Coursera Reviews

61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 30, 2019
Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Coursera is very well organized. They are partnered with the most important educational institutions around the world.
  • They are very “up to date” in topics of interest and new courses.
  • Coursera has the widest catalog of courses, all of them with a certification given by them in name of a professional institution, like universities.
  • They also have programs together with universities that allow you to get a Masters Degree and Specializations. (Which is awesome)
  • Some of the courses (very few) have some old information (more than 2 years), and in some areas like technology the information has to be very new and updated.
  • Some professors or people doing videos are not good in front of the camera, they should train their people a little bit more for those things.
Read Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA's full review
July 08, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lots of high quality classes.
  • Flexible schedule. Have class according to your own timeline.
  • Great financial aids.
  • I have not found anything that needs to be improved.
Read this authenticated review
December 06, 2018
Rei Shinozuka, CFA®, FRM® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Interaction: the student learns by doing. For programming courses, this means programming!
  • Assessments: the courses I'd taken ask students to grade each others work with a rubric. This is hugely effective and permits tests and quizzes to be other than multiple choice.
  • Creativity and enthusiasm of the instructors. Some of the approaches demonstrated real out-of-the-box thinking by the instructors. For example, the Rice Python course was a self-contained website requiring no installation of IDE on one's computer, and the final project was a working version of Asteroids.
  • Low cost of entry: most of the course I enrolled in were free, with an optional fee for certifications. This really gives people the freedom to explore learning. It's almost like a Public Library of Learning.
  • Coursera forces a weekly discipline on the user with lectures and assignments and this really motivates one to put in the effort.
  • If you leave the projects for the weekends, your Sunday nights could be a drag. But I list this as a benefit also, it enforces discipline on the learning process.
  • I hope Coursera continues to offer no-cost and low-cost learning opportunities.
  • I honestly can't think of any serious deficiency in the product. I am a huge fan.
Read Rei Shinozuka, CFA®, FRM®'s full review
April 06, 2018
Donovon Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Wide variety of courses
  • Free courses available as well as paid
  • Big names in the tech field are providing courses
  • More free courses
  • Better entry level explainers
  • Continued development of the online classroom environment
Read Donovon Carter's full review
January 16, 2018
Ilia Tarasov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The variety of courses to choose from is incredible
  • There are so many different subjects covered, and they are taught by amazing instructors
  • I can decide to learn something like DataScience today and start taking well-prepared courses right away at the comfort of my living room
  • The problem with Coursera is the moderation in the forums. From the few courses I have taken, many of my classmates were criticized heavily or bullied by other classmates for asking questions in the forum. This hasn’t gotten any attention from the forum moderators which makes the community feel uneasy with helping each other.
  • Most of the courses and the related materials used to be freely available on Coursera. However, with the recent changes, some of the courses are categorized into specific tracks, and they are not free anymore. However I am glad that one can still audit the paid courses, but access to the course materials may be limited.
  • Some courses are only available on specific dates and I have missed out on classes I was really interested in.
Read Ilia Tarasov's full review
August 29, 2017
Hiroyuki Nagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Coursera provides very practical and cutting-edge courses. I think it's very useful for many software engineers or architects. I prefer learning in Coursera to getting any other examinations or certificates in order to grasp practical knowledge.
  • Coursera can federate with my LinkedIn profile. You can show your achievement on the internet instead of some real "paper" certificates. It's great and a pleasure.
  • It may be not so advantageous in comparison with other MOOCs, however Coursera provides web testing. It proves your knowledge & skill is real stuff.
  • I feel it's slow to load course pages.
Read Hiroyuki Nagata's full review
November 08, 2016
Nic Klopper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provide courses for users to improve on their professional business skills.
  • Provide courses for users to learn the basics of new skill sets that might be required for their industry.
  • Motivate users to take part in continuous professional development and specialization, a critical skill in today's (and tomorrow's) business environment.
  • Give users exposure to new fields of interest, that they can explore at no risk.
  • None that I can think of. Brilliant service.
Read Nic Klopper's full review
October 10, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Coursera's courses are extremely good. They are well designed and being a full time employee I really appreciate the fact of how well they are designed.
  • They have made sure that everybody gets enough time to complete it.
  • There is an active community which is very helpful. No matter how good a teaching material is, you might always need extra help. This community can answer your question. And also this becomes extremely relevant if you are taking programming courses
  • There are assignments to test your skills. This is a great way to evaluate yourself. At this point if you feel like you haven't understood something, you can always go back and refer the videos. Most of these assignments can be applied to real world problems as well which is great
  • When I started Coursera was completely free. Being a student it was very helpful for me. I think this free service should be brought back at-least for students.
Read this authenticated review
November 28, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Breadth of topics covered are really good
  • Very streamlined and easy to use
  • Alliance with academia and domain experts
  • More collaboration on creation of courses
  • Should have free courses for not niche topics
  • Mobile interface has room for improvement
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Coursera has a wide variety of courses, on many topics.
  • It lets the student choose between auditing a course or paying for it and get access to the full content.
  • A lot are now run on a regular basis, usually every month. It was not the case at first.
  • I once did a course that required me to install a some software on my laptop (a virtual machine to run a database locally). There was little support to do it. I ended up leaving the course because of this.
  • Some tests are graded using peer grading. It works well on average, but sometimes it is hard to get valuable feedback.
  • The quizzes tend to stay the same from one iteration of a course to another. For many of the computer science courses one can find the answer on the internet which damages the value of the certificate.
Read this authenticated review

What is Coursera?

Coursera is a learning management platform from the company of the same name in Mountain View, California.
Categories:  eLearning Content

Coursera Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
EnterpriseContact Sales
Team400.00Per User Per Year

Coursera Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Coursera?

Coursera is a learning management platform from the company of the same name in Mountain View, California.

Who uses Coursera?

The most common users of Coursera are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.