IoT Integration
  • Supported: Memory-First Architecture
  • Supported: Big Data & SQL Integration
  • Supported: Key Value
  • Supported: Cloud Native
  • Supported: Query

Couchbase Video

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase Competitors

Couchbase Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web, IoT devices using our .NET and Java libraries

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase provides a cloud database that offers the capabilities required for business-critical applications on a scalable and available platform. Couchbase is built on open standards, and aims to combine the best of NoSQL with the power and familiarity of SQL in order to simplify the transition from mainframe and relational databases.

What is Couchbase's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses Couchbase?

The most common users of Couchbase are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 101)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase for two main purposes. First is the NoSQL database to store unstructured data. The n1ql language is very powerful to retrieve these data in every possible way. The second purpose is key/value storage used in caches. We use Couchbase to store serialized java objects representing cached data.
  • N1QL requests
  • Key/value storage
  • Performance
  • Indexes need some time to understand
  • Documentation could be improved somtimes
Couchbase is very efficient for the key/value storage of serialized Java objects. It provides a very simple way to have a distributed cache with very low latency. Operations are easy and API is very well done. You can define the time to live on each data to provide a powerful cache.
We did not use Couchbase mobile. Couchbase is used on legacy applications and new stateless applications based on REST APIs. These applications use Couchbase to store data for cache purposes or classic storage. Mobile applications use Couchbase, but not directly, only through backend APIs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase to store user data. We have millions of anonymous user data that need to be served on the front end in a timely fashion and we were looking for a service that can be robust. We were also looking for a flexible data schema. Couchbase was a perfect solution for both.
  • Flexible schema
  • Serves data very fast
  • Automated purging of old data
  • Query takes too long. It can be improved
  • Indexing can be faster
Couchbase is perfect to handle enormous amounts of data, especially when the data does not have a well-defined schema. Couchbase is way faster than an SQL server solution. Also, it can easily be scaled up and scaled-down. High performance in any cloud server. Also, Couchbase technical support is wonderful
We use Couchbase in our user platform. We save user preference data based on browser history and return user preference to the front end. The front end uses the data to determine what kind of content to show to users. It supports both desktop and mobile platforms. It helped increase user engagement and brought positive user feedback.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used by teams in our organization to store and manage customer data. Couchbase allows huge scalability and performance which is why it is the database of choice for many teams within our organization. Couchbase is also very easy to configure and deploy to various teams. This allows my team, to just be on stand-by for any upgrades.
  • Scalability
  • Highly available
  • Easy to use
  • Cost
  • number of buckets
  • performance with larger datasets
Couchbase is well suited for a quick and easy database cluster to be spun up. That does not require a lot of configuration or updating. A god resource for datasets that will not require too much CPU usage. It is less appropriate for larger data sets and anything that may require loads of memory
This is used for product catalogues, customer information, content management
Excellent customer service
April 01, 2022

Very long questions.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Offline storage of vessel operations by sea fearers. The data syncs to cloud Couchbase and use for analytics.
  • Offline storage and sync.
  • Peer to peer sync.
  • Sync based on filters or channels.
  • Max 10 databases is weird.
  • Expecting data validation and data constraints.
  • Easy deployment for production.
Best suited when edge devices have interrupted internet connection. And Couchbase provides reliable data transfer. If used for attachment Couchbase has a very poor offering. A hard limit of 20 MB is not okay. They have the best conflict resolution but not so great query language on Couchbase lite.
We could get a quick prototype and launch the mobile app. Their Cbyte is less buggy and p2p sync works a charm. We have built a vessel operations application using Couchbase.
March 30, 2022

Move forward

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CodeFactory company is implementing an Informational system based on microservice architecture. Some services use Couchbase as data storage. These services have a high load stream of data and the system should have no consumption lag of messages from external systems. Our system has a couple of buckets (one per service) and different document types.
  • Write speed
  • scalability and reliability
  • tools to administrate
  • Search capabilities are still worse than Elasticsearch
I'd like Couchbase for it's scalability and liability. It has impressed performance results. I'm not happy always about search/FTS support
No we have not been using Couchbase mobile
March 29, 2022

Couchbase scales well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by the entire company and customers. Several of our developers are trained on it and work with it.
  • Scales
  • Fast
  • Easy to learn
  • Confusing errors
  • Confusing admin console
  • Lots of versions
Couchbase is well suited for any environment where you need metadata stored reliably, and with quick access. I wouldn't recommend storing larger files on it.
We are building a document storage platform that relies heavily on containers with various attributes (all stored in Couchbase), and needs to be up 24/7. Couchbase helps us build these applications.
March 17, 2022

Couchbase is rock

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Couchbase to store project-related data.
  • Using N1QL query we can perform operation on specific field
  • Fetching is easy
  • Using JPA we can do crud operation very easily
  • It stored data in the form of json object
  • We can enhance the query console in UI so we can perform some cleanup activity very easily on the different bucket
  • We can show some suggestion while writing query from UI
  • We can do static error checking ie while writing a query editor can show the error if there are some errors instead run the query and get the error
well suited- N1QL is very simple and also we can categorize the data based on bucket less appropriate: for analytics, it is not suitable.
We are using couchbase for CRM development and business development
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this to sync up our iOS mobile app data to our backend SAP systems. It allows an offline-first approach to our iOS app usage since we do inspections in areas without many signals.
  • Replication.
  • Syncing.
  • Data-clashes.
  • Documentation.
  • Database search tools.
Couchbase is well suited to implement offline-first mobile app syncing to our backend databases. It is not the best for searching or keeping historical records as it is a document-based database. Also, it would be helpful to have a database search tool to help ease the searchability of the data.
We are building it to help be the database that our inspection mobile app connects to. We also use it as the database that our corrective tags are connected to as well as an asset directory to allow the field to get a geospatial understanding of where assets are and the relevant corrective tags associated with those assets.
Kimberly Brooke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase connects us to reliable network sources that can effectively manage our data. It is highly scalable and ensures that all data from our customers is effectively managed for better planning. It provides cloud services that customize all data and saves the most useful data that transform our company.
  • Data storage management.
  • Monitoring data entering our company from all sources.
  • The platform performance has been awesome.
  • I am conversant with all the features.
The product offers security to our data across all our working environments. It tracks the channels that our data passes through to ensure that it is not contaminated or polarized by unauthorized access. Our customers' information is securely stored under secured disks that we can access during marketing campaigns. It has an email conversation feature that gives my team an easy time when communicating with our clients.
We have been able to build marketing platforms that aid our sales and connect our company to potential customers. Our marketing team has been able to come up with brand marketing techniques that attract a lot of clients when integrated with our social media platforms. It has enabled our application designing team to come up with live chart interfaces across our service systems to enhance faster and reliable customer engagement.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With Couchbase, we are able to integrate our data sources and applications to capture data in all channels, and this helps deliver [a] real-time, accurate view of our business data. With Couchbase, we are able to improve customer experience and also business operations. Due to its effectiveness, Couchbase has been deployed across the departments. It is a great database and I must say it meets our business needs.
  • Query searching
  • Can integrate multiple data sources
  • High performance database
  • Disaster recovery
  • Scalable
  • Very secure
  • Query processing is slow
Couchbase is a great NoSQL database and most businesses will benefit from this software. For those launching and developing applications, Couchbase is a solution. In addition, those businesses that requires a NoSQL data base will as well benefit. In a nutshell, Couchbase has something for every business depending on the version you choose.
We have developed two applications Customer Engagement App [and] Field Engagement App. We also have mobile versions for both to ensure easy access and mobility.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an IT expert at our company and I have been using Couchbase for the creation and deployment of applications on the cloud. What makes Couchbase special or rather ideal is the fact that it offers a secure cloud space for application data. It is a NoSQL database and therefore a performer and a great tool when it comes to website caching.
  • It is a very secure database
  • It is a high performance data base
  • Couchbase is highly scalable
  • Makes it easy to develop responsive applications
  • Sometimes it can lag more so when network is poor
  • Longer learning curve
  • Poor documentation
Couchbase is a great database solution and offers more features and capabilities. We have used it to meet several needs but I have personally used it to develop and launch applications. It is very secure and performs well. It is therefore ideal for IT experts and also HR departments depending on the intended use. Many businesses will actually benefit from Couchbase.
I have so far built Field engagement and product catalogs with Couchbase and it works seamlessly.
Savan Solanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our project, we must enter millions of entries, available in JSON format, into a database, which must subsequently be accessed on a regular basis using various filters. To fulfill this requirement we must be needed NoSQL which provides high performance. Hence, after exploring a couple of tools, we finally decided to continue with CouchBase, as it is a combination of CouchDB and Membase.
  • Open source
  • High scalability and throughput
  • JSON based datamodel
  • Setup is time consuming.
  • UI is not attractive.
Couchbase offers a key-based lookup and update mechanism. Moreover, it contains CouchDB which provides excellent support for JSON-based data and allows it to read using REST APIs, and also, sharing and database replication with an outstanding tool such as Membase. Also, we can configure multiple buckets and each bucket can have its own separate configuration and data space. Further, data is replicated over multiple nodes which increases the data reliability and protects our data against any event of node failure.
Our application is a web-based solution only, and we are not integrating any mobile APIs, therefore we have not used Couchbase Mobile.
The Couchbase support team deserves this rating, for the support they are providing.
Gurinder Randhawa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase in our core enterprise backend distributed system for some complex data storage and data caching. It simplifies the storage of complex insurance rating information and provides high performance and scalability.
  • Ability to scale.
  • High performance on reads and writes.
  • Easy to setup and configure.
  • Limitation on a number of data buckets as per best practices.
  • N1QL query not very fast.
  • Past versions had some major bugs like in xdcr causing cluster failure, which has been fixed in 4.x.
We have moved off Couchbase for caching onto Redis as it aligns better with our technology stack and AWS server management. We use Couchbase purely for NoSQL data storage.
Used in ERP and insurance quoting system.
It handles our load spikes.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Couchbase Cloud deployed in our AWS environment. We were looking for a solution that helps us control our data, clusters, and configurations.
  • It is very versatile for a NoSQL database.
  • We can easily control clusters in AWS simultaneously.
  • Price-wise, it was the best choice for us.
  • Our onboarding support was not as fast as we hoped - no big deal in the end as the job got done, just not ideal [in my opinion].
  • Tutorial videos would have helped us to get up to speed quicker.
  • SDK examples partially were not directly clear to us.
We made good experience with Couchbase and in my view, it is well suited in any case where No SQL databases are needed for AWS customers. It is good for all tech companies who aim to take their products and services to another level and seek top performance no other provider can deliver.
Our application is delivering booking functionality to thousands of customers and API partners which rely on top performance. Also on mobile, Couchbase's component fully convinces us and meets our business needs.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our cloud solution in the IOT space. Solves the problem of a fast database at the right cost. Implementation was smooth and we have not only reduced our storage cost, but our system has also improved end-to-end latency. Highly recommend Couchbase to any team looking for cost AND performance improvements.
  • Fast
  • Reliable
  • Cost effective
  • Hosted solution needs some work.
Great for replacing Microsoft Cosmos DB. Couchbase is faster and less expensive. Our application is for real-time tracking of millions of vehicles and low latency is important. We are also focused on cloud-agnostic and Couchbase is an ideal fit for that flexibility while saving money and improving performance. Implementation was smooth and they hit all performance targets.
Cloud-based mobility platform only using the cloud storage components. Not using Couchbase Mobile yet.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within [the] Digital landscape in the whole of the organization Couchbase is prescribed to be used for key/value as well as a document store. We stored our content which is generated by a Content Management System. By doing so we have our CMS functioning as a Headless CMS.
  • Content stored as documents
  • We manage session[s] in a central way across all of digital channels.
  • Central store in our microservices world
  • Partially as a cache in certain use cases.
  • Deploying Couchbase in a microservices world
  • Deployment ease to make it small and synching with other microservice hosting Couchbase
  • Bucket creation and its quota can be improved.
[Couchbase is well suited as a] content store[,] Omni channel session store [and for] caching documents and Key/Value[.]
Our content is stored in Couchbase which is used to build all content-rich pages.
We also use it for managing omnichannel session across all of the digital channels.
Jonathan Gurwitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is being used across our entire organization as the primary database for our platform. It addresses the need for sub-millisecond db transactions at hundreds of thousands of high-availability transactions per second[.]
  • Couchbase performance is exceptional both for in-memory and persisted transactions.
  • Handling of node failures and cluster rebalancing (high availability).
  • Enterprise support from Couchbase themselves
  • Good documentation
  • Streaming of bucket (database) level mutations via their Database Change Protocol (DCP).
  • Replication of datasets between native clients and Couchbase buckets
  • Handling of simultaneous writes to the same record with performance penalties
  • SDK examples are not always clear enough and don't cover enough scenarios.
  • Setting up and managing a large, high performance cluster is not easy without significant assistance from Couchbase themselves. There needs to be more tutorials \ documentation for enterprise scenarios.
  • Full text search, while not a primary feature, is not sufficiently performant in Couchbase, so Elasticsearch is still needed. Couchbase has a good integration for moving data to Elasticsearch so this is not very painful. It's possible that the performance has improved in the latest version as we have not yet tested it for FTS.
  • Poor performance and support for synchronization of web based apps (PWA's etc)
[Couchbase] is very well suited [for] applications which require super-high performance and reliability replication between native clients and the database A NoSQL database with a rich feature set.

[Couchbase] is not so well suited to high performance full text search although possibly this has improved in the latest version. applications which require real-time updates from a database. Firebase would be a better fit for this.
We have found Couchbase to be well suited to working with customer profiles, transactional data, messaging applications etc.
In general, Couchbase is an excellent choice as a database back-end to any customer facing application. Storing small to medium data sets in a single document works well and compression of medium sized data sets is very impressive allowing around a 50% space saving with almost no noticeable performance hit. Some extra processing is required for compression.
The Couchbase Sync Gateway is an excellent product although using it from a web client was very frustrating at times. The mobile component seems very impressive although I do not have personal experience using it.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase was used to allow us to dramatically increase system performance across all of our products and services by allowing us quicker access to large volumes of data and providing us with greater stability and reliability thanks to the cluster and replication methodology. Our data sets are often not particularly large pieces of information, but very many pieces. Traditional databases did not perform adequately under these conditions, which is where Couchbase came in.
  • Improved system stability
  • Improved system reliability and service uptime
  • Fast response to queries
  • Improved performance of synchronous queries
  • Licensing should separate out product and support.
  • Early versions were hard to integrate.
  • Improvements to maintenance functions to minimize downtime
Couchbase is excellent if you have datasets comprising lots and lots of tiny pieces of information, but is unlikely to be as useful in scenarios where a traditional relational database would work well. Be prepared to budget accordingly as the licensing and computing power required for adequate availability can be considerable.
Couchbase was used to improve the performance of centralized APIs serving our core products, thereby directly improving customer experience by speeding up response times and allowing us to process greater volumes of data. All of these products are delivered over the internet but are not likely to be used on mobile. There is a consideration for app products in the future, where Couchbase Mobile may be suitable.
Bob Walters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase was originally selected to be the OLTP database to be used with "the experience engine" to hold the guest information, messaging, activity records, tags/classifications and related information pertaining to the guest experience. We initially used Couchbase prior to the creation of N1QL, and have used its core data services, views (now deprecated), N1QL, and XDCR and SyncGateway functionality. (Our use of couch-base included multi-instance replication). More recently, we've also worked with its event functionality and transactional support (a relatively new addition to its SDK).
  • As a sharded key/value store for json documents, its both performant and scalable.
  • The N1QL engine performs poorly compared to SQL engines due to the number of interactions needed, so if your use case involves the need for a lot of SQL-like query activity as opposed to the direct fetch of data in the form of a key/value map you may want to consider a RDBMS that has support for json data types so that you can more easily mix the use of relational and non-relational approaches to data access.
  • You have to be careful when using multiple capabilities (e.g. transactions with Sync Gateway) as you will typically run into problems where one technology may not operate correctly in combination with another.
  • There are quality problems with some newly released features, so be careful with being an early adopter unless you really need the capability. We somewhat desperately adopted the use of transactions, but went through multiple bughunt cycles with Couchbase working the kinks out.
Couchbase will work well if what you need is a high scale, highly available distributed map. This is what it started out as, and like many products it has sought to grow outward from that area of core competency, but many of those additions (e.g. N1QL) don't really perform as well as other database products that specifically fit that niche. If you're application can work well with a distributed map, its a good tool for that job, but beware the "it can do anything that other databases can do" angle.
We built a guest experience engagement platform, and used an approach where the server-side of the application worked directly with Couchbase employing the data service APIs (Java SDK) primarily. We had a mobile application component but did not use Couchbase mobile directly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used to maintain a huge dataset of metadata from multiple software components in our organization. It's unique feature that support seamless cross data centre replication coupled with its resiliency and redundancy features makes it first choice for our business use case. It is one of the few databases used across our organization.
  • Cross Data-centre replication (XDCR).
  • Improved performance.
  • Scalable.
  • Redundancy.
  • High availability.
  • Not many code examples given with SDK documentation, they seem beginner level.
  • Error logs are mostly not useful/straightforward, need to spend time and look around to understand the problem.
  • Community base is limited, so help from the forums like stack overflow, etc. is not that great, at least for older versions I have seen it.
[Couchbase is a] high performing database with [a] huge dataset, its query, rw performance and resiliency is unmatched. Indexes are well created to serve the queries, it's fast. Scenarios where the replication is needed between totally different data centers, I would definitely recommend. Probably not suited for projects with quick setup and with minimum data set as the learning curve is steep to work with this database.
Couchbase is used in backhand to maintain the metadata related the cloud video recordings which are then accessed for video catalog, playback and to maintain recording lifecycle.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Over the years, Couchbase has helped us build challenging projects. Thanks to its characteristics it fits perfectly with our needs to create scalable, stable, and performing software.
  • Sync data between server and mobile devices
  • Scaling based on performance requests
  • Query data with power of relational database
  • Query functionalities on Couchbase Mobile
  • More intuitive index creation on Couchbase Mobile
  • Couchbase Cloud functionalities
Easy to use and integrate on mobile apps. Easy to configure on the server side. Time saver.
We have developed apps for the medical world and for manufacturing companies.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we are using Couchbase generally in all departments for every project where scalable, cloud-based, NoSQL database is required. It allows us to escape from vendor lock-in, but also, if needed of course, gives possibility to migrate to offline solution quite easily or go with a multi cloud setup.
  • By default provides data sharding and a caching layer to improve performance.
  • It is designed using masterless, flexible architecture with distributed environments in mind.
  • SDKs are available for all major languages e.g. Java, Python, .NET, Scala.
  • Harder to integrate if compared with vendor specific platform e.g. DynamoDB
  • Steeper learning curve compared to typical RDBMS
  • Example code from SDK is sometimes oversimplified
One scenario where Couchbase would be a perfect solution is a migration from RDBMS to NoSQL database due to scalability or performance related issues. On the other hand, Couchbase might not be the best choice for smaller projects using a particular vendor services only, in that case e.g. DynamoDB seems more suitable.
The latest product, we are using Couchbase for, is our Key Management System application. It includes Advanced Analytics Module which heavily depends on superb full-text search and structured query features. We are using similar API for our mobile application where Couchbase Mobile is used to efficiently synchronize data between the edge and the cloud.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used by couple of departments across the whole organization. It replaced some of the applications' RDBMS backend which helped us save a lot of cost without compromising or in some cases with a better performance, security, clustering and replication factors.
  • Easy to store unstructured data and has great performance
  • Managing security is super easy which can be managed across different levels
  • UI is pretty simple to use and manage the cluster
  • Backup of the data is very easy and the restoration/recovery is fairly easy as well with the in-built tools.
  • Easy integration with Elasticsearch for replication
  • It is fairly easy to scale up or scale down the cluster
  • Resource utilization can be improved. Sometimes we have noticed that Couchbase acts like a resource monster and draining the resources.
  • If a node has to join back to the cluster sometimes database cluster with moderate size takes a longer time for a delta recovery
Couchbase is well suited in scenarios where cost plays a major role and the performance can't be compromised. It was the best option for us to replace a famous RDBMS because of licensi[ng] cost reason but boy were we happy about the performance or what. It certainly is not or less appropriate in the scenarios where there are resource constraints. You can't run too many Couchbase clusters on a single machine if it's not a beefy machine.
Like you see, I am in an entertainment industry. Lots of components need to fall in the right place and work in tandem for the movie to be made. Couchbase certainly helps to handle a good majority of application components.
Niloofar Keshvari Nia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Couchbase cloud version is designed to meet all our needs, processing [large quantities] of HR data is very fast. In the HR department, we transferred everything to it and came to a quick result. NoSQL DB and Cloudbase servers have helped us to buy high speed and managed resource usage according to the amount of usage with a super fast response time.
  • NoSQL DB response time in a millisecond
  • High security under the cloud platform
  • Super easy integration
  • High read and write performance
  • Backup and restore can have better performance and speed
  • Working with it requires technical IT knowledge
  • Migrate and move from other databases little complicated
Great in full-text search and amazing indexing. Couchbase has an amazing cloud-based database architecture, you can use it across cloud, on-premises, hybrid, distributed cloud, and edge computing deployments, offering unmatched versatility, performance, scalability, and value. It’s so flexible and fast, compared to competitors, it performs much better in real-world scenarios and can be tested for free before purchasing a license.
Most of our customers need mobile applications in addition to desktop platforms and software, and Couchbase offers good solutions. One of these solutions is a mobile offline database for times when the user does not have access to the Internet and the information is intelligently synced. It has good compatibility with IoT and wearable smart devices.
Ali Kazempour | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

[Couchbase] is used in all parts of our company as well as most parts of factories and organizations that have consulting contracts. In a nutshell, it provides us agility of access to information in a secure and robust infrastructure. Last year, a lot of work was forced to move remotely, and the option of delivering goods by mail was added to some services, so analyzing and delivering information and fast access and processing data securely with different access levels was much more important than before. So we used Couchbase Cloud to overcome this challenge, both for ourselves and our client projects. Now everything is working Agile via Couchbase!

It helps us in all areas, because databases are everywhere, from human resource management to accounting, as well as the receipt and delivery department, all moving goods, services and products faster and more regularly than before.

From 2020 onwards, everything went online, and the use of the Internet and e-culture became ubiquitous, increasing the need for secure and fast databases for agile cloud processing for developers and service providers.

  • High performance, fast secure flexible with smart architecture and it’s faster other than competitors in the market.
  • We can control all data security, cluster configs, and managing operations costs.
  • Proficiency to secure and isolate database information in a secure environment to prevent undefined access.
  • Ability to specify IP address ranges, routing tables, network gateways, and subnets according to your private IT department protocols.
  • In some scenarios restoration of big data takes time.
  • Examples of real-life scenarios should also be included in the educational documents.
  • Indexing DB must developed.
[It is] very easy to connect and simple settings to connect to the Storage Cloud server, I easily connected to Microsoft Azure. It is also possible to purchase a professional support service for the developer separately. It is possible to import the database into clusters very smoothly and easily. There are security settings to define user access level, IP definition as well as security certificate. The feedback link option in the dashboard is a direct link between you and the development team, where anything you think should be added or subtracted to improve the software can be requested directly. In most scenarios, it has been fast and powerful.
For a mobile application project, a mobile component was used, and this was very important, Catalog and inventory management with [the] highest access speed.