Couchbase Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
147 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

Daniel Olfelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2020

Couchbase works well, but isn't the only option

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase was chosen initially to solve the problem of global distribution of data for our authentication services. We wanted our auth data to replicate globally, be flexible, and easy to query. It also had to be fast so that we could quickly direct users to the correct data center where their data existed. Couchbase solved all those problems for us. It also included simple management consoles and automatics recovery when nodes became corrupt or went missing. It was used for this and several other products.
  • Management of nodes is simple and requires minimal maintenance.
  • The ability to query is flexible and the N1QL language is convenient, though it can have pitfalls.
  • Replication provides great data resiliency, as well as speed and performance on a global scale.
  • At large query volume, it can be difficult to scale. This is mostly due to user error, but the flexibility afforded makes these issues easy to slip through.
  • The N1QL language, while convenient, obscures powerful features and hinders in-depth learning of the NoSQL principles.
  • Couchbase is self-hosted, and as such, it required internal DevOps resources to maintain.
Couchbase is well suited for global deployments. It also works well in a variety of cloud or on-premise environments. This flexibility makes it a great product that can be used almost anywhere. If you only use a single cloud provider or don't have any capacity to maintain a database, then choosing the NoSQL flavor of your provider might provide a better experience.
We built an employee scheduling and time & attendance WFM platform. Our platform reaches many countries outside the US, so we have used Couchbase for helping us scale parts of our applications globally. We also have a large mobile user base on both iOS and Android but have not used Couchbase Mobile.
Read Daniel Olfelt's full review
Nathan Ekstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Couchbase, the right tool for the job.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is being used as a backend datastore for our document management SaaS system. We originally brought it in to replace aging technologies, such as E-Directory. As our experience with it has grown so has its use inside of our product. We are now actively migrating our systems that rely on SQL Server to it as well.
The biggest issues that Couchbase solved for us were scaling and data elasticity. As our user base grew we knew we needed a system that could scale horizontally so that we had more predictable capital expenditures that could be planned for. We also wanted to be able to update data models without having to perform difficult schema definition changes or table alterations. Couchbase met both of these objectives.
  • Single and multi-record lookups are extremely fast.
  • N!QL lets SQL programmers get up and running quickly without having to learn a new way of thinking.
  • Full-text search, still basic but becoming more useful.
  • Management UI is awesome providing a useful dashboard for determining the health of your cluster.
  • Rolling updates just work.
  • Full text search is very basic and fairly limited throwing errors at times that are difficult to understand or resolve.
  • .NET SDK has not always been compatible with the latest server version.
Couchbase is ideal for situations where you store JSON objects that you usually retrieve using a unique key, speed and reliability in this area is supreme. With N!QL it is also a great replacement for situations where you would use SQL. With that said however, it is not a good fit for situations where you need strong ACID properties. It is an eventually consistent system and with a lot of transactions happening it can take it awhile for an index to catch up. You can usually work around those issues but it does require extra work.
We are using Couchbase as part of a document management Saas product.
Read Nathan Ekstrom's full review
Kalinga Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Reliable and scalable database solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
According to my experience, this is the best database solution for NoSQL Databases. Therefore, we have been using it for several years. Both it's products, which are the Couchbase Database Server and the mobile database platforms, are essential and efficient. And to work on these, we need some previous knowledge and practice. However, the service that they provide is precious for us to achieve the success of our work. Our developing team using Couchbase for our customers' web-based and mobile app projects. We can easily work using Couchbase Database.
  • This is a very flexible and efficient database that has high performance. As well as it is easy to deploy and manage.
  • Couchbase consists of high scalability and reliability.
  • The speed is very high, therefore, it can do faster developments by handling a large set of data.
  • And security is another important quality included in this database.
  • Less downtime.
  • Couchbase has less community support.
  • It can not be used without proper knowledge and practice, so new users have to learn first.
Couchbase is well suited for web-based high demanding, high transaction apps.
Suitable for mission-critical applications. Can connect multiple web applications to the database.
Read Kalinga Bandara's full review
Anjelo Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Reliable Database Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is one of the famous database solutions, which is used at the enterprise-level mostly to manage NoSQL Databases. This comes with two products: Couchbase Database Server and the mobile application database platform. Clouchbase server is well suited for application management and the other Couchbase mobile application server is suited for mobile application development databases. This solution is used in departmental, mostly in the Applications Development department and the Cybersecurity department.
  • Flexible database with high performance.
  • Easy to manage: this has integrated database performance monitoring toolkit which was easy for database management
  • High security for data with the latest encryption and data masking technologies used in the Couchbase database solution.
  • Less downtime of the database, no major issues and incidents found so far.
  • When integrating NoSQL databases with Android mobile applications a little bit tricky.
  • Configuring a database cluster: This configuration part is a bit harder than the other database solutions.
According to my experience, Couchbase is well-suited for mobile application developments as a NoSQL database. Also, this Couchbase database server can be used for Enterprise business applications as a backend database.
Read Anjelo Bandara's full review
Tharanga Wickramsinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

Suitable for enterprise apps.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is the most efficient database solution, which we are using for all kinds of NoSQL Databases. It is easy to learn, use, implement, and configure. This consists of a number of various features that can help developers to develop better apps. So in our organization, we are using Couchbase for developing web apps for clients and internal usage.

  • Reliability and security are high.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • GUI of the Couchbase is easy to understand.
  • Has many various features.
  • Has a good support service.
  • Can stick with future business goals.
  • Some features of Couchbase can be improved, like reporting and logs features.
Couchbase is well suited for solutions that need to process a large set of data at the same time, such as enterprise web apps. As an example, customer transaction web sites.
We are developing customer engagement applications such as online ticket booking, online groceries for clients. Those all have multiple transactions at the same time.
Read Tharanga Wickramsinghe's full review
Prasad Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we are serving thousands of customers at the same time using web applications and mobile applications that have a high number of transactions. So we are using Couchbase for those applications, which fulfills our requirements. Another thing is we feel that it is easier to develop apps using Couchbase.
  • Easy to rapidly develop and manage applications
  • High-performing database.; ability to serve a large set of transactions at the same time
  • Adaptable for multiple types of apps such as web applications, mobile apps
  • N1QL is easier than SQL.
  • High availability and reliability
  • Less community support
  • Hard to learn at first
These days businesses are adopting large scale web applications and mobile applications for serving customers better. Traditional RDBMS databases cannot serve those demanding requests. But Couchbase is adapting high-performing databases for those kinds of demanding applications.
Supports multiple types of apps. Well optimized.
Read Prasad Silva's full review
Aruna Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

High performing NoSQL Databse

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is one of the best solutions for NoSQL databases. In our organisation, we use Couchbase for projects such as internal apps as well as client projects. I feel that this product is more comfortable to work than traditional databases. Can be used for web applications, mobile and IoT.
  • Provides high performance. It can handle a large set of data.
  • Easier to use than Mongo DB.
  • High scalability and reliability.
  • Ability to do faster development.
  • Easy deployment and manageability.
  • Needs better documentation.
  • Low community support.
Couchbase is well suited for web applications, mobile and IoT. N1QL is easy to use for those applications. Also, continuous delivery is an excellent feature.
Scalability is high as well suited for large scall mission-critical application.
Read Aruna Bandara's full review
Chathuranga Amarasinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Couchbase

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is the most functional No SQL database management tool, and it can be implemented with any application that uses No SQL databases. Mostly this tool is used to manage databases easily and most suitable for developing mobile applications.
  • Easy manageable solution for No SQL database
  • Offers a one month trial and users can download and purchase after the trial
  • Performance of the database is higher than other database
  • This supports cloud integrations as well
  • Security of the database is high and it uses the latest security technologies and encryption technologies to prevent data leakage.
  • Annual subscription rate is high
  • In initial data migration to cloud database there will be some lag
Couchbase is most suitable for large scale enterprise databases and also it is useful to integrate with mobile applications as well for as No SQL database integration.
It's perfect for large scale enterprise database managements.
Read Chathuranga Amarasinghe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Great at caching & raw performance, earlier versions have some gotchas, newer versions look pretty good (no longer a Couchbase user)

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase & SyncGatway were used to allow for rapid prototyping of our backend systems. However in the desire for rapid iteration we implemented things incorrectly that ultimately ended up hurting our ability to scale resiliently using the Couchbase view engine.

Couchbase would make a fine caching layer and the potential for N1QL looks interesting. However as we were using older versions of the product the effort to migrate to newer libraries resulted in us ultimately migrating off Couchbase.
  • Horizontal scalability.
  • Caching.
  • View Engine locking during node failover.
If I needed to implement a horizontal scaling caching layer, Couchbase would be something I would look closely at.
Mobile application development & web app development using Couchbase as a primary document store.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is our favorite non-relational database when we implement Smart Cities projects in customer facilities. It is mainly used by the Development and Implementation team. It allows us to use large amounts of data thanks to its non-relational design, its high performance, and its JSON DB schema. In addition, its management is very simple and has great security.
  • Excellent performance with JSON storage
  • N1QL High Performance Query Language
  • Scalable database
  • No SQL schema, concept change
  • Documentation missing in Spanish
  • System administrator required
The Couchbase server allows developing Smart Cities applications with great agility and continuous delivery. Its performance is excellent compared to other non SQL alternatives like MongoDB. Its management and administration is simple for a Database administrator. In addition, it has its own query language called N1QL that allows non-SQL queries to be performed as if using a relational and SQL paradigm.
Our Smart Cities project developments are focused on the creation of Dashboards for web environments, so we have not yet used the Couchbase server within a mobile environment. We will try to use it in the future if any of our clients require it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2020

Couchbase as a technical enabler for delocalized and unstructured large-scale systems

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We at our company use Couchbase as the product database for customer-facing desktop and server applications, with high demand in performance requisites. Couchbase enables our product, not only to tackle all the business demands but also to leverage the new business models with the Couchbase Lite to Server connectivity framework.

Couchbase is a great product covering different usage scenarios, both for Backoffice/Backend intensive operations and client-side DB. Couchbase as well offers good integration with encryption services, fulfilling our security and privacy requirements.
  • Querying & Indexing
  • Resilience
  • Support
  • Scalable models
  • Encryption
  • Backwards compatibility
I find Couchbase to be a very suitable solution where you have to deal with both online and offline scenarios, leveraging on Couchbase LITE and Couchbase server alternatives. Moreover, Couchbase is a great alternative when dealing with large data volumes in a segregated architecture, enabling different business models and capabilities compared to competitors.
We build mobile, desktop, and back-office solutions covering a wide set of use cases for our end customers. For the case of mobile applications and desktop applications, Couchbase Lite allows us to manage easily online and offline scenarios, releasing the applications from complex connectivity race conditions. Couchbase Lite is a lightweight solution with wide alternatives to integrate with different technologies throughout the several APIs available.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Couchbase scales well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by the entire company and customers. Several of our developers are trained on it and work with it.
  • Scales
  • Fast
  • Easy to learn
  • Confusing errors
  • Confusing admin console
  • Lots of versions
Couchbase is well suited for any environment where you need metadata stored reliably, and with quick access. I wouldn't recommend storing larger files on it.
We are building a document storage platform that relies heavily on containers with various attributes (all stored in Couchbase), and needs to be up 24/7. Couchbase helps us build these applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Couchbase is a winner for extreme performance requirements

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as a persistent cache, as well as for very quick storage and retrieval of large JSON docs. We are also storing some BLOBs (Binary Large Objects). This makes us able to react to changing requirements faster than if we were using a traditional relational database. We also use the ability to swap out the default serialiser in certain scenarios.
  • Fast retrieval of JSON data.
  • Resilience.
  • Great analytics.
  • Max number of bucket limitations.
  • Auth mechanism.
  • Cloud SaaS instance.
Good for very fast retrieval of JSON data. Not so good for typical relational work loads. Very good for aggregations - like counts, sums, etc. across millions or billions of rows.
We have not used Couchbase Mobile.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

Couchbase is great but expensive

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mostly used by e-commerce development across several different development teams.
  • Shopping cart checkout
  • Concurrent writes
  • Metadata repo
  • Backup processes without data loss.
  • Reduce costs to align with competitors.
  • Free training for new support teams instead of cost-based.
Obviously, it's not well suited for anything transactional. It's also not greatly suited for upgrades or patches without turning off auto-failover. It is well suited for metadata databases and front end fast data retrieval.
It is relatively easy to deploy without training but not intuitive enough to set it up with best practices without pretty good working knowledge of the DB and all its settings and terminology.
Shopping carts, SKUs, and pricing for front end corporate web site. We haven't used mobile at this point, but have recommended it to the team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization for document storage.
  • Relatively fast
  • Fairly easy to set up and manage
  • Good kubernetes and cloud-ready support
  • Failover and rebalance tasks
  • More integration with various APIs
  • Expand N1QL capabilities
It's well suited for Json-related document data, but less appropriate for schema-based data.
Customer engagement applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Couchbase: DB All-in-One Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase has been our solution to have high availability and scalability in a simple way.
With only one product we have replaced several technologies (JSON files, Memcache, Redis, MongoDB, Solr, Lucent).
  • HA
  • Scale
  • Dashboard
  • Easy replication and indexing
  • SQL
  • FTS
  • Stability in some version x.0
  • Bug in first versions
Couchbase is okay for big web companies with a lot of requests and where speed and replication are a priority. It has a lot of features, Key-Value, N1SQL, Full-Text Search, Analytics, Dashboards, etc.
Couchbase requires an initial learning curve and adaptation of developments as it is a non-standard proprietary technology. I only recommend it in custom developments.
all right
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I've] used couchbase server for a session based database as well as storing some of the meta info we had for our analytical end of the database.
  • Performance, it is way better than Mongo
  • Ease of maintanence. Reduced factor in tryng to resolve issues.
  • Scales easily and quickly.
  • HA across DCs is really needed, which was provided.
  • Reduction in pricing
  • Slightly better documentation
  • Allow community to submit/commit
[Well suited] for fast lookups on docstore it outperforms. But as a key value lookup, not so much, especially when it comes to writes.
Read this authenticated review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Key-value and document database using Couchbase

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Couchbase on an important project named Phantom for customer and merchant referential. We are happy because this tool compiled our expectations and now we have an excellent non-SQL database. It was relatively simple to work with, the included groovy JDK seemed decently documented and wasn't a pain to work with. It was missing some key features (batch gets), however, so we had to write a service on top of their JDK.
  • You can use Couchbase in numerous ways, such as key-value and document storage.
  • Installation is easy and replication is very good.
  • Very fast reads.
  • Fail-over configuration is very easy to setup. There is too much documentation about this.
  • Everything is working fine. We created 5 environments (DEV,QA,UAT,PRE-PROD,PROD).
  • The user manual is not easy to understand. Almost all of the documentation is in English.
  • You can only put text files that are JSON formatted. No XML support.
The perfect scenario is when you need to store a lot of data and you need excellent performance in reads and writes at the same time. It's possible when using a non-SQL database. Another idea is always work in the active-active mode because you can warranty your system never fails in the database layer.
Because it is very easy to add a new server in order to expand the cluster. In this way you can scale the system without problem.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Abigail Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

My favorite database manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is frequently used by my whole organization. Couchbase is an interesting application for the management of document databases at one single location. Moreover, I use this software as an alternative to No SQL database management. Apart from this, it has an open way to my scalable application. Furthermore, it has a perfect GUI that is effective enough to make all the right decisions. Another thing that I prefer in it is the ease of implementation and configuration.
  • It has a good customer support service that provides me immense solutions to my respective problems in just a few seconds.
  • It ensures fast data access that is enough necessary for a good ongoing project.
  • Every feature of this application is making my work more flexible and interesting with each passing day.
  • For me there is nothing to worry about, and it only it has a little learning curve.
  • It’s an easy and effective way to develop an application that is responsive enough to maintain the workload.
  • It is the most convenient tool. I have never come across any problems yet.
I'm having a great experience. I can say that this particular application is making my databases more secure and safe in one place. Apart from this, it has few features that are efficient enough to maintain workflow in a steady and flexible way. It can be perfectly used by any organization.
I am giving this rating because of the integration power of the product is enough capable to make me facilitate by working simultaneously on different applications. Another thing that I mostly prefer in it is its consistent performance that helps in a flexible layout of my databases in a significant way. All these features are useful and productive in a daily routine workflow.
Read Abigail Paul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Couchbase - Easy and Scalable Key-Value Delivery for Enterprise Deployment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In order to facilitate multi-site replication of key-value data and act as a caching layer for our source of truth databases (PostgreSQL), we decided to give Couchbase a shot, and we have not been disappointed. It made multi-site bi-directional replication of data a breeze for small and large data sets.
  • Multi-site replication.
  • Bi-directional replication.
  • Single pane management for cross-site.
Excellent for key-value storage and delivery. Not meant for relational data sets, although some efforts are being made to support this, will still not perform like a fully relational database.
Adding nodes to the cluster is so easy. Takes only a few moments to add a new node to an existing cluster. Site to site expansion is also made easy in the GUI, single or bi-directional replication are supported on an individual bucket basis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Couchbase is a pleasure to use and is recommended

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I am evaluating its use for the primary purpose of being the primary data store behind a series of microservices. These will in turn be used to synchronize to a large number of mobile users.
  • Performance of Couchbase is great
  • The simplicity of using Couchbase is a major benefit with support for standards like JSON, and its handling of attachments makes it simple to adapt in web-based projects.
  • If it had a smaller footprint that would make for easier deployment to multiple devices. This is especially true when compared to other solutions.
  • More involvement in the open source community to promote out-of-the-box integration/support in popular frameworks.
I find the simplicity of managing Couchbase Data Platform one of the most satisfying aspects. Small teams benefit from this as do teams developing BFFs in larger corporations. It is also well suited for solutions that need to handle an intensive number of writes. If your solution has high demands for queries (though performance is good here for many common uses) another solution with query-focused performance may be a better option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Superior performance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we have multiple projects based on Smart Cities. These projects have a lot of data and in formats such as JSON. Couchbase is a database and non-relational engine that allows great performance with this type of data.
  • Great performance with JSON data
  • Guaranteed scalability
  • Low latency
  • We are used to using relational databases.
  • Necessary to have a qualified IT staff.
  • It is not very well known in Spain.
Couchbase is great for environments with JSON or key-value data. Its speed is much higher than with relational databases to be secure through data replication and persistence. Allows multi-user with a data partition.
This nonrelational database is very easily scalable thanks to its unstructured approach.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

Try Couchbase and N1QL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our Smart Cities projects, we need to use relational and non-relational databases. One of the non-relational databases that we manage within the IT department is Couchbase, a very scalable and easy to manage database. You can use SQL for JSON, which makes it very intuitive. This data is used for operations with big data tools such as Hadoop.
  • Many possibilities with SQL for JSON database
  • Scalability and guaranteed performance
  • There are strong competitors like MongoDB
  • If you don't know how to use non-relational databases, you'd be better off using Oracle, MySQL, etc.
Couchbase is becoming one of the most used databases with non-SQL schema due to the great capabilities of N1QL, its query language. It has a very flexible work scheme, based on JSON and very good performance and scalability. If you prefer to use SQL, you should use a relational database such as Oracle, MySQL, SQL Server, etc.
Thanks to its microservice-based architecture, it is a very scalable product. It is practically an automatic process and does not require excessive technological knowledge.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

Couchbase is the best NoSQL Solution Available

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is being used to serve down data to our mobile apps across the entire organization as a revamp to our legacy database (PSQL). A common problem we have had is that some of our SaaS clients have very flexible data schemas that are difficult to adhere to in a relational database, and a NoSQL solution is a much better fit.
  • Flexibility
  • Expandability
  • Indexing
  • Analytics
  • Steep learning curve.
  • A higher level of parity between mobile and web SDKs.
Very well suited for platforms where the data is constantly changing, either via streaming updates, or schema updates across common types. Its sync gateway is a great out of the box solution for mobile apps to stay in sync with the server upwards and downwards without having to write your own clunky sync protocol or handle data conflicts by hand.
On the server-side, the indexing capabilities and simplicity of just expanding the number of nodes and services are incredibly easy and highly decreases the overhead behind day to day DevOps. On the client, the SDKs are very flexible and abstracted out in a way that they are extendable and easy to consume.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Excellent performance for KV service but still requires work on big data services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Couchbase is used as our main production DB for handing almost all of our workloads.
  • High throughput.
  • Low latency.
  • 0 downtime.
  • Highly scalable.
  • Data service is built for higher scale than the other services.
  • Client SDK's are not at the same level of quality as the server.
  • Analytics service is still not at the same level of quality and usefulness as the rest of the services.
  • Testing and recommendations on cloud environment and not good enough.
Couchbase is very well suited to very high-performance workloads that require high throughput and low latency.
Couchbase is less suited to smaller-scale systems as it is more complex to use and requires higher minimal resources than comparative solutions.
It is relatively easy to scale up/down.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (65)
8.5
Availability (64)
8.9
Concurrency (63)
8.7
Security (63)
7.7
Scalability (63)
9.1
Data model flexibility (63)
8.0
Deployment model flexibility (62)
8.9

About Couchbase

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at scale.

The vendor states that current customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.

Couchbase Features

Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No